Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (fig. 1) in the reply filed on 09/02/25 is acknowledged.
The Applicant submits that Species A and Species B are related. However, Species B includes a gas monitor and flow valve, whereas Species A does not include such features. Accordingly, the Applicant has elected Species A, as shown in fig. 1, and the claims 1-11 are directed to Species A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 106345400 (hereinafter CN ‘400).
As regarding claim 1, CN ‘400 discloses the claimed invention for an adsorbent composition for capturing pollutants, comprising: a porous composition that includes a plurality of ferric oxyhydroxide particles; and an additional component in the porous composition; wherein the additional component is selected from the group consisting of copper chloride (CuCl2), zinc chloride (ZnCl2), polyvinylpolypyrrolidone, silicon carbide, silicon dioxide, activated carbon or other carbonaceous material, and a combination thereof (abstract and claim 1).
With respect to the limitations recited in claims 7 and 11, which pertain to the manner in which a material or article is worked upon, it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article being worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. Further, it has been held that process limitations do not have patentable weight in an apparatus claim. See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969) that states “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and to an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 106345400 (hereinafter CN ‘400).
As regarding claims 2-5, CN ‘400 discloses all of limitations as set forth above. CN ‘400 discloses the claimed invention except for a diameter of each of the plurality of ferric oxyhydroxide particles being between 0.1 mm and 5mm; between 20 and 1000 square meters per gram; surface area between 50% and 75% of a total volume of the porous composition; and the additional component is between 25% and 50% of a total volume of the porous composition. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a diameter of each of the plurality of ferric oxyhydroxide particles being between 0.1 mm and 5mm; between 20 and 1000 square meters per gram; surface area between 50% and 75% of a total volume of the porous composition; and the additional component is between 25% and 50% of a total volume of the porous composition in order to maximized adsorption efficiency and capacity, minimize pressure drop, improve kinetic response and reduce material usage while maintaining performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As regarding claim 6, CN ‘400 discloses all of limitations as set forth above. CN ‘400 discloses the claimed invention except for iron sulfide. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide iron sulfide in order to provide the large surface area and pore structure of the support, yielding a high effective, selective, and stable material for removing pollutants, since it was known in the art as shown in Hayes et al (US 20120322696; hereinafter Hayes; claim 14).
As regarding claim 8, CN ‘400 discloses all of limitations as set forth above. CN ‘400 discloses the claimed invention except for an apparatus for capturing pollutants in a gaseous stream, comprising: a housing with an inlet and an outlet; and the adsorbent composition disposed in the housing, such that the gaseous stream is in contact with the adsorbent composition as the gaseous stream flows from the inlet to the outlet. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide iron sulfide in order to provide the large surface area and pore structure of the support, yielding a high effective, selective, and stable material for removing pollutants, since it was known in the art as shown in Chapel (US 3941573; abstract and figs. 1-5).
As regarding claim 9, CN ‘400 discloses all of limitations as set forth above. CN ‘400 discloses the claimed invention for wherein the apparatus is a replaceable cartridge (Chapel – abstract and figs. 1-2).
As regarding claim 10, CN ‘400 discloses all of limitations as set forth above. CN ‘400 discloses the claimed invention except for the housing comprising one of polyvinylchloride and stainless steel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide the housing comprising one of polyvinylchloride and stainless steel in order to provide mechanical, chemical , and thermal protection for the porous adsorbent, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773