DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 11-14, 18, 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miler (US20190157636) in view of Kim (US20180309163) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on January 26th, 2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Miler discloses a bipolar solid-state battery comprising:
N solid-state battery cells, where N is an integer greater than one (cell blocks-102 act as N solid-state battery cells, [0044]),
Wherein each of the N solid-state battery cells comprises:
M solid-state cores, where M is an integer greater than 1 (battery cells-110 act as M solid-state cores, [0044]).
N-1 clad plates including a first side and a second side (lateral members-106 act as clad plates, [0069], Fig. 1B, first side-232, second side-234, lateral member-230 may be analogous to lateral members-106),
Wherein the N-1 clad plates are arranged between adjacent ones of the N solid-state battery cels and the N solid-state battery cells are electrically connected in series by the N-1 clad plates (Fig. 1B shows that the lateral members are arranged between adjacent cell blocks-102, [0069], Fig. 1B, cell-blocks can be connected in series, [0040]).
Miler further discloses wherein M-solid state cores in each of the N solid-state batteries are electrically connected together in parallel (battery cells can be collected in parallel, [0042]). Miler further discloses wherein the battery cells can be formed of various cells ([0136]).
Miler does not directly disclose wherein each of the M-solid state cores comprises a first current collector, cathode active material arranged adjacent to the first current collector, a separator, a second current collector, and anode active material arranged adjacent to the second current collector, wherein the first current collectors of the M solid-state cores in each of the N solid-state battery cells are electrically connected together and the second current collectors of the M solid-state cores in each of the N solid-state battery cells are electrically connected together to electrically connect the M solid-state cores in parallel.
Kim discloses a unit cell for a bipolar all solid-state battery that includes a first current collector, a first active material coated on the first current collector, a second current collector and a second active material coated on the second current collector ([008]), wherein the first active material is a positive electrode active material ([0063]), and wherein the second active material is a negative electrode active material ([0067]). Kim further discloses wherein the unit cells can be connected in parallel ([0028]). Kim teaches that this structure provides improved electric properties of the bipolar solid state-battery ([006]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Miler with the teachings of Kim to have wherein each of the M-solid state cores comprises a first current collector, cathode active material arranged adjacent to the first current collector, a separator, a second current collector, and anode active material arranged adjacent to the second current collector, wherein the first current collectors of the M solid-state cores in each of the N solid-state battery cells are electrically connected together and the second current collectors of the M solid-state cores in each of the N solid-state battery cells are electrically connected together to electrically connect the M solid-state cores in parallel. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved electric properties of the bipolar solid state-battery.
Regarding Claim 2, Miler in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Miller does not directly disclose wherein the first current collector comprises aluminum and the second current collector comprises copper.
Kim discloses wherein the first current collector is made of aluminum ([009]) and wherein the second current collector is formed of copper ([0010]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Miler with the teachings of Kim to have wherein the first current collector comprises aluminum and the second current collector comprises copper. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved electric properties of the bipolar solid state-battery.
Regarding Claim 4, Miller in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Miler further discloses a battery enclosure, wherein the N solid-state battery cells and the N-1 clad plates are arranged in the battery enclosure (Fig. 1 A shows battery enclosure, and Fig. 1B shows lateral members disposed within battery enclosure, [0040]).
Regarding Claim 5, Miler in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Miler further comprises a first terminal in contact with the first current collector of a first one of the N solid-state battery cells and passing through one side of the battery enclosure; and a second terminal in contact with the second current collector of a last one of the N solid-state battery cells and passing through an opposite side of the battery enclosure (terminals-612 on each battery that are connected by bus bars that couple individual cells of each cell block, and busbars that may be intercell blocks that couple adjacent cell blocks, [0141]).
Regarding Claim 6, Miler in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Miler further discloses wherein each battery cells can include electrolyte materials ([0044]).
Regarding Claim 11, Miler in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Miler further discloses wherein the battery enclosure includes a base portion and a cover (Fig. 8, shows battery enclosure has base portion and a cover, [0160]).
Regarding Claim 12, Miler in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Miler further discloses wherein the cover includes N vent holes arranged between the N-1 clad plates, between a first one of the N-1 clad plates and one side of the battery enclosure, and between a last one of the N-1 clad plates and an opposite side of the battery enclosure (cell block vent-112/627 act as N vent holes, Fig. 6, [0139]).
Regarding Claim 13, Miler in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Miler further discloses wherein N fasteners arranged in the N vent holes (cel block vent can be coupled via mechanical fasteners, [0047]).
Regarding Claim 14, Miler in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Miler further discloses wherein sealing polymer seals the N fasteners in the N vent holes (cell block vents can be coupled with polymeric membrane, [0047]).
Regarding Claim 18, Miler in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Miler does not directly disclose wherein the anode active material is selected from a group consisting of carbonaceous material, silicon, a transition metal, a metal oxide, a lithium metal, a lithium alloy meal, and combinations thereof.
Kim discloses wherein the second active material acting as the negative electrode active material can be formed of carbon material, silicon material, or a lithium metal ([0067]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the structure of Miler with the teachings of Kim to have wherein the anode active material is selected from a group consisting of carbonaceous material, silicon, a transition metal, a metal oxide, a lithium metal, a lithium alloy meal, and combinations thereof.
Regarding Claim 20, Miler in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Miler does not directly disclose wherein the electrolyte comprises an oxide-based solid electrolyte selected from a group consisting of doped or undoped garnet electrolyte, perovskite electrolyte, NASICON electrolyte, LISICON electrolyte, metal doped electrolyte, and aliovalent-substituted oxide solid electrolyte.
Kim discloses a bipolar solid-state battery ([002]) with a solid electrolyte (solid electrolyte-150, [0061]). Kim further discloses wherein the solid electrolyte can be an oxide based solid electrolyte, a NASICON based oxide, garnet-type oxide, a LISICON electrolyte ([0063], [0068]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrolyte of Miler with the teachings of Kim to have wherein the solid electrolyte can be an oxide based solid electrolyte, a NASICON based oxide, garnet-type oxide, a LISICON electrolyte.
Regarding Claim 21, Miler in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Miler further discloses wherein each of the N-1 clads plates is arranged between the cathode active material of one of the M solid-state cores in one of the N solid-state battery cells and the anode active material of one of the M solid-state cores in another one of the N solid-state battery cells (under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, “clad plates arranged between the cathode… and anode active material” can be interpreted to mean any structure where there are clad plates between a cathode active material of any one of the M solid-state cores and a anode active material of any one of the M solid state-cores would meet this claim limitations, therefore since the lateral members are arranged in a way where they are between the battery cells they would be between one of the cathode active materials and one of the anode active materials, Fig. 1B, [0040]).
Regarding Claim 22, Miler in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Miler further discloses wherein the battery enclosure includes a base portion defining first channels, and a cover defining second channels, wherein the N solid-state battery cells and the N-1 clad plates are arranged in the battery enclosure, and wherein the N-1 clad plates are arranged in the first channels of the base portion and the second channels of the cover (both the bottom cover and top cover of the battery enclosure form channels that the lateral members-106 are disposed in Fig. 1B, Fig. 2F, [0090]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miler (US20190157636) in view of Kim (US20180309163) in view of Schmid (US20210210820).
Regarding Claim 3, Miller in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Miller does not directly disclose wherein the first material of N-1 clad plates comprises copper and the second material of the N-1 clad plates comprises aluminum.
Schmid discloses substrates that are used to divide the battery cells (Fig. 2, substrates-20a, 20b, [0060]). Schmid further discloses wherein the substrates are formed of a first material of copper and a second material of aluminum ([0049]). Schmid teaches that this structure provides improves sealing ([0072]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Miller with the teachings of Schmid to have wherein the first material of N-1 clad plates comprises copper and the second material of the N-1 clad plates comprises aluminum. This modified structure would yield the expected benefit of improved sealing.
Claim(s) 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miler (US20190157636) in view of Kim (US20180309163) in view of Li (CN114335716A, See US National Stage Entry, US20230216087, for citations).
Regarding Claim 7 & 10, Miler in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Miler does not disclose a polymer electrolyte and the use of an initiator, where the initiator is selected from a group consisting of peroxide, azo compounds and peroxide and a reducing agent.
Li discloses a polymer solid electrolyte ([006]) that utilizes an initiator that can include and azo initiator or a peroxyl initiator ([0016]). Li discloses that this structure provides an electrolyte that improves safety and cycle stability of the battery cell ([006]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrolyte of Miler with the teachings of Li to have wherein the electrolyte is a polymer electrolyte that contains an initiator, where the initiator is selected from a group consisting of peroxide, azo compounds and peroxide and a reducing agent. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved safety and cycle stability of the battery cell.
Regarding Claim 8, Miler in view of Kim further in view of Li discloses the limitations as set forth above. Miler does not directly disclose wherein the polymer electrolyte is polymerized insitu in the battery enclosure.
Li discloses a solid electrolyte that is in-situ polymerized for a solid-state battery ([006]). Li further teaches that this structure provides an electrode structure with improved safety and cycle stability of the battery cell ([006]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrolyte of Schmid with the teachings of Li to have wherein the polymer electrolyte is polymerized insitu in the battery enclosure. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved safety and cycle stability of the battery cell.
Regarding Claim 9, Miler in view of Kim further in view of Li discloses the limitations as set forth above. Miler does not directly disclose wherein the polymer electrolyte is selected from a group consisting of ethylene oxide (EO), vinylidene fluoride (VDF), vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene (VDF-HFP), propylene oxide (PO), acrylonitrile (AN), methacrylonitrile (PMAN), methyl methacrylate (MMA), and their corresponding oligomers and co-polymers.
Li discloses wherein the solid electrolyte can be formed from acrylonitrile ([0017]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrolyte of Miler with the teachings of Li to have wherein the polymer electrolyte is formed of acrylonitrile. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved safety and cycle stability of the battery cell.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miler (US20190157636) in view of Kim (US20180309163) further in view of Hasegawa (US20180287209)
Regarding Claim 17, Miler in view of Kim discloses the limitations as set forth above. Miler does not directly disclose wherein the cathode active material includes one or more positive electrode active material selected from a group selecting of LiCoO2, LiNixMnyCo1-x-yO2 (where O ≤ x ≤ 1), LiMn2O4, LiNixMn1.5O4, LiFePO4, LiVPO4, LiV2(PO4)3, Li2FePO4F, Li3Fe3(PO4)4, Li3V2(PO4)F3, LiFeSiO4 and combinations thereof.
Hasegawa discloses a solid-state battery that is comprises of a positive electrode ([007]). Hasegawa further discloses wherein the cathode current collector can be formed of aluminum ([0055]). Hasegawa further discloses wherein the cathode active material can be LiCoO2-, LiMn2O4, LiNiO2-, LiFePO4 and combinations thereof ([0064]). Hasegawa teaches that this material provides improved cycle characteristics ([0030]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Miler with the teachings of Hasegawa to have wherein the cathode active material includes one or more positive electrode active material selected from a group selecting of LiCoO2, LiNixMnyCo1-x-yO2 (where O ≤ x ≤ 1), LiMn2O4, LiNixMn1.5O4, LiFePO4, LiVPO4, LiV2(PO4)3, Li2FePO4F, Li3Fe3(PO4)4, Li3V2(PO4)F3, LiFeSiO4 and combinations thereof. This modification would yield the expected result of improved cycle characteristics.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miler (US20190157636) in view of Kim (US20180309163) further in view of Kim’ (US20210242470).
Regarding Claim 19, Miler discloses the limitations as set for the above. Miler does not directly disclose wherein the separator comprises a polymer layer that is coated with LATP and wherein the polymer layer is selected from a group consisting of PP and PE.
Kim’ discloses a solid battery electrode assembly ([002]) that includes a separator ([0203]). Kim’ further discloses wherein the separator is a polymer non-woven fabric, wherein the polymer can be polypropylene or polyethylene ([0203]). Kim’ further discloses wherein the separator is coated with LATP ([0291]). Kim teaches that this structure provides a battery with improved chemical stability ([009]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the separator of Miler with the teachings of Kim to have wherein the separator comprises a polymer layer that is coated with LATP and wherein the polymer layer is selected from a group consisting of PP and PE. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved chemical stability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, see Claims, filed June 17th, 2025, with respect to the 112(b) rejections of Claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejections of Claims 1-20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments, see Claims, filed June 17th, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) Claim 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of under 25 USC 103 in view of Miller in view of Kim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728