DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 25-28 are pending and under consideration.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claim 28 under 35 U.S.C. 112 (a) is withdrawn in view of the claim amendment.
Maintained Rejection with changes per claim Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
action.
nonobviousness.
Claims 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howard et al. (WO 2011/130598) (cited on the IDS of 10/10/2022) in view of Clingen et al. Nucleic Acids Res. 2005 Jun 8;33(10):3283-91.
Regarding claim 25-26, Howard (page 138, Scheme 4) teaches a conjugate, comprising pyrrolobenzodiazepines (PBDs) complex which has the following structure, wherein R10 and R11
form a nitrogen-carbon double bond, as described in the instant claim. Howard (page 134) discloses LB moiety linker is the same as LN and has the following structure:
The asterisk and wavy line indicate the point of attachment, leading to compound 15d, comparable to the instant claim.
Howard (page 103) also teaches the following regarding the compound stereochemistry:
While compound 15d has a
diether linkage (at n= 1, which forms a pentane bridge), which differs to that of the instant claim (at n= 0, which forms a propane bridge). However, Howard (page 80) teaches that length of the diether linkage can vary, meaning the alkane can either be pentane or propane bridge. For example, Howard (page 80) teaches alkane
chain inside square bracket [ ] with subscript n can either be 1 or 0. Thus, when n= 0, the alkane unit is absent or no repetition; suggesting the linker would be n-propane instead of pentane bridge at n= 1, identical to the instant claim. Therefore, to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would understand that incorporating the optional alkane chains would provide a versatile strategy to fine tune the mechanical and chemical properties of the polymer. This is supported by Clingen (page 3284) discloses a PDB compound SJG-136 having a propane diether linkage. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a POSITA to consider alkane chain variation
as a key optimization strategy, to arrive at the claimed invention, because n is either 1 or 0 which provides the ability to fine-tune the polymer diether linkage.
Regarding claim 27, Howard (231, claim 72), as applied to claims 25-26 above, teaches a PBP compound comprising the following structure, which is comparable to the instant claim.
Howard’s compound differs from the instant claim from one another in that Howard’s compound has an ethylene oxide repeat of unit
, whereas the instant claim discloses
. Howard clearly discloses the same compound that differs only on the arrangement of the ethylene oxide repeat unit. In fact, as observed in the 103 rejection above, Howard clearly teaches both arrangements, even the specific fragment -CH2CH2-[OCH2CH2]n-, as presented in compound 15d, suggesting alternative orientation of the same monomeric fragments when n= 8, without introducing unpredictability. Given that Howard already discloses the claimed structural analogs; thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to interchange or select among these closely related units to arrive at the claimed invention, because of Howard’s teachings provide such option.
Regarding claim 28, Howard (page 222, claim 46) teaches the following:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to recognize that the antibody is the ligand, (L-D)р and (DL)p are the PDB drug moiety; thus, despite their different representations, both formulas are equivalent. Howard (page 225, claim 54), as applied to claim 25-27, also discloses an antibody-drug conjugate based on the formula above, with the following structure:
Howard (page 77, line 16-25) explains the antibody connects to a PDB drug moiety via a thiol group, which serves as conjugation sites to form a thioether bond with the maleimide moiety. While the instant claim does not display the thioether bond, however, the specification (page 89, line 21-23) teaches the expected presence of a thioether that would connect the ligand to the PDB drug moiety:
Therefore, a POSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Howard in view of Clingen to arrive at the claimed invention, because Howard clearly teaches a comparable compound and the method of connecting an antibody agent to the PDB drug moiety, as indicated above.
Maintained Rejection
Double Patenting
grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or
improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible
harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where
the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not
patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either
anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting
provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the
examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the
scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP §
2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions
of the AIA . A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b).
accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration of the prior Office action. Even where the
NSDP rejection is provisional the reply must be complete. See MPEP § 804, subsection I.B.1. For a reply to a non-final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.111(a). For a reply to final Office action, see 37 CFR 1.113(c). A request for reconsideration while not provided for in 37 CFR 1.113(c) may be filed after final for consideration. See MPEP §§ 706.07(e) and 714.13.
Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The actual filing date of the application in which the form is filed determines what form (e.g., PTO/SB/25, PTO/SB/26, PTO/AIA /25, or
PTO/AIA /26) should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely
online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 25-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-3 of U.S. Patent No. US 11517626 in view of Howard et al. (WO 2011/130598).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each
other because compounds claimed in US patent ‘626 are comparable to those of the instant
claims. Regarding claim 2 of the US patent ‘626 a conjugate comprising the following structure, reading on instant claim 25-26. US patent ‘626 differs from the instant claim
from one another in that US patent ‘626 compound presents a maleimide functional group as the attachment site for conjugation with a cell binding agent, which is not presented in the instant claims 25-26. However, instant claim 28 in view of Howard discloses a conjugate compound in which maleimide serves as the attachment point for a cell binding agent, comparable to US patent ‘626. Given that maleimide is wildly-used as an attachment site for linking ligands to
polymers, thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the instant claim into a conjugate compound.
Claim 3 of US patent ‘626 teaches a conjugate compound with a comparable structure
to that of the instant claim 27. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to modify the instant claim into a conjugate compound, using the maleimide functional group as the attachment site for conjugation with a cell binding agent.
Given the claimed compound of the instant claim comparable to that of and US patent ‘626 without meaningful inventive distinction, thus the instant application is not in proper condition to warrant a Notice of Allowance. This is because, allowing both claims to issue as separate patents would unjustly extend the patent rights beyond the statutory term.
Response to Argument
Applicant argues that the 103 rejection is improper in view of Gregson, because Gregson teaches that compound 4d (pentylene bridge) is more cytotoxic than compound 4a (propylene bridge). Applicant then argues that a POSITA would therefore have selected a pentylene spacer over propylene. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Gregson does not explicitly teach away from propylene by indicating that such linker is unsuitable or inoperative. Although 4b is reported as more potent than 4a, Gregson also reported that both 4a and 4b are also superior than analogs (compound 3a-c), demonstrating routine optimization. Not to mention that Gregson never explicitly indicates that propylene linkers are inferior in manner that would discourage their use in the art. It is also important to highlight that cytotoxicity only measure how toxic a compound is to cells, which does not take into consideration the compound stability, selectivity, therapeutic index and pharmacokinetics. Thus, higher cytotoxicity does not necessarily equivalent to overall best, because often less toxic compound often produces less side effects and safer dosing. It is important to highlight that Howard (page 80), as disclosed in the 103 rejection above, teaches alkane chain between the PDB subunits can either be propylene or pentylene bridge, thus a POSITA would not consider Gregson’ disclosure as a teaching away, but rather as a design variable.
Applicant argues that the Affidavit by Dr. Luke Masterson establishes that the claimed compound is 15x more potent than compound 15d of Howard. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because this comparison is improper and insufficient because it fails to properly account for the entirety of Howard’s teachings. The affidavit only compares the claimed compound only against the PDB complex containing a pentylene bridge, while entirely omitting comparison to the propylene bridge as taught by Howard. This is a selective comparison and is improper because Howard (page 80) teaches that length of the diether linkage between the PDB can either be pentylene or propylene bridge. For example, Howard (page 80) teaches alkane
chain inside square bracket [ ] with subscript n can either be 1 or 0. Thus, when n= 0, the alkane unit is absent or no repetition; suggesting the linker would be propylene instead of pentylene bridge at n= 1, identical to the instant claim. Therefore, the affidavit clearly fails to compare the full scope of Howard’s teaching which then weakens Applicant’s argument; thus, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Therefore, claims 25-28 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.P.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622