DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2013/0144014).
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 5-10, Zhao teaches multi-arm block copolymers comprising a central core molecule, such as a polyol residue, and at least three copolymer. Each copolymer arm comprises an inner hydrophobic polymer segment covalently attached to the central core molecule and an outer hydrophilic segment covalently attached to the hydrophobic polymer segment (Abstract).
One example of Zhao’s copolymer is illustrated in Fig. 1, with PEG (i.e. an alkoxylated segment based on ethylene oxide) is the hydrophilic segment:
Preferred polyols used as the central core molecule (corresponding to the claimed R1) include glycerol, glycerol oligomers such as hexaglycerol, reducing sugars such as sorbitol, and pentaerythritol (p. 3-4, [0042]). These read on multi-functional oxygen-containing polyols with 3 (glycerol), 4 (pentaerythritol), 6 (sorbitol), or 8 (hexaglycerol) OH groups (i.e. oxygen-containing reactive sites). The number of OH groups in these polyols will correspond to the claimed variable z in the resulting copolymer (i.e. z=3, 4, 6, or 8).
The hydrophobic polymer segment corresponds to the following portion of the formula recited in Claim 1:
This segment may be a polyalkylene oxide other than PEG, such as polypropylene oxide (PPO) or polybutylene oxide (PBO), with hydrophobic segments having a molecular weight of about 5,000 specifically identified as being useful (p. 4, [0044]). This reads on the indicated segment where R2 is CH3 or CH2CH3 and x is either approximately 86 (PPO) or 69 (PBO), which falls within the claimed range of 1 to 200.
Alternatively, the hydrophobic segment can have a molecular weight of as low as 500 with an upper limit of 40,000 (p. 4, [0044]), corresponding to x=7 (PBO, Mw=500) to 689 (PPO, Mw=40,000). This overlaps the claimed range.
The hydrophilic polymer segment corresponds to the following portion of the formula recited in Claim 1:
The hydrophilic polymer segment is preferably polyethylene glycol (PEG) hav a preferred molecular weight of about 1,000 to about 20,000 (p. 4, [0047]-[0048]). This reads on the indicated segment where y ranges from about 22 to about 454, which overlaps the claimed range of 1 to 250.
The PEG polymer segment may further include one or more capping groups covalently attached at a terminus of the PEG segment distal from the point of attachment to the hydrophobic polymer. The capping group can be a relatively inert group, such as an alkoxy group. Alternatively, the capping group can be a reactive functional group such as a protected carboxylic acid (p. 5, [0062]). When the chemically reactive group is a carboxylic acid, the protecting group may be a t-butyl group (p. 5, [0063]). This reads on the claimed R3 group where R3 is a hydrophobic carbon chain containing 4 carbons.
As indicated above, Zhao teaches ranges which overlap the claimed ranges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select values from the portion of the prior art ranges which overlap (and therefore fall within) the claimed ranges, as they are expressly identified by the prior art as being suitable. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Zhao as applied above reads on Claims 1-3 and 5-10.
Regarding Claim 4, as indicated above, exemplary hydrophobic segments include PPO having a molecular weight of about 5,000 (p. 4, [0044]). Zhao also describes exemplary PEG segments having a molecular weight of about 5,000 (p. 4, [0048]). When hydrophobic and hydrophilic segments having approximately identical molecular weights are selected, the propylene oxide content will be approximately 50%.
Claims 11, 12, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao as applied to Claim 1 above, further in view of Mayol et al. (Carbohydrate Polymers, 2014, vol. 102, p. 110-116).
Regarding Claims 11, 12, and 26, Zhao remains as applied above. Zhao’s copolymer includes hydrophilic and hydrophobic segments and is therefore understood to be amphiphilic. The copolymer is also described as providing a micellar structure. One of the aims of Zhao’s invention is to improve delivery of hydrophobic drugs (p. 1, [0005]). Zhao further suggests incorporation of functional groups such as carboxylic acids at the terminus of the PEG segments (p. 5, [0062]).
Zhao does not teach incorporation of octenylsuccinic anhydride (OSA) as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor, Mayol teaches modification of a hydrophilic polymer with OSA. The OSA-modified product is able to self-assemble into micelles, load a hydrophobic drug, and release the active molecule (i.e. drug) with controlled kinetics (Abstract). As shown in Fig. 1 (p. 112), the hydrophilic polymer is modified via reaction of OH groups with OSA, and results in incorporation of a terminal carboxylate functional group as well as the pendant octenyl group.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select Mayol’s OSA as the terminal functional group of Zhao’s copolymer, as it is shown to impart the desired carboxylate functionality; demonstrates suitability for loading and release of hydrophobic drugs; is shown to be suitable for use in amphiphilic micelle-forming polymers; and would be expected to react with the terminal OH groups of Zhao’s PEG segments through a mechanism similar to that shown in Mayol’s Fig. 1. Modification in this way reads on Claims 11, 12, and 26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Zhao teaches away from the claimed invention because the reference requires hydrophobic inner segments, whereas the claims require an opposite arrangement with hydrophobic end groups.
Zhao’s multi-arm block copolymers do include individual polymeric arms with an inner hydrophobic polymer segment and an outer hydrophilic segment. The claimed invention similarly permits inner hydrophobic polymer segments (-(CH2CHR2O)x where R2 is CH3, CH2CH3, phenyl, or CH2ORa where Ra is an alkyl, aryl, or siloxane group) and outer hydrophilic segments (-(CH2CH2O)y). Thus, the block copolymer structure disclosed by Zhao is the same as the block copolymer structure required by the claims.
The outer hydrophilic blocks of Zhao’s multi-arm block copolymers may further include a capping group as discussed in the rejection above. The capping group is covalently attached at a terminus of the hydrophilic segment distal from the point of attachment to the hydrophobic segment. The capping group may be a carboxylic acid capped with an alkyl group such as t-butyl. This corresponds to the end group of the claimed copolymer having the formula -COR3 where R3 is a hydrophobic end group containing 4 carbons.
Thus, Zhao does not teach away from the claimed product and in fact teaches the same structural elements arranged in the same manner as the claimed invention.
The Applicant argues that Zhao is not in the Applicant’s field of endeavor. The Applicant states that in order to be considered analogous art, a reference must be within the field of the inventor’s endeavor and also must be reasonably pertinent to the inventor’s problem.
A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention).
Note that "same field of endeavor" and "reasonably pertinent" are two separate tests for establishing analogous art; it is not necessary for a reference to fulfill both tests in order to qualify as analogous art. See MPEP 2141.01(a)(I) and In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325, 72 USPQ2d 1209, 1212 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
The test for analogous art requires the PTO to determine the appropriate field of endeavor by reference to explanations of the invention's subject matter in the patent application. In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004). The scope of analogous art is to be construed broadly. Wyers v. Master Lock Co., 616 F.3d 1231, 1238 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (“The Supreme Court’s decision in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), directs us to construe the scope of analogous art broadly, stating that ‘familiar items may have obvious uses beyond their primary purposes, and a person of ordinary skill often will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle.’ Id. at 402.”).
The instant disclosure characterizes the Applicant’s technical field as “end-modified branched block copolymers contain[ing] an alkoxylated block copolymer modified with a hydrophobic end group” (specification at p. 1, [0002]). The disclosure further explains several aspects of the claimed invention under the heading “BRIEF SUMMARY” at page 2, [0006] to page 4, [0009]. Each of these aspects involve a branched, alkoxylated block copolymer modified with hydrophobic end groups. The Applicant’s disclosure further characterizes the claimed invention as relating “to a branched, alkoxylated block copolymer modified with hydrophobic end groups” under the heading “DETAILED DESCRIPTION” at page 4, [0010].
Based on the Applicant’s description of the claimed invention, the Applicant’s field of endeavor could be broadly construed as alkylene oxide-based copolymers modified with hydrophobic end groups.
Consistent with the Applicant’s characterizations of the claimed invention, Zhao relates to multi-arm block copolymers (Abstract) comprising polyether segments identical to those obtained by the Applicant via alkoxylation, arranged in the same order, and including the same hydrophobic end groups as discussed in more detail above. Thus, Zhao clearly falls within the Applicant’s field of endeavor. Because Zhao is within the Application’s field of endeavor, the reference need not also meet the “reasonably pertinent” test. It is evident that Zhao may properly be relied upon in rejecting the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103.
With respect to the combination of Zhao and Maycol, the Applicant argues that the combination falls outside the proper field of endeavor. The Applicant characterizes the proper field of endeavor as relating to molecules for improving water infiltration into hydrophobic soil while also absorbing moisture from the air.
The Applicant’s field of endeavor has been discussed at length above. Both Zhao and Maycol address different problems than those faced by the Applicant, but nevertheless fall within the appropriate field of endeavor to be considered analogous art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT S JONES JR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762