Ou mDETAILED ACTION
This Action addresses the communication received on 22 Apr 2026. Applicant has amended Claims 1-7 and 37. The Office rejects pending Claims 1-37 as detailed below.
Response to Amendments
[**Examiner Note: Applicant has submitted marked-up claims with insertions and deletions shown in other-than-black font. Through the various stages of file record entry and processing, the non-black characters become half-toned and unrecognizable by Office OCR tools, resulting in, for example, the following text from amended Claim 1 needing to be first edited and cross-referenced before it can be used in the Office Action:
…a detector configured to produce a photocurrent signal corresponding to the received pulse of light 'Nlwrein the Dhotocnrrent sienai cornprjses one or more heat i,jgnati, ..;vherein __ each _ of the _ OJH.'_ or_nlore __ bea:. __ sig:nal ,:_ corre".pOJlds _:.o __ a_freq ueJlcv. Difference betvv',X'n t,vo of the t,vo or more ODtical--frnunencv cornponents of rbe received m.1lse of fa::ht and \vherein the one or rnon.' beal ,:i 2:nah, result frorn coberem rnixin;;,: at the detector_ of_thr. (\,'/O. or _morr_ optic8.l-frequency _componenls _ of tbe m:;ei vrdpul_~-r. of_lj_ght;
In future communications, the Office requests that Applicant submit amendment mark-ups in only black font, wich may be accomplished by altering the mark-up color through Word’s Advanced Track Changes Options.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
+_+_+ Claims 1-7, 15-20, 26-27, 34-35, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Willner et al. - U.S. Pub. 20090059201 +_+_+
As for Claim 1, Willner teaches a light source configured to emit pulses of light, wherein each emitted pulse of light comprises a spectral signature of a plurality of different spectral signatures, wherein each spectral signature of the plurality of different spectral signatures comprises two or more optical-frequency components (¶39|1: “Imaging system 200 generates transmitted optical signal 251 from baseband signal 261 through laser driver circuit 203 and laser diode array 205, which is modulated by PN-code generator 201. With an embodiment of the invention, the transmitted pulse is modulated with a selected pseudo-noise (PN) code (as shown in FIG. 6) as determined by controller 223.” Further, (¶57|1) “Referring to FIG. 2, PN code generator 201 produces a modulation signal s(t0, f0, t) sometimes referred to as the intermediate frequency (i.f.) signal.” That is, the signal contains the original frequency component plus the PN frequency component.); a receiver configured to detect a received pulse of light, the received pulse of light comprising light from one of the emitted pulses of light scattered by a target located a distance from the lidar system, the emitted pulse of light comprising one of the spectral signatures (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.”), wherein the receiver comprises: a detector configured to produce a photocurrent signal corresponding to the received pulse of light, wherein the photocurrent signal comprises one or more beat signals, wherein each of the one or more beat signals corresponds to a frequency difference between two of the two or more of the optical-frequency components of the received pulse of light, and wherein the one or more beat signals result from coherent mixing at the detector of the two or more optical frequency components of the received pulse of light (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.”); a frequency-detection circuit configured to determine, based on the one or more beat signals in the photocurrent signal, a spectral signature of the received pulse of light; and a pulse-detection circuit configured to determine, based on the photocurrent signal, a time-of-arrival of the received pulse of light; and a processor configured to determine: that the spectral signature of the received pulse of light matches the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light; and the distance to the target based on the time-of-arrival of the received pulse of light (¶40|14: “The selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems (¶40|14: “The selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.” Further, (¶44|1) “[i]maging system 200 supports measurements of pixel-specific range and radial closing Velocity (i.e., the velocity of target vehicle 103 with respect to source vehicle 101) over the full image field and supports applications requiring full-field distance and Velocity information, Such as a positioned military vehicle in order to complement a standard visible camera or optical image sensor, and greatly enhancing the performance of the latter. Imaging system 200 determines positional LIDAR data (e.g., Velocity and/or ranging estimates) for each pixel of the overall image. The positional information may be subsequently added to image information on a per pixel basis.”)
As for Claim 2, which depends on Claim 1, Willner teaches wherein the one or more beat
signals comprise a plurality of beat signals having different respective beat frequencies (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
As for Claim 3, which depends on Claim 1, Willner teaches wherein determining the spectral signature of the received pulse of light comprises determining one or more respective beat frequencies of the one or more beat signals (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
As for Claim 4, which depends on Claim 1, Willner teaches wherein determining that the spectral signature of the received pulse of light matches the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light comprises determining that one or more beat frequencies associated with the received pulse of light are approximately equal to one or more beat frequencies associated with the emitted pulse of light (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
As for Claim 5, which depends on Claim 1, Willner teaches wherein: the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light comprises a first optical-frequency component having a first frequency f1 and a second optical-frequency component having a second frequency f2, wherein f2 is greater than f1; the first optical-frequency component is represented by E1(t) • cos[2πf1t + ϕ1], wherein E1(t) represents an amplitude of an electric field of the first optical-frequency component, and ϕ1 represents a phase of the first optical-frequency component; the second optical-frequency component is represented by E2(t) • cos[2πf2t + ϕ2], wherein E2(t) represents an amplitude of an electric field of the second optical-frequency component, and ϕ2 represents a phase of the second optical-frequency component; and the photocurrent signal produced by the detector in response to the received pulse of light comprises a beat signal having a beat frequency of (f2 - f1) (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
As for Claim 6, which depends on Claim 1, Willner teaches wherein two of the optical-frequency components are coherently mixed at the detector to produce one of the beat signals (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
As for Claim 7, which depends on Claim 1, Willner teaches wherein the beat frequency of each beat signal is between 100 MHz and 40 GHz (¶36|1: “While FIG. 1 illustrates a military application, embodiments of the invention Support commercial applications, including automobile collision avoidance, production automation, and autonomous navigation. Moreover, application may involve military vehicles, automobiles, ships, and aircraft.” Commercial and defense application FMCW LiDAR beat signals typically fall in the claimed frequency range.)
As for Claim 15, which depends on Claim 1, Willner teaches wherein determining the spectral signature of the received pulse of light comprises determining a frequency spectrum of the photocurrent signal (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
As for Claim 16, which depends on Claim 15, Willner teaches wherein determining that the spectral signature of the received pulse of light matches the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light comprises comparing the frequency spectrum of the photocurrent signal of the received pulse of light to a frequency spectrum of a photocurrent signal associated with the emitted pulse of light (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
As for Claim 17, which depends on Claim 15, Willner teaches wherein: the frequency-detection circuit is further configured to produce an output signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal; and the frequency-detection circuit is configured to determine the frequency spectrum of the photocurrent signal based on the output signal (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
As for Claim 18, which depends on Claim 1, Willner teaches wherein determining that the spectral signature of the received pulse of light matches the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light comprises determining that a measure of correlation between the spectral signature of the received pulse of light and the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light is greater than a particular threshold correlation value (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
As for Claim 19, which depends on Claim 1, Willner teaches wherein: the emitted pulse of light is one of P most recently emitted pulses of light, wherein P is an integer greater than or equal to 2; the frequency-detection circuit is further configured to determine a spectral signature of each of the P emitted pulses of light, the determined spectral signatures comprising the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light and spectral signatures of the other (P-1) emitted pulses of light; and determining that the spectral signature of the received pulse of light matches the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light comprises determining that a measure of correlation between the spectral signature of the received pulse of light and the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light is greater than each of (P-1) measures of correlation between the spectral signature of the received pulse of light and the spectral signatures of the other (P-1) emitted pulses of light (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
As for Claim 20, which depends on Claim 1, Willner teaches wherein: the received pulse of light is a first received pulse of light; the spectral signature of the received pulse of light is a first spectral signature; the receiver is further configured to detect a second received pulse of light; the frequency-detection circuit is further configured to determine a second spectral signature of the second received pulse of light, wherein the second spectral signature is different from the first spectral signature; and the processor is further configured to determine that the second spectral signature does not match the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
As for Claim 26, which depends on Claim 1, Willner teaches wherein the light source is configured to impart to each emitted pulse of light one of the spectral signatures (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
As for Claim 27, which depends on Claim 26, Willner teaches wherein the light source is configured to impart spectral signatures to the emitted pulses of light so that the spectral signatures change in a random manner (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
As for Claim 34, which depends on Claim 1, Willner teaches wherein the detector is one of a plurality of detectors, each detector configured to produce a respective photocurrent signal corresponding to the received pulse of light (¶15|3: “The reflected signal is processed by an optical array that detects a signal from the reflected optical signal, where the detected signal contains a plurality of pixels spanning a target space.”)
As for Claim 35, which depends on Claim 1, Willner teaches wherein the receiver further comprises: an electronic amplifier configured to receive the photocurrent signal from the detector and amplify the photocurrent signal to produce a voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal, wherein: the frequency-detection circuit determines the spectral signature of the received pulse of light from the voltage signal; and the pulse-detection circuit determines the time-of-arrival of the received pulse of light from the voltage signal (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
Claim 37 recites substantially the same subject matter as Claim 1 and stands rejected on the same basis accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
+_+_+ Claims 8-14 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willner in view of Irish et al. - U.S. Pub. 20180059220 +_+_+
As for Claim 8, which depends on Claim 1, Willner does not explicitly detail the underlying circuitry of the signal receiver.
But Irish teaches wherein the frequency-detection circuit is further configured to (i) receive a voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal and (ii) produce, based on the received voltage signal, an output signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal, wherein the spectral signature of the received pulse of light is determined based on the output signal (¶39|5: “The basic receiving circuit 600 generally operates by receiving an optical input at the photodiode Dl (which is configured to receive a bias voltage, + V) and provides a corresponding output ("SIGNAL"). More specifically, the photodiode Dl (and/or other optical receivers) operate as a current source. The amplifier Ul (which can comprise a trans-impedance amplifier (TIA)), along with resistor Rl, serve to convert the current into a voltage. The value of capacitor Cl can be determined so that it filters out frequencies lower than the pulse and signature frequencies (for example, 100 MHz or lower, 50 MHz or lower, etc.). The output ("SIGNAL") can then be provided to a signal processing circuit, such as the circuits shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B, and described below.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine Willner and Irish because converting light signals to voltage signals is a necessary step to implementing a working LiDAR.
As for Claim 9, which depends on Claim 8, Irish teaches wherein the receiver further comprises an electronic amplifier configured to receive the photocurrent signal from the detector and amplify the photocurrent signal to produce the voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal (¶39|10: “The amplifier U1 (which can comprise a trans-impedance amplifier (TIA)), along with resistor R1, serve to convert the current into a voltage.”)
As for Claim 10, which depends on Claim 8, Irish teaches wherein the frequency-detection circuit comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) configured to (i) receive the voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal and (ii) produce, based on the received voltage signal, the output signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal (¶39|5: “The basic receiving circuit 600 generally operates by receiving an optical input at the photodiode Dl (which is configured to receive a bias voltage, + V) and provides a corresponding output ("SIGNAL"). More specifically, the photodiode Dl (and/or other optical receivers) operate as a current source. The amplifier Ul (which can comprise a trans-impedance amplifier (TIA)), along with resistor Rl, serve to convert the current into a voltage. The value of capacitor Cl can be determined so that it filters out frequencies lower than the pulse and signature frequencies (for example, 100 MHz or lower, 50 MHz or lower, etc.). The output ("SIGNAL") can then be provided to a signal processing circuit, such as the circuits shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B, and described below.”)
As for Claim 11, which depends on Claim 8, Irish teaches wherein the frequency-detection circuit comprises a plurality of comparators and a plurality of time-to-digital converters (TDCs ), each comparator coupled to a corresponding TDC, wherein: each comparator is configured to (i) receive the voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal and (ii) provide an electrical-edge signal to the corresponding TDC when the voltage signal rises above or falls below a particular threshold voltage; and the corresponding TDC is configured to produce a time value corresponding to a time when the electrical-edge signal was received, wherein the output signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal comprises time values produced by one or more of the TDCs (¶48|1: “The detector 750 can comprise a circuit configured to determine whether a frequency is detected ( e.g., with at least a threshold amplitude) on an output signal of the filter 740. In some embodiments, for example, the detector may measure the amplitude of the input signal after being filtered by the filter 740. If a valid frequency is detected, the detector 750 can produce an output indicating that a detected ringing frequency is valid.”)
As for Claim 12, which depends on Claim 8, Irish teaches wherein the frequency-detection circuit comprises one or more electronic band-pass filters and one or more amplitude detectors, each band-pass filter coupled to a corresponding amplitude detector, wherein: each band-pass filter has a particular pass-band with a particular center frequency and is configured to (i) receive the voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal and (ii) produce a filtered signal, the filtered signal corresponding to a portion of the voltage signal within the particular pass-band of the band-pass filter; and the corresponding amplitude detector is configured to produce an amplitude signal that corresponds to an amplitude of the filtered signal, wherein the output signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal comprises one or more amplitude signals from one or more of the amplitude detectors (¶47|1: “To determine whether a ringing frequency of a detected laser pulse is valid (i.e., matches the ringing frequency of the most recently-generated laser pulse), the input signal is also provided to a filter 740. Here, the filter 740 can be a band-pass filter configured to filter out frequencies from the input signal other than the ringing frequency of the most recently-generated laser pulse.”)
As for Claim 13, which depends on Claim 12, Irish teaches wherein the amplitude signal produced by the corresponding amplitude detector comprises a first value if the amplitude of the filtered signal is greater than or equal to a particular threshold value and a second value if the amplitude of the filtered signal is less than the particular threshold value (¶48|1: “The detector 750 can comprise a circuit configured to determine whether a frequency is detected ( e.g., with at least a threshold amplitude) on an output signal of the filter 740. In some embodiments, for example, the detector may measure the amplitude of the input signal after being filtered by the filter 740. If a valid frequency is detected, the detector 750 can produce an output indicating that a detected ringing frequency is valid.”)
As for Claim 14, which depends on Claim 8, Irish teaches wherein the frequency-detection circuit comprises: a derivative circuit configured to (i) receive the voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal and (ii) produce, based on the received voltage signal, a derivative signal that corresponds to a derivative of the photocurrent signal; and a zero-crossing circuit configured to determine a plurality of zero crossings of the derivative signal, each zero crossing corresponding to a time associated with a local maximum or minimum of the photocurrent signal, wherein the output signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal comprises the zero crossings (¶42|1: “The DSP 720 can comprise processing circuitry capable of processing an input digital signal and determining whether a laser pulse has been detected, and whether that detected laser pulse has a ringing frequency that corresponds to a ringing frequency of the laser pulse most recently generated by the LIDAR system. It can be noted that some embodiments may utilize circuitry other than or in addition to the DSP 720, capable of analyzing a digital signal as indicated herein. In some embodiments, the DSP 720 may correspond to, be incorporated into, and/or work in conjunction with a processing unit (such as the processing unit 110 of FIG. 1). In some embodiments, the DSP 720 may be implemented by a field-programmable gate array (FPGA) or application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), which may operate faster and/or more efficiently than other circuitry.”)
As for Claim 36, which depends on Claim 1, Irish teaches wherein the pulse-detection circuit comprises a plurality of comparators and a plurality of time-to-digital converters (TDCs), wherein each comparator is coupled to a TDC, wherein: each comparator is configured to receive a voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal and provide an electrical-edge signal to a corresponding TDC when the voltage signal rises above or falls below a particular threshold voltage; and the corresponding TDC is configured to produce a time value corresponding to a time when the electrical-edge signal was received, wherein the time-of-arrival of the received pulse of light is determined based at least in part on one or more time values produced by one or more of the TDCs (48|1: “The detector 750 can comprise a circuit configured to determine whether a frequency is detected (e.g., with at least a threshold amplitude) on an output signal of the filter 740. In some embodiments, for example, the detector may measure the amplitude of the input signal after being filtered by the filter 740. If a valid frequency is detected, the detector 750 can produce an output indicating that a detected ringing frequency is valid.”)
+-_+_+_+-_+_+_+-_+_+_+-_+_+_+-_+_+_+-_+_+_+
+_+_+ Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willner in view of Solomentsev et al. - U.S. Pub. 20210333407 +_+_+
As for Claim 21, which depends on Claim 1, Willner does not explicitly teach emitting test light pulses.
But Solomentsev teaches wherein the light source is further configured to emit test pulses of light, wherein each test pulse of light is associated with one of the emitted pulses of light (¶146|5: “As shown, the LiDAR system 310 emits a test optical output pulse 502 (also referred to herein as transmitted test optical pulse) towards the test object 508. In certain embodiments, the test object 508 may have a respective type and may be placed at a pre-determined distance 506 from the LiDAR system 310. …(¶147) The transmitted test optical pulse 502 may be reflected by the test object 508 as a test optical return pulse 504 ( also referred to herein as reflected test optical pulse) towards the LiDAR system 310. Similarly to what has been described above with respect to FIG. 3, the receiver component 318 associated with the LiDAR system 310 may be configured to convert the reflected test optical pulse 504 into a corresponding electrical pulse (not shown). The LiDAR system 310 may provide the electrical pulse (not shown) associated with the reflected test optical pulse 504 to the ADC 402. The ADC 402 may be configured to sample and convert the electrical pulse into a template pulse profile including a series of discrete digital values. ”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine Irish and Solomentsev because using test pulses allows for calibrating the system for optimum performance.
As for Claim 22, which depends on Claim 21, Willner teaches wherein the frequency-detection circuit is further configured to determine a spectral signature of each of the emitted pulses of light based on a spectral signature of an associated test pulse of light (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
As for Claim 23, which depends on Claim 22, Willner teaches wherein: the processor is further configured to store the spectral signatures of P most recently emitted pulses of light, wherein P is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the P most recently emitted pulses of light include the emitted pulse of light; and determining that the spectral signature of the received pulse of light matches the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light comprises comparing the spectral signature of the received pulse of light to the spectral signature of each of the P most recently emitted pulses of light (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
As for Claim 24, which depends on Claim 21, Willner teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine that the spectral signature of the received pulse of light matches the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light based on the spectral signature of the received pulse of light matching a spectral signature of a test pulse of light associated with the emitted pulse of light (¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
As for Claim 25, which depends on Claim 21, Willner teaches wherein: the lidar system further comprises an optical splitter configured to split off a portion of each emitted pulse of light to produce a test pulse of light; the receiver is further configured to detect the test pulse of light; and the frequency-detection circuit is further configured to determine a spectral signature of the test pulse of light(¶81|1: “FIG. 4 shows an architecture of imaging system 400 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Reflected optical signal 453 is heterodyned (mixed) with reference optical signal 452. The embodiment shown uses beamsplitters 471 and 473, which may be either half-silvered mirrors or dielectrically-coated glass plates.” Further, (¶40|14) “[t]he selected PN code distinguishes transmitted optical signal 251 from other transmitted optical signals that may be generated by other imaging systems. (PN codes may be generated by different methods so that the codes are Sufficiently orthogonal to separate the desired signal from another signal having a different PN code. A Walsh code is one approach for obtaining a PN code.) Consequently, imaging system 200 is able to distinguish corresponding reflected optical signal 253 from other reflected optical signals.”)
+-_+_+_+-_+_+_+-_+_+_+-_+_+_+-_+_+_+-_+_+_+
+_+_+ Claims 28-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willner in view of LaChapelle et al. - U.S. Pub. 20200256960 +_+_+
As for Claim 28, which depends on Claim 1, Willner teaches using a laser to emit light pulses in a LiDAR system, but does not explicitly teach using a seed laser diode or SOA.
But teaches LaChapelle wherein the light source comprises: a seed laser diode configured to produce seed light; and a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) configured to amplify temporal portions of the seed light to produce the emitted pulses of light, wherein each amplified temporal portion of the seed light corresponds to an emitted pulse of light (¶81|1: “FIG. 8 illustrates an example light source 110 that includes a seed laser diode 350 and a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) 360. In particular embodiments, a light source 110 of a lidar system 100 may include (i) a seed laser diode 350 that produces seed optical pulses and (ii) a SOA 360 that amplifies the seed optical pulses and produces an output beam 125 that includes the amplified seed optical pulses.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine Willner and LaChapelle because seed laser diodes are a well-known, reliable, and low energy consuming lasers that work well in LiDAR systems.
As for Claim 29, which depends on Claim 28, LaChapelle teaches wherein the SOA comprises a tapered optical waveguide extending from an input end of the SOA to an output end of the SOA, wherein a width of the tapered optical waveguide increases from the input end to the output end (¶83|1: “In particular embodiments, a SOA 360 may include a constant-width optical waveguide or a tapered-width optical waveguide. An optical waveguide with a constant width may have a substantially fixed width ( e.g., a width of approximately 10 μm, 50 μm, 100 μm, 200 μm, 500 μm, or 1 mm). A tapered optical waveguide may extend from an input end to an output end of the SOA 360, and a width of the tapered waveguide may increase from the input end towards the output end.”)
As for Claim 30, which depends on Claim 28, LaChapelle teaches wherein the light source further comprises an electronic driver configured to: supply a substantially constant electrical current to the seed laser diode so that the seed light comprises light having a substantially constant optical power; and supply pulses of electrical current to the SOA, wherein each pulse of current causes the SOA to amplify one of the temporal portions of the seed light to produce one of the emitted pulses of light, wherein the spectral signature of each emitted pulse of light depends at least in part on one or more of: an amplitude of the substantially constant electrical current, an amplitude of the pulse of current, a duration of the pulse of current, a rise-time of the pulse of current, a fall-time of the pulse of current, and a shape of the pulse of current (¶81|1: “FIG. 8 illustrates an example light source 110 that includes a seed laser diode 350 and a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) 360. In particular embodiments, a light source 110 of a lidar system 100 may include (i) a seed laser diode 350 that produces seed optical pulses and (ii) a SOA 360 that amplifies the seed optical pulses and produces an output beam 125 that includes the amplified seed optical pulses.” Further, (¶118|23) “For example, a semiconductor photomultiplier detector array 500 may have a temporal risetime or fall-time of less than approximately 0.5 ns, 1 ns, 2 ns, 5 ns, or 10 ns and a detection area of approximately 1 xl mm, 2x2 mm, 5x5 mm, or l0xl0 mm.”)
As for Claim 31, which depends on Claim 28, LaChapelle teaches wherein the light source further comprises an electronic driver configured to: supply pulses of electrical current to the seed laser diode, wherein each pulse of seed current causes the seed laser diode to produce a seed pulse of light; and supply pulses of electrical current to the SOA, wherein each pulse of SOA current causes the SOA to amplify one of the seed pulses of light to produce one of the emitted pulses of light, wherein the spectral signature of each emitted pulse of light depends at least in part on one or more of: an amplitude of the pulse of seed current, a duration of the pulse of seed current, a risetime of the pulse of seed current, a fall-time of the pulse of seed current, a shape of the pulse of seed current, an amplitude of the pulse of SOA current, a duration of the pulse of SOA current, a rise-time of the pulse of SOA current, a fall-time of the pulse of SOA current, a shape of the pulse of SOA current, and a temporal offset between the pulse of seed current and the pulse of SOA current (¶81|1: “FIG. 8 illustrates an example light source 110 that includes a seed laser diode 350 and a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) 360. In particular embodiments, a light source 110 of a lidar system 100 may include (i) a seed laser diode 350 that produces seed optical pulses and (ii) a SOA 360 that amplifies the seed optical pulses and produces an output beam 125 that includes the amplified seed optical pulses.” Further, (¶118|23) “For example, a semiconductor photomultiplier detector array 500 may have a temporal risetime or fall-time of less than approximately 0.5 ns, 1 ns, 2 ns, 5 ns, or 10 ns and a detection area of approximately 1 xl mm, 2x2 mm, 5x5 mm, or l0xl0 mm.”)
As for Claim 32, which depends on Claim 1, LaChapelle teaches wherein the light source comprises: a seed laser diode configured to produce seed light; a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) configured to amplify temporal portions of the seed light to produce initial pulses of light; and a fiber-optical amplifier configured to further amplify the initial pulses of light to produce the emitted pulses of light, wherein each amplified temporal portion of the seed light corresponds to one of the emitted pulses of light (¶81|1: “FIG. 8 illustrates an example light source 110 that includes a seed laser diode 350 and a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) 360. In particular embodiments, a light source 110 of a lidar system 100 may include (i) a seed laser diode 350 that produces seed optical pulses and (ii) a SOA 360 that amplifies the seed optical pulses and produces an output beam 125 that includes the amplified seed optical pulses.”)
As for Claim 33, which depends on Claim 1, LaChapelle teaches wherein the light source comprises: a passive optical waveguide comprising an optical filter; a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA), wherein the passive optical waveguide and the SOA are optically coupled to one another; and an electronic driver configured to supply pulses of electrical current to the SOA, wherein each pulse of current causes the SOA to produce one of the emitted pulses of light (¶81|1: “FIG. 8 illustrates an example light source 110 that includes a seed laser diode 350 and a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) 360. In particular embodiments, a light source 110 of a lidar system 100 may include (i) a seed laser diode 350 that produces seed optical pulses and (ii) a SOA 360 that amplifies the seed optical pulses and produces an output beam 125 that includes the amplified seed optical pulses.”)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 Apr 2026 relate to newly amended claims and are not addressed in this section; the rejections above, however, address the latest version of the claims in detail.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicants should direct any inquiry concerning this or earlier communications to CLINT THATCHER at phone 571.270.3588. Examiner is normally available Mon-Fri, 9am to 5:30pm ET and generally keeps a daily 2:30pm timeslot open for interviews.
Though not relied on, the Office considers the additional prior art listed in the Notice of Reference Cited form (PTO-892) pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
/Clint Thatcher/
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645