DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 05/14/2026:
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application. Claims 1 and 12 have been amended.
The previous prior art-based rejection have been withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks Page 6, filed 05/14/2026, with respect to the objections to the claims have been fully considered. The objections have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s arguments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot due to the amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, thus claims 5-7, and claims 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 19 recite “wherein the thickness of all the spacer plates is substantially equal to the thickness of the battery cell”.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the thickness” in the claims. It is unclear from the claim, as written, if the thickness of all of the spacer plates as a whole (added together) is substantially equal to the thickness of the battery cell or if the thickness of all the spacer plates individually are substantially equal to the thickness of the battery cell.
In view Applicant’s arguments on Page 6 of the Remarks filed 05/14/2026 wherein Applicant did not amend claims 4 and 19 to state “the thickness of each of the space plates”, the Examiner is interpreting claims 4 and 19 to mean that a thickness of all of “spacer plates” as a whole (added together) are substantially equal to the thickness of the battery cell.
Claims 15 and 17-20 all use the phrasing “The system…further comprising”. It is unclear if the structure recited after “further comprising” in these claims are mean to recite limitations for the system alone or for each of “the at least two temperature control devices” provided in the system.
For example, claim 15 notes that a coupling releasably connects the at least one channel to the coolant source. Only one coupling is recited, but there are at least two temperature control devices each comprising at least one channel. Therefore, is there only one coupling in the system to provide the connection for all temperature control devices or does each temperature control device comprise a coupling?
For example, claim 18 requires that the system further comprises a third plate having a temperature sensor that does not protrude from the third plate.
As written, the claim can have a third plate that is provided to the system that is unrelated to the at least two temperature control devices. However, from Applicant’s claims 1-11 and Applicant’s specification at P17, it appears that the third plate is meant to be a part of a temperature control device itself rather than a separate part of a system comprising multiple temperature control devices.
Similar analysis can also be applied to claims 17, 19, and 20 and it is unclear if the at least one temperature sensor of claim 17, the spacer plates of claim 19, and the third plate of claim 20 are required for each temperature control device of the at least two temperature control devices or just required for the system itself.
In order to advance prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting the claims to require the claimed structure for each of the temperature control devices of the at least two temperature control devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”).
Regarding claim 12, Lundstrom discloses a system including at least two temperature control devices connect to a coolant source in parallel (see Figs. 1-2 and 5-7C; see entire disclosure and especially P49, 70-71), each of the at least two temperature control devices comprising:
a first plate (one of the cooling plates 4 in Figs. 1-3; see entire disclosure and especially P49);
a second plate (another one of the cooling plates 4 in Figs. 1-3; see entire disclosure and especially P49),
wherein: the first and second plates are configured to clamp a battery cell therebetween (battery cell 2 in Figs. 1 and 3; the repeating battery pack units 10 include, in this order, a circuit sheet 3, a battery cell 2, and a cooling plate 4; therefore, a battery cell 2 of one battery pack unit 10 would be set between the cooling plate 4 of the same battery pack unit 10 and a cooling plate 4 of another adjacent battery pack unit 10; the two cooling plates 4 would “clamp” the battery cell 2 via the straight connection rods 47 extending through the plates and locking devices 49 including compression coil springs 49a that press the battery pack 1 as a whole together in Fig. 7C; see entire disclosure and especially P49, 52, 54, and 74-75); and
at least one of the first and second plates is provided with at least one channel through which coolant is flowable (internal cooling channel 41 in Figs. 5-6; see entire disclosure and especially P70).
Lundstrom discloses the coolant source (cooling medium supply/discharge 16/15 in Figs. 1-2 and 5-6) is connected to the at least two temperature control devices (the pair of cooling plates 4 drawn to each temperature control device) via couplings (inlet/oulet 43/42 in Figs. 5-6) and connection pipes (17/18 in Figs. 5-6; see entire disclosure and especially P70). Lundstrom teaches the connection can be made by adhesives (see entire disclosure and especially P71).
Given each cooling plate 4 is individually connected to the cooling source, the cooling plates 4 of the at least two temperature control devices would be individually separable from the cooling source if the adhesive sealing the connection is removed (via solvent or prying-off).
Alternatively, if Applicant disagrees with this interpretation of the claims:
Norma teaches quick connectors are thermal management solutions designed to transport media in cooling water and heating applications (Page 1). Norma teaches quick connectors can reduce system weight while properly connecting cooling water systems (Page 1). Norma teaches quick connectors provide secure leak-free connections quickly and easily (Page 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Norma and provided wherein the coupling (inlet/outlet 43/42) and/or connection pipes (17/18) of each temperature control device are formed as quick connectors and/or have a quick-connect relationship, given Lundstrom desires the connection between the coupling (inlet/outlet 43/42) and connection pipes (17/18) to be leak-proof and Norma teaches quick connectors can reduce system weight while properly connecting cooling water systems and provide secure leak-free connections quickly and easily.
One of ordinary skill in art would understand that quick connectors/quick-connect relationships are engineered to be a releasable connection. Therefore, the at least two temperature control devices of modified Lundstrom would be individually separable from the coolant source via the quick connectors/quick-connect relationship.
Regarding claim 20, in view of the 102(a)(1) rejection of claim 12 by Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1):
Lundstrom discloses a third plate for electrically contacting the battery cell (circuit carrying sheet 3 in Fig. 3; see entire disclosure and especially P53-54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”).
Regarding claim 1, Lundstrom discloses a temperature control device for receiving a battery, the temperature control device comprising:
a first plate (one of the cooling plates 4 in Figs. 1-3; see entire disclosure and especially P49);
a second plate (another one of the cooling plates 4 in Figs. 1-3; see entire disclosure and especially P49),
wherein: the first and second plates are configured to clamp a battery cell therebetween (battery cell 2 in Figs. 1 and 3; the repeating battery pack units 10 include, in this order, a circuit sheet 3, a battery cell 2, and a cooling plate 4; therefore, a battery cell 2 of one battery pack unit 10 would be set between the cooling plate 4 of the same battery pack unit 10 and a cooling plate 4 of another adjacent battery pack unit 10; the two cooling plates 4 would “clamp” the battery cell 2 via the straight connection rods 47 extending through the plates and locking devices 49 including compression coil springs 49a that press the battery pack 1 as a whole together in Fig. 7C; see entire disclosure and especially P49, 52, 54, and 74-75); and
at least one of the first and second plates is provided with at least one channel through which coolant is flowable (internal cooling channel 41 in Figs. 5-6; see entire disclosure and especially P70); and
a coupling configured to connect the at least one channel to a coolant source (inlet/outlet 43/42 connect the internal cooling channel 41 to the cooling medium supply/discharge 16/15 via connection pipes 17/18 in Figs. 4-6; see entire disclosure and especially P70-71),
wherein the temperature control device is separable from the coolant source via the coupling without separating any other temperature control device from the coolant source (as seen in Figs. 1-2 and 5-6, the cooling plates are each individually connected to the cooling medium supply/discharge 16/15 by their own inlet/outlet 43/42; as seen in Fig. 6, the cooling medium is given to each cooling plate in a parallel fluid flow; therefore, one could separate the two cooling plates 4 drawn to the claimed first and second plates from the cooling medium supply/discharge 16/15 without separating the other cooling plates 4 from the cooling medium supply/discharge 16/15).
However, while Lundstrom discloses all connections are leak-proof (P70), Lundstrom does not disclose that the coupling is configured to releasably connect the at least one channel to a coolant source.
Norma teaches quick connectors are thermal management solutions designed to transport media in cooling water and heating applications (Page 1). Norma teaches quick connectors can reduce system weight while properly connecting cooling water systems (Page 1). Norma teaches quick connectors provide secure leak-free connections quickly and easily (Page 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Norma and provided wherein the coupling (inlet/outlet 43/42) and/or connection pipes (17/18) are formed as quick connectors and/or have a quick-connect relationship, given Lundstrom desires the connection between the coupling (inlet/outlet 43/42) and connection pipes (17/18) to be leak-proof and Norma teaches quick connectors can reduce system weight while properly connecting cooling water systems and provide secure leak-free connections quickly and easily.
One of ordinary skill in art would understand that quick connectors/quick-connect relationships are engineered to be a releasable connection. Therefore, modified Lundstrom would meet the limitation wherein “the coupling is configured to releasably connect the at least one channel to a coolant source”.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Wei et al (US 20130171491 A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Lundstrom does not meet the limitation wherein at least one temperature sensor is mounted to a side of at least one of the first and second plates configured to face the battery cell, wherein the at least one temperature sensor does not protrude from the at least one of the first and second plates.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wei discloses a thermally conductive plate apparatus for cooling battery cells (P56). Wei discloses the thermally conductive plate includes first and second opposing walls (P56). Wei discloses the second wall includes a conduit for receiving a temperature sensor (P66) Wei teaches the temperature sensor is included in the thermally conductive plate for generating a temperature signal representing the temperature of the plate during operation (P66). Wei teaches if the temperature in the thermally conductive plate is elevated above the temperature of another plate, this may indicate a fault condition associated with the thermally conductive plate or a battery cell in thermal communication with the plate (P66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Wei and modified Modified Lundstrom such that there is a temperature sensor mounted to a side of at least one of the first and second plates wherein the at least one temperature sensor does not protrude from the at least one of the first and second plates, such as a temperature sensor being provided in the internal cooling channel 41 of the first or second plate of Modified Lundstrom, given Wei teaches this can monitor the temperature of a thermally conductive plate during operation.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rearranged the parts of modified Lundstrom such that the temperature sensor is configured to face the battery cell in order to, for example, monitor the portion of the first or second plate adjacent to the battery cell for a fault condition that can be associated with the battery cell (as taught by Wei), because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 3, Lundstrom discloses a third plate (another one of the cooling plates 4 that is not drawn to the claimed first of second plate, see Figs. 1-3 and 5-6). However, modified Lundstrom does not meet the limitation wherein the third plate has a temperature sensor that does not protrude from the third plate.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wei discloses a thermally conductive plate apparatus for cooling battery cells (P56). Wei discloses the thermally conductive plate includes first and second opposing walls (P56). Wei discloses the second wall includes a conduit for receiving a temperature sensor (P66) Wei teaches the temperature sensor is included in the thermally conductive plate for generating a temperature signal representing the temperature of the plate during operation (P66). Wei teaches if the temperature in the thermally conductive plate is elevated above the temperature of another plate, this may indicate a fault condition associated with the thermally conductive plate or a battery cell in thermal communication with the plate (P66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Wei and modified Modified Lundstrom such that there is a temperature sensor in the third plate that does not protrude from the third plate, such as a temperature sensor being provided in the internal cooling channel 41 of the third plate of Modified Lundstrom, given Wei teaches this can monitor the temperature of a thermally conductive plate during operation.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Hu et al (US 20110159340 A1) and Ishihara et al (US 20170069894 A1) and Lim (US 20140193685 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Lundstrom does not meet the limitation wherein the temperature control device further comprises spacer plates configured to surround the battery cell, wherein the thickness of all the spacer plates is substantially equal to the thickness of the battery cell.
In a similar field of endeavor, Hu teaches a plurality of heat conduction plates (510 in Fig. 5) sandwiched between two battery cells of a plurality of battery cells in a battery module (502 in Fig. 5; P37, 48). Hu teaches the heat conduction plate includes a plurality of structure supports, two layers of a heat conduction layer, and a plurality of heat insulation layers (P49).
Hu teaches when any one of the battery cells in the battery module releases heat abnormally due to short-circuit, overcharging, or other reasons, the battery cell may then result in thermal runaway (P13). Hu teaches the heat diffusion from the battery cell to the neighboring battery cells can be effectively insulated by the heat insulation layer in the composite heat conduction plate (P13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Hou and provided to modified Lundstrom a heat conducting plate in each battery pack unit (10) such that there is a heat conducting plate between the circuit carrying sheet (3) and the adjacent cooling plate (4) of an adjacent battery pack unit (10), given Hu teaches this can insulate a battery cell from a neighboring cell undergoing thermal runaway.
In Lundstrom Fig. 1 there are approximately 32 cooling plates 4 seen. Therefore, it can be assumed that since each battery pack unit 10 includes a cooling plate 4, there are 32 battery pack units 10. An annotated Fig. is provided on the following page to show Examiner’s interpretation of the temperature control device of modified Lundstrom.
The heat conduction plates in modified Lundstrom can be drawn to the claimed spacer plates configured to surround the battery cell, as they would ‘surround’ a battery cell by being disposed on two opposite sides of the battery cell (see the annotated figure provided on the following page).
However, while the battery cells of Lundstrom are prismatic battery cells (see Fig. 3 and P3), modified Lundstrom is silent to the thickness of the battery cell and the thickness of the spacer plates.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ishihara teaches a prismatic battery includes a prismatic battery case hosting an electrode assembly (P32-35 and Fig. 1). Ishihara teaches a prismatic battery case can be 1 mm in thickness (P137).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Ishihara and substituted the case of the battery cell of modified Lundstrom with the prismatic battery case of Ishihara or substituted the battery cell of modified Lundstrom with the prismatic battery of Ishihara in order to provide modified Lundstrom with a battery cell having a thickness of 1 mm, given both battery cells are prismatic and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Further, in a similar field of endeavor, Lim teaches thermal insulating members can be interposed between a plurality of battery cells to control heat generated from the battery cells (P31). Lim teaches the thickness of the heat insulating members can be about 0.5 mm to about 2 mm in order to ensure that the heat insulating member is able to sufficiently reduce and/or prevent thermal conduction between two battery cells and provide that the volume of a battery module per unit capacity may not be undesirably increased (P38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Lim and modified the spacer plates of modified Lundstrom to have a thickness between 0.5 mm and 2 mm, for example, selecting the spacer plates to have a thickness of 0.5 mm, given Lim teaches this ensure that a heat insulating member is able to sufficiently reduce and/or prevent thermal conduction between two battery cells and provide that the volume of a battery module per unit capacity may not be undesirably increased.
Given a 0.5 mm thickness for an insulating structure between battery cells lies within the range of thicknesses taught by Lim and would provide the benefits as taught by Lim, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to choose wherein the thickness of each of the spacer plates of modified Lundstrom is 0.5 mm. A rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (see MPEP §§ 2143 and 2143.02).
If each of the spacer plates of modified Lundstrom is 0.5mm then the two spacer plates that would be disposed in the temperature control device of modified Lundstrom, as shown in the annotated Fig. provided above, have a combined thickness of 1 mm, which is the same thickness as the battery cell of modified Lundstrom.
Regarding claim 5, Lundstrom discloses a third plate for electrically contacting the battery cell (circuit carrying sheet 3 in Fig. 3; see entire disclosure and especially P53-54).
Regarding claim 6, Lundstrom discloses at least two connectors of the battery cell (tabs 21, 22 in Fig. 3; see entire disclosure and especially P52). Lundstrom discloses the third plate (circuit carrying sheet 3) includes power connection tabs (31a, 31b in Fig. 3) and communication tabs (32, 33 in Fig. 3) that are provided with bare contact surface to electrically connect the third plate to the at least two connectors (tabs 21, 22) of the battery cell (see entire disclosure and especially P55-56). Therefore, at least part/portion of the at least two connectors (tabs 21, 22) of the battery cell rest flush against the third plate (circuit carrying sheet 3).
Given the spacer plates of modified Lundstrom enclose sides of the battery cell that the terminals are not on (see Figs. 1-2 of Lundstrom and the annotated figure provided with the rejection of claim 4), it can be said that modified Lundstrom meets the limitation “wherein the spacer plates are configured to enclose the battery cell in such a way that at least two connectors of the battery cell can rest flush on the third plate”.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”) in view of Hu et al (US 20110159340 A1) in view of Ishihara et al (US 20170069894 A1) in view of Lim (US 20140193685 A1) as applied to claim 5, further in view of Maeda et al (US 5299955 A) in view of Productivity Inc. (Benefits of Automation in Manufacturing).
Regarding claim 7, modified Lundstrom does not meet the limitation wherein the coupling is automatically actuated and thereby enables automatable connection of the temperature control device to the cooling system.
In similar field of endeavor, Maeda teaches a structure a frame (6 in Fig. 1) includes a plurality of engaging portions (7a/7b in Fig. 1) that mate with pin holes (9a/10 in Fig. 1) on electrode connecting terminals (9a/10 in Fig. 1) in order to mount the connecting terminals on the frame (see entire disclosure and especially C2 / L58 – C3 / L22; C3 / L66 – C4 / L9). Maeda teaches this improves the efficiency of the mounting and allows the mounting to be automated (see entire disclosure and especially C3 / L66 – C4 / L9).
While Maeda is drawn to connecting a frame to connecting terminals rather than coupling a channel to a cooling system, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits that improved efficiency and automation could provide to the coupling of a channel to a cooling system. If a technique has been used to improve one device (utilize engaging portions and pin holes that allow automated coupling between a frame and electrode connecting terminals), and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way (utilize engaging portions and pin holes that allow automated coupling between a channel and a cooling system), using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. SEE MPEP § 2141 (III) Rationale C, KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Maeda and substituted the coupling of modified Lundstrom with the engaging portions and pin hole coupling/mounting as described by Maeda, given Maeda teaches this improves the efficiency of the mounting/coupling and allows the mounting to be automated.
However, modified Lundstrom does not explicitly teach the coupling it automatically actuated.
Productivity Inc. teaches that automation in manufacturing is paramount (see entire disclosure and especially Page 1). Productivity Inc. teaches the biggest impacts of automation is lowered operating costs, improved worker safety, reduced factory lead ties, faster ROI, increased production output, and consistent and improved part production (see entire disclosure and especially Pages 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Productivity Inc. and modified the coupling of modified Lundstrom to be automatically actuated and thereby enable automatable connection of the temperature control device to the cooling system, given Productivity Inc. teaches automation can provide lowered operating costs, improved worker safety, reduced factory lead ties, faster ROI, increased production output, and consistent and improved part production.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Wang et al (US 20170301966 A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Lundstrom does not meet the limitation wherein at least one of the first and second plates has at least one temperature adjustment mechanism configured to independently adjust the temperature of the battery cell at multiple locations.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wang teaches a method for preheating a battery (Abstract). Wang teaches the method includes acquiring an ambient temperature of an internal space where a battery is sealed (preheating zone) (see entire disclosure and especially P62-63). Wang teaches in order to increase temperature uniformity in the preheating zone, a temperature sensor may be configured to be at predetermined positions in the preheating zone to acquire ambient temperatures in different positions (see entire disclosure and especially P106). Wang teaches a region where each predetermined position is located includes a heat supply block that can supply heat separately (see entire disclosure and especially P106). Wang teaches this allows both the acquiring of ambient temperatures at respective positions during preheating and adjustment of current temperatures at respective positions when the ambient temperature does not satisfy the preset temperature condition (see entire disclosure and also P106).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Wang and provided to modified Lundstrom wherein at least one of the first and second plates has at least one temperature adjustment mechanism configured to independently adjust the temperature of the battery cell at multiple locations, such as providing to at least one of the first or second plates temperature sensors at predetermined positions and heat supply blocks at predetermined positions, given Wang teaches this allows for the preheating of a battery, acquiring the ambient temperatures at respective positions during preheating, and adjustment of a current temperature at a respective position that does not satisfy the preset temperature condition during preheating.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Sfarzo et al (US 20090169977 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Lundstrom does not meet the limitation wherein the temperature control device further comprises a force sensor configured to measure a force that acts on the battery cell.
In a similar field of endeavor, Sfarzo teaches a battery can include a battery force sensor (see entire disclosure and especially P26). Sfarzo teaches the battery force sensor is configured to detect the magnitude of one or more various forces that may influence the battery, such as forces that may produce a change in the movement, size, shape, or other effects of the battery (see entire disclosure and especially P27). Sfarzo teaches, for example, the battery force sensor may be configured to detect the magnitude of one or more internal forces generated by conditions internal to battery, such as internal pressure that may build up within the battery (e.g., due to latent cell or pack manufacturing or assembly defects, improper charging or discharging conditions, heat, etc.) and cause the battery to expand (e.g., beyond expected limits) (see entire disclosure and especially P27). Sfarzo teaches the battery force sensor produces one or more force output signals based upon the one or more detected forces and these signals are evaluated be a processing component in order appropriately determine a state or condition of the battery and, thus, to appropriately control the operation of a device the battery is used within (see entire disclosure and especially P28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Sfarzo and provided to modified Lundstrom a force sensor configured to measure a force that acts on the battery cell, given Sfarzo teaches a force sensor can detect the magnitude of one or more various forces that may influence a battery and send output signals based on the detected forces in order appropriately determine a state or condition of the battery and, thus, to appropriately control the operation of a device the battery is used within.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Kim et al (US 20190198911 A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Lundstrom does not meet the limitation wherein the temperature control device further comprises an actuator configured to maintain a constant clamping force on the battery cell as the battery cell expands.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches a pressuring structure applies constant pressure to a lithium secondary cell (see entire disclosure and especially P75). Kim teaches this allows a thickness change due to lithium may be minimized during charge and discharge, and a lithium electrodeposition density may be increased, and thus charging and discharging efficiency may be increased (see entire disclosure and especially P75). Kim teaches, that is, since constant pressure may be applied to the lithium secondary cell in both a state in which a volume of the lithium secondary cell expands, e.g., increases, during charge and a state in which a volume of the lithium secondary cell contracts, e.g., decreases, during discharge, a lithium electrodeposition density during charge may be increased, and lithium ions move to the cathode layer during discharge, and thus charging and discharging efficiency may be increased (see entire disclosure and especially P76).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Kim and provided to modified Lundstrom an actuator configured to maintain a constant clamping force on the battery cell as the battery cell expands, such as the pressing structure of Kim, given Kim teaches this allows a thickness change due to lithium may be minimized during charge and discharge, and a lithium electrodeposition density may be increased, and thus charging and discharging efficiency may be increased.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”) as applied to claim 1, further in view of West et al (US 20110174084 A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Lundstrom does not meet the limitation wherein the temperature control device further comprises at least one of a force sensor and an actuator, wherein: the force sensor is configured to measure a force that acts on the battery cell; the actuator is configured to maintain a constant clamping force on the battery cell as the battery cell expands; and at least one of the force sensor and the actuator incudes at least one of a piezocrystalline device, a piezoelectric device, and a magnetostrictive device.
In a similar field of endeavor, West teaches one or more force sensors (piezoelectric) may be coupled to one or more components of an energy storage device and may respond to or otherwise detect and indicate (e.g., DC signal, AC signal) forces or changes in force acting on one or more components of the energy storage device (see entire disclosure and especially P68). West teaches the energy storage device can include battery cells (see entire disclosure and especially P51, 63).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of West and provided to modified Lundstrom a force sensor configured to measure a force that acts on the battery cell, such as a piezoelectric force sensor as taught by West, given west teaches utilizing a piezoelectric force sensor allows a response to or otherwise detection and indication of forces or changes in force acting on one or more components of an energy storage device (for example, forces or changes in force acting on the battery cells of the energy storage device).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) as applied to claim 12, OR Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”) as applied to claim 12, further in view of Madsen (US 20180073509 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Lundstrom/modified Lundstrom does not meet the limitation wherein the coolant source includes at least one pressure accumulator.
Analogous art is a term used to connect multiple prior arts that are in the same field of endeavor. Lundstrom and Madsen are analogous art due to their disclosed contents being directed to fluid systems.
Madsen teaches house water systems comprise a pressure accumulator in order to be able to maintain a certain operating pressure in the system (see entire disclosure and especially P16).
While Madsen teaches a pressure accumulator used within a house water system rather than in a coolant source for temperature control device for a battery, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that being able to maintain/control pressure within a coolant source would be a benefit to the temperature control device of Lundstrom. If a technique has been used to improve one device (utilizing a pressure accumulator in a house water system to maintain pressure in the system), and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way (utilizing a pressure accumulator in a coolant source to maintain pressure in the coolant source), using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. SEE MPEP § 2141 (III) Rationale C, KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Madsen and provided to Lundstrom/modified Lundstrom wherein the coolant source includes at least one pressure accumulator, given Madsen teaches pressure accumulators allow maintenance of desired operating pressures within a fluid system.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) as applied to claim 12, OR Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”) as applied to claim 12, further in view of Carpenter (US 20150013367 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Lundstrom/modified Lundstrom does not meet the limitation wherein the coolant source includes a pressure relief valve configured to allow coolant to escape.
In a similar field of endeavor, Carpenter teaches a refrigerant circuit can include a pressure relief valve to protect the refrigerant circuit by venting refrigerant in the event that the refrigerant pressure exceeds a selected maximum (see entire disclosure and especially P32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Carpenter and provided to Lundstrom/modified Lundstrom wherein the coolant source includes a pressure relief valve configured to allow coolant to escape, given Carpenter teaches a pressure relief valve can protect a cooling circuit by venting coolant (refrigerant) in the event that the coolant (refrigerant) pressure exceeds a selected maximum.
Claims 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”) as applied to claim 12.
Regarding claim 15, in view of the alternative 103 rejection of claim 12 over Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”):
Modified Lundstrom meets the limitation wherein the at least two temperature control devices further comprise a coupling releasably connecting the at least one channel to the coolant source (the coupling (inlet/outlet 43/42) and/or connection pipes (17/18) are formed as quick connectors and/or have a quick-connect relationship in modified Lundstrom; one of ordinary skill in art would understand that quick connectors/quick-connect relationships are engineered to be a releasable connection; therefore, modified Lundstrom would meet the limitation wherein “the coupling is configured to releasably connect the at least one channel to a coolant source”).
Regarding claim 20, in view of the alternative 103 rejection of claim 12 over Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”):
Lundstrom discloses a third plate for electrically contacting the battery cell (circuit carrying sheet 3 in Fig. 3; see entire disclosure and especially P53-54).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”) as applied to claim 15, further in view of Maeda et al (US 5299955 A) in view of Productivity Inc. (Benefits of Automation in Manufacturing).
Regarding claim 16, modified Lundstrom does not meet the limitation wherein the coupling is automatically actuated.
In similar field of endeavor, Maeda teaches a structure a frame (6 in Fig. 1) includes a plurality of engaging portions (7a/7b in Fig. 1) that mate with pin holes (9a/10 in Fig. 1) on electrode connecting terminals (9a/10 in Fig. 1) in order to mount the connecting terminals on the frame (see entire disclosure and especially C2 / L58 – C3 / L22; C3 / L66 – C4 / L9). Maeda teaches this improves the efficiency of the mounting and allows the mounting to be automated (see entire disclosure and especially C3 / L66 – C4 / L9).
While Maeda is drawn to connecting a frame to connecting terminals rather than coupling a channel to a cooling system, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits that improved efficiency and automation could provide to the coupling of a channel to a cooling system. If a technique has been used to improve one device (utilize engaging portions and pin holes that allow automated coupling between a frame and electrode connecting terminals), and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way (utilize engaging portions and pin holes that allow automated coupling between a channel and a cooling system), using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill. SEE MPEP § 2141 (III) Rationale C, KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Maeda and substituted the coupling of modified Lundstrom with the engaging portions and pin hole coupling/mounting as described by Maeda, given Maeda teaches this improves the efficiency of the mounting/coupling and allows the mounting to be automated.
However, modified Lundstrom does not explicitly teach the coupling it automatically actuated.
Productivity Inc. teaches that automation in manufacturing is paramount (see entire disclosure and especially Page 1). Productivity Inc. teaches the biggest impacts of automation is lowered operating costs, improved worker safety, reduced factory lead ties, faster ROI, increased production output, and consistent and improved part production (see entire disclosure and especially Pages 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Productivity Inc. and modified the coupling of modified Lundstrom to be automatically actuated and thereby enable automatable connection of the temperature control device to the cooling system, given Productivity Inc. teaches automation can provide lowered operating costs, improved worker safety, reduced factory lead ties, faster ROI, increased production output, and consistent and improved part production.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) as applied to claim 12, OR Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”) as applied to claim 12, further in view of Wei et al (US 20130171491 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Lundstrom/modified Lundstrom does not disclose/meet the limitation wherein at least one temperature sensor mounted to a side of at least one of the first and second plates configured to face the battery cell, wherein the at least one temperature sensor does not protrude from the at least one of the first and second plates.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wei discloses a thermally conductive plate apparatus for cooling battery cells (P56). Wei discloses the thermally conductive plate includes first and second opposing walls (P56). Wei discloses the second wall includes a conduit for receiving a temperature sensor (P66) Wei teaches the temperature sensor is included in the thermally conductive plate for generating a temperature signal representing the temperature of the plate during operation (P66). Wei teaches if the temperature in the thermally conductive plate is elevated above the temperature of another plate, this may indicate a fault condition associated with the thermally conductive plate or a battery cell in thermal communication with the plate (P66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Wei and modified Lundstrom/Modified Lundstrom such that there is a temperature sensor mounted to a side of at least one of the first and second plates wherein the at least one temperature sensor does not protrude from the at least one of the first and second plates, such as a temperature sensor being provided in the internal cooling channel 41 of the first or second plate of each of the temperature control devices of Lundstrom/Modified Lundstrom, given Wei teaches this can monitor the temperature of a thermally conductive plate during operation.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rearranged the parts of modified Lundstrom such that the temperature sensor is configured to face the battery cell in order to, for example, monitor the portion of the first or second plate adjacent to the battery cell for a fault condition that can be associated with the battery cell (as taught by Wei), because the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 18, Lundstrom discloses a third plate (as seen in Fig. 1, Lundstrom has at least ten plates, therefore, each “temperature control device” of the at least two control devices can include a first plate, a second plate, and a third plate; the third plate of each “temperature control device” can be drawn to another one of the cooling plates 4 that is not drawn to the claimed first of second plate of each “temperature control device”, see Figs. 1-3 and 5-6). However, Lundstrom/modified Lundstrom does not meet the limitation wherein the third plate has a temperature sensor that does not protrude from the third plate.
In a similar field of endeavor, Wei discloses a thermally conductive plate apparatus for cooling battery cells (P56). Wei discloses the thermally conductive plate includes first and second opposing walls (P56). Wei discloses the second wall includes a conduit for receiving a temperature sensor (P66) Wei teaches the temperature sensor is included in the thermally conductive plate for generating a temperature signal representing the temperature of the plate during operation (P66). Wei teaches if the temperature in the thermally conductive plate is elevated above the temperature of another plate, this may indicate a fault condition associated with the thermally conductive plate or a battery cell in thermal communication with the plate (P66).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Wei and modified Lundstrom/Modified Lundstrom such that there is a temperature sensor in the third plate of each temperature control device that does not protrude from the third plate, such as a temperature sensor being provided in the internal cooling channel 41 of the third plate of Lundstrom/Modified Lundstrom, given Wei teaches this can monitor the temperature of a thermally conductive plate during operation.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) as applied to claim 12, OR Lundstrom (US 20150104683 A1) in view of Norma Group (The Fundamentals and Top Three Uses of Quick Connectors, hereinafter referred to as “Norma”) as applied to claim 12, further in view of Hu et al (US 20110159340 A1) and Ishihara et al (US 20170069894 A1) and Lim (US 20140193685 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Lundstrom/modified Lundstrom does not meet the limitation wherein the temperature control device further comprises spacer plates configured to surround the battery cell, wherein the thickness of all the spacer plates is substantially equal to the thickness of the battery cell.
In a similar field of endeavor, Hu teaches a plurality of heat conduction plates (510 in Fig. 5) sandwiched between two battery cells of a plurality of battery cells in a battery module (502 in Fig. 5; P37, 48). Hu teaches the heat conduction plate includes a plurality of structure supports, two layers of a heat conduction layer, and a plurality of heat insulation layers (P49).
Hu teaches when any one of the battery cells in the battery module releases heat abnormally due to short-circuit, overcharging, or other reasons, the battery cell may then result in thermal runaway (P13). Hu teaches the heat diffusion from the battery cell to the neighboring battery cells can be effectively insulated by the heat insulation layer in the composite heat conduction plate (P13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Hou and provided to Lundstrom/modified Lundstrom a heat conducting plate in each battery pack unit (10) such that there is a heat conducting plate between the circuit carrying sheet (3) and the adjacent cooling plate (4) of an adjacent battery pack unit (10), given Hu teaches this can insulate a battery cell from a neighboring cell undergoing thermal runaway.
In Lundstrom Fig. 1 there are approximately 32 cooling plates 4 seen. Therefore, it can be assumed that since each battery pack unit 10 includes a cooling plate 4, there are 32 battery pack units 10. An annotated Fig. is provided on the following page to show Examiner’s interpretation of the temperature control device of modified Lundstrom.
The heat conduction plates in modified Lundstrom can be drawn to the claimed spacer plates configured to surround the battery cell, as they would ‘surround’ a battery cell by being disposed on two opposite sides of the battery cell (see the annotated figure provided on the following page).
However, while the battery cells of Lundstrom are prismatic battery cells (see Fig. 3 and P3), modified Lundstrom is silent to the thickness of the battery cell and the thickness of the spacer plates.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ishihara teaches a prismatic battery includes a prismatic battery case hosting an electrode assembly (P32-35 and Fig. 1). Ishihara teaches a prismatic battery case can be 1 mm in thickness (P137).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Ishihara and substituted the case of the battery cell of modified Lundstrom with the prismatic battery case of Ishihara or substituted the battery cell of modified Lundstrom with the prismatic battery of Ishihara in order to provide modified Lundstrom with a battery cell having a thickness of 1 mm, given both battery cells are prismatic and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Further, in a similar field of endeavor, Lim teaches thermal insulating members can be interposed between a plurality of battery cells to control heat generated from the battery cells (P31). Lim teaches the thickness of the heat insulating members can be about 0.5 mm to about 2 mm in order to ensure that the heat insulating member is able to sufficiently reduce and/or prevent thermal conduction between two battery cells and provide that the volume of a battery module per unit capacity may not be undesirably increased (P38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teaching of Lim and modified the spacer plates of modified Lundstrom to have a thickness between 0.5 mm and 2 mm, for example, selecting the spacer plates to have a thickness of 1 mm, given Lim teaches this ensure that a heat insulating member is able to sufficiently reduce and/or prevent thermal conduction between two battery cells and provide that the volume of a battery module per unit capacity may not be undesirably increased.
Given a 0.5 mm thickness for an insulating structure between battery cells lies within the range of thicknesses taught by Lim and would provide the benefits as taught by Lim, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to choose wherein the thickness of each of the spacer plates of modified Lundstrom is 0.5 mm. A rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007) (see MPEP §§ 2143 and 2143.02).
If each of the spacer plates of modified Lundstrom is 0.5mm then the two spacer plates that would be disposed in the temperature control device of modified Lundstrom, as shown in the annotated Fig. provided above, have a combined thickness of 1 mm, which is the same thickness as the battery cell of modified Lundstrom.
Conclusion
/MARY GRACE HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1729