DETAILED ACTION
Request for Continued Examination
The request filed on April 22, 2026 for a Request for Continued Examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114 based on parent Application No. 17/961,265 is acceptable and a RCE has been established. An action on the RCE follows.
The following rejections are overcome:
Claim(s) 1-15, 18-22, 24-27 & 29-32, 34-36 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hertzberg U.S. Pub. 2019/0386348 in view of Wang et al. CN 113314773A.
Claim(s) 16-17, 23, 28, 33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hertzberg U.S. Pub. 2019/0386348 in view of Wang et al. CN 113314773A, and further in view of Adamson et al. U.S. Pub. 2019/0131662.
Claims 1-8, 11-28, 30 & 32-36 are rejected as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-15, 18-22, 24-27 & 30, 32, 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hertzberg U.S. Pub. 2019/0386348 in view of CHENG et al. CN-113363603-A.
With respect to claim 1, Hertzberg teaches an electrolyte for use in a secondary zinc halide electrochemical cell comprising: from about 20 wt% to about 70 wt.% of a zinc halide of formula ZnY2 (zinc bromide; 27.42% in Table 1); any combination of zinc halides of formula ZnY2,wherein Y is a halide selected from fluoride, chloride, bromide- iodide, or any combination thereof (zinc bromide, zinc chloride; [0015]) from about 10 wt.% to about 50 wt.% of H2O (20% water; [0005]; 44.34%; Table 1). With respect to claim 2, from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of KBr: and from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of KCl (6.78% KBr, 9.83% KCl; Table 1). With respect to claim 3,
about 0.05 wt.% to about 20 vt.% of one or more quaternary ammonium agents, wherein each quaternary ammonium agent is independently selected from a quaternary ammonium agent having a formula N (R')(R')(R,)(R+)X-,wherein R' is hydrogen or an alkyl group. R,R', and R4are each independently an alkyl group that is same or different from R', and X- is chloride or bromide (tetramethylammonium chloride 1.94%; Table 1).
With respect to claim 11, from about 25 wt% to about 45 wt.% of the zinc halide of formula ZnY2 or any combination of zinc halides of formula ZnY2 (zinc bromide; 27.42% in Table 1); from about 25 wt.% to about 50 wt.% of H20 (20% water; [0005]; 44.34%; Table 1); from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of KBr (6.78% KBr, 9.83% KCl; Table 1); from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of KCI (6.78% KBr, 9.83% KCl; Table 1); and from about 0.05 wt.% to about 20 wt.% of the one or more quaternary ammonium agents (tetramethylammonium chloride 1.94%; Table 1). With respect to claim 12,
one or more quaternary ammonium agents comprises a first quaternary ammonium agent with a concentration from about 0.05 wt.% to about 20 wt.%, wherein the first quatemary ammonium agent is selected from a tetra-C1-6 alkyl ammonium chloride or a tetra-Ci-r, alkyl ammonium bromide (tetramethylammonium chloride 1.94%; Table 1).
With respect to claim 13, the first quaternary ammonium agent is tetramethylammonium chloride, tetra ethyl ammonium chloride, tetrapropylammonium chloride, tetrabutylamimonium chloride, tetramethylammonium bromide, tetraethylammomum bromide, tetrapropylammonium bromide, or tetrabutylammonium bromide (tetramethylammonium chloride 1.94%; Table 1). With respect to claim 14,
one or more quaternary ammonium agents further comprises a second quaternary ammonium agent, wherein the second quaternary ammonium agent has a formula N(Rt)(R2)(R')(R4)X-, wherein R' is hydrogen or an alkyl group R, R' and R4 are each independently an alkyl group that is same or different from R and X- is chloride or bromide, and wherein a concentration of the second quaternary ammonium agent is from about 0.05 wt.% to about 20 % (trimethylethylamrnmonium bromide 2.03%; Table 1). With respect to claim 15, the second quaternary ammonium agent is a chloride or bromide of trimethylethylamrnmonium. trimethyl propylammonium, trimethylbutylammoniumn,triethylmethylammonium, triethylpropylammoniurn, triethylbutylammonium, tripropylmethylammoniurn. tripropylethylammonium, or tripropylbutylammoniurn (trimethylethylamrnmonium bromide 2.03%; Table 1). With respect to claim 18, about 0.25wt. % to about 5 wt. % of a glycol, wherein the glycol is ethylene glycol, propylene glycol,1,3-butylene glycol, 1,4-butylene glycol, neopentyl glycol, hexalene glycol, or any combination thereof (methoxyethylene glycol 1.29%; Table 1). With respect to claim 19, a glyme, wherein the glyme is monoglyme, diglyme. Triglyme, tetraglyme, pentaulyme, hexaglyme, or any combination thereof (monoglyme, diglyme; [0081]. With respect to claim 20, comprising less than 1 wt. % of one or more additives selected from Sn, In, Ga, Al, TL, Bi, Pb. Sb. Ag, Mn. Fe, or any combination thereof (tin chloride; 7ppm). With respect to claim 21, comprising from 01 wt % to 2 wt.% of acetic acid, sodium acetate, potassium acetate, or any combination thereof (acetic acid; 1.25%; [0176]). With respect to claim 22, the zinc halide electrochemical cell is a static zinc halide electrochemical cell (zinc halide non-flowing electrochemical cells; Example 1). With respect to claim 25, a secondary zinc halide battery cell (zinc halide non-flowing electrochemical cells; Example 1), comprising: at least one electrochemical cell comprising, at least one bipolar electrode (bipolar electrodes 130a ; Example 1) and a zinc halide electrolyte (zinc bromide electrolyte; Example 1) , wherein the bipolar electrode comprises a bipolar electrode plate having an anode surface on one side of the bipolar electrode plate and a cathode surface on another side of the bipolar electrode plate that is opposite the anode surface (bipolar electrodes 130a ; Example 1), wherein the zinc halide electrolyte is in contact with the bipolar electrode plate (zinc halide electrolyte; Example 1), and wherein the zinc halide electrolyte comprises: from about 20 wt% to about 70 wt.% of a zinc halide of formula ZnY2 (zinc bromide; 27.42% in Table 1); any combination of zinc halides of formula ZnY2,wherein Y is a halide selected from fluoride, chloride, bromide- iodide, or any combination thereof (zinc bromide, zinc chloride; [0015]) from about 10 wt.% to about 79 wt.% of H2O (20% water; [0005]; 44.34%; Table 1). With respect to claim 26, the electrolyte further comprises: from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of KBr (6.78% KBr, 9.83% KCl; Table 1) and from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of KCl (6.78% KBr, 9.83% KCl; Table 1). With respect to claim 27, the electrolyte further comprises: from about 0.05 wt.% to about 20 wt.% of one or more quaternary ammonium agents, wherein each quaternary ammonium agent is independently selected from a quaternary ammonium agent having a formula N (R )(R2)(R')(R4)X. wherein R is hydrogen or an alkylgroup.R,R, and R4 are each independently an alkyl group that is same or different from R', and X- is chloride or bromide (tetramethylammonium chloride 1.94%; Table 1). With respect to claim 32, secondary zinc halide battery is a static secondary zinc halide battery (zinc halide non-flowing electrochemical cells; Example 1).
Hertzberg does not teach or suggest: about 0.5wt.% to about 20 wt.% of one or more zinc additives, wherein the one or more zinc additives comprises a first zinc additive, wherein the first zinc additive is a salt that is not a zinc halide and is zinc trifluoromethanesulfonate, zinc perfluorobutanesulfonate, zinc bis(trifluoromethane)sulfonim ide. zinc methanosul fonate, zinc p-toluenesulfonate, zinc hexatluorophosphate. zinc tetrakis[3.5-bis(trifluoromethyl)phenyl]borate, or any combination thereof (claims 1 & 25); about 0.5 wt.% to about 3 wt% of the first zinc additive (claim 4); a molar ratio of total zinc ion to halide ion in the electrolyte is from about 1:2 to about 1:3 (claim 5); about 0.5 wt.% to about 20 wt.% of the first zinc additive (claim 6); a molar ratio of total zinc ion to halide ion in the electrolyte is from about 1:1 to about 1:2.5 (claim 7); from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of a second zinc additive, wherein the second zinc additive is a zinc salt that is not a zinc halide and comprises an anion with a van der Waals volume of smaller than about 65 to about 42.0 A3 (claims 8 & 30); from about 1 wt.% to about 20 wt.% of the one or more zinc additives (claim 11); about 0.5 wt. % to about 10 wt. % of a glyme (claim 19); a zinc halide utilization in the electrolyte of the secondary zinc halide electrochemical cell is increased by about 5% to about 40% compared to an equivalent electrolyte in a secondary zinc halide electrochemical cell without the one or more zinc additives (claims 24 & 34); a second zinc additive of zinc nitrate, zinc sulfate, zinc perchlorate, zinc tetrafluoroborate, or any combination thereof (claims 35-36).
CHENG teaches that it is well known in the art to employ an electrolyte wherein from about 0.5wt.% to about 20 wt.% of one or more zinc additives (zinc salt is 0.01-10mol/L; teaching claim 5), wherein the one or more zinc additives comprises a first zinc additive, wherein the first zinc additive is a salt that is not a zinc halide and is zinc trifluoromethanesulfonate, zinc perfluorobutanesulfonate, zinc bis(trifluoromethane)sulfonim ide. zinc methanosul fonate, zinc p-toluenesulfonate, zinc hexatluorophosphate. zinc tetrakis[3.5-bis(trifluoromethyl)phenyl]borate, or any combination thereof (zinc hexafluorophosphate; See teaching claim 4; claims 1 & 25); one or more zinc additives further comprises from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of a second zinc additive, wherein the second zinc additive is a zinc salt that is not a zinc halide and comprises an anion with a van der Waals volume of smaller than about 65 to about 42.0 A3 (zinc nitrate, zinc sulfate; See teaching claim 4; Table 2 of the instant specification illustrates zinc sulfate van der Waals volume of 59.6 and zinc nitrate van der Waals volume of 42.0 claims 8 & 30); a second zinc additive of zinc nitrate, zinc sulfate, zinc perchlorate, zinc tetrafluoroborate, or any combination thereof (zinc nitrate, zinc sulfate; See teaching claim 4; claims 35-36).
Hertzberg and CHENG are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating zinc electrolytes with zinc additives in deionized water.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a first zinc additive is a salt that is not a zinc halide and comprises zinc hexafluorophosphate of CHENG, as the zinc additive of Hertzberg, in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. With respect to the zinc additives being present in an amount of about 0.5wt.% to about 20 wt.% of one or more, CHENG teaches that the concentration of the soluble zinc salt is 0.01-10mol/L. See teaching claim 5. Therefore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to about 0.5 wt.% to about 3 wt% of the first zinc additive (claim 4); it would have been obvious in the zinc electrolyte of Hertzberg in view of CHENG in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. With respect to the zinc additives being present in an amount of about 0.5wt.% to about 20 wt.% of one or more, CHENG teaches that the concentration of the soluble zinc salt is 0.01-10mol/L. See teaching claim 5. Therefore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to a molar ratio of total zinc ion to halide ion in the electrolyte is from about 1:2 to about 1:3 (claim 5); a molar ratio of total zinc ion to halide ion in the electrolyte is from about 1:1 to about 1:2.5 (claim 7); it would have been obvious in the zinc electrolyte of Hertzberg in view of CHENG in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. Hertzberg teaches 27.42% zinc bromide and 44.34% distilled water. See Table 1. Therefore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to about 0.5 wt.% to about 20 wt.% of the first zinc additive (claim 6); it would have been obvious in the zinc electrolyte of Hertzberg in view of CHENG in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. With respect to the zinc additives being present in an amount of about 0.5wt.% to about 20 wt.% of one or more, CHENG teaches that the concentration of the soluble zinc salt is 0.01-10mol/L. See teaching claim 5. Therefore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to zinc additives further comprises from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of a second zinc additive (claims 8 & 30); it would have been obvious in the zinc electrolyte of Hertzberg in view of CHENG in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. With respect to the zinc additives being present in an amount of about 0.5wt.% to about 20 wt.% of one or more, CHENG teaches that the concentration of the soluble zinc salt is 0.01-10mol/L. See teaching claim 5. Therefore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to about 1 wt.% to about 20 wt.% of the one or more zinc additives (claim 11); it would have been obvious in the zinc electrolyte of Hertzberg in view of CHENG in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. With respect to the zinc additives being present in an amount of about 0.5wt.% to about 20 wt.% of one or more, CHENG teaches that the concentration of the soluble zinc salt is 0.01-10mol/L. See teaching claim 5. Therefore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to about 0.5 wt. % to about 10 wt. % of a glyme (claim 19); it would have been obvious in the zinc electrolyte of Hertzberg in view of CHENG, as "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to a zinc halide utilization in the electrolyte of the secondary zinc halide electrochemical cell is increased by about 5% to about 40% compared to an equivalent electrolyte in a secondary zinc halide electrochemical cell without the one or more zinc additives (claims 24 & 34); it would have been obvious in the zinc electrolyte of Hertzberg in view of CHENG, as the combination of references teach the same zinc halide cell of the instant claims. In accordance with MPEP 2112.01, “[p]roducts of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.”A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, zinc halide utilization in the electrolyte of the secondary zinc halide electrochemical cell is increased by about 5% to about 40% compared to an equivalent electrolyte in a secondary zinc halide electrochemical cell without the one or more zinc additives is necessarily present. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17, 23, 28, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hertzberg U.S. Pub. 2019/0386348 in view of CHENG et al. CN-113363603-A, and further in view of Adamson et al. U.S. Pub. 2019/0131662.
Hertzberg in view of CHENG teach an electrolyte as described in the rejection recited herein above.
Hertzberg does not teach or suggest: about 0.2 wt.% to about 2.5 wt.% of DME-PEG (claims 16 & 28); the electrolyte comprises DME-PEG with a number average molecular weight of about 1000 amu. DME -PEG with a number average molecular weight of about 2000 amu, or a combination thereof (claim 17); the zinc halide electrochemical cell is a flow zinc halide electrochemical cell (claim 23 & 33).
Adamson teaches that it is well known in the art to employ DME-PEG in the zinc electrolytes of zinc halide electrochemical cells (0.5 wt % to about 2.5 wt % DME-PEG; [0016]; claims 16 & 28); the electrolyte comprises DME-PEG with a number average molecular weight of about 1000 amu. DME -PEG with a number average molecular weight of about 2000 amu, or a combination thereof (200 amu to about 3000 amu; [0016]; claim 17); the zinc halide electrochemical cell is a flow zinc halide electrochemical cell (bipolar flow or non-flow batteries; [0153]; claim 23 & 33).
Hertzberg, CHENG and Adamson are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating zinc electrolytes with zinc additives in deionized water.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ about 0.5 wt % to about 2.5 wt % DME-PEG of Adamson, in the zinc electrolyte of Hertzberg in view of CHENG, as the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). With respect to about 0.2 wt.% to about 2.5 wt.% of DME-PEG, Adamson teaches 0.5 wt % to about 2.5 wt % DME-PEG; [0016]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-15, 18-22, 24-27 & 30, 32, 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hertzberg U.S. Pub. 2019/0386348 in view of HAN et al. CN-108448168-B.
With respect to claim 1, Hertzberg teaches an electrolyte for use in a secondary zinc halide electrochemical cell comprising: from about 20 wt% to about 70 wt.% of a zinc halide of formula ZnY2 (zinc bromide; 27.42% in Table 1); any combination of zinc halides of formula ZnY2,wherein Y is a halide selected from fluoride, chloride, bromide- iodide, or any combination thereof (zinc bromide, zinc chloride; [0015]) from about 10 wt.% to about 50 wt.% of H2O (20% water; [0005]; 44.34%; Table 1). With respect to claim 2, from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of KBr: and from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of KCl (6.78% KBr, 9.83% KCl; Table 1). With respect to claim 3,
about 0.05 wt.% to about 20 vt.% of one or more quaternary ammonium agents, wherein each quaternary ammonium agent is independently selected from a quaternary ammonium agent having a formula N (R')(R')(R,)(R+)X-,wherein R' is hydrogen or an alkyl group. R,R', and R4are each independently an alkyl group that is same or different from R', and X- is chloride or bromide (tetramethylammonium chloride 1.94%; Table 1).
With respect to claim 11, from about 25 wt% to about 45 wt.% of the zinc halide of formula ZnY2 or any combination of zinc halides of formula ZnY2 (zinc bromide; 27.42% in Table 1); from about 25 wt.% to about 50 wt.% of H20 (20% water; [0005]; 44.34%; Table 1); from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of KBr (6.78% KBr, 9.83% KCl; Table 1); from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of KCI (6.78% KBr, 9.83% KCl; Table 1); and from about 0.05 wt.% to about 20 wt.% of the one or more quaternary ammonium agents (tetramethylammonium chloride 1.94%; Table 1). With respect to claim 12,
one or more quaternary ammonium agents comprises a first quaternary ammonium agent with a concentration from about 0.05 wt.% to about 20 wt.%, wherein the first quatemary ammonium agent is selected from a tetra-C1-6 alkyl ammonium chloride or a tetra-Ci-r, alkyl ammonium bromide (tetramethylammonium chloride 1.94%; Table 1).
With respect to claim 13, the first quaternary ammonium agent is tetramethylammonium chloride, tetra ethyl ammonium chloride, tetrapropylammonium chloride, tetrabutylamimonium chloride, tetramethylammonium bromide, tetraethylammomum bromide, tetrapropylammonium bromide, or tetrabutylammonium bromide (tetramethylammonium chloride 1.94%; Table 1). With respect to claim 14,
one or more quaternary ammonium agents further comprises a second quaternary ammonium agent, wherein the second quaternary ammonium agent has a formula N(Rt)(R2)(R')(R4)X-, wherein R' is hydrogen or an alkyl group R, R' and R4 are each independently an alkyl group that is same or different from R and X- is chloride or bromide, and wherein a concentration of the second quaternary ammonium agent is from about 0.05 wt.% to about 20 % (trimethylethylamrnmonium bromide 2.03%; Table 1). With respect to claim 15, the second quaternary ammonium agent is a chloride or bromide of trimethylethylamrnmonium. trimethyl propylammonium, trimethylbutylammoniumn,triethylmethylammonium, triethylpropylammoniurn, triethylbutylammonium, tripropylmethylammoniurn. tripropylethylammonium, or tripropylbutylammoniurn (trimethylethylamrnmonium bromide 2.03%; Table 1). With respect to claim 18, about 0.25wt. % to about 5 wt. % of a glycol, wherein the glycol is ethylene glycol, propylene glycol,1,3-butylene glycol, 1,4-butylene glycol, neopentyl glycol, hexalene glycol, or any combination thereof (methoxyethylene glycol 1.29%; Table 1). With respect to claim 19, a glyme, wherein the glyme is monoglyme, diglyme. Triglyme, tetraglyme, pentaulyme, hexaglyme, or any combination thereof (monoglyme, diglyme; [0081]. With respect to claim 20, comprising less than 1 wt. % of one or more additives selected from Sn, In, Ga, Al, TL, Bi, Pb. Sb. Ag, Mn. Fe, or any combination thereof (tin chloride; 7ppm). With respect to claim 21, comprising from 01 wt % to 2 wt.% of acetic acid, sodium acetate, potassium acetate, or any combination thereof (acetic acid; 1.25%; [0176]). With respect to claim 22, the zinc halide electrochemical cell is a static zinc halide electrochemical cell (zinc halide non-flowing electrochemical cells; Example 1). With respect to claim 25, a secondary zinc halide battery cell (zinc halide non-flowing electrochemical cells; Example 1), comprising: at least one electrochemical cell comprising, at least one bipolar electrode (bipolar electrodes 130a ; Example 1) and a zinc halide electrolyte (zinc bromide electrolyte; Example 1) , wherein the bipolar electrode comprises a bipolar electrode plate having an anode surface on one side of the bipolar electrode plate and a cathode surface on another side of the bipolar electrode plate that is opposite the anode surface (bipolar electrodes 130a ; Example 1), wherein the zinc halide electrolyte is in contact with the bipolar electrode plate (zinc halide electrolyte; Example 1), and wherein the zinc halide electrolyte comprises: from about 20 wt% to about 70 wt.% of a zinc halide of formula ZnY2 (zinc bromide; 27.42% in Table 1); any combination of zinc halides of formula ZnY2,wherein Y is a halide selected from fluoride, chloride, bromide- iodide, or any combination thereof (zinc bromide, zinc chloride; [0015]) from about 10 wt.% to about 79 wt.% of H2O (20% water; [0005]; 44.34%; Table 1). With respect to claim 26, the electrolyte further comprises: from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of KBr (6.78% KBr, 9.83% KCl; Table 1) and from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of KCl (6.78% KBr, 9.83% KCl; Table 1). With respect to claim 27, the electrolyte further comprises: from about 0.05 wt.% to about 20 wt.% of one or more quaternary ammonium agents, wherein each quaternary ammonium agent is independently selected from a quaternary ammonium agent having a formula N (R )(R2)(R')(R4)X. wherein R is hydrogen or an alkylgroup.R,R, and R4 are each independently an alkyl group that is same or different from R', and X- is chloride or bromide (tetramethylammonium chloride 1.94%; Table 1). With respect to claim 32, secondary zinc halide battery is a static secondary zinc halide battery (zinc halide non-flowing electrochemical cells; Example 1).
Hertzberg does not teach or suggest: about 0.5wt.% to about 20 wt.% of one or more zinc additives, wherein the one or more zinc additives comprises a first zinc additive, wherein the first zinc additive is a salt that is not a zinc halide and is zinc trifluoromethanesulfonate, zinc perfluorobutanesulfonate, zinc bis(trifluoromethane)sulfonim ide. zinc methanosul fonate, zinc p-toluenesulfonate, zinc hexatluorophosphate. zinc tetrakis[3.5-bis(trifluoromethyl)phenyl]borate, or any combination thereof (claims 1 & 25); about 0.5 wt.% to about 3 wt% of the first zinc additive (claim 4); a molar ratio of total zinc ion to halide ion in the electrolyte is from about 1:2 to about 1:3 (claim 5); about 0.5 wt.% to about 20 wt.% of the first zinc additive (claim 6); a molar ratio of total zinc ion to halide ion in the electrolyte is from about 1:1 to about 1:2.5 (claim 7); from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of a second zinc additive, wherein the second zinc additive is a zinc salt that is not a zinc halide and comprises an anion with a van der Waals volume of smaller than about 65 to about 42.0 A3 (claims 8 & 30); from about 1 wt.% to about 20 wt.% of the one or more zinc additives (claim 11); about 0.5 wt. % to about 10 wt. % of a glyme (claim 19); a zinc halide utilization in the electrolyte of the secondary zinc halide electrochemical cell is increased by about 5% to about 40% compared to an equivalent electrolyte in a secondary zinc halide electrochemical cell without the one or more zinc additives (claims 24 & 34); a second zinc additive of zinc nitrate, zinc sulfate, zinc perchlorate, zinc tetrafluoroborate, or any combination thereof (claims 35-36).
HAN teaches that it is well known in the art to employ an electrolyte wherein from about 0.5wt.% to about 20 wt.% of one or more zinc additives (concentration of the zinc salt is 1 ~ 3mol/L; teaching claim 1), wherein the one or more zinc additives comprises a first zinc additive, wherein the first zinc additive is a salt that is not a zinc halide and is zinc trifluoromethanesulfonate, zinc perfluorobutanesulfonate, zinc bis(trifluoromethane)sulfonim ide. zinc methanosul fonate, zinc p-toluenesulfonate, zinc hexatluorophosphate. zinc tetrakis[3.5-bis(trifluoromethyl)phenyl]borate, or any combination thereof (one or more zinc salts including zinc hexafluorophosphate; See teaching claim 2; claims 1 & 25); one or more zinc additives further comprises from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of a second zinc additive, wherein the second zinc additive is a zinc salt that is not a zinc halide and comprises an anion with a van der Waals volume of smaller than about 65 to about 42.0 A3 (one or more zinc salts including zinc nitrate, zinc sulfate; See teaching claim 2; Table 2 of the instant specification illustrates zinc sulfate van der Waals volume of 59.6 and zinc nitrate van der Waals volume of 42.0 claims 8 & 30); a second zinc additive of zinc nitrate, zinc sulfate, zinc perchlorate, zinc tetrafluoroborate, or any combination thereof (one or more zinc salts including zinc nitrate, zinc sulfate; See teaching claim 2; claims 35-36).
Hertzberg and HAN are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating zinc electrolytes with zinc additives in deionized water.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a first zinc additive is a salt that is not a zinc halide and comprises zinc hexafluorophosphate of HAN, as the zinc additive of Hertzberg, in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. With respect to the zinc additives being present in an amount of about 0.5wt.% to about 20 wt.% of one or more, HAN teaches that the concentration of the soluble zinc salt is 1-3mol/L. See teaching claim 1. Therefore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to about 0.5 wt.% to about 3 wt% of the first zinc additive (claim 4); it would have been obvious in the zinc electrolyte of Hertzberg in view of HAN in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. With respect to the zinc additives being present in an amount of about 0.5wt.% to about 20 wt.% of one or more, HAN teaches that the concentration of the soluble zinc salt is 1-3mol/L. See teaching claim 1. Therefore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to a molar ratio of total zinc ion to halide ion in the electrolyte is from about 1:2 to about 1:3 (claim 5); a molar ratio of total zinc ion to halide ion in the electrolyte is from about 1:1 to about 1:2.5 (claim 7); it would have been obvious in the zinc electrolyte of Hertzberg in view of HAN in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. Hertzberg teaches 27.42% zinc bromide and 44.34% distilled water. See Table 1. Therefore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to about 0.5 wt.% to about 20 wt.% of the first zinc additive (claim 6); it would have been obvious in the zinc electrolyte of Hertzberg in view of HAN teaches that the concentration of the soluble zinc salt is 1-3mol/L. See teaching claim 1. in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. With respect to the zinc additives being present in an amount of about 0.5wt.% to about 20 wt.% of one or more, HAN teaches that the concentration of the soluble zinc salt is 1-3mol/L. See teaching claim 1. Therefore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to zinc additives further comprises from about 0.5 wt.% to about 15 wt.% of a second zinc additive (claims 8 & 30); it would have been obvious in the zinc electrolyte of Hertzberg in view of HAN in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. With respect to the zinc additives being present in an amount of about 0.5wt.% to about 20 wt.% of one or more, HAN teaches that the concentration of the soluble zinc salt is 1-3mol/L. See teaching claim 1. Therefore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to about 1 wt.% to about 20 wt.% of the one or more zinc additives (claim 11); it would have been obvious in the zinc electrolyte of Hertzberg in view of HAN in order to increase ion conductivity of the electrolyte. With respect to the zinc additives being present in an amount of about 0.5wt.% to about 20 wt.% of one or more, HAN teaches that the concentration of the soluble zinc salt is 1-3mol/L. See teaching claim 1. Therefore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to about 0.5 wt. % to about 10 wt. % of a glyme (claim 19); it would have been obvious in the zinc electrolyte of Hertzberg in view of HAN, as "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
With respect to a zinc halide utilization in the electrolyte of the secondary zinc halide electrochemical cell is increased by about 5% to about 40% compared to an equivalent electrolyte in a secondary zinc halide electrochemical cell without the one or more zinc additives (claims 24 & 34); it would have been obvious in the zinc electrolyte of Hertzberg in view of HAN, as the combination of references teach the same zinc halide cell of the instant claims. In accordance with MPEP 2112.01, “[p]roducts of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.”A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). In the instant case, zinc halide utilization in the electrolyte of the secondary zinc halide electrochemical cell is increased by about 5% to about 40% compared to an equivalent electrolyte in a secondary zinc halide electrochemical cell without the one or more zinc additives is necessarily present. Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17, 23, 28, 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hertzberg U.S. Pub. 2019/0386348 in view of HAN et al. CN-108448168-B, and further in view of Adamson et al. U.S. Pub. 2019/0131662.
Hertzberg in view of HAN teach an electrolyte as described in the rejection recited herein above.
Hertzberg does not teach or suggest: about 0.2 wt.% to about 2.5 wt.% of DME-PEG (claims 16 & 28); the electrolyte comprises DME-PEG with a number average molecular weight of about 1000 amu. DME -PEG with a number average molecular weight of about 2000 amu, or a combination thereof (claim 17); the zinc halide electrochemical cell is a flow zinc halide electrochemical cell (claim 23 & 33).
Adamson teaches that it is well known in the art to employ DME-PEG in the zinc electrolytes of zinc halide electrochemical cells (0.5 wt % to about 2.5 wt % DME-PEG; [0016]; claims 16 & 28); the electrolyte comprises DME-PEG with a number average molecular weight of about 1000 amu. DME -PEG with a number average molecular weight of about 2000 amu, or a combination thereof (200 amu to about 3000 amu; [0016]; claim 17); the zinc halide electrochemical cell is a flow zinc halide electrochemical cell (bipolar flow or non-flow batteries; [0153]; claim 23 & 33).
Hertzberg, HAN and Adamson are analogous art from the same field of endeavor, namely fabricating zinc electrolytes with zinc additives in deionized water.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ about 0.5 wt % to about 2.5 wt % DME-PEG of Adamson, in the zinc electrolyte of Hertzberg in view of HAN, as the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). With respect to about 0.2 wt.% to about 2.5 wt.% of DME-PEG, Adamson teaches 0.5 wt % to about 2.5 wt % DME-PEG; [0016]. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts that Wang et al. CN 113314773A teaching zinc trifluoromethanesulfonate (teaching claim 5) is not obvious over the instant claims. Specifically:
the composition of this electrolyte of Wang is very different from the composition of the electrolyte of present claim 1. Perhaps for this reason, in its proposed modification of the electrolyte of Hertzberg, the Office Action has avoided Wang's "highly adhesive organic compound containing catechol functional groups as an additive", which Wang discloses is critical to achieving the alleged reason given in the Office Action for combining this fictional electrolyte of Wang with the electrolyte of Hertzberg. Thus, without the highly adhesive organic compound containing catechol functional groups as an additive, the electrolyte of Wang would be rendered unfit for its intended purpose.
This argument is not persuasive, as Wang was relied upon to show the conventionality of zinc trifluoromethanesulfonate salt in zinc batteries. The additional additives of Wang are immaterial as the Office Action never asserted the combination of other components of the electrolyte of Wang into the electrolyte of Hertzberg. However, asserts that Wang teaches a solid electrolyte, which is different from the electrolyte of Hertzberg. This assertion is correct and the previously pending rejection is overcome.
Conclusion
/Monique M Wills/
Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723