DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 09/12/2025:
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application. Claims 1, 7, and 12 have been amended.
The previous prior art-based rejection have been withdrawn in light of the amendment to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot due to the amendment to the claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 4 and 19 recite “wherein the thickness of all the spacer plates is substantially equal to the thickness of the battery cell” when they should recite “wherein the thickness of each of the spacer plates is substantially equal to the thickness of the battery cell”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Houchin-Miller et al (US 20140093755 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Houchin”).
Regarding claim 1, Houchin teaches temperature control device for receiving a battery, the temperature control device comprising: a first plate and a second plate (in Fig. 40A there is a battery system 722 comprising a plurality of battery modules 724; In Fig. 9, it can be seen that the battery modules include a plurality of battery cells 330 in two rows and a heat exchanger 340 between the two rows of battery cells; therefore, the “temperature control device” claimed can include the heat exchanger 340 from one of the battery modules 724 in the battery system 722 and a second heat exchanger 340 from another one of the battery modules 724 in the battery system 722; see the annotated Fig. below; P126, 128, 188),
wherein: a battery cell is positionable between the first and second plates (see annotated Fig. below); and
at least one of the first and second plates is provided with at least one channel through which coolant is flowable (“A main body of the heat exchanger 340 has external surfaces 343 that define a space between which fluid (e.g., a heating and/or cooling fluid such as a refrigerant, water, water/glycol mixture, etc.) may flow between opening 341 and opening 342”, P128); and
a coupling configured to releasably connect the at least one channel to a coolant source (“The openings 341, 342 may be provided with a quick-connect feature to allow the heat exchanger 340 to be quickly and efficiently connected to a heat exchanger … to a manifold”, P129; the heat exchangers 340 of battery modules 724 in battery system 722 connect to first manifold 704 through their opening/inlet 741; P188-190; see Figs. 70A-70B), wherein the temperature control device is separable from the coolant source via the coupling without separating any other temperature control device from the coolant source (the manifolds 702/704 are coupled to connections 700, 701 in order to attach the battery modules’ heat exchangers to a vehicle’s heat exchanger to cool the battery cells, P189; the manifold 702 is an inlet manifold and the manifold 704 is an outlet manifold, P190; as seen in Fig. 40A, it appears the inlet manifold 702, outlet manifold 704, and heat exchangers 340 of each battery module 724 are configured allow cooling fluid to flow through in a parallel configuration; given the openings 341/741 can be provided with a quick-connect feature in order to allow the heat exchangers 340 to be connected to a manifold, it is also known that they can be removed/released; since the heat exchangers 340 can be attached/removed from the manifolds, and everything is in parallel flow, removing the ‘first plate’ and ‘second plate’, the heat exchangers shown in the annotated Fig. below, is able to be done without separating any other temperature control device from the ‘coolant source’, the inlet manifold 702; even if the ‘first plate’ and ‘second plate’ are removed, coolant should still flow through the other battery modules; even if the ‘first plate’ and ‘second plate’ are removed, since manifold 702 is attached to all of the other battery modules, the other battery modules are both thermally and physically connected to the manifold).
Annotated Figure Regarding Houchin
Regarding claim 12, Houchin discloses a system including at least two temperature control devices connected to a coolant source in parallel (see the annotated Fig. below), each of the at least two temperature control devices comprising: a first plate; and a second plate (in Fig. 40A there is a battery system 722 comprising a plurality of battery modules 724; In Fig. 9, it can be seen that the battery modules include a plurality of battery cells 330 in two rows and a heat exchanger 340 between the two rows of battery cells; therefore, each of the “temperature control devices” claimed can include one heat exchanger 340 from one of the battery modules 724 in the battery system 722 and another heat exchanger 340 from an adjacent one of the battery modules 724 in the battery system 722; see the annotated Fig. below; P126, 128, 188), wherein:
a battery cell is positionable between the first and second plates (see annotated Fig. below);
at least one of the first and second plates is provided with at least one channel through which coolant is flowable (“A main body of the heat exchanger 340 has external surfaces 343 that define a space between which fluid (e.g., a heating and/or cooling fluid such as a refrigerant, water, water/glycol mixture, etc.) may flow between opening 341 and opening 342”, P128); and
the at least two temperature control devices are individually separable from the coolant source (“The openings 341, 342 may be provided with a quick-connect feature to allow the heat exchanger 340 to be quickly and efficiently connected to a heat exchanger … to a manifold”, P129; the heat exchangers 340 of battery modules 724 in battery system 722 connect to first manifold 704 through their opening/inlet 741; P188-190; see Figs. 70A-70B; as seen in Fig. 40A, it appears the inlet manifold 702, outlet manifold 704, and heat exchangers 340 of each battery module 724 are configured allow cooling fluid to flow through in a parallel configuration; given the openings 341/741 can be provided with a quick-connect feature in order to allow the heat exchangers 340 to be connected to a manifold, it is also known that they can be removed/released; since the heat exchangers 340 can be attached/removed from the manifolds without affecting the other heat exchangers 340, they can be considered individually separable).
Annotated Figure Regarding Houchin
Regarding claim 15, Houchin discloses a coupling configured to releasably connect the at least one channel to a coolant source (“The openings 341, 342 may be provided with a quick-connect feature to allow the heat exchanger 340 to be quickly and efficiently connected to a heat exchanger … to a manifold”, P129; the heat exchangers 340 of battery modules 724 in battery system 722 connect to first manifold 704 through their opening/inlet 741; P188-190; see Figs. 70A-70B).
Regarding claim 20, Houchin discloses a third plate for electrically contacting the battery cell (bus bar assembly 170/370 in Figs. 6/9; P118, 125).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houchin-Miller et al (US 20140093755 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Houchin”) as applied to claims 1 and 12 respectively, further in view of Wei et al (US 20130171491 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Houchin does not disclose at least one temperature sensor mounted to a side of at least one of the first and second plates configured to face the battery cell, wherein the at least one temperature sensor does not protrude from the at least one of the first and second plates.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wei discloses a thermally conductive plate apparatus for cooling battery cells (P56). Wei discloses the thermally conductive plate includes first and second opposing walls (P56). Wei discloses the second wall includes a conduit for receiving a temperature sensor (P66) Wei teaches the temperature sensor is included in the thermally conductive plate for generating a temperature signal representing the temperature of the plate during operation (P66). Wei teaches if the temperature in the thermally conductive plate is elevated above the temperature of another plate, this may indicate a fault condition associated with the thermally conductive plate or a battery cell in thermal communication with the plate (P66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Wei and modified Houchin such that there is a temperature sensor mounted to a side of at least one of the first and second plates wherein the at least one temperature sensor does not protrude from the at least one of the first and second plates, such as a temperature sensor being provided in conduit of the first or second plate of Houchin, given Wei teaches this can monitor the temperature of a thermally conductive plate during operation.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rearranged the parts of Houchin such that the temperature sensor is configured to face the battery cell in order to, for example, monitor the portion of the first or second plate adjacent to the battery cell for a fault condition that can be associated with the battery cell (as taught by Wei), because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 17, Houchin does not disclose at least one temperature sensor mounted to a side of at least one of the first and second plates configured to face the battery cell, wherein the at least one temperature sensor does not protrude from the at least one of the first and second plates.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wei discloses a thermally conductive plate apparatus for cooling battery cells (P56). Wei discloses the thermally conductive plate includes first and second opposing walls (P56). Wei discloses the second wall includes a conduit for receiving a temperature sensor (P66) Wei teaches the temperature sensor is included in the thermally conductive plate for generating a temperature signal representing the temperature of the plate during operation (P66). Wei teaches if the temperature in the thermally conductive plate is elevated above the temperature of another plate, this may indicate a fault condition associated with the thermally conductive plate or a battery cell in thermal communication with the plate (P66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Wei and modified Houchin such that there is a temperature sensor mounted to a side of at least one of the first and second plates wherein the at least one temperature sensor does not protrude from the at least one of the first and second plates, such as a temperature sensor being provided in conduit of the first or second plate of Houchin, given Wei teaches this can monitor the temperature of a thermally conductive plate during operation.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rearranged the parts of Houchin such that the temperature sensor is configured to face the battery cell in order to, for example, monitor the portion of the first or second plate adjacent to the battery cell for a fault condition that can be associated with the battery cell (as taught by Wei), because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houchin-Miller et al (US 20140093755 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Houchin”) as applied to claims 1 and 12 respectively, further in view of Masson et al (US 20110151315 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Houchin discloses a third plate (bus bar assembly 370 in Figs. 6/9) and a CSC (380 in Fig. 9, P118, 125). Houchin teaches the cell supervisory controller (CSC) is configured to monitor and/or regulate the temperature, current, and/or voltage of the battery cell and includes the necessary sensors and electronics to do so (P123).
Houchin does not disclose wherein the third plate has a temperature sensor that does not protrude from the third plate.
In a similar field of endeavor, Masson teaches a bus bar can include a number of conductive members that are coupled to a substrate and able to be positioned in contact with the terminals of associated cells (P40). Masson teaches the bus bar can also include temperature sensors and leads that can transmit a signal from the sensors to a cell supervisory controller (CSC) (P47). Masson teaches both the conductive members and the plurality of sensors may be provided as a single preassembled unit that may then be assembled to the cells of the battery module in a single operation (P47).
Masson teaches the temperature sensors can be embedded into a substrate of the bus bar (P48). Masson teaches this can allow the temperature sensors to be insulated against cooling or heating air/fluid in order to avoid inaccurate measurements (P48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Masson and modified Houchin such that the third plate (bus bar assembly) of Houchin included conductive members that are coupled to a substrate, temperature sensors embedded into the substrate, and wherein the bus bar is attached to the CSC, rather than the sensors being in the CSC itself, given Masson teaches this can allow conductive members and sensors to be provided as a single preassembled unit that may then be assembled to the cells of the battery module in a single operation and providing the temperature sensors in the substrate allows the temperature sensors to be insulated against cooling or heating air/fluid in order to avoid inaccurate measurements.
Given the temperature sensor is embedded into the bus bar assembly of modified Houchin, the limitation “wherein the third plate has a temperature sensor that does not protrude from the third plate” is met.
Claims 4-6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houchin-Miller et al (US 20140093755 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Houchin”) as applied to claims 1 and 12 respectively, further in view of Hu et al (US 20110159340 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Houchin discloses that the battery cell can be prismatic rather than cylindrical (P114, 139, 160).
While Houchin discloses the first plate/second plate between two adjacent rows of battery cells, Houchin does not disclose spacer plates configured to surround the battery cell, wherein the thickness of all the spacer plates is substantially equal to the thickness of the battery cell
In a similar field of endeavor, Hu teaches a plurality of heat conduction plate (510 in Fig. 5) sandwiched between two battery cells of a plurality of battery cells in a battery module (502 in Fig. 5; P37, 48). Hu teaches the heat conduction plate includes a plurality of structure supports, two layers of a heat conduction layer, and a plurality of heat insulation layers (P49).
Hu teaches when any one of the battery cells in the battery module releases heat abnormally due to short-circuit, overcharging, or other reasons, the battery cell may then result in thermal runaway (P13). Hu teaches the heat diffusion from the battery cell to the neighboring battery cells can be effectively insulated by the heat insulation layer in the composite heat conduction plate (P13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Hu and provided to Houchin heat conduction plates between the battery cells in each row of Houchin, given Hu teaches this can insulate a battery cell from a neighboring cell undergoing thermal runaway.
The heat conduction plates in modified Houchin can be drawn to the claimed spacer plates configured to surround the battery cell, as they would ‘surround’ a battery cell by being disposed on two opposite sides of the battery cell. Further, as seen in Fig. 5 of Hu, the thickness of each heat conduction plate appear to be is substantially equal to the thickness of the battery cell, therefore, this would also apply to the heat conduction plates of modified Houchin.
Regarding claim 5, Houchin discloses a third plate for electrically contacting the battery cell (bus bar assembly 170/370 in Figs. 6/9; P118, 125).
Regarding claim 6, modified Houchin discloses at least two connectors of the battery cell (one positive terminal 132 and one negative terminal 134 in Fig. 6; see entire disclosure and especially P119).
In Fig. 6, the connectors of the battery cells of Houchin appear to be configured to extend through openings on housing (150). The connectors then appear to be configured to extend through holes on the third plate. Therefore, the sides of the terminals of the battery cell rest flush against the openings of the bus bar they extend through. Given the spacer plates of modified Houchin are enclosing sides of the battery cell that the terminals are not on, it can be said that modified Houchin meets the limitation “wherein the spacer plates are configured to enclose the battery cell in such a way that at least two connectors of the battery cell can rest flush on the third plate”.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houchin-Miller et al (US 20140093755 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Houchin”) in view of Hu et al (US 20110159340 A1) as applied to claim 5, or Houchin-Miller et al (US 20140093755 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Houchin”) as applied to claim 15, further in view of Maeda et al (US 5299955 A) in view of Productivity Inc. (Benefits of Automation in Manufacturing).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, modified Houchin / Houchin does not meet the limitation wherein the coupling is automatically actuated (as drawn to claims 7 and 16) and thereby enables automatable connection of the temperature control device to the cooling system (as drawn to claim 7).
In similar field of endeavor, Maeda teaches a structure a frame (6 in Fig. 1) includes a plurality of engaging portions (7a/7b in Fig. 1) that mate with pin holes (9a/10 in Fig. 1) on electrode connecting terminals (9a/10 in Fig. 1) in order to mount the connecting terminals on the frame (see entire disclosure and especially C2 / L58 – C3 / L22; C3 / L66 – C4 / L9). Maeda teaches this improves the efficiency of the mounting and allows the mounting to be automated (see entire disclosure and especially C3 / L66 – C4 / L9).
While Maeda is drawn to connecting a frame to connecting terminals rather than coupling a channel to a cooling system, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits that improved efficiency and automation could provide to the coupling of a channel to a cooling system. If a technique has been used to improve one device (utilize engaging portions and pin holes that allow automated coupling between a frame and electrode connecting terminals), and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way (utilize engaging portions and pin holes that allow automated coupling between a channel and a cooling system), using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. SEE MPEP § 2141 (III) Rationale C, KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Maeda and substituted the coupling of modified Houchin / Houchin with the engaging portions and pin hole coupling/mounting as described by Maeda, given Maeda teaches this improves the efficiency of the mounting/coupling and allows the mounting to be automated.
However, modified Houchin does not explicitly teach the coupling it automatically actuated.
Productivity Inc. teaches that automation in manufacturing is paramount (see entire disclosure and especially Page 1). Productivity Inc. teaches the biggest impacts of automation is lowered operating costs, improved worker safety, reduced factory lead ties, faster ROI, increased production output, and consistent and improved part production (see entire disclosure and especially Pages 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Productivity Inc. and modified the coupling to be automatically actuated and thereby enable automatable connection of the temperature control device to the cooling system, given Productivity Inc. teaches automation can provide lowered operating costs, improved worker safety, reduced factory lead ties, faster ROI, increased production output, and consistent and improved part production.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Houchin-Miller et al (US 20140093755 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Houchin”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Wang et al (US 20170301966 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Houchin does not disclose wherein at least one of the first and second plates has at least one temperature adjustment mechanism configured to independently adjust the temperature of the battery cell at multiple locations.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wang teaches a method for preheating a battery (Abstract). Wang teaches the method includes acquiring an ambient temperature of an internal space where a battery is sealed (preheating zone) (see entire disclosure and especially P62-63). Wang teaches in order to increase temperature uniformity in the preheating zone, a temperature sensor may be configured to be at predetermined positions in the preheating zone to acquire ambient temperatures in different positions (see entire disclosure and especially P106). Wang teaches a region where each predetermined position is located includes a heat supply block that can supply heat separately (see entire disclosure and especially P106). Wang teaches this allows both the acquiring of ambient temperatures at respective positions during preheating and adjustment of current temperatures at respective positions when the ambient temperature does not satisfy the preset temperature condition (see entire disclosure and also P106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Wang and provided to Houchin wherein at least one of the first and second plates has at least one temperature adjustment mechanism configured to independently adjust the temperature of the battery cell at multiple locations, such as providing to at least one of the first or second plates temperature sensors at predetermined positions and heat supply blocks at predetermined positions, given Wang teaches this allows for the preheating of a battery, acquiring the ambient temperatures at respective positions during preheating, and adjustment of a current temperature at a respective position that does not satisfy the preset temperature condition during preheating.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houchin-Miller et al (US 20140093755 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Houchin”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Sfarzo et al (US 20090169977 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Houchin does not disclose a force sensor configured to measure a force that acts on the battery cell.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sfarzo teaches a battery can include a battery force sensor (see entire disclosure and especially P26). Sfarzo teaches the battery force sensor is configured to detect the magnitude of one or more various forces that may influence the battery, such as forces that may produce a change in the movement, size, shape, or other effects of the battery (see entire disclosure and especially P27). Sfarzo teaches, for example, the battery force sensor may be configured to detect the magnitude of one or more internal forces generated by conditions internal to battery, such as internal pressure that may build up within the battery (e.g., due to latent cell or pack manufacturing or assembly defects, improper charging or discharging conditions, heat, etc.) and cause the battery to expand (e.g., beyond expected limits) (see entire disclosure and especially P27). Sfarzo teaches the battery force sensor produces one or more force output signals based upon the one or more detected forces and these signals are evaluated be a processing component in order appropriately determine a state or condition of the battery and, thus, to appropriately control the operation of a device the battery is used within (see entire disclosure and especially P28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Sfarzo and provide to Houchin a force sensor configured to measure a force that acts on the battery cell, given Sfarzo teaches a force sensor can detect the magnitude of one or more various forces that may influence a battery and send output signals based on the detected forces in order appropriately determine a state or condition of the battery and, thus, to appropriately control the operation of a device the battery is used within.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houchin-Miller et al (US 20140093755 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Houchin”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Kim et al (US 20190198911 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Houchin does not disclose an actuator configured to maintain a constant clamping force on the battery cell as the battery cell expands.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches a pressuring structure applies constant pressure to a lithium secondary cell (see entire disclosure and especially P75). Kim teaches this allows a thickness change due to lithium may be minimized during charge and discharge, and a lithium electrodeposition density may be increased, and thus charging and discharging efficiency may be increased (see entire disclosure and especially P75). Kim teaches, that is, since constant pressure may be applied to the lithium secondary cell in both a state in which a volume of the lithium secondary cell expands, e.g., increases, during charge and a state in which a volume of the lithium secondary cell contracts, e.g., decreases, during discharge, a lithium electrodeposition density during charge may be increased, and lithium ions move to the cathode layer during discharge, and thus charging and discharging efficiency may be increased (see entire disclosure and especially P76).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Kim and provided to Houchin an actuator configured to maintain a constant clamping force on the battery cell as the battery cell expands, such as the pressing structure of Kim, given Kim teaches this allows a thickness change due to lithium may be minimized during charge and discharge, and a lithium electrodeposition density may be increased, and thus charging and discharging efficiency may be increased.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houchin-Miller et al (US 20140093755 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Houchin”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of West et al (US 20110174084 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Houchin does not disclose at least one of a force sensor and an actuator, wherein: the force sensor is configured to measure a force that acts on the battery cell; the actuator is configured to maintain a constant clamping force on the battery cell as the battery cell expands; and at least one of the force sensor and the actuator incudes at least one of a piezocrystalline device, a piezoelectric device, and a magnetostrictive device.
In a similar field of endeavor, West teaches one or more force sensors (piezoelectric) may be coupled to one or more components of an energy storage device and may respond to or otherwise detect and indicate (e.g., DC signal, AC signal) forces or changes in force acting on one or more components of the energy storage device (see entire disclosure and especially P68). West teaches the energy storage device can include battery cells (see entire disclosure and especially P51, 63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of West and provided to Houchin a force sensor configured to measure a force that acts on the battery cell, such as a piezoelectric force sensor as taught by West, given west teaches utilizing a piezoelectric force sensor allows a response to or otherwise detection and indication of forces or changes in force acting on one or more components of an energy storage device (for example, forces or changes in force acting on the battery cells of the energy storage device).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houchin-Miller et al (US 20140093755 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Houchin”) as applied to claim 12 respectively, further in view of Madsen (US 20180073509 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Houchin does not disclose wherein the coolant source includes at least one pressure accumulator.
Analogous art is a term used to connect multiple prior arts that are in the same field of endeavor. Houchin and Madsen are analogous art due to their disclosed contents being directed to fluid systems.
Madsen teaches house water systems comprise a pressure accumulator in order to be able to maintain a certain operating pressure in the system (see entire disclosure and especially P16).
While Madsen teaches a pressure accumulator used within a house water system rather than in a coolant source for temperature control device for a battery, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that being able to maintain/control pressure within a coolant source would be a benefit to the temperature control device of Houchin. If a technique has been used to improve one device (utilizing a pressure accumulator in a house water system to maintain pressure in the system), and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way (utilizing a pressure accumulator in a coolant source to maintain pressure in the coolant source), using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. SEE MPEP § 2141 (III) Rationale C, KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Madsen and provided to Houchin wherein the coolant source includes at least one pressure accumulator, given Madsen teaches pressure accumulators allow maintenance of desired operating pressures within a fluid system.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houchin-Miller et al (US 20140093755 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Houchin”) as applied to claim 12, further in view of Carpenter (US 20150013367 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Houchin does not disclose wherein the coolant source includes a pressure relief valve configured to allow coolant to escape.
In a similar field of endeavor, Carpenter teaches a refrigerant circuit can include a pressure relief valve to protect the refrigerant circuit by venting refrigerant in the event that the refrigerant pressure exceeds a selected maximum (see entire disclosure and especially P32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Carpenter and provided wherein the coolant source includes a pressure relief valve configured to allow coolant to escape, given Carpenter teaches a pressure relief valve can protect a cooling circuit by venting coolant (refrigerant) in the event that the coolant (refrigerant) pressure exceeds a selected maximum.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARY GRACE HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1729