DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-18 are under examination.
Claims 4 and 13 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (WO 2020/244308 A1 and using U.S. PGPub US 2022/0094012 A1 as Machine Translation of English version), hereinafter Liu, in view of Fujita et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2019/0288264 A1), hereinafter Fujita, in view of Que et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2023/0086233 A1 with Foreign Application Priority Date of November 27th, 2020), hereinafter Que.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a battery module, comprising: a main body comprising a plurality of batteries that are electrically connected to each other (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0053] whereby Fig. 1 is an assembled battery module and Annotated Fig. 2 is an explosive schematic diagram of configuration of Fig. 1, whereby the battery module includes: multiple unit cells ref. 20 stacked in a first direction (X direction of Fig. 2); an output terminal ref. 60, electrically connected to the unit cells ref. 20, etc., such that said multiple unit cells (i.e., at least batteries) are at least electrically connected to each other so as to be electrically connected to the output terminal, and lacking any further distinction thereof, also see Title, [0002], [0005], [0021], [0054]),
the main body having an output terminal (i.e., at least output terminal ref. 60 as shown in Figs. 1-2 and disclosed in [0053], also see [0006], [0021]-[0022], [0054]-[0058], [0062]);
at least one end plate disposed at least one end of the main body (i.e., at least end plate ref. 40 disposed at one side of the multiple unit cells ref. 20 in the first direction, etc., as disclosed in [0053] and shown in Annotated Fig. 2, also see [0043], [0054], [0059], Fig. 1);
and a base that is installed on the at least one end plate (i.e., at least terminal protection device ref. 10 includes a base ref. 100 as shown in Figs. 4-5 and disclosed in [0057], etc., whereby as disclosed in [0059] the bottom portion ref. 110 of the base ref. 100 is formed as extending in a third direction (Z direction in Fig. 2), and is provided with a boss ref. 111 on at least one side in a second direction (Y direction in Fig. 2), so that the terminal protection device ref. 10 can be interference fit with the groove ref. 41 of the end plate ref. 40 by means of the boss ref. 111, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said base, etc., also see Figs. 1-6),
wherein the base has an installation groove defined thereon (i.e., at least See Annotated Fig. 5), the installation groove having a rib protruding from a bottom thereof (i.e., at least See Annotated Fig. 5),
the rib defining an accommodating groove (i.e., at least receiving cavity ref. 130 as disclosed in [0057] and shown in Annotated Fig. 5, also see [0060]-[0062], [0071]-[0074], [0078]-[0079]),
wherein a circumferential side wall of the base has an installation opening in communication with the accommodating groove (i.e., at least input port ref. 121 as disclosed in [0053] and shown in Annotated Fig. 5, and lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0057], [0072], [0080], Fig. 6),
at least a part of the output terminal extending into the accommodating groove through the installation opening (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0053] whereby an input port ref. 121 through which the output terminal ref. 60 can extend into the terminal protection device ref. 10, etc., also see [0057], Figs. 4-5, [0072], Fig. 2).
Since Lui discloses in [0058] combining with Fig. 6, in order to improve the stability of the relative position between the output terminal ref. 60 and the terminal protection device ref. 10, the output terminal ref. 60 is provided with a through hole ref. 61, the bottom portion ref. 110 is provided with a conductive fastener ref. 112, such as a conductive nut, and by means of a connecting member passing through the through hole ref. 61 and being electrically connected with the conductive fastener ref. 112, the output terminal ref. 60 is fixed to the bottom portion ref. 110, etc., this at least provides the output terminal is connected to the at least one end plate, such that said terminal protection device ref. 10 including the bottom portion ref. 110 including said conductive fastener is at least connected so that the terminal protection device ref. 10 can be interference fit with the groove ref. 41 of the end plate ref. 40, etc., as disclosed in [0059], and lacking any further distinction thereof (i.e., also see [0053]-[0054], [0056], [0058]).
However, Liu is silent as to at least one end plate is isolated from the main body by an insulating member. Furthermore, Liu is silent as to the output terminal is electrically connected to the at least one end plate. Furthermore, Liu is silent as to a base that is insulative. Furthermore, Liu is silent as to the rib is arranged in the installation groove and spaced apart from an inner side surface of the installation groove.
Although Liu is silent as to a base that is insulative, since Liu discloses in [0022] when the terminal protection device is applied to the battery module, during the transportation of the battery module, the protection plate can be disposed to cover the access port, thereby preventing the electric leakage caused by the electrical connection between the output terminal in the receiving cavity and the external device, and improving the safety performance of the battery module during transportation, etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate that said base (as discussed above) is at least insulative so as to prevent the electric leakage caused by the electrical connection between the output terminal in the receiving cavity and the external device, and improving the safety performance of the battery module during transportation, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Fujita teaches a terminal connection structure, battery stack body, and method for forming terminal connection structure (Title). Fujita further teaches at least one end plate is isolated from the main body by an insulating member (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0036] whereby each end plate ref. 4 is disposed so as to be adjacent to outermost battery ref. 8, and end plate ref. 4 is made of a metal plate, for example, and is insulated from battery ref. 8 by being adjacent to battery ref. 8 via separator ref. 18, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said insulating member, also see [0033], [0038]-[0040], Figs. 1-3).
Fujita further teaches in [0057] the terminal bus bar ref. 104a and end plate ref. 4 are electrically connected by inserting external connection terminal ref. 16 into through-hole ref. 114, etc., which at least provides the output terminal is electrically connected to the at least one end plate, and lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0025], [0031], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0051], Figs. 1-2).
Fujita further teaches in [0011] according to the present invention, connection reliability between an output terminal of a battery and a bus bar can be improved.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Liu with the teachings of Fujita, whereby the battery module including the at least one end plate, main body, output terminal, etc., as disclosed by Liu further includes the at least one end plate is isolated from the main body by an insulating member, and the output terminal is electrically connected to the at least one end plate as taught by Fujita so that the connection reliability between an output terminal of a battery and a bus bar can be improved.
Furthermore, and as discussed above Liu is silent as to a base that is insulative. Furthermore, and as discussed above, Liu is silent as to the rib is arranged in the installation groove and spaced apart from an inner side surface of the installation groove.
Que teaches a mounting base, battery and power consuming device (Title). Que further teaches the rib is arranged in the installation groove and spaced apart from an inner side surface of the installation groove (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 4). Que further teaches a base that is insulative and installed on the at least one end plate (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0067] mounting base ref. 50 is mounted on the end plate ref. 10, etc., such that as disclosed in [0078] referring to Fig. 4, mounting base ref. 50 includes a main body ref. 51, whereby as disclosed in [0080] the main body ref. 51 is made of an insulating material, and the main body ref. 51 is used for providing insulation protection for the output electrode ref. 30, etc., also see [0066], [0072]-[0074], [0078]-[0079], [0096], [0106], [0109], [0113]-[0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Liu and Fujita with the teachings of Que, whereby the battery module including the at least one end plate, main body, output terminal, base, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Liu and Fujita further includes the rib is arranged in the installation groove and spaced apart from an inner side surface of the installation groove, and a base that is insulative as taught by Que so as to provide insulation protection for the output electrode.
Annotated Figure 2 (Liu)
Annotated Figure 5 (Liu)
Annotated Figure 4 (Que)
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 1. Liu further discloses the installation groove is tapered in a direction from a groove opening of the installation groove to the bottom of the installation groove (See Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 1, also see [0066], and Fig. 6 with regards to the sliding slot ref. 125, [0064]-[0065], [0067], [0069], [0075], [0077]-[0079]). Furthermore, Liu discloses in [0072] the input port ref. 121 is located on a side of the side plate ref. 120 facing the output terminal ref. 60 so that the output terminal ref. 60 can extend into the receiving cavity ref. 130 with a shorter extending distance, while optimizing the distribution of the access ports ref. 122 and in the input port ref. 121, and reducing the volume of the side plate ref. 120, etc.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that changes in dimension of said installation groove is a matter of obvious engineering choice (MPEP 2144.04, IV., A., B.) so as to allow the output terminal to extend into the receiving cavity with a shorter extending distance, while optimizing the distribution of the access ports and in the input port while reducing the volume of the side plate, and lacking and further structural distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 1. Liu further discloses in [0072] the input port ref. 121 is located on a side of the side plate ref. 120 facing the output terminal ref. 60 so that the output terminal ref. 60 can extend into the receiving cavity ref. 130 with a shorter extending distance, while optimizing the distribution of the access ports ref. 122 and in the input port ref. 121, and reducing the volume of the side plate ref. 120, etc., which at least provides a shape of the accommodating groove is adapted to a shape of the part of the output terminal in the accommodating groove so as to allow the output terminal to extend into the receiving cavity with a shorter extending distance, while optimizing the distribution of the access ports and in the input port while reducing the volume of the side plate, and lacking and further structural distinction thereof (also see Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1, also see [0057], [0073]-[0074], [0078]-[0079]).
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that changes in shape of the accommodating groove is a matter of obvious engineering choice (MPEP 2144.04, IV., A., B.) so as to allow the output terminal to extend into the receiving cavity with a shorter extending distance, while optimizing the distribution of the access ports and in the input port while reducing the volume of the side plate, and lacking and further structural distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 1. Liu further discloses the accommodating groove has a first through hole defined in the bottom thereof (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 1),
wherein the output terminal has a second through hole defined therein (i.e., at least through hole ref. 61 as disclosed in [0058] and shown in at least Figs. 2, etc.)
and wherein the battery module further comprises a fastener that is conductive (i.e., at least conductive fastener ref. 112 such as a conductive nut, etc., as disclosed in [0058] and shown in at least Fig. 6).
Since Lui discloses in [0058] combining with Fig. 6, in order to improve the stability of the relative position between the output terminal ref. 60 and the terminal protection device ref. 10, the output terminal ref. 60 is provided with a through hole ref. 61, the bottom portion ref. 110 is provided with a conductive fastener ref. 112, such as a conductive nut, and by means of a connecting member passing through the through hole ref. 61 and being electrically connected with the conductive fastener ref. 112, the output terminal ref. 60 is fixed to the bottom portion ref. 110, etc., this at least provides the fastener penetrating through the first through hole and the second through hole and being connected to the at least one end plate, such that said terminal protection device ref. 10 including the bottom portion ref. 110 including said conductive fastener is at least connected so that the terminal protection device ref. 10 can be interference fit with the groove ref. 41 of the end plate ref. 40, etc., as disclosed in [0059], and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 1. Liu further discloses the base comprises an installation portion having the installation groove defined thereon (i.e., at least See Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 1),
and an insertion portion connected to a bottom of the installation portion (i.e., See Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 1, and [0020]), lacking any further distinction as to said portion(s).
Since Liu discloses in [0020] the bottom portion is formed as extending in the third direction, and the bottom portion is provided with a boss on at least one side in the second direction, so that the terminal protection device is snapped into an end plate of the battery module through the boss, etc., this at least provides the at least one end plate has an insertion hole defined therein, the insertion portion being inserted into the insertion hole (i.e., at least See Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1) so that the terminal protection device is snapped into an end plate of the battery module through said boss, and lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0021], [0053]-[0054]).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Fujita and Que as applied to claim 6 above, or in the alternative, in view of Lee et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2017/0222251 A1), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 6. Liu further discloses wherein the installation portion has a snap portion provided on a bottom thereof (i.e., at least boss ref. 111 of the bottom portion ref. 110 as disclosed in [0059], also See Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 1, and [0020]).
Since Liu discloses in [0020] the bottom portion is formed as extending in the third direction, and the bottom portion is provided with a boss on at least one side in the second direction, so that the terminal protection device is snapped into an end plate of the battery module through the boss, etc., this at least provides at least one end plate snap hole defined therein, the snap portion being engaged in the snap hole to fix the base on the at least one end plate (i.e., at least See Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1) so that the insertion portion being inserted into the insertion hole so that the terminal protection device is snapped into an end plate of the battery module through said boss, and lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0021], [0053]-[0054]).
Although Liu is silent as to an elastic snap portion, since Liu discloses in [0020] the bottom portion is formed as extending in the third direction, and the bottom portion is provided with a boss on at least one side in the second direction, so that the terminal protection device is snapped into an end plate of the battery module through the boss, etc., the skilled artisan would expect that said bottom portion(s) are at least elastic so that the terminal protection device is snapped into an end plate of the battery module through the boss.
Furthermore, since Liu provides an identical and/or substantially identical snap portion to that claimed, properties and/or functions such as elastic are presumed inherent, lacking any further distinction thereof as claimed (MPEP 2112.01, I.).
In the alternative, Lee teaches a clamping device, and battery module comprising the same (Title). Lee further teaches in [0087] because the support ref. 2a and the pressing parts ref. 4a have the elasticity, using the bent part ref. 6a, the locking holes ref. 8a of the pressing parts ref. 4a may be snap-coupled with the lower and upper locking protrusions refs. 21, 61 of the lower and upper plates refs. 30, 70, or snap-released from the locking protrusions refs. 21, 61, etc. (also see [0026]). Lee further teaches in [0033] the clamping device according to the present disclosure may reduce the overall size of the battery cartridges and the plates by minimizing a number of screw coupling portions on edges of the battery cartridges and the plates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Liu and Fujita and Que with the teachings of Lee, whereby the battery module including the at least one end plate, main body, output terminal, base, snap portion, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Liu and Fujita and Que further includes an elastic snap portion as taught by Lee so as to reduce the overall size of the battery cartridges and the plates by minimizing a number of screw coupling portions on edges of the battery cartridges and the plates.
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 7. Liu further discloses the snap portion is spaced apart from the insertion portion (i.e., at least See Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 1), lacking any further distinction thereof as to said portion(s).
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 7. Liu further discloses the snap hole is defined on an outer side of the at least one end plate (i.e., at least See Annotated Fig. 2), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that an outer side is at least a top side of the end plate as shown in Annotated Fig. 2, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Since Liu discloses in [0020] the bottom portion is formed as extending in the third direction, and the bottom portion is provided with a boss on at least one side in the second direction, so that the terminal protection device is snapped into an end plate of the battery module through the boss, etc., this at least provides the snap portion is engaged in the snap hole from the outer side of the at least one end plate (i.e., at least See Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1) so that the insertion portion being inserted into the insertion hole so that the terminal protection device is snapped into an end plate of the battery module through said boss, and lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0021], [0053]-[0054]).
Claims 10-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (WO 2020/244308 A1 and using U.S. PGPub US 2022/0094012 A1 as Machine Translation of English version), hereinafter Liu, in view of Fujita et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2019/0288264 A1), hereinafter Fujita, in view of Que et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2023/0086233 A1 with Foreign Application Priority Date of November 27th, 2020), hereinafter Que.
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses a battery module, comprising: a main body comprising a plurality of batteries that are electrically connected to each other (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0053] whereby Fig. 1 is an assembled battery module and Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1 is an explosive schematic diagram of configuration of Fig. 1, whereby the battery module includes: multiple unit cells ref. 20 stacked in a first direction (X direction of Fig. 2); an output terminal ref. 60, electrically connected to the unit cells ref. 20, etc., such that said multiple unit cells (i.e., at least batteries) are at least electrically connected to each other so as to be electrically connected to the output terminal, and lacking any further distinction thereof, also see Title, [0002], [0005], [0021], [0054]),
the main body having an output terminal (i.e., at least output terminal ref. 60 as shown in Figs. 1-2 and disclosed in [0053], also see [0006], [0021]-[0022], [0054]-[0058], [0062]);
at least one end plate disposed at least one end of the main body (i.e., at least end plate ref. 40 disposed at one side of the multiple unit cells ref. 20 in the first direction, etc., as disclosed in [0053] and shown in Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1, also see [0043], [0054], [0059], Fig. 1);
and a base that is installed on the at least one end plate (i.e., at least terminal protection device ref. 10 includes a base ref. 100 as shown in Figs. 4-5 and disclosed in [0057], etc., whereby as disclosed in [0059] the bottom portion ref. 110 of the base ref. 100 is formed as extending in a third direction (Z direction in Fig. 2), and is provided with a boss ref. 111 on at least one side in a second direction (Y direction in Fig. 2), so that the terminal protection device ref. 10 can be interference fit with the groove ref. 41 of the end plate ref. 40 by means of the boss ref. 111, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said base, etc., also see Figs. 1-6),
wherein the base has an installation groove defined thereon (i.e., at least See Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 1), the installation groove having a rib protruding from a bottom thereof (i.e., at least See Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 1),
the rib defining an accommodating groove (i.e., at least receiving cavity ref. 130 as disclosed in [0057] and shown in Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 1, also see [0060]-[0062], [0071]-[0074], [0078]-[0079]),
wherein a circumferential side wall of the base has an installation opening in communication with the accommodating groove (i.e., at least input port ref. 121 as disclosed in [0053] and shown in Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 1, and lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0057], [0072], [0080], Fig. 6),
at least a part of the output terminal extending into the accommodating groove through the installation opening (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0053] whereby an input port ref. 121 through which the output terminal ref. 60 can extend into the terminal protection device ref. 10, etc., also see [0057], Figs. 4-5, [0072], Fig. 2).
Since Lui discloses in [0058] combining with Fig. 6, in order to improve the stability of the relative position between the output terminal ref. 60 and the terminal protection device ref. 10, the output terminal ref. 60 is provided with a through hole ref. 61, the bottom portion ref. 110 is provided with a conductive fastener ref. 112, such as a conductive nut, and by means of a connecting member passing through the through hole ref. 61 and being electrically connected with the conductive fastener ref. 112, the output terminal ref. 60 is fixed to the bottom portion ref. 110, etc., this at least provides the output terminal is connected to the at least one end plate, such that said terminal protection device ref. 10 including the bottom portion ref. 110 including said conductive fastener is at least connected so that the terminal protection device ref. 10 can be interference fit with the groove ref. 41 of the end plate ref. 40, etc., as disclosed in [0059], and lacking any further distinction thereof (i.e., also see [0053]-[0054], [0056], [0058]).
However, Liu is silent as to at least one end plate is isolated from the main body by an insulating member. Furthermore, Liu is silent as to the output terminal is electrically connected to the at least one end plate. Furthermore, Liu is silent as to a base that is insulative. Furthermore, Liu is silent as to an energy storage apparatus comprising the battery module. Furthermore, Liu is silent as to the rib is arranged in the installation groove and spaced apart from an inner side surface of the installation groove.
Although Liu is silent as to a base that is insulative, since Liu discloses in [0022] when the terminal protection device is applied to the battery module, during the transportation of the battery module, the protection plate can be disposed to cover the access port, thereby preventing the electric leakage caused by the electrical connection between the output terminal in the receiving cavity and the external device, and improving the safety performance of the battery module during transportation, etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate that said base (as discussed above) is at least insulative so as to prevent the electric leakage caused by the electrical connection between the output terminal in the receiving cavity and the external device, and improving the safety performance of the battery module during transportation, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Fujita teaches a terminal connection structure, battery stack body, and method for forming terminal connection structure (Title). Fujita further teaches at least one end plate is isolated from the main body by an insulating member (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0036] whereby each end plate ref. 4 is disposed so as to be adjacent to outermost battery ref. 8, and end plate ref. 4 is made of a metal plate, for example, and is insulated from battery ref. 8 by being adjacent to battery ref. 8 via separator ref. 18, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said insulating member, also see [0033], [0038]-[0040], Figs. 1-3).
Fujita further teaches in [0057] the terminal bus bar ref. 104a and end plate ref. 4 are electrically connected by inserting external connection terminal ref. 16 into through-hole ref. 114, etc., which at least provides the output terminal is electrically connected to the at least one end plate, and lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0025], [0031], [0036], [0038]-[0039], [0051], Figs. 1-2).
Fujita further teaches in [0011] according to the present invention, connection reliability between an output terminal of a battery and a bus bar can be improved.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Liu with the teachings of Fujita, whereby the battery module including the at least one end plate, main body, output terminal, etc., as disclosed by Liu further includes the at least one end plate is isolated from the main body by an insulating member, and the output terminal is electrically connected to the at least one end plate as taught by Fujita so that the connection reliability between an output terminal of a battery and a bus bar can be improved.
Furthermore, Liu is silent as to a base that is insulative. Furthermore, as discussed above, Liu is silent as to an energy storage apparatus comprising the battery module. Furthermore, as discussed above, Liu is silent as to the rib is arranged in the installation groove and spaced apart from an inner side surface of the installation groove.
Que teaches a mounting base, battery and power consuming device (Title). Que further teaches the rib is arranged in the installation groove and spaced apart from an inner side surface of the installation groove (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 4 above in claim 1). Que further teaches a base that is insulative and installed on the at least one end plate (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0067] mounting base ref. 50 is mounted on the end plate ref. 10, etc., such that as disclosed in [0078] referring to Fig. 4, mounting base ref. 50 includes a main body ref. 51, whereby as disclosed in [0080] the main body ref. 51 is made of an insulating material, and the main body ref. 51 is used for providing insulation protection for the output electrode ref. 30, etc., also see [0066], [0072]-[0074], [0078]-[0079], [0096], [0106], [0109], [0113]-[0114]). Que further teaches in [0063] Fig. 1 is a schematic structural diagram of a vehicle ref. 1000, whereby a battery ref. 100 is provided inside the vehicle ref. 1000, etc., and further teaches in [0068] in the battery ref. 100, one or more battery cells ref. 20 may be provided, and if a plurality of battery cells ref. 20 are provided, the plurality of battery cells ref. 20 may be connected to each other in series, parallel, etc., such to form a battery module, etc., which at least provides an energy storage apparatus comprising the battery module, such that a vehicle is a least an energy storage apparatus lacking any further structural distinction thereof as claimed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Liu and Fujita with the teachings of Que, whereby the battery module including the at least one end plate, main body, output terminal, base, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Liu and Fujita further includes an energy storage apparatus (e.g., vehicle), the rib is arranged in the installation groove and spaced apart from an inner side surface of the installation groove, and a base that is insulative as taught by Que so as to provide insulation protection for the output electrode.
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 10. Liu further discloses the installation groove is tapered in a direction from a groove opening of the installation groove to the bottom of the installation groove (See Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 1, also see [0066], and Fig. 6 with regards to the sliding slot ref. 125, [0064]-[0065], [0067], [0069], [0075], [0077]-[0079]). Furthermore, Liu discloses in [0072] the input port ref. 121 is located on a side of the side plate ref. 120 facing the output terminal ref. 60 so that the output terminal ref. 60 can extend into the receiving cavity ref. 130 with a shorter extending distance, while optimizing the distribution of the access ports ref. 122 and in the input port ref. 121, and reducing the volume of the side plate ref. 120, etc.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that changes in dimension of said installation groove is a matter of obvious engineering choice (MPEP 2144.04, IV., A., B.) so as to allow the output terminal to extend into the receiving cavity with a shorter extending distance, while optimizing the distribution of the access ports and in the input port while reducing the volume of the side plate, and lacking and further structural distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 10. Liu further discloses in [0072] the input port ref. 121 is located on a side of the side plate ref. 120 facing the output terminal ref. 60 so that the output terminal ref. 60 can extend into the receiving cavity ref. 130 with a shorter extending distance, while optimizing the distribution of the access ports ref. 122 and in the input port ref. 121, and reducing the volume of the side plate ref. 120, etc., which at least provides a shape of the accommodating groove is adapted to a shape of the part of the output terminal in the accommodating groove so as to allow the output terminal to extend into the receiving cavity with a shorter extending distance, while optimizing the distribution of the access ports and in the input port while reducing the volume of the side plate, and lacking and further structural distinction thereof (also see Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1, also see [0057], [0073]-[0074], [0078]-[0079]).
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that changes in shape of the accommodating groove is a matter of obvious engineering choice (MPEP 2144.04, IV., A., B.) so as to allow the output terminal to extend into the receiving cavity with a shorter extending distance, while optimizing the distribution of the access ports and in the input port while reducing the volume of the side plate, and lacking and further structural distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 10. Liu further discloses the accommodating groove has a first through hole defined in the bottom thereof (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 1),
wherein the output terminal has a second through hole defined therein (i.e., at least through hole ref. 61 as disclosed in [0058] and shown in at least Figs. 2, etc.)
and wherein the battery module further comprises a fastener that is conductive (i.e., at least conductive fastener ref. 112 such as a conductive nut, etc., as disclosed in [0058] and shown in at least Fig. 6).
Since Lui discloses in [0058] combining with Fig. 6, in order to improve the stability of the relative position between the output terminal ref. 60 and the terminal protection device ref. 10, the output terminal ref. 60 is provided with a through hole ref. 61, the bottom portion ref. 110 is provided with a conductive fastener ref. 112, such as a conductive nut, and by means of a connecting member passing through the through hole ref. 61 and being electrically connected with the conductive fastener ref. 112, the output terminal ref. 60 is fixed to the bottom portion ref. 110, etc., this at least provides the fastener penetrating through the first through hole and the second through hole and being connected to the at least one end plate, such that said terminal protection device ref. 10 including the bottom portion ref. 110 including said conductive fastener is at least connected so that the terminal protection device ref. 10 can be interference fit with the groove ref. 41 of the end plate ref. 40, etc., as disclosed in [0059], and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 10. Liu further discloses the base comprises an installation portion having the installation groove defined thereon (i.e., at least See Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 1),
and an insertion portion connected to a bottom of the installation portion (i.e., See Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 1, and [0020]), lacking any further distinction as to said portion(s).
Since Liu discloses in [0020] the bottom portion is formed as extending in the third direction, and the bottom portion is provided with a boss on at least one side in the second direction, so that the terminal protection device is snapped into an end plate of the battery module through the boss, etc., this at least provides the at least one end plate has an insertion hole defined therein, the insertion portion being inserted into the insertion hole (i.e., at least See Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1) so that the terminal protection device is snapped into an end plate of the battery module through said boss, and lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0021], [0053]-[0054]).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Fujita and Que, or in the alternative, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2017/0222251 A1), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 15. Liu further discloses wherein the installation portion has a snap portion provided on a bottom thereof (i.e., at least boss ref. 111 of the bottom portion ref. 110 as disclosed in [0059], also See Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 1, and [0020]).
Since Liu discloses in [0020] the bottom portion is formed as extending in the third direction, and the bottom portion is provided with a boss on at least one side in the second direction, so that the terminal protection device is snapped into an end plate of the battery module through the boss, etc., this at least provides at least one end plate snap hole defined therein, the snap portion being engaged in the snap hole to fix the base on the at least one end plate (i.e., at least See Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1) so that the insertion portion being inserted into the insertion hole so that the terminal protection device is snapped into an end plate of the battery module through said boss, and lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0021], [0053]-[0054]).
However, Liu is silent as to an elastic snap portion.
Although Liu is silent as to an elastic snap portion, since Liu discloses in [0020] the bottom portion is formed as extending in the third direction, and the bottom portion is provided with a boss on at least one side in the second direction, so that the terminal protection device is snapped into an end plate of the battery module through the boss, etc., the skilled artisan would expect that said bottom portion(s) are at least elastic so that the terminal protection device is snapped into an end plate of the battery module through the boss.
Furthermore, since Liu provides an identical and/or substantially identical snap portion to that claimed, properties and/or functions such as elastic are presumed inherent, lacking any further distinction thereof as claimed (MPEP 2112.01, I.).
In the alternative, Lee teaches a clamping device, and battery module comprising the same (Title). Lee further teaches in [0087] because the support ref. 2a and the pressing parts ref. 4a have the elasticity, using the bent part ref. 6a, the locking holes ref. 8a of the pressing parts ref. 4a may be snap-coupled with the lower and upper locking protrusions refs. 21, 61 of the lower and upper plates refs. 30, 70, or snap-released from the locking protrusions refs. 21, 61, etc. (also see [0026]). Lee further teaches in [0033] the clamping device according to the present disclosure may reduce the overall size of the battery cartridges and the plates by minimizing a number of screw coupling portions on edges of the battery cartridges and the plates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Liu and Fujita and Que further with the teachings of Lee, whereby the battery module including the at least one end plate, main body, output terminal, base, snap portion, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Liu and Fujita and Que further includes an elastic snap portion as taught by Lee so as to reduce the overall size of the battery cartridges and the plates by minimizing a number of screw coupling portions on edges of the battery cartridges and the plates.
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 16. Liu further discloses the snap portion is spaced apart from the insertion portion (i.e., at least See Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 1), lacking any further distinction thereof as to said portion(s).
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses the battery module as discussed above in claim 16. Liu further discloses the snap hole is defined on an outer side of the at least one end plate (i.e., at least See Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that an outer side is at least a top side of the end plate as shown in Annotated Fig. 2, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Since Liu discloses in [0020] the bottom portion is formed as extending in the third direction, and the bottom portion is provided with a boss on at least one side in the second direction, so that the terminal protection device is snapped into an end plate of the battery module through the boss, etc., this at least provides the snap portion is engaged in the snap hole from the outer side of the at least one end plate (i.e., at least See Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 1) so that the insertion portion being inserted into the insertion hole so that the terminal protection device is snapped into an end plate of the battery module through said boss, and lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0021], [0053]-[0054]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Liu and Fujita and Ochi, and claims 10-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Liu and Fujita and Ochi and Lee have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Therefore, in light of the amendments to the claims, a new grounds of 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is made for claims 1-3, 5-6, 10-12, and 14-15 in view of Liu and Fujita and Que. See the current rejection of record for the claims that depend therefrom.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Durse et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2020/0403329 A1) discloses a bolted bus bar with finger-proofing (Title), whereby as disclosed in [0045] in the example, the snaps engage a perimeter ref. 21 of the terminal pad ref. 18 to retain the terminal cap ref. 22 over the terminal ref. 14.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727