DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/07/2026 has been entered and accepted. The amendment with regard to the 112b rejection has been accepted and the rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 10, and 17 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, distinct new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Signorelli (US 20150287961 A1) as well as Patry (US 20230173576 A1) in view of Baldwin (US 20140327274 A1). A full rejection can be found below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “the insert is retained in the recess only by the retainer” is vague and indefinite. Figure 2 of the applicant’s drawings indicate that the insert is being retained in the recess not only by the retained by also by the first component. The applicant claim limitation appears to indicate that the first component provides no mechanical support to the insert to remain inside the recess despite appearing to the be primary means by which the insert is supported in the recess. One of ordinary skill in the art would thus be unclear by what metric the applicant is intending when disclosing that the insert is retained in the recess only by the retainer. For purposes of examination, the interpretation of “the insert is retained in the recess by the retainer” will be used.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Signorelli (US 20150287961 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Signorelli (US 20150287961 A1) teaches a cast assembly comprising:
a base component of a first material (Figure 6 Paragraph 53, blank 40 for the cap 24; Paragraph 53, blank includes a multi-layer material made of aluminum), the base component comprising a recess (Paragraph 57, perforation of the blank 40 wherein insert 50 is installed);
an insert (insert 50) of a second material different than the first material (Paragraph 61, first layer 41 of the blank is made of aluminum; Paragraph 60, sleeve 51 of the insert 50 is made of stainless steel), the insert being arranged in the recess (Paragraph 57, insert 50 is installed in a perforation of the blank 40); and
a retainer securing the insert in the recess by covering a portion of a top surface of the insert (Figures 7 and 8C, body 20 secures the insert in the perforation by covering one surface of the insert, namely the surface facing the interior of the battery; Figure 6, surface which is covered by the body 20 is the upper surface direction of the Figure 6);
wherein the retainer is joined to the base component by a solid-state weld or by solid-state additive manufacturing (Paragraph 55, welding of the cap 24 to the body 20; Paragraph 81, welding used can be a plurality of techniques including resistance welding).
Regarding claim 5, Signorelli teaches the cast assembly according to claim 1, wherein
the first material is cast aluminum (Paragraph 49, aluminum which includes any type of aluminum; Paragraph 53, first layer of the blank 40 for the cap is made of aluminum) or cast aluminum alloy.
Regarding claim 6, Signorelli teaches the cast assembly according to claim 1, wherein
the second material is steel (Paragraph 60, sleeve 51 is made of steel).
Regarding claim 7, Signorelli teaches the cast assembly according to claim 1, wherein
the base component includes a through hole aligned directly under the recess (Figure 6, area above the insert includes a through hole of the blank of which the first layer 41 and second layer 42 surround)
Regarding claim 8, Signorelli teaches the cast assembly according to claim 7, wherein
the insert blocks the through hole (Figure 6, insert blocks the perforation portion of the through hole).
Regarding claim 9, Signorelli teaches the cast assembly according to claim 1, wherein
the recess is a blind hole (Figures 7-8C, the recess is a blind hole which is covered by rolled storage cell 21 and the body 20 when the body 20 is welded to the cap 24).
Regarding claim 10, Signorelli (US 20150287961 A1) teaches multi-component structure comprising:
a first component of a first material (Figure 6 Paragraph 53, blank 40 for the cap 24; Paragraph 53, blank includes a multi-layer material made of aluminum), the first component comprising a recess (Paragraph 57, perforation of the blank 40 wherein insert 50 is installed);
an insert of a second material different than the first material (Paragraph 57, perforation of the blank 40 wherein insert 50 is installed), the insert being arranged in the recess (Paragraph 57, perforation of the blank 40 wherein insert 50 is installed);
a retainer securing the insert in the recess by covering a portion of a top surface of the insert (Figures 7 and 8C, body 20 secures the insert in the perforation by covering one surface of the insert, namely the surface facing the interior of the battery), wherein the retainer is joined to the first component by a solid-state weld or by solid-state additive manufacturing (Paragraph 55, welding of the cap 24 to the body 20; Paragraph 81, welding used can be a plurality of techniques including resistance welding); and
a second component (terminal 8) attached to the insert by a mechanical connection (Paragraph 84, terminal 8 is welded to contact 18).
Regarding claim 11, Signorelli teaches the multi-component structure according to claim 10, wherein:
the first material is cast aluminum or cast aluminum alloy (Paragraph 49, aluminum which includes any type of aluminum; Paragraph 53, first layer of the blank 40 for the cap is made of aluminum);
the second material is steel (Paragraph 60, sleeve 51 is made of steel); and
the second component includes a third material that is steel (Paragraph 84, internal components including terminal 8 includes steel).
Regarding claim 13, Signorelli teaches the multi-component structure according to claim 11, wherein:
the second component is not directly attached to the first component (Figure 7 Paragraph 84, terminal 8 is joined to the contact 18 not the blank 40).
Regarding claim 17, Signorelli (US 20150287961 A1) teaches a method of making a multi-component structure (Figure 7) comprising:
providing of a first component (Figure 6 Paragraph 53, blank 40 for the cap 24) and an insert (Figure 5 insert 50), the first component being a first material (Paragraph 53, blank includes a multi-layer material made of aluminum), the insert being a second material different from the first material (Paragraph 60, sleeve 51 of the insert 50 is made of stainless steel);
arranging the insert in a recess in the first component (Paragraph 57, perforation of the blank 40 wherein insert 50 is installed); and
retaining the insert in the recess by arranging a retainer over the recess and over the insert (Figures 7 and 8C, body 20 secures the insert in the perforation by covering one surface of the insert, namely the surface facing the interior of the battery);
wherein the retainer is joined to the first component by solid-state welding or by solid-state additive manufacturing (Paragraph 55, welding of the cap 24 to the body 20; Paragraph 81, welding used can be a plurality of techniques including resistance welding).
Regarding claim 18, Signorelli teaches the method according to claim 17, wherein:
the insert is retained in the recess only by the retainer (see 112b rejection above; Figures 7 and 8C, body 20 secures the insert in the perforation by covering one surface of the insert, namely the surface facing the interior of the battery);
the first material is cast aluminum or cast aluminum alloy (Paragraph 49, aluminum which includes any type of aluminum; Paragraph 53, first layer of the blank 40 for the cap is made of aluminum);
the second material is steel (Paragraph 60, sleeve 51 is made of steel); and
the retainer includes steel (Paragraph 85, body 20 of stainless steel).
Regarding claim 19, Signorelli teaches the method according to claim 17, further comprising:
providing a second component of a third material that is different from the first material (Paragraph 84, internal components including terminal 8 includes steel); and
joining the second component to the insert with a mechanical connection (Paragraph 84, terminal 8 is welded to contact 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9-11, 13, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patry (US 20230173576 A1) in view of Baldwin (US 20140327274 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Patry (US 20230173576 A1) teaches a cast assembly (cast body 200) comprising:
a base component of a first material (Figure 2A Paragraph 27, cast body 200 made of aluminum alloy), the base component comprising a recess (Paragraph 28, cast body 200 includes an internal cavity 208);
wherein features are joined to the base component by a solid-state weld or by solid-state additive manufacturing (solid-state additive manufacturing, Paragraph 27, deposited features made of a similar to different material are joined to the cast body 200 by additive manufacturing).
Patry fails to teach:
an insert of a second material different than the first material, the insert being arranged in the recess; and
a retainer securing the insert in the recess by covering a portion of a top surface of the insert;
wherein the retainer is joined to the base component
Baldwin (US 20140327274 A1) teaches an extrusion piece with insert of dissimilar material, comprising:
a base component of a first material (Paragraph 15, extrusion piece 100 formed of aluminum), the base component comprising a recess (Figure 2 Paragraph 13, piece 100 contains mouth portion 102)
an insert of a second material different than the first material (Figure 2 Paragraph 13, steel section 104), the insert being arranged in the recess (Figure 2 Paragraph 19, steel section is fitted inside of mouth portion 102); and
a retainer securing the insert in the recess by covering a portion of a top surface of the insert (Figure 3 Paragraphs 18-20 and 23, jaws are shaped such as to cover the top surface of the outwardly rolled edges of the steel section 104); wherein
the retainer is joined to the base component (Figure 2 Paragraph 18, jaws 200A-B are joined to the rest of the extrusion piece 100)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Patry with Baldwin and the claws be additively manufactured onto the cast aluminum such as to receive a steel section. This would have been done to allow the aluminum piece to be fitted to a steel component by welding (Baldwin Paragraph 12).
Regarding claim 3, Patry as modified teaches the cast assembly according to claim 1.
Baldwin further teaches:
the retainer covers only a periphery of the top surface (Figure 2, jaws 200A-B covers a periphery of the steel section 104 with a central portion being exposed).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Patry as modified teaches the cast assembly according to claim 3.
Baldwin further teaches:
a central portion of the top surface is not covered by the retainer (Figure 2, jaws 200A-B covers a periphery of the steel section 104 with a central portion being exposed).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Patry as modified teaches the cast assembly according to claim 1, wherein:
the first material is cast aluminum or cast aluminum alloy (Paragraph 5, cast body may include one or more of an aluminum alloy; Paragraph 2, mold assemblies are used in casting processes).
Regarding claim 6, Patry as modified teaches the cast assembly according to claim 5.
Baldwin further teaches:
the second material is steel (Paragraph 19, steel section 104)
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Patry as modified teaches the cast assembly according to claim 1, wherein:
the recess is a blind hole (Figures 2-3, open channel 202 and recess is a blind hole).
Regarding claim 10, Patry (US 20230173576 A1) teaches a multi-component structure (cast body 200) comprising:
a first component of a first material (Figure 2A Paragraph 27, cast body 200 made of aluminum alloy), the first component comprising a recess (Paragraph 28, cast body 200 includes an internal cavity 208);
wherein features are joined to the first component by a solid-state weld or by solid-state additive manufacturing (solid-state additive manufacturing, Paragraph 27, deposited features made of a similar to different material are joined to the cast body 200 by additive manufacturing)
Patry fails to teach:
an insert of a second material different than the first material, the insert being arranged in the recess;
a retainer securing the insert in the recess by covering a portion of a top surface of the insert, wherein the retainer is joined to the first component; and
a second component attached to the insert by a mechanical connection.
Baldwin (US 20140327274 A1) teaches an extrusion piece with insert of dissimilar material, comprising:
a first component of a first material (Paragraph 15, extrusion piece 100 formed of aluminum), the first component comprising a recess (Figure 2 Paragraph 13, piece 100 contains mouth portion 102);
an insert of a second material different than the first material (Figure 2 Paragraph 13, steel section 104), the insert being arranged in the recess (Figure 2 Paragraph 19, steel section is fitted inside of mouth portion 102);
a retainer securing the insert in the recess by covering a portion of a top surface of the insert (Figure 3 Paragraphs 18-20 and 23, jaws are shaped such as to cover the top surface of the outwardly rolled edges of the steel section 104), wherein the retainer is joined to the first component (Figure 2 Paragraph 18, jaws 200A-B are joined to the rest of the extrusion piece 100)
a second component attached to the insert by a mechanical connection (Paragraph 24, steel section is spot welded to another steel component).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Patry with Baldwin and the claws be additively manufactured onto the cast aluminum such as to receive a steel section. This would have been done to allow the aluminum piece to be fitted to a steel component by welding (Baldwin Paragraph 12).
Regarding claim 11, Patry as modified teaches the multi-component structure according to claim 10, wherein:
the first material is cast aluminum (Paragraph 5, cast body may include one or more of an aluminum or aluminum alloy)
Baldwin further teaches:
the first material is aluminum (Paragraph 15, extrusion piece 100 can be formed by extrusion of aluminum);
the second material is steel (Paragraph 19, steel section 104); and
the second component includes a third material that is steel (Paragraph 24, steel section is spot welded to another steel component).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, Patry as modified teaches the multi-component structure according to claim 11.
Baldwin further teaches:
the second component is not directly attached to the first component (Paragraph 24, steel component is attached to the steel section 104 instead of extrusion piece 100).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 10.
Regarding claim 17, Patry (US 20230173576 A1) teaches a method of making a multi-component structure (cast body 200) comprising:
providing of a first component (Figure 2A Paragraph 27, cast body 200 made of aluminum alloy)
a recess in the first component (Paragraph 28, cast body 200 includes an internal cavity 208); and
wherein features are joined to the first component by solid-state welding or by solid-state additive manufacturing (solid-state additive manufacturing, Paragraph 27, deposited features made of a similar to different material are joined to the cast body 200 by additive manufacturing).
Patry fails to teach:
providing of a first component and an insert, the first component being a first material, the insert being a second material different from the first material;
arranging the insert in a recess in the first component; and
retaining the insert in the recess by arranging a retainer over the recess and over the insert; wherein the retainer is joined to the first component
Baldwin (US 20140327274 A1) teaches an extrusion piece with insert of dissimilar material, comprising:
providing of a first component (Paragraph 15, extrusion piece 100) and an insert (Figure 2 Paragraph 19, steel section is fitted inside of mouth portion 102), the first component being a first material (Paragraph 15, extrusion piece 100 formed of aluminum), the insert being a second material different from the first material (Figure 2 Paragraph 13, steel section 104);
arranging the insert in a recess in the first component (Figure 2 Paragraph 13, piece 100 contains mouth portion 102); and
retaining the insert in the recess by arranging a retainer over the recess and over the insert (Figure 3 Paragraphs 18-20 and 23, jaws are shaped such as to cover the top surface of the outwardly rolled edges of the steel section 104); wherein
the retainer is joined to the first component (Figure 2 Paragraph 18, jaws 200A-B are joined to the rest of the extrusion piece 100)
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Patry with Baldwin and the claws be additively manufactured onto the cast aluminum such as to receive a steel section. This would have been done to allow the aluminum piece to be fitted to a steel component by welding (Baldwin Paragraph 12).
Regarding claim 18, Patry as modified teaches the method according to claim 17, wherein:
the first material is cast aluminum or cast aluminum alloy (Paragraph 5, cast body may include one or more of an aluminum or aluminum alloy);
Baldwin further teaches:
the insert is retained in the recess only by the retainer (Figure 3 Paragraphs 18-20 and 23, jaws are shaped such as to cover the top surface of the outwardly rolled edges of the steel section 104);
the first material is aluminum (Paragraph 15, extrusion piece 100 can be formed by extrusion of aluminum);
the second material is steel (Paragraph 19, steel section 104); and
the retainer includes steel (Paragraph 24, steel section is spot welded to another steel component).
It would have been obvious for the same motivation as claim 10.
Regarding claim 19, Patry as modified teaches the method according to claim 17.
Patry further teaches:
providing a second component of a third material (another steel component) that is different from the first material (Paragraph 12, aluminum piece is different from steel component); and
joining the second component to the insert with a mechanical connection (Paragraph 24, another steel component is joined to the steel section by welding).
It would have been obvious to the same motivation as claim 10.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patry (US 20230173576 A1) in view of Baldwin (US 20140327274 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Freis (US 20160115986 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Patry as modified teaches the method according to claim 11.
Patry as modified fails to teach:
the mechanical connection is made by at least one mechanical fastener selected from the group consisting of a self-piercing rivet, a flow drill screw, a nail, a pop rivet, and a bolt.
Freis (US 20160115986 A1) teaches a system for riveting from opposite sides of a workpiece, wherein:
the mechanical connection is made by at least one mechanical fastener selected from the group consisting of a self-piercing rivet (Figure 4 Paragraph 43, plurality of self-piercing rivet joint is formed from a material stack-up and self-piercing rivets), a flow drill screw, a nail, a pop rivet, and a bolt.
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Patry with Freis and had the connection between the steel section and the steel second component be formed by a plurality of self-piercing rivet joints. This would have been done to provide a high volume assembly process which is compatible with an adhesive (Freis Paragraph 10).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patry (US 20230173576 A1) in view of Baldwin (US 20140327274 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Murray (US 20200207420 A1) and Briault (US 20100088851 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Patry as modified teaches the multi-component structure according to claim 11.
While Patry as modified fails to explicitly teach that “the second component contacts the first component and does not contact the retainer or the insert”, there exists many components in the art which are movably contactable with over components. Murray (US 20200207420 A1) teaches a vehicle body wherein a sill made of either steel or aluminum movably contacts an inner panel 212 of a door which is either made of aluminum or steel (Murray Paragraphs 24-26). The sill is stated to be part of the frame of a vehicle (Murray Paragraph 24) wherein the door to which the inner panel 212 is connected to is also secured to the frame 104 of the vehicle (Murray Paragraph 26). Thus, regarding the frame of the vehicle made of steel as the second component and the inner panel of the door made of aluminum as the first component, the second component contacts the first component. It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Patry with Murray and have the second component contact the first component. This would have been done to provide a door which maintains occupant safety during a crash (Murray Paragraph 22).
Furthermore, there are connection methods known in the art wherein the second component does not contact the retainer or insert wherein the retainer is being held. Briault (US 20100088851 A1) teaches a system for attaching a hinge on an automobile door leaf wherein a plurality of layers of steel are joined together by manes of riveted self-punched links (Briault Paragraphs 32-33). It should be noted that the first and third layers of parts do not contact each other during this joining. It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Patry with Briault and have used the self-piercing rivets to join the steel section insert to the secondary component while keeping them separated by a layer of material. This would have been done to provide a safe and strong method of attachment for the hinge (Briault Paragraphs 35-39).
The Office further notes that the MPEP teaches that mere rearrangement of parts which do not modify the operation of the device is unpatentable. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). In this case, shifting the position of the second component such as to allow it to contact the first component as well as having the second component not contact the insert or retainer would not have modified the operation of the device, and thus the limitation is unpatentable.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patry (US 20230173576 A1) in view of Baldwin (US 20140327274 A1) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Briault (US 20100088851 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Patry as modified teaches the method according to claim 19.
Patry as modified fails to explicitly teach:
the mechanical connection is made by at least one mechanical fastener selected from the group consisting of a self-piercing rivet, a flow drill screw, a nail, a pop rivet, and a bolt; and the mechanical fastener extends through the insert and through the second component, and into the first component.
Briault (US 20100088851 A1) teaches a system for attaching a hinge on an automobile, wherein:
the mechanical connection is made by at least one mechanical fastener selected from the group consisting of a self-piercing rivet (Figure 3 Paragraph 27, riveted self-punked link; Paragraph 34, materials used for each of the three layers), a flow drill screw, a nail, a pop rivet, and a bolt; and
the mechanical fastener extends through the insert and through the second component, and into the first component (Figure 3 Paragraph 31, piercing of the self-punching rivet 10 through the three components made of steel and/or aluminum).
It would have thus been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Patry with Briault and had the connection the plurality of component layers including the aluminum layer, steel section, and steel second component be formed by means by a self-punching rivet. This would have been done to provide a connection which is simple to implement and which provides better resistance to corrosion (Briault Paragraphs 35-37).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/F.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761