DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Status
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 11, 2026, was filed after the mailing date of the notice of allowance on February 26, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
As a result of applicant’s new disclosure of prior art (specifically new reference Tate, cited in all rejections below), it was deemed necessary to reopen prosecution on this case with a consequent action associated with QPIDS path 2 and an automatically triggered Request for Continued Examination to which the instant Non-Final action is a response.
Examiner’s Note
The examiner would welcome an interview to clarify any of the various rejections seen below in order to expedite prosecution of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tate, et al., JP 06239410 (hereinafter Tate) in view of Kim, et al., US 2008/0044262 (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1,
Tate discloses:
An automated warehouse system comprising: an automated warehouse in which an object to be transported is transferred by using a crane (unnumbered device mounting components 5, 6, 17: fig. 4 per [0014]);Tate discloses the automated warehouse in [0001].
And a control device (controller 1: fig. 1) for controlling the crane, the automated warehouse system including a plurality of placement parts (cargo receiving member 12: fig. 2) in which to place the object to be transported and which are fixed to the automated warehouse,
each of the plurality of placement parts having marked thereon an identification code (targets 13: figs. 2-3) representing identification information for identifying that placement part, the crane including a carriage provided with a fork (fork 5: fig. 4) for transferring the object to be transported and equipped with an image taking section (visual detector 6: fig. 4) for taking an image, The carriage is structure 4 (not in figure) that raises and lowers fork 5 in fig. 4 as disclosed by Tate in [0009].
the control device being configured to: detect the identification information represented by the identification code from an image that is taken by the image taking section and that contains the identification code of a placement part of the plurality of placement parts;Tate discloses a detailed method of combined “coarse” or “rough” and “precise” or “fine” positioning in [0011]-[0016]. The identification information posted on the shelves 12 (“placement parts”) is disclosed in [0011] and the operation of the “image taking section” 6 as well.
and adjust a position of the fork relative to the placement part by moving the crane and the carriage in accordance with identification code position information in a case of loading, on the fork, the object to be transported.Tate discloses the adjustment of fork position both by “traveling” (movement of the crane or the overall vehicle on its rail) and “lifting” (motion of the “carriage” or lifting platform that raises the fork) in accordance with the identification code information in [0008] and in greater detail in [0015]. The case of loading of the object to be transported is also disclosed in [0015].
However, Tate does not disclose all aspects of:
store the identification information having been detected and crane position information concerning a position where the crane is located when the image is taken, with the identification information having been detected and the crane position information being associated with each other;While Tate discloses the detected identification information, the determined crane position information when the image is taken and the association thereof in [0008], it does not explicitly disclose storing this information.
Kim, an invention in the same field as Tate, teaches the missing aspect of:
store the identification information having been detected and crane position information concerning a position where the crane is located when the image is taken, with the identification information having been detected and the crane position information being associated with each other;Like Tate, Kim generally controls a crane in accordance with position and identification information determined by an optical sensor. Kim discloses the storage of identification information in its [0073].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Tate to store the identification information having been detected and crane position information concerning a position where the crane is located when the image is taken, with the identification information having been detected and the crane position information being associated with each other, as taught by Kim because it is routine and commonplace in industrial warehouse operations to store details of movement and transport tasks being undertaken in the memory and/or database of a controller or management computer system. Such storage may be, for example, to support the ongoing performance of a multi-step operation under remote computer control, to record the details of past operations in a log, or to support process improvement over time.
Regarding claim 2,
Tate in view of Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
wherein the control device is configured to: calculate, from the image containing the identification code and the crane position information, identification code position information concerning a position of the identification code; Tate discloses this method in [0011]-[0016].
and store the identification information and the identification code position information having been calculated, with the identification information and the identification code position information having been calculated being associated with each other.Kim discloses the storage of identification information in its [0073]. Tate’s method of [0011]-[0016] associates identification information and identification code position information.
Regarding claim 5,
Tate in view of Kim teaches the limitations of claim 2 and also:
wherein: the placement part is a shelf (Tate, 12: fig. 2);
and the control device is configured to store the identification information corresponding to the shelf and the identification code position information with the identification information corresponding to the shelf and the identification code position information being associated with each other.Kim discloses the storage of the information in [0073].
Regarding claim 7,
Tate in view of Kim teaches the limitations of claim 2 and also:
wherein: the carriage of the crane is provided with a fork for transferring the object to be transported; and the control device is configured to adjust a position of the fork relative to the placement part in accordance with the identification code position information, in a case of unloading, from the fork, the object to be transported.Tate discloses the fork 5 in [0009]-[0010], and the use of coarse and fine adjustments of both crane and fork position based on identification code position information in [0011]-[0016].
Regarding claim 8,
Tate in view of Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
wherein the identification code (Tate, 13: fig. 3) is a two-dimensional code.
Regarding claim 10,
Tate discloses:
A method for controlling an automated warehouse in which an object to be transported is transferred by using a crane (unnumbered device mounting components 5, 6, 17: fig. 4 per [0014]),Tate discloses the automated warehouse in [0001].
the automated warehouse including a plurality of placement parts (cargo receiving member 12: fig. 2) in which to place the object to be transported and which are fixed to the automated warehouse,
each of the plurality of placement parts having marked thereon an identification code (targets 13: figs. 2-3) representing identification information for identifying that placement part,
the crane including a carriage provided with a fork (fork 5: fig. 4) for transferring the object to be transported and equipped with an image taking section (visual detector 6: fig. 4) for taking an image,The carriage is structure 4 (not in figure) that raises and lowers fork 5 in fig. 4 as disclosed by Tate in [0009].
the method comprising: detecting the identification information represented by the identification code from an image that is taken by the image taking section and that contains the identification code of a placement part of the plurality of placement parts;Tate discloses a detailed method of combined “coarse” or “rough” and “precise” or “fine” positioning in [0011]-[0016]. The identification information posted on the shelves (“placement parts”) is disclosed in [0011] and the operation of the “image taking section” 6 as well.
and adjusting a position of the fork relative to the placement part by moving the crane and the carriage in accordance with the identification code position information obtained from the identification code and the crane position information, in a case of loading, on the fork, the object to be transported.Tate discloses the adjustment of fork position both by “traveling” (movement of the crane or the overall vehicle on its rail) and “lifting” (motion of the “carriage” or lifting platform that raises the fork) in accordance with the identification code information in [0008] and in greater detail in [0015]. The case of loading of the object to be transported is also disclosed in [0015].
However, Tate does not disclose all aspects of:
storing the identification information having been detected and crane position information concerning a position where the crane is located when the image is taken, with the identification information having been detected and the crane position information being associated with each other;While Tate discloses the detected identification information, the determined crane position information when the image is taken and the association thereof in [0008], it does not explicitly disclose storing this information.
Kim, an invention in the same field as Tate, teaches the missing aspect of:
storing the identification information having been detected and crane position information concerning a position where the crane is located when the image is taken, with the identification information having been detected and the crane position information being associated with each other;Like Tate, Kim generally controls a crane in accordance with position and identification information determined by an optical sensor. Kim discloses the storage of identification information in its [0073].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the method of Tate in storing the identification information having been detected and crane position information concerning a position where the crane is located when the image is taken, with the identification information having been detected and the crane position information being associated with each other, as taught by Kim because it is routine and commonplace in industrial warehouse operations to store details of movement and transport tasks being undertaken in the memory and/or database of a controller or management computer system. Such storage may be, for example, to support the ongoing performance of a multi-step operation under remote computer control, to record the details of past operations in a log, or to support process improvement over time.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tate in view of Kim and further in view of Hance, et al., US 2018/0088586 (hereinafter Hance).
Tate in view of Kim teaches the limitations of claim 2, but not:
wherein the control device is configured to calculate the identification code position information from the crane position information and a relative position of the identification code in the image.While Tate discloses a method of fine adjustment of crane and fork position, it is not based on relative positions within an image.
Hance, an invention in the field of warehouse automation, teaches:
wherein the control device is configured to calculate the identification code position information from the crane position information and a relative position of the identification code in the image.Like Tate, Hance teaches the recognition of storage locations by means of identification marks (barcodes in Hance’s case). In [0035], Hance teaches the consideration of relative distance and orientation of the barcodes, and provides more details about its method in [0095]-[0097]. In this combination, no new structure from Hance is required, merely the method of calculating position offsets.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Tate and Kim’s system, wherein the control device is configured to calculate the identification code position information from the crane position information and a relative position of the identification code in the image, as taught by Hance, because position calculations that make use of the relative position of the barcode or other identifier in an image enable greater precision than otherwise. Since this relative position determination and consequent calculation can be performed entirely in software after acquiring an image of the identification code, its implementation by Kim would yield routine and predictable results.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tate in view of Kim and further in view of Hocke, et al., US 2003/0187537 (hereinafter Hocke).
Tate in view of Kim teaches the limitations of claim 2, but not all aspects of:
the placement part is a device port including a receipt part or an issue part of a processing device configured to perform a process on the object to be transported;The references do not disclose device ports as part of their system.
and the control device is configured to store the identification information corresponding to the device port and the identification code position information with the identification information corresponding to the device port and the identification code position information being associated with each other.While Tate discloses this general method in its [0011]-[0016], Tate does not disclose that this method applies to device ports.
Hocke, an invention in the field of AMHS automation, teaches the missing aspects of the limitations:
the placement part is a device port (load port 2: fig. 1) including a receipt part or an issue part of a processing device configured to perform a process on the object to be transported;Hocke teaches in [0016] that load ports, commonplace structures in semiconductor fabs associated with processing devices, may be identified by barcodes. Such ports are employed both for “issuing” and “receiving” articles such as semiconductor wafers or pod carriers from processing devices. If Tate’s automated warehouse were used for storing semiconductor wafers to be processed by Hocke’s processing devices, its system and method could be applied to identifying the positions of load ports as identified by Hocke’s barcodes.
and the control device is configured to store the identification information corresponding to the device port and the identification code position information with the identification information corresponding to the device port and the identification code position information being associated with each other.As Tate discloses the general method in its paragraphs [0011]-[0016], Hocke’s teaching that load ports may be identified with barcodes adds the missing piece of the limitation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Tate and Kim’s system, wherein (i) the placement part is a device port including a receipt part or an issue part of a processing device configured to perform a process on the object to be transported; and (ii), and the control device is configured to store the identification information corresponding to the device port and the identification code position information with the identification information corresponding to the device port and the identification code position information being associated with each other, as taught by Hocke, because given the need to deliver and retrieve items from device ports, the method of Kim requires identification codes to be associated with these ports in order to assure accurate positioning of the crane used for this purpose. Since a stacking crane or other article handling device can just as easily deliver an article to a loading or unloading port as to a shelf or rack storage space, the combination would yield routine and predictable results.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tate in view of Kim and further in view of Camenisch, et al., US 2019/0367239 (hereinafter Camenisch).
Tate in view of Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1, but not:
wherein the identification code is marked on a plate member or a sticker.Kim does not disclose the use of plates or stickers to mark or affix identification codes.
Camenisch, an invention in the field of product authentication, teaches:
wherein the identification code is marked on a plate member or a sticker.Camenisch teaches the use of barcode stickers in [0030].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Kim and Okada’s system, wherein the identification code is marked on a plate member or a sticker, as taught by Camenisch, because stickers provide a convenient means to label structures such as shelves, and because stickers can persist for long periods in a warehouse environment without maintenance and yet be removable and changeable when required.
Conclusion
/ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
LAURENCE RAPHAEL BROTHERS
Examiner
Art Unit 3655A
/L.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3655