DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendments, and arguments, filed November 26, 2025, are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 21-25 and 27-40 are pending and currently under consideration. Claims 21, 28, 37 and 40 have been amended; and claim 26 has been cancelled; and claims 21-20 were previously cancelled. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Office Action: Non-Final
Withdrawn Claim Objections
The objection to claim 28 (at par. 2-3 of the 08/27/2025 Office action) is withdrawn in light of applicant’s 11/26/2025 amendments. Applicant’s 11/26/2025 remarks at p. 6, par. 2, are acknowledged.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 39 is objected to because the claim should read:
39. ([…]) [[M]]A method of enhancing the photostability, and/or reducing the stickiness, and/or improving the water resistance, and/or improving the film homogeneity, and/or reducing fabric staining before and/or after washing, and/or reducing the gloss, and/or reducing the formulation yellowing, and/or improving the compatibility with the microbiome of a sunscreen or daily care composition comprising titanium dioxide by applying bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine, wherein the sunscreen or daily care composition does not comprise a further, different UV filter.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112(d)- Not Further Limiting
Subject to the [fifth paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA )], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Claims 37-38 rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 37 and 38 are drawn to:
37. ([…]) A sunscreen of daily care composition comprising (i) bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) in an amount of 1 to 10 wt.-%; and
(ii) titanium dioxide in an amount of 2 to 30 wt.-%,
each based on the total weight of the sunscreen or daily care composition;
wherein the sunscreen of daily care composition is free of a further, additional UV filter.
38. ([…]) The sunscreen or daily care composition according to claim 37, comprising
i) bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) in an amount of 1 to 10 wt.-%; and
ii) titanium dioxide in an amount of 2 to 30 wt.-%;
each based on the total weight of the sunscreen or daily care composition.
wherein claim 38 recites i) and ii) in the same amounts as (i) and (ii) in claim 37, and therefore, claim 38. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 21-25, 27, 29-36 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over HUGLIN (US 5,955,060, Issued Sep. 21, 1999; hereinafter, “Hüglin”) and SCHLOSSMAN (US 2016/0271027 A1, Publ. Sep. 22, 2016; hereinafter, “Schlossman”).
Hüglin is directed to:
BIS(RESORCINYL)TRIAZINES USEFUL AS SUNSCREENS IN COSMETIC PREPARATIONS
ABSTRACT
There are described bis(resorcinyl)triazines of the formula
The compounds according to the invention are particularly suitable as sunscreens in cosmetic, pharmaceutical and veterinary medicinal preparations.
Hüglin, title & abstract. In this regard, Hüglin teaches cosmetic compositions containing 0.1 to 15, preferably 0.5 to 10% UV absorber by weight of the composition:
Besides the UV absorbers according to the invention, the cosmetic compositions can additionally contain one or more further UV-protective substances, e.g. triazines, oxanilides, triazoles or amides containing vinyl groups or cinnamides. Such protective substances are described, for example, in GB-A-2,286,774 or alternatively are known from Cosmetics & Toiletries (107), 50 et seq. (1992).
The cosmetic compositions according to the invention contain 0.1 to 15, preferably 0.5 to 10% by weight, based on the total weight of the composition, of a UV absorber or of a mixture of UV absorbers and a cosmetically compatible auxiliary.
(Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63; wherein “UV absorber” is interpreted as referring to compounds of the formula in Hüglin’s abstract), and exemplifies “2,4-Bis{[4-(2-ethylhexyloxy)-2-hydroxy]phenyl}-6-(4-methoxyphenyl)-1,3,5-triazine”:
(Hüglin, col. 9, ln. 36 to col. 11, ln. 10, Ex. 1).
Regarding independent claim 21 and the requirements
21. ([…]) Sunscreen or daily care composition comprising
i) bis-ethylhexyl methoxyphenyloxyphenol triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine);
ii) titanium dioxide; and
iii) zinc oxide,
wherein the sunscreen or daily care composition does not comprise a further, different UV filter;
wherein the weight ratio of the sum of titanium dioxide and zinc oxide to the bisethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine is in the range of 1:1 to 20:1.
Hüglin clearly teaches cosmetic compositions containing 0.1 to 15 UV absorber by weight of the composition (Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63), wherein the UV absorber is “2,4-Bis{[4-(2-ethylhexyloxy)-2-hydroxy]phenyl}-6-(4-methoxyphenyl)-1,3,5-triazine” (Hüglin, col. 9, ln. 36 to col. 11, ln. 10, Ex. 1), WHEREBY it is noted:
“2,4-Bis{[4-(2-ethylhexyloxy)-2-hydroxy]phenyl}-6-(4-methoxyphenyl)-1,3,5-triazine” (Hüglin, col. 9, ln. 36 to col. 11, ln. 10, Ex. 1) is “i) bis-ethylhexyl methoxyphenyloxyphenol triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine)” of claim 21; and
although Hüglin teaches that “[b]esides the UV absorbers according to the invention, the cosmetic compositions can additionally contain one or more further UV-protective substances, e.g. triazines, oxanilides, triazoles or amides containing vinyl groups or cinnamides” (Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63), these “one or more further UV-protective substances” appear to be optional components, thereby mmeting the requirement of claim 21 for “wherein the sunscreen or daily care composition does not comprise a further, different UV filter” since further UV-protective substances in addition to Hüglin’s “UV absorbers according to the invention” (Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63) are not required by Hüglin.
However, Hüglin DOES NOT TEACH “ii) titanium dioxide” and “iii) zinc oxide,” and a “weight ratio of the sum of titanium dioxide and zinc oxide to the bisethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine is in the range of 1:1 to 20:1,” as required by claim 21 since the incorporation thereof is well within the purview of the ordinarily skilled artisan.
Schlossman is directed to:
ZINC OXIDE POWDER BLENDS, THEIR PRODUCTION AND USE
ABSTRACT
This disclosure provides sunscreen products that contain metal oxide powders having discrete size distributions. Metal oxide powders include, for example, zinc oxide and titanium dioxide. Sunscreen products made in accordance with the principles of this disclosure contain metal oxide powders having primary particle sizes of about 10-30 nm and about 50-200 nm.
Schlossman, title & abstract. In this regard, Schlossman teaches a UV-protective composition or sunscreen product having a total amount of metal oxide powders that is less than about 50% or even less than about 25%:
[0045] In a further aspect, the invention provides an UV-protective composition comprising a dispersion in a liquid vehicle of an effective amount of a first zinc oxide particulate component having a mean secondary particle size greater than about 180 nm and an effective amount of a second zinc oxide particulate component having a mean secondary particle size less than about 150 nm. As indicated above, the secondary particle size references the size of the particles in the dispersion. Particle sizes referenced herein are as determined by light scattering analysis, as described hereinafter unless otherwise indicated explicitly or by the context.
[…]
[0059] Desirably, the total amount of metal oxide powders in the sunscreen products is less than about 50% or even less than about 25%.
Schlossman, par. [0045] & [0059]. Schlossman also exemplifies a zinc oxide sunscreen formulation (“Blend 1”) and a zinc oxide with titanium dioxide sunscreen formulation (“Blend 2”):
EXAMPLE 2
Comparison of S1111scree11 Formulations
[0125] Two different metal oxide blends were formulated and compared as follows:
[0126] Blend 1. Blend 1 was made using a zinc oxide dispersion sold under catalogue number TNP50ZSI by Kobo Products, Inc. Catalog number TNP50ZSI contains 46.7% ZnO, by weight, having a primary particle size equal to about 20 nm. Blend 1 also incorporated a zinc oxide dispersion sold under catalogue number OHN73MZ by Kobo Products, Inc. Catalogue number OHN73MZ contains 70% ZnO having a primary particle size in the range between 15 and 35 nm.
[0127] Blend 1 was formulated to have an SPF of about 30 and protection against UV factor or PA of about 10. Blend 1 contained 19%, by weight, zinc oxide from catalogue number TNP50ZSI, resulting in a final concentration of about 9% ZnO having a 20 nm particle size, and about 21.3% ONH73MZ, resulting in a final concentration of about 15% ZnO in the 15-35 mm primary particle size range. The formulation was brought to 100% volume using Finsolv.
[…]
[0133] Blend 2. A titanium dioxide dispersion ON60T5L (Kobo Products, Inc.) contains 48.6% titanium dioxide with a primary particle size of about 35 nm. Blend 2 was formulated to have an SPF of about 30 and a PA of about 10. Blend 2 contained 12.3% of catalogue number ON60T5L, resulting in a final concentration of about 6% TiO2 of primary particle size 35 nm. By weight, 21.3% of Blend 2 consisted of zinc in the foml of catalogue number ONH73MZ. The formulation was brought to 100% volume using Finsolv.
[0134] Blend 1 and Blend 2 were tested for% light transmittance across the UV and visible spectrum. As shown in FIG. 2, Blend 1 which contains two different ZnO particle sizes provides more balanced UV protection and greater transparency to visible light than Blend 2 which contains zinc oxide and TiO2.
Thus, 6% of 35 nm TiO2 provides too much whitening for a skin care product but is useful for other products in which whitening is desired or that are used merely for their protective properties.
Schlossman, par. [0125]-[0127] & [0133]-[0134], Ex. 2.
Regarding independent claim 21, Schlossman clearly teaches a zinc oxide with titanium dioxide sunscreen formulation (“Blend 2”) (Schlossman, par. [0133], Ex. 2), WHEREBY it is noted:
a “titanium dioxide dispersion ON60T5L (Kobo Products, Inc.) contains 48.6% titanium dioxide with a primary particle size of about 35 nm” (Schlossman, par. [0133], Ex. 2) is “ii) titanium dioxide” of claim 21; and
a “zinc in the foml of catalogue number ONH73MZ” (Schlossman, par. [0133], Ex. 2) is “iii) zinc oxide” of claim 21;
wherein no further component s are present in Schlossman’s zinc oxide with titanium dioxide sunscreen formulation (“Blend 2”) (Schlossman, par. [0133], Ex. 2), thereby relating to the requirement of claim 21 for “wherein the sunscreen or daily care composition does not comprise a further, different UV filter.”
However, Schlossman DOES NOT TEACH “i) bis-ethylhexyl methoxyphenyloxyphenol triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine)” as required by claim 21 since the incorporation thereof is well within the purview of the ordinarily skilled artisan.
In light of these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hüglin’s cosmetic composition (Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63) containing “2,4-Bis{[4-(2-ethylhexyloxy)-2-hydroxy]phenyl}-6-(4-methoxyphenyl)-1,3,5-triazine” (Hüglin, col. 9, ln. 36 to col. 11, ln. 10, Ex. 1) with Schlossman’s a zinc oxide with titanium dioxide sunscreen formulation (“Blend 2”) (Schlossman, par. [0133], Ex. 2). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to so because “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” (MPEP § 2144.06). In re Susi, 58 CCPA 1074, 1079-80, 440 F.2d 442, 445, 169 USPQ 423, 426 (1971); In re Crockett, 47 CCPA 1018, 1020-21, 279 F.2d 274, 276-77, 126 USPQ 186, 188 (1960). As the court explained in Crockett, the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in prior art. Therefore, since the references teach that the compositions of Hüglin as well as Schlossman, are as sunscreens (Hüglin, title & abstract; Schlossman, title & abstract), it would have been obvious to combine the two compounds with the expectation that such a combination would be effective as sunscreen compositions. Thus, combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in prior art.
Regarding claims 21 for a “weight ratio of the sum of titanium dioxide and zinc oxide to the bisethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine is in the range of 1:1 to 20:1,” as well as requirements of claims 27 and 29-31 for:
27. ([…]) The sunscreen or daily care composition according claim 21,
wherein the weight ratio of the titanium dioxide to the zinc oxide is in the range of 4:1 to 1:3.
[…]
29. ([…]) The sunscreen or daily care composition according to claim 21, comprising titanium dioxide and zinc oxide in an amount of 1 to 35 wt.-%, based on the total amount of the sunscreen or daily care composition.
30. ([…]) The sunscreen or daily care composition according to claim 21, comprising
i) bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) in an amount of 1 to 10 wt.-%;
ii) titanium dioxide in an amount of 2 to 20 wt.-%; and
iii) zinc oxide in an amount of 1 to 20 wt.-%;
each based on the total weight of the sunscreen or daily care composition.
31. ([…]) The sunscreen or daily care composition according to claim 21, wherein the sunscreen or daily care composition comprises a total of 5 to 40 wt.-% of UV filters, based on the total weight of the sunscreen or daily care composition.
It is noted that:
Hüglin teaches cosmetic compositions containing 0.1 to 15 UV absorber by weight of the composition (Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63), wherein the UV absorber is “2,4-Bis{[4-(2-ethylhexyloxy)-2-hydroxy]phenyl}-6-(4-methoxyphenyl)-1,3,5-triazine” (Hüglin, col. 9, ln. 36 to col. 11, ln. 10, Ex. 1); and
Schlossman teaches that “[d]esirably, the total amount of metal oxide powders in the sunscreen products is less than about 50% or even less than about 25%” (Schlossman, par. [0059]), e.g., “a desirable proportion of the two-component zinc oxide material of the invention may comprise from about 0.1 percent to about 50 percent by weight of the end product.” (Schlossman, par. [0099]), and an exemplary formulation containing “6% TiO2” (Schlossman, par. [0133], Ex. 2).
Schlossman teaches suitable ratios of first metal oxide powder to second metal oxide powder:
[0056] In other embodiments, the ratio by weight of the first metal oxide powder to the second metal oxide powder is about 1:3 to about 3: 1, or about 1: 1.6 to about 1: 1.
(Schlossman, par. [0056]), whereby varying the relative proportion of larger particles in one component to smaller particles in the other can adjust and control the balance of “UVA- to DVB-protective properties”:
[0093] By varying the relative proportion of one zinc oxide component to the other, for example the ratio of, the balance of UVA- to DVB-protective properties can be adjusted or controlled. By appropriate selection of initial ingredient particle size, and control of aggregation and agglomeration, the wavelength or wavebands of peak efficacy can be more or less selected. These capabilities provide a formulator with a wide range of options to tailor their products to current and evolving market needs, which needs can be expected to vary as new scientific and other knowledge is acquired.
(Schlossman, par. [0056], wherein “balance of UVA- to DVB-protective properties” is interpreted as a balance of UVA- to UVB-protective properties), which relates to zinc oxide as well as titanium dioxide:
[0128] In accordance with preferred embodiment, for both powder and for liquid dispersions, and for zinc oxide as well as titanium dioxide, the preferred ratio of UV A blocking ingredient to UVB blocking ingredient is thus about 5 to 3, or 1.66 to 1. However, acceptable products may be achieved with ratios varying between 2: 1 and 1:2.
(Schlossman, par. [0128]). In this respect, it is further noted, “[w]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); and also MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A). In the instant case, varying the relative proportion of larger particles in one component to smaller particles in the other can adjust and control the balance of UVA- to UVB-protective properties (Schlossman, par. [0056]) is clearly a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to select suitable amounts of:
0.1 to 15 UV absorber by weight of the composition (Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63), wherein the UV absorber is “2,4-Bis{[4-(2-ethylhexyloxy)-2-hydroxy]phenyl}-6-(4-methoxyphenyl)-1,3,5-triazine” (Hüglin, col. 9, ln. 36 to col. 11, ln. 10, Ex. 1); and
A “total amount of metal oxide powders in the sunscreen products [that] is less than about 50% or even less than about 25%” (Schlossman, par. [0059], e.g., “a desirable proportion of the two-component zinc oxide material of the invention may comprise from about 0.1 percent to about 50 percent by weight of the end product.” (Schlossman, par. [0099]), and an exemplary formulation containing “6% TiO2” (Schlossman, par. [0133], Ex. 2));
in optimizing for a “preferred ratio of UV A blocking ingredient to UVB blocking ingredient [that] is thus about 5 to 3, or 1.66 to 1,” or “ratios varying between 2: 1 and 1:2” (Schlossman, par. [0128]), thus rendering the range and ratio requirement of claims 21, 27 and 29-31 obvious. See MPEP § 2144.05 (I) regarding the obviousness of prior art overlapping claimed numerical ranges.
Thus, the prior art renders claims 21, 27 and 29-31 obvious.
Regarding claims 22-23 and the requirements:
22. ([…]) The sunscreen or daily care composition according to claim 21,
wherein the titanium dioxide has a number-average elementary particle diameter of less than 1000 nm.
23. ([…]) The sunscreen or daily care composition according to claim 21,
wherein the zinc oxide has a number-average elementary particle diameter of less than 1000 nm.
Schlossman teaches a composition containing “[m]etal oxide powders [that] include, for example, zinc oxide and titanium dioxide,” wherein the “[s]unscreen products made in accordance with the principles of this disclosure contain metal oxide powders having primary particle sizes of about 10-30 nm and about 50-200 nm.” Schlossman, abstract. In this regard, it is noted that MPEP § 2144.05 (I), states, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d, 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).”
Thus, the prior art renders claims 22-23 obvious.
Regarding claims 24-25 and the requirements:
24. ([…]) The sunscreen or daily care composition according to claim 21, wherein the titanium dioxide is coated.
25. ([…]) The sunscreen or daily care composition according to claim 21,
wherein the zinc oxide is uncoated or coated.
Schlossman teaches that the metal oxide powders may be uncoated or coated:
[0060] The metal oxide powders may, individually, be uncoated, coated with another metal oxide coating ( e.g., alumina and/or silica), a hydrophobic surface treatment (e.g., a polysiloxane), or a hydrophilic surface treatment.
Schlossman, par. [0060].
Thus, the prior art renders claims 24-25 obvious.
Regarding claim 32-35, it is noted that the requirements:
32. ([…]) The sunscreen or daily care composition according to claim 21, providing a SPF of more than 15 or a SPF of more than 50 or a SPF of more than 90.
33. ([…]) The sunscreen or daily care composition according to claim 21, providing a higher SPF value than a comparison sunscreen or daily care composition comprising a different UV filter instead of bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine, wherein the comparison sunscreen or daily care composition comprises the different UV filter, the titanium dioxide, and the zinc oxide in equal amounts as the sunscreen or daily care composition according to claim 21.
34. ([…]) The sunscreen or daily care composition according to claim 21, providing a photostability of more than 85%.
35. ([…]) The sunscreen or daily care composition according to claim 21, providing a higher photostability than a comparison sunscreen or daily care composition comprising a different UV filter instead of bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine, wherein the comparison sunscreen or daily care composition comprises the different UV filter, the titanium dioxide, and the zinc oxide in equal amounts as the sunscreen or daily care composition according to claim 21.
appear to be functional limitations. In this regard, it is noted that the structure, material or act in the claim that is connected to (i.e., performs) the recited function is the combination of recited elements of claim 21, which achieve the resulting SPF and photostability effects. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation (see MPEP § 2111 with respect to broadest reasonable interpretation) of the functional language is: intended SPF and photostability effects of a composition that meets the structural requirements of claim 21. Because this functional language merely recites the intended result of the recited structural limitations, it imposes no patentable distinction on the claim (i.e., the functional language is not further limiting beyond the noted structural limitations). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a composition meeting the structural requirements of claim 21 will achieve the intended result of the functional limitations and fall within the boundaries of the claims. Further, Hüglin teaches “2,4-Bis{[4-(2-ethylhexyloxy)-2-hydroxy]phenyl}-6-(4-methoxyphenyl)-1,3,5-triazine” (Hüglin, col. 9, ln. 36 to col. 11, ln. 10, Ex. 1), i.e., “Compound of the formula (101)” as having a “high photostability and a good sunscreen factor [that] can be achieved even at low concentration” (Hüglin, col. 21, ln. 55 to col. 22, ln. 41, Ex. 11), while Schlossman teaches a sunscreen product that “provides an SPF of at least 30” (Schlossman, claim 10). Since Schlossman teaches varying the relative proportion of larger particles in one component to smaller particles in the other can adjust and control the balance of UVA- to UVB-protective properties (Schlossman, par. [0056]) as a result-effective variable, it reasonably follows that SPF and photostability are optimizable in order to meet the requirements of claims 32-35.
Thus, the prior art renders claims 32-35 obvious.
Regarding independent claim 36 and the requirements:
36. ([…]) Method of enhancing the photostability, and/or reducing the stickiness, and/or improving the water resistance, and/or reducing fabric staining before and/or after washing, and/or reducing the gloss, and/or reducing the formulation yellowing, and/or improving the film homogeneity, and/or improving the compatibility with the microbiome of a sunscreen or daily care composition comprising titanium dioxide and zinc oxide by applying bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine, wherein the sunscreen or daily care composition does not comprise a further, different UV filter.
it is noted that the requirements of claim 36 for “a sunscreen or daily care composition comprising titanium dioxide and zinc oxide” with “bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine, wherein the sunscreen or daily care composition does not comprise a further, different UV filter” is obvious for similar reasons, as discussed above for claim 21, thereby reasonably meeting the active step requirements of claim 36 for “applying,” whereby the effects of “enhancing the photostability, […], and/or improving the compatibility with the microbiome” naturally follow.
Thus, the prior art renders claim 36 obvious.
Regarding independent claim 40 and the requirements:
40. ([…]) A sunscreen of daily care composition comprising
i) bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) in an amount of 1 to 10 wt.-%; and
ii) zinc oxide in an amount of 2 to 30 wt.-%,
each based on the total weight of the sunscreen or daily care composition;
wherein the sunscreen of daily care composition is free of a further, additional UV filter.
Hüglin clearly teaches cosmetic compositions containing 0.1 to 15 UV absorber by weight of the composition (Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63), wherein the UV absorber is “2,4-Bis{[4-(2-ethylhexyloxy)-2-hydroxy]phenyl}-6-(4-methoxyphenyl)-1,3,5-triazine” (Hüglin, col. 9, ln. 36 to col. 11, ln. 10, Ex. 1), WHEREBY it is noted:
“2,4-Bis{[4-(2-ethylhexyloxy)-2-hydroxy]phenyl}-6-(4-methoxyphenyl)-1,3,5-triazine” (Hüglin, col. 9, ln. 36 to col. 11, ln. 10, Ex. 1) is “i) bis-ethylhexyl methoxyphenyloxyphenol triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine)” of claim 40; and
although Hüglin teaches that “[b]esides the UV absorbers according to the invention, the cosmetic compositions can additionally contain one or more further UV-protective substances, e.g. triazines, oxanilides, triazoles or amides containing vinyl groups or cinnamides” (Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63), these “one or more further UV-protective substances” appear to be optional components, thereby relating to the requirement of claim 40 for “wherein the sunscreen of daily care composition is free of a further, additional UV filter” since “one or more further UV-protective substances” in addition to Hüglin’s “UV absorbers according to the invention” (Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63) are not required by Hüglin.
However, Hüglin DOES NOT TEACH “ii) zinc oxide” as required by claim 40 since the incorporation thereof is well within the purview of the ordinarily skilled artisan.
Schlossman clearly teaches a zinc oxide formulation (“Blend 1”) (Schlossman, par. [0127], Ex. 2), WHEREBY it is noted:
a “zinc oxide dispersion” (Schlossman, par. [0127], Ex. 2) is “ii) zinc oxide” of claim 40;
wherein no further component s are present in Schlossman’s zinc oxide with titanium dioxide sunscreen formulation (“Blend 2”) (Schlossman, par. [0133], Ex. 2), thereby meeting the requirement of claim 40 for “wherein the sunscreen of daily care composition is free of a further, additional UV filter.”
However, Schlossman DOES NOT TEACH “i) bis-ethylhexyl methoxyphenyloxyphenol triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine)” as required by claim 40 since the incorporation thereof is well within the purview of the ordinarily skilled artisan.
In light of these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hüglin’s cosmetic composition (Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63) containing “2,4-Bis{[4-(2-ethylhexyloxy)-2-hydroxy]phenyl}-6-(4-methoxyphenyl)-1,3,5-triazine” (Hüglin, col. 9, ln. 36 to col. 11, ln. 10, Ex. 1) with Schlossman’s a zinc oxide formulation (“Blend 1”) (Schlossman, par. [0127], Ex. 2). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to so because “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” (MPEP § 2144.06). In re Susi, 58 CCPA 1074, 1079-80, 440 F.2d 442, 445, 169 USPQ 423, 426 (1971); In re Crockett, 47 CCPA 1018, 1020-21, 279 F.2d 274, 276-77, 126 USPQ 186, 188 (1960). As the court explained in Crockett, the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in prior art. Therefore, since the references teach that the compositions of Hüglin as well as Schlossman, are as sunscreens (Hüglin, title & abstract; Schlossman, title & abstract), it would have been obvious to combine the two compounds with the expectation that such a combination would be effective as sunscreen compositions. Thus, combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in prior art. Further, it would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to select suitable amounts of:
0.1 to 15 UV absorber by weight of the composition (Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63), wherein the UV absorber is “2,4-Bis{[4-(2-ethylhexyloxy)-2-hydroxy]phenyl}-6-(4-methoxyphenyl)-1,3,5-triazine” (Hüglin, col. 9, ln. 36 to col. 11, ln. 10, Ex. 1); and
A “total amount of metal oxide powders in the sunscreen products [that] is less than about 50% or even less than about 25%” (Schlossman, par. [0059], e.g., “a desirable proportion of the two-component zinc oxide material of the invention may comprise from about 0.1 percent to about 50 percent by weight of the end product.” (Schlossman, par. [0099]), and an exemplary formulation containing “6% TiO2” (Schlossman, par. [0133], Ex. 2)).
See MPEP § 2144.05 (I) regarding the obviousness of prior art overlapping claimed numerical ranges.
Thus, the prior art renders claim 40 obvious.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over HUGLIN (US 5,955,060, Issued Sep. 21, 1999; hereinafter, “Hüglin”) and SCHLOSSMAN (US 2016/0271027 A1, Publ. Sep. 22, 2016; hereinafter, “Schlossman”), as applied to claims 21-27, 29-36 and 40, above, and further in view of MULLER (US 2010/0008873 A1, Publ. Jan. 14, 2010; hereinafter, “Müller”).
The teachings of Hüglin and Schlossman, as set forth above, are hereby incorporated. However, the references DO NOT TEACH the requirements of claim 28 for:
28. ([…]) The sunscreen or daily care composition according to claim 21,
wherein the sunscreen or daily care composition comprises at least one compound selected from the group consisting of benzotriazolyl dodecyl p-cresol, ethylhexyl methoxycrylene, polyester-8, diethylhexyl syringylidenemalonate, trimethoxybenzylidene pentanedione, diethylhexyl 2,6-naphthalate, a fused ring cyanoacrylate derivative, polyester-25, and combinations thereof.
since the incorporation of a phostostabilizer is well within the purview of the ordinarily skilled artisan.
Müller, for instance, is directed to:
USE OF BENZOTRIAZOLE DERIVATIVES
ABSTRACT
Use of benzotriazole derivatives of formula (1), wherein R1 is C1-C30alkyl; C1C5alkoxy; C1-C5alkoxycarbonyl; C5-C7cycloalkyl; C6-C10aryl; aralkyl; —SO3M; a radical of formula (1a) R3 is hydrogen; C1C5alkyl; C1C5alkoxy; halogen, preferably Cl; or hydroxy; R4 and R5 are each independently of the other hydrogen; or d-C5alkyl; m is 1 or 2; n is O or 1; if m=1, R2 is hydrogen; unsubstituted or phenyl-substituted d-C1-C12alkyl; or C6-C10aryl; if m=2, R2 is the direct bond; or —(CH2)p—; and p is 1 to 3; for enhancing the photostability of cosmetic or dermatologic compositions comprising at least one further organic UV absorber.
(Müller, title & abstract), inter alia, “Benzotriazolyl Dodecyl p-Cresol” (Müller, p. 20, table), which is “benzotriazolyl dodecyl p cresol” of claim 28.
In light of these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to formulate the combined composition of Hüglin and Schlossman (as discussed above) with , “Benzotriazolyl Dodecyl p-Cresol” per Müller (Müller, p. 20, table). One would have been motivated to do so in order to incorporate the advantage of “benzotriazole derivatives of formula (1)” for “enhancing the photostability of cosmetic or dermatologic compositions comprising at least one further organic UV absorber” (Müller, abstract).
Thus, the prior art renders claim 28 obvious.
Claims 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over HUGLIN (US 5,955,060, Issued Sep. 21, 1999; hereinafter, “Hüglin”) and ELSOM (WO 90/11067, Publ. Oct. 4, 1990; hereinafter, “Elsom”).
The teachings of Hüglin, as set forth above, are hereby incorporated.
Regarding independent claim 37, and the requirements:
37. ([…]) A sunscreen of daily care composition comprising (i) bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) in an amount of 1 to 10 wt.-%; and
(ii) titanium dioxide in an amount of 2 to 30 wt.-%,
each based on the total weight of the sunscreen or daily care composition;
wherein the sunscreen of daily care composition is free of a further, additional UV filter.
Hüglin clearly teaches cosmetic compositions containing 0.1 to 15 UV absorber by weight of the composition (Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63), wherein the UV absorber is “2,4-Bis{[4-(2-ethylhexyloxy)-2-hydroxy]phenyl}-6-(4-methoxyphenyl)-1,3,5-triazine” (Hüglin, col. 9, ln. 36 to col. 11, ln. 10, Ex. 1), WHEREBY it is noted:
“2,4-Bis{[4-(2-ethylhexyloxy)-2-hydroxy]phenyl}-6-(4-methoxyphenyl)-1,3,5-triazine” (Hüglin, col. 9, ln. 36 to col. 11, ln. 10, Ex. 1) is “i) bis-ethylhexyl methoxyphenyloxyphenol triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine)” of claim 37; and
although Hüglin teaches that “[b]esides the UV absorbers according to the invention, the cosmetic compositions can additionally contain one or more further UV-protective substances, e.g. triazines, oxanilides, triazoles or amides containing vinyl groups or cinnamides” (Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63), these “one or more further UV-protective substances” appear to be optional components, thereby meeting the requirement of claim 37 for “wherein the sunscreen of daily care composition is free of a further, additional UV filter” since further UV-protective substances in addition to Hüglin’s “UV absorbers according to the invention” (Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63) are not required by Hüglin.
However, Hüglin DOES NOT TEACH “ii) titanium dioxide” as required by claim 37 since the incorporation thereof is well within the purview of the ordinarily skilled artisan.
Elsom, for instance, is directed to:
Title: SUNSCREEN COMPOSITIONS
Abstract
Sunscreen compositions which comprise a blend of different particle sizes of titanium dioxide are described. The compositions are substantially transparent on the skin but have a ratio of ultraviolet A to ultraviolet B absorption at 370 and 310 nm in the range of 0.25 to 0.6. Preferred compositions comprise 10 to 70 % of titanium dioxide having a mean primary particle size of about 15 nm and at least one further grade of titanium dioxide having a mean primary particle size of between about 30 nm and about 50 nm.
Elsom, title & abstract. In this regard, Elsom discloses claim embodiments drawn to a sunscreen composition which comprises a blend of microfine titanium dioxide particles in combination with a cosmetically acceptable diluent or carrier:
1. A sunscreen composition which comprises a blend of microfine titanium dioxide particles in combination with a cosmetically acceptable diluent or carrier, said composition being characterised in that, in use, it is substantially transparent on the skin and in that the ratio of UVA to UVB absorption when measured at 370 and 31 nm is in the range of 0.25 to 0.6.
2. A sunscreen composition as claimed in claim 1 wherein the microfine titanium dioxide comprises a blend of different particle sizes between 1 and 100 nm.
3. A sunscreen composition as claimed in claim 1 wherein the blend of titanium dioxide comprises 10 to 70% titanium dioxide having a mean primary particle size of about 15 nm and 30 to 90% of at least one further grade of titanium dioxide having a mean primary particle size of between about 30 nm and about 50 nm.
[…]
5. A sunscreen composition as claimed in any one of the preceding claims wherein the total amount of titanium dioxide is 0.5 to 30%.
Elsom, claims 1-3 and 5.
Regarding independent claim 37, Elsom clearly teaches a sunscreen composition which comprises a blend of microfine titanium dioxide particles in combination with a cosmetically acceptable diluent or carrier (Elsom, claims 1-3), WHEREBY it is noted:
a “blend of microfine titanium dioxide particles” (Elsom, claim 1) is “ii) titanium dioxide” of claim 37; and
wherein no further components in addition to a “blend of microfine titanium dioxide particles” (Elsom, claims 1-3), thereby meeting the requirement of claim 37 for “wherein the sunscreen of daily care composition is free of a further, additional UV filter.”
However, Elsom DOES NOT TEACH “i) bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine)” as required by claim 37 since the incorporation thereof is well within the purview of the ordinarily skilled artisan.
In light of these teachings, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hüglin’s cosmetic composition (Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63) containing “2,4-Bis{[4-(2-ethylhexyloxy)-2-hydroxy]phenyl}-6-(4-methoxyphenyl)-1,3,5-triazine” (Hüglin, col. 9, ln. 36 to col. 11, ln. 10, Ex. 1) with Elsom’s “sunscreen composition which comprises a blend of microfine titanium dioxide particles in combination with a cosmetically acceptable diluent or carrier” (Elsom, claims 1-3). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have been motivated to so because “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” (MPEP § 2144.06). In re Susi, 58 CCPA 1074, 1079-80, 440 F.2d 442, 445, 169 USPQ 423, 426 (1971); In re Crockett, 47 CCPA 1018, 1020-21, 279 F.2d 274, 276-77, 126 USPQ 186, 188 (1960). As the court explained in Crockett, the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in prior art. Therefore, since the references teach that the compositions of Hüglin as well as Elsom, are as sunscreens (Hüglin, title & abstract; Elsom, title & abstract), it would have been obvious to combine the two compounds with the expectation that such a combination would be effective as sunscreen compositions. Thus, combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in prior art.
Regarding the range requirements of claim 37 as well as the requirements of claim 38 for:
38. ([…]) The sunscreen or daily care composition according to claim 37, comprising
i) bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine) in an amount of 1 to 10 wt.-%; and
ii) titanium dioxide in an amount of 2 to 30 wt.-%;
each based on the total weight of the sunscreen or daily care composition.
It is noted that:
Hüglin teaches cosmetic compositions containing 0.1 to 15 UV absorber by weight of the composition (Hüglin, col. 8, ln. 52-63), wherein the UV absorber is “2,4-Bis{[4-(2-ethylhexyloxy)-2-hydroxy]phenyl}-6-(4-methoxyphenyl)-1,3,5-triazine” (Hüglin, col. 9, ln. 36 to col. 11, ln. 10, Ex. 1); and
Elsom teaches “[a] sunscreen composition as claimed in any one of the preceding claims wherein the total amount of titanium dioxide is 0.5 to 30%” (claim 5).
See MPEP § 2144.05 (I) regarding the obviousness of prior art overlapping claimed numerical ranges.
Thus, the prior art renders claims 37- 38 obvious.
Regarding independent claim 39 and the requirements:
39. ([…]) Method of enhancing the photostability, and/or reducing the stickiness, and/or improving the water resistance, and/or improving the film homogeneity, and/or reducing fabric staining before and/or after washing, and/or reducing the gloss, and/or reducing the formulation yellowing, and/or improving the compatibility with the microbiome of a sunscreen or daily care composition comprising titanium dioxide by applying bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine, wherein the sunscreen or daily care composition does not comprise a further, different UV filter.
it is noted that the requirements of claim 39 for “a sunscreen or daily care composition comprising titanium dioxide” with “bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine, wherein the sunscreen or daily care composition does not comprise a further, different UV filter” is obvious for similar reasons, as discussed above for claim 37, thereby reasonably meeting the active step requirements of claim 39 for “applying,” whereby the effects of “enhancing the photostability, […], and/or improving the compatibility with the microbiome” naturally follow.
Thus, the prior art renders claim 39 obvious.
Claim Rejections - Nonstatutory Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 21-25 and 27-40 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 18/525,934 (‘934 Application). This is a provisional double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because the instant claims as well as the copending claims are drawn to a sunscreen composition containing bis-ethylhexyl methoxyphenyloxyphenol triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine), titanium dioxide, and zinc oxide.
Thus, the ‘934 Application anticipates claims 1-24.
Claims 21-25 and 27-40 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 24-46 of copending Application No. 18/689,457 (‘457 Application). This is a provisional double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because the instant claims as well as the copending claims are drawn to a sunscreen composition containing bis-ethylhexyl methoxyphenyloxyphenol triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine), titanium dioxide, and zinc oxide.
Thus, the ‘457 Application anticipates claims 1-24.
Claims 21-25 and 27-40 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-19 of copending Application No. 18/797,592 (‘592 Application), in view of the disclosures of HUGLIN (US 5,955,060, Issued Sep. 21, 1999; hereinafter, “Hüglin”) and SCHLOSSMAN (US 2016/0271027 A1, Publ. Sep. 22, 2016; hereinafter, “Schlossman”). This is a provisional double patenting rejection since the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct because the instant claims as well as the copending claims are drawn to a sunscreen composition containing bis-ethylhexyl methoxyphenyloxyphenol triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine), titanium dioxide, and zinc oxide. However, to the extent that ‘592 DOES NOT RECITE the particular amounts, ratios and forms of bis-ethylhexyl methoxyphenyloxyphenol triazine (INCI bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine), titanium dioxide, and zinc oxide, the formulation thereof would be obvious per the disclosures of Hüglin and Schlossman, as discussed above.
Thus, the ‘592 Application per Hüglin and Schlossman render claims 21-25 and 27-40 obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, filed on November 26, 2025 (hereinafter, referred to as “Remarks”), have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. With regard to applicant’s arguments pertaining to unexpected results (Remarks, p. 8), the instant claims are not commensurate in scope with the alleged unexpected results. According to MPEP § 716.02, whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the “objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support.” In this regard, the independent claims should be amended to recite an SPF range commensurate with the noted results in the instant specification.
Conclusion
Claims 21-25 and 27-40 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/DOMINIC LAZARO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611