DETAILED ACTION
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers and/or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. The Examiner notes that it has been held that a recitation that a structural element is "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” perform a function does not limit the claim to a particular structure and thus only requires the ability to so perform the function. (See In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. See also, MPEP 2111.04) As such, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims and the prior art, the recitations of "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to” will be deemed met by an element in the prior art capable of performing the function recited in connection with "adapted to", “configured to”, “capable of, “arranged to”, “intended to” or “operable to”. The examiner is aware of the functional language in the various claims.
Disclaimer
Applicant’s response to the Final office action of 11/14/2024 is acknowledged on 8/19/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claims 1, 11 and 20 disclose the expression “wherein the instructional feedback includes text, images, video, and symbols providing instructions for improved body placement change. The instant application in paragraph 40 appear to disclose the instruction feedback to include images and/or video or text and/or symbol but not all the listed items. For purpose of examination, the examiner is considering the instruction feedback to include images and/or video or text and/or symbol.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the instructional feedback includes text, images, video, and symbols providing instruction” as recited in claims 1, 11 and 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alonso (US Patent Publication No. 2010/0283630) in view of Antonucci (US Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0204045).
Regarding claim 1, Alonso discloses a system for football training (see abstract, see all Figures) comprising: a plurality of imaging devices configured to capture real-time images indicating movement of a football (paragraphs 64 & 78 and claim 16 disclose the use of plurality of cameras. Claims 7-8 discloses real-time imaging), wherein the plurality of imaging devices are further configured to capture the real-time images at different perspectives (the cameras are considered as being capable capturing different perspectives. Paragraph 78 discloses that the telemetry data may be used as part of a 360-degree dynamic view based on the camera angles and perspective relative to the acquired sports player(s) performance metrics, sports…); a processor (paragraphs 14-15 and 48-49 disclose computer system); and a memory (in paragraph 51, it is disclosed that the performance metric is recorded into a database and this indicates that there is memory and paragraph 78 a recorded feed is disclosed), including instructions stored thereon (in paragraphs 60 and 66, the computer system is disclosed that it can be programed and this is considered as instructions stored), which, when executed by the processor, cause the system to: capture real-time images of the football (paragraph 101 discloses that camera 171 is used for real-time processing. See also claims 7-8); determine a telemetry data of the football based on the captured real-time images; and determine instructional feedback in response to the telemetry data of the football (see paragraphs 101-104).
Alonso reference establishes that the recorded, transmitted, and processed data from actual games, practices, and training sessions serve as a tool for review by players, teams, and coaches (see paragraphs 101-104 of the reference). As disclosed in the reference, recordings capture real-time performance, enabling thorough post-event analysis. Given the fundamental purpose of such review - to assess and improve performance - it is both inherent and obvious that the gathered information is utilized to provide instructional feedback. Coaches rely on this data to identify strengths, weaknesses, and areas for improvement, making it an essential component of player development. Reviewing game footage, for instance, allows coaches to highlight tactical errors, reinforce successful strategies, and tailor training regimens accordingly. The process is not merely incidental but an expected and logical outcome of recording sports events. Thus, the direct use of this information for instructional feedback for both references is an inevitable and intrinsic aspect of sports training and team development.
Alonso does not explicitly disclose the instructional feedback to include text, images, video, and symbols providing instructions as recited. Antonucci teaches a similar performance improvement system that provides instructional feedback, although the feedback is delivered through an audio speaker (112). Although Antonucci does not disclose feedback in the form of text, images, video, and symbols, it nevertheless teaches that providing instructional feedback to improve athletic performance was known. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Alonso’s system to use other well-known feedback modalities, such as visual and symbolic cues, instead of, or in addition to, audio feedback, because substituting one known mode of presenting instructions with another is a predictable design choice and would improve user comprehension and flexibility. Accordingly, the combination of Alonso and Antonucci renders the claimed instructional feedback features obvious.
It should be noted that examiner is giving the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as set forth in MPEP 904.01(a). The examiner notes that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art. SEE MPEP 2114.
Regarding claims 2-3, Alonso discloses the use of motion sensor (see abstract, paragraphs 47 and 57 disclose the use of sensors. In paragraph 57, it is disclosed that the sensors “be embedded, attached and/or affixed in the participants equipment, including shoulder pads, chest pads, helmets, shoes, and the like, as well as game objects 68, including a football, sideline markers, down markers 80, and the like. Data, such as movement, location, speed, acceleration, burst, impact, location and the like, can be acquired, captured and provided to the system”. Alonso discloses a display (see paragraphs 60, 66 and Figure 69 discloses 501 as a display), wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor further cause the system to display instructional feedback onto the one or more displays (see paragraphs 101-104. See also claims 9-10 and 16).
Regarding claim 4, Alonso discloses wherein the telemetry data is determined based on image recognition (see paragraph 78 that discloses video that takes images).
Regarding claims 5-6, Alonso teaches the use of sensors but does not explicitly disclose the sensor to be a radar or infrared. Radar is a well-known type of sensor used to detect motion, speed, and position. Substituting one known sensor (e.g., camera or motion sensor) with another known sensor like radar or infrared sensor that perform the same type of detection is a predictable design choice and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to improve accuracy, range, or reliability.
Regarding claim 7, see rejection of claims 1-2. For example, in paragraph 101 of the Alonso reference video and images are disclosed. It is noted that the combination of the references do not explicitly disclose the instructional feedback to provide advice on how to kick or throw, position the body and adjust posture. Although the combination of the references does not expressly disclose instructional feedback that advises how to kick or throw, position the body, and adjust posture, the combination nonetheless teaches systems that analyze player motion and provide performance improving feedback. Once such feedback capabilities are disclosed, the specific content of the advice is an obvious design choice within the ordinary skill in the art. Selecting particular types of performance instructions, such as kicking, throwing, or posture adjustments, does not require any special structure beyond what Alonso and Antonucci already provide. Therefore, the combination renders the claimed instructional feedback features obvious even without explicitly describing those examples.
Regarding claim 10, the use of speaker (112) is disclosed by the Antonucci reference. A speaker is a well-known component for playing any type of audio, and substituting or adding different audio outputs, such as simulated crowd noise, is a predictable and routine design choice. Doing so would enhance training realism, improve user engagement, and simulate competitive environments, all of which would have been obvious benefits. Therefore, the combination renders the claimed features obvious.
Regarding claims 11-13 and 17, see rejection of claims 1-2 above.
Regarding claim 14, see rejection of claim 4 above.
Regarding claims 15-16, see rejections of claims 5-6 above.
Regarding claim 20, see rejection of claims 1-2 above. See all claims and paragraph 104 of the reference. Regarding the device being a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, the use of PDA is disclosed in paragraph XXX of the Alonso reference and this component is a non-transitory computer-readable medium because it is a device that stores data. During normal use and operation of the combination of the references, the method steps as recited would obviously be performed.
Claims 8-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alonso as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gupta et al. (US Patent Application No. 2019/0134506).
Alonso does not disclose the use of wind machine as recited. However, the concept is not new in a sport environment and Gupta is one example of reference that teaches the use of environmental simulation device that is capable of generating wind (see component 192 and see paragraphs 236-237). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the references as applied to claim 1 with a wind machine/wind generation system to provide environmental effects that enhance a game participant's experience and interaction with the system as stated in paragraph 236 of the Gupta reference.
Regarding the wind machine being movable and to be disposed in a alley way, although Gupta does not explicitly disclose that the wind machine is movable or disposed in an alley way adjacent to a display, such placement would have been an obvious matter of design choice. Once the use of artificial wind for training is known, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to position the wind machine in any convenient location, including making it movable or placing it beside a display, to direct airflow appropriately and accommodate different training setups. These variations involve no special structural requirements and represent predictable modifications aimed at enhancing environmental simulation. Accordingly, the combination of the references renders the claimed wind machine and placement features obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/NINI F LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711