DETAILED ACTION
In a communication received on 2 July 2026, the applicants amended claims 1, 10, 17, and 19 and canceled claim 11, and added claim 24.
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12, 13 and 15-24 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, the applicants allege, "Gadnis fails to teach or suggest the blocks of the blockchain in terms of a black address that is a hash location" (page 11) with respect to the claimed limitation(s), "wherein the identification comprises a block address in a distributed ledger, and wherein the block address is a hash location". The examiner respectfully traverses. The arguments/remarks pertain to whether the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest an badge identification comprising a black address. The examiner concludes that the cited prior art clearly discloses or suggests the blockchain structure enabling the identification including a hash location or bock address
"The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference.... Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art." In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981)
As best understood by the examiner, the claims read on an identifier corresponding to a location of a block on the ledger derived from a hash without requiring a ledger search or validation. Applicant's specification supports this interpretation with the block address being a hash location which itself acts as the security function itself (Applicant's specification, ¶0024). The applicants argue differences of Gadnis individually when the rejection is based on a combination of the references. Bartucci discloses selectively delivers one or more of the profiles to the user device (¶0028). Gadnis discloses a blockchain built upon chaining blocks using a hash of preceding blocks (¶0020); and retrieving encrypted identify information by sending an identifier corresponding to locating the information on the blockchain (¶0054). The cited prior art combination as a whole discloses or suggests transferring credential using by submitting locator for the blockchains hash linked block structure achieving the same function as the claimed limitation. The combination may be achieved in order to improve secure storage of information by utilizing a blockchain infrastructure associated with hash-linked structure (¶0018). The cited prior art clearly discloses the retrieving identity information from a blockchain using hash-linked blocks.
In conclusion, the applicants argue(s) that the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest an badge identification comprising a black address. The examiner traverses because the cited prior art clearly discloses or suggests the blockchain structure enabling the identification including a hash location or bock address.
The applicants allege, "Gadnis ... contemplates encryption/decryption tokens and limiting what data is decrypted/transmitted, but does not clearly describe a per-block access key that is bounded to only one specific block" (page 11) with respect to the claimed limitation(s), "wherein access to the information is controlled by a key associated with the block address such that the second user equipment is enabled to access only a first block associated with the first identity and is not enabled to access other blocks associated with the first user". The examiner respectfully traverses. The arguments/remarks pertain to whether the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest a key corresponding to a single block. The examiner concludes that the cited prior art discloses or suggests selecting a block to retrieve information from
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue requires interpreting the claim language, and considering both the invention and the prior art references as a whole (See 2141.02 "Differences Between Prior art and Claimed Invention)
As best understood by the examiner, the claims read on a key that is associated with a location of a particular block. The applicants' specification supports this interpretation functionally a mechanism for locating and selecting a block (applicant specification, ¶0034). Bartucci ¶0032 discloses lock and user keys and user profile for a locked system. Gadnis discloses in ¶0032, authorizing read access to selected categories of information and without revealing other information; and ¶0081 further discloses that the information is stored in other blocks with an associated identifier to locate the blocks. The cited prior art teachings as a whole disclose protected resources stored in several blocks with selective mechanism for retrieving the information at particular blocks. The combination may be achieved in order to improve secure storage of information by utilizing a blockchain infrastructure associated with hash-linked structure (¶0018). The combined teachings clearly disclose or suggest selecting and retrieving information from selected blocks.
In conclusion, the applicants argue(s) that the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest a key corresponding to a single block. The examiner traverses because the cited prior art discloses or suggests selecting a block to retrieve information from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, 19, 21 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartucci et al. (US 2021/0029489 A1) in view of Ikonomov (US 2014/0237579 A1), Davis et al. (US 2014/0244495 A1), and LaRovere et al. (US 2021/0134100 A1), and further in view of Gadnis et al. (US 2018/0285879 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Bartucci discloses: a device, comprising:
a processing system including a processor (i.e., processor as suggested by a server communicating with remote devices in Bartucci, ¶0027); and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations (i.e., memory and instructions within a computer as suggested by a server communicating with remote devices in Bartucci, ¶0027), the operations comprising:
authenticating a credential of a first user of a first device (i.e., server and user device use known authentication techniques to establish secure connections in Bartucci, ¶0033);
based on the authenticating, providing the first user with an option to select a badge from a plurality of badges via the first device (i.e., user can manually select specific user profiles/credentials on a user device using a favoriting operation in Bartucci, ¶0028, ¶0058);
based on the providing of the option, obtaining a selection of the first badge, resulting in a selected badge (i.e., user may manually select from a list of user profiles that can access locked systems in Bartucci, ¶0059)
based on the obtaining of the selection, transferring an identification of the selected badge to the first device (i.e., server dynamically delivering access credential/profiles selected by the user on the user device in Bartucci, ¶0028, ¶0058).
Bartucci discloses server dynamically delivering a selected access credential/profile of many credentials/profiles available to respective user (¶0028). Bartucci do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Ikonomov, in order to improving granularity of access and privacy by creating multiple identities for a single user (¶0004), discloses:
wherein a first badge of the plurality of badges identifies the first user as being a first gender (i.e., user selects one of many aliases to be identified with the user's identity, user can be identified by gender in Ikonomov, ¶0024-¶0025, ¶0010)
and a second badge of the plurality of badges identifies the first user as a second gender that is different from the first gender (i.e., alias can have different gender than the linked user in the system for switching between aliases linked together including the user data for activity within a social network in Ikonomov, ¶0016, ¶0020).
Based on Bartucci in view of Ikonomov, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Ikonomov to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to improving granularity of access and privacy by creating multiple identities for a single user.
Bartucci discloses server dynamically delivering a selected access credential/profile of many credentials/profiles available to respective user (¶0028). Bartucci and Ikonomov do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Davis, in order to reduce vulnerability to replay attacks via re-used transaction data by issuing a challenge that changes over time (¶0039-0040), discloses:
subsequent to the transferring, obtaining a request from a second device for information pertaining to the selected badge (i.e., POS terminal issues a challenge that the device must respond to in accordance with the challenge in Davis, ¶0047);
based on the obtaining of the request, determining that a second user of the second device is registered with a service associated with the selected badge (i.e., identifier of user device corresponds to public/private key pair issued by bank or certificate authority; obtains a public key based on the received identifier in Davis, ¶0061);
obtaining, from the second device, data that includes at least one value for an identification of a start time of the task, a signature of the second user, or a combination thereof (i.e., avoid replay attack by requiring the corresponding time known to the terminal in the image presented by the device; the time is encoded in the image captured by the terminal in Davis, ¶0039-0040); and
authenticating the first user to the second user in association with the selected badge based on a determination that the first device is able to retrieve the at least one value. (i.e., authenticating user with challenge-response where terminal issues challenge and smartphone device responds in accordance with challenge checked against an expected response in Davis, ¶0047).
Based on Bartucci in view of Ikonomov, and further in view of Davis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Davis to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to reduce vulnerability to replay attacks via re-used transaction data by issuing a challenge that changes over time.
Bartucci discloses the mobile device presents to the user a code that can be used to access a lock system according to the profile list including the profiles currently stored in the user device (fig. 5 and 6, ¶0072-¶0074). Bartucci, Ikonomov, and Davis do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. LaRovere, in order to improved verification of visitor in a service provider access context (¶0020), discloses:
based on the determining, transmitting the information to the second device for presentation of the information to the second user, (i.e., the monitoring unit provides notification to the client of the property that indicates the at least the visitor and corresponding biometrics and device for authenticating and reviewing in LaRovere, ¶0012)
wherein the information includes an identification of a task that the first user is to perform for the second user as part of the service (i.e., detection of the user task/profession, based on the task guiding them to the location of the task and also locking doors irrelevant to the task; also, package delivery context in LaRovere, ¶0030, ¶0068),
wherein the information includes biometric data of the first user, and wherein the biometric data includes a fingerprint and a retinal scan (i.e., fingerprint and retinal scanner sensors used in authenticating the visitor to the property and corresponding client; doorbell camera suggests reviewable footage presented to user at later time in LaRovere, ¶0067).
Based on Bartucci in view of Ikonomov and Davis, and further in view of LaRovere, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of LaRovere to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to improved verification of visitor in a service provider access context.
Bartucci discloses selectively delivers one or more of the profiles to the user device (¶0028). Bartucci, Ikonomov, Davis, and LaRovere, do not disclose the following. Gadnis, in order to improve secure storage of information by utilizing a blockchain infrastructure associated with hash-linked structure (¶0018), discloses: wherein the identification comprises a block address in a distributed ledger, and wherein the block address is a hash location (i.e., blockchain built upon chaining blocks using a hash of preceding blocks in ¶0020; and retrieving encrypted identify information by sending an identifier corresponding to locating the information on the blockchain in ¶0054),
wherein the biometric data includes a fingerprint and a retinal scan, and wherein access to the information is controlled by a key associated with the block address such that the second user equipment is enabled to access only a first block associated with the first identity and is not enabled to access other blocks associated with the first user (i.e., authorizing read access to selected categories of information and without revealing other information; and the information is stored in other blocks with an associated identifier to locate the blocks in Gadnis, ¶0032, ¶0081).
Based on Bartucci in view of Ikonomov, Davis, and LaRovere, and further in view of Gadnis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Gadnis to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to improve secure storage of information by utilizing a blockchain infrastructure associated with hash-linked structure.
With respect to claim 2, Bartucci discloses: the device of claim 1, wherein the transferring of the identification of the selected badge to the first device causes the first device to present: a code pertaining to the selected badge, a link pertaining to the selected badge, an overlay pertaining to the selected badge, or any combination thereof (i.e., the mobile device presents to the user a code that can be used to access a lock system according to the profile list including the profiles currently stored in the user device in Bartucci, fig. 5 and 6, ¶0072-¶0074).
With respect to claim 5, Bartucci discloses: the device of claim 2, wherein the transferring of the identification of the selected badge to the first device causes the first device to present the overlay (i.e., an overlay, a settings tab to present a code for respective locking system, the tab is in addition to a profile list in Bartucci, ¶0074).
With respect to claim 8, Bartucci discloses a locking system for receiving a code or command from a user device to perform the command associated with locking (¶0082). Bartucci, Ikonomov, Davis, and LaRovere do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Gadnis, in order to mitigate security risks of centralized credential authorities in order to address hacking, theft, and inconsistency in identity applications (¶0002), discloses: the device of claim 1, wherein the information includes: a picture or an image of the first user, a name of the first user, or any combination thereof (i.e., retrieved identity information includes a picture of the user in Gadnis, ¶0054-¶0055).
Based on Bartucci in view of Ikonomov, Davis and LaRovere, and further in view of Gadnis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Gadnis to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to mitigate security risks of centralized credential authorities in order to address hacking, theft, and inconsistency in identity applications.
With respect to claim 10, Bartucci discloses a locking system for receiving a code or command from a user device to perform the command associated with locking (¶0082). Bartucci, Ikonomov, Davis, and LaRovere do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Gadnis, in order to mitigate security risks of centralized credential authorities in order to address hacking, theft, and inconsistency in identity applications (¶0002), discloses: the device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of badges is stored as blocks of a blockchain, and wherein the blocks include the first block and other blocks (i.e., storing identity information on the blockchain, blockchain is a hash-linked chain of blocks in Gadnis, ¶0054).
Based on Bartucci in view of Ikonomov, Davis and LaRovere, and further in view of Gadnis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Gadnis to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to mitigate security risks of centralized credential authorities in order to address hacking, theft, and inconsistency in identity applications.
With respect to claim 12, Bartucci discloses: the device of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
subsequent to the transferring of the identification of the selected badge to the first device, obtaining a second selection of the second badge from the first device, resulting in a second selected badge (i.e., a second process in addition to the automatically sending favorite keys, a manual selection process of further other user profiles for accessing the locks in Bartucci, ¶0059); and
based on the obtaining of the second selection, transferring a second identification of the second selected badge to the first device (i.e., the user profiles selected form the list may be provided to the user device to access the locking systems in Bartucci, ¶0059).
With respect to claim 13, Bartucci discloses: the device of claim 12, wherein the transferring of the identification of the second selected badge to the first device causes the first device to present: a code pertaining to the second selected badge, a link pertaining to the second selected badge, an overlay pertaining to the second selected badge, or any combination thereof (i.e., the mobile device presents to the user a code that can be used to access a lock system according to the profile list including the profiles currently stored in the user device in Bartucci, fig. 5 and 6, ¶0072-¶0074).
With respect to claim 15, Bartucci discloses: the device of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
subsequent to the transferring of the identification of the selected badge to the first device, obtaining second data from the second device, wherein the second data is specified by the second device, the second user, or a combination thereof (i.e., after the lock is awoken by receiving a code, a lock identifier is broadcast in Bartucci, ¶0082).
With respect to claim 16, Bartucci discloses: the device of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise:
subsequent to the obtaining of the second data, obtaining a second request from the first device for the second data (i.e., receiving encrypted command from the user device in Bartucci, ¶0083)
Bartucci discloses a locking system for receiving a code or command from a user device to perform the command associated with locking (¶0082). Bartucci, Ikonomov, Davis, and LaRovere do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Gadnis, in order to mitigate security risks of centralized credential authorities in order to address hacking, theft, and inconsistency in identity applications (¶0002), discloses:
based on the obtaining of the second request from the first device for the second data, transferring the second data to the first device (i.e., requesting the identity information based on the verified request by the user in Gadnis, ¶0054).
Based on Bartucci in view of Ikonomov, Davis and LaRovere, and further in view of Gadnis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Gadnis to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to mitigate security risks of centralized credential authorities in order to address hacking, theft, and inconsistency in identity applications.
With respect to claim 19, the limitation(s) of claim 19 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
Bartucci further discloses server dynamically delivering a selected access credential/profile of many credentials/profiles available to respective user (¶0028). Bartucci do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Ikonomov, in order to improving granularity of access and privacy by creating multiple identities for a single user (¶0004), discloses: a method, comprising:
wherein the data is selectable such that contents of the first badge are adaptable in real-time (i.e., user selects different aliases with different presentations of characteristics for access to different resources; the profile of the user is adaptive responsive to the selected alias in Ikonomov, ¶0004, ¶0016, ¶0027).
Based on Bartucci in view of Ikonomov, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Ikonomov to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to improving granularity of access and privacy by creating multiple identities for a single user.
With respect to claim 21, Bartucci discloses server dynamically delivering a selected access credential/profile of many credentials/profiles available to respective user (¶0028). Bartucci do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Ikonomov, in order to improving granularity of access and privacy by creating multiple identities for a single user (¶0004), discloses: the device of claim 1,
wherein a third badge of the plurality of badges identifies the first user as non-binary (i.e., alias can have different gender than the linked user in the system for switching between aliases linked together including the user data for activity within a social network in Ikonomov, ¶0016, ¶0020).
Bartucci discloses server dynamically delivering a selected access credential/profile of many credentials/profiles available to respective user (¶0028). Bartucci do(es) not explicitly disclose photograph representing user in business attire or working gear. Ikonomov, in order to improving granularity of access and privacy by creating multiple identities for a single user (¶0004), discloses:
wherein the first badge includes a first image of the first user in business attire (i.e., user aliases can include gender and a photograph and other attributes corresponding to the alias linked to the user’s identity and other aliases in Ikonomov, ¶0004, ¶0010), and
wherein the second badge includes a second image of the first user in working gear (i.e., user can persist different aliases for different contexts within the social network allowing for multiple images corresponding to identities representing the user; the user can be represented in the network as different identities with corresponding descriptive traits in Ikonomov, ¶0004, ¶0010),
wherein first and second image of the user respectively, the business attire including a suit and a tie, and the working gear including a toolbelt and overalls (i.e., the aliases can be selectable and have different corresponding photographs; aliases suggested use for presenting different persona analogous to different attire; aliases will have corresponding access to different photo albums in Ikonomov, ¶0020, ¶0044).
Based on Bartucci in view of Ikonomov, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Ikonomov to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to improve granularity of access and privacy by creating multiple identities for a single user.
With respect to claim 24, Bartucci discloses: the device of claim 21, wherein the first badge is associated with the first user being given access to a secured conference room and being denied access to a secured tool room, and wherein the second badge is associated with the first user being given access to the secured tool room and being denied access to the secured conference room (i.e., profile identities are associated with locking systems specifying types of access, the permissions store which locking system may be access and limiting the access allowed for intended use with any location or item to be locked in Bartucci, ¶0030, ¶0043).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartucci et al. (US 2021/0029489 A1) in view of Ikonomov (US 2014/0237579 A1), Davis et al. (US 2014/0244495 A1), LaRovere et al. (US 2021/0134100 A1), and Gadnis et al. (US 2018/0285879 A1), and further in view of van der Merwe et al. (US 9,022,291 B1).
With respect to claim 3, Bartucci discloses the mobile device presents to the user a code that can be used to access a lock system according to the profile list including the profiles currently stored in the user device (fig. 5 and 6, ¶0072-¶0074). Bartucci, Ikonomov, Davis, LaRovere, and Gadnis do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. van der Merwe, in order to improve the aesthetic or visual appearance of unsightly or obvious QR codes (col. 1 lines 26-31), discloses: the device of claim 2, wherein the transferring of the identification of the selected badge to the first device causes the first device to present the code as a quick response (QR) code (i.e., presenting a QR code as color encoded in and presented in alternating frames at a frame rate that renders the optical label imperceptible to a user in van der Merwe, col. 1 line 49 to col. 2 line 9).
Based on Bartucci in view of Ikonomov, Davis, LaRovere and Gadnis, and further in view of van der Merwe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of van der Merwe to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to improve the aesthetic or visual appearance of unsightly or obvious QR codes.
With respect to claim 4, Bartucci discloses the mobile device presents to the user a code that can be used to access a lock system according to the profile list including the profiles currently stored in the user device (fig. 5 and 6, ¶0072-¶0074). Bartucci, Ikonomov, Davis, LaRovere, and Gadnis do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. van der Merwe, in order to improve the aesthetic or visual appearance of unsightly or obvious QR codes (col. 1 lines 26-31), discloses: the device of claim 2, wherein the transferring of the identification of the selected badge to the first device causes the first device to present the link (i.e., to transmit information between devices to be paired, generating and presenting an optical label or QR code in van der Merwe, col. 9 lines 7-35).
Based on Bartucci in view of Ikonomov, Davis, LaRovere and Gadnis, and further in view of van der Merwe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of van der Merwe to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to improve the aesthetic or visual appearance of unsightly or obvious QR codes.
With respect to claim 6, Bartucci discloses the mobile device presents to the user a code that can be used to access a lock system according to the profile list including the profiles currently stored in the user device (fig. 5 and 6, ¶0072-¶0074). Bartucci, Ikonomov, Davis, LaRovere, and Gadnis do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. van der Merwe, in order to improve the aesthetic or visual appearance of unsightly or obvious QR codes (col. 1 lines 26-31), discloses: the device of claim 5, wherein the overlay is unobservable to a human eye (i.e., presenting a QR code as color encoded in and presented in alternating frames at a frame rate that renders the optical label imperceptible to a user in van der Merwe, col. 1 line 49 to col. 2 line 9).
Based on Bartucci in view of Ikonomov, Davis, LaRovere and Gadnis, and further in view of van der Merwe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of van der Merwe to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to improve the aesthetic or visual appearance of unsightly or obvious QR codes.
With respect to claim 20, Bartucci discloses server dynamically delivering a selected access credential/profile of many credentials/profiles available to respective user (¶0028). Bartucci and Ikonomov do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Davis, in order to reduce vulnerability to replay attacks via re-used transaction data by issuing a challenge that changes over time (¶0039-0040), discloses: the method of claim 19, wherein the service includes a telecommunications service, wherein the obtaining of the data is based on a determination that the first processing system is registered with the telecommunications service (i.e., identifier of user device corresponds to public/private key pair issued by bank or certificate authority; obtains a public key based on the received identifier in Davis, ¶0061).
Based on Bartucci in view of Ikonomov, and further in view of Davis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Davis to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to reduce vulnerability to replay attacks via re-used transaction data by issuing a challenge that changes over time.
Bartucci discloses the mobile device presents to the user a code that can be used to access a lock system according to the profile list including the profiles currently stored in the user device (fig. 5 and 6, ¶0072-¶0074). Bartucci, Ikonomov, Davis, LaRovere, and Gadnis do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. van der Merwe, in order to improve the aesthetic or visual appearance of unsightly or obvious QR codes (col. 1 lines 26-31), discloses: wherein the first processing system is included as part of a pair of glasses. (i.e., computing device to read QR code including wearable computing devices such as computerized glasses in van der Merwe, col. 3 lines 11-25; col. 4 lines 11-27).
Based on Bartucci in view of Ikonomov, Davis, LaRovere and Gadnis, and further in view of van der Merwe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of van der Merwe to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to improve the aesthetic or visual appearance of unsightly or obvious QR codes.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartucci et al. (US 2021/0029489 A1) in view of Lovelock et al. (US 2021/0134097 A1), Davis et al. (US 2014/0244495 A1), and LaRovere et al. (US 2021/0134100 A1), and further in view of Gadnis et al. (US 2018/0285879 A1).
With respect to claim 17, Bartucci discloses: a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
obtaining a selection of a first identity from a plurality of identities associated with a first user (i.e., user can manually select specific user profiles/credentials on a user device using a favoriting operation in Bartucci, ¶0028, ¶0058)
based on a location of the first user (i.e., selecting encrypted user profile based on the current location of user device in Bartucci, ¶0044),
a time of day (i.e., select encrypted user profile based on time of the day in Bartucci, ¶0044),
a day of week (i.e., day of the week in Bartucci, ¶0044),
transmitting an indication of the selection to a network device; (i.e., user may manually select from a list of user profiles that can access locked systems in Bartucci, ¶0059);
based on the transmitting of the indication of the selection, obtaining, from the network device, first data representative of the first identity (i.e., server dynamically delivering access credential/profiles selected by the user on the user device in Bartucci, ¶0028, ¶0058); and
processing the first data to display, on a first user equipment, a code or a link associated with the first identity (i.e., the mobile device presents to the user a code that can be used to access a lock system according to the profile list including the profiles currently stored in the user device in Bartucci, fig. 5 and 6, ¶0072-¶0074).
Bartucci discloses deliver a corresponding subset of user profiles to access a locking device based on a geofence which suggests a proximity measurement as a basis for the selection of the user credential; additionally, the locking mechanism may have a proximity sensor for detecting the presence of the users (¶0044, ¶0090). Bartucci do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Lovelock, in order to reducing the risk of unauthorized access and expedite verification of personnel in close proximity (¶0003), discloses:
a detected presence of the first user relative to a person (i.e., determining the proximity of another authorized user in an "escort" context such that a badge may be required to have an escort present or in proximity which includes another authorized person in Lovelock, ¶0051-0052).
Based on Bartucci in view of Lovelock, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Lovelock to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to reducing the risk of unauthorized access and expedite verification of personnel in close proximity .
Bartucci discloses deliver a corresponding subset of user profiles to access a locking device based on a geofence which suggests a proximity measurement as a basis for the selection of the user credential; additionally, the locking mechanism may have a proximity sensor for detecting the presence of the users (¶0044, ¶0090). Bartucci and Lovelock do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Davis, in order to reduce vulnerability to replay attacks via re-used transaction data by issuing a challenge that changes over time (¶0039-0040), discloses:
subsequent to the processing of the first data, obtaining a request from a second user equipment for information pertaining to the first identity (i.e., POS terminal issues a challenge that the device must respond to in accordance with the challenge in Davis, ¶0047);
based on the obtaining of the request, determining that a second user of the second user equipment is registered with a service associated with the first identity (i.e., identifier of user device corresponds to public/private key pair issued by bank or certificate authority; obtains a public key based on the received identifier in Davis, ¶0061);
obtaining, from the second user equipment, second data that includes at least one value for an identification of a start time of the task, a signature of the second user, or a combination thereof (i.e., avoid replay attack by requiring the corresponding time known to the terminal in the image presented by the device; the time is encoded in the image captured by the terminal in Davis, ¶0039-0040); and
authenticating the first user to the second user in association with the first identity based on a determination that the first user equipment is able to retrieve the at least one value. (i.e., authenticating user with challenge-response where terminal issues challenge and smartphone device responds in accordance with challenge checked against an expected response in Davis, ¶0047).
Based on Bartucci in view of Lovelock, and further in view of Davis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Davis to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to reduce vulnerability to replay attacks via re-used transaction data by issuing a challenge that changes over time.
Bartucci discloses the mobile device presents to the user a code that can be used to access a lock system according to the profile list including the profiles currently stored in the user device (fig. 5 and 6, ¶0072-¶0074). Bartucci, Lovelock, and Davis do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. LaRovere, in order to improved verification of visitor in a service provider access context (¶0020), discloses:
based on the determining, transmitting the information to the second user equipment for presentation of the information to the second user (i.e., the monitoring unit provides notification to the client of the property that indicates the at least the visitor and corresponding biometrics and device for authenticating and reviewing in LaRovere, ¶0012)
wherein the information includes an identification of a task that the first user is to perform for the second user as part of the service (i.e., detection of the user task/profession, based on the task guiding them to the location of the task and also locking doors irrelevant to the task; also, package delivery context in LaRovere, ¶0030, ¶0068),
wherein the information includes biometric data of the first user, and wherein the biometric data includes a fingerprint and a retinal scan (i.e., fingerprint and retinal scanner sensors used in authenticating the visitor to the property and corresponding client; doorbell camera suggests reviewable footage presented to user at later time in LaRovere, ¶0067).
Based on Bartucci in view of Lovelock and Davis, and further in view of LaRovere, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of LaRovere to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to improved verification of visitor in a service provider access context.
Bartucci discloses selectively delivers one or more of the profiles to the user device (¶0028). Bartucci, Lovelock, Davis, and LaRovere do not disclose the following. Gadnis, in order to improve secure storage of information by utilizing a blockchain infrastructure associated with hash-linked structure (¶0018), discloses: wherein the first data representative of the first identity comprises a block address in a distributed ledger, and wherein the block address is a hash location (i.e., blockchain built upon chaining blocks using a hash of preceding blocks in ¶0020; and retrieving encrypted identify information by sending an identifier corresponding to locating the information on the blockchain in ¶0054),
wherein access to the information is controlled by a key associated with the block address such that the second user equipment is enabled to access only a first block associated with the first identity and is not enabled to access other blocks associated with the first user (i.e., authorizing read access to selected categories of information and without revealing other information; and the information is stored in other blocks with an associated identifier to locate the blocks in Gadnis, ¶0032, ¶0081).
Based on Bartucci in view of Lovelock, Davis, and LaRovere, and further in view of Gadnis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Gadnis to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to improve secure storage of information by utilizing a blockchain infrastructure associated with hash-linked structure.
With respect to claim 18, Bartucci discloses: the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 17,
wherein the selection (i.e., a selection of user profiles to access a lock based on the location of the user and user device in Bartucci, ¶0094) is based on a schedule of the first user (i.e., user profile basis includes a user schedule of when the user may access particular locking systems based on day, and or start and end times in Bartucci, ¶0029), and wherein the operations further comprise:
based on the transmitting of the indication of the selection, obtaining, from the network device, third data (i.e., receiving the user profiles needed to access the locks based on the location data and the locks that are corresponding to that location data in Bartucci, ¶0094); and
processing the third data to obtain, for the first user, access to a resource (i.e., the user profiles are used to open the locks in Bartucci, ¶0094).
Bartucci discloses the mobile device presents to the user a code that can be used to access a lock system according to the profile list including the profiles currently stored in the user device (fig. 5 and 6, ¶0072-¶0074). Bartucci, Lovelock, and Davis do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. LaRovere, in order to improved verification of visitor in a service provider access context (¶0020), discloses:
wherein the resource includes a secured tool room or a secured conference room (i.e., interior doors to restricted areas may be locked or accessed under the property management system in LaRovere, ¶0030).
Based on Bartucci in view of Lovelock and Davis, and further in view of LaRovere, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of LaRovere to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to improved verification of visitor in a service provider access context.
Claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartucci et al. (US 2021/0029489 A1) in view of Ikonomov (US 2014/0237579 A1), Davis et al. (US 2014/0244495 A1) LaRovere et al. (US 2021/0134100 A1) and Gadnis et al. (US 2018/0285879 A1), and further in view of Lovelock et al. (US 2021/0134097 A1).
With respect to claim 22, Bartucci discloses deliver a corresponding subset of user profiles to access a locking device based on a geofence which suggests a proximity measurement as a basis for the selection of the user credential; additionally, the locking mechanism may have a proximity sensor for detecting the presence of the users (¶0044, ¶0090). Bartucci, Ikonomov, Davis LaRovere, and Gadnis do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Lovelock, in order to reducing the risk of unauthorized access and expedite verification of personnel in close proximity (¶0003), discloses: the device of claim 21, wherein the operations further comprise: subsequent to the transferring of the identification of the selected badge to the first device, determining that the first user is in a presence of a third user. (i.e., dynamically modifying the visual image of the security badge based on the security context; determining the proximity of another authorized user in an "escort" context such that a badge may be required to have an escort present or in proximity which includes another authorized person in Lovelock, ¶0006, ¶0051-0052).
Based on Bartucci in view of Ikonomov, Davis, LaRovere, and Gadnis and further in view of Lovelock, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Lovelock to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to reducing the risk of unauthorized access and expedite verification of personnel in close proximity .
With respect to claim 23, Bartucci discloses deliver a corresponding subset of user profiles to access a locking device based on a geofence which suggests a proximity measurement as a basis for the selection of the user credential; additionally, the locking mechanism may have a proximity sensor for detecting the presence of the users (¶0044, ¶0090). Bartucci, Ikonomov, Davis, LaRovere, and Gadnis do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Lovelock, in order to reducing the risk of unauthorized access and expedite verification of personnel in close proximity (¶0003), discloses: the device of claim 22, wherein the operations further comprise: based on the determining that the first user is in the presence of the third user, transferring an identification of the third badge to the first device so as to cause the first user to present as non-binary to the third user via the first device. (i.e., modifying the image of the badge user based on a determined authorization status such as having proper escort, wherein the image of the user is dynamically modified accordingly in Lovelock, ¶0006, ¶0051-0052).
Based on Bartucci in view of Ikonomov, Davis LaRovere, and Gadnis, and further in view of Lovelock, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Lovelock to improve upon those of Bartucci in order to reducing the risk of unauthorized access and expedite verification of personnel in close proximity.
Conclusion
Sherman Lin
9/30/2026
/S. L./Examiner, Art Unit 2447
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447