DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on or reply to the remarks of 5/5/2026. The instant application has claims 1-20 pending. The method and medium for using age criteria allowing an data transaction and requiring valid consent. There a total of 20 claims.
Response to Arguments
The double patenting rejection is withdrawn in view of filing of terminal disclaimer.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that modifying the consent is carried out in an computer network.
The examiner argues that Spires discloses the proprietary software that has parameters that allow or disable functionality see Par. 0013-0015. The examiner further argues that valid consent is given and the software access including access to contact and chat is enabled see Par. 006 & Par. 0025. Thus, the whole process is done via computer network.
The applicant argues Nguyen does not disclose the AI system for detecting the jurisdictional requirements.
Nguyen discloses IP address or GPS coordinates being used for determining the user’s location similar to what an AI system would have done to determine jurisdictional requirements see Page 13 Ln 16-29. Thus, the AI system is taught by the Nguyen for satisfying the jurisdictional requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Pub 2008/0222271 to Spires in view of US Patent 7571466 to Mitchell and further in view of US Patent Pub 2011/0222724 to Yang and further in view of WO 2007/142796 to Nguyen.
Regarding claim 1, 15, Spires discloses A method comprising: receiving a request via computer network to initiate a transaction between an entity and a data subject(Par. 0016, new account is created for new member and website); responsive to a request to initiate a transaction between an entity and a data subject, generating, by computing hardware prompting, by the computing hardware via the computer network, the data subject to provide a at least one piece of data; receiving, by the computing hardware via the computer network, the at least one piece of data from the data subject and one or more age verification techniques (Abstract & Par. 0025-0027, the new account is created and receipt is generated & Par. 0017, the annual parent authorization is needed); data subject(Par. 0025, the new member); and in response to determining the data subject does not meet the one or more age criteria for the processing of personal data under the transaction, modifying, by the computing hardware, a consent parameter of the request to initiate the transaction to reflect an invalid consent status for the transaction(Par. 0017, websites not authorized is prevented from user & Par. 0029, revoked authorization also prevents access given & Fig. 1 item 70 & Par. 0031-32 & Par. 0016-0017); and modifying, by the computing hardware and based on the invalid consent status, the the consent receipt set to prevent a computing system from providing the data subject with access to functionality requiring valid consent(Par. 0017, the not authorized is checked with parent or guardian).
Spires does not disclose the a consent receipt set comprising a consent receipt identifier, a transaction identifier based on the transaction, and a subject identifier based on the data subject.
In the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Mitchell discloses a consent receipt set comprising a consent receipt identifier, a transaction identifier based on the transaction, and a subject identifier based on the data subject(Fig. 4 item 310, 320 & Col 2 Ln 30-46, the consent information is stored with user profile & Fig. 5 item 530).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Spires invention to incorporate a consent receipt set comprising a consent receipt identifier, a transaction identifier based on the transaction, and a subject identifier based on the data subject.for the advantage of stored information in user profile as taught in Mitchell see Col 2 Ln 56-61
Mitchell nor Spire disclose using, by the computing hardware, the at least one piece of data and an artificial intelligence system to determine whether the data subject meets one or more age criteria for processing personal data under the transaction.
In the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Yang discloses using, by the computing hardware, the at least one piece of data and an artificial intelligence system to determine whether the data subject meets one or more age criteria for processing personal data under the transaction(Abstract & Par. 005-008, the age estimation using training models & Par. 005 & Par. 0016-0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Mitchell invention to incorporate AI models for age determination for the advantage of fast and easy model for video analysis of faces as taught in Yang see Par. 0017-0019.
Spires nor Mitchell nor Yang disclose the jurisdictional requirements of the data subject location.
However, Nguyen discloses the gaming system GUI considers the age and the jurisdiction of the user see Page 5 Ln 1-12 & Page 13 Ln 19-29 & Page 9 Ln 1-13.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Mitchell invention to incorporate the jurisdiction of the user in order to comply the laws of the jurisdiction as taught in Nguyen see Page 9 Ln 1-13.
Regarding claim 2, 16, The combined method/system/medium of Spires, Mitchell, Yang and Nguyen , mutatis mutandis, Spires discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the at least one piece of data comprises at least one of: a response to a challenge question subject (Par. 0016-0017, question is asked about age on form); an image of the data subject; or a piece of identifying information associated with the data subject subject (Par. 0016-0017, the question is asked about name and parental name).
Regarding claim 3, 17, The combined method/system/medium of Spires, Mitchell, Yang and Nguyen , mutatis mutandis, Spires discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein: prompting the data subject to provide the at least one piece of data comprises generating a challenge question and prompting the data subject for a response to the challenge question subject (Par. 0016-0017, the parent is consented); receiving the at least one piece of data comprises receiving the response subject (Par. 0016-0017, the parent is consented); and using the at least one piece of data to determine whether the data subject meets the one or more age criteria comprises determining an accuracy of the response subject (Par. 0016-0017, the parent is consented).
Regarding claim 4. The combined method/system/medium of Spires, Mitchell, Yang and Nguyen , mutatis mutandis, Spires discloses the method of Claim 3, wherein generating the challenge question comprises customizing the challenge question based on the data subject(Par. 0016, the user inputs the age as answer to question).
Regarding claim 5, 19, The combined method/system/medium of Spires, Mitchell, Yang and Nguyen , mutatis mutandis, Spires discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: responsive to determining the data subject does not meet the one or more age criteria for the processing of personal data under the transaction, identifying, by the computing hardware, a guardian associated with the data subject(Par. 0016, the parent receives the email or card for approval); receiving, by the computing hardware, valid consent from the guardian to the processing of the personal data as part of the transaction; responsive to receiving the valid consent from the guardian, modifying, by the computing hardware, the consent receipt set to allow the computing system to provide the data subject with access to functionality requiring the valid consent(Par. 0016, the parent approve the postal card).
Regarding claim 6, 20, The combined method/system/medium of Spires, Mitchell, Yang and Nguyen , mutatis mutandis, Spires discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein: the at least one piece of data comprises an image of the data subject; using the at least one piece of data to determine whether the data subject meets the one or more age criteria comprises: causing an artificial intelligence image system to generate a prediction usable for determining the age of the data subject by providing the image of the data subject to the artificial intelligence image system for analysis(Par. 0017, the proper age is discerned and allowed access to website); receiving, from the artificial intelligence image system, the prediction(Par. 0017, the proper age is discerned and allowed access to website); and determining, based on the prediction, whether the data subject meets the one or more age criteria (Par. 0017, the proper age is discerned and allowed access to website).
Regarding claim 7. Spires discloses A system comprising: a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions; and processing hardware communicatively coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the processing hardware is configured to execute the instructions and thereby perform operations comprising: receiving, from a computing device, a request to initiate a transaction, the request comprising a transaction parameter and a consent parameter indicating consent by a data subject to processing of personal data received via a computer network(Par. 0014, the new account is created); configuring a graphical user interface including a prompt soliciting a response to a challenge question and an input element configured to receive the response(Par. 0014-0016, the form asks questions about age, name and parent name); transmitting an instruction to the computing device to display the graphical user interface(Par. 0025, browser); receiving, from the computing device via the input element, the response(Par. 0025-0026 & Par. 0015, the user signs up and receives response); responsive to determining that the data subject does not meet the age criterion, modifying the consent parameter to reflect an invalid consent status for the transaction(Par. 0027, the age range for new member is not met); generating a consent receipt set indicating a lack of consent to the processing of the personal data, wherein the consent receipt set comprises a consent receipt identifier, a transaction identifier based on the transaction parameter, the invalid consent status, and a subject identifier based on the data subject parameter(Par. 0027, the parent is contacted); and preventing access by the computing device to computer-specific functionality requiring valid consent based on the invalid consent status(Par. 0031, The annual authorization and denial for users).
Mitchell nor Spire disclose determining, utilizing an artificial intelligence system and the response, that the data subject does not meet an age criterion for the processing of the personal data under the transaction
In the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Yang discloses determining, utilizing an artificial intelligence system and the response, that the data subject does not meet an age criterion for the processing of the personal data under the transaction; (Abstract & Par. 005-008, the age estimation using training models).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Mitchell invention to incorporate AI models for age determination for the advantage of fast and easy model for video analysis of faces as taught in Yang see Par. 0017-0019.
Regarding claim 8. The combined method/system/medium of Spires, Mitchell, Yang and Nguyen , mutatis mutandis, Spires discloses the system of Claim 7, wherein the challenge question comprises at least one of a logic problem, a math problem, and a reading comprehension problem (Fig. 5 the application form has questions).
Regarding claim 9. The combined method/system/medium of Spires, Mitchell, Yang and Nguyen , mutatis mutandis, Yang discloses the system of Claim7, the response comprises an image(Par. 005-007 & Par. 0017-0019 & Abstract). ; and determining, utilizing the artificial intelligence system and the response, that the data subject does not meet the age criterion comprises: generating, utilizing the artificial intelligence system, an age prediction from the image; and determining, based on the age prediction, whether the data subject meets the age criterion(Par. 005-007 & par. 0017-0019 & Abstract).
Regarding claim 10. The combined method/system/medium of Spires, Mitchell, Yang and Nguyen , mutatis mutandis, Spires discloses the system of Claim 7, wherein the operations further comprise: responsive to determining that the data subject does not meet the age criterion, identifying a guardian associated with the data subject (Par. 0016-0017, the parent is consented); receiving the valid consent from the guardian to the processing of the personal data as part of the transaction (Par. 0016-0017, the parent is consented); modifying the consent parameter to reflect the valid consent from the guardian; and initiating the transaction based on the consent receipt set, wherein initiating the transaction enables access to the computer-specific functionality by the computing device(Par. 0016-0017, the parent is consented).
Regarding claim 11. The combined method/system/medium of Spires, Mitchell, Yang and Nguyen , mutatis mutandis, Spires discloses the system of Claim 10, wherein identifying the guardian associated with the data subject comprises: identifying a prior transaction involving the data subject based on the data subject parameter(Par. 0016-0017, the parent is consented);; determining an individual that provided consent on behalf of the data subject for the prior transaction(Par. 0016-0017, the parent is consented);; and identifying the guardian as the individual(Par. 0016-0017, the parent is consented);.
Regarding claim 12. The combined method/system/medium of Spires, Mitchell, Yang and Nguyen , mutatis mutandis, Spires discloses the system of Claim 10, wherein identifying the guardian associated with the data subject comprises accessing an electronic guardian registry and identifying the guardian in the electronic guardian registry based on the data subject parameter(Par. 0016-0017, the parent is consented & Fig. 5 check against list);.
Regarding claim 13. The combined method/system/medium of Spires, Mitchell, Yang and Nguyen , mutatis mutandis, Spires discloses the system of Claim 7, wherein the operations further comprise: initiating electronic communication with the guardian(Par. 0016-0017, the parent is consented); and modifying the consent parameter based on the electronic communication(Par. 0016-0017, the parent is consented);.
Regarding claim 14. The combined method/system/medium of Spires, Mitchell, Yang and Nguyen , mutatis mutandis, Spires discloses the system of Claim 13, wherein: the electronic communication comprises a unique code; and receiving the valid consent from the guardian comprises receiving the unique code from the computing device(Par. 0016-0017, the parent is consented);.
Regarding claim 17. The combined method/system/medium of Spires, Mitchell, Yang and Nguyen , mutatis mutandis, Spires discloses medium of Claim 15, wherein: prompting the data subject to provide the at least one piece of data comprises generating a challenge question and prompting the data subject for a response to the challenge question (Fig. 5 item Application form contains questions); receiving the at least one piece of data comprises receiving the response Fig. 5 item Tarsmits the completed application form); and determining whether the data subject meets the one or more age criteria comprises determining an accuracy of the response(Fig. 5 item Application form contains questions).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VENKAT PERUNGAVOOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492 Email: venkatanarayan.perungavoor@uspto.gov