DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The rejection under U.S.C 103 of claim 1-4 are maintained. Additional analysis follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 0 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the combination of Tae and Dewa is improper because the Office has not shown the benefits of Dewa, such as variation in voltage, would apply to Tae, the previous rejection describes the use of multiple probes taught by Dewa instead of the single probe taught by Tae is useful to provide data on more parts of the battery layer and improve spatial resolution of the data. This clear benefit is not limited to the type of data collected but rather a method of data collection which it is well known all types commonly benefits from improved resolution by multiple measurements.
In response to applicants argument that the probes of Dewa are electrically connected via a selection circuit and therefore do not meet the limitations of newly amended claim 1, the examiner notes applicant’s own reference electrodes are also connected in a similar way in that one electrode is selected from the group by a central control (¶[0098] of instant specification). In this way, neither the applicants or Dewa’s electrodes are used independently by a central control however they are physically separated and thus electrically isolated from each as required by newly amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tae et. al. (KR101530812 as cited in IDS dated 10/10/2025, reference made to attached English translation as applied to claim), in view of Dewa et. al. (US20140327445A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 4, Tae discloses an all-solid-state battery comprising:
a cathode layer(¶[0025]);
an anode layer(¶[0030];
a solid electrolyte layer interposed between the cathode layer and the anode layer (Fig. 4, ref. 41 and 42), wherein the cathode layer, the anode layer and the solid electrolyte layer are stacked in a thickness direction, and a reference electrode(electric wire 51) inserted laterally into the solid electrolyte layer(Fig. 4)
but does not disclose at least two pairs of the reference electrodes symmetrically arranged with respect to a center point of the solid electrolyte layer and that they are electrically isolated from each other.
Dewa, related to testing batteries, teaches multiple probes(i.e. reference electrodes) including two pair (Fig. 12) and more than two pair (Fig. 16. 21-1 through 21-T) which are symmetrically arranged, not physically touching each other, and are useful in battery testing where each probe may be used individually as a reference probe to provide test data on all parts of the cell(¶[0054]) and improve spatial resolution of the data(¶[0081]). The term “electrically isolated” is being interpreted in light of the specification where the probes are not directly electrically connected but may be selected by a central control unit(¶[0079] of Dewa and ¶[0098], of instant specification).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized using 4 or more reference electrodes in the battery of Tae would provide data on more parts of the battery layer and improve special resolution of the data.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used at least two pairs of the reference electrodes symmetrically arranged but electrically isolated with respect to a center point of the solid electrolyte layer to improve data collection including special resolution.
Furthermore, the mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 3, modified Tae discloses an all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, and Dewa further discloses the probes placed in a north, south, east, west configuration which would place them at right angles to each other within the battery of Tae(Fig. 12 of Dewa).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tae et. al. (KR101530812 as cited in IDS dated 10/10/2025, reference made to attached English translation as applied to claim), in view of Dewa et. al. (US20140327445A1) and further in view of Simon et. al. (Journal of The Electrochemical Society).
Regarding claim 2, modified Tae discloses an all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein each of the reference electrodes comprises (i) an electric wire comprising one or more selected from the group consisting of tungsten (W), aluminum (Al), nickel (Ni), and stainless steel (SUS), and a (ii) a coating comprising one or more selected from the group consisting of gold (Au), silver (Ag), and platinum (Pt).
Simon, related to wire reference electrodes, teaches a gold-plated tungsten reference electrode (abstract) where the tungsten core provides superior mechanical properties (A1367, left column, first paragraph).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized using the reference electrode of Simon within the battery of Tae would have provided excellent mechanical properties to the reference electrode.
Therefore it would have been obvious to have used the reference electrode of Simon in the battery of Tae to obtain improved mechanical properties.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tae et. al. (KR101530812 as cited in IDS dated 10/10/2025, reference made to attached English translation as applied to claim), in view of Dewa et. al. (US20140327445A1) and further in view of Zhang (US 9,461,496 B1).
Regarding claim 18, modified Tae discloses an all-solid-state battery according to claim 1, but does not disclose it within a vehicle.
Zhang, related to solid state batteries, teaches solid state batteries within vehicles to function as a power supply (col. 1, line 20).
One of ordinary skill would have realized adding the solid state battery of modified Tae to a vehicle as described by Zhang would have produced a vehicle with a power supply to create a functioning vehicle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have a vehicle with the solid state batty of modified Tae to provide a power supply.
Conclusion
/K.J.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726