DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claims 1 and 14, on lines 19 and 27 of page 148 and 184, respectively, it is suggested that either "unsubstituted or" be deleted to remove redundancy or "optionally" be removed for ease of reading; and
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, the claims recite "two adjacent R moieties among R1 to R5… are further linked…" which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear to what "R moieties" refers. There is insufficient antecedent basis for "R moieties" in the claim.
For purposes of examination, the claims will be interpreted such that "R moieties" is deleted and the limitation reads "two adjacent among R1 to R5… are further linked…"
Claims 2-13 and 24 are rejected as being dependent on indefinite claim 1.
Claims 15-23 and 25 are rejected as being dependent on indefinite claim 14.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, the claims recite that, in Formula 1, LB is an auxiliary ligand having a structure represented by Formula 3
; however, the claim does not appear to define Y4 or Y5. Therefore, the claim is indefinite because it is unclear how the claim may be met with respect to Formula 3.
For purposes of examination, the claims will be interpreted such that LB is an auxiliary ligand having a structure represented by Formula 5A or Formula 5B as recited in claims 4 and 17, respectively, and in specification paragraphs [0089].
Claims 2-13 and 24 are rejected as being dependent on indefinite claim 1.
Claims 15-23 and 25 are rejected as being dependent on indefinite claim 14.
Regarding claim 23, the claim recites "wherein the third layer includes a yellow green emitting material layer"; however, it is unclear whether this requires (1) wherein a "yellow-green" emitting material, i.e. one emitting material that emits with light that is both yellow and green, (2) wherein two emitting materials, one a yellow emitting material and the other a green emitting material, or (3) either (1) or (2).
For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted such that either interpretation (1) or (2) meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. US-20140364625-A1 (hereinafter "Ahn") in view of Kwon et al. US-20220069237-A1 (hereinafter "Kwon").
Regarding claims 1-7 and 24, Ahn teaches organic electroluminescent device comprising at least one organic layer between a first electrode and a second electrode (¶ [0046]), wherein the at least one organic layer comprises a light emitting layer (¶ [0047]), and wherein the light emitting layer comprises at least one dopant, an organic electroluminescent compound of a formula 1 as a first host material, and a second host material (¶ [0048]-[0049]). Ahn teaches examples of the organic electroluminescent device on a substrate (¶ [0102]). Ahn teaches the organic electroluminescent compounds have the beneficial properties of high luminous efficiency and good lifespan characteristics, and provide an organic electroluminescent device having long operating lifespan (¶ [0019]), and as host material provide improved current efficiency (¶ [0020]). Ahn teaches specific examples of the compound that meet the claimed Formula 7 in paragraph [0041] including compound C-22
(page 7), which also corresponds to the claimed compound GHH1.
Ahn does not exemplify a device comprising a second dopant wherein the second host meets the claimed Formula 9. However, Ahn teaches examples of the second host that meet the claimed Formula 7 in paragraph [0061], including the compound
(page 45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the second compound as any one of the second host compounds in paragraph [0061] including the compound
, because it would have been choosing from the list of second host compounds specifically exemplified by Ahn, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the second host in the light emitting layer of the device of Ahn and possessing the beneficial properties taught by Ahn. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising the second host material to arrive at a device having the beneficial properties as described above taught by Ahn in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.(E).
Ahn does not specifically teach a device wherein the dopant includes an organometallic compound having a structure represented by the claimed Formula 1. However, Ahn teaches the dopant is preferably a phosphorescent dopant, preferably selected from complex compounds of iridium, and even more preferably ortho-metallated iridium complex compounds (¶ [0062]).
Kwon teaches an organometallic compound represented by Formula 1, an ortho-metallated iridium complex compound, for use as a dopant in the emission layer of an organic light-emitting device (¶ [0028]-[0029]). Kwon teaches an organic light-emitting device including the organometallic compound represented by Formula 1 exhibits excellent luminescence efficiency, lifespan, and color purity (¶ [0147]). Kwon teaches specific examples of the organometallic compound represented by Formula 1 in paragraph [0145] including Compound 1
(page 45) and Compound 3
(page 45).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Ahn by forming the dopant out of the organometallic compound represented by Formula 1, as taught by Kwon. One would have been motivated to do so because Ahn teaches that the dopant is preferably an ortho-metallated iridium complex compound and Kwon teaches the organometallic compound represented by Formula 1, which is an ortho-metallated iridium complex compound. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. See MPEP 2144.07.
Additionally, Kwon teaches an organic light-emitting device including the organometallic compound represented by Formula 1 exhibits excellent luminescence efficiency, lifespan, and color purity and therefore forming the dopant in the device of Ahn out of the Kwon's organometallic compound would yield the benefit of excellent luminescence efficiency, lifespan, and color purity, as described above.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a specific examples of Kwon's organometallic compound, including Compound 1 or 3, because it would have been choosing from the list of compounds specifically disclosed by Kwon, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as a dopant in the light emitting layer of the device of Ahn and possessing the beneficial properties taught by Kwon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising Kwon's organometallic compound having the beneficial properties as described above taught by Kwon in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.(E).
The modified device of Ahn in view of Kwon comprises a first host compound meeting the claimed Formula 7 and corresponding to the claimed compound GHH1, a second host compound meeting the claimed Formula 9, and a dopant meeting the claimed Formula 1 and corresponding to the claimed compound 1. Therefore, the modified device meets claims 1-7.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. US-20140364625-A1 (hereinafter "Ahn") in view of Kwon et al. US-20220069237-A1 (hereinafter "Kwon") as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Jung et al. US-20180337348-A1 (hereinafter "Jung").
Regarding claims 8, Ahn in view of Kwon teaches the modified device as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Ahn does not exemplify a device comprising a second dopant wherein the second host includes at least one of the compounds listed in claim 8. However, Ahn teaches generally that the host material other than the organic electroluminescent compound can be from any of the known phosphorescent hosts (¶ [0050]).
Jung teaches a compound of a Chemical Formula 1 for use as a host material of a light emitting layer of an organic light emitting device (¶ [0018] and ¶ [0008]). Jung teaches that an organic light emitting device comprising the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 exhibits the beneficial properties of improved efficiency, a low driving voltage and/or improved lifetime characteristics of the organic light emitting device (¶ [0018]). Jung teaches examples of the host compound of a Chemical Formula 1 in paragraph [0087] including
(page 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the second host in the device of Ahn out of Jung's host compound of Chemical Formula 1, based on the teaching of Jung. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain the beneficial properties of improved efficiency, a low driving voltage and/or improved lifetime characteristics of the organic light emitting device, as taught by Jung.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specifically select one of the compound in paragraph [0087] including the compound
, because it would have been choosing one from the list specifically exemplified compounds of Chemical Formula 1, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the second host in the light emitting layer of the device of Ahn and possessing the beneficial properties taught by Jung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising Jung's host compound having the beneficial properties as described above taught by Jung in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.(E).
The further modified device of Ahn in view of Kwon and Jung comprises a second host compound meeting the claimed Formula 9 corresponding to the claimed compound GEH3. Therefore, the further modified device meets claim 8.
Claims 9-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. US-20130126856-A1 (hereinafter "Ahn") in view of Kwon et al. US-20220069237-A1 (hereinafter "Kwon") as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Hatwar et al. US-20100288362-A1 (hereinafter "Hatwar").
Regarding claims 9-23 and 25, Ahn in view of Kwon teaches the modified device as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Ahn in view of Kwon does not specifically teach a device wherein: the emissive layer includes a first emitting part disposed between the first and second electrodes and including a blue emitting material layer, a second emitting part disposed between the first emitting part and the second electrode and including at least one emitting material layer, and a first charge generation layer disposed between the first and second emitting parts; the at least one emitting material layer further includes a first layer disposed between the first charge generation layer and the second electrode, the first layer including a red emitting material layer, and a second layer disposed between the first layer and the second electrode, the second layer including the host and the dopant, wherein the at least one emitting material layer further includes a third layer disposed between the first layer and the second layer, and wherein the third layer includes a yellow green emitting material layer; and the emissive layer further includes a third emitting part disposed between the second emitting part and the second electrode and including a blue emitting material layer, and a second charge generation layer disposed between the second and third emitting parts.
However, Ahn teaches the organic layer may further comprise at least one more light-emitting layer, and a charge generating layer (¶ [0075]). Additionally, Kwon teaches an emission layer patterned into a red emission layer, a green emission layer, and a blue emission layer and that due to a stacked structure including a red emission layer, a green emission layer, and/or a blue emission layer, the emission layer may emit white light (¶ [0218]).
Further, in the analogous art of OLEDs, Hatwar teaches an organic light-emitting device (see Figure 1 and ¶ [0098]) comprising a first electrode (“anode 110”), a second electrode (“cathode 170”), a plurality of light-emitting units in the number of m disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (“N EL units”) comprising at least one emission layer (¶ [0092]), and a plurality of charge generation layers in the number of m-1 disposed between two neighboring light-emitting units (“N-1 intermediate connector regions”) wherein m is an integer of 2 or more (“N is an integer greater than 1” – see ¶ [0098]). Hatwar suggests that many different energy transfer processes can occur inside the emission layers (EMLs) of the light-emitting units and that the layer may be fluorescent or phosphorescent or a combination of both (¶ [0092]). Hatwar also suggests that the colors of the emission layers may be selected so as to obtain the desired properties. For example, Hatwar suggests that a white OLED can be achieved by including blue light emitting layers in combination with red and green emitting layers (¶ [0100]-[0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a white OLED comprising the organic EL device of Ahn in view of Kwon such that it includes the stacked emission layer structure including light-emitting units of different colors and connector regions disclosed by Hatwar, based on the teaching of Hatwar, and to form each light-emitting unit with patterned into a stacked structure of a red emission layer, a green emission layer, and a blue emission layer, based on the teaching of Kwon. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain the desired white light emission as taught by Hatwar and Kwon.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Jatsch et al. US-20140225046-A1 teaches matrix material of an organic light emitting device of a formula (1)
(¶ [0063] and ¶ [0007]); and Yokoyama et al. US-20130126856-A1 teaches compounds of a general formula (1)
having an indenocarbazole ring structure used as a constituent material of the light emitting layer of an organic EL device (¶ [0055]).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786