@101DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/07/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scoville et al. (US 2020/0130993 A1) in view of Tyni (CN 200580021685 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Scoville discloses a method and an elevator system (e.g. Fig. 1) having an object tracking functionality (e.g. Fig. 5), the elevator system comprising:
at least one elevator shaft along which at least one elevator car is configured to travel between a plurality of floors (e.g. Fig. 1),
a plurality of receiver devices (e.g. Fig. 5: 205, 310) forming a wireless network (e.g. [0050-0054]),
wherein at least one elevator interface device of the elevator system on each floor comprises one receiver device of the plurality of receiver devices (e.g. [0051]: door lock on a floor to gain access to elevator, or wireless access protocol device for the elevator system),
a computing unit (e.g. Fig. 2: 206), at least one gateway device (e.g. Fig. 2: 264) for providing connection between the wireless mesh network and the computing unit, and an object (e.g. Figs. 2-5: mobile phone 208),
wherein each of the plurality of receiver devices is configured to: monitor advertisement signals transmitted by the one or more tag devices within an operational range of said receiver device (e.g. [0048, 0060]),
wherein each advertisement signal comprises an identifier for identifying the tag device transmitting said advertisement signal (e.g. [0048-0049]: MAC address/chip signature), and
provide device data associated with each detected advertisement signal to the computing unit via the wireless network and the at least one gateway device (e.g.Figs. 2-5), wherein the device data comprises signal strength value of the detected advertisement signal (e.g. [0048-0060]: signal strength) and the identifier of the detected advertisement signal (e.g. [0048-0049]: MAC address/chip signature), and wherein the computing unit is configured to define a location of the object based on the provided device data associated with said object (e.g. [0040-0060]: determine location of the mobile phone).
Scoville fails to disclose, but Tyni teaches a mesh network (Fig. 3 & p. 8: mesh network), and one or more tag devices each attached to an object (e.g. Abstract & p. 3-6: RFID technology on the mobile phone/access card).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Scoville with the teachings of Tyni to utilize mesh network and RFID technology to communicate user device (mobile phone/access card) with elevator system controller. It is merely simple substitutions of one known method with another since WiFi and mesh network communication are well-known alternative in the art, and the modification would have yielded only predictable results to one skilled in the art.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Scoville discloses the computing unit is configured to define the location of the object based on the signal strength values comprised in the device data provided by at least three receiver devices (e.g. [0043, 0053]: triangulation, trilateration, signal strength detection).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 17, Scoville discloses the computing unit is configured to utilize the signal strength values to define the location of the object (e.g. [0048-0060]), but it fails to disclose filtering the signal strength values before defining the location of the object. However, the examiner is taking Official notice that filtering a raw signal before further processing the signal is well-known in the art since it would improve the signal quality by removing unwanted signal (i.e. noise).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Scoville discloses each receiver device (e.g. Fig. 5: 310); however, it fails to explicitly discloses the receiver device is powered by an elevator control bus.
However, the examiner is taking Official notice that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to power the receiver device (i.e. sensor 310) with any type of power including the elevator control bus, since there is only a finite number of solutions to provide power to the receiver device and one skilled in the art would have easily recognize the advantage of using control bus or power bus of the elevator system to provide power to all the elevator system components so as to save costs on providing different power sources for different system components.
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Scoville discloses the computing unit (e.g. Fig. 2: 206) is an elevator control unit or an external computing unit connected to the elevator system via the at least one gateway device (e.g. Fig. 2: 264).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Tyni teaches the wireless mesh network is based on a Bluetooth communication protocol (e.g. p. 7-8).
Claim(s) 4, 12 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scoville et al. (US 2020/0130993 A1) in view of Tyni (CN 200580021685 A) as applied to claims 1-3 and 9 above, and further in view of Drako et al. (US 2018/0089916 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 18-19, Scoville fails to disclose, but Drako teaches the device data further comprises a time stamp indicating a detection time of the advertisement signal (e.g. [0022, 0067, 0104]), and wherein the computing unit is further configured to define the location of the object at specific one or more instants of time and/or during a specific period of time (e.g. [0103-0108]: location of the device is estimated from the received signal corresponds to the received timestamp).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Scoville with the teachings of Drako to receive timestamp in a received signal so as to improve security when granting or denying access request by comparing whether the request is within a time range from the timestamp and whether the user identifier is authenticated.
Claim(s) 5, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scoville et al. (US 2020/0130993 A1) in view of Tyni (CN 200580021685 A) as applied to claims 1-2 and 9 above, and further in view of Shahidi (US 2019/0080538 A1).
Regarding claims 5, 13 and 20, Scoville fails to disclose, but Shahidi teaches the one or more tag devices each further comprises one or more sensor devices configured to provide environmental related information about the environment of said tag device, and wherein the device data further comprises the environmental related information (e.g. [0032]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Scoville with the teachings of Shahidi to include plurality of sensors within RFID device so as to utilize environmental information of the RFID device to accurately identify the location of the object associated with the RFID device.
Conclusion
/KAWING CHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846