DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claim(s) 1, 9-10, and 18 have been amended; Claims 2-8, 11-17, 19-30 have been canceled; Claim(s) 31-42 have been added. Claim(s) 1, 9-10, 18, and 31-42 are subject to examination.
Acknowledgement is made to the applicant’s amendment to claims 18 and 26-30 to obviate the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection to claims 18 and 26-30. The previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection to claims 18 and 26-30 is/are hereby withdrawn.
Acknowledgement is made to the applicant’s amendment to claim 9 to obviate the previous claim objection to claim 9. The previous claim objection to claim 9 is/are hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9-10, 18, and 31-42 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9-10, 18, and 31-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WENG et al. (US 20120122495 A1), hereby referred to as WENG, in view of PRIYANTO et al. (US 20210360582 A1) (see 892 02/20/2025), hereby referred to as PRIYANTO.
Claim 1:
WENG teaches a communication method comprising: receiving first indication information from a base station, wherein the first indication information indicates to a terminal whether to enable a group paging function for receiving a paging message, and wherein the first indication information is carried in system information (SI) (WENG: para 35 (“…the early paging indicator informs the UE whether a corresponding upcoming paging message is likely to be present and the UE should therefore try to receive a paging message, or whether an upcoming paging message is definitely not present…”) and para 445 (“The location of the EPI is broadcast in the system information….the EPI location/configuration information is broadcast within SIB2…UE checks SIB2 for EPI-configuration information to determine EPI presence…”) wherein system information contains an indication on whether early paging information is enabled for receiving or not receiving); enabling the group paging function based on the first indication information indicating to enable the group paging function (WENG: para 35 (“…the early paging indicator informs the UE whether a corresponding upcoming paging message is likely to be present and the UE should therefore try to receive a paging message, or whether an upcoming paging message is definitely not present…”) wherein the UE is enabled to try to receive paging when PEI is indicated); and refraining from enabling the group paging functions either based on the first indication information indicating to the terminal not to enable the group paging function (WENG: para 35 (“…the early paging indicator informs the UE whether a corresponding upcoming paging message is likely to be present and the UE should therefore try to receive a paging message, or whether an upcoming paging message is definitely not present…”) wherein the UE is not enabled to try to receive a paging message based on the first indication information indicating not to)
However, WENG does not explicitly disclose further based on second indication information being received from an access and mobility management function (AMF), wherein the second indication information identifies a terminal group to which the terminal belongs; and refraining based on the second indication information not being received from the AMF.
PRIYANTO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further based on second indication information being received from an access and mobility management function (AMF), wherein the second indication information identifies a terminal group to which the terminal belongs (PRIYANTO: para 28 (“…a core network node…AMF…may be configured to perform determination of a group identifier and transmit information indicative of the group identifier via the radio access node…to the wireless device…”) and para 46 (“…if the group identifier of the wireless device is detected by the wireless device from a wake-up signal, then the wireless device continues monitoring the downlink control channel, and then decodes the paging information…”) wherein the AMF sends a terminal group/terminal identifier); and refraining based on the second indication information not being received from the AMF (PRIYANTO: para 46 (“…if the group identifier of the wireless device is detected by the wireless device from a wake-up signal, then the wireless device continues monitoring the downlink control channel, and then decodes the paging information…”) wherein group paging is refrained when the second indication information identifying a terminal group to which the terminal belongs is not received).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified WENG with PRIYANTO, the combination hereby referred to as WENG-PRIYANTO, for the benefit of adaptable grouping, reduced overhead, and reduced power consumption (PRIYANTO: para 11).
Claim 9:
WENG teaches a communication method comprising: sending, by a base station, first indication information to a terminal, wherein the first indication information indicates to the terminal whether to enable a group paging function for receiving a paging message, and wherein the first indication information is carried in system information (SI) (WENG: para 35 (“…the early paging indicator informs the UE whether a corresponding upcoming paging message is likely to be present and the UE should therefore try to receive a paging message, or whether an upcoming paging message is definitely not present…”) and para 445 (“The location of the EPI is broadcast in the system information….the EPI location/configuration information is broadcast within SIB2…UE checks SIB2 for EPI-configuration information to determine EPI presence…”) wherein system information contains an indication on whether early paging information is enabled for receiving or not receiving); and wherein the first indication information requires the second indication information to enable the terminal to enable the group paging function (WENG: para 44 (“…transmitting an early paging indicator specific to the subgroup…that is indicative that a page is present in the paging occasion for the subgroup…”) wherein the first indication information enables group paging function for a specific group/subgroup; wherein the specific group/subgroup is the second indication information).
While WENG teaches that information about the terminal group that the terminal belongs to is required to enable the terminal to enable the group paging function (WENG: FIG. 2 and para 44 (“…transmitting an early paging indicator specific to the subgroup…that is indicative that a page is present in the paging occasion for the subgroup…”) wherein the first indication information enables group paging function for a specific group/subgroup; wherein the specific group/subgroup is the second indication information), WENG does not explicitly disclose sending, by an access and mobility management function (AMF), second indication information to the terminal, wherein the second indication information identifies a terminal group to which the terminal belongs.
PRIYANTO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches sending, by an access and mobility management function (AMF), second indication information to the terminal, wherein the second indication information identifies a terminal group to which the terminal belongs (PRIYANTO: para 28 (“…a core network node…AMF…may be configured to perform determination of a group identifier and transmit information indicative of the group identifier via the radio access node…to the wireless device…”) and para 46 (“…if the group identifier of the wireless device is detected by the wireless device from a wake-up signal, then the wireless device continues monitoring the downlink control channel, and then decodes the paging information…”) wherein the AMF sends a terminal group/terminal identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified WENG with PRIYANTO, the combination hereby referred to as WENG-PRIYANTO, for the benefit of adaptable grouping, reduced overhead, and reduced power consumption (PRIYANTO: para 11).
Claim 10:
WENG teaches an apparatus comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable memory storage comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors in communication with the memory storage (WENG: FIG. 2).
For further limitations, see rejection for claim 1 above.
Claim 18:
WENG teaches a system comprising a base station, the base station comprising a non-transitory computer-readable memory storage comprising processor-executable instructions and one or more processors in communication with the memory storage (WENG: FIG. 1C and FIG. 3 item 110 wherein base station comprising storage, instructions, and processor is required to perform the method).
However, WENG does not explicitly disclose an access and mobility management function (AMF), the AMF comprising a non-transitory computer-readable memory storage comprising processor-executable instructions and one or more processors in communication with the memory storage.
PRIYANTO, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an access and mobility management function (AMF), the AMF comprising a non-transitory computer-readable memory storage comprising processor-executable instructions and one or more processors in communication with the memory storage (PRIYANTO: FIG. 5 and para 11 (“…core network node…AMF…”) wherein AMF comprising storage, instructions, and processor is required to perform the method).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified WENG with PRIYANTO, the combination hereby referred to as WENG-PRIYANTO, for the benefit of adaptable grouping, reduced overhead, and reduced power consumption (PRIYANTO: para 11).
For further limitations, see rejection for claim 9 above.
Claim 31:
WENG-PRIYANTO teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising receiving third indication information from the base station based on the group paging function being enabled, where the third indication information indicates to the terminal whether the terminal group is paged (WENG: FIG. 10-11; para 35 (“…the early paging indicator informs the UE whether a corresponding upcoming paging message is likely to be present and the UE should therefore try to receive a paging message, or whether an upcoming paging message is definitely not present…”) and para 229 (“This paging occasion corresponds to one subframe where the UE must monitor the PDCCH…in order to search for any paging messages…”) wherein if group paging function is enabled, the terminal receives the group paging/third indication since it IS paged).
Claim 32:
WENG-PRIYANTO teaches the method according to claim 31, further comprising: monitoring the paging message based on the third indication information indicating the terminal group being page; and refraining from monitoring the paging message based on the third indication information indicating the terminal group being not paged (WENG: FIG. 10-11; para 35 (“…the early paging indicator informs the UE whether a corresponding upcoming paging message is likely to be present and the UE should therefore try to receive a paging message, or whether an upcoming paging message is definitely not present…”) and para 229 (“This paging occasion corresponds to one subframe where the UE must monitor the PDCCH…in order to search for any paging messages…”) wherein if group paging function is not enabled, the terminal refrains from receiving the group paging/third indication since it is NOT paged).
Claim 33:
WENG-PRIYANTO teaches The method according to claim 1, further comprising refraining from receiving third indication information from the base station based on the group paging function being not enabled, wherein the third indication information indicates to the terminal whether the terminal group is paged (WENG: FIG. 10-11; para 35 (“…the early paging indicator informs the UE whether a corresponding upcoming paging message is likely to be present and the UE should therefore try to receive a paging message, or whether an upcoming paging message is definitely not present…”) and para 229 (“This paging occasion corresponds to one subframe where the UE must monitor the PDCCH…in order to search for any paging messages…”) wherein if group paging function is not enabled, the terminal refrains from receiving the group paging/third indication since it is NOT paged).
Claim 34:
WENG-PRIYANTO teaches the method according to claim 33, further comprising monitoring the paging message based on the group paging function being not enabled (PRIYANTO: FIG. 2 item (“No Grouping”) and para 37 (“…where no grouping mechanism is applied…wireless devices are woken up, monitoring a downlink control channel for the paging occasions…not intended for their use…”) wherein terminals not enabled for group paging function (such as not in a group) will keep monitoring for messages not belonging to them).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified WENG with PRIYANTO, the combination hereby referred to as WENG-PRIYANTO, for the benefit of adaptable grouping, reduced overhead, and reduced power consumption (PRIYANTO: para 11).
Claim 35:
WENG-PRIYANTO teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method is performed by the terminal (WENG: FIG. 2).
Claim 36:
WENG-PRIYANTO teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method is performed by a chip in the terminal (WENG: FIG. 2).
Claim 37:
WENG-PRIYANTO teaches the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions to further cause the apparatus to: receive third indication information from the base station based on the group paging function being enabled, wherein the third indication information indicates to the terminal whether the terminal group is paged (WENG: FIG. 10-11; para 35 (“…the early paging indicator informs the UE whether a corresponding upcoming paging message is likely to be present and the UE should therefore try to receive a paging message, or whether an upcoming paging message is definitely not present…”) and para 229 (“This paging occasion corresponds to one subframe where the UE must monitor the PDCCH…in order to search for any paging messages…”) wherein if group paging function is enabled, the terminal receives the group paging/third indication since it IS paged).
Claim 38:
WENG-PRIYANTO teaches The apparatus according to claim 37, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions to further cause the apparatus to: monitor the paging message based on the third indication information indicating the terminal group being page; and refrain from monitoring the paging message based on the third indication information indicating the terminal group being not paged (WENG: FIG. 10-11; para 35 (“…the early paging indicator informs the UE whether a corresponding upcoming paging message is likely to be present and the UE should therefore try to receive a paging message, or whether an upcoming paging message is definitely not present…”) and para 229 (“This paging occasion corresponds to one subframe where the UE must monitor the PDCCH…in order to search for any paging messages…”) wherein if group paging function is not enabled, the terminal refrains from receiving the group paging/third indication since it is NOT paged).
Claim 39:
WENG-PRIYANTO teaches the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the processor-executable instructions to further cause the apparatus to: refrain from receiving third indication information from the base station based on the group paging function being not enabled, wherein the third indication information indicates to the terminal whether the terminal group is paged (WENG: FIG. 10-11; para 35 (“…the early paging indicator informs the UE whether a corresponding upcoming paging message is likely to be present and the UE should therefore try to receive a paging message, or whether an upcoming paging message is definitely not present…”) and para 229 (“This paging occasion corresponds to one subframe where the UE must monitor the PDCCH…in order to search for any paging messages…”) wherein if group paging function is not enabled, the terminal refrains from receiving the group paging/third indication since it is NOT paged).
Claim 40:
WENG-PRIYANTO teaches The apparatus according to claim 39, further comprising: monitoring the paging message based on the group paging function being not enabled (PRIYANTO: FIG. 2 item (“No Grouping”) and para 37 (“…where no grouping mechanism is applied…wireless devices are woken up, monitoring a downlink control channel for the paging occasions…not intended for their use…”) wherein terminals not enabled for group paging function (such as not in a group) will keep monitoring for messages not belonging to them).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified WENG with PRIYANTO, the combination hereby referred to as WENG-PRIYANTO, for the benefit of adaptable grouping, reduced overhead, and reduced power consumption (PRIYANTO: para 11).
Claim 41:
WENG-PRIYANTO teaches The apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the apparatus is the terminal (WENG: FIG. 2).
Claim 41:
WENG-PRIYANTO teaches The apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the apparatus is a chip in the terminal (WENG: FIG. 2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.T.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416