The present application, filed on or after 16 Mar 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
DETAILED ACTION
Applicant presents Claims 1-37 for examination. The Office rejects Claims 1-37 as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20, 26-27, and 34-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Irish et al. (U.S. Pub. 20180059220).
As for Claim 1, Irish teaches a light source configured to emit pulses of light, wherein each emitted pulse of light comprises a spectral signature of a plurality of different spectral signatures (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.” Further, (¶37|4) “a LIDAR system may adjust the ringing frequency of each generated pulse in a series of pulses such that the signature of each pulse in the series of pulses is different.”); a receiver configured to detect a received pulse of light, the received pulse of light comprising light from one of the emitted pulses of light scattered by a target located a distance from the lidar system, the emitted pulse of light comprising one of the spectral signatures (¶22|9: “In so doing, the transmitted laser beam
140 reflects off an object 150 within the FOY, creating a reflected laser beam 160 that is detected by the LIDAR receiver 120.”), wherein the receiver comprises: a detector configured to produce a photocurrent signal corresponding to the received pulse of light; a frequency-detection circuit configured to determine, based on the photocurrent signal, a spectral signature of the received pulse of light (¶39|5: “The basic receiving circuit 600 generally operates by receiving an optical input at the photodiode D1 (which is configured to receive a bias voltage, + V) and provides a corresponding output ("SIGNAL"). More specifically, the photodiode D1 (and/or other optical receivers) operate as a current source. The amplifier U1 (which can comprise a trans-impedance amplifier (TIA)), along with resistor R1, serve to convert the current into a voltage. The value of capacitor C1 can be determined so that it filters out frequencies lower than the pulse and signature frequencies (for example, 100 MHz or lower, 50 MHz or lower, etc.). The output ("SIGNAL") can then be provided to a signal processing circuit, such as the circuits shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B, and described below”); and a pulse-detection circuit configured to determine, based on the photocurrent signal, a time-of-arrival of the received pulse of light (¶22|16: “The sensor 126 can then provide information to the processing unit 110 that enables the processing unit 110 to determine a distance of the object. Distance is measured by the time it takes for the light to be reflected back to the LIDAR system 100.”); and a processor configured to determine: that the spectral signature of the received pulse of light matches the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.”); and the distance to the target based on the time-of-arrival of the received pulse of light (¶22|16: “The sensor 126 can then provide information to the processing unit 110 that enables the processing unit 110 to determine a distance of the object. Distance is measured by the time it takes for the light to be reflected back to the LIDAR system 100.”)
As for Claim 2, which depends on Claim 1, Irish teaches wherein each spectral signature comprises two or more optical-frequency components, wherein the photocurrent signal produced by the detector in response to the received pulse of light comprises one or more beat signals, each beat signal comprising a beat frequency corresponding to a frequency difference between two optical frequency components of the spectral signature of the received pulse of light (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.”)
As for Claim 3, which depends on Claim 2, Irish teaches wherein determining the spectral signature of the received pulse of light comprises determining one or more respective beat frequencies of the one or more beat signals (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.”)
As for Claim 4, which depends on Claim 2, Irish teaches wherein determining that the spectral signature of the received pulse of light matches the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light comprises determining that one or more beat frequencies associated with the received pulse of light are approximately equal to one or more beat frequencies associated with the emitted pulse of light (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.”)
As for Claim 5, which depends on Claim 2, Irish teaches wherein: the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light comprises a first optical-frequency component having a first frequency f1 and a second optical-frequency component having a second frequency f2, wherein f2 is greater than f1; the first optical-frequency component is represented by E1(t) • cos[2πf1t + ϕ1], wherein E1(t) represents an amplitude of an electric field of the first optical-frequency component, and ϕ1 represents a phase of the first optical-frequency component; the second optical-frequency component is represented by E2(t) • cos[2πf2t + ϕ2], wherein E2(t) represents an amplitude of an electric field of the second optical-frequency component, and ϕ2 represents a phase of the second optical-frequency component; and the photocurrent signal produced by the detector in response to the received pulse of light comprises a beat signal having a beat frequency of (f2 - f1) (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.”)
As for Claim 6, which depends on Claim 2, Irish teaches wherein two of the optical-frequency components are coherently mixed at the detector to produce one of the beat signals (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems.”)
As for Claim 7, which depends on Claim 2, Irish teaches wherein the beat frequency of each beat signal is between 100 MHz and 40 GHz (¶8|16: “The ringing frequency may comprise a frequency between 100 MHz and 1 GHz.”)
As for Claim 8, which depends on Claim 1, Irish teaches wherein the frequency-detection circuit is further configured to (i) receive a voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal and (ii) produce, based on the received voltage signal, an output signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal, wherein the spectral signature of the received pulse of light is determined based on the output signal (¶39|5: “The basic receiving circuit 600 generally operates by receiving an optical input at the photodiode Dl (which is configured to receive a bias voltage, + V) and provides a corresponding output ("SIGNAL"). More specifically, the photodiode Dl (and/or other optical receivers) operate as a current source. The amplifier Ul (which can comprise a trans-impedance amplifier (TIA)), along with resistor Rl, serve to convert the current into a voltage. The value of capacitor Cl can be determined so that it filters out frequencies lower than the pulse and signature frequencies (for example, 100 MHz or lower, 50 MHz or lower, etc.). The output ("SIGNAL") can then be provided to a signal processing circuit, such as the circuits shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B, and described below.”)
As for Claim 9, which depends on Claim 8, Irish teaches wherein the receiver further comprises an electronic amplifier configured to receive the photocurrent signal from the detector and amplify the photocurrent signal to produce the voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal (¶39|10: “The amplifier U1 (which can comprise a trans-impedance amplifier (TIA)), along with resistor R1, serve to convert the current into a voltage.”)
As for Claim 10, which depends on Claim 8, Irish teaches wherein the frequency-detection circuit comprises an analog-to-digital converter (ADC) configured to (i) receive the voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal and (ii) produce, based on the received voltage signal, the output signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal (¶39|5: “The basic receiving circuit 600 generally operates by receiving an optical input at the photodiode Dl (which is configured to receive a bias voltage, + V) and provides a corresponding output ("SIGNAL"). More specifically, the photodiode Dl (and/or other optical receivers) operate as a current source. The amplifier Ul (which can comprise a trans-impedance amplifier (TIA)), along with resistor Rl, serve to convert the current into a voltage. The value of capacitor Cl can be determined so that it filters out frequencies lower than the pulse and signature frequencies (for example, 100 MHz or lower, 50 MHz or lower, etc.). The output ("SIGNAL") can then be provided to a signal processing circuit, such as the circuits shown in FIGS. 7A and 7B, and described below.”)
As for Claim 11, which depends on Claim 8, Irish teaches wherein the frequency-detection circuit comprises a plurality of comparators and a plurality of time-to-digital converters (TDCs ), each comparator coupled to a corresponding TDC, wherein: each comparator is configured to (i) receive the voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal and (ii) provide an electrical-edge signal to the corresponding TDC when the voltage signal rises above or falls below a particular threshold voltage; and the corresponding TDC is configured to produce a time value corresponding to a time when the electrical-edge signal was received, wherein the output signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal comprises time values produced by one or more of the TDCs (¶48|1: “The detector 750 can comprise a circuit configured to determine whether a frequency is detected ( e.g., with at least a threshold amplitude) on an output signal of the filter 740. In some embodiments, for example, the detector may measure the amplitude of the input signal after being filtered by the filter 740. If a valid frequency is detected, the detector 750 can produce an output indicating that a detected ringing frequency is valid.”)
As for Claim 12, which depends on Claim 8, Irish teaches wherein the frequency-detection circuit comprises one or more electronic band-pass filters and one or more amplitude detectors, each band-pass filter coupled to a corresponding amplitude detector, wherein: each band-pass filter has a particular pass-band with a particular center frequency and is configured to (i) receive the voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal and (ii) produce a filtered signal, the filtered signal corresponding to a portion of the voltage signal within the particular pass-band of the band-pass filter; and the corresponding amplitude detector is configured to produce an amplitude signal that corresponds to an amplitude of the filtered signal, wherein the output signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal comprises one or more amplitude signals from one or more of the amplitude detectors (¶47|1: “To determine whether a ringing frequency of a detected laser pulse is valid (i.e., matches the ringing frequency of the most recently-generated laser pulse), the input signal is also provided to a filter 740. Here, the filter 740 can be a band-pass filter configured to filter out frequencies from the input signal other than the ringing frequency of the most recently-generated laser pulse.”)
As for Claim 13, which depends on Claim 12, Irish teaches wherein the amplitude signal produced by the corresponding amplitude detector comprises a first value if the amplitude of the filtered signal is greater than or equal to a particular threshold value and a second value if the amplitude of the filtered signal is less than the particular threshold value (¶48|1: “The detector 750 can comprise a circuit configured to determine whether a frequency is detected ( e.g., with at least a threshold amplitude) on an output signal of the filter 740. In some embodiments, for example, the detector may measure the amplitude of the input signal after being filtered by the filter 740. If a valid frequency is detected, the detector 750 can produce an output indicating that a detected ringing frequency is valid.”)
As for Claim 14, which depends on Claim 8, Irish teaches wherein the frequency-detection circuit comprises: a derivative circuit configured to (i) receive the voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal and (ii) produce, based on the received voltage signal, a derivative signal that corresponds to a derivative of the photocurrent signal; and a zero-crossing circuit configured to determine a plurality of zero crossings of the derivative signal, each zero crossing corresponding to a time associated with a local maximum or minimum of the photocurrent signal, wherein the output signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal comprises the zero crossings (¶42|1: “The DSP 720 can comprise processing circuitry capable of processing an input digital signal and determining whether a laser pulse has been detected, and whether that detected laser pulse has a ringing frequency that corresponds to a ringing frequency of the laser pulse most recently generated by the LIDAR system. It can be noted that some embodiments may utilize circuitry other than or in addition to the DSP 720, capable of analyzing a digital signal as indicated herein. In some embodiments, the DSP 720 may correspond to, be incorporated into, and/or work in conjunction with a processing unit (such as the processing unit 110 of FIG. 1). In some embodiments, the DSP 720 may be implemented by a field-programmable gate array (FPGA) or application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), which may operate faster and/or more efficiently than other circuitry.”)
As for Claim 15, which depends on Claim 1, Irish teaches wherein determining the spectral signature of the received pulse of light comprises determining a frequency spectrum of the photocurrent signal (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.”)
As for Claim 16, which depends on Claim 15, Irish teaches wherein determining that the spectral signature of the received pulse of light matches the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light comprises comparing the frequency spectrum of the photocurrent signal of the received pulse of light to a frequency spectrum of a photocurrent signal associated with the emitted pulse of light (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.”)
As for Claim 17, which depends on Claim 15, Irish teaches wherein: the frequency-detection circuit is further configured to produce an output signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal; and the frequency-detection circuit is configured to determine the frequency spectrum of the photocurrent signal based on the output signal (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.”)
As for Claim 18, which depends on Claim 1, Irish teaches wherein determining that the spectral signature of the received pulse of light matches the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light comprises determining that a measure of correlation between the spectral signature of the received pulse of light and the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light is greater than a particular threshold correlation value (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.”)
As for Claim 19, which depends on Claim 1, Irish teaches wherein: the emitted pulse of light is one of P most recently emitted pulses of light, wherein P is an integer greater than or equal to 2; the frequency-detection circuit is further configured to determine a spectral signature of each of the P emitted pulses of light, the determined spectral signatures comprising the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light and spectral signatures of the other (P-1) emitted pulses of light; and determining that the spectral signature of the received pulse of light matches the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light comprises determining that a measure of correlation between the spectral signature of the received pulse of light and the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light is greater than each of (P-1) measures of correlation between the spectral signature of the received pulse of light and the spectral signatures of the other (P-1) emitted pulses of light (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.”)
As for Claim 20, which depends on Claim 1, Irish teaches wherein: the received pulse of light is a first received pulse of light; the spectral signature of the received pulse of light is a first spectral signature; the receiver is further configured to detect a second received pulse of light; the frequency-detection circuit is further configured to determine a second spectral signature of the second received pulse of light, wherein the second spectral signature is different from the first spectral signature; and the processor is further configured to determine that the second spectral signature does not match the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light (¶42|1: “The DSP 720 can comprise processing circuitry capable of processing an input digital signal and determining whether a laser pulse has been detected, and whether that detected laser pulse has a ringing frequency that corresponds to a ringing frequency of the laser pulse most recently generated by the LIDAR system.)
As for Claim 26, which depends on Claim 1, Irish teaches wherein the light source is configured to impart to each emitted pulse of light one of the spectral signatures (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.”)
As for Claim 27, which depends on Claim 26, Irish teaches wherein the light source is configured to impart spectral signatures to the emitted pulses of light so that the spectral signatures change in a random manner (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.” Further, (¶37|4) “a LIDAR system may adjust the ringing frequency of each generated pulse in a series of pulses such that the signature of each pulse in the series of pulses is different.”)
As for Claim 34, which depends on Claim 1, Irish teaches wherein the detector is one of a plurality of detectors, each detector configured to produce a respective photocurrent signal corresponding to the received pulse of light (¶54|6: “As previously noted, embodiments may include photo detectors in addition or as an alternative to a photodiode. Some embodiments, for example, may include an array of photodiodes and/or other photo detectors.”)
As for Claim 35, which depends on Claim 1, Irish teaches wherein the receiver further comprises: an electronic amplifier configured to receive the photocurrent signal from the detector and amplify the photocurrent signal to produce a voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal, wherein: the frequency-detection circuit determines the spectral signature of the received pulse of light from the voltage signal; and the pulse-detection circuit determines the time-of-arrival of the received pulse of light from the voltage signal (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.” Further, (¶22|16) “The sensor 126 can then provide information to the processing unit 110 that enables the processing unit 110 to determine a distance of the object. Distance is measured by the time it takes for the light to be reflected back to the LIDAR system 100.”)
As for Claim 36, which depends on Claim 1, Irish teaches wherein the pulse-detection circuit comprises a plurality of comparators and a plurality of time-to-digital converters (TDCs), wherein each comparator is coupled to a TDC, wherein: each comparator is configured to receive a voltage signal that corresponds to the photocurrent signal and provide an electrical-edge signal to a corresponding TDC when the voltage signal rises above or falls below a particular threshold voltage; and the corresponding TDC is configured to produce a time value corresponding to a time when the electrical-edge signal was received, wherein the time-of-arrival of the received pulse of light is determined based at least in part on one or more time values produced by one or more of the TDCs (48|1: “The detector 750 can comprise a circuit configured to determine whether a frequency is detected ( e.g., with at least a threshold amplitude) on an output signal of the filter 740. In some embodiments, for example, the detector may measure the amplitude of the input signal after being filtered by the filter 740. If a valid frequency is detected, the detector 750 can produce an output indicating that a detected ringing frequency is valid.”)
Claim 37 recites substantially the same subject matter as Claim 1 and stands rejected on the same basis accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irish in view of Solomentsev et al. (U.S. Pub. 20210333407).
As for Claim 21, which depends on Claim 1, Irish does not explicitly teach emitting test light pulses.
But Solomentsev teaches wherein the light source is further configured to emit test pulses of light, wherein each test pulse of light is associated with one of the emitted pulses of light (¶146|5: “As shown, the LiDAR system 310 emits a test optical output pulse 502 (also referred to herein as transmitted test optical pulse) towards the test object 508. In certain embodiments, the test object 508 may have a respective type and may be placed at a pre-determined distance 506 from the LiDAR system 310. …(¶147) The transmitted test optical pulse 502 may be reflected by the test object 508 as a test optical return pulse 504 ( also referred to herein as reflected test optical pulse) towards the LiDAR system 310. Similarly to what has been described above with respect to FIG. 3, the receiver component 318 associated with the LiDAR system 310 may be configured to convert the reflected test optical pulse 504 into a corresponding electrical pulse (not shown). The LiDAR system 310 may provide the electrical pulse (not shown) associated with the reflected test optical pulse 504 to the ADC 402. The ADC 402 may be configured to sample and convert the electrical pulse into a template pulse profile including a series of discrete digital values. ”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine Irish and Solomentsev because using test pulses allows for calibrating the system for optimum performance.
As for Claim 22, which depends on Claim 21, Irish teaches wherein the frequency-detection circuit is further configured to determine a spectral signature of each of the emitted pulses of light based on a spectral signature of an associated test pulse of light (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.”)
As for Claim 23, which depends on Claim 22, Irish teaches wherein: the processor is further configured to store the spectral signatures of P most recently emitted pulses of light, wherein P is an integer greater than or equal to 2, and the P most recently emitted pulses of light include the emitted pulse of light; and determining that the spectral signature of the received pulse of light matches the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light comprises comparing the spectral signature of the received pulse of light to the spectral signature of each of the P most recently emitted pulses of light (¶42|1: “The DSP 720 can comprise processing circuitry capable of processing an input digital signal and determining whether a laser pulse has been detected, and whether that detected laser pulse has a ringing frequency that corresponds to a ringing frequency of the laser pulse most recently generated by the LIDAR system.)
As for Claim 24, which depends on Claim 21, Irish teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine that the spectral signature of the received pulse of light matches the spectral signature of the emitted pulse of light based on the spectral signature of the received pulse of light matching a spectral signature of a test pulse of light associated with the emitted pulse of light (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.”)
As for Claim 25, which depends on Claim 21, Irish teaches wherein: the lidar system further comprises an optical splitter configured to split off a portion of each emitted pulse of light to produce a test pulse of light; the receiver is further configured to detect the test pulse of light; and the frequency-detection circuit is further configured to determine a spectral signature of the test pulse of light (¶30|1: “LIDAR system to become more robust by adding a "signature" to the outgoing transmitted laser pulses so that the LIDAR system can, when it receives a laser pulse, distinguish its laser pulses from the laser pulses of other LIDAR systems. Embodiments involve modulating current to the laser at high frequencies during the laser pulse by tailoring the "ring" frequencies to each pulse. If each laser has a characteristic "ring" frequency, it can be uniquely identified in the presence of other such pulses.”)
+-_+_+_+
Claims 28-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irish in view of LaChapelle et al. (U.S. Pub. 20200256960).
As for Claim 28, which depends on Claim 1, Irish teaches using a laser to emit light pulses in a LiDAR system, but does not explicitly teach using a seed laser diode or SOA.
But teaches LaChapelle wherein the light source comprises: a seed laser diode configured to produce seed light; and a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) configured to amplify temporal portions of the seed light to produce the emitted pulses of light, wherein each amplified temporal portion of the seed light corresponds to an emitted pulse of light (¶81|1: “FIG. 8 illustrates an example light source 110 that includes a seed laser diode 350 and a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) 360. In particular embodiments, a light source 110 of a lidar system 100 may include (i) a seed laser diode 350 that produces seed optical pulses and (ii) a SOA 360 that amplifies the seed optical pulses and produces an output beam 125 that includes the amplified seed optical pulses.”)
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to combine Irish and LaChapelle because seed laser diodes are a well-known, reliable, and low energy consuming lasers that work well in LiDAR systems.
As for Claim 29, which depends on Claim 28, LaChapelle teaches wherein the SOA comprises a tapered optical waveguide extending from an input end of the SOA to an output end of the SOA, wherein a width of the tapered optical waveguide increases from the input end to the output end (¶83|1: “In particular embodiments, a SOA 360 may include a constant-width optical waveguide or a tapered-width optical waveguide. An optical waveguide with a constant width may have a substantially fixed width ( e.g., a width of approximately 10 μm, 50 μm, 100 μm, 200 μm, 500 μm, or 1 mm). A tapered optical waveguide may extend from an input end to an output end of the SOA 360, and a width of the tapered waveguide may increase from the input end towards the output end.”)
As for Claim 30, which depends on Claim 28, LaChapelle teaches wherein the light source further comprises an electronic driver configured to: supply a substantially constant electrical current to the seed laser diode so that the seed light comprises light having a substantially constant optical power; and supply pulses of electrical current to the SOA, wherein each pulse of current causes the SOA to amplify one of the temporal portions of the seed light to produce one of the emitted pulses of light, wherein the spectral signature of each emitted pulse of light depends at least in part on one or more of: an amplitude of the substantially constant electrical current, an amplitude of the pulse of current, a duration of the pulse of current, a rise-time of the pulse of current, a fall-time of the pulse of current, and a shape of the pulse of current (¶81|1: “FIG. 8 illustrates an example light source 110 that includes a seed laser diode 350 and a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) 360. In particular embodiments, a light source 110 of a lidar system 100 may include (i) a seed laser diode 350 that produces seed optical pulses and (ii) a SOA 360 that amplifies the seed optical pulses and produces an output beam 125 that includes the amplified seed optical pulses.” Further, (¶118|23) “For example, a semiconductor photomultiplier detector array 500 may have a temporal risetime or fall-time of less than approximately 0.5 ns, 1 ns, 2 ns, 5 ns, or 10 ns and a detection area of approximately 1 xl mm, 2x2 mm, 5x5 mm, or l0xl0 mm.”)
As for Claim 31, which depends on Claim 28, LaChapelle teaches wherein the light source further comprises an electronic driver configured to: supply pulses of electrical current to the seed laser diode, wherein each pulse of seed current causes the seed laser diode to produce a seed pulse of light; and supply pulses of electrical current to the SOA, wherein each pulse of SOA current causes the SOA to amplify one of the seed pulses of light to produce one of the emitted pulses of light, wherein the spectral signature of each emitted pulse of light depends at least in part on one or more of: an amplitude of the pulse of seed current, a duration of the pulse of seed current, a risetime of the pulse of seed current, a fall-time of the pulse of seed current, a shape of the pulse of seed current, an amplitude of the pulse of SOA current, a duration of the pulse of SOA current, a rise-time of the pulse of SOA current, a fall-time of the pulse of SOA current, a shape of the pulse of SOA current, and a temporal offset between the pulse of seed current and the pulse of SOA current (¶81|1: “FIG. 8 illustrates an example light source 110 that includes a seed laser diode 350 and a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) 360. In particular embodiments, a light source 110 of a lidar system 100 may include (i) a seed laser diode 350 that produces seed optical pulses and (ii) a SOA 360 that amplifies the seed optical pulses and produces an output beam 125 that includes the amplified seed optical pulses.” Further, (¶118|23) “For example, a semiconductor photomultiplier detector array 500 may have a temporal risetime or fall-time of less than approximately 0.5 ns, 1 ns, 2 ns, 5 ns, or 10 ns and a detection area of approximately 1 xl mm, 2x2 mm, 5x5 mm, or l0xl0 mm.”)
As for Claim 32, which depends on Claim 1, LaChapelle teaches wherein the light source comprises: a seed laser diode configured to produce seed light; a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) configured to amplify temporal portions of the seed light to produce initial pulses of light; and a fiber-optical amplifier configured to further amplify the initial pulses of light to produce the emitted pulses of light, wherein each amplified temporal portion of the seed light corresponds to one of the emitted pulses of light (¶81|1: “FIG. 8 illustrates an example light source 110 that includes a seed laser diode 350 and a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) 360. In particular embodiments, a light source 110 of a lidar system 100 may include (i) a seed laser diode 350 that produces seed optical pulses and (ii) a SOA 360 that amplifies the seed optical pulses and produces an output beam 125 that includes the amplified seed optical pulses.”)
As for Claim 33, which depends on Claim 1, LaChapelle teaches wherein the light source comprises: a passive optical waveguide comprising an optical filter; a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA), wherein the passive optical waveguide and the SOA are optically coupled to one another; and an electronic driver configured to supply pulses of electrical current to the SOA, wherein each pulse of current causes the SOA to produce one of the emitted pulses of light (¶81|1: “FIG. 8 illustrates an example light source 110 that includes a seed laser diode 350 and a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) 360. In particular embodiments, a light source 110 of a lidar system 100 may include (i) a seed laser diode 350 that produces seed optical pulses and (ii) a SOA 360 that amplifies the seed optical pulses and produces an output beam 125 that includes the amplified seed optical pulses.”)
Conclusion
/Clint Thatcher/
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645