DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (Claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 10/13/2025 is acknowledged. Applicant also elected with traverse of Species I (Fig.3) in the reply filed on 10/13/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that in particular claim 3 reads on both species Fig. 3 and Fig. 4. This is not found persuasive because while the current limitations in claim 3 might be generic to both species Fig. 3 and Fig.4, but each species Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 recites mutually exclusive grid patterns that are divergent subject matters and requires separate searches as discussed in the restriction requirement. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Applicant further indicated claims 12-21 are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/05/2022, 03/31/2023, 02/29/2024, 07/23/2024, 09/04/2024, 09/29/2024, 03/24/2025, 06/17/2025, 09/29/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Andrei et al. (US 2016/0256955).
Regarding claim 1, Andrei et al teaches a method for marking an article with a pulsed laser (figs.1,5,6), the process comprising the steps of:
providing a pulsed laser (1 fig.1) configured to produce a laser beam (4) comprising pulses (figs.1-3; paragraphs 0039-0043);
providing an article (5 fig.1) comprising an article surface (surface of 5);
using the laser beam (4 fig.1) to form a plurality of marks (desired mark 16 including spots 31) on the article surface in a grid pattern (figs.1,5,6,9,10) by at least one of foaming, ablating, etching, reducing, oxidizing, and carbonizing (paragraphs 0021,0040, 0043-0045,0066); and
moving the laser beam (4 fig.1) while interacting with the article surface (5) along a first row at a constant velocity (figs.1,5-7) while forming the plurality of marks (paragraphs 0039,0045,0077), and wherein the constant velocity is greater than about 8 m/s, preferably greater than about 10 m/s, preferably greater than about 15 m/s, preferably greater than about 18 m/s, preferably greater than about 22 m/s, preferably greater than about 32 m/s, preferably greater than about 45 m/s, preferably greater than about 60 m/s, preferably greater than about 75 m/s, and preferably greater than about 90 m/s (paragraphs 0060,0070,0072,0082, teaches plurality of speeds including 2-25 m/s, 5-15 m/s, 7-10 m/s, 5 m/s, 9 m/s, 10 m/s).
Regarding claim 2, Andrei et al further teaches wherein the laser beam (4 fig.1) moves in a bi-directional motion such that the laser beam moves across the first row in a first direction and moves across a second row in a second direction, wherein the first direction is opposite the second direction, preferably, the first and second row are adjacent (figs.5,6,1; paragraphs 0039,0069,0077).
Regarding claim 3, Andrei et al further teaches wherein the grid pattern (16 figs.1,5,6) comprises a plurality of locations (31) positioned in two or more rows, wherein the two or more rows are substantially parallel (for instance see lines 15), wherein each adjacent pair of locations of the plurality of locations (31) along any of the two or more rows is separated by an X-distance and each adjacent pair of the two or more rows is separated by a Y-distance, and wherein the Y-distance and the X-distance are different (see spot separation distance 18 and hatch distance 19 values in fig.1, paragraphs 0010,0062,0063,0072,0074. See also, the distance between adjacent pair of dots 31 in horizontal and vertical direction in figs.1,5,6,9,10).
Regarding claim 4, Andrei et al further teaches wherein each of the plurality of locations includes a mark (spots 31 in mark 16 in figs.1,5,6) or a void (voids in between spots 31 in mark 16 in figs.1,5,6).
Regarding claim 5, Andrei et al further teaches comprising moving the laser (4 fig.1) beam across each of the locations of the grid pattern (figs.1,5,6), wherein the laser beam moves at the constant velocity as consecutive marks are formed on adjacent locations in the same row, and wherein the laser beam accelerates as the laser beams moves across consecutive locations having a void (figs.1,5-7; paragraphs 0009,0022,0023, 0036,0039,0068,0069,0077).
Regarding claim 6, Andrei et al further teaches wherein the laser beam (4 fig.1) has a turnaround acceleration profile as the laser beam moves from the first row to the second row (figs.1,5-7; paragraphs 009, 0022,0023, 0036,0039,0068,0069,0077)
Regarding claim 7, Andrei et al further teaches wherein the laser beam has a repetition rate greater than about 100 kHz, preferably greater than about 200 kHz, even more preferably greater than about 500 kHz, and most preferably greater than about 1000 kHz (paragraphs 0025,0026,0071,072; figs.2,3).
Regarding claim 8, Andrei et al further teaches wherein the laser beam has a pulse energy of from about 100 to about 1000 μJ, preferably from about 200 to about 800 μJ, more preferably from about 300 to about 600 μJ, and even more preferably from about 400 to about 500 μJ (paragraphs 0057).
Regarding claim 9, Andrei et al further teaches wherein the laser beam has a focal length of from about 100 mm to about 1200 mm, preferably from about 100 mm to about 1000 mm, preferably from about 100 mm to about 420 mm, preferably from about 200 mm to about 380 mm (paragraphs 0081,0082).
Regarding claim 10, Andrei et al further teaches wherein the laser beam has a wavelength of from about 300 nm to about 1100 nm (paragraphs 0040,0042. Not also wavelength of the laser beam can be also calculated from the values in the paragraphs 0025,0026,0071, figs.2,3).
Regarding claim 11, Andrei et al further teaches wherein the laser beam has a pulse duration of less than about 100 nanoseconds, preferably less than about 50 nanoseconds, even more preferably less than about 30 nanoseconds, and most preferably less than about 1.5 nanoseconds (paragraphs 0021,0058,066,0082).
Conclusion
/HENOK D LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853