Claims 45-64 are pending and being acted upon in this Office Action.
Priority
Applicant’ claim priority to provisional application 62/144,278, filed April 7, 2015, and 62/151,943, filed April 23, 2015 is acknowledged.
Rejection Withdrawn
The declaration of Michelle S. Bradbury under 37 CFR 1.130(a) filed on July 30, 2025 is sufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 45-64 under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on WO 2014145606 publication (Bradbury hereafter, published September 18, 2014, which is a PCT of US20140248210; PTO 1449) in view of US20140024776 (Charles hereafter, published January 23, 2014; PTO 1449) and as evidenced by U.S. Pat. No. 7,754,681 (PTO 1449). The WO 2014145606 publication (Bradbury) is not available as prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 103. The WO 2014145606 publication was published no earlier than one year before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and the disclosure therein was made by at least one co-inventor, it qualifies for an exception under 35 U.S.C. § 102(b)(1)(A) and 35 U.S.C. § 102(b)(2)(A). The declaration under 37 C.F.R. § 1.130(a) of co-inventor, Michelle S. Bradbury, which disqualifies WO 2014/145606 as prior art.
The rejection of claims 45-64 on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,548,989 is withdrawn in view of the terminal disclaimer filed on July 30, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 50 recites the limitation "the lysosomal protease" in claim 49. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This rejection can be overcome by amending claim 49 to recite “lysosomal protease”.
Claim rejections under - 35 U.S.C. 112
Claims 45-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
MPEP § 2163 states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.
The claims encompass any immunoconjugate comprising any nanoparticle coated with any organic polymer; an antibody fragment conjugated to the organic polymer-coated nanoparticle, any therapeutic agent conjugated to the organic polymer-coated nanoparticle through a linker, wherein the nanoparticle has a diameter no greater than 20 nanometers, wherein the nanoparticle comprises a silica-based core and a silica shell surrounding at least a portion of the core, wherein the antibody fragment is any single chain variable fragment (scFv) or wherein the antibody fragment comprises any anti-VEGF-A (claim 58). This encompass a huge genus of functionally and structurally distinct polymer-coated nanoparticle comprises a silica-based core and a silica shell surrounding at least a portion of the core, therapeutic agent and scFv antibody or anti-VEGF-A antibody fragment conjugated to nanoparticle.
The specification discloses:
Preparation of C Dot Immunoconjugates
[0123] Studies were performed to conjugate single chain antibody fragments (scFv)s to the C dot core silica nanoparticles. An scFv that bound matrix metalloproteinase 12 (MMP-12) was expressed in E. coli. The construct contained C-terminal His and FLAG tags for nickel affinity chromatography and immune-detection. A mutant scFv was constructed in which the last amino acid of the polypeptide chain was converted to a cysteine (Cys). The change was confirmed by sequencing the mutant gene. Expression and nickel affinity purification of the wild type scFv and the C-terminal Cys containing mutant was confirmed by sodium dodecyl sulfate (SDS) polyacrylamide gel electrophoresis (PAGE), visualized with Coomassie blue stain at a molecular weight consistent with the scFv. Western blot analysis of the scFv SDS PAGE gel was performed with an anti-FLAG tag HRP conjugate. The Western blot analysis confirmed that the identity of the gel band was the scFv.
[0124] The scFv were clones modified with azide containing bifunctional linkers. The wild type scFv was modified with N-hydroxy-succinimide (NHS) ester-polyethylene glycol (PEG).sub.4-azide. Without wishing to be bound to any theory, modification of wild type scFv with NHS ester-PEG.sub.4-azide results in the random incorporation of PEG.sub.4-azide on to free amines on surface lysine residues. The C-terminal scFv Cys construct was conjugated with maleimide-PEG.sub.3-azide for site specific PEG.sub.3-azide introduction on to the Cys sulfhydryl. The scFv constructs were analyzed for azide incorporation by reaction with a Dibenzocyclooctyne (DBCO)-PEG-Cy5 fluorescent probe. Azides react with DBCOs via a metal free click chemistry reaction to form a covalent linkage. Unreacted DBCO-Cy5 dye was removed from the reaction mixtures by 40 kDa cutoff size exclusion spin columns. The successful introduction of an azide group on the surface of the scFvs was confirmed by visualizing the wild type and C-terminal Cys scFv-PEG-Cy5 fluorescent dye constructs using a BioRad Versa-Doc imager.
[0125] The azide conjugated scFv were then reacted with C dots containing 1-3 DBCOs on their surfaces. The reaction was allowed to continue for 12 h at room temperature. Unconjugated scFv was purified from conjugated scFv-C dots using multiple techniques including phosphate buffered saline washes in 50,000 molecular weight cut off spin columns, G-200 size exclusion column chromatography or size exclusion spin columns and velocity sedimentation thought a sucrose cushion. Velocity sedimentation and size exclusion chromatography appear to be the most scalable methods of purification. The purified scFv C-dot conjugates were analyzed by dot blot scFv immune-detection/particle fluorescence assays, gel electrophoresis and fluorescent ELISAs with immobilized MMP-12.
[0126] These methods can be applied to other types of antibody fragments, e.g., sdAbs.
[0127] FIG. 1 shows a schematic illustration showing the synthesis of .sup.89Zr-labeled C′dot radioimmunoconjugate using a chelator-based radiolabeling technique. PEGylated and maleimide-functionalized C′ dot (C′ dot-PEG-Mal, 1) was first reacted with reduced glutathione (GSH) to introduce the —NH.sub.2 groups for the following-up bioconjugates, forming C′ dot-PEG-GSH (2). Then the nanoparticle was conjugated with DBCO-PEG4-NHS ester and DFO-NCS, forming C′ dot-PEG-DBCO (3) and DFO-C′ dot-PEG-DBCO (4), respectively. Azide-functionalized small targeting ligands, such as single-chain variable fragment (scFv-azide) (or single-domain antibody, sdAb-azide), was conjugated to the nanoparticle based on strain-promoted azide-alkyne cycloaddition, forming DFO-C′ dot-PEG-scFv (5). The final C′dot radioimmunoconjugate (.sup.89Zr-DFO-C′ dot-PEG-scFv, 6) was by labeling it with .sup.89Zr-oxalate. The schematic illustrated in FIG. 1 is not limited to scFv and can include various types of antibody fragments, e.g., sdAbs.
[0128] FIGS. 2A and 2B show in vivo (FIG. 2A) coronal and (FIG. 2B) sagittal PET images of .sup.89Zr-DFO-C′ dot-PEG at different post-injection time points (10 min, 1 h, Day 1, Day 3 and Day 6) in a healthy nude mouse. The reaction ratio between C′ dot-PEG-Mal and GSH was kept at 1:20. The PET images were acquired by using a Focus 120 MicroPET scanner.
[0129] FIG. 3 shows biodistribution data of .sup.89Zr-DFO-C′ dot-PEG in a healthy nude mouse on Day 6. Less than 2% ID/g of bone (and joint) uptake was observed.
[0130] FIGS. 4A and 4B show a chelator-free .sup.89Zr radiolabeling experimental example.
[0131] FIG. 4A shows .sup.89Zr labeling yields of C′ dot-PEG-Mal under varied pH conditions at 75° C.
[0132] FIG. 4B shows .sup.89Zr labeling yields of C′ dot-PEG-Mal using varied combinations of C′ dot to .sup.89Zr-oxalate ratio.
[0133] FIGS. 5A and 5B show in vivo coronal PET images of [89Zr]C′ dot-PEG at different post-injection time points (10 min, Day 1, Day 3 and Day 6) in a healthy nude mouse. [.sup.89Zr]C′ dot-PEG was synthesized by using a chelator-free radiolabeling technique.
[0134] The PET images were acquired by using a Focus 120 MicroPET scanner.
[0135] FIG. 5A shows PET images acquired without EDTA (ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid).
[0136] FIG. 5B shows PET images acquired with EDTA
[0137] FIG. 6 shows biodistribution data of [.sup.89Zr]C′ dot-PEG in healthy nude mice (n=3) on Day 7. Over 10% ID/g of bone (and joint) uptake (highlighted with a red box) was observed in this case, indicating a less stable radiolabeling using a chelator-free method (when compared with that of chelator-based method).
[0138] FIG. 7 shows biodistribution data of .sup.89Zr-DFO-C′ dot, .sup.89Zr-DFO-C′ dot-DBCO and .sup.89Zr-DFO-C′ dot-PEG-sdAb in healthy nude mice at 48 h post-injection. An improved pharmacokinetic profile (with prolonged blood circulation half-life and lower liver uptake) can be achieved by optimizing the number of DFO, DBCO and sdAb from each C′ dot.
Regarding antibody fragment, the specification discloses:
[0104] Antibody fragments (fAbs) provide advantages (e.g., size, no Fc region for reduced immunogenicity, scalability, and adaptability) compared to standard monoclonal antibodies (mAbs). fAbs are the stripped-down binding region of an antibody which is usually expressed as a single continuous sequence in an expression host (e.g., E. Coli). In certain embodiments, a fAb or mAb can be as small as 15 kDa (+/−5 kDa) (e.g., about 3 nm). In other embodiments, a fAb or mAb can be up to 150 kDa (e.g., up to 20 nm). In one embodiment, a fAb is approximately 60 kDa (e.g., +/−15 kDa). A fAb comprises an immunoglobin heavy-chain variable and constant domain linked to the corresponding domains of an immunoglobin light chain. In another embodiment, the antibody format can be a single chain variable fragment (scFv) fragment that is approximately 30 kDa (e.g., +/−10 kDa). A scFv fragment comprises a heavy-chain variable domain linked to a light-chain variable domain.
[0107] In certain embodiments, the mAbs and/or fAbs are U.S. approved for certain uses. Non-limiting examples of mAbs and fAbs include anti-GPIIb/IIIa, anti-VEGF-A, and anti-TNF-α. ReoPro (abciximab) is an anti-GPIIb/IIIa, chimeric fAb, IgG1-κ developed by Centocor/Eli Lilly as described by Nelson and Reichert, “Development trends for therapeutic antibody fragments,” Nature Biotechnology, 27(4), 2009. Lucentis (ranibizumab) is an anti-VEGF-A, humanized Fab IgG1-κ developed by Genentech (Nelson and Reichert, 2009) that is used to prevent wet age-related macular degeneration. Cimzia (certolizumab pegol), is an Anti-TNF-α, PEGylated humanized fAb developed by UCB (Nelson and Reichert, 2009) that is used to prevent moderate to severe Crohn's disease.
However, the specification does not disclose a representative number of species of such scFv or antibody fragment comprises anti-VEGF-A that is conjugated to the claimed nanoparticle, nor sufficient relevant identifying characteristics in the form of structure or functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function (i.e., a correlation between the primary amino acid sequence of the antibody heavy chain variable domain and light chain variable domain and specific binding [as well as the other aforementioned functional properties] to any molecule or the VEGF-A of interest).
An adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products – “a precise definition, such as structure, formula, chemic name, physical properties of other properties, of species falling with the genus sufficient to distinguish the gene from other materials”, which may be present in “functional terminology when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” (Amgen page 1361).
The specification does not describe a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus of scFv or antibody fragment comprises anti-VEGF-A and therapeutic agents so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus of the actual claimed immunoconjugates.
At the time the invention was made, it was known in the art that antibodies have a large repertoire of distinct structures and that a huge variety of antibodies can be made to bind to a single epitope.
For example, Lloyd et al. taught that hundreds of functional antibody fragments can be isolated from an antibody library that bind to the same antigen wherein these antibodies have distinct heavy and light chain sequences (Lloyd et al. Protein Engineering, Design & Selection 22:159-168, 2009, PTO 892; see, e.g., Discussion).
Similarly, Edwards et al., J Mol Biol. 334(1): 103-118, 2003; PTO 892, found that over 1000 antibodies, all different in amino acid sequence, were generated to a single protein; 568 different amino acid sequences identified for the V(H) CDR3 domains of these antibodies (Abstract).
Poosarla et al (Biotechn. Bioeng., 114(6): 1331-1342, 2017; PTO 892) teach substantial diversity in designed mAbs (sharing less than 75% sequence similarity to all existing natural antibody sequences) that bind to the same 12-mer peptide, binding to different epitopes on the same peptide. Said reference further teaches “most B-cell epitopes... in nature consist of residues from different regions of the sequence and are discontinuous...de novo antibody designs against discontinuous epitopes present additional challenges...". (See entire reference.)
Given that hundreds of unique antibody structures may bind a single antigen, the structure of an antibody cannot be predicted from the structure of the antigen (as held in Amgen), and a single species, or small group of species, cannot define a structure-function relationship so as to be representative of all the antibodies that bind to that antigen (as held in Abbvie).
“A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when ... the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.” In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004). For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See, e.g., Eli Lilly.
Regarding therapeutic agents, the specification discloses:
[0114] In certain embodiments, the immunoconjugate comprises a therapeutic agent, e.g., a drug (e.g., a chemotherapy drug) and/or a therapeutic radioisotope. As used herein, “therapeutic agent” refers to any agent that has a therapeutic effect and/or elicits a desired biological and/or pharmacological effect, when administered to a subject.
[0116] In certain embodiments, the immunoconjugate comprises one or more drugs, e.g., one or more chemotherapy drugs, such as sorafenib, paclitaxel, docetaxel, MEK162, etoposide, lapatinib, nilotinib, crizotinib, fulvestrant, vemurafenib, bexorotene, and/or camptotecin.
The phrase “e.g.,” is open ended. Thus, the therapeutic agents are unlimited. Furthermore, the claims are not limited to therapeutic agent comprising a particular structure and encompass an unlimited number of structurally different agents including one or more drugs, peptides, proteins, small molecules, nucleic acids, antibodies, etc. However, no immunoconjugates comprising any therapeutic agent such as any chemotherapeutic drug above are conjugated to the claimed immunoconjugate.
There are no in vivo working examples. It is unpredictable which immunoconjugate is effective for cancer treatment, given the lack of guidance as to undisclosed therapeutic agent and the lack of guidance as to the binding specificity of the scFv antibody fragment in the claimed immunoconjugate. Thus, the application at best describes a roadmap for producing immunoconjugate comprising various combinations of therapeutic agent, single chain variable fragment (scFv) conjugated to any organic polymer coated nanoparticle comprising a silica-based core and silica shell surrounding at least a portion of the core and then determining which actually function as claimed. See Novozymes A/S v. DuPont Nutrition Biosciences. 107 USPQ2d 1457 (Fed. Cir. 2013). In Novozymes the court held that the problem is that “the specification failed to inform the reader which member of that group was the right one.” See Abbvie Deutschland Gmbh & Co KG, Abbvie Bioresearch Center, Inc., and Abbvie Biotechnology, Ltd., v. Janssen Biotech In. And Centocor Biologics, LLC, Case No. 2013-1338 and 2013- 1346, C.A.Fed. ("Abbvie"). Functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description support, especially in technology fields that are highly unpredictable, where it is difficult to establish a correlation between structure and function for the whole genus or to predict what would be covered by the functionally claimed genus. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1351 ("[T]he level of detail required to satisfy the written description requirement varies depending on the nature and scope of the claims and on the complexity and predictability of the relevant technology."); Thus, one of skill in the art would conclude that the specification fails to provide adequate written description to demonstrate that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus of immunoconjugate at the time of filing. See Eli Lilly, 119 F. 3d 1559, 43, USPQ2d 1398.
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that “applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the ‘written description’ inquiry, whatever is now claimed.” (see page 1117). The specification does not “clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed.” (see Vas-Cath at page 1116).
Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016.
One cannot describe what one has not conceived. See Fiddles v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483. In Fiddles v. Baird, claims directed to mammalian FGF’s were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
Therefore, only an immunoconjugate comprising: a nanoparticle coated with an organic polymer, an antibody fragment conjugated the organic polymer-coated nanoparticle through a linker, wherein the nanoparticle has a diameter no greater than 20 nanometers, wherein the nanoparticle comprises a silica-based core and a silica shell surrounding at least a portion of the core, wherein the antibody fragment is a single chain variable fragment (scFv) that binds to matrix metalloproteinase 12 (MMP-12), but not the full breadth of the claims meets the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. § 112, first paragraph. Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. § 112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 1115).
Claims 45-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for an immunoconjugate comprising: a nanoparticle coated with an organic polymer, an antibody fragment conjugated the organic polymer-coated nanoparticle through a linker, wherein the nanoparticle has a diameter no greater than 20 nanometers, wherein the nanoparticle comprises a silica-based core and a silica shell surrounding at least a portion of the core, wherein the antibody fragment is a single chain variable fragment (scFv) that binds to matrix metalloproteinase 12 (MMP-12), does not reasonably provide enablement for any immunoconjugate as set forth in claims 45-64. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Enablement is considered in view of the Wands factors (MPEP 2164.01(a)). These factors include, but are not limited to: (A) The breadth of the claims; (B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; (E) The level of predictability in the art; (F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; and (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. . In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
The claims encompass any immunoconjugate comprising any nanoparticle coated with any organic polymer; an antibody fragment conjugated to the organic polymer-coated nanoparticle, any therapeutic agent conjugated to the organic polymer-coated nanoparticle through a linker, wherein the nanoparticle has a diameter no greater than 20 nanometers, wherein the nanoparticle comprises a silica-based core and a silica shell surrounding at least a portion of the core, wherein the antibody fragment is any single chain variable fragment (scFv) or wherein the antibody fragment comprises any anti-VEGF-A (claim 58). This encompass a huge genus of functionally and structurally distinct polymer-coated nanoparticle comprises a silica-based core and a silica shell surrounding at least a portion of the core, any therapeutic agent and any scFv antibody or anti-VEGF-A antibody fragment conjugated to the nanoparticle encompassed by the claimed immunoconjugate.
Enablement is not commensurate in scope with claims as how to use any immunoconjugate mentioned above for treating cancer.
The specification discloses:
Preparation of C Dot Immunoconjugates
[0123] Studies were performed to conjugate single chain antibody fragments (scFv)s to the C dot core silica nanoparticles. An scFv that bound matrix metalloproteinase 12 (MMP-12) was expressed in E. coli. The construct contained C-terminal His and FLAG tags for nickel affinity chromatography and immune-detection. A mutant scFv was constructed in which the last amino acid of the polypeptide chain was converted to a cysteine (Cys). The change was confirmed by sequencing the mutant gene. Expression and nickel affinity purification of the wild type scFv and the C-terminal Cys containing mutant was confirmed by sodium dodecyl sulfate (SDS) polyacrylamide gel electrophoresis (PAGE), visualized with Coomassie blue stain at a molecular weight consistent with the scFv. Western blot analysis of the scFv SDS PAGE gel was performed with an anti-FLAG tag HRP conjugate. The Western blot analysis confirmed that the identity of the gel band was the scFv.
[0124] The scFv were clones modified with azide containing bifunctional linkers. The wild type scFv was modified with N-hydroxy-succinimide (NHS) ester-polyethylene glycol (PEG).sub.4-azide. Without wishing to be bound to any theory, modification of wild type scFv with NHS ester-PEG.sub.4-azide results in the random incorporation of PEG.sub.4-azide on to free amines on surface lysine residues. The C-terminal scFv Cys construct was conjugated with maleimide-PEG.sub.3-azide for site specific PEG.sub.3-azide introduction on to the Cys sulfhydryl. The scFv constructs were analyzed for azide incorporation by reaction with a Dibenzocyclooctyne (DBCO)-PEG-Cy5 fluorescent probe. Azides react with DBCOs via a metal free click chemistry reaction to form a covalent linkage. Unreacted DBCO-Cy5 dye was removed from the reaction mixtures by 40 kDa cutoff size exclusion spin columns. The successful introduction of an azide group on the surface of the scFvs was confirmed by visualizing the wild type and C-terminal Cys scFv-PEG-Cy5 fluorescent dye constructs using a BioRad Versa-Doc imager.
[0125] The azide conjugated scFv were then reacted with C dots containing 1-3 DBCOs on their surfaces. The reaction was allowed to continue for 12 h at room temperature. Unconjugated scFv was purified from conjugated scFv-C dots using multiple techniques including phosphate buffered saline washes in 50,000 molecular weight cut off spin columns, G-200 size exclusion column chromatography or size exclusion spin columns and velocity sedimentation thought a sucrose cushion. Velocity sedimentation and size exclusion chromatography appear to be the most scalable methods of purification. The purified scFv C-dot conjugates were analyzed by dot blot scFv immune-detection/particle fluorescence assays, gel electrophoresis and fluorescent ELISAs with immobilized MMP-12.
[0126] These methods can be applied to other types of antibody fragments, e.g., sdAbs.
[0127] FIG. 1 shows a schematic illustration showing the synthesis of .sup.89Zr-labeled C′dot radioimmunoconjugate using a chelator-based radiolabeling technique. PEGylated and maleimide-functionalized C′ dot (C′ dot-PEG-Mal, 1) was first reacted with reduced glutathione (GSH) to introduce the —NH.sub.2 groups for the following-up bioconjugates, forming C′ dot-PEG-GSH (2). Then the nanoparticle was conjugated with DBCO-PEG4-NHS ester and DFO-NCS, forming C′ dot-PEG-DBCO (3) and DFO-C′ dot-PEG-DBCO (4), respectively. Azide-functionalized small targeting ligands, such as single-chain variable fragment (scFv-azide) (or single-domain antibody, sdAb-azide), was conjugated to the nanoparticle based on strain-promoted azide-alkyne cycloaddition, forming DFO-C′ dot-PEG-scFv (5). The final C′dot radioimmunoconjugate (.sup.89Zr-DFO-C′ dot-PEG-scFv, 6) was by labeling it with .sup.89Zr-oxalate. The schematic illustrated in FIG. 1 is not limited to scFv and can include various types of antibody fragments, e.g., sdAbs.
[0128] FIGS. 2A and 2B show in vivo (FIG. 2A) coronal and (FIG. 2B) sagittal PET images of .sup.89Zr-DFO-C′ dot-PEG at different post-injection time points (10 min, 1 h, Day 1, Day 3 and Day 6) in a healthy nude mouse. The reaction ratio between C′ dot-PEG-Mal and GSH was kept at 1:20. The PET images were acquired by using a Focus 120 MicroPET scanner.
[0129] FIG. 3 shows biodistribution data of .sup.89Zr-DFO-C′ dot-PEG in a healthy nude mouse on Day 6. Less than 2% ID/g of bone (and joint) uptake was observed.
[0130] FIGS. 4A and 4B show a chelator-free .sup.89Zr radiolabeling experimental example.
[0131] FIG. 4A shows .sup.89Zr labeling yields of C′ dot-PEG-Mal under varied pH conditions at 75° C.
[0132] FIG. 4B shows .sup.89Zr labeling yields of C′ dot-PEG-Mal using varied combinations of C′ dot to .sup.89Zr-oxalate ratio.
[0133] FIGS. 5A and 5B show in vivo coronal PET images of [89Zr]C′ dot-PEG at different post-injection time points (10 min, Day 1, Day 3 and Day 6) in a healthy nude mouse. [.sup.89Zr]C′ dot-PEG was synthesized by using a chelator-free radiolabeling technique.
[0134] The PET images were acquired by using a Focus 120 MicroPET scanner.
[0135] FIG. 5A shows PET images acquired without EDTA (ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid).
[0136] FIG. 5B shows PET images acquired with EDTA
[0137] FIG. 6 shows biodistribution data of [.sup.89Zr]C′ dot-PEG in healthy nude mice (n=3) on Day 7. Over 10% ID/g of bone (and joint) uptake (highlighted with a red box) was observed in this case, indicating a less stable radiolabeling using a chelator-free method (when compared with that of chelator-based method).
[0138] FIG. 7 shows biodistribution data of .sup.89Zr-DFO-C′ dot, .sup.89Zr-DFO-C′ dot-DBCO and .sup.89Zr-DFO-C′ dot-PEG-sdAb in healthy nude mice at 48 h post-injection. An improved pharmacokinetic profile (with prolonged blood circulation half-life and lower liver uptake) can be achieved by optimizing the number of DFO, DBCO and sdAb from each C′ dot.
Regarding antibody fragment, the specification discloses:
[0104] Antibody fragments (fAbs) provide advantages (e.g., size, no Fc region for reduced immunogenicity, scalability, and adaptability) compared to standard monoclonal antibodies (mAbs). fAbs are the stripped-down binding region of an antibody which is usually expressed as a single continuous sequence in an expression host (e.g., E. Coli). In certain embodiments, a fAb or mAb can be as small as 15 kDa (+/−5 kDa) (e.g., about 3 nm). In other embodiments, a fAb or mAb can be up to 150 kDa (e.g., up to 20 nm). In one embodiment, a fAb is approximately 60 kDa (e.g., +/−15 kDa). A fAb comprises an immunoglobin heavy-chain variable and constant domain linked to the corresponding domains of an immunoglobin light chain. In another embodiment, the antibody format can be a single chain variable fragment (scFv) fragment that is approximately 30 kDa (e.g., +/−10 kDa). A scFv fragment comprises a heavy-chain variable domain linked to a light-chain variable domain.
[0107] In certain embodiments, the mAbs and/or fAbs are U.S. approved for certain uses. Non-limiting examples of mAbs and fAbs include anti-GPIIb/IIIa, anti-VEGF-A, and anti-TNF-α. ReoPro (abciximab) is an anti-GPIIb/IIIa, chimeric fAb, IgG1-κ developed by Centocor/Eli Lilly as described by Nelson and Reichert, “Development trends for therapeutic antibody fragments,” Nature Biotechnology, 27(4), 2009. Lucentis (ranibizumab) is an anti-VEGF-A, humanized Fab IgG1-κ developed by Genentech (Nelson and Reichert, 2009) that is used to prevent wet age-related macular degeneration. Cimzia (certolizumab pegol), is an Anti-TNF-α, PEGylated humanized fAb developed by UCB (Nelson and Reichert, 2009) that is used to prevent moderate to severe Crohn's disease.
However, the specification does not teach the structure, e.g., amino acid sequence of the antibody heavy chain variable domain and light chain variable domain of all scFv that correlated with binding to which target encompassed by the claimed immunoconjugates. Even assuming the antibody fragment comprises anti-VEGF-A (claim 58), one species of scFv from ranibizumab is not representative of the genus encompassed by the claimed immunoconjugates.
At the time the invention was made, it was known in the art that antibodies have a large repertoire of distinct structures and that a huge variety of antibodies can be made to bind to a single epitope.
For example, Lloyd et al. taught that hundreds of functional antibody fragments can be isolated from an antibody library that bind to the same antigen wherein these antibodies have distinct heavy and light chain sequences (Lloyd et al. Protein Engineering, Design & Selection 22:159-168, 2009, PTO 892; see, e.g., Discussion).
Similarly, Edwards et al., J Mol Biol. 334(1): 103-118, 2003; PTO 892, found that over 1000 antibodies, all different in amino acid sequence, were generated to a single protein; 568 different amino acid sequences identified for the V(H) CDR3 domains of these antibodies (Abstract).
Poosarla et al (Biotechn. Bioeng., 114(6): 1331-1342, 2017; PTO 892) teach substantial diversity in designed mAbs (sharing less than 75% sequence similarity to all existing natural antibody sequences) that bind to the same 12-mer peptide, binding to different epitopes on the same peptide. Said reference further teaches “most B-cell epitopes... in nature consist of residues from different regions of the sequence and are discontinuous...de novo antibody designs against discontinuous epitopes present additional challenges...". (See entire reference.)
Given that hundreds of unique antibody structures may bind a single antigen, the structure of an antibody cannot be predicted from the structure of the antigen, and a single species, or small group of species, cannot define a structure-function relationship so as to be representative of all the antibodies that bind to that antigen.
In Amgen Inc. et al. v. Sanofi et al., 598 U.S. 594, 2023 USPQ2d 602 (2023), the Supreme Court, held that claims drawn to a genus of monoclonal antibodies, which were functionally claimed by their ability to bind to a specific protein, PCSK9, were invalid due to lack of enablement. The claims at issue were functional, in that they defined the genus by its function (the ability to bind to specific residues of PCSK9) as opposed to reciting a specific structure (the amino acid sequence of the antibodies in the genus). The Supreme Court concluded that the patents at issue failed to adequately enable the full scope of the genus of antibodies that performed the function of binding to specific amino acid residues on PCSK9 and blocking the binding of PCSK9 to a particular cholesterol receptor, LDLR.
The Court clarified that the specification does not always need to "describe with particularity how to make and use every single embodiment within a claimed class." Id. at 610-11. However, "[i]f a patent claims an entire class of processes, machines, manufactures, or compositions of matter, the patent’s specification must enable a person skilled in the art to make and use the entire class….The more one claims, the more one must enable." Id.
Regarding therapeutic agents, the specification discloses:
[0114] In certain embodiments, the immunoconjugate comprises a therapeutic agent, e.g., a drug (e.g., a chemotherapy drug) and/or a therapeutic radioisotope. As used herein, “therapeutic agent” refers to any agent that has a therapeutic effect and/or elicits a desired biological and/or pharmacological effect, when administered to a subject.
[0116] In certain embodiments, the immunoconjugate comprises one or more drugs, e.g., one or more chemotherapy drugs, such as sorafenib, paclitaxel, docetaxel, MEK162, etoposide, lapatinib, nilotinib, crizotinib, fulvestrant, vemurafenib, bexorotene, and/or camptotecin.
The phrase “e.g.,” is open ended. The claims are not limited to therapeutic agent comprising a particular structure and encompass an unlimited number of structurally different agents including one or more drugs, peptides, proteins, small molecules, nucleic acids, antibodies, etc. Thus, the therapeutic agents are unlimited.
However, no immunoconjugates comprising any therapeutic agent such as any chemotherapeutic drug above are conjugated to the claimed immunoconjugate.
There are no in vivo working examples.
The teachings of the specification cannot be extrapolated to the enablement of the invention commensurate in scope with the claims, because the lack of specific guidance as to the binding specificity of the scFv and the therapeutic agent conjugated to a polymer-coated nanoparticle comprising a silica-based core and a silica shell surrounding at least a portion of the core through a linker. One skilled in the art cannot practice the invention with a reasonable expectation of success without undue experimentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 45-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bradbury et al (US20130039848, published February 14, 2013; PTO 1449) in view of Charles et al (US20140024776, published January 23, 2014; PTO 1449) and as evidenced by U.S. Pat. No. 7,754,681 (PTO 1449).
Regarding claims 46, 56, 57, Bradbury teaches fluorescent silica-based nanoparticle that allows for precise detection, characterization, monitoring and treatment of a disease such as cancer. The nanoparticle has a range of diameters including between about 1 nm and about 25 nm, which overlaps the claimed range of from 1 to 20 nm as per claim 57, between about 1 nm and about 15 nm (which is no greater than 20 nanometers per claim 45 or has a diameter no greater than 15 nm as per claim 56). The nanoparticle has a fluorescent compound positioned within the nanoparticle as per claim 54, and has greater brightness and fluorescent quantum yield than the free fluorescent compound. The nanoparticle also exhibits high biostability and biocompatibility. To facilitate efficient urinary excretion of the nanoparticle, it may be coated with an organic polymer, such as poly(ethylene glycol) (PEG). The small size of the nanoparticle, the silica base and the organic polymer coating minimizes the toxicity of the nanoparticle when administered in vivo. In order to target a specific cell type, the nanoparticle may further be conjugated to a ligand, which is capable of binding to a cellular component (e.g., the cell membrane or other intracellular component) associated with the specific cell type, such as a tumor marker or a signaling pathway intermediate. In one embodiment, a therapeutic agent may be attached to the nanoparticle. To permit the nanoparticle to be detectable by not only optical imaging (such as fluorescence imaging), but also other imaging techniques, such as positron emission tomography (PET), single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT), computerized tomography (CT), and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), the nanoparticle may also be conjugated to a contrast agent, such as a radionuclide, see para. [0074]. The fluorescent nanoparticle of the present invention includes a silica-based core comprising a fluorescent compound positioned within the core as per claim 54, and a silica shell on the core. The silica shell may surround at least a portion of the core, see para. [0078].
Bradbury teaches that an organic polymer may be attached to the present nanoparticle, e.g., attached to the surface of the nanoparticle. An organic polymer may be attached to the silica shell of the present nanoparticle. The organic polymer that may be used in the present invention include PEG, polylactate, polylactic acids, sugars, lipids, polyglutamic acid (PGA), polyglycolic acid, poly(lactic-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA), polyvinyl acetate (PVA), and the combinations thereof. The attachment of the organic polymer to the nanoparticle may be accomplished by a covalent bond or non-covalent bond, such as by ionic bond, hydrogen bond, hydrophobic bond, coordination, adhesive, and physical absorption. In one embodiment, the nanoparticle is covalently conjugated with PEG, which prevents adsorption of serum proteins, facilitates efficient urinary excretion and decreases aggregation of the nanoparticle, see para. [0088].
Bradbury teaches that the surface of the nanoparticle may be modified to incorporate at least one functional group. The organic polymer (e.g., PEG) attached to the nanoparticle may be modified to incorporate at least one functional group. For example, the functional group can be a maleimide or N-Hydroxysuccinimide (NHS) ester. The incorporation of the functional group makes it possible to attach various ligands, contrast agents and/or therapeutic agents to the nanoparticle, see para. [0089].
Regarding ligand, Bradbury teaches that a ligand may be attached to the present nanoparticle. The ligand is capable of binding to at least one cellular component. The ligand can be, for example, a peptide, a protein, a protein fragment, a peptide hormone, a sugar (i.e., lectins), a biopolymer, a synthetic polymer, an antigen, an antibody, an antibody fragment (e.g., Fab, nanobodies), an aptamer, a virus or viral component, a receptor, a hapten, an enzyme, a hormone, a chemical compound, a pathogen, a microorganism or a component thereof, a toxin, a surface modifier, such as a surfactant to alter the surface properties or histocompatibility of the nanoparticle or of an analyte when a nanoparticle associates therewith, and combinations thereof. Preferred ligands are, for example, antibodies, such as monoclonal or polyclonal antibodies, and receptor ligands. In another embodiment, the ligand is poly-L-lysine (pLysine), see para. [0090].
Bradbury teaches that a ligand may be attached to the present nanoparticle directly or through a linker The attachment of the ligand to the nanoparticle may be accomplished by a covalent bond or non-covalent bond, such as by ionic bond, hydrogen bond, hydrophobic bond, coordination, adhesive, and physical absorption. The ligand may be coated onto the surface of the nanoparticle. The ligand may be imbibed into the surface of the nanoparticle. As used herein, "imbibe" refers to assimilation or taking in. The ligand may be attached to the surface of the fluorescent nanoparticle, or may be attached to the core when the shell is porous or is covering a portion of the core. When the ligand is attached to the nanoparticle through a linker, the linker can be any suitable molecules, such as a functionalized PEG. The PEGs can have multiple functional groups for attachment to the nanoparticle and ligands. The particle can have different types of functionalized PEGs bearing different functional groups that can be attached to multiple ligands.
Regarding therapeutic agent, Bradbury teaches that the therapeutic agents that may be attached to the present nanoparticle include, but are not limited to, DNA alkylating agents, topoisomerase inhibitors, endoplasmic reticulum stress inducing agents, a platinum compound, an antimetabolite, vincalkaloids, taxanes, epothilones, enzyme inhibitors, receptor antagonists, therapeutic antibodies, tyrosine kinase inhibitors, boron radiosensitizers (i.e. velcade), and chemotherapeutic combination therapies, see para. [0106].
Regarding claim 54, Bradbury teaches that the fluorescent nanoparticle of the present invention includes a silica-based core comprising a fluorescent compound positioned within the core as per claim 54, and a silica shell on the core. The silica shell may surround at least a portion of the core, see para. [0078].
Regarding claim 55, Bradbury teaches that the number of ligands attached to the nanoparticle may range from about 1 to about 20, from about 2 to about 15, from about 3 to about 10, from about 1 to about 10, or from about 1 to about 6, see para. [0098]. The number of ligands attached to the nanoparticle may also range from about 1 to about 10, see para. [0009].
Regarding claim 58, Bradbury teaches that examples of therapeutic antibodies include, but are not limited to anti-HER1/EGFR (Cetuximab, Panitumumab); Anti-HER2/neu (erbB2) receptor (Trastuzumab); Anti-EpCAM (Catumaxomab, Edrecolomab) Anti-VEGF-A (Bevacizumab); Anti-CD20 (Rituximab, Tositumomab, Ibritumomab); Anti-CD52 (Alemtuzumab); and Anti-CD33 (Gemtuzumab). U.S. Pat. Nos. 5,776,427 and 7,601,355, see para. [0115] or an antibody fragment (e.g., Fab, nanobodies), see para. [0090].
Regarding claims 59, 60, 63 and 64, Bradbury teaches that PET imaging agent, e.g., 124I can be conjugated to PEG-dots, see para. [0188], [0192]. The contrast agent encompassed by the present invention may be any molecule, substance or compound known in the art for PET, SPECT, CT, MRI, and optical imaging. The contrast agent may be radionuclides, radiometals, positron emitters, beta emitters, gamma emitters, alpha emitters, paramagnetic metal ions, and supraparamagnetic metal ions. The contrast agents include, but are not limited to, iodine, fluorine, copper, zirconium, lutetium, astatine, yttrium, gallium, indium, technetium, gadolinium, dysprosium, iron, manganese, barium and barium sulfate. The radionuclides that may be used as the contrast agent attached to the nanoparticle of the present invention include, but are not limited to .sup.89Zr, .sup.64Cu, .sup.68Ga, .sup.86Y, .sup.124I and .sup.177Lu. see para. [0099].
Regarding claim 61, Bradbury teaches that the one or more imaging agent comprises fluorophore, e.g., organic dye, fluorescent proteins), fluorescent proteins (e.g., GFP) and semiconductor quantum dots (Q-dots), see para. [0005]. A typical fluorophore is, for example, a fluorescent aromatic or heteroaromatic compound such as is a pyrene, an anthracene, a naphthalene, an acridine, a stilbene, an indole or benzindole, an oxazole or benzoxazole, a thiazole or benzothiazole, a 4-amino-7-nitrobenz-2-oxa-1,3-diazole (NBD), a cyanine, a carbocyanine, a carbostyryl, a porphyrin, a salicylate, an anthranilate, an azulene, a perylene, a pyridine, a quinoline, a coumarin (including hydroxycoumarins and aminocoumarins and fluorinated derivatives thereof), see para. [0085].
Regarding claim 62, Bradbury teaches that therapeutic agent comprises a chemotherapeutic drug, e.g., DNA alkylating agents, topoisomerase inhibitors, endoplasmic reticulum stress inducing agents, a platinum compound, an antimetabolite, vincalkaloids, taxanes, epothilones, enzyme inhibitors, receptor antagonists, therapeutic antibodies, tyrosine kinase inhibitors, boron radiosensitizers (i.e. velcade), and chemotherapeutic combination therapies, para. [0106] to [0108], [0110] to [0114].
Bradbury does not teach the immunoconjugate wherein t