DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Responses to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments are persuasive to overcome all objections and 112b rejections as set forth in the most recent office action mailed 10/31/2025.
Responses to Arguments
On page 13 of remarks of 02/02/2026, applicant states that in Mcintosh reference, no portion of the "closure element" (11) engages the "poppet" (12) to cause translation of the "poppet" (12). Examiner disagrees. Para. 0034 of Mcintosh states that closure element or second engagement component 11 will return towards the poppet or first engagement component 12 once the pump is disengaged. This is due to the closure element spring 14 biasing the closure element 11 towards poppet 12. It must be noted that the velocity of the closure element 11 will be slowed by poppet 12 while returning to the position as illustrated in FIG. 1. This means that surface portion 34 of closure element or second engagement component 11 engages/contacts bottom surface 33 of the poppet or first engagement component 12. Hence, from fig.2 to fig.1, surface portion 34 of closure element or second engagement component 11 engages/contacts bottom surface 33 of the poppet or first engagement component 12 to translate/move the poppet or first engagement component 12 toward spring 15. Also, para. 0031 of Mcintosh states that closure element 11 is urged longitudinally toward poppet 12 via closure element spring 14, thereby resisting movement until such time as the differential pressure of the fluid (caused by disengagement of the pump) exceeds the spring force of the closure element spring 14. Accordingly, Mcintosh teaches "second engagement component is configured to engage with the first engagement component during an operation cycle to translate the first engagement component along an axis in response to a pressure of the fluid within the sampling relief valve being above a predetermined threshold."
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. See new ground(s) of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 10, and 17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Mcintosh – US 20130153239 and in view of Griffin – US 20030183426, and further in view of Pozzati - US 20080029726.
As to claim 1, Mcintosh teaches a relief valve 10 (figs.1-6 and [0017]: valve also allows fluid to flow in the reverse direction to relieve any pressure that may be contained in the tank, vessel, or tubular; thus “a relief valve”) comprising: a first engagement component 12 coupled with a valve spring 15; and a second engagement component 11 axially aligned with the first engagement component 12 and configured to engage with the first engagement component 12 during an operation cycle to translate the first engagement component 12 along an axis in response to a pressure of a fluid within the relief valve being above a predetermined threshold ([0031-0032, 0034]: spring rates are selected to open inventive valve in forward and reverse directions at the same or different differential pressures; Para. 0034 of Mcintosh states that closure element or second engagement component 11 will return towards the poppet or first engagement component 12 once the pump is disengaged. This is due to the closure element spring 14 biasing the closure element 11 towards poppet 12. It must be noted that the velocity of the closure element 11 will be slowed by poppet 12 while returning to the position as illustrated in FIG. 1. This means that surface portion 34 of closure element or second engagement component 11 engages/contacts bottom surface 33 of the poppet or first engagement component 12. Hence, from fig.2 to fig.1, surface portion 34 of closure element or second engagement component 11 engages/contacts bottom surface 33 of the poppet or first engagement component 12 to translate/move the poppet or first engagement component 12 toward spring 15. Also, para. 0031 of Mcintosh states that closure element 11 is urged longitudinally toward poppet 12 via closure element spring 14, thereby resisting movement until such time as the differential pressure of the fluid (caused by disengagement of the pump) exceeds the spring force of the closure element spring 14. Accordingly, Mcintosh teaches “a first engagement component coupled with a valve spring; and a second engagement component axially aligned with the first engagement component and configured to engage with the first engagement component during an operation cycle to translate the first engagement component along an axis in response to a pressure of a fluid within the relief valve being above a predetermined threshold”); and a carbide substrate 33 disposed between the first engagement component 12 and the second engagement component 11 when the second engagement component 11 engages the first engagement component 12 (figs.1-6 and [0042]), wherein the first engagement component 12 comprises a valve stem and the second engagement component 11 comprises a valve seat having the carbide substrate 33 disposed thereon (figs.1-6 and [0042]: the first engagement component 12 is a valve stem 12 (or poppet 12) of the relief valve 10; the second engagement component 11 is a valve seat 11 of the relief valve 10).
Mcintosh further teaches a top surface 34 of the second engagement component 11 having the carbide substrate disposed thereon contacting a bottom surface 33 of the first engagement component 12 when the second engagement component 11 engages with the first engagement component 12 ([0042]: surface 34 of closure element or second engagement component 11 may also be coated with a wear resistant material or may have a wear resistant material such as carbide imbedded in or mounted to this surface; thus “a top surface of the second engagement component having the carbide substrate disposed thereon contacting a bottom surface of the first engagement component when the second engagement component engages with the first engagement component”).
Mcintosh does not explicitly teach carbide substrate coated with diamond particles to form polycrystalline diamond (PCD), and the valve stem is comprised of a tungsten alloy.
Griffin teaches a concept of: a known two-layer or multi-layer PCD element where polycrystalline diamond is bonded to a carbide substrate, wherein the known two-layer or multi-layer PCD element is used in almost any application where a hard wear and erosion resistant material is required ([0006]).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify carbide substrate of Mcintosh with concept teachings of Griffin to include carbide substrate coated with diamond particles to form polycrystalline diamond (PCD), for a hard wear and erosion resistant purposes ([0006]).
Mcintosh and Griffin don’t explicitly teach the valve stem is comprised of a tungsten alloy.
Pozzati teaches a concept of: valve stem is preferably coated with an alloy selected from the group of alloys comprising tungsten carbides ([0032]).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify valve stem of Mcintosh with concept teachings of Pozzati to include the valve stem is comprised of a tungsten alloy, because of its extreme resistance to abrasion and galling ([0035]).
As to claims 3, 11, and 18, Mcintosh teaches the operation cycle (figs.1-2) comprises: engaging, in response to an increase in the pressure, a top surface 23 of the second engagement component 11 with a bottom surface 33 of the first engagement component 12; permitting a fluid path from a pipeline to an outlet 31 of the relief valve 10 ([0032, 0034]: spring rates are selected to open inventive valve in forward and reverse directions at the same or different differential pressures; thus “engaging, in response to an increase in the pressure, a top surface of the second engagement component with a bottom surface of the first engagement component”; [0039] and fig.6: sampling relief valve is inserted into pipe or any fluid flow transportation system or device; thus “permitting a fluid path from a pipeline to an outlet of the relief valve”); disengaging, in response to a decrease in the pressure, the top surface 23 of the second engagement component 11 with the bottom surface 33 of the first engagement component 12; and restricting the fluid path from the pipeline to the outlet 31 of the relief valve 10 ([0039] and fig.6: sampling relief valve is inserted into pipe or any fluid flow transportation system or device; [0032, 0034]: spring rates are selected to open inventive valve in forward and reverse directions at the same or different differential pressures; thus “disengaging, in response to a decrease in the pressure, the top surface of the second engagement component with the bottom surface of the first engagement component; and restricting the fluid path from the pipeline to the outlet of the relief valve”).
As to claims 6 and 14, Mcintosh teaches the relief valve is a sampling relief valve configured to obtain a sample of the fluid flowing through a pipeline ([0039]: sampling relief valve is inserted into pipe or any fluid flow transportation system or device).
As to claim 9, Mcintosh teaches a relief valve 10 in a hydrocarbon site (figs.1-6 and [0017-0018]: valve also allows fluid to flow in the reverse direction to relieve any pressure that may be contained in the tank, vessel, or tubular; provide a valve to be used below a top drive to permit forward and reverse fluid flow into or out of a well bore; thus “a relief valve in a hydrocarbon site”), the relief valve (figs.1-4 and [0017-0018]) comprising: an inlet port 61 configured to receive a fluid from a pipeline ([0039]: sampling relief valve is inserted into pipe or any fluid flow transportation system or device; thus “an inlet port configured to receive a fluid from a pipeline”);
a first engagement component; a second engagement component configured to engage with the first engagement component during an operation cycle such that the second engagement component causes the first engagement component to translate along an axis in response to a pressure of the fluid within the relief valve being above a predetermined threshold; and a carbide substrate disposed between the first engagement component and the second engagement component (see reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1); the combination of Mcintosh and Griffin and Pozzati teaches the first engagement component comprises a valve stem and the second engagement component comprises a valve seat having the carbide substrate disposed thereon and coated with diamond particles to form polycrystalline diamond (PCD), and the valve stem is comprised of a tungsten alloy, and a top surface of the second engagement component having the carbide substrate disposed thereon contacting a bottom surface of the first engagement component when the second engagement component engages with the first engagement component (see reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1).
As to claim 16, Mcintosh teaches a valve 10 (figs.1-6 and [0017-0018]) comprising: a first engagement component 12; and a second engagement component 11 configured to engage with the first engagement component 12; and a carbide substrate 33 disposed between the first engagement component 12 and the second engagement component 11 such that the carbide substrate 33 contacts the first engagement component 12 and the second engagement component 11 when the second engagement component 11 engages the first engagement component 12 (figs.1-6 and [0042]); the combination of Mcintosh and Griffin and Pozzati teaches the first engagement component comprises a valve stem and the second engagement component comprises a valve seat having the carbide substrate disposed thereon and coated with diamond particles to form polycrystalline diamond (PCD), and the valve stem is comprised of a tungsten alloy, and a top surface of the second engagement component having the carbide substrate disposed thereon contacting a bottom surface of the first engagement component when the second engagement component engages with the first engagement component (see reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1).
Claims 4, 7, 12, and 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Mcintosh, Griffin, and Pozzati and further in view of Padfield – US 9376011 B1 and Machado – US 20150226051.
As to claims 4, 7, 12, and 15, modified Mcintosh does not explicitly teach the relief valve is fluidly coupled with an analytics system, the analytics system configured to: receive the sample from the relief valve in response to a completion of the operation cycle; and analyze one or more properties of the sample to determine an amount of sediment within the sample.
Padfield teaches a concept of: a hydrocarbon analyzer is capable of measuring hydrocarbons in fluid communication with an outlet of the pressure relief valve (col.5, lines 21-25).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify relief valve of modified Mcintosh with concept teachings of Padfield to include relief valve is fluidly coupled with an analytics system, the analytics system configured to: receive the sample from the relief valve in response to a completion of the operation cycle; and analyze one or more properties of the sample, for measuring hydrocarbons in fluid communication with an outlet of the pressure relief valve (col.5, lines 21-25).
Modified Mcintosh and Padfield do not explicitly teach determine an amount of sediment within the sample.
Machado teaches a concept of: monitoring system 26 serves as a net oil computer that may be used during a well test. The net oil computer may determine a net amount of hydrocarbons (e.g., oil), a net amount of water, a net amount of basic sediment and water (BS&W) of production of selected well ([0092]).
Machado further teaches hydrocarbon site 10 may be an area in which hydrocarbons, such as crude oil ([0031]); the extracted hydrocarbon is transported via pipelines 24 to refineries ([0034]).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Mcintosh with concept teachings of Machado to include analyze one or more properties of the sample to determine an amount of sediment within the sample (as recited in claims 7 and 15); the pipeline is an unrefined oil pipeline configured to provide the fluid to a refining process, and the fluid is crude oil (as recited in claims 4 and 12), to determine a net amount of basic sediment and water (BS&W) of production of selected well ([0092]).
Claim 8 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Mcintosh, Griffin, and Pozzati, and further in view of Oh – US 20030097904.
As to claim 8, while Mcintosh teach second engagement component (or valve seat 11),
Mcintosh does not explicitly teach at least one of the first engagement component or the second engagement component is manufactured from a Tungsten Cobalt alloy of between 5 percent and 40 percent Cobalt with respect to Tungsten by atomic weight.
Go teaches a concept of: sintered alloy material for valve seat manufactured from Tungsten Cobalt alloy, which includes 10-25% by weight of cobalt ([0015]).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify modified Mcintosh with concept teachings of Go to include at least one of the first engagement component or the second engagement component is manufactured from a Tungsten Cobalt alloy of between 5 percent and 40 percent Cobalt with respect to Tungsten by atomic weight, for enhancing wear resistance ([0015]).
Claim 19-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Mcintosh, Griffin, and Pozzati, and further in view of Padfield – US 9376011 B1 and Machado – US 20150226051.
As to claims 19-20, claims 19-20 are rejected as reasons stated in the rejection of claims 4 and 7.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Mcintosh, Padfield, Machado, and further in view of Kim – Translate_KR 20210061798 A and Baer – US 20190120397.
As to claims 5 and 13, modified Mcintosh does not explicitly teach the operation cycle of the relief valve is performed more than one thousand times per day.
Kim teaches a concept of: forward/backward operation of relief valve is repeated 1000 times (page 6).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify relief valve 10 of modified Mcintosh with concept teachings of Kim to include the operation cycle of the relief valve is performed more than one thousand times, to test number of operation cycle of the relief valve to see if it can handle various demand of sampling and testing of crude oil to ensure continuous operation.
Modified Mcintosh and Kim does not teach one thousand times per day.
Baer teaches a concept of: some check valves, particularly those used in oil production flow-lines, pumps, may be subjected to continuous operation with the opening/closing sequence occurring thousands of times in a single day ([0006]).
It would thus have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify relief valve 10 of modified Mcintosh with concept teachings of Baer to include the operation cycle of the relief valve is performed more than one thousand times per day, to increase reliability of the valve over multiple opening/closings for continuous operation in oil production flow-lines ([0006]).
Conclusion
/TRUONG D PHAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855