DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “prior to dilution of the wetting agent formulation with water” is indefinite. Since water is a polar solvent, and a polar solvent is a component of the wetting agent formulation, it is unclear if all water is excluded from the wetting agent formulation before determining its flowability. It is also unclear if claim 1 requires dilution of the wetting agent formulation with water.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petrea et al. (6,948,276) in view of Nishimura et al. (2014/0066405).
Regarding claims 1-3, 6-8 and 11-12: Petrea et al. teach a wetting agent formulation comprising the claimed tri-branched blocked copolymer with a glycerine (same as glycerol) base and three ethylene oxide/propylene oxide block copolymer branches attached thereto (Example 6), water, and a pesticide (column 8, lines 29-36).
Petrea et al. fail to specify a pesticide.
However, Nishimura et al. teach a liquid pesticide (insecticide) composition comprising neonicotinoid-based compound, a silicone-based surfactant, propylene carbonate and ethanol (protic solvent) [0031-0037].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the liquid pesticide composition of Nishimura et al. to the composition of Perea et al. as the pesticide. The composition will be flowable liquid at room temperature as it is a liquid, sprayable pesticide composition.
The claimed flowability is met for the following reasons:
The water is considered a part of the polar solvent, and not a dilution agent.
The composition is the same as claimed, and therefore it is a flowable liquid at room temperature. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding claims 4-5: Petrea et al. fail to specify a pesticide.
However, Nishimura et al. teach a liquid pesticide (insecticide) composition comprising neonicotinoid-based compound, a silicone-based surfactant, propylene carbonate and propylene glycol (protic solvent) [0031-0037].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the liquid pesticide composition of Nishimura et al. to the composition of Perea et al. as the pesticide. The composition will be flowable liquid at room temperature as it is a liquid, sprayable pesticide composition.
Regarding claims 9 and 10: Petrea et al. teach a EO:PO ratio of from 5:95 to 95:5 (column 6, lines 30-34).
The ratio provides overlapping ranges to claims 9 and 10.
The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 17/962584 in view of Nishimura et al. (2014/0066405).
The copending application claims the wetting agent block copolymer and an alcohol ethoxylate.
The copending application fails to claim the solvents.
However, Nishimura et al. teach adding a liquid pesticide (insecticide) composition comprising neonicotinoid-based compound, a silicone-based surfactant, propylene carbonate, and ethanol or propylene glycol [0031-0037] to a wetting agent that will be in a water based spraying composition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the liquid pesticide of Nishimura et al. and water to the wetting agent composition of the copending claims to produce a sprayable pesticide composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant has made the argument that the prior art fails to teach a flowable liquid at room temperature prior to dilution. The claimed flowability is met for the following reasons:
The water is considered a part of the polar solvent, and not a dilution agent.
The composition is the same as claimed, and therefore it is a flowable liquid at room temperature. The courts have stated that a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655, (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430, (CCPA 1977). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." Further, if it is the applicant's position that this would not be the case, evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant's position.
Regarding the double patenting rejection, incorporating Nishimura et al. in the copending claims provides the non-water protic solvent.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763