DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 12/05/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 5-11, and 13-22 are currently pending. Claims 11 and 13-22 are withdrawn. Claims 3, 4, and 12 are cancelled. Claims 1, 5-7, 10-11, 13, and 20 are amended. Support for the amended claims is found in the claims as originally filed, paragraphs 0050-0051 of the present specification, and figures 14-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20240274861 A1) in view of Yoshida (US 20080081257 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Han discloses a battery cell (paragraph 0011, figure 2, electrode assembly 20) comprising: a continuous anode electrode comprising an anode current collector (paragraphs 0036, 0051, figure 2, negative electrode 21), anode active material including silicon on opposite sides of the anode current collector (paragraphs 0051, 0076), a first electrolyte laver on the anode active materials (paragraphs 0035, 0054, separators 21 and 22 may be formed of electrolyte film), and first external connector tabs spaced apart along the continuous anode electrode (paragraph 0064, figure 4, uncoated portions 412); and a plurality of individual cathode electrodes each comprising a cathode current collector, cathode active material arranged on opposite sides of the cathode current collector (paragraphs 0037-0040, 0052, 0077, figure 2, positive electrodes 24a and 24b), and a second external connector tab (paragraph 0061, figure 4, uncoated portions 442), wherein the continuous anode electrode is arranged in a zig-zag pattern and the plurality of individual cathode electrodes are arranged between adjacent alternating portions of the continuous anode electrode (paragraph 0033, figure 2). Han is silent regarding the first electrolyte layer being a sulfide layer, and a second sulfide layer arranged on the cathode active material.
Yoshida discloses an all-solid battery comprising cathodes, anodes, and a solid electrolyte layer between and in contact with the cathode and anode, wherein the cathode and anode structures are arranged in a zigzag pattern to form a multilevel electrode structure (Yoshida paragraphs 0009-0011, 0086 figures 9A, 14). Yoshida further discloses that the solid electrolyte may be Li2S-SiS2, Li2S-P2S5, and Li2S-B2-S3, equivalent to pseudobinary sulfide electrolytes (Yoshida paragraph 0033). The reference teaches that the electrolytes exert stable performances in the sintering process in an oxygen environment (Yoshida paragraph 0033). Yoshida and Han are analogous because they both disclose batteries with a zigzag electrode structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a sulfide electrolyte layer in contact with the cathode and to have substituted the pseudobinary sulfide electrolyte disclosed by Yoshida for the electrolyte provided on the surfaces of the negative electrode disclosed by Han. Doing so would provide an electrolyte that exerts stable performance in a sintering process in an oxygen environment. Further, the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding claim 5, modified Han discloses the limitations of claim 1. Han is silent regarding wherein the first sulfide electrolyte layer and the second sulfide electrolyte layer are selected from a group consisting of pseudobinary sulfide, pseudoternary sulfide, and pseudoquaternary sulfide.
Yoshida discloses an all-solid battery comprising cathodes, anodes, and a solid electrolyte layer between and in contact with the cathode and anode, wherein the cathode and anode structures are arranged in a zigzag pattern to form a multilevel electrode structure (Yoshida paragraphs 0009-0011, 0086 figures 9A, 14). Yoshida further discloses that the solid electrolyte may be Li2S-SiS2, Li2S-P2S5, and Li2S-B2-S3, equivalent to pseudobinary sulfide electrolytes (Yoshida paragraph 0033). The reference teaches that the electrolytes exert stable performances in the sintering process in an oxygen environment (Yoshida paragraph 0033). Yoshida and Han are analogous because they both disclose batteries with a zigzag electrode structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a sulfide electrolyte layer in contact with the cathode and to have substituted the pseudobinary sulfide electrolyte disclosed by Yoshida for the electrolyte provided on the surfaces of the negative electrode disclosed by Han. Doing so would provide an electrolyte that exerts stable performance in a sintering process in an oxygen environment. Further, the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Regarding claim 8, modified Han discloses the limitations of claim 1. Han further discloses that the cathode active material comprises one or more positive electroactive materials selected from a group consisting of LiCoO2, LiNixMnyCo1-x-yO2, LiMn2O4, and LiFePO4 (paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 10, modified Han discloses the limitations of claim 1. Han is silent regarding wherein least one of the first sulfide electrolyte layer and the second sulfide electrolyte layer are selected from a group consisting of pseudobinary sulfide, pseudoternary sulfide, and pseudoquaternary sulfide.
Yoshida discloses an all-solid battery comprising cathodes, anodes, and a solid electrolyte layer between and in contact with the cathode and anode, wherein the cathode and anode structures are arranged in a zigzag pattern to form a multilevel electrode structure (Yoshida paragraphs 0009-0011, 0086 figures 9A, 14). Yoshida further discloses that the solid electrolyte may be Li2S-SiS2, Li2S-P2S5, and Li2S-B2-S3, equivalent to pseudobinary sulfide electrolytes (Yoshida paragraph 0033). The reference teaches that the electrolytes exert stable performances in the sintering process in an oxygen environment (Yoshida paragraph 0033). Yoshida and Han are analogous because they both disclose batteries with a zigzag electrode structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a sulfide electrolyte layer in contact with the cathode and to have substituted the pseudobinary sulfide electrolyte disclosed by Yoshida for the electrolyte provided on the surfaces of the negative electrode disclosed by Han. Doing so would provide an electrolyte that exerts stable performance in a sintering process in an oxygen environment. Further, the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20240274861 A1) in view of Yoshida (US 20080081257 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fukui (US 20220102760 A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Han discloses the limitations of claim 1. Han is silent regarding wherein a highest point of the anode current collector minus a lowest point of the anode current collector is in a range from 1µm to 20µm.
Fukui discloses an all-solid-state battery comprising staked electrode laminates wherein the positive and negative current collectors are folded in a zigzag pattern (Fukui paragraphs 009-0010, 0061, figure 12). Fukui further discloses that the current collectors have a thickness of 10 to 20µm, equivalent to a highest point minus a lowest point (Fukui paragraphs 0038, 0053). The reference teaches that this thickness leads to a reduction in the overall battery thickness (Fukui paragraph 0053). Fukui and Han are analogous because they both disclose folded batteries with zig-zag structures.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Han to have the anode current collector thickness disclosed by Fukui. Doing so would reduce the overall battery thickness.
Claims 6-7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20240274861 A1) in view of Yoshida (US 20080081257 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Honda (US 20090162746 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Han discloses the limitations of claim 1. Han is silent regarding wherein the anode active material includes a material selected from a group consisting of columnar silicon, silicon-containing alloys, and silicon-graphite mixture.
Honda discloses a lithium ion battery comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, a separator, wherein the active material of the first electrode includes columnar particles (Honda paragraph 0012). Honda further discloses that the negative electrode is formed on a continuous current collector (Honda paragraph 0091) and that the columnar particles include at least one selected from the group consisting of a silicon simple substance, a silicon alloy, a compound containing silicon and oxygen, a tin simple substance, and a tin alloy (Honda paragraph 0016). The reference teaches that the active material reduces pressure to the separator resulting in improvement in rate characteristics and cycle characteristics of the battery (Honda paragraph 0032). Honda and Han are analogous because they both disclose lithium secondary batteries with continuous anodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Han to include the active material disclosed by Honda. Doing so would improve rate and cycle characteristics of the battery.
Regarding claim 7, modified Han discloses the limitations of claim 1. Han is silent regarding wherein the anode active material comprises a material selected from a group consisting of tin, aluminum, indium, and magnesium.
Honda discloses a lithium ion battery comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, a separator, wherein the active material of the first electrode includes columnar particles (Honda paragraph 0012). Honda further discloses that the negative electrode is formed on a continuous current collector (Honda paragraph 0091) and that the columnar particles include at least one selected from the group consisting of a silicon simple substance, a silicon alloy, a compound containing silicon and oxygen, a tin simple substance, and a tin alloy (Honda paragraph 0016). The reference teaches that the active material reduces pressure to the separator resulting in improvement in rate characteristics and cycle characteristics of the battery (Honda paragraph 0032). Honda and Han are analogous because they both disclose lithium secondary batteries with continuous anodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Han to include the active material comprising tin as disclosed by Honda. Doing so would improve rate and cycle characteristics of the battery.
Regarding claim 21, modified Han discloses the limitations of claim 1. Han is silent regarding wherein the silicon of the anode active material is columnar silicon.
Honda discloses a lithium ion battery comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, a separator, wherein the active material of the first electrode includes columnar particles (Honda paragraph 0012). Honda further discloses that the negative electrode is formed on a continuous current collector (Honda paragraph 0091) and that the columnar particles include at least one selected from the group consisting of a silicon simple substance, a silicon alloy, a compound containing silicon and oxygen, a tin simple substance, and a tin alloy (Honda paragraph 0016). The reference teaches that the active material reduces pressure to the separator resulting in improvement in rate characteristics and cycle characteristics of the battery (Honda paragraph 0032). Honda and Han are analogous because they both disclose lithium secondary batteries with continuous anodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Han to include the columnar silicon active material disclosed by Honda. Doing so would improve rate and cycle characteristics of the battery.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20240274861 A1) in view of Yoshida (US 20080081257 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inagaki et al. (US 20080166637 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Han discloses the limitations of claim 8. Han is silent regarding wherein the cathode active material is at least one of coated and doped.
Inagaki discloses a nonaqueous electrolyte battery comprising positive and negative electrodes and a separator disposed in a folded zigzag configuration (Inagaki paragraphs 0010, 0183, figure 5). Inagaki further discloses that positive electrode active material comprises a lithium-transition metal composite oxide coated with an oxide film (Inagaki paragraph 0139). The reference teaches that the coating film suppresses decomposition of the electrolyte and provides a battery with a long cycle life (Inagaki paragraph 0139). Inagaki and Han are analogous because they both disclose batteries with folded zigzag configurations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Han to have the positive active material coating disclosed by Inagaki. Doing so would provide a battery with long cycle life.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.T.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727