DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-14, 17-21, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verykios (EP-2812278-B1), and further in view of Giaconia (“A new generation of renewable powered reforming processes,” 2021) and further in view of Hsu (“US 2006/0207178 Al”).
With respect to claim 1, the claim requires “A method of reforming a hydrocarbon to produce hydrogen, methanol or other synthesis chemicals” Verykios teaches a reformer which produces a hydrogen rich stream by the process known as steam reforming of hydrogen containing compounds, such as hydrocarbons (Verykios [0015]).
Claim 1 further requires “the process comprising: heating a flow of a heat transfer medium by using thermal energy derived from one or more renewable energy sources to produce a flow of a superheated heat transfer medium at a threshold temperature >T1.” In the instant application, T1 is considered 1200 °C (Faka, [0102]). Verykios teaches temperatures of 1200 °C and below (Verykios [0030]). Verykios does not explicitly teach heating a flow of a heat transfer medium by using thermal energy derived from one or more renewable energy sources. However, Hsu teaches electricity derived from a renewable resource energy source can be used for heating (Hsu 2, [0026]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Verykios, using thermal energy derived from one or more renewable energy sources for heating as Hsu teaches increased efficiency (Hsu 2, [0026]).
Claim 1 requires “using the flow of the superheated transfer medium to heat in parallel;” Verykios teaches multiple passages which the mixture can follow to facilitate efficient heat transfer (Verykios 4, [0015]). Claim 1 further requires “a reactant feed stream including the hydrocarbon to produce a superheated reactant feed stream” Verykios teaches a hydrocarbon feed to the reformer (Verykios [0047]).
Claim 1 further requires “a catalyst and the superheated feed stream when in a reformer reactor to produce syngas; (Verykios, [0047]).” Verykios teaches a feed stream and heat integrated reformer wherein syngas is made (Verykios 9, [0047-0048]).
Claim 1 further requires “a heat storage medium” Verykios does not explicitly teach a heat storage medium. However, Giaconia teaches a thermal energy storage (Giaconia 84, Thermal energy storage).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Verykios, a thermal energy storage as Giaconia teaches this as a solution to operations requiring daily startup and shutdown (Giaconia 84, Thermal energy storage).
Regarding claim 2, Verykios teaches heat recovery equipment to recover heat to preheat the feed and raise steam (Verykios 9, [0046]).
Regarding claim 3, Verykios teaches application the heat integrated reformer
can be used to produce hydrogen for fuel cells for the production of electricity (Verykios 9, [0048]).
Regarding claim 4 and 6, the claims require “combining respective streams of the heat transfer medium used to produce the superheated reactant feed stream and the syngas to drive a turbine to produce the electrical energy.” Verykios does not explicitly teach heat transfer medium used to produce the superheated reactant feed stream and the syngas to drive a turbine to produce the electrical energy. However, Hsu teaches renewable energy converter, such as a windmill (Hsu 2, [0021]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method Verykios, a superheated reactant feed stream and the syngas to drive a turbine to produce the electrical energy as Hsu teaches additional environmental
Benefits (Hsu 2, [0021]).
Regarding claim 5, Verykios teaches after the reforming the natural gas can be used to produce hydrogen for fuel cells for the production of electricity (Verykios 9, [0048]).
Regarding Claim 11, the method of claim 1 has been discussed above.
Claim 11 further requires “using solar radiation produced by the sun as the source of renewable energy and concentrating the solar radiation to heat a heat transfer medium to produce the superheated heat transfer medium.” Verykios does not explicitly teach using solar radiation produced by the sun as the source of renewable energy and concentrating the solar radiation to heat a heat transfer medium. However, Giaconia teaches solar technology that make use of a molten salts mixture as heat transfer fluid (HTF) (Giaconia 84, Thermal energy storage).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Verykios, use solar radiation to heat a heat transfer fluid as Giaconia teaches positive features including low cost, high heat transfer/storage capacity and minor environmental and safety issues (Giaconia 84, positive features).
Claim 11 further requires using solar radiation produced by the sun as the source of renewable energy, converting the solar radiation to electrical energy using one or more photovoltaic cells, and converting the electrical energy to thermal energy to heat the heat transfer medium steam using wind as the source of renewable energy, converting the wind to electrical energy using one or more wind turbines, and using the electrical energy to heat the heat transfer medium; and using geothermal heat as the source of renewable energy, converting the geothermal heat into electrical energy, and using the electrical energy to heat the heat transfer medium steam.” Verykios does not explicitly teach utilizing renewable energy of any kind. However, Hsu teaches A renewable energy converter, such as a windmill, photovoltaic cell or other source known in the art, is used to convert a renewable source, such as wind, solar energy, a geothermal resource (Hsu 2, [0021]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method Verykios, as Hsu teaches the product is produced with little or no emission produced as a byproduct (Hsu 2, [0021]).
Regarding claim 12, claim 1 has been discussed above.
The claim further requires ” using a combination of any two or more of: a) a concentrated solar thermal heater; b) one or more photovoltaic cells; c) one or more wind turbines; d) a geothermal heat source; e) a wave powered generator to heat directly or indirectly the heat transfer medium.” Verykios does not explicitly teach this combination. However, Hsu teaches A renewable energy converter, such as a windmill, photovoltaic cell or other source known in the art, is used to convert a renewable source, such as wind, solar energy, a geothermal resource (Hsu 2, [0021]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method Verykios, as Hsu teaches the product is produced with little or no emission produced as a byproduct (Hsu 2, [0021]).
Regarding claims 13-14 and 20-21, Verykios teaches processing of a hydrocarbon feed containing natural gas, which contains methane, carbon dioxide, and traces amount of water (Verykios 9, [0047]).
Regarding claims 17 and 24, Verykios teaches production of hydrogen (Verykios, abstract).
With respect to claim 18, the claim requires “A method of processing methane to produce a target product” Verykios teaches processing of a hydrocarbon feed containing natural gas, which contains methane (Verykios 9, [0047]).
claim 18 further requires “harnessing energy from a renewable energy source to produce a superheated heat transfer medium; when the superheated heat transfer medium is at a threshold temperature T1;” Verykios teaches temperatures of 1200 C (T1) and below (Verykios [0030]). Verykios does not explicitly teach harnessing energy from a renewable energy source to produce a superheated heat transfer medium. However, Hsu teaches that a renewable energy converter, such as a windmill, photovoltaic cell or other source known in the art, is used to convert a renewable source, such as wind, solar energy, a geothermal resource, biomass, waste, wave energy and hydro energy. (Hsu 2, [0021]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Verykios, harnessed energy from a renewable energy source as Hsu teaches that this significantly reduces the overall cost and produced little or no emission produced as a byproduct (Hsu 2, [0021]).
claim 18 further requires “a) super heating a reactant stream which includes the methane using a first stream of the superheated heat transfer medium;“ Verykios teaches the hydrocarbon feed to the reformer is typically natural gas which contains methane (Verykios 9, [0047]).
claim 18 further requires “b) heating the superheated reactant stream and a catalyst when both are in a reactor using a second stream of the superheated heat transfer medium; c) transferring heat to a heat storage medium using a third stream of the superheated heat transfer medium; and when the superheated heat transfer medium is below the threshold temperature d) using heat from the thermal energy storage medium to produce a feed stream of superheated transfer medium a temperature >T1; using the superheated heat transfer medium produced by heat transfer from the heat storage medium to superheat the reactant stream, and heat the superheated reactant stream and the catalyst when in the reactor.“ Verykios teaches temperatures of 1200 °C and below. Verykios does not explicitly teach steps b-d. However Wilcox, teaches “(a) Superheating a heat transfer fluid; (b) transferring heat from the superheated heat transfer fluid to the process stream; (c) dividing at least some of the heat transfer fluid into a first portion and a second portion; (d) pressurizing the first portion of heat transfer fluid; (e) recycling the pressurized first portion of heat transfer fluid to Superheating step (a); and, (f) introducing the second portion of the heat transfer fluid into the process stream and some of the spent heat transfer fluid stream may be drawn off and recycled (Wilcox 2, [0008]- [0019]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Verykios, steps b-d as claimed as Wilcox teaches this can avoid the need for specialized metallurgy for the steam Superheater furnace and transfer lines (Wilcox 1, [0011]).
Regarding claim 19, the method of claim 18 has been discussed above.
Claim 19 further requires “wherein harnessing energy from a renewable energy source comprises harnessing energy using any one, or a combination of any two or more of: a) concentrated solar thermal heater; b) one or more photovoltaic cells; c) one or more wind turbines; d) a geothermal heat source; e) a wave powered generator to heat directly or indirectly the heat transfer medium to produce the superheated heat transfer medium.” Verykios does not explicitly teach harnessing energy from a renewable energy source. However, Hsu teaches that a renewable energy converter, such as a windmill, photovoltaic cell or other source known in the art, is used to convert a renewable source, such as wind, solar energy, a geothermal resource, biomass, waste, wave energy and hydro energy.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Verykios, harnessed energy from a renewable energy source as Hsu teaches that this significantly reduces the overall cost and produced little or no emission produced as a byproduct (Hsu 2, [0022]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verykios (EP 2812278 B1), and further in view of Giaconia (“A new generation of renewable powered reforming processes,” 2021) and further in view of Hsu (“US 2006/0207178 Al”) as applied to claims 1-6, 11-14, 17-21, and 24 above, and further in view of Too (US 20220299270 A1)
With respect to Claim 7, the method of claim 1 has been discussed above.
The claim further requires “flowing a stream of the superheated heat transfer medium and the reactant through the reactor in mutually counter current directions.” Verykios does not explicitly teach stream of the superheated heat transfer medium and the reactant through the reactor in mutually counter current directions. However, Too teaches reaction involving solid catalyst and reactant/product gas with the heat transfer fluid flows in a counter-current direction to the flow of heat transfer particles (Too, [0032],[0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Verykios, superheated heat transfer medium and the reactant through the reactor in mutually counter current directions as Too teaches this a suitable direction relative to the flow of heat transfer particles (Too, [0040]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verykios (EP 2812278 B1), and further in view of Giaconia (“A new generation of renewable powered reforming processes,” 2021) and further in view of Hsu (“US 2006/0207178 Al”) as applied to claims 1-7, 11-14, 17-21, and 24, and further in view of Caciula (US 20150073184 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, the method of claim 1 has been discussed above.
Claim 8 further requires “comprising monitoring for the temperature of the superheated heat transfer medium to fall below the threshold temperature T1 and in response transferring heat from the heat storage medium to elevate the temperature of the superheated heat transfer medium to or above the threshold temperature T1,” Verykios teaches temperatures of 1200 C and below (Verykios [0030]). Verykios does not explicitly teach monitoring for the temperature. However, Caciula teaches monitoring the temperature throughout the bed and increasing the inlet temperature in response to a drop in the temperature (Caciula, abstract)
Claim 8 further requires “transferring heat from the superheated heat transfer medium at temperature T1 in parallel. Verykios teaches temperatures of 1200 C and below (Verykios [0030]). Verykios teaches multiple passages which the mixture can follow to facilitate efficient heat transfer (Verykios 4, [0015]).
Claim 8 further requires “(a) reactant feed stream to produce a superheated reactant feed stream; (b) the catalyst and the superheated feed stream when in a reactor to produce syngas.” Verykios teaches a feed stream and heat integrated reformer wherein syngas is required (Verykios 9, [0047-0048]).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verykios (EP 2812278 B1), and further in view of Giaconia (“A new generation of renewable powered reforming processes,” 2021) and further in view of Hsu (“US 2006/0207178 Al”) as applied to claims 1-8, 11-14, 17-21, and 24, and further in view of Theodorus (NL 1041201 B1).
With respect to claims 9-10, the method of claim 8 has been discussed above.
The claims further require “transferring heat from the heat storage medium to elevate the temperature of the superheated heat transfer medium in addition to concurrently heating the heat transfer medium by the renewable energy source; and transferring heat from the heat storage medium to elevate the temperature of the superheated heat transfer medium in exclusion to heating the heat transfer medium by the renewable energy source.” Verykios does not explicitly teach this process. However, Theodorus teaches a renewable energy source which is solar energy renewable energy source is solar energy and transferring heat from the heat storage medium to a reformer circuit.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Verykios, as Theodorus teaches improved efficiency and environmentally friendly (Theodorus, Disclosure of Invention: environmentally friendly).
Claim(s) 15-16 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verykios (EP 2812278 B1), and further in view of Giaconia (“A new generation of renewable powered reforming processes,” 2021) and further in view of Hsu (“US 2006/0207178 Al”) as applied to claims 1-8, 11-14, 17-21, and 24 above, and further in view of Bandhauer (US 20150345480 A1).
With respect to claims 15 and 22, the method of claims 1 and 18 has been discussed above.
The claim requires “wherein the heat storage medium comprises a particulate solid material.” Verykios does not explicitly teach a heat storage medium comprising a particulate solid material. However, Bandhauer teaches fluidized bed of solid particles (Bandhauer 3, claims 5, 21).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Verykios, have a heat storage medium comprising a particulate solid material as Bandhauer teaches they are inexpensive solid particles to collect
concentrated solar thermal energy (Bandhauer 3, [0056]).
Regarding claims 16 and 23, the method of claim 15 as discussed above.
The claim requires “wherein the particulate solid material is sintered bauxite.” Verykios does not explicitly teach wherein the particulate solid material is sintered bauxite. However Bandhauer teaches sintered bauxite (Bandhauer 3, [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have, by the method of Verykios, have a heat storage medium comprising a particulate solid material specified as sintered bauxite as Bandhauer teaches they are for reducing heat loss and high thermal absorption (Bandhauer 3, [0056]).
Conclusion
/STARFARI TESHAWN MCCLAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/DANIEL C. MCCRACKEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736