DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-9 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scoville et al. (US 2020/0130993 A1) in view of Tyni (CN 1976855 A) and Pan (CN 104995930 B) (hereinafter rejections rely on provided English equivalent machine translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Scoville discloses a method and an elevator system (e.g. Fig. 1) having an object tracking functionality (e.g. Fig. 5), the elevator system comprising:
at least one elevator shaft along which at least one elevator car is configured to travel between a plurality of floors (e.g. Fig. 1),
a plurality of receiver devices (e.g. Fig. 5: 205, 310) forming a wireless network (e.g. [0050-0054]),
wherein at least one elevator interface device of the elevator system on each floor comprises one receiver device of the plurality of receiver devices (e.g. [0051]: door lock on a floor to gain access to elevator, or wireless access protocol device for the elevator system),
a computing unit (e.g. Fig. 2: 206), at least one gateway device (e.g. Fig. 2: 264) for providing connection between the wireless mesh network and the computing unit, and an object (e.g. Figs. 2-5: mobile phone 208),
wherein each of the plurality of receiver devices is configured to: monitor advertisement signals transmitted by the one or more tag devices within an operational range of said receiver device (e.g. [0048, 0060]),
wherein each advertisement signal comprises an identifier for identifying the tag device transmitting said advertisement signal (e.g. [0048-0049]: MAC address/chip signature), and
provide device data associated with each detected advertisement signal to the computing unit via the wireless network and the at least one gateway device (e.g.Figs. 2-5), wherein the device data comprises signal strength value of the detected advertisement signal (e.g. [0048-0060]: signal strength) and the identifier of the detected advertisement signal (e.g. [0048-0049]: MAC address/chip signature), and wherein the computing unit is configured to define a location of the object based on the provided device data associated with said object (e.g. [0040-0060]: determine location of the mobile phone).
Scoville fails to disclose, but Tyni teaches a mesh network (Fig. 3 & p. 8: mesh network), and one or more tag devices each attached to an object (e.g. Abstract & p. 3-6: RFID technology on the mobile phone/access card).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Scoville with the teachings of Tyni to utilize mesh network and RFID technology to communicate user device (mobile phone/access card) with elevator system controller. It is merely simple substitutions of one known method with another since WiFi and mesh network communication are well-known alternative in the art, and the modification would have yielded only predictable results to one skilled in the art.
In addition, Scoville discloses the computing unit is configured to define the location of the object based on the signal strength values comprised in the device data provided by at least three receiver devices (e.g. [0043, 0053]: triangulation, trilateration, signal strength detection).
Scoville and Tyni in combination fails to disclose, but Pan teaches the computing unit is configured to define the location of the object based on the signal strength values comprised in the device data provided by at least three receiver devices on three different floors among the plurality of floors (e.g. p. 2 & p. 8 and Fig. 2: determine position of client device CD using position triangulation based on signals from reference point transmitters, such as RP1-RP3 on different floors).
Both Scoville and Pan disclose the position triangulation (i.e. utilizing three reference signals to determine object location) is known in the art, and Pan particularly states the use of three reference transmitters from three different floors in an elevator system when determining object position.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the teachings of Scoville with the teachings of Pan to determine object position using position triangulation based on signals from three different locations, since it is merely simple substitutions of one known method with another and/or utilizing a known technique in a known device ready for improvement. And, the modification would have yielded only predictable results to one skilled in the art.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Scoville discloses the computing unit (e.g. Fig. 2: 206) is an elevator control unit or an external computing unit connected to the elevator system via the at least one gateway device (e.g. Fig. 2: 264).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Tyni teaches the wireless mesh network is based on a Bluetooth communication protocol (e.g. p. 7-8).
Claim(s) 3 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scoville et al. (US 2020/0130993 A1) in view of Tyni (CN 1976855 A) and Pan (CN 104995930 B) (hereinafter rejections rely on provided English equivalent machine translation) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Prevatt (US 2019/0037350 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Scoville discloses the computing unit is configured to utilize the signal strength values to define the location of the object (e.g. [0048-0060]), but it fails to disclose filtering the signal strength values, using Kalman filtering, before defining the location of the object.
However, Prevatt teaches filtering the signal strength values, using Kalman filtering, before defining the location of the object (e.g. [0530, 0551]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Scoville with the teachings of Prevatt to improve signal strength quality/condition and reduce tracking and locating errors.
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scoville et al. (US 2020/0130993 A1) in view of Tyni (CN 1976855 A) and Pan (CN 104995930 B) (hereinafter rejections rely on provided English equivalent machine translation) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Drako et al. (US 2018/0089916 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Scoville fails to disclose, but Drako teaches the device data further comprises a time stamp indicating a detection time of the advertisement signal (e.g. [0022, 0067, 0104]), and wherein the computing unit is further configured to define the location of the object at specific one or more instants of time and/or during a specific period of time (e.g. [0103-0108]: location of the device is estimated from the received signal corresponds to the received timestamp).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Scoville with the teachings of Drako to receive timestamp in a received signal so as to improve security when granting or denying access request by comparing whether the request is within a time range from the timestamp and whether the user identifier is authenticated.
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scoville et al. (US 2020/0130993 A1) in view of Tyni (CN 1976855 A) and Pan (CN 104995930 B) (hereinafter rejections rely on provided English equivalent machine translation) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Shahidi (US 2019/0080538 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Scoville fails to disclose, but Shahidi teaches the one or more tag devices each further comprises one or more sensor devices configured to provide environmental related information about the environment of said tag device, and wherein the device data further comprises the environmental related information (e.g. [0032]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Scoville with the teachings of Shahidi to include plurality of sensors within RFID device so as to utilize environmental information of the RFID device to accurately identify the location of the object associated with the RFID device.
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scoville et al. (US 2020/0130993 A1) in view of Tyni (CN 1976855 A) and Pan (CN 104995930 B) (hereinafter rejections rely on provided English equivalent machine translation) as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Herkel et al. (US 2012/0080273 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Scoville discloses receiver devices (e.g. Fig. 2: 205, 310 & [0043-0045]: sensor 205 is connected to elevator controller 206 and is capable of determining position of mobile device 208 and elevator parameter).
Scoville fails to disclose, but Herkel teaches the receiver device (e.g. Fig. 1: sensor 12, 14) is powered by an elevator control bus (e.g. Fig. 1 & [0014]: CAN bus 34).
Scoville silence on how the sensor/receiver receives power; however, there is only a finite number of solutions to provide power to a sensor (via internal battery and/or a power bus to receive power externally).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Scoville with the teachings of Herkel to provide power to elevator sensors via elevator CAN bus, since it is merely utilizing a known power supply assembly in a known device requires power to function properly. The modification would have yielded only predictable results to one skilled in the art.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scoville et al. (US 2020/0130993 A1) in view of Tyni (CN 1976855 A), Pan (CN 104995930 B) (hereinafter rejections rely on provided English equivalent machine translation) and Prevatt (US 2019/0037350 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Drako et al. (US 2018/0089916 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Scoville fails to disclose, but Drako teaches the device data further comprises a time stamp indicating a detection time of the advertisement signal (e.g. [0022, 0067, 0104]), and wherein the computing unit is further configured to define the location of the object at specific one or more instants of time and/or during a specific period of time (e.g. [0103-0108]: location of the device is estimated from the received signal corresponds to the received timestamp).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Scoville with the teachings of Drako to receive timestamp in a received signal so as to improve security when granting or denying access request by comparing whether the request is within a time range from the timestamp and whether the user identifier is authenticated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11-16 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAWING CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837