DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawn Specification Objection
The amendment(s) to the claim(s) filed December 11th, 2025 is acknowledged and the previous objection is withdrawn.
Withdrawn Drawings Objections
The amendment(s) to the claim(s) and/or drawings filed December 11th, 2025 is acknowledged and the previous objections are withdrawn.
Withdrawn Claim Objections
The amendment(s) to the claim(s) filed December 11th, 2025 is acknowledged and the previous objection is withdrawn.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendment(s) to the claim(s) filed December 11th, 2025 is acknowledged and the previous rejections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiao et al. (CN209616916 (U) and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Xiao.
Regarding claim 1, Xaio discloses a charging station mounted fire extinguishing facilitating apparatus (i.e., at least [0002], [0007]-[0008], [0014], [0016], [0049]-[0053], [0054], Fig. 3), comprising:
a plurality of spaced interconnected partitions fixedly mounted at a charging station (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 3), and that define an interior volume within which a rechargeable electric battery is introducible and rechargeable (i.e., at least charging compartments ref. 351 as disclosed in [0053] and shown in Annotated Fig. 3, also see [0075]-[0077], [0080]-[0081], [0084]-[0085], [0094], [0096]-[0097]), and
one or more peripheral cavities in communication with said interior volume (i.e., at least ref 340 as disclosed in [0051] and shown in at least Annotated Fig. 3, also see [0055], [0058]-[0059], lacking any further structural distinction thereof),
within each of said one or more peripheral cavities a sealed heat sensitive package containing a flowable fire extinguishing material is receivable (i.e., at least fire extinguishing container ref. 3820 filled with gaseous fire extinguishing agent located in the upper cavity ref. 340 as disclosed in [0105]-[0106], such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said fire extinguishing container is at least a sealed heat sensitive package containing a flow fire extinguishing material so that as disclosed in [0107] the fire extinguishing hose ref. 3840 quickly melts and breaks when the temperature is too high or an open flame is generated in a certain charging compartment ref. 351, such that this allows the gaseous fire extinguishing agent in the fire extinguishing container ref. 3820 to quickly flow into the corresponding charging compartment ref. 351, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof),
wherein said heat sensitive package is confined by the partitions defining the one or more peripheral cavities cavity within which it is received so as to remain in fixed spatial relationship to said interior volume and separated therefrom (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 37).
Since Xiao discloses in [0106] as shown in Fig. 38, fire-fighting device ref. 3710 includes a fire extinguishing container support ref. 3810, which is located inside the upper cavity ref. 340, whereby a fire extinguishing container ref. 3820 is provided at the fire extinguishing container support ref. 3810, etc., and further discloses in [0106]-[0107] the opening of the fire extinguishing container ref. 3820 is connected to a fire extinguishing hose ref. 3840, etc., and the fire extinguishing hose ref. 3840 quickly melts and breaks when the temperature is too high or an open flame is generated in a certain charging compartment ref. 351, such that this allows the gaseous fire extinguishing agent in the fire extinguishing container ref. 3820 to quickly flow into the corresponding charging compartment ref. 351, etc., this at least provides said heat sensitive package is configured to be sufficiently deformed so as to become perforated in at least one package region during exposure to a predetermined fire-induced temperature when said battery is inflamed, thereby allowing the contained fire extinguishing material to be discharged from said package via a perforation at said at least one package region, to flow into said interior volume, and to extinguish the fire, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said at least one package region is broad in scope, and is at least a fire extinguishing hose of said fire extinguishing container so as to quickly melt and break (i.e., at least perforate) when the temperature is too high or an open flame is generated in a certain charging compartment, thereby allowing the gaseous fire extinguishing agent in the fire extinguishing container to quickly flow into the corresponding charging compartment, etc., lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Annotated Figure 3 (Xiao)
Annotated Figure 37 (Xiao)
Regarding claim 9, Xiao discloses the apparatus as discussed above in claim 1. Xiao further discloses in [0004] traditional electric bicycles require the charge to be plugged into the charging port on the bicycle body for charging, however, due to the large size of the electric bicycles, charging is inconvenient, therefore, rechargeable batteries that can be separated from the electric vehicle body, etc., and further discloses in [0014] the present invention provides a charging cabinet, the cabinet main body includes a plurality of independent charging compartments for placing rechargeable batteries, etc., which at least provides (in an embodiment) the rechargeable electric battery is a rechargeable electric bicycle battery.
Furthermore, the examiner notes MPEP 2115: "Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim." Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, "[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Young, and the limitations relating to how the claimed apparatus works on the "the rechargeable battery" (i.e., the material worked upon) do not distinguish the claims from the prior art. Therefore, the limitation “the rechargeable electric battery is a rechargeable electric bicycle battery” does not provide additional structure to the apparatus, such that the material or article worked upon (i.e., rechargeable battery) by said apparatus being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Leng et al. (CN213720854(U) and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Leng.
Regarding claim 2, Xiao discloses the apparatus as discussed above in claim 1. Xiao further discloses in [0060] the compartment doors ref. 140 are all hinged to the corresponding charging compartments ref. 351, and each compartment door ref. 140 is equipped with an electronic lock, etc., which at least provides the plurality of partitions is mounted within an enclosed charging station (also see Figs. 1-4), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Although Xiao is silent as to the plurality of partitions is resistant to the fire-induced temperature, since Xiao discloses the plurality of partitions that are identical and/or substantially identical to that as claimed, properties and/or functions such as resistant to the fire-induced temperature are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I., II.).
In the alternative, and in the interest of compact prosecution, Leng teaches a high-flame-retardant storage cabinet made of polyamide material (Title). Leng further teaches in [n0006] a storage cabinet made of highly flame-retardant polyamide material, comprising a cabinet body, wherein the cabinet body is composed of a plurality of unit cabinets, wherein the plurality of unit cabinets are independently arranged and arranged in a matrix, wherein the unit cabinets comprise cabinet doors and cabinet boxes, etc. Leng further teaches in [n0002] the lockers are made of high-quality cold-rolled steel plates and have superior performance that traditional wood lockers cannot match, etc., which at least provides a lockable cabinet made of solid steel construction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Xiao with the teachings of Leng, whereby the charging station mounted fire extinguishing facilitating apparatus including the interconnected partitions, interior volume, one or more peripheral cavities, flowable fire extinguishing material, lockable cabinet, etc., as disclosed by Xiao further includes lockable cabinet made of solid steel construction as taught by Leng so as to have superior performance that traditional wood lockers cannot match.
Therefore, since the combined teachings of Xiao and Leng disclose the plurality of partitions that are identical and/or substantially identical to that as claimed, properties and/or functions such as resistant to the fire-induced temperature are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I., II.).
Regarding claim 3, Xiao discloses the apparatus as discussed above in claim 2. Xiao further discloses in [0060] the compartment doors ref. 140 are all hinged to the corresponding charging compartments ref. 351, and each compartment door ref. 140 is equipped with an electronic lock, etc., which at least provides the enclosed charging station is configured as a lockable cabinet (also see Figs. 1-4, 37, etc.).
However, Xiao is silent as to the enclosed charging station is configured as a lockable cabinet made of solid steel construction.
Leng teaches a high-flame-retardant storage cabinet made of polyamide material (Title). Leng further teaches in [n0006] a storage cabinet made of highly flame-retardant polyamide material, comprising a cabinet body, wherein the cabinet body is composed of a plurality of unit cabinets, wherein the plurality of unit cabinets are independently arranged and arranged in a matrix, wherein the unit cabinets comprise cabinet doors and cabinet boxes, etc. Leng further teaches in [n0002] the lockers are made of high-quality cold-rolled steel plates and have superior performance that traditional wood lockers cannot match, etc., which at least provides a lockable cabinet made of solid steel construction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Xiao with the teachings of Leng, whereby the charging station mounted fire extinguishing facilitating apparatus including the interconnected partitions, interior volume, one or more peripheral cavities, flowable fire extinguishing material, lockable cabinet, etc., as disclosed by Xiao further includes lockable cabinet made of solid steel construction as taught by Leng so as to have superior performance that traditional wood lockers cannot match.
Regarding claim 4, Xiao discloses the apparatus as discussed above in claim 3. Xiao further discloses in [0060] the compartment doors ref. 140 are all hinged to the corresponding charging compartments ref. 351, and each compartment door ref. 140 is equipped with an electronic lock, etc., such that as shown in at least Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 1 the enclosed charging station is at least configured as an array of the lockable cabinets.
However, Xiao is silent as to the enclosed charging station is configured as a lockable cabinet made of solid steel construction.
Leng teaches a high-flame-retardant storage cabinet made of polyamide material (Title). Leng further teaches in [n0006] a storage cabinet made of highly flame-retardant polyamide material, comprising a cabinet body, wherein the cabinet body is composed of a plurality of unit cabinets, wherein the plurality of unit cabinets are independently arranged and arranged in a matrix, wherein the unit cabinets comprise cabinet doors and cabinet boxes, etc. Leng further teaches in [n0002] the lockers are made of high-quality cold-rolled steel plates and have superior performance that traditional wood lockers cannot match, etc., which at least provides a lockable cabinet made of solid steel construction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Xiao with the teachings of Leng, whereby the charging station mounted fire extinguishing facilitating apparatus including the interconnected partitions, interior volume, one or more peripheral cavities, flowable fire extinguishing material, lockable cabinet, etc., as disclosed by Xiao further includes lockable cabinet made of solid steel construction as taught by Leng so as to have superior performance that traditional wood lockers cannot match.
Regarding claim 5, The combined teachings of Xiao and Leng disclose the apparatus as discussed above in claim 2. Xiao further discloses in [0059] the first panel ref. 130, the first cover plate ref. 210, the second panel ref. 150, the door ref. 140, the bottom plate ref. 320 and the top plate ref. 330 are provided with heat dissipation holes ref. 420 corresponding to the heat dissipation cavity, and the side plate ref. 111 is provided with heat dissipation holes ref. 160 corresponding to the charging compartment ref. 351, etc., which at least provides one or more of the partitions is of openwork construction defining a plurality of openings through which the fire extinguishing material is able to flow from one of the peripheral cavities to the interior volume, such that as disclosed in [0059] the heat dissipation holes ref. 160 allow the charging compartment ref. 351, the upper cavity ref. 340, and the rear cavity to communicate with the outside world and the heat dissipation cavity ref. 420, thereby effectively dissipating the heat generated inside the cabinet body ref. 110 during the charging process and thus effectively preventing various hidden dangers caused by high temperature.
Furthermore, since Xiao discloses one or more of the partitions is of openwork construction defining a plurality of openings, which is a product that is identical and/or substantially identical to the product as claimed, properties and/or functions such as through which the fire extinguishing material is able to flow from one of the peripheral cavities to the interior volume, are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I., II.), thereby effectively dissipating the heat generated inside the cabinet body ref. 110 during the charging process and thus effectively preventing various hidden dangers caused by high temperature.
Regarding claim 6, The combined teachings of Xiao and Leng disclose the apparatus as discussed above in claim 3. Xiao further discloses in [0059] the first panel ref. 130, the first cover plate ref. 210, the second panel ref. 150, the door ref. 140, the bottom plate ref. 320 and the top plate ref. 330 are provided with heat dissipation holes ref. 420 corresponding to the heat dissipation cavity, and the side plate ref. 111 is provided with heat dissipation holes ref. 160 corresponding to the charging compartment ref. 351, etc., which at least provides the plurality of interconnected partitions is configured as a main cage made at least partially of openwork construction and that is mounted within the charging station cabinet, such that as disclosed in [0059] the heat dissipation holes ref. 160 allow the charging compartment ref. 351, the upper cavity ref. 340, and the rear cavity to communicate with the outside world and the heat dissipation cavity ref. 420, thereby effectively dissipating the heat generated inside the cabinet body ref. 110 during the charging process and thus effectively preventing various hidden dangers caused by high temperature (also see Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 1, Figs. 1-4, and Fig. 37).
Regarding claim 7, The combined teachings of Xiao and Leng disclose the apparatus as discussed above in claim 6. Xiao further discloses an upper cage component mounted within the charging station cabinet above the main cage so as to be in communication with the interior volume, and defining another package-receivable cavity (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 1, also see [0105]-[0108], Figs. 1-4, 37), such that said upper cage component above the main cage is at least in communication with the interior volume so that as disclosed in [0059] the heat dissipation holes ref. 160 allow the charging compartment ref. 351, the upper cavity ref. 340, and the rear cavity to communicate with the outside world and the heat dissipation cavity ref. 420, thereby effectively dissipating the heat generated inside the cabinet body ref. 110 during the charging process and thus effectively preventing various hidden dangers caused by high temperature, etc., and lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Furthermore, since Xiao discloses in [0052] the rear side of the back plate ref. 310, together with the bottom plate ref. 320, the top plate ref. 330 and the side plate ref. 111, forms a rear cavity, etc., this at least provides an upper cage component mounted within the charging station cabinet above the main cage so as to be in communication with the interior volume, and defining another package-receivable cavity. Therefore, in one or more embodiments, Xiao at least discloses upper cage component(s), a main cage, and cavity(s), such that as disclosed said limitations are broad in scope, lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Furthermore, since Xiao discloses an upper cage component mounted within the charging station cabinet above the main cage so as to be in communication with the interior volume, which is an identical and/or substantially identical product to that claimed, properties and/or functions such as defining another package-receivable cavity are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.).
Furthermore, since Xiao discloses in [0106] as shown in Fig. 38, fire-fighting device ref. 3710 includes a fire extinguishing container support ref. 3810, which is located inside the upper cavity ref. 340, whereby a fire extinguishing container ref. 3820 is provided at the fire extinguishing container support ref. 3810, etc., and further discloses in [0106]-[0107] the opening of the fire extinguishing container ref. 3820 is connected to a fire extinguishing hose ref. 3840, etc., and the fire extinguishing hose ref. 3840 quickly melts and breaks when the temperature is too high or an open flame is generated in a certain charging compartment ref. 351, such that this allows the gaseous fire extinguishing agent in the fire extinguishing container ref. 3820 to quickly flow into the corresponding charging compartment ref. 351, etc., the skilled artisan before the effective filing date would appreciate duplicating said package-receivable cavity(s) (MPEP 2144.04, IV., B., In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) ) so as to allow the gaseous fire extinguishing agent in the fire extinguishing container to quickly flow into the corresponding charging compartment, etc.
Regarding claim 8, The combined teachings of Xiao and Leng disclose the apparatus as discussed above in claim 6. Xiao further discloses a lower cage component securely positioned on top of a cabinet bottom surface below the main cage so as to be in communication with the interior volume via a bottom cage section of the main cage and defining another package-receivable cavity (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 1, also see [0105]-[0108], Figs. 1-4, 37), such that said lower cage component on top of a cabinet bottom surface below the main cage is at least in communication with the interior volume so that as disclosed in [0063] the bent portion of the base plate ref. 320 and the side plate ref. 111 together form the bottom heat dissipation cavity ref. 380, and the formation of the bottom heat dissipation cavity ref. 380 can better increase the heat dissipation channel, thereby better improving the heat dissipation capacity, etc., (also see Figs. 1-4, [0094]).
Furthermore, since Xiao a lower cage component securely positioned on top of a cabinet bottom surface below the main cage so as to be in communication with the interior volume via a bottom cage section of the main cage, which is an identical and/or substantially identical product to that claimed, properties and/or functions such as defining another package-receivable cavity are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.).
Furthermore, since Xiao discloses in [0106] as shown in Fig. 38, fire-fighting device ref. 3710 includes a fire extinguishing container support ref. 3810, which is located inside the upper cavity ref. 340, whereby a fire extinguishing container ref. 3820 is provided at the fire extinguishing container support ref. 3810, etc., and further discloses in [0106]-[0107] the opening of the fire extinguishing container ref. 3820 is connected to a fire extinguishing hose ref. 3840, etc., and the fire extinguishing hose ref. 3840 quickly melts and breaks when the temperature is too high or an open flame is generated in a certain charging compartment ref. 351, such that this allows the gaseous fire extinguishing agent in the fire extinguishing container ref. 3820 to quickly flow into the corresponding charging compartment ref. 351, etc., the skilled artisan before the effective filing date would appreciate duplicating said package-receivable cavity(s) (MPEP 2144.04, IV., B., In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) ) so as to allow the gaseous fire extinguishing agent in the fire extinguishing container to quickly flow into the corresponding charging compartment, etc.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Zhou and Leng have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Therefore, in light of the amendments to the claims, a new grounds of 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection is made in view of Xiao for claims 1 and 9. See the current rejection of record for the claims that depend therefrom.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhou et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2022/0336921 A1) discloses a battery system and fire extinguishing method for battery system (Title), whereby as disclosed in [0056] the fire extinguishing apparatus may control spray time of the fire extinguishing agent in the fire extinguishing apparatus in an electric control manner, and when the apparatus is started, a large amount of fire extinguishing agent can be instantaneously sprayed to suppress burning of the battery module, etc.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727