DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected specie, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/11/21.
Applicant’s response of 5/8/24 indicated that claims 1-12 are generic, and claims 13-15 read on the specie 1. However, claim 10 is directed to subject matter in specie 2 and therefore claims 10 and 16-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Field US 6,059,967.
Claim 1, Field teaches a support grid assembly comprising: a central fluid manifold, including a mounting cylinder (52) and a panel mounting body (53), the panel mounting body having a lower wall (56) and an upper wall and including a plurality of sleeve openings (60) defined therebetween, the plurality of sleeve openings being spaced around the panel mounting body, and a plurality of screen panel assemblies (46), each screen panel assembly including a male connecting end (54) defining a panel assembly opening, the panel opening having a panel opening perimeter selected such that the male connecting end of each screen panel assembly is configured for slidable insertion through a corresponding one of the plurality of sleeve openings such that the male connecting end is located within a flow passage defined by the mounting cylinder, and wherein each screen panel assembly is individually, flexibly coupled to a corresponding sleeve opening such that each individual screen panel assembly can accommodate variations in the vessel floor (fig. 1-7, col. 4, line 56 – col. 5, line 9). The recitation of the assembly being for mounting on a vessel floor is a recitation of intended use and does not provide any further structural limitations to the apparatus.
Claims 2-3, 5, 7-9 and 11-12, Field further teaches each screen panel assembly includes a screen panel capable of filtering a fluid prior to the fluid entering an internal fluid connection area defined within each screen panel assembly (fig. 1-7); the central fluid manifold further comprises a cover plate (68) operably coupled to the panel mounting body (fig. 1-7); the cover plate defines a lower plate surface in communication with the mounting cylinder, the lower plate surface including a plurality of elongated members (72) attached to the lower plate surface (fig. 1-7); the plurality of elongated members have a member height such that the plurality of elongated members extend into a panel mounting body opening of the panel mounting body, the member height capable of modifying flow within the mounting cylinder (fig. 1-7); the plurality of elongated members are arranged in a non-parallel, radial arrangement relative to a central axis of the cover plate (fig. 1-7); the mounting cylinder defines a mounting flange, the panel mounting body being operably connected to the mounting flange (fig. 1-7); the panel mounting body comprise a pair of panel body structures (the inner and outer surfaces), each panel body structure being individually, operably coupled to the mounting flange (fig. 1-7); and the panel mounting body further comprises a panel flange assembly (at 62) operably mounted over each sleeve opening, each panel flange assembly having a panel flange opening (at 62) for operably receiving the panel assembly opening (fig. 1-7).
Claims 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Field US 6,059,967 in view of Saul et al. US 2014/0027369.
Claim 4, Field teaches a cover plate but does not teach the cover plate comprising a pair of plate members each including a central flange for coupling the plate members.
Saul teaches a support grid assembly comprising a central fluid manifold including a mounting cylinder and a panel mounting body, the central fluid manifold comprising a cover plate (218) operably coupled to the panel mounting body, where the cover plate comprises a pair of plate members, each plate member including a central flange (fig. 12). Providing a cover plate with two plate members with central flanges is a known technique in the art as demonstrated by Saul and would have been well within the normal capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 6, Filed teaches the cover plate defines an upper surface but does not teach a cover screen panel.
Saul teaches a cover plate having an upper surface including a cover screen (90) (fig. 2-5). Providing the cover plate with a cover screen would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a way to provide additional filter area (paragraph 44-45). Additionally, providing flow of filtrate through the bottom of the assembly is a known technique as demonstrated by Saul. The claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art, KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 13 has been rewritten in independent form and is allowable for the reasons stated in the previous office action.
Claims 14-15 are allowable as depending from claim 13.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1778