Remarks
This Office Action fully acknowledges Applicant’s remarks filed on 02/19/2026. Claims 4-11 are pending. Claims 1-3 and 12-22 are withdrawn. Claims 4 and 11 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 4, 6 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0024813 to Warthoe in view of Japanese Patent Publication No. JP2019070630 to Yoshimura (cited by applicant; see Espacenet translation).
Warthoe teaches a cartridge of a surface acoustic wave (SAW) sensor. The cartridge is disposable inasmuch as generally any structural element is disposable.
The SAW of Warthoe includes sample inlets 14 and 15 that are depicted as wells in Fig. 8. [0038].
The SAW of Warthoe includes integrated SAW biosensors 12 and 13. (Fig. 8 and [0038])
A printed circuit board (“print card”) is coupled to the SAW biosensors. [0033]
A gasket is also provided. [0033]
Top and bottom polymethylmethacrylate (PMMA) blocks that house the sample wells, SAW biosensors, printed circuit board and gasket, provide or read on a cassette that houses the sample wells, SAW biosensors, printed circuit board and gasket.
Warthoe teaches detecting analytes in liquid samples [0053] including a number of target analytes [0014] that can be present in normal saline and teaches the use of NaCl as a buffer [0275]; however, Warthoe but does not teach a saline-saturated absorbent pad.
Yoshimura a SAW sensor that includes sample pad 7 made of a porous substrate that is provided in drop hole 221 for absorbing a liquid and flowing the sample toward the SAW device 4 side. Yoshimura teaches a water-repellant plastic film 6 that allows the sample to flow in supply path 5, indicating that the target sample is provided in water. (English translation [0031]-[0032])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Warthoe to include the sample pad of Yoshimura for purposes of supplying target analytes in a saline solution via the pad as taught by Yoshimura.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 4, as noted above Warthoe in view of Yoshimura teaches all the limitations of claim 4.
Therefore, Warthoe in view if Yoshimura renders claim 4 obvious.
II.) Regarding applicant’s claim 6, as noted above Warthoe in view of Yoshimura renders claim 4 obvious from which claim 6 depends.
Claim 6 recites a sample cap with an air vent to secure the sample well.
Warthoe in view of Yoshimura does not teach a sample cap with an air vent to secure the sample well.
It would have been obvious to modify Warthoe in view of Yoshimura to include a vented cap on the sample wells for purpose of preventing undesirable materials from entering the sample wells.
Therefore, Warthoe in view of Yoshimura renders claim 6 obvious.
III.) Regarding applicant’s claim 7, as noted above Warthoe in view of Yoshimura renders claim 4 obvious from which claim 7 depends.
Claim 7 recites that the SAW biosensor comprises a sample channel and a reference channel.
Warthoe teaches a SAW reference sensor surface that can be seen in the small channel; (2) SAW sensing sensor can be seen in the small channel, which teaches both a sample and reference channel. [0035]
Therefore, Warthoe in view of Yoshimura renders claim 7 obvious.
IV.) Regarding applicant’s claim 8, as noted above Warthoe in view of Yoshimura renders claim 7 obvious from which claim 8 depends.
Claim 8 recites that the SAW biosensor further comprises a second reference channel.
Warthoe in view of Yoshimura does not teach a second reference channel.
It would have been obvious to modify Warthoe in view of Yoshimura to include a second reference channel (and reference sensor) for purposes of having a backup reference for verification purposes. Note, generally duplication of elements is obvious unless a new and unexpected result is produced. (MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(A))
Therefore, Warthoe in view of Yoshimura renders claim 8 obvious.
V.) Regarding applicant’s claim 9, as noted above Warthoe in view of Yoshimura renders claim 4 obvious from which claim 9 depends.
Claim 9 recites that the SAW biosensor has a piezoelectric crystal base.
Warthoe teaches that among the piezoelectric substrate materials that can be used for acoustic wave sensors and devices, the most common include lithium tantalate (LiTaO3). [0063]
Therefore, Warthoe in view of Yoshimura renders claim 9 obvious.
VI.) Regarding applicant’s claim 10, as noted above Warthoe in view of Yoshimura renders claim 9 obvious from which claim 10 depends.
Claim 10 recites that the piezoelectric crystal base is lithium tantalite.
As noted above, Warthoe teaches that among the piezoelectric substrate materials that can be used for acoustic wave sensors and devices, the most common include lithium tantalate (LiTaO3). [0063]
Therefore, Warthoe in view of Yoshimura renders claim 10 obvious.
2. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Warthoe in view of Yoshimura as applied to claim 4 and further in view of Internation Patent Application Publication No. WO2008122908 to Weekamp.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 5, as noted above Warthoe in view of Yoshimura renders claim 4 obvious from which claim 5 depends.
Claim 5 recites that the saline-saturated absorbent pad is compressed with a saline cap comprising a spring.
Warthoe in view of Yoshimura does not teach that the saline-saturated absorbent pad is compressed with a saline cap comprising a spring.
Weekamp teaches providing fluids to a biosensor and squeezing an absorbent pad by a cap to release fluids from the absorbent pad. (page 10, lines 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Warthoe in view of Yoshimura to have a cap configured to compress the pad as taught by Weekamp for purposes of releasing saline in a controlled manner.
Therefore, Warthoe in view of Yoshimura and Weekamp renders claim 5 obvious.
3. Claim 11 stands rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Warthoe in view of Yoshimura as applied to claim 4, and further in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art at page 1, line 31 through page 2, line 2.
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 11, as noted above Warthoe in view of Yoshimura renders claim 4 obvious from which claim 11 depends.
Claim 11 recites that the SAW biosensor further comprises capacitive coupled contact pads.
Warthoe and Yoshimura both teach using surface acoustic waves developed in piezoelectric crystals, but they do not teach that the SAW biosensors include capacitive coupled contact pads.
Applicant discloses that piezoelectric crystals undergo atomic vibration in the presence of an electrically generated radio frequency input presents the ability of crystals to function as sensors. (page 1, line 31 through page 2, line 2).
It would have been obvious to modify Warthoe in view of Yoshimura to include capacitive coupled contact pads coupled to the piezoelectric crystal to induce electrically generated radio frequency input for purposes of functioning as a sensor as taught by Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art.
Therefore, Warthoe in view of Yoshimura and Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art renders claim 11 obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7 of applicant’s response applicant argues that Warthoe and Yoshimura fail to teach or suggest a "saline-saturated absorbent pad" as recited by amended claim 4.
As noted above Warthoe teaches saline-based liquid samples and has been modified to include the sample pad of Yoshimura by which liquid samples are absorbed and released.
Therefore, in Warthoe as modified by Yoshimura the absorbent sample pad would become saturated with saline when used.
Further on page 7 of applicant’s reply applicant argues that Yoshimura’s sample pad absorbs the sample, not saline.
As noted above Yoshimura teaches liquid samples and water-based samples that are leased for as to flow in a flow path.
Therefore, Yoshimura teaches that the sample pad absorbs water, and in combination with Warthoe the sample pad would absorb saline.
Note applicant’s argument on page 7 that the sample pad is not “pre-saturated with saline” is not germane inasmuch as claim 4 does not recite that the absorbent pad is “pre-saturated with saline.”
In response to applicant’s argument that Weekamp does not teach a cap comprising a spring, applicant does not prove a disclosure of any particular spring structure. The “spring 1007” in Fig. 10A is merely a nondescript slot:
As shown in Fig. 10, the cap in Weekamp can be compressed to squeeze the absorbent pad.
In modifying Warthoe in view of Yoshimura to include a cap that is pushed down against the absorbent pad, it would have been obvious to provide the cap a resilient feature, corresponding to applicant’s disclosed spring, based on the squeezable nature of Weekamp’s cap as disclosed on page 10, lines 22-23 to provide some resistance whereby one has to apply a degree of force push the cap downward against the sample pad.
Applicant’s argument on page 8 that the vent “serves a different function” does preclude the modification of Warthoe in view of Yoshimura to include a vented cap for keeping undesirable materials from entering the sample wells.
Applicant’s argument regarding duplication of parts on page 8 of applicant’s response is not persuasive inasmuch as the MPEP notes that case law has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Applicant’s argument concerning claim 11 on page 9 of applicant’s response is not persuasive inasmuch as applicant admits that piezoelectric crystals to undergo atomic vibration in the presence of an electrically generated radio frequency input that allows the piezoelectric crystals to function as sensors.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798