Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the pad portion electrically connecting the driving controller and the line unit must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1 and claim 20 include the limitation “…a pad portion connecting the driving controller and the line unit…”. However, no pad portion is shown in the drawings including both the driving controller and the line unit. The specification includes a pad portion in paragraph [0098], but does not provide a reference symbol or numeral for the pad portion in the drawings.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 states “…and each of the plurality of (1-2)-th signal lines is connected to…”. The term “is” should be “are”, as the verb refers back to multiple signal lines.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 states “…and each of the plurality of (1-2)-th signal lines is connected to a same first power line…”. It is unclear what “a same first power line” is referring to, as claim 2 introduces a first power line and not multiple first power lines. The term “to a same first power line” has improper antecedent basis if it refers back to the first power line in claim 2. If there are multiple first power lines, then claim 4 and 2 do not make clear there are multiple first power lines, as they are not introduced in the claims. The term “to a same first power line” implies that there are multiple first power lines and that the signal lines are connected to the same power line out of the multiple first power lines. For these reasons there are multiple interpretations for claim 4 regarding which power line is being referred to and how many power lines are present. As there are multiple interpretations, claim 4 is indefinite.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "of first contact portions" in line 8 of claim 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No contact portions are introduced in claim 4 or in the claims claim 4 is dependent on. The limitation “of first contact portions” is missing an article that would introduce the limitation or refer back to a different claim that introduced the first contact portions.
Claims 5 – 12 depend on claim 4 and inherit all of its deficiencies. Claims 5 – 12 are rejected as being indefinite.
For the purpose of compact prosecution, claim 4 is being interpreted as stating “…wherein the (1-2)-th signal lines includes a plurality of (1-2)-th signal lines, and each of the plurality of (1-2)-th signal lines are connected to the first power line.”. This interpretation corrects the antecedent basis issue and clarifies which power line is being referred to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 9, 11 – 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230006119 A1 hereinafter Oh, in view of US 20020000576 A1 hereinafter Inukai, in further view of US 20130153941 A1 hereinafter Sasaki.
For claim 1, Oh teaches a display device (Oh, fig. 15) comprising: a first electrode (fig. 16 numeral EL1) and a second electrode (fig. 16 numeral EL2) extending in a second direction (fig. 16 numeral DR2) above a substrate (fig. 16 numeral SUB); a pixel unit comprising a light emitting element (fig. 17 numeral LD) on the first electrode (fig. 17 numeral EL1) and the second electrode (fig. 17 numeral EL2); a line unit comprising a first signal line (fig. 16 numeral CL1) electrically connected to the first electrode, and a second signal line (fig. 16 numeral CL2) electrically connected to the second electrode for providing a constant second power to the second electrode; a driving controller electrically connected to the pixel unit through the line unit (Par. [0104 – 0119]), wherein at least a portion of the first signal line and at least a portion of the second signal line extend in a first direction crossing the second direction (fig. 16 shows the signal lines crossing in the first and second directions DR1 and DR2) and wherein at least another portion of the first signal line extends in a second direction (fig. 16 numeral CL1). Oh is silent regarding the composition of the first signal line and the second signal line and a pad portion electrically connecting the driving controller and the line unit, a constant power being supplied, and wherein at least a portion of the first signal line and at least a portion of the second signal line extend in a first direction crossing the second direction to overlap the first electrode or the second electrode at respective regions at which the first electrode or the second electrode crosses the first signal line and the second signal line in the second direction.
Inukai teaches a display device including a constant power supply (Inukai, Par. [0020]; Par. [0085-0086]) and a controller (fig. 22 numeral 1804 and 1803; Par. [0413 – 0414]) connected to the display device by a pad (fig. 23A numeral 1812 and 1811]). Inukai also teaches signal lines comprises of aluminum and other materials (Par. [0280]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the immediate invention to combine the pad portion, constant power supply, and materials in Inukai with the controller and line unit in Oh in order to improve the light emission per area of the device (Inukai, Par. [0086]) and to provide improved contact and electrical connection between the controller driving the device and the device itself. Oh and Inukai are silent regarding the composition of the first signal line and the second signal line and wherein at least a portion of the first signal line and at least a portion of the second signal line extend in a first direction crossing the second direction to overlap the first electrode or the second electrode at respective regions at which the first electrode or the second electrode crosses the first signal line and the second signal line in the second direction
Sasaki teaches a display device (Sasaki, fig. 1 – 4) comprising a first signal line (fig. 1 – 2, 4, numeral 17) and at least a portion of a second signal line (fig. 1 – 4, numeral 11), extending in a first direction crossing a second direction to overlap a first electrode (fig. 1 – 4, numeral 22) or a second electrode (fig. 1 – 4 numeral 24), and the overlap occurs where the first electrode or second electrode crosses the first signal line and the second signal line in the second direction (fig. 2 shows electrodes 22 and 24 crossing the signal lines 17 in a second direction, fig. 1 shows first signal line and second signal line 17 and 11 crossing the first and second electrodes 22 and 24 in both a first and second direction, and overlapping where the signal lines and the electrodes cross).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the immediate invention to combine the signal line and electrode layout in Sasaki with the signal lines and electrodes in Oh and Inukai in order to reduce the layout area of the device (Sasaki, Par. [0044 - 0054]).
For claim 2, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 1. Oh also teaches a display area (Oh, fig. 16 – 17 numeral DA) in which the pixel unit is located (fig. 16 – 17 numeral PXL, PXA); a non-display area surrounding at least a portion of the display area (fig. 16 numeral NDA); a first power line having at least a portion in the non-display area, and configured to supply the first power to the first signal line (Par. [0293]; fig. 16 numeral PD1); and a second power line (fig. 16 numeral PD2) having at least a portion in the non-display area, and configured to supply the second power to the second signal line (Par. [0291 – 0297]), wherein the first power line and the second power line have a plate shape (fig. 16 numeral PD1 and PD2).
For claim 3, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 2. Oh also teaches the first power line and the second power line are spaced apart from each other in the first direction and are on the same layer (Oh, fig. 16 numeral PD1 and PD2).
For claim 4, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 2. Oh also teaches the first signal line comprise a (1-1)-th signal line extending in the first direction and a (1-2)-th signal line extending in the second direction (Oh, fig. 16 numeral CL1) and wherein the second signal line comprises a (2-1)-th signal line extending in the first direction, and a (2-2)-th signal line extending in the second direction (fig. 16 numeral CL2) and wherein the (1-2)-th signal lines includes a plurality of (1-2)-th signal lines (fig. 16 shows multiple (1-2)-th signal lines extending in the DR2 direction), and each of the plurality of (1-2)-th signal lines are connected to the first power line (fig. 16 shows each CL1 signal line connected to the first power line PD1).
For claim 5, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 4. Oh also teaches the pixel unit comprises a first adjacent pixel area above the first power line in a plan view with respect to the second direction, and a second adjacent pixel area above the second power line in a plan view with respect to the second direction (fig. 16 – 17 numeral PLX(PXA)), wherein the first adjacent pixel area is not above the second power line with respect to the second direction, and wherein the second adjacent pixel area is not above the first power line with respect to the second direction (fig. 16 – 17 shows pixel areas adjacent to each other with the first adjacent pixel area not above the second power line and the second adjacent pixel area not above the first power line).
For claim 6, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 5. Oh also teaches the (1-1)-th signal line and the (2-1)-th signal line extend in a same direction in which the first power line and the second power line are spaced apart from each other (Oh, fig. 16 numeral CL1 and CL2 shows the signal lines extending the same direction in which the first power line and the second power lines PD1 and PD2 are spaced apart in).
For claim 7, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 4. Oh also teaches the first power line (Oh, fig. 16 numeral PD1) electrically connected to the first electrode (fig. 16 numeral EL1) through the (1-1)-th signal line (fig. 16 numeral CL1) and the (1-2)-th signal line (CL1), and wherein the second power line (fig. 16 numeral PD2) is electrically connected to the second electrode (fig. 16 numeral EL2) through the (2-1)-th signal line and the (2-2)-th signal line (fig. 16 numeral CL2).
For claim 8, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 4. Oh also teaches the first signal line further comprising a (1-3)-th signal line (fig. 16 numeral CL1 bottom horizontal portion) electrically connected to the (1-2)-th signal line (CL1 vertical part) and extending in the same direction as the (1-1)-th signal line (CL1 top horizontal part), and wherein the first power line (fig. 16 numeral PD1) is electrically connected to the first electrode (fig. 16 numeral EL1) through the (1-1)-th signal line, the (1-2)-th signal line, and the (1-3)-th signal line.
For claim 9, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 8. Oh also teaches the first signal line (Oh, fig. 16 numeral CL1) further comprises a (1-4)-th signal line (CL1 and PD1 connection points, Fig. 16) comprising a first extension portion (fig. 16, Top CH1 and connection point) electrically connected to the (1-2)-th signal line (fig. 16, CL1 Vertical part), and extending in a same direction as the (1-1)-th signal line (fig. 16 CL1 Top Horizontal part), and a second extension portion (fig. 16 Bottom CH1 and PD1 connection points) extending in a same direction as the (1-2)-th signal line (fig. 16 CL1 Vertical part), and wherein the first power line (fig. 16 PD1, paragraph [0293-0297]) is electrically connected to the first electrode (EL1) through the (1-1)-th signal line (fig. 16 CL1 Top Horizontal part), the (1-2)-th signal line (fig. 16, CL1 Vertical part), and the (1-4)-th signal line (fig. 16 CL1 and PD1 connection points).
For claim 11, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 4. Oh also teaches the first power line (Oh, fig. 16 numeral PD1) and the second power line (fig. 16 numeral PD2) are on a layer that is different from the first electrode (fig. 18A numeral EL1) and the second electrode (fig. 18A numeral EL2).
For claim 12, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 11. Oh also teaches the first signal line (Oh, fig. 16 numeral CL1) and the second signal line (CL2) are on a layer that is different from that of the first electrode (EL1) and the second electrode (EL2). Paragraph [0285] of Oh (US 20230006119 A1) states that the first and second electrodes may be on different layers. Therefore, first or second signal lines must be on a different layer than either the first or second electrode. This limitation can be applied to both first and second electrodes, such that the first and second electrodes are on a same layer and different than the layer where the first and second signal lines are located. Selection of a particular relative location of signal lines and electrodes does not associate with an unexpected advantage or feature. This limitation would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine trial and error or by normal design procedures. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
For claim 13, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 1. Oh also teaches a portion of the first signal line (fig. 16 numeral CL1) is on a layer different from that of at least a portion of the second signal line (fig. 16 numeral CL2).
Paragraphs [0292-0294] of Oh states that the first and second signal lines are connected to first and second pad parts. Where first and second pad parts and located in the Non-Display Area [NDA], and first and second signal lines extend in the Display Area. Selection of a particular relative location of signal lines does not associate with an unexpected advantage or feature. This limitation would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine trial and error or by normal design procedures. See also, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts.
For claim 14, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 1. Oh also teaches a transistor (fig. 18A numeral T) electrically connected to the light emitting element (fig. 18A numeral LD) and comprising a source electrode (fig. 18A numeral SE) and a drain electrode (fig. 18A numeral DE), wherein the first signal line and the second signal line (fig. 16 numeral CL1 and CL2) are on a same layer (fig. 18A numeral PCL) as the source electrode and the drain electrode.
For claim 15, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 1. Oh also teaches a distance at which the first electrode and the second electrode are spaced apart from the substrate is greater than a distance at which the first signal line and the second signal line are spaced apart form the substrate (Par. [0285]).
For claim 16, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 1. Oh also teaches a display area (fig. 16 numeral DA) in which the pixel unit is located, and a non-display area surrounding at least a portion of the display area (fig. 16 numeral NDA), and the first electrode and second electrode are not in the non-display area (fig. 16 numeral EL1 and EL2). Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki are silent regarding the electrode configuration that was formed in the same process. However, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
For claim 17, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 2. Oh also teaches the first signal line (Oh, fig. 16 numeral CL1) and the second signal line (fig. 16 numeral CL2) are on the same layer as the first power line (fig. 16 numeral PD1) and the second power line (fig. 16 numeral PD2).
For claim 18, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 2. OH also teaches the distance at which the first signal line (Oh, fig. 16 numeral CL1) and the second signal line (fig. 16 numeral CL2) are spaced apart from the substate (fig. 16 numeral SUB) is less than a distance at which the first power line (fig. 16 numeral PD1) and the second power line (fig. 16 numeral PD2) are spaced apart from the substrate.
For claim 20, Oh teaches an electronic device (Oh, fig. 15) comprising: a display area (fig. 16 numeral DA) and a non-display area (fig. 16 numeral NDA); a first alignment electrode (fig. 16 numeral EL1) and a second alignment electrode (fig. 16 numeral EL2) on the display area; a pixel unit comprising a light emitting element (fig. 17 numeral LD) having at least a portion positioned between the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode; a line unit comprising a first signal line (fig. 16 numeral CL1) electrically connected to the first alignment electrode, and a second signal line (fig. 16 numeral CL2) electrically connected to the second alignment electrode; a driving controller electrically connected to the pixel unit through the line unit (Par. [0104 – 0119]), wherein the non-display area comprises a fan-out area positioned between the display area and the driving controller (fig. 16, area where the driver for driving the pixels PXL and a portion of the line part electrically connecting the pixels PXL and the driver to each other area provided; Par. [0109]); and wherein at least a portion of the first signal line and at least a portion of the second signal line extend in a first direction crossing the second direction and in the fan area and are spaced apart from each other in a first direction (fig. 16 shows the signal lines crossing in the first and second directions DR1 and DR2 and the first and second power lines have at least a portion in the fan-out area and are spaced apart from each other) and wherein at least another portion of the first signal line extends in a second direction (fig. 16 numeral CL1). Oh is silent regarding the composition of the first signal line and the second signal line and a pad portion electrically connecting the driving controller and the line unit, a constant power being supplied, and wherein at least a portion of the first signal line and at least a portion of the second signal line extend in a first direction crossing the second direction to overlap the first electrode or the second electrode at respective regions at which the first electrode or the second electrode crosses the first signal line and the second signal line in the second direction.
Inukai teaches a display device including a constant power supply (Inukai, Par. [0020]; Par. [0085-0086]) and a controller (fig. 22 numeral 1804 and 1803; Par. [0413 – 0414]) connected to the display device by a pad (fig. 23A numeral 1812 and 1811]). Inukai also teaches signal lines comprises of aluminum and other materials (Par. [0280]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the immediate invention to combine the pad portion, constant power supply, and materials in Inukai with the controller and line unit in Oh in order to improve the light emission per area of the device (Inukai, Par. [0086]) and to provide improved contact and electrical connection between the controller driving the device and the device itself. Oh and Inukai are silent regarding the composition of the first signal line and the second signal line and wherein at least a portion of the first signal line and at least a portion of the second signal line extend in a first direction crossing the second direction to overlap the first electrode or the second electrode at respective regions at which the first electrode or the second electrode crosses the first signal line and the second signal line in the second direction
Sasaki teaches a display device (Sasaki, fig. 1 – 4) comprising a first signal line (fig. 1 – 2, 4, numeral 17) and at least a portion of a second signal line (fig. 1 – 4, numeral 11), extending in a first direction crossing a second direction to overlap a first electrode (fig. 1 – 4, numeral 22) or a second electrode (fig. 1 – 4 numeral 24), and the overlap occurs where the first electrode or second electrode crosses the first signal line and the second signal line in the second direction (fig. 2 shows electrodes 22 and 24 crossing the signal lines 17 in a second direction, fig. 1 shows first signal line and second signal line 17 and 11 crossing the first and second electrodes 22 and 24 in both a first and second direction, and overlapping where the signal lines and the electrodes cross).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the immediate invention to combine the signal line and electrode layout in Sasaki with the signal lines and electrodes in Oh and Inukai in order to reduce the layout area of the device (Sasaki, Par. [0044 - 0054]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230006119 A1 hereinafter Oh, in view of US 20020000576 A1 hereinafter Inukai, in view of US 20130153941 A1 hereinafter Sasaki and in further view of US 20210288104 A1 hereinafter Yang.
For claim 10, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 9. Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki are silent regarding a third electrode on the substrate, and configured to be provided with the second power supplied from the second signal line, wherein the second electrode is on one side of the first electrode, and wherein the third electrode is on another side of the first electrode.
Yang teaches a display device (Yang, fig. 8) including a third electrode (fig. 8, ELT1 (Right of CNL1)) on the substrate (Fig. 5, 8, 9 numeral SUB), and configured to be provided with the second power supplied (VDD, Paragraph [0123]) from the second signal line (fig. 8, PL1), wherein the second electrode (fig. 8 numeral ELT1 (Left of CNL1)) is on one side of the first electrode (fig. 8 numeral ELT2 (of CNL2)), and wherein the third electrode (fig. 8 numeral ELT1 (Right of CNL1)) is on another side of the first electrode (fig. 8 numeral ELT2 (of CNL2)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the immediate invention to incorporate the electrode configuration of Yang with the signal lines and electrodes in Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki, to include further comprising a third electrode on the substrate, and configured to be provided with the second power supplied from the second signal line, wherein the second electrode is on one side of the first electrode, and wherein the third electrode is on another side of the first electrode, for the purpose of distributing different voltages to different parts of the device and increasing performance. See also, [MPEP 2163.02 Standard for Determining Compliance with the Written Description Requirement] and [MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C) Rearrangement of Parts].
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230006119 A1 hereinafter Oh, in view of US 20020000576 A1 hereinafter Inukai, in view of US 20130153941 A1 hereinafter Sasaki and in further view of US 11114478 B2 hereinafter Cheng.
For claim 19, Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki teach all of claim 1. Oh, Inukai, and Sasaki are silent regarding a thickness of the first electrode and a thickness of the second electrode are greater than a thickness of the first signal line and a thickness of the second signal line.
Cheng teaches a display device (Cheng, fig. 1B, 4R) wherein a thickness of the first electrode (Fig. 1B, 4R numeral 8, Col.8, Lines 50-67 to Col. 9, Lines 1 – 5) and a thickness of the second electrode (Fig. 1B, 4R; numeral 7, Col.8, Lines 50-67 to Col. 9, Lines 1-5) are greater than a thickness of the first signal line (Fig. 1B, 4R; numeral 131/141/161, Col. 17, Lines 9-11; Col. 21, Lines 34-63) and a thickness of the second signal line (Fig. 1B, 4R; numeral 132/142/162, Col. 17, Lines 9-11; Col. 21, Lines 34-63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the immediate invention to incorporate thicknesses of the electrodes and signal lines of Cheng into the electrodes and signal lines in Oh, Inukai, and Cheng to include wherein a thickness of the first electrode and a thickness of the second electrode are greater than a thickness of the first signal line and a thickness of the second signal line, for the purpose of reducing resistance, increase signal transmission speed and response time, decrease signal interference and short circuits. Selection of a particular relative thickness of signal lines and electrodes is not associated with an unexpected technical advantage. This limitation would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine trial and error or by normal design procedures. See also, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) Changes in Size/Proportion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/07/206 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 1 and 4 appear to focus on the materials used for the signal lines, the pad portion being included with the driving controller, and the position where in the signal lines and the electrodes cross with each other. These arguments are not persuasive as the prior art of record appears to teach these limitations (see the rejection above). Further, in regard to the direction and position that the first and second electrodes cross the first and second signal lines, the position and orientation of the electrodes and signal lines would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as such modifications would involve a mere change in configuration. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant’s arguments regarding the pad portion in view of Oh is not persuasive as it does not consider the other prior art of record or the combination of the prior art as a whole.
Applicant’s argument that the semiconductor layer 22 in Sasaki cannot be viewed as a signal line is moot, as the semiconductor layer 22 in Sasaki is being considered as an electrode (see rejection above, Sasaki Par. [0101]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.T.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/MONICA D HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815