DETAILED ACTION
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on February 5, 2026 was entered and made of record. Claims 1 - 3, 5 - 8 and 10 - 18 have been amended. Claims 4 and 9 have been cancelled. Claims 19 and 20 are newly added. Accordingly, claims 1 - 3, 5 - 8 and 10 - 20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s submitted Replacement Drawings and Amendments to the Specification have overcome the drawing objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed November 6, 2025. Applicant’s amendments to the claims and presented arguments have overcome the claim interpretation and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections. Accordingly, the objections and rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments see pages 10 and 11 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1 - 18 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gnecchi et al., (US 2018/0259625 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the newly discovered reference to a pulse width of the waveform is adjusted based at least in part on the adjustable threshold, as claimed in the amended Claims 1, 6 and 17. Examiner’s response to the presented arguments follows below:
Applicant argues on page 10 that “Gnecchi describes a fixed resistor network of a plurality of voltage divider circuits to set multiple fixed thresholds of a plurality of comparators, "[t]he voltage divider 725 sets a corresponding voltage level for each comparator 715A-715D.”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Gnecchi teaches one embodiment in Par. [0015], “In another aspect, the voltage divider sets a corresponding voltage threshold level for each comparator”, Gnecchi clearly teaches multiple embodiments as described in Par. [0017], “In one another aspect, the voltage threshold level of two of more of the comparators is different. Advantageously, the threshold values of the respective comparators increments sequentially from a low threshold value to a high threshold value” and further in Par. [0018], “In another aspect, the threshold value for each comparator is determined based on the ambient light level”. In addition, nowhere in Gnecchi does it explicitly describe a “fixed resistor network”, as argued by the applicant. The “background” section merely describes in Par. [0003] “Traditionally LiDAR with analogue SiPMs is performed by discriminating the output of the SiPM against a fixed threshold corresponding to N-photons, where N is typical set to 1 to allow single-photon detection. However, in high light conditions, many close-in-time photons contribute to the output current/voltage with increments beyond the fixed single-photon threshold”. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure, Gnecchi teaches in Par. [0018], “In another aspect, the threshold value for each comparator is determined (i.e. adjustable threshold) based on the ambient light level and further in Par. [0072] by determining the thresholds (i.e. adjustable threshold) for the respective comparators 715A-715D and the voltage V.sub.NOISE that must be measured to set a correct threshold (i.e. adjustable threshold).
Applicant further argues on page 10 that “Gnecchi does not teach, describe, nor suggest adjusting pulse width of a comparator output waveform based on a dynamic adjustable threshold”. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a dynamic) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims merely require “an adjustable threshold”.
Applicant further argues on page 11 that “Gnecchi is entirely silent to actively controlling or modifying an output pulse width”. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., actively controlling or modifying) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims merely require “adjusting a pulse width based at least in part on the adjustable threshold”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 3, 5 - 8 and 10 - 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gnecchi et al., (US 2018/0259625 A1) referred to as Gnecchi hereinafter, and in view of TACHINO et al. (US 2021/0018624 A1) referred to as TACHINO hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Gnecchi teaches a detection circuit (Fig. 7) for adjusting a width of output pulses (Par. [0063], output pulse width τ is calculated), comprising:
a single-photon avalanche diode (Par. [0070], the SiPM sensor is formed of a summed array of Single Photon Avalanche Photodiode (SPAD) sensors), configured to generate a photocurrent in response to an incident photon (Par. [0049] Each microcell detects photons identically and independently. The sum of the discharge currents from each of these individual binary detectors combines to form a quasi-analog output, and is thus capable of giving information on the magnitude of an incident photon flux); and
a comparator (Fig. 7, plurality of comparators 715A-715D), having a first input terminal to be inputted with a signal indicating an adjustable threshold, and a second input terminal coupled to the single-photon avalanche diode to be inputted with an electrical signal representing the photocurrent (Fig. 7, [0068], A plurality of comparators 715A-715D are provided and each has an associated threshold value (i.e. adjustable threshold, first input terminal) and is configured to compare the analog SiPM output signal (i.e. second input terminal) with their associated threshold value and generate a comparison signal indicative of the comparison),
wherein the comparator is configured to output a waveform based on a comparison result between the electrical signal and the signal indicating the adjustable threshold (As illustrated in Fig. 7, output square waveform of each 715A-715D comparator, Par. [0068], comparison signals from the plurality of comparators 715A-715D).
Gnecchi fails to explicitly a pulse width of the waveform is adjusted based at least in part on the adjustable threshold.
However, TACHINO teaches a pulse width of the waveform is adjusted based at least in part on the adjustable threshold (Fig. 9, Par. [0090] (2) Adjust the second pulse width PW2 of the pulse signal based on the changing (i.e. adjustable) of the reference threshold voltage Vth).
References Gnecchi and TACHINO are considered to be analogous art because they emit laser pulses. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying adjusting the pulse width based on the adjustable threshold as suggested by TACHINO in the invention of Gnecchi in order to vary the reference threshold voltage inputted to the comparator thereby automatically maintain that the first pulse width PW1 and the second pulse width PW2 constantly have the following relationship even if the first pulse width PW1 and/or the second pulse width PW2 are changed depending on the temperature dependency characteristics of the laser diode device 21 and/or light receiver 31 (See TACHINO, Par. [0097]).
Regarding Claim 2, Gnecchi in view of TACHINO teaches Claim 1. Gnecchi further teaches wherein a cathode of the single-photon avalanche diode is coupled to a high voltage (Fig. 1, HV is high voltage), wherein an anode of the single-photon avalanche diode is grounded by a quenching resistor (Par. [0048], a quench resistor is provided adjacent to each photodiode which may be used to limit the avalanche current. The photodiodes are electrically connected to common biasing and ground electrodes by aluminum or similar conductive tracking) and is coupled to the second input terminal of the comparator (Fig. 7, [0068], A plurality of comparators 715A-715D are provided and each has analog SiPM output signal (i.e. second input terminal)), and wherein the electrical signal is an analog voltage outputted by the single-photon avalanche diode (Par. [0068], A plurality of comparators 715A-715D are provided and compare the analog SiPM output signal (i.e. analog voltage) and generate a comparison signal indicative of the comparison).
Regarding Claim 3, Gnecchi in view of TACHINO teaches Claim 1. Gnecchi further teaches wherein a cathode of the single-photon avalanche diode is coupled to a high voltage (Fig. 1, HV is high voltage) by a quenching resistor (Par. [0048], a quench resistor is provided adjacent to each photodiode which may be used to limit the avalanche current), wherein an anode of the single- photon avalanche diode is grounded (Fig. 2, 215 anode connected to ground, Par. [0048], The photodiodes are electrically connected to ground electrodes by aluminum or similar conductive tracking), wherein the cathode is coupled to the second input terminal of the comparator by a capacitor (Par. [0050], The output charge can be calculated from the over-voltage and the microcell capacitance (i.e. capacitor)), and wherein the electrical signal represents a variation of a cathode voltage of the single-photon avalanche diode (Par. [0050]-[0054] The output charge can be calculated from the over-voltage and the microcell capacitance. G=(CxΔV)/q, where G is the gain of the microcell; C is the capacitance of the microcell; ΔV (i.e. variation of voltage) is the over-voltage; and q is the charge of an electron).
Regarding Claim 4, it has been cancelled.
Regarding Claim 5, Gnecchi in view of TACHINO teaches Claim 1. Gnecchi further teaches wherein the signal indicating the adjustable threshold increases as an intensity of an incident light increases (Par. [0069], The threshold value for each comparator 715A-715D is determined based on the ambient light level (i.e. incident light). The threshold values of the respective comparators increments sequentially from a low threshold value to a high threshold value (i.e. increases)).
Regarding Claim 6, Gnecchi teaches a receiving unit for a laser radar (Fig. 5, Par. [0063], LiDAR device 600 (i.e. laser radar). Which includes a laser source 605 for transmitting a periodic laser pulse 607 through a transmit lens 604. A target 608 diffuses and reflects laser photons 612 through a receive lens 610 and some of the photons are reflected back towards a SiPM sensor 615 (i.e. receiving unit)), comprising:
a detection circuit (Fig. 7, Par. [0042] FIG. 7 illustrates a schematic of a LiDAR readout circuit), comprising:
a single-photon avalanche diode (Par. [0070], the SiPM sensor is formed of a summed array of Single Photon Avalanche Photodiode (SPAD) sensors), configured to generate a photocurrent in response to an incident photon (Par. [0049] Each microcell detects photons identically and independently. The sum of the discharge currents from each of these individual binary detectors combines to form a quasi-analog output, and is thus capable of giving information on the magnitude of an incident photon flux); and
a comparator (Fig. 7, plurality of comparators 715A-715D), having a first input terminal to be inputted with a signal indicating an adjustable threshold, and a second input terminal coupled to the single-photon avalanche diode to be inputted with an electrical signal representing the photocurrent (Fig. 7, [0068], A plurality of comparators 715A-715D are provided and each has an associated threshold value (i.e. adjustable threshold, first input terminal) and is configured to compare the analog SiPM output signal (i.e. second input terminal) with their associated threshold value and generate a comparison signal indicative of the comparison), wherein the comparator is configured to output a waveform based on a comparison result between the electrical signal and the signal indicating the adjustable threshold (As illustrated in Fig. 7, output square waveform of each 715A-715D comparator, Par. [0068], comparison signals from the plurality of comparators 715A-715D); and
a processing circuit (Fig. 3 Par. [0055], The basic components (i.e. processing circuit) used for a direct ToF ranging system, are illustrated in FIG. 3), coupled to an output terminal of the comparator of the detection circuit (Par. [0068], A time to digital converter (TDC) 720 is configured to receive the comparison signals from the plurality of comparators 715A-715D and time stamp the events) and configured to calculate a distance from a target object and/or an intensity of an incident light based on the waveform outputted by the comparator (Par. [0056]-[0058] In the direct ToF technique, a periodic laser pulse 305 is directed at the target 307. The target 307 diffuses and reflects the laser photons and some of the photons are reflected back towards the detector 315. The detector 315 converts the detected laser photons (and some detected photons due to noise) to electrical signals that are then timestamped by timing electronics 325. This time of flight, t, may be used to calculate the distance, D, to the target from the equation D=cΔt/2, where c=speed of light; and Δt=time of flight).
Gnecchi fails to explicitly a pulse width of the waveform is adjusted based at least in part on the adjustable threshold.
However, TACHINO teaches a pulse width of the waveform is adjusted based at least in part on the adjustable threshold (Fig. 9, Par. [0090] (2) Adjust the second pulse width PW2 of the pulse signal based on the changing (i.e. adjustable) of the reference threshold voltage Vth).
References Gnecchi and TACHINO are considered to be analogous art because they emit laser pulses. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying adjusting the pulse width based on the adjustable threshold as suggested by TACHINO in the invention of Gnecchi in order to vary the reference threshold voltage inputted to the comparator thereby automatically maintain that the first pulse width PW1 and the second pulse width PW2 constantly have the following relationship even if the first pulse width PW1 and/or the second pulse width PW2 are changed depending on the temperature dependency characteristics of the laser diode device 21 and/or light receiver 31 (See TACHINO, Par. [0097]).
Regarding Claim 7, Gnecchi in view of TACHINO teaches Claim 6. Gnecchi further teaches wherein a cathode of the single-photon avalanche diode is coupled to a high voltage (Fig. 1, HV is high voltage), wherein an anode of the single-photon avalanche diode is grounded by a quenching resistor (Par. [0048], a quench resistor is provided adjacent to each photodiode which may be used to limit the avalanche current. The photodiodes are electrically connected to common biasing and ground electrodes by aluminum or similar conductive tracking) and is coupled to the second input terminal of the comparator ( [0068], A plurality of comparators 715A-715D are provided and each has analog SiPM output signal (i.e. second input terminal)), and wherein the electrical signal represents a voltage across the quenching resistor (Par. [0048], the anodes of an array of photodiodes are connected to a common ground electrode and the cathodes of the array are connected via current limiting resistors to a common bias electrode for applying a bias voltage across the diodes).
Regarding Claim 8, Gnecchi in view of TACHINO teaches Claim 6. Gnecchi further teaches wherein a cathode of the single-photon avalanche diode is coupled to a high voltage (Fig. 1, HV is high voltage) by a quenching resistor (Par. [0048], a quench resistor is provided adjacent to each photodiode which may be used to limit the avalanche current) by a quenching resistor (Par. [0048], a quench resistor is provided adjacent to each photodiode which may be used to limit the avalanche current), wherein an anode of the single- photon avalanche diode is grounded (Fig. 2, 215 anode connected to ground, Par. [0048], The photodiodes are electrically connected to ground electrodes by aluminum or similar conductive tracking), wherein the cathode is coupled to the second input terminal of the comparator by a capacitor (Par. [0050], The output charge can be calculated from the over-voltage and the microcell capacitance (i.e. capacitor)), and wherein the electrical signal represents a voltage of the single-photon avalanche diode (Par. [0050]-[0054] The output charge can be calculated from the over-voltage and the microcell capacitance. G=(CxΔV)/q, where G is the gain of the microcell; C is the capacitance of the microcell; ΔV (i.e. variation of voltage) is the over-voltage; and q is the charge of an electron).
Regarding Claim 9, it has been cancelled.
Regarding Claim 10, Gnecchi in view of TACHINO teaches Claim 6. Gnecchi further teaches wherein the signal indicating the adjustable threshold is increased as the intensity of the incident light increases (Par. [0069], The threshold value for each comparator 715A-715D is determined based on the ambient light level (i.e. incident light). The threshold values of the respective comparators increments sequentially from a low threshold value to a high threshold value (i.e. increases)).
Regarding Claim 11, Gnecchi in view of TACHINO teaches Claim 8. Gnecchi further teaches wherein the receiving unit comprises a plurality of the detection circuit and a summer (Par. [0030], the SiPM sensor 615 may be formed of a summed array of Single Photon Avalanche Photodiode (SPAD) sensors), wherein output terminals of comparators of the plurality of detection circuits are coupled to an input terminal of the summer (Par. [0049], The signals of all microcells are then summed to form the output of the SiPM 200. A simplified electrical circuit is provided to illustrate the concept in FIG. 2), and wherein the summer is configured to perform a summation of outputs of the plurality of detection circuits (Par. [0049], The sum of the discharge currents from each of these individual binary detectors combines to form a quasi-analog output, and is thus capable of giving information on the magnitude of an incident photon flux).
Regarding Claim 12, Gnecchi in view of TACHINO teaches Claim 8. Gnecchi further teaches wherein the signal indicating the adjustable threshold of the detection circuit is set (Par. [0063], The average number of detected photons k in a typical output pulse width τ is calculated from the incident rate Φ and the photon detection efficiency (PDE)) so that a width of the waveform of the comparator of the detection circuit corresponding to a single photon matches a width of a laser pulse of the laser radar (As illustrated Fig. 7, the output of 715A -715D square pulses matches input analog waveform width)).
Regarding Claim 13, Gnecchi in view of TACHINO teaches Claim 12. Gnecchi further teaches wherein the signal indicating the adjustable threshold of the detection circuit is (Par. [0063], The average number of detected photons k in a typical output pulse width τ is calculated from the incident rate Φ and the photon detection efficiency (PDE)) so such that the width of the waveform of the comparator of the detection circuit corresponding to a single photon is equal to a full width at half maximum of the laser pulse of the laser radar (As illustrated Fig. 7, the output of 715A -715D square pulses matches input analog waveform width which is also half maximum pulse as illustrated with the lowest horizontal bar after the 710 amplifier)).
Regarding Claim 14, Gnecchi in view of TACHINO teaches Claim 8. Gnecchi further teaches wherein the processing circuit is configured to calculate a number of incident photons based on a pulse width of the waveform outputted by the comparator (Par. [0063], The average number of detected photons k (i.e. calculate number of photons) in a typical output pulse width τ is calculated from the incident rate Φ and the photon detection efficiency (PDE)).
Regarding Claim 15, Gnecchi in view of TACHINO teaches Claim 6. Gnecchi further teaches a laser radar (Fig. 5, Par. [0063], LiDAR device 600 (i.e. laser radar)), comprising:
an emitting unit, comprising a laser emitter configured to transmit a laser pulse to an outside of the laser radar to detect a target object (Par. [0063], a laser source 605 (i.e. a laser emitter) for transmitting a periodic laser pulse 607 (i.e. laser pulse) through a transmit lens 604. A target 608 (i.e. target object) diffuses and reflects laser photons 612 through a receive lens 610 and some of the photons are reflected back towards a SiPM sensor 615); and
the receiving unit, configured to receive a return pulse of the laser pulse reflected by the target object (Par. [0063A target 608 diffuses and reflects laser photons 612 (i.e. reflected laser pulse by target) through a receive lens 610 and some of the photons are reflected back towards a SiPM sensor 615 (i.e. receiving unit)).
Regarding Claim 16, Gnecchi in view of TACHINO teaches Claim 6. Gnecchi further teaches a method (Fig. 9) of detecting return pulses by using the receiving unit (Par. [0063], A target 608 diffuses and reflects laser photons 612 (i.e. return pulses) through a receive lens 610 and some of the photons are reflected back towards a SiPM sensor 615 (i.e. receiving unit). The SiPM sensor 615 converts the detected laser photons and some detected photons due to noise to electrical signals that are then timestamped by timing electronics. The average number of detected photons k in a typical output pulse width τ is calculated from the incident rate Φ and the photon detection efficiency (PDE)).
Regarding Claim 17, Gnecchi teaches a method of laser detection (Fig. 9), comprising:
emitting a detection laser beam to detect a target object (Par. [0063], a laser source 605 (i.e. a laser emitter) for transmitting a periodic laser pulse 607 (i.e. laser pulse) through a transmit lens 604. A target 608 (i.e. target object) diffuses and reflects laser photons 612 through a receive lens 610 and some of the photons are reflected back towards a SiPM sensor 615);
receiving a return pulse from the target object through a single-photon avalanche diode (Par. [0063A target 608 diffuses and reflects laser photons 612 (i.e. reflected laser pulse by target) through a receive lens 610 and some of the photons are reflected back towards a SiPM sensor 615 (i.e. receiving unit)), wherein the single-photon avalanche diode generates a photocurrent in response to an incident photon (Par. [0049] Each microcell detects photons identically and independently. The sum of the discharge currents from each of these individual binary detectors combines to form a quasi-analog output, and is thus capable of giving information on the magnitude of an incident photon flux);
comparing an electrical signal representing the photocurrent with a signal indicating an adjustable threshold through a comparator to generate a digital signal output (Fig. 7, [0068], A plurality of comparators 715A-715D are provided and each has an associated threshold value (i.e. adjustable threshold, first input terminal) and is configured to compare the analog SiPM output signal (i.e. second input terminal) with their associated threshold value and generate a comparison signal indicative of the comparison); and
adjusting the signal indicating the adjustable threshold according to a waveform of the digital signal output (As illustrated in Fig. 7, output square waveform of each 715A-715D comparator, Par. [0068], comparison signals from the plurality of comparators 715A-715D, Par. [0018], the threshold value for each comparator is determined based on the ambient light level).
Gnecchi fails to explicitly adjusting the signal indicating the adjustable threshold according to pulse width of a waveform.
However, TACHINO teaches adjusting the signal indicating the adjustable threshold according to pulse width of a waveform (Fig. 9, Par. [0090] (2) Adjust the second pulse width PW2 of the pulse signal based on the changing (i.e. adjustable) of the reference threshold voltage Vth).
References Gnecchi and TACHINO are considered to be analogous art because they emit laser pulses. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying adjusting the pulse width based on the adjustable threshold as suggested by TACHINO in the invention of Gnecchi in order to vary the reference threshold voltage inputted to the comparator thereby automatically maintain that the first pulse width PW1 and the second pulse width PW2 constantly have the following relationship even if the first pulse width PW1 and/or the second pulse width PW2 are changed depending on the temperature dependency characteristics of the laser diode device 21 and/or light receiver 31 (See TACHINO, Par. [0097]).
Regarding Claim 18, Gnecchi in view of TACHINO teaches Claim 17. Gnecchi further teaches wherein the step of adjusting the signal indicating the adjustable threshold according to the waveform of the digital signal output comprises: increasing the signal indicating the adjustable threshold as an intensity of an incident light increases (Par. [0069], The threshold value for each comparator 715A-715D is determined based on the ambient light level (i.e. incident light). The threshold values of the respective comparators increments sequentially from a low threshold value to a high threshold value (i.e. increases)).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gnecchi (US 2018/0259625 A1), and in view of TACHINO (US 2021/0018624 A1), and in view of MOON (US 2022/0113189 A1) referred to as MOON hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 19, Gnecchi in view of TACHINO teaches Claim 1. TACHINO further teaches a total pulse width output by the detection circuit is determined based on a total duration of an incident photon sequence (Par. [0044] The peak figure is comprised of frequencies that sequentially increase over time (i.e. duration of incident photon sequence), so that a selected class interval corresponding to the last frequency of the peak figure immediately before a next decreased frequency in the histogram is defined as the peak edge point tpk illustrated in FIG. 3, PW2 (i.e. total pulse width output)).
Gnecchi in view of TACHINO does not explicitly teach a total pulse width output by the detection circuit is determined based on a total duration of an incident photon sequence and a duration of a single photon output pulse width.
However, MOON teaches a total pulse width output by the detection circuit is determined based on a total duration of an incident photon sequence and a duration of a single photon output pulse width (Par. [0158] – [0160], two single-photon responses are combined with a time interval T.sub.p, a constant reference voltage V.sub.d is illustrated with a horizontal line, which defines the pulse edges of the digital single-photon signal. Herein, the reference-voltage pulse width T.sub.d is the time interval from the pulse edge to the last pulse edge. In FIG. 7, the pulse edges (i.e. total pulse width) are marked with triangle dots. As illustrated in FIG. 7, when two single-photon responses (i.e. a duration of a single photon output pulse width) are combined with a time interval (i.e. a total duration of an incident photon sequence), the reference voltage pulse width T.sub.d (i.e. total pulse width) appears to be clearly wider than that obtained by a single photon. Therefore, the single-photon property may be determined by the reference-voltage pulse width. See also Fig. 12, Par. [0213] the reference-voltage pulse width T.sub.d is defined as the time interval between the pulse edge at which the signal first passes through reference voltages V.sub.d1 or V.sub.d2 and the last pulse edge passing through V.sub.d1 or V.sub.d2. In FIG. 12, the pulse edges are indicated by triangle dots).
References Gnecchi, TACHINO and MOON are considered to be analogous art because they emit laser pulses. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying the total pulse width as suggested by MOON in the inventions of Gnecchi and TACHINO so that when a single-photon signal has multiple rising edges and falling edges, the leading rising edge and the trailing falling edge can be selected to find the reference-voltage pulse width (See MOON, Par. [0156]).
Regarding Claim 20, Gnecchi in view of TACHINO teaches Claim 6. TACHINO further teaches a total pulse width output by the detection circuit is determined based on a total duration of an incident photon sequence (Par. [0044] The peak figure is comprised of frequencies that sequentially increase over time (i.e. duration of incident photon sequence), so that a selected class interval corresponding to the last frequency of the peak figure immediately before a next decreased frequency in the histogram is defined as the peak edge point tpk illustrated in FIG. 3, PW2 (i.e. total pulse width output)).
Gnecchi in view of TACHINO does not explicitly teach a total pulse width output by the detection circuit is determined based on a total duration of an incident photon sequence and a duration of a single photon output pulse width.
However, MOON teaches a total pulse width output by the detection circuit is determined based on a total duration of an incident photon sequence and a duration of a single photon output pulse width (Par. [0158] – [0160], two single-photon responses are combined with a time interval T.sub.p, a constant reference voltage V.sub.d is illustrated with a horizontal line, which defines the pulse edges of the digital single-photon signal. Herein, the reference-voltage pulse width T.sub.d is the time interval from the pulse edge to the last pulse edge. In FIG. 7, the pulse edges (i.e. total pulse width) are marked with triangle dots. As illustrated in FIG. 7, when two single-photon responses (i.e. a duration of a single photon output pulse width) are combined with a time interval (i.e. a total duration of an incident photon sequence), the reference voltage pulse width T.sub.d (i.e. total pulse width) appears to be clearly wider than that obtained by a single photon. Therefore, the single-photon property may be determined by the reference-voltage pulse width. See also Fig. 12, Par. [0213] the reference-voltage pulse width T.sub.d is defined as the time interval between the pulse edge at which the signal first passes through reference voltages V.sub.d1 or V.sub.d2 and the last pulse edge passing through V.sub.d1 or V.sub.d2. In FIG. 12, the pulse edges are indicated by triangle dots).
References Gnecchi, TACHINO and MOON are considered to be analogous art because they emit laser pulses. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying the total pulse width as suggested by MOON in the inventions of Gnecchi and TACHINO so that when a single-photon signal has multiple rising edges and falling edges, the leading rising edge and the trailing falling edge can be selected to find the reference-voltage pulse width (See MOON, Par. [0156]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571) 272-7527. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425