DETAILED ACTION
Any rejections made in a previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata (US 2009/0275462) in view of Murata (US 2009/0325776) and Ishioka (US 2005/0058424).
Regarding claim 1, Murata ‘462 discloses a glass substrate having a glass composition including, in terms of mass %, 50 to 80% of SiO2, 0 to 20% of B2O3, 0 to 20% of MgO, 0 to 20% of CaO, 0 to 20% of SrO, 0 to 20% of BaO, 0.001 to 2% of SnO2, 0 to 1% of As2O3, see abstract. The reference further discloses Sb2O3 as 0 to 2% and Li2O, Na2O, and K2O as 0 to 20% [0039 & 0041]. The glass does not contain AlF3, see entire document. Note that the ranges disclosed for the individual components of the composition overlap the claimed range, and as such, a prima facie -case of obviousness exists; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
While the reference discloses the glass contains Al2O3, the reference fails to disclose the claimed amount, see abstract.
Murata ‘776 discloses a glass composition with 1 to 25 mass % Al2O3 in order to enhance the strain point and the Young’s modulus of the glass while preventing devitrification and insufficient ion exchange [0063].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the glass of Murata ‘462 to have 1 to 25% Al2O3 in order to enhance the strain point and the Young’s modulus of the glass while preventing devitrification and insufficient ion exchange; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Murata ‘462 also fails to disclose that the glass composition comprises greater than 0.5 wt% and less than or equal to 1.5 wt% AlF3.
Ishioka discloses a glass composition with up to 2 mass % AlF3 [0069]. The reference further discloses that AlF3 is effective for improving melting property and mechanical strength of the glass [0069].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include up 2 mass % AlF3 in order to improve the melting property and mechanical strength of the glass of Murata ‘462; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Murata ‘462 discloses 0 to 20% K2O, which overlaps the claimed ranges [0041]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the reference discloses 0 to 20% of MgO, 0 to 20% of CaO, 0 to 20% of SrO, 0 to 20% of BaO, which corresponds to at least one alkaline earth metal within the claimed ranges, see abstract.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the reference discloses 0 to 20% Na2O, which overlaps the claimed ranges [0041]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 10, the reference discloses 0 to 20% Li2O, which overlaps the claimed range [0041]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 11, the reference discloses 0 to 20% of MgO, which overlaps the claimed range, see abstract and MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 12, the reference discloses 0 to 20% of SrO, which overlaps the claimed range, see abstract and MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 13, the reference discloses 0.001 to 2% of SnO2, which overlaps the claimed range, see abstract and MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 14, the reference discloses 0 to 10% of ZnO, which overlaps the claimed range [0036]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 15, the reference discloses 0 to 2% of Zr2O, which overlaps the claimed range [0037]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, the reference discloses the glass substrate has a Young’s modulus of 68 GPa or more, which overlaps the claimed ranges [0020]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 18, the reference discloses the temperature at the viscosity of 10 2.5 dPa·s is preferably 1,550°C or lower, which is considered to render obvious a 200 Poise temperature of less than 1500°C [0049]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Regarding claim 19, the reference discloses the glass substrate has a thermal expansion coefficient from 25 to 10x10-7/°C, which overlaps the claimed range [0047]; see MPEP 2144.05 I.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ishioka fails to disclose an AlF3 content within the claimed range. According to Applicant, the reference teaches glass compositions that include Al from 1 mol% or greater and F from 15 mol% or greater, see Ishioka [0040 & 0047]. Applicant further notes that neither of the Murata references teach the claimed range. As such, Applicant requests the withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
While Applicant is correct that the reference teaches the individual amounts of Al and F as greater than the claimed range of AlF3, Examiner notes that the reference specifically discloses AlF3 may be added in an amount preferably up to 1 mass %, which overlaps the claimed range [0069]. As discussed above and previously, a prima facie -case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art"; see MPEP 2144.05 I. Further, Examiner notes that the portions of the reference cited by Applicant do not require Al and F to be in the form of AlF3 [0041 & 0048]. Given the reference discloses a range for AlF3 content that overlaps the claimed range and provides motivation the amount of AlF3 [0069] and given the portions cited by Applicant do not necessarily refer to AlF3, the combination of Murata ‘462 in view of Ishioka and Murata ‘776 renders obvious the claimed invention.
For the above reasons, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are respectfully maintained.
Conclusion
/LAURA A AUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783