DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petrea et al. (6,948,276) in view of Nishimura et al. (2014/0066405).
Regarding claims 1-8 and 11-12: Petrea et al. teach a wetting agent formulation comprising the claimed tri-brached blocked copolymer with a glycerine (same as glycerol) base and three ethylene oxide/propylene oxide block copolymer branches attached thereto (Example 6), water, and a pesticide (column 8, lines 29-36).
Petrea et al. fail to specify a pesticide.
However, Nishimura et al. teach a liquid pesticide (insecticide) composition comprising neonicotinoid-based compound, a silicone-based surfactant, and propylene carbonate [0031-0036].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the liquid pesticide composition of Nishimura et al. to the composition of Perea et al. as the pesticide. The composition will be flowable liquid at room temperature as it is a liquid, sprayable pesticide composition.
Regarding claims 9 and 10: Petrea et al. teach a EO:PO ratio of from 5:95 to 95:5 (column 6, lines 30-34).
The ratio provides overlapping ranges to claims 9 and 10.
The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 17/962584 in view of Nishimura et al. (2014/0066405).
The copending application claims the wetting agent block copolymer and an alcohol ethoxylate.
The copending application fails to claim the solvents.
However, Nishimura et al. teach adding a liquid pesticide (insecticide) composition comprising neonicotinoid-based compound, a silicone-based surfactant, and propylene carbonate [0031-0036] to a wetting agent that will be in a water based spraying composition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the liquid pesticide of Nishimura et al. and water to the wetting agent composition of the copending claims to produce a sprayable pesticide composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant has made the argument that (a) there must be a motivation or suggestion to combine [or modify] the references, (b) there must be a reasonable expectation of success if the combination or modification is made, and (c) all the claim limitations must be considered.
With regard to (a): In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the liquid pesticide composition of Nishimura et al. to the composition of Perea et al. as the pesticide. Since Perea et al. is silent on a particular pesticide there is motivation to utilize prior art for a specific pesticide.
With regard to (b): The Applicant has alleged that there is no expectation of success. It is expected that the pesticide of Nishimura et al. will function as a pesticide in the composition of Perea et al. Both documents are in the same field of endeavor. Parea et al. is a composition for turf areas and/or lawns (column 1, lines 14-34) and Nishimura et al. is a pesticide for treatment for lawns [0063]. Adding the pesticide of Nishimura et al. to Perea et al. will result in a composition that is added to sandy soil in turf areas and/or lawns. Therefore, the pesticide in the composition will not be added directly to insects.
With regard to (c): All of the claim limitations have been considered. The Applicant has cited a polar solvent and a protic solvent. In the rejection the propylene carbonate is the polar solvent and the protic solvent is water.
The Applicant has alleged unexpected results. This is not persuasive because the claims are not commensurate in scope with the data provided.
Regarding the double patenting rejection, the Applicant alleges that the combination of references fails to teach a combination of a polar solvent and a protic solvent. This is not persuasive because the copending claims with the addition of the liquid pesticide of Nishimura et al. comprises the claimed combination of solvents. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the liquid pesticide of Nishimura et al. and water to the wetting agent composition of the copending claims to produce a sprayable pesticide composition.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763