DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is reply to the Application Number 17/961,537 filed on 11/18/2025
Claims 1 – 12 are currently pending and have been examined
This action is made FINAL
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The determination of whether a claim recites patent ineligible subject matter is a 2 step inquiry.
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), see MPEP 2106.03, or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis: see MPEP 2106.04
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1)
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2)
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? see MPEP 2106.05
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to a method of managing a work vehicle (i.e., a process). Therefore, claim 1 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 11 is directed to a management terminal for managing a work vehicle (i.e., a machine). Therefore, claim 11 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Claim 12 is directed to a processor-implemented management system for managing a work vehicle (i.e., a machine). Therefore, claim 12 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes. see MPEP 2106(A)(II)(1) and MPEP 2106.04(a)-(c)
Independent claims 1, 11 and 12 include limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below [with the category of abstract idea in brackets]) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites:
A processor-implemented management method for managing a work vehicle capable of performing an automatic travel, the method comprising:
determining, by a processor coupled to a work vehicle management terminal, a current location of the work based, [mental process/step]
at least in part on signals received from a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) measurements received from the work vehicle; and
a display control step in which, the processor, upon starting an application that manages the work vehicle, causes the application to selectably display, on a display unit of the management terminal, a plurality of work items related to work that is performed by the work vehicle in a farm field, wherein the plurality of work items displayed are based, at least in part, upon the current location of the work vehicle. [mental process/step]
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “determining..” in the context of this claim encompasses a user looking at the GNSS data and determining a current location of the vehicle. “Selectably…” in the context of this claim encompasses a user to select a plurality of work items to display. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea. Claims 11 and 12 state the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. see MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(2) and MPEP 2106.04(d)(2). It must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” [with a description of the additional limitations in brackets], while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”.):
A processor-implemented management method for managing a work vehicle capable of performing an automatic travel, the method comprising:
determining, by a processor coupled to a work vehicle management terminal [applying the abstract idea using generic computing module], a current location of the work based, [mental process/step]
at least in part on signals received from a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) measurements received from the work vehicle; and [pre-solution activity (data gathering)]
a display control step in which, the processor, upon starting an application that manages the work vehicle [applying the abstract idea using generic computing module], causes the application to selectably display, on a display unit of the management terminal [insignificant post-solution activity (displaying results of the mental process)], a plurality of work items related to work that is performed by the work vehicle in a farm field, wherein the plurality of work items displayed are based, at least in part, upon the current location of the work vehicle. [mental process/step]
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “at least in part on signals received from a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) measurements received from the work vehicle;”, the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (vehicle controller) to perform the process. The ability to gather signals from the GNSS is a general means of gathering vehicle and road data which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The processor receiving all of this data is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of ranking information based on a determined amount of use) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The displaying work items to be performed is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of displaying the weather evaluation result from the evaluating step), and amounts to mere post solution displaying, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Claim 11 states additional elements of a “management terminal”, “storage unit”, “controller” which are nothing more than a generic computer used to perform the mental process. The “display unit” is nothing more than a post solution displaying, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Claim 12 states additional elements of a “processor” which is nothing more than a generic computer used to perform the mental process. The “display unit” is nothing more than a post solution displaying, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. see MPEP § 2106.05. Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the Revised Guidance, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a processor to perform “determining” a current location and “selectably displaying” work items to be performed amounts to nothing more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of “received” GNSS data, the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities. In addition, these additional limitations (and the combination, thereof) amount to no more than what is well-understood, routine and conventional activity. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible. Claims 11 and 12 state the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Dependent claim(s) 2 – 10 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. For example, dependent claim 2 recites “The management method according to claim 1, wherein the display control step displays, on the display unit, a first work item for acquiring or selecting farm field information about the farm field and for performing the work, a second work item for performing the work based on an already acquired work route, and a third work item for acquiring a reference line and for performing the work in an automatic straight movement, as the plurality of the work items.” This process can be done mentally by a human. For example, like for claim 1, a human is able to mentally able to acquire work items from the farm field information, evaluate the acquired route and determine a second work item from a memorized list, and the same can be done to acquire a third work item when acquiring a reference line for work to be done in a straight line. After acquiring and evaluating this data, a human can mentally determine what to display on the display unit regarding the work items. Therefore, dependent claims 2 – 10 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of claim 1.
Therefore, claim(s) 1 – 12 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasamoto et al. (US 20200305338 A), further in view of Hirate et al. (US 20200386571 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sasamoto teaches a processor-implemented (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0029: “The controller device 12 is a device for controlling the tractor, and includes a CPU or the like“)
management method for managing a work vehicle capable of performing an automatic travel, the method comprising: (Sasamoto: Abstract: “An agriculture support system includes an agriculture support device including a work creator to create a work plan of an agricultural operation to be performed by an agriculture machine, and a communicator to transmit the work plan from the work creator, and a display provided in the agriculture machine, including a machine information obtainer to obtain machine information of the agriculture machine, a plan obtainer to obtain the work plan transmitted from the communicator, an evaluator to compare the work plan with the machine information obtained by the machine information obtaining and to evaluate the work plan, and a display to display an evaluation result provided by the evaluator.”; Paragraph 0061: “When the tractor 1 is in a mode for the automatic traveling, the tractor 1 travels while automatically steering the steering or the like along the scheduled traveling route R1 acquired above.”)
determining, by a processor coupled to a work vehicle management terminal, (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0068: “As shown in FIG. 1, the agriculture support device 90 has a map data storage portion 93. The map data storage portion 93 includes a nonvolatile memory or the like, and stores the acquired agricultural map data (the field shape data, the yield data, the taste data, the growth data, the soil data, the variable fertilization data, the automatic traveling data, the work history data, the map data). Specifically, as shown in FIG. 5, when the agriculture support device 90 acquires the agricultural map data, the map data storage portion 93 allocates the management information indicated by characters, alphanumeric characters, and the like in the agricultural map data acquired above, and the agricultural map data is stored together with the management information. The management information is information set to make it easy to calculate, search, organize, and the like of the agricultural map data.”)
a current location of the work based, (Sasamoto: Paragraphs 0031 – 0032 : “The tractor 1 includes a position detector device 70A. The position detector device 70A is mounted on a top plate of the cabin 9 of the traveling vehicle 3. The position detector device 70A is mounted on the top plate of the cabin 9. However, the mounting position in the traveling vehicle 3 is not limited thereto, and may be another position. In addition, the position detector device 70A may be attached to the working device 2. The position detector device 70A is a device configured to detect its own position (the positioning information that includes latitude and longitude) in accordance with a satellite positioning system. That is, the position detector device 70A receives the signals (the position of positioning satellite, the transmission time, the correction information, and the like) transmitted from the positioning satellite, and then detects the position (latitude and longitude) based on the received signal. The position detector device 70A may detect, as its own position (latitude and longitude), a position corrected based on a signal such as a correction transmitted from a ground station (a reference station) capable of receiving a signal transmitted from the positioning satellite. In addition, the position detector device 70A may include an inertial measurement device such as a gyro sensor or an acceleration sensor, and may detect the position corrected by the inertial measurement device as its own position.”)
a display control step in which, the processor, upon starting an application that manages the work vehicle, causes the application to selectably display, on a display unit of the management terminal, a plurality of work items related to work that is performed by the work vehicle in a farm field, wherein the plurality of work items displayed are based, at least in part, upon the current location of the work vehicle. (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0084: “In displaying the work plan screen M3 in the first area M21, the work plan screen M3 displays the agricultural work, a model number, model and name of agriculture machine (working device), a work date, the scheduled traveling route R1, the working width, and the lapping width”; Paragraph 0094: “Now, as shown in FIG. 9A, the display portion 82 of the display device 80 displays, in the first area M21, a work map F20 including the agricultural field represented in the work plan. The work map F20 is a map registered in the display device 80 in advance. Note that map data including an agricultural field may be acquired with the agriculture support device 90 or the like, and the map data acquired above may be used as the work map F20.”; Paragraph 0095: “the display portion 82 extracts a work plan to be performed on the day (referred to as a current day plan) from among a plurality of work plans, using the work date as a key, and the display portion 82 displays, on the work map F20, an agricultural field (referred to as a work target field) H1 indicated by the current day plan extracted above. In addition, the display portion 82 respectively displays the target work field H1 and the other fields H2 other than the target work field H1 in different colors from among the plurality of work plans on the work map F20. The display portion 80 may display both the graphic 110 indicating the current position of the tractor 1 and the target work field H1 on the work map F20, and may display the guidance route 111 from the current position to the entrance of the target work field H1.”,
Supplemental Note: the display control is able to show the current work plan for the day, the location of the work on the map and guidance from the current position of the work vehicle to the work location)
In sum, Sasamoto teaches a processor-implemented management method for managing a work vehicle capable of performing an automatic travel, the method comprising: determining, by a processor coupled to a work vehicle management terminal, a current location of the work based, a display control step in which, the processor, upon starting an application that manages the work vehicle, causes the application to selectably display, on a display unit of the management terminal, a plurality of work items related to work that is performed by the work vehicle in a farm field, wherein the plurality of work items displayed are based, at least in part, upon the current location of the work vehicle. Sasamoto however does not teach at least in part on signals received from a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) measurements received from the work vehicle whereas Hirate does.
Hirate teaches at least in part on signals received from a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) measurements received from the work vehicle; and (Hirate: Paragraph 0041: “The vehicle of the present embodiment includes a GNSS receiving part 41, a vehicle speed sensor 42, a gyro sensor 43, a vehicle control ECU 44, and a camera 45. The GNSS receiving part 41 is a device that receives Global Navigation Satellite System signals, and receives radio waves from navigation satellites and outputs a signal for calculating a current location of the vehicle through an interface which is not shown. The control part 20 obtains the signal and thereby obtains a current location of the vehicle.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Sasamoto with the teachings of Hirate with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Sasamoto and Hirate teach the ability to determine a location of a vehicle, Sasamoto describes this function from a position detector device which utilizes satellite positioning to get the current latitude and longitude coordinates of the vehicle. Hirate teaches the ability to utilize GNSS receiving part for receiving GNSS data for calculating the current location of the vehicle. Both methods utilize satellite positioning to get the current the position of the vehicle, thus to one with knowledge in the art would find the position detector device of Sasamoto and the GNSS receiving part of Hirate to be nothing more than a simple substitution.
Regarding claim 2, Sasamoto, as modified, teaches wherein the display control step displays, on the display unit, a first work item for acquiring or selecting farm field information about the farm field and for performing the work, (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0035: “The work creator portion 91 creates a work plan for agricultural work to be performed by an agriculture machine such as the tractor 1. The work plan is information indicating contents in which an agricultural field, an agricultural work, and a work date are associated with each other.”)
a second work item for performing the work based on an already acquired work route, (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0037: “To the work input portion 101, the agricultural work such as the seedbed soil making, the ridge plastering, the tilling, the seeding, the fertilizing, the rice planting, the ploughing and irrigating, the grooving, the weeding, the topdressing, and the harvesting are inputted.”,
Supplemental Note: the second work items are equivalent to the agricultural work being done on the agricultural field)
and a third work item for acquiring a reference line and for performing the work in an automatic straight movement, as the plurality of the work items. (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0039: “The work creator portion 91 displays, on the creation screen M1, a field 106 (a route input portion) for inputting the scheduled traveling route R1 of the agriculture machine. In the field 106, the contour H10 of the agricultural field is displayed. Position information (latitude and longitude) of the field is assigned to the field 106, and the scheduled traveling route R1 is drawn based on a command from the external terminal 15 so that the positional information (latitude and longitude) is assigned to the scheduled traveling route R1. For example, as the scheduled traveling route R1, a straight traveling portion R2 that makes the tractor 1 go straight and a turning portion R3 that makes the tractor 1 turn both are set. The straight traveling portion R2 and the turning portion R3 in the traveling route R1 are associated with the positions (latitude and longitude) of the field 106, and at least the positions corresponding to the straight traveling portion R2 and the turning portion R3 can be set.”)
Regarding claim 3, Sasamoto, as modified, teaches wherein the display control step displays, on the display unit, an unacquired work item for newly acquiring farm field information or work information and for performing the work, (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0045: “The field shape data can be acquired by the agriculture support device 90 and the external terminal 15. In particular, when an administrator or the like connects the external terminal 15 to the agriculture support device 90, the agriculture support device 90 acquires a map including an agricultural field from a map provider or the like, and causes the external terminal 15 to display the map. As shown in FIG. 4, the administrator or the like specifies, for example, a certain agricultural field from the maps displayed on the external terminal 15 with the pointer 108 or the like, and then specifies the outline of the specified agricultural field with the pointer 108. In this manner, the field shape data can be acquired.”,
Supplemental Note: the ability to acquire the field shape data is equivalent to the farm field information)
and an already acquired work item for performing the work based on the acquired farm field information or the acquired work information, as the plurality of the work items. (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0037: “To the agricultural field input portion 100, information for specifying an agricultural field, for example, an agricultural field name, an agricultural field management number, and the like are inputted. To the work input portion 101, the agricultural work such as the seedbed soil making, the ridge plastering, the tilling, the seeding, the fertilizing, the rice planting, the ploughing and irrigating, the grooving, the weeding, the topdressing, and the harvesting are inputted.”,
Supplemental Note: based on the agricultural field information, the agricultural work to be done is specified)
Regarding claim 4, Sasamoto, as modified, teaches wherein the display control step displays, on the display unit, at least a new farm field work item for acquiring a farm field shape as the farm field information and for performing the work, as the unacquired work item. (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0045: “The field shape data can be acquired by the agriculture support device 90 and the external terminal 15. In particular, when an administrator or the like connects the external terminal 15 to the agriculture support device 90, the agriculture support device 90 acquires a map including an agricultural field from a map provider or the like, and causes the external terminal 15 to display the map. As shown in FIG. 4, the administrator or the like specifies, for example, a certain agricultural field from the maps displayed on the external terminal 15 with the pointer 108 or the like, and then specifies the outline of the specified agricultural field with the pointer 108. In this manner, the field shape data can be acquired.”,
Supplemental Note: with the use of the agriculture support device, a new field shape data of a farm can be acquired)
Regarding claim 5, Sasamoto, as modified, teaches wherein the display control step displays, on the display unit, at least a reference line work item for acquiring a reference line as the work information and thereby for performing the work in an automatic straight movement, as the unacquired work item. (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0039: “The work creator portion 91 displays, on the creation screen M1, a field 106 (a route input portion) for inputting the scheduled traveling route R1 of the agriculture machine. In the field 106, the contour H10 of the agricultural field is displayed. Position information (latitude and longitude) of the field is assigned to the field 106, and the scheduled traveling route R1 is drawn based on a command from the external terminal 15 so that the positional information (latitude and longitude) is assigned to the scheduled traveling route R1. For example, as the scheduled traveling route R1, a straight traveling portion R2 that makes the tractor 1 go straight and a turning portion R3 that makes the tractor 1 turn both are set. The straight traveling portion R2 and the turning portion R3 in the traveling route R1 are associated with the positions (latitude and longitude) of the field 106, and at least the positions corresponding to the straight traveling portion R2 and the turning portion R3 can be set.”)
Regarding claim 6, Sasamoto, as modified, teaches wherein the display control step displays, on the display unit, at least an already acquired farm field work item for performing the work based on a farm field shape already acquired as the farm field information, as the already acquired work item. (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0037: “To the agricultural field input portion 100, information for specifying an agricultural field, for example, an agricultural field name, an agricultural field management number, and the like are inputted. To the work input portion 101, the agricultural work such as the seedbed soil making, the ridge plastering, the tilling, the seeding, the fertilizing, the rice planting, the ploughing and irrigating, the grooving, the weeding, the topdressing, and the harvesting are inputted.”,
Supplemental Note: the acquired work item are the various agriculture works stated in the reference and is tasked under the specified agricultural field)
Regarding claim 7, Sasamoto, as modified, teaches wherein the display control step displays, on the display unit, at least an already acquired route work item for performing the work based on a work route already acquired as the work information, as the already acquired work item. (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0039: “In addition, the work creator portion 91 can set not only the items of the agricultural work but also the procedure of the agricultural work as the work plan. The work creator portion 91 displays, on the creation screen M1, a field 106 (a route input portion) for inputting the scheduled traveling route R1 of the agriculture machine. In the field 106, the contour H10 of the agricultural field is displayed. Position information (latitude and longitude) of the field is assigned to the field 106, and the scheduled traveling route R1 is drawn based on a command from the external terminal 15 so that the positional information (latitude and longitude) is assigned to the scheduled traveling route R1. For example, as the scheduled traveling route R1, a straight traveling portion R2 that makes the tractor 1 go straight and a turning portion R3 that makes the tractor 1 turn both are set.”)
Regarding claim 8, Sasamoto, as modified, teaches wherein the display control step identifiably displays the plurality of the work items arranged in a center of the display unit. (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0017: “FIG. 9A is a view illustrating an example of an operation map displayed in a first area according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention.”,
Supplemental Note: in this configuration, the work the field vehicle has to do is shown in the center of the screen by a map)
Regarding claim 9, Sasamoto, as modified, teaches wherein the display control step displays, in the work items, a sign associated with a work content of each of the work items. (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0014: “FIG. 7 is a view illustrating an example of a work plan screen M3 according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention.”,
Supplemental Note: the different signs relate to work items of the work vehicle as shown in Fig. 7)
Regarding claim 10, Sasamoto, as modified, teaches wherein the display control step displays, on a screen displaying the plurality of the work items, a registered information item related to registered information of the farm field and of a route, a work history item related to a work history in the farm field, and a setting item related to a setting of the work vehicle, (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0005: “An agriculture support system includes: an agriculture support device including: a work creator to create a work plan of an agricultural operation to be performed by an agriculture machine; and a communicator to transmit the work plan from the work creator; and a display provided in the agriculture machine, the display including: a machine information obtainer to obtain machine information of the agriculture machine; a plan obtainer to obtain the work plan transmitted from the communicator; and an evaluator to compare the work plan with the machine information obtained by the machine information obtaining and to evaluate the work plan; wherein the display displays an evaluation result provided by the evaluator”; Paragraph 0011: “FIG. 4 is a view showing registration of an agricultural field according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention.”; Paragraph 0025: “FIG. 1, a display device 80 provided on the agriculture machine, for example, acquires various types of information from the agriculture support device 90 to support the agricultural work to be executed by the agriculture machine. The agriculture machine is a tractor or a rice transplanter provided with a working device such as an implement, a combine for the harvesting, or the like. The agriculture machine 1 mentioned above is just an example and is not limited thereto.”,
Supplemental Note: the registered information is equivalent to the agriculture field information being stored, also shown in Fig. 4 below. The work history related to the work plan information that is done on that field. The setting item relates to the machine information of the agriculture machine which can be set depending on the work type)
identifiably displays the plurality of the work items arranged in a center of the display unit, (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0017: “FIG. 9A is a view illustrating an example of an operation map displayed in a first area according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention.”,
Supplemental Note: in this configuration, the work the field vehicle has to do is shown in the center of the screen by a map)
displays the registered information item, the work history item, and the setting item arranged on one side in a vertical or horizontal direction relative to the plurality of the work items, (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0092: “For example, the reception of the input to the setting unit 86 displayed in the second area M22, that is, the reception of the input to the setting unit 86 for changing the setting of the tractor 1 or the working device 2 is stopped”; Paragraph 0135: “The display portion 82 includes the first area M21 that displays at least the external information transmitted from the agriculture support device 90 and includes the second area M22 that displays at least the internal information different from the external information, and the plurality of agricultural maps are displayed in the first area M21. In this manner, the agricultural map is displayed in the first area M21 in which the external information is displayed while the internal information and the external information are distinguished, so that the operator can easily check the agricultural map. For example, when the internal information is information on the setting of the agriculture machine and the like, the setting of the agriculture machine can be performed while watching the agricultural map.”; Paragraph 0081: “The display device 80 includes a plan acquiring portion 81 and a display portion 82. The plan acquiring portion 81 includes electric and electronic components provided on the display device 80, computer programs stored in the display device 80, and the like. The plan acquiring portion 81 acquires the work plan transmitted from the communicator portion 95 of the agriculture support device 90. For example, the plan acquiring portion 81 instructs the communicator device 60A of the tractor 1 to request the agriculture support device 90 to acquire a work plan, and receives the work plan when the communicator device 60A receives the work plan. Alternatively, when the work plan is inputted to the input/output device 63 through the terminal 15B, the plan acquiring portion 81 fetches the work plan inputted to the input/output device 63. The display portion 82 includes a liquid crystal panel, a monitor, or the like.”,
Supplemental Note: as shown in Fig. 8a, these claimed settings can be found on the vertical and horizontal direction. For example, the M22 area of the display relates to internal information while M21 teaches the external information collected. Since the claimed registered information, work history and settings are all internal information, it is equivalent to the claimed function of displaying them vertically/horizontally on the M22 section of the screen. The work item in the middle, is also larger than the settings displayed horizontally and vertically. )
and displays the plurality of the work items larger than the registered information item, the work history item, and the setting item. (Sasamoto: As shown in Fig. 9a, the work items are shown in section M21 whereas the internal information is shown on the M22 portion of the screen)
Regarding claim 11, Sasamoto teaches a management terminal for managing a work vehicle capable of performing an automatic travel, the management terminal comprising: (Sasamoto: Abstract: “An agriculture support system includes an agriculture support device including a work creator to create a work plan of an agricultural operation to be performed by an agriculture machine, and a communicator to transmit the work plan from the work creator, and a display provided in the agriculture machine, including a machine information obtainer to obtain machine information of the agriculture machine, a plan obtainer to obtain the work plan transmitted from the communicator, an evaluator to compare the work plan with the machine information obtained by the machine information obtaining and to evaluate the work plan, and a display to display an evaluation result provided by the evaluator.”; Paragraph 0061: “When the tractor 1 is in a mode for the automatic traveling, the tractor 1 travels while automatically steering the steering or the like along the scheduled traveling route R1 acquired above.”)
a storage unit that stores an application for managing the work vehicle; (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0034: “the agriculture support device 90 is a server installed in, for example, a farmer, a farming company, an agriculture machine constructor, an agricultural service provider, or the like. The agriculture support device 90 includes a work creator portion 91 and a storage portion (a work plan storage portion) 92. The work creator portion 91 includes electric/electronic components or circuitry provided in the agriculture support device 90, programs stored in the agriculture support device 90, or the like. The work plan storage portion 92 preferably includes a nonvolatile memory or the like.”)
a controller that starts the application; and (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0029: “The controller device 12 is a device for controlling the tractor, and includes a CPU or the like. The controller device 12 controls the traveling system of the tractor 1 and the working system of the tractor 1 based on the detection values detected by the detector device 11 and the like. For example, the controller device 12 detects the operation extent of the operation tool for moving the coupler portion 8 up and down with the operation extent detector sensor, performs the control to move the coupler portion 8 up and down based on the operation extent, and control a revolving speed of the diesel engine based on the operation extent detected by the accelerator pedal sensor. The controller device 12 only needs to control the working system of the tractor 1 and the traveling system of the tractor 1, and the control method is not limited.”)
a display unit, (Sasamoto: Abstract: “a display provided in the agriculture machine”)
wherein the controller, determines a current location of the work based, (Sasamoto: Paragraphs 0031 – 0032 : “The tractor 1 includes a position detector device 70A. The position detector device 70A is mounted on a top plate of the cabin 9 of the traveling vehicle 3. The position detector device 70A is mounted on the top plate of the cabin 9. However, the mounting position in the traveling vehicle 3 is not limited thereto, and may be another position. In addition, the position detector device 70A may be attached to the working device 2. The position detector device 70A is a device configured to detect its own position (the positioning information that includes latitude and longitude) in accordance with a satellite positioning system. That is, the position detector device 70A receives the signals (the position of positioning satellite, the transmission time, the correction information, and the like) transmitted from the positioning satellite, and then detects the position (latitude and longitude) based on the received signal. The position detector device 70A may detect, as its own position (latitude and longitude), a position corrected based on a signal such as a correction transmitted from a ground station (a reference station) capable of receiving a signal transmitted from the positioning satellite. In addition, the position detector device 70A may include an inertial measurement device such as a gyro sensor or an acceleration sensor, and may detect the position corrected by the inertial measurement device as its own position.”)
by upon starting the application, selectably displays, on the display unit of the management terminal, a plurality of work items related to work that is performed by the work vehicle in a farm field wherein the plurality of work items displayed are based, at least in part, upon the current location of the work vehicle (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0084: “In displaying the work plan screen M3 in the first area M21, the work plan screen M3 displays the agricultural work, a model number, model and name of agriculture machine (working device), a work date, the scheduled traveling route R1, the working width, and the lapping width”; Paragraph 0094: “Now, as shown in FIG. 9A, the display portion 82 of the display device 80 displays, in the first area M21, a work map F20 including the agricultural field represented in the work plan. The work map F20 is a map registered in the display device 80 in advance. Note that map data including an agricultural field may be acquired with the agriculture support device 90 or the like, and the map data acquired above may be used as the work map F20.”; Paragraph 0095: “the display portion 82 extracts a work plan to be performed on the day (referred to as a current day plan) from among a plurality of work plans, using the work date as a key, and the display portion 82 displays, on the work map F20, an agricultural field (referred to as a work target field) H1 indicated by the current day plan extracted above. In addition, the display portion 82 respectively displays the target work field H1 and the other fields H2 other than the target work field H1 in different colors from among the plurality of work plans on the work map F20. The display portion 80 may display both the graphic 110 indicating the current position of the tractor 1 and the target work field H1 on the work map F20, and may display the guidance route 111 from the current position to the entrance of the target work field H1.”,
Supplemental Note: the display control is able to show the current work plan for the day, the location of the work on the map and guidance from the current position of the work vehicle to the work location)
In sum, Sasamoto teaches a management terminal for managing a work vehicle capable of performing an automatic travel, the management terminal comprising: a storage unit that stores an application for managing the work vehicle; a controller that starts the application; and a display unit, wherein the controller, determines a current location of the work based, by upon starting the application, selectably displays, on the display unit of the management terminal, a plurality of work items related to work that is performed by the work vehicle in a farm field wherein the plurality of work items displayed are based, at least in part, upon the current location of the work vehicle. Sasamoto however does not teach at least in part, on Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) measurements received from the work vehicle whereas Hirate does.
Hirate teaches at least in part, on Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) measurements received from the work vehicle; and (Hirate: Paragraph 0041: “The vehicle of the present embodiment includes a GNSS receiving part 41, a vehicle speed sensor 42, a gyro sensor 43, a vehicle control ECU 44, and a camera 45. The GNSS receiving part 41 is a device that receives Global Navigation Satellite System signals, and receives radio waves from navigation satellites and outputs a signal for calculating a current location of the vehicle through an interface which is not shown. The control part 20 obtains the signal and thereby obtains a current location of the vehicle.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Sasamoto with the teachings of Hirate with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to claim 1 as they both state the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 12, Sasamoto teaches a processor-implemented (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0029: “The controller device 12 is a device for controlling the tractor, and includes a CPU or the like“)
management system for managing a work vehicle capable of performing an automatic travel, the management system comprising: (Sasamoto: Abstract: “An agriculture support system includes an agriculture support device including a work creator to create a work plan of an agricultural operation to be performed by an agriculture machine, and a communicator to transmit the work plan from the work creator, and a display provided in the agriculture machine, including a machine information obtainer to obtain machine information of the agriculture machine, a plan obtainer to obtain the work plan transmitted from the communicator, an evaluator to compare the work plan with the machine information obtained by the machine information obtaining and to evaluate the work plan, and a display to display an evaluation result provided by the evaluator.”; Paragraph 0061: “When the tractor 1 is in a mode for the automatic traveling, the tractor 1 travels while automatically steering the steering or the like along the scheduled traveling route R1 acquired above.”)
determining, by a processor coupled to a work vehicle management terminal associated with management system, (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0068: “As shown in FIG. 1, the agriculture support device 90 has a map data storage portion 93. The map data storage portion 93 includes a nonvolatile memory or the like, and stores the acquired agricultural map data (the field shape data, the yield data, the taste data, the growth data, the soil data, the variable fertilization data, the automatic traveling data, the work history data, the map data). Specifically, as shown in FIG. 5, when the agriculture support device 90 acquires the agricultural map data, the map data storage portion 93 allocates the management information indicated by characters, alphanumeric characters, and the like in the agricultural map data acquired above, and the agricultural map data is stored together with the management information. The management information is information set to make it easy to calculate, search, organize, and the like of the agricultural map data.”)
a current location of the work based, (Sasamoto: Paragraphs 0031 – 0032 : “The tractor 1 includes a position detector device 70A. The position detector device 70A is mounted on a top plate of the cabin 9 of the traveling vehicle 3. The position detector device 70A is mounted on the top plate of the cabin 9. However, the mounting position in the traveling vehicle 3 is not limited thereto, and may be another position. In addition, the position detector device 70A may be attached to the working device 2. The position detector device 70A is a device configured to detect its own position (the positioning information that includes latitude and longitude) in accordance with a satellite positioning system. That is, the position detector device 70A receives the signals (the position of positioning satellite, the transmission time, the correction information, and the like) transmitted from the positioning satellite, and then detects the position (latitude and longitude) based on the received signal. The position detector device 70A may detect, as its own position (latitude and longitude), a position corrected based on a signal such as a correction transmitted from a ground station (a reference station) capable of receiving a signal transmitted from the positioning satellite. In addition, the position detector device 70A may include an inertial measurement device such as a gyro sensor or an acceleration sensor, and may detect the position corrected by the inertial measurement device as its own position.”)
causing, by the processor, upon starting an application that manages the work vehicle, the application to selectably display, on a display unit of the management terminal, a plurality of work items related to work that is performed by the work vehicle in a farm field wherein the plurality of work items displayed are based, at least in part, upon the current location of the work vehicle (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0084: “In displaying the work plan screen M3 in the first area M21, the work plan screen M3 displays the agricultural work, a model number, model and name of agriculture machine (working device), a work date, the scheduled traveling route R1, the working width, and the lapping width”; Paragraph 0094: “Now, as shown in FIG. 9A, the display portion 82 of the display device 80 displays, in the first area M21, a work map F20 including the agricultural field represented in the work plan. The work map F20 is a map registered in the display device 80 in advance. Note that map data including an agricultural field may be acquired with the agriculture support device 90 or the like, and the map data acquired above may be used as the work map F20.”; Paragraph 0095: “the display portion 82 extracts a work plan to be performed on the day (referred to as a current day plan) from among a plurality of work plans, using the work date as a key, and the display portion 82 displays, on the work map F20, an agricultural field (referred to as a work target field) H1 indicated by the current day plan extracted above. In addition, the display portion 82 respectively displays the target work field H1 and the other fields H2 other than the target work field H1 in different colors from among the plurality of work plans on the work map F20. The display portion 80 may display both the graphic 110 indicating the current position of the tractor 1 and the target work field H1 on the work map F20, and may display the guidance route 111 from the current position to the entrance of the target work field H1.”,
Supplemental Note: the display control is able to show the current work plan for the day, the location of the work on the map and guidance from the current position of the work vehicle to the work location)
In sum, Sasamoto teaches a processor-implemented management system for managing a work vehicle capable of performing an automatic travel, the management system comprising: determining, by a processor coupled to a work vehicle management terminal associated with management system, a current location of the work based, causing, by the processor, upon starting an application that manages the work vehicle, the application to selectably display, on a display unit of the management terminal, a plurality of work items related to work that is performed by the work vehicle in a farm field wherein the plurality of work items displayed are based, at least in part, upon the current location of the work vehicle. Sasamoto however does not teach at least in part, Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) measurements received from the work vehicle whereas Hirate does.
Hirate teaches at least in part, Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) measurements received from the work vehicle: and (Hirate: Paragraph 0041: “The vehicle of the present embodiment includes a GNSS receiving part 41, a vehicle speed sensor 42, a gyro sensor 43, a vehicle control ECU 44, and a camera 45. The GNSS receiving part 41 is a device that receives Global Navigation Satellite System signals, and receives radio waves from navigation satellites and outputs a signal for calculating a current location of the vehicle through an interface which is not shown. The control part 20 obtains the signal and thereby obtains a current location of the vehicle.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention disclosed by Sasamoto with the teachings of Hirate with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to claim 1 as they both state the same functional language and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments in section Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 101 of the REMARKS/ARGUMENTS filed 11/18/2025 regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1 – 12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states claims 1, 11 and 12 and dependent claims 2 – 10 do not invoke the 35 U.S.C. 101 claim rejections. Evaluating Step Two, Prong One for claim 1, applicant states the examiner failed to undertake any substantive analysis, particularly ignoring that the claim recited a “processor-implemented method indicating that the method is performed on a processor” to “manage a work vehicle capable of performing an automatic travel” which is a physical machine able to operated autonomously. Applicant further states that Examiner argues without substantiation that “a processor-implemented method can merely be a generic computer used to complete the mental process”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 merely mentions the processor is implemented on a work vehicle capable of performing automatic travel, however nowhere else in the claim does it state that the processor is performing the autonomous driving. There is no practical application taking place, the processor is merely determining a current location of the work, evaluating what work is to be completed for that location by a work vehicle, then displaying the work items on the work vehicle. Besides the preamble there is no mention of the processor performing automatic travel, thus examiner states the applicant is arguing without substantiation on how the practical application is being done.
Applicant further states the plurality of work items are displayed upon the current location of the work vehicle based on GNSS measurements, thus does not constitute a “pre-solution data gathering activity”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The GNSS measurements are received by the processor from the work vehicle to know it’s location, thus it is merely gathering data of the GNSS measurements. For example, one of ordinary skill in the art is able to receive the GNSS measurements and then able to determine the location of the corresponding work vehicle.
Applicant further states the processor cannot and does not perform a “mental process”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Per MPEP section 2106.04(a)(2), III. Mental Processes, C. Claims That Requires a Computer May Still Recite a Mental Process state: “Claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer.”. Thus the MPEP states a processor, aka a generic computer, is able to perform a mental process. Further details of what the mental process is regarding the specific claim limitations are stated below.
Applicant further states the processor performing a determination of the work vehicle based on GNSS measurements or determining what work items to display based on the location are not a mental process. Applicant states the Examiner is cherry-picking elements of the claim and arbitrarily categorizing one element as “pre-solution data gathering” and another as “insignificant post-solution activity” without substantiation and ignoring the plain language of the claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The GNSS measurements are sent to the processor where it determines the work vehicle’s location. First, the processor acquiring the GNSS measurements is merely data gathering. The processor further determines the location of the work vehicle based on the GNSS measurements, which is a mental process. For example, if one of ordinary skill in the art acquires GNSS measurements, they can then determine what exact location the work vehicle is in. The mere recitation of a processor does not overcome the mental process being performed. For example, replacing the “processor” within the claims to “one of ordinary skill in the art”, the human would still be able to receive the GNSS measurements and mentally make a determination about the location of the work vehicle. The processor is merely a generic computer used to perform the mental process. Furthermore, the ability to determine the work items that are needed for that location is mental process. For example, one of ordinary skill can have a mental database of what work items are required to be done for each work vehicle at a location, thus once the location is determined by acquiring the GNSS measurement, identifying work items for that particular location can be done mentally. Displaying the results of the mental process is merely an insignificant post-solution activity as specified by MPEP section 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity [R-10.2019], “iii. Selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016);”. The format of the 35 U.S.C. 101 prior art rejection for these claims evaluates all of the limitations within the claim as to provide the applicant with clear guidance on what each limitation is being identified as and why. Examiner encourages applicant to view MPEP section 2106.05, Eligibility Step 2B: Whether a Claim Amounts to Significantly More [R-07.2022].
Applicant further states the specifications outline the complexity of associating the work items with the work vehicle and when the claim is viewed as a whole, the claim integrates the alleged exception into a practical application that facilitates work vehicle management and operation while ensuring automatic display and selection of work items for a work vehicle. Applicant states these limitations advance over the conventional vehicle management technology. Applicant states the examiner is merely cherry picking individual claim elements as “data gathering” or “insignificant post-solution activity”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Please see response from above as the arguments are the same thus so are the examiner responses. Examiner encourages applicant to view MPEP section 2106, Patent Subject Matter Eligibility [R-10.2019] to get a better understanding of how a 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is evaluated so they cannot make baseless arguments of the examiner cherry picking claim limitations without substantiation.
Independent claims 11 and 12 which recite similar limitations as claim 1 are still rejected under the same pretenses. Claims 2 – 10 are still rejected as being dependent upon claim 1.
Applicant's arguments in section Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103 of the REMARKS/ARGUMENTS filed 11/18/2025 regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 prior art rejection of claims 1 – 12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that neither prior art of Sasamoto nor Hirate teach the ability to display a plurality of work items based upon the current location of the work vehicle. Applicant states Sasamoto teaches the ability of displaying a work plan for the day which includes the work location and route guidance to the work field. Applicant states the examiner fails to support the interpretation of the claimed “work items” as the “target work fields” as taught by Sasamoto as the specification distinguishes between a “farm field” and “work item” performed on the farm field. Applicant states Sasamoto does not teach “starting an application that manages the work vehicle” or a “plurality of work items” as the work plan screen only displayed two specific items. Applicant further states the work plan is extracted as using the work date as a key and not the claim limitation of displaying the work items based upon the current location of the work vehicle. Examiner respectfully disagrees. In regards to the claim limitation of “a display control step in which, the processor, upon starting an application that manages the work vehicle,”, Sasamoto teaches the display device having a computer program to acquire a work plan for the work field from a plan agriculture support device (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0081). Therefore, the computer program of the display device is able to receive a work plan once started. Furthermore, Sasamoto teaches a work plan screen on the display which shows what farm field is to be worked on and the work type to be done for that day. The current location of the work vehicle is also taken into consideration as the system is able to route the work vehicle to the entrance of the work field. This is interpreted to teach the claim limitations of “causes the application to selectably display, on a display unit of the management terminal, a plurality of work items related to work that is performed by the work vehicle in a farm field,” as it is identifying a plurality work items to be performed, such as “Fertilization” as shown in Fig. 7 below but can also be seedbed soil making, ridge plastering, tilling, seeding, rice planting, ploughing and irrigating, grooving, weeding, topdressing, and harvesting (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0035). The claim states “wherein the plurality of work items displayed are based, at least in part, upon the current location of the work vehicle”, thus having the ability to route the work vehicle to the entrance of the work field is taking the current location of the work vehicle as it is able to direct it to the work field (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0084; Paragraph 0094; Paragraph 0095; Fig. 7). Furthermore, the work judgement portion determines the work area that can be performed by the work vehicle, the work area with its corresponding work items are set based on a position of the vehicle (Sasamoto: Paragraph 0101).
Independent claims 11 and 12 which recite similar limitations as claim 1 are still rejected under the same pretenses. Claims 2 – 10 are still rejected as being dependent upon claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665