DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The following is a non-Final Office Action. In response to the decision by the Patent Trial and Appeals Board (PTAB) affirming Examiner’s rejections on March 27, 2024, Applicant, on August 16, 2025, canceled claims 1-18, 21 & 22 and added claims 23-40. Claims 19 & 20 were previously canceled. Claims 23-40 are now pending and have been rejected below.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 was filed in this application after a decision by the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, but before the filing of a Notice of Appeal to the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit or the commencement of a civil action. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the appeal has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114 and prosecution in this application has been reopened pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed on August 16, 2025 has been entered.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments canceling claims 1-18 are sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 112 rejections set forth in the previous action. Therefore, these rejections are withdrawn. However, Applicant’s amendments raise new grounds for rejection pursuant to 35 USC 112 for the reasons set forth below.
Applicant's amendments canceling claims 1-18 render moot the 35 USC 101 rejections set forth in the previous action. Therefore, these rejections are withdrawn. However, Applicant’s amendments raise new grounds for rejection pursuant to 35 USC 101 for the reasons set forth below.
Applicant's amendments canceling claims 1-18 render moot the 35 USC 102 rejections set forth in the previous action. Therefore, these rejections are withdrawn. However, Applicant’s amendments raise new grounds for rejection pursuant to 35 USC 103 for the reasons set forth below.
Response to Arguments - 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 101 rejections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that all presently pending claims are no longer directed to an abstract idea. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner submits the claims are directed to an abstract idea for the reasons detailed in the rejection below since the claims recite both a certain method of organizing human activity and a mental process, do not recite additional elements sufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, and do not recite additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
Response to Arguments - Prior Art
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered, but they are now moot in view of new grounds for rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 32-35 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 32 claims to depend on itself by reciting “The management system of claim 32”;
Clam 33 claims to depend on itself by reciting “The management system of claim 33”;
Clam 34 claims to depend on itself by reciting “The management system of claim 34”; and
Claim 35 recite “the the first input” with “the” repeated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, Second Paragraph
Claims 26-30 & 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AlA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AlA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 26-30 & 32 recites the limitation “the dashboard.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 23-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims (claim 23, and similarly claims 24-40) recite “retrieve a plurality of inputs simultaneously and in real time, the plurality of inputs comprising: a first input based on information received … in a first time frame, a second input based on information received … in the first time frame, wherein each of the plurality of inputs includes one or more unique audio data and visual data, at least one GPS data corresponding to the first input, and at least one GPS data corresponding to the second input; and …, wherein … transmission of the first input before receiving the …transmission of the second input, wherein after … receives the … transmission of the second input, … transforms from a first state to a second state, the first state comprises a … representation of the first input within a first portion of …, and the second state comprises a … rendering of the second input in a second portion of …, wherein the first portion and the second portion exist simultaneously and provide the … renderings of their respective inputs in real time in response to [model].” Claims 23-40, in view of the claim limitations, recite the abstract idea of managing and observing activity at a first and second location by observing or receiving inputs recorded at the locations, including location data, and outputting inputs by rendering a first state outputting first inputs in a first portion from the first location and changing output inputs by rendering a second state outputting second outputs in a second portion from the second location in response to a model.
As a whole, in view of the claim limitations, pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification, each of the above limitations are directed to managing, collecting, and outputting the activity of humans at a location, which manages the personal human behavior of people at the location, and thus, the claims are directed to a certain method of organizing human activity. Further, as a whole, in view of the claim limitations, but for the computer components and systems performing the claimed functions, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the recited managing and observing activity at a first and second location by observing or receiving inputs recorded at the locations, including location data, and outputting inputs by rendering a first state outputting first inputs in a first portion from the first location and changing output inputs by rendering a second state outputting second outputs in a second portion from the second location in response to a model could all be reasonably interpreted as a human making observations of input data regarding the activity at the locations, a human performing evaluations based on the observed input data using a model, a human displaying the observed input data manually and/or with the use of a pen and paper, a human changing the displaying of the observed input data manually and/or with the use of a pen and paper; therefore, the claims are directed to a mental processes. Accordingly, the claims are directed to mental processes and a certain method of organizing human activity, and thus, the claims are directed to an abstract idea under the first prong of Step 2A.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application under the second prong of Step 2A. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea of “[a] recording and playback system, comprising: a graphical user interface electronically coupled to a server, the graphical user interface configured to,” “via a first recording device,” “a second recording device,” “… a wireless transmission connection between the first recording device, the second recording device, and the graphical user interface,” “the wireless transmission,” “the graphical user interface,” “digital,” “portion of the graphical user interface,” and “prior trained neural network or previously-repeated support vector generated interaction” in claim 23, “recording device” and “wearable recording device” in claim 24, “cloud” in claim 25, “digitally” in claim 26, “system uses one of artificial intelligence or a pre-defined program to” in claim 30, “wearable recording devices” in claim 33, “management system uses one of artificial intelligence or a pre-defined program to enable an output to … of wearable recording devices via the wireless transmission connection” in claims 36 & 37, “system … wearable devices … via the wireless transmission connection” in claim 38, and “system … the wireless transmission connection to each of the plurality of wearable devices” in claim 40; however, individually and when viewed as an ordered combination, and pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation, each of the additional elements are computing elements recited at high level of generality implementing the abstract idea on a computer (i.e. apply it), and thus, are no more than applying the abstract idea with generic computer components. Further, regarding the recitation of “GPS data,” while GPS data is merely a characterization of the source of the abstract data that is collected, and thus, is part of the abstract idea, even if this feature is interpreted as an additional element, this feature is nothing more than a general link to a technological environment, which is not sufficient to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application. Moreover, aside from the aforementioned additional elements, the remaining elements of dependent claims 24-40 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because these claims merely recite further limitations that provide no more than simply narrowing the recited abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under Step 2B. As noted above, the aforementioned additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea, as an order combination, are no more than mere instructions to implement the idea using generic computer components (i.e. apply it), and further, generally link the abstract idea to a field of use, which is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea; therefore, the additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. Further, regarding the recitation of “GPS data,” while GPS data is merely a characterization of the source of the abstract data that is collected, and thus, is part of the abstract idea, even if this feature is interpreted as an additional element, this feature is nothing more than a general link to a technological environment, which is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. Additionally, these recitations, as an ordered combination, simply append the abstract idea to recitations of generic computer structure performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field as evinced by Manner, et al. (WO 2022195383 A1) at pp. 27-30 (discussing the computing environment of the invention and that the techniques of the disclosure may be implemented in a wide variety of computer devices, such as servers, laptop, desktop, hand-held computers, and the like) and Applicant’s Specification at [0006], [0043], [0049], [0052] (discussing the invention is implemented by desktop, laptop, and/or handheld computers, known input devices, generic workstations, and known wired and wireless connections). Furthermore, as an ordered combination, these elements amount to generic computer components performing repetitive calculations, receiving or transmitting data over a network, electronic record keeping, storing and retrieving information in memory, and presenting offers, which, as held by the courts, are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d); July 2015 Update, p. 7. Moreover, aside from the aforementioned additional elements, the remaining elements of dependent claims 24-40 do not transform the recited abstract idea into a patent eligible invention because these claims merely recite further limitations that provide no more than simply narrowing the recited abstract idea.
Looking at these limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing additional that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they simply provide instructions to use a generic arrangement of generic computer components and recitations of generic computer structure that perform well-understood, routine, and conventional computer functions that are used to “apply” the recited abstract idea. Thus, the elements of the claims, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, are not sufficient to ensure that the claims as a whole amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Since there are no limitations in these claims that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that these claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, claims 24-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar, et al. (US 20170132884 A1), hereinafter Kumar, in view of ElHattab, et al. (US 11158177 B1), hereinafter ElHattab.
Regarding claim 23, Kumar discloses a recording and playback system, comprising ([0005]):
a graphical user interface electronically coupled to a server, the graphical user interface configured to retrieve a plurality of inputs simultaneously and in real time ([0034], [0037], fig. 2, a user interface 150 presents information about the workers 102, the monitors 104, and the work yard 101 and presents the information to an operator of the monitoring station 110, [0027], the monitoring station 110 and the data store 114 may be located on a work site, but in a safe building that is at least presumably isolated from the work yard 101), the plurality of inputs comprising: a first input based on information received via a first recording device at a first location in a first time frame ([0037], [0039], [0043], fig. 2-5, the user interface 150 comprises a map 170 of the work yard 101 divided into a grid work of zones 172a, 172b, and 172c, wherein if the worker centric priority events box 152 is clicked, a worker events drill-down window 180 is presented with a summary of events field 182 that includes a list of workers experiencing the subject event category with a worker name 184, a worker location 188, and an event icon 190, and if a worker name in the window 180 (e.g., the entry 184 for worker named Hector) is clicked, the entry highlights and an effigy 196 of the subject worker is presented in the map 170 at a position that corresponds to the physical location of the worker 102 and window 198 that provides further information about the monitors 104 associated with the worker 102, and the user interface 150 may provide controls for an operator to turn on streamed audio and/or video from a specific worker 102 to analyze events reported by monitors 104 carried by the worker 102), wherein each of the plurality of inputs includes one or more unique audio data and visual data, at least one GPS data corresponding to the first input, and at least one GPS data corresponding to the second input ([0028]-[0031], [0043], each worker 102 carries multiple monitors 104, including a gas detector, a self-location device, an audio monitor, and/or a video camera, etc., and the monitors 104 collect and relay the information via the wireless AP 106 to the monitoring station 110, wherein the self-location device may be a GPS receiver and transmit location information of the worker 102 to the monitoring station 110); and
a wireless transmission connection between the first recording device, the second recording device, and the graphical user interface ([0028], the monitors 104 carried by each worker 102 collect and relay the information via the wireless AP 106 to the monitoring station 110),
wherein the server receiving the wireless transmission of the first input before receiving the wireless transmission of the second input ([0028], the monitors 104 carried by each worker 102 collect and relay the information via the wireless AP 106 to the monitoring station 110, [0033], the monitors 104 may transmit current information periodically, for example once per second, once every ten seconds, once every minute, or at some other periodic rate, different monitors 104 may transmit information at different periodic rates, and the monitoring station 110 and the application 112 associates or organizes the information received from the monitors 104 worker-by-worker, and then analyzes the information associated with each worker 102 in turn, [0035], [0040], wherein events are conditions associated with monitors 104 and/or equipment sensors in the work yard 101 that are abnormal in some way, in fig. 4, time duration field 192 indicates a time over which the subject event has been active; Examiner notes the event icon for Hector indicates the event occurred 1 second ago, the two event icons for Priam indicate the events occurred 5 seconds and 3 minutes ago, the event icon for Diomedes indicates the event occurred 10 minutes ago, and the event icon for Nestor indicates the event occurred 5 minutes ago)
wherein after the server receives the wireless transmission of the second input ([0033], [0040], when the worker 102 dispatches to the work yard 101 (e.g., walks out or drives out to a distillation column at a refinery) the monitors 104 transmits current information periodically, for example once per second, via the APs 106, via the network 108, to the monitoring station 110, the monitoring station 110 and the application 112 associates or organizes the information received from the monitors 104 worker-by-worker, and then analyzes the information associated with each worker 102 in turn, and the information presented updates in real-time as information from electronic monitors 104 is received by the monitoring station 110), the graphical user interface transforms from a first state to a second state ([0040], the information presented updates in real-time as information from electronic monitors 104 is received by the monitoring station 110),
the first state comprises a digital representation of the first input within a first portion of the graphical user interface ([0037], in fig. 2, work zones 172a, 172b, and 172c are labeled, wherein the presentation of the subject zone 172 may be highlighted to indicate the event associated with the zones 172, e.g., zone 172a is highlighted to indicate that a worker 102 in zone 172a has a monitor 104 experiencing an issue (i.e., highlighted zone 172a is a first portion of the GUI), [0039]-[0040], [0043], a worker events drill-down window 180 presents a summary of events field 182 of a list of workers experiencing the subject with a list of worker names 184 (e.g., Hector, Priam, Diomedes, Nestor), a worker locations 188, an event icon 190, and a time duration field 192 indicates a time over which the subject event has been active, and if a second event is also active for the subject worker, the event icon 190 and time duration for the second event is also presented (i.e., the name, location, event icon, and time duration of Priam in 180 is a first portion of the GUI; Examiner notes the event icon for Hector indicates the event occurred 1 second ago, the two event icons for Priam indicate the events occurred 5 seconds and 3 minutes ago), and if a worker name in the window 180 (e.g., Priam) is clicked, the entry highlights and an effigy 196 of the subject worker is presented in the map 170 at a position that corresponds to the physical location of the worker 102 and window 198 that provides further information about the monitors 104 associated with the worker 102, and the user interface 150 may provide controls for an operator to turn on streamed audio and/or video from a specific worker 102 to analyze events reported by monitors 104 carried by the worker 102 (i.e., the effigy on the map, the information of the monitors, and the streamed audio and video of the selected worker, e.g., Priam, are first portions of the GUI)), and
the second state comprises a digital rendering of the second input in a second portion of the graphical user interface ([0037], in fig. 2, work zones 172a, 172b, and 172c are labeled, wherein the presentation of the subject zone 172 may be highlighted to indicate the event associated with the zones 172, e.g., zone 172c is highlighted to indicate that a worker 102 in zone 172c has a monitor 104 experiencing an alarm (i.e., highlighted zone 172c is a second portion of the GUI), [0039]-[0040], [0043], a worker events drill-down window 180 presents a summary of events field 182 of a list of workers experiencing the subject with a list of worker names 184 (e.g., Hector, Priam, Diomedes, Nestor), a worker locations 188, an event icon 190, and a time duration field 192 indicates a time over which the subject event has been active, and if a second event is also active for the subject worker, the event icon 190 and time duration for the second event is also presented (i.e., the name, location, event icon, and time duration of Hector in 180 is a second portion of the GUI; Examiner notes the event icon for Hector indicates the event occurred 1 second ago, the two event icons for Priam indicate the events occurred 5 seconds and 3 minutes ago), and if a worker name in the window 180 (e.g., Hector) is clicked, the entry highlights and an effigy 196 of the subject worker is presented in the map 170 at the physical location of the worker 102 and window 198 that provides further information about the monitors 104 of the worker 102, and the user interface 150 provides controls for an operator to turn on streamed audio and/or video from a specific worker 102 to analyze events reported by monitors 104 carried by the worker 102 (i.e., the effigy on the map, the information of the monitors, and the streamed audio and video of the selected worker, e.g., Hector, are second portions of the GUI)), wherein the first portion and the second portion exist simultaneously ([0037], in fig. 2, work zones 172a, 172b, and 172c are labeled highlighted to indicate the event of the worker 102 associated with the zones 172, wherein zone 172a may indicate that a worker 102 in zone 172a has a monitor 104 experiencing an issue; zone 172c may indicate that a worker 102 in zone 172c has a monitor 104 experiencing an alarm; (i.e., highlighted zones are one of a first and second portion of the GUI existing simultaneously), [0039]-[0040], [0043], a worker events drill-down window 180 presents a summary of events field 182 of workers experiencing the subject with a worker name 184, a worker location 188, an event icon 190, and a time duration field 192 indicates a time over which the subject event has been active, and if a second event is also active for the subject worker, the event icon 190 and time duration for the second event is also presented (i.e., the name, location, event icon, and time duration of each worker in the list of workers Hector, Priam, Diomedes, Nestor are one of a first and second portion of the GUI existing simultaneously; Examiner notes simultaneously the event icon for Hector indicates the event occurred 1 second ago, the two event icons for Priam indicate the events occurred 5 seconds and 3 minutes ago), and if a worker name in the window 180 is clicked, the entry highlights and an effigy 196 of the subject worker is presented in the map 170 at a position that corresponds to the physical location of the worker 102 and window 198 that provides further information about the monitors 104 associated with the worker 102, and the user interface 150 may provide controls for an operator to turn on streamed audio and/or video from a specific worker 102 to analyze events reported by monitors 104 carried by the worker 102 (i.e., the location of the effigy on the map, the information of the monitors, and the streamed audio and video of each the selected worker, e.g., Hector and Priam, are first and second portions of the GUI that existed simultaneously)) and provide the digital renderings of their respective inputs in real time ([0033], [0040], the monitors 104 transmit current information periodically, for example once per second, via the APs 106, via the network 108, to the monitoring station 110, and the information presented updates in real-time as information from electronic monitors 104 is received by the monitoring station 110) in response to a prior trained [models] ([0051]-[0052], at 240, based on the analysis of information from the plurality of electronic monitors associated with one of the workers, the monitoring station synthesizes a model that articulates a comprehensive view of the safety of the one of the workers, the predictive equation or model may be used by the monitoring station 110 and/or application 112 to estimate or predict state of the work yard 101 at the location of the worker 102 (or workers 102 in about the same location), based on this prediction of the future state of the work yard 101 (excessive concentration of a potentially harmful gas in 5 minutes if current leak trends articulated in the synthesized model continues), the monitoring station 110 and/or the application 112 develops a comprehensive view of the safety of one or more of the workers 102, and at 242, the monitoring system presents the comprehensive view of the safety of the one of the workers on a display, e.g., alarms events, fault events).
While Kumar discloses all of the above, including provide the digital renderings of their respective inputs in real time in response to a prior trained [model] (as above), Kumar does not necessarily disclose the remaining elements of the following limitation, which however, are taught by further teachings in ElHattab.
ElHattab teaches provide the digital renderings of their respective inputs in real time (cl. 9, ln. 41-64, the system and/or method pertaining to a gateway device or video gateway device can comprise: accessing and storing, in one or more databases, metadata associated with the video content, wherein the metadata includes a plurality of detections generated by the video gateway device based on an analysis of the video content, and generating and causing display of a user interface that includes: the metadata overlaid on the interactive seek bar such that the plurality of detections are overlaid at locations on the seek bar corresponding to when the plurality of detections were detected) in response to a prior trained neural network or previously-repeated support vector generated interaction (cl. 35, ln. 39-cl. 36, ln. 37, the machine learning component can use one or more machine learning algorithms to generate one or more models or parameter functions for the detections, wherein a number of different types of algorithms may be used by the machine learning component to generate the models, e.g., convolutional neural networks, deep networks, Learning Vector Quantization or others).
Kumar and ElHattab are analogous fields of invention because both address the problem of analyzing audio and video data to detect and display issues indicated by the data. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the system of Kumar the ability to provide the digital renderings of their respective inputs in real time in response to a prior trained neural network or previously-repeated support vector generated interaction, as taught by ElHattab, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination would produce the predictable results of providing the digital renderings of their respective inputs in real time in response to a prior trained neural network or previously-repeated support vector generated interaction, as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Kumar with the aforementioned teachings of ElHattab in order to produce the added benefit of providing improved system and method for monitoring areas and machines associated with a manufacturing process, and generating metadata that can be used for alerts. cl. 3, ln. 20-25.
Regarding claim 24, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 23 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses wherein the first recording device or the second recording device is a wearable recording device ([0020], [0028], each worker may be equipped with and carry on his or her person a plurality of different monitors, such as a self-contained breathing apparatus (SCBA), a self-location device, vision protection, safety clothing such as hard hat, steel toed boots, electrical safety gloves, etc., wherein these monitors may transmit data about the local work environment via a wireless communication link to a monitoring station for processing, and in some cases, a worker may carry a mobile phone, the monitors may be communicatively coupled to the phone via short-range wireless communication links (WiFi, Bluetooth, etc.), and the phone may relay information from the monitors via a cellular wireless link to the monitoring station).
Regarding claim 25, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 23 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses further comprising a cloud storage for the one or more inputs ([0043], the audio and/or video from the monitors 104 are stored in the data store 114 as a time sequence of frames (audio frames and/or video frames) linked to corresponding readings and/or information from monitors 104, [0062], the functionality disclosed above may be provided by executing the application and/or applications in a cloud computing environment).
Regarding claim 26, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 23 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses wherein the dashboard digitally renders audio and video inputs in real time simultaneously ([0043], the user interface 150 provides controls for an operator of the monitoring station 110 to select turning on streamed audio and/or video from a specific worker 102 to further analyze events reported by monitors 104 carried by the worker 102, and the streamed audio and/or video data are synchronized with data from monitors 104 of corresponding time intervals).
Regarding claim 27, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 24 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses wherein the dashboard can render audio and video inputs in real time simultaneously ([0043], the user interface 150 provides controls for an operator of the monitoring station 110 to select turning on streamed audio and/or video from a specific worker 102 to further analyze events reported by monitors 104 carried by the worker 102, and the streamed audio and/or video data synchronized with data from monitors 104 of corresponding time intervals).
Regarding claim 28, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 25 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses wherein the storage also stores one portion of the first input and one portion of the second input separately from a complete first input and a complete second input ([0043], the audio and/or video from the monitors 104 are stored in the data store 114 as a time sequence of frames (audio frames and/or video frames) linked to corresponding readings and/or information from other monitors 104).
Regarding claim 29, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 23 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses wherein the dashboard renders the first input or the second input in real time in conjunction with at least one non- recorded input stored in the system ([0051]-[0053], at block 240, based on the analysis of information from the plurality of electronic monitors associated with one of the workers, the monitoring station synthesizes a model that articulates a comprehensive view of the safety of the one of the workers, including creating one or more predictive and/or estimating equations based on information from at least some of the monitors to estimate or predict a future state of the work yard 101 at the location of the worker 102 (or workers 102 in about the same location), and based on this prediction of the future state of the work yard 101 at block 242, the monitoring system presents the comprehensive view of the safety of the one of the workers on a display, e.g., alarms events, fault events, and/or issue (i.e. the comprehensive view, including the predicted alarms, faults, or issues – non recorded input), [0042], an H.sub.2S monitor 104 associated with the worker 102 named Hector has detected a high reading (i.e. non recorded input), and the window 198 may allow an operator of the monitoring station 110 to click on an entry for a monitor 104 in the window 198 to see a drill-down view that provides a trend line of data provided by the monitor 104 over time (i.e. in conjunction with recorded input), [0025], the monitoring station can define an equation that approximates a time-based gas leak function, and employ this equation to predict or estimate a future gas concentration in the work environment as a model, and the process of creating the equation or equations synthesis of the model, which along with explicit information provided by monitors and instruments carried by workers, can be used by the monitoring station to construct and/or articulate a comprehensive view of the safety of the workers to take action proactively to correct the issue before the hazardous gas actually accumulates and/or concentrates to a dangerous level (i.e. the comprehensive view is a calculated input to the GUI, not a recorded input)).
Regarding claim 30, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 23 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses wherein the management system uses one of artificial intelligence or a pre-defined program to enable an output from the dashboard to the first location ([0034], [0037], fig. 2, a user interface 150 presents information about the workers 102, the monitors 104, and the work yard 101 and presents the information to an operator of the monitoring station 110, [0063], the functionality disclosed above may be provided as a computer program product).
Regarding claim 31, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 23 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses wherein the graphical user interface is configured to receive audio or video inputs recorded at a second location that is unique from the first location ([0022], the monitoring station receives information from monitors from a plurality of workers at the work site, [0039], in user interface 150, each entry in the events summary window 180 lists a worker name 184, a an event icon 190, and a worker location 188 determined by a self-location electronic monitor 104 associated with the workers 102, and Examiner notes that the list of workers include Hector, Priam, Diomedes, and Nester, and these workers are located at location 1, location 2, location 3, and location 4, respectively, [0043], the user interface 150 may provide controls for an operator of the monitoring station 110 to select turning on streamed audio and/or video from a specific worker 102,).
Regarding claim 32, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 33 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses wherein the dashboard can simultaneously render the first input, the second input, and at least one third input recorded at the second location in the first time frame in real time ([0043], the user interface 150 provides controls for an operator of the monitoring station 110 to select turning on streamed audio and/or video from a specific worker 102 to further analyze events reported by monitors 104 carried by the worker 102, and the streamed audio and/or video data are synchronized with data from monitors 104 of corresponding time intervals).
Regarding claim 33, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 33 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses wherein the first input, the second input, and the at least one third input come from a plurality of wearable recording devices ([0020], [0028], each worker may be equipped with and carry on his or her person a plurality of different monitors, such as a self-contained breathing apparatus (SCBA), a self-location device, vision protection, safety clothing such as hard hat, steel toed boots, electrical safety gloves, etc., wherein these monitors may transmit data about the local work environment via a wireless communication link to a monitoring station for processing, and in some cases, a worker may carry a mobile phone, the monitors may be communicatively coupled to the phone via short-range wireless communication links (WiFi, Bluetooth, etc.), and the phone may relay information from the monitors via a cellular wireless link to the monitoring station).
Regarding claim 34, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 34 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses wherein the graphical user interface renders the first input, the second input, and the at least one third input in real time ([0040], the information presented may update in real-tune or near real-time as information from electronic monitors 104 is received by the monitoring station 110) in conjunction with at least one non-recorded input ([0051]-[0053], at block 240, based on the analysis of information from the plurality of electronic monitors associated with one of the workers, the monitoring station synthesizes a model that articulates a comprehensive view of the safety of the one of the workers, including creating one or more predictive and/or estimating equations based on information from at least some of the monitors to estimate or predict a future state of the work yard 101 at the location of the worker 102 (or workers 102 in about the same location), and based on this prediction of the future state of the work yard 101 at block 242, the monitoring system presents the comprehensive view of the safety of the one of the workers on a display, e.g., alarms events, fault events, and/or issue (i.e. the comprehensive view, including the predicted alarms, faults, or issues – non recorded input), [0042], an H.sub.2S monitor 104 associated with the worker 102 named Hector has detected a high reading (i.e. non recorded input), and the window 198 may allow an operator of the monitoring station 110 to click on an entry for a monitor 104 in the window 198 to see a drill-down view that provides a trend line of data provided by the monitor 104 over time (i.e. in conjunction with recorded input), [0025], the monitoring station can define an equation that approximates a time-based gas leak function, and employ this equation to predict or estimate a future gas concentration in the work environment as a model, and the process of creating the equation or equations synthesis of the model, which along with explicit information provided by monitors and instruments carried by workers, can be used by the monitoring station to construct and/or articulate a comprehensive view of the safety of the workers to take action proactively to correct the issue before the hazardous gas actually accumulates and/or concentrates to a dangerous level (i.e. the comprehensive view is a calculated input to the GUI, not a recorded input)).
Regarding claim 35, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 33 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses further comprising at least one storage for the the first input, the second input, and the at least one third input ([0043], the audio and/or video from the monitors 104 are stored in the data store 114 as a time sequence of frames (audio frames and/or video frames) linked to corresponding readings and/or information from monitors 104,
Regarding claim 36, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 35 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses wherein the management system uses one of artificial intelligence or a pre-defined program to enable an output to be sent to one of the plurality of wearable recording devices via the wireless transmission connection ([0022], setting of events will be reflected on a user interface display of the monitoring station as well as possibly providing a presentation of some kind of alert or alarm to the worker, for example an audible alert, a visual alert, or a vibration alert, [0044], the user interface 150 allows an operator of the user interface 150 and/or the monitoring station 110 to send commands to the monitors 104, for example commands to present an alert to the worker 102, [0026], APs 106 provide wireless communication links to the monitors 104 to a network 108).
Regarding claim 37, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 36 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses wherein the management system uses one of artificial intelligence or a pre-defined program to ([0063], the functionality disclosed above may be provided as a computer program product) enable the output to be sent to a plurality of wearable recording devices via the wireless transmission connection ([0022], setting of events will be reflected on a user interface display of the monitoring station as well as providing a presentation of some kind of alert or alarm to the worker, for example an audible alert, a visual alert, or a vibration alert, [0044], the user interface 150 allows an operator of the user interface 150 and/or the monitoring station 110 to send commands to the monitors 104, for example commands to present an alert to the worker 102, [0026], APs 106 provide wireless communication links to the monitors 104 to a network 108).
Regarding claim 38, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 37 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses wherein the graphical user interface is configured to instruct the management system on which of the plurality of wearable devices to send the output via the wireless transmission connection ([0022], setting of events will be reflected on a user interface display of the monitoring station as well as providing a presentation of some kind of alert or alarm to the worker, for example an audible alert, a visual alert, or a vibration alert, [0044], the user interface 150 allows an operator of the user interface 150 and/or the monitoring station 110 to send commands to the monitors 104, for example commands to present an alert to the worker 102, [0026], APs 106 provide wireless communication links to the monitors 104 to a network 108).
Regarding claim 39, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 38 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses wherein the graphical user interface is configured to instruct the management system in what format to send the output via the wireless transmission connection ([0022], setting of events will be reflected on a user interface display of the monitoring station as well as providing a presentation of some kind of alert or alarm to the worker, for example an audible alert, a visual alert, or a vibration alert, [0044], the user interface 150 allows an operator of the user interface 150 and/or the monitoring station 110 to send commands to the monitors 104, for example commands to present an alert to the worker 102, [0026], APs 106 provide wireless communication links to the monitors 104 to a network 108).
Regarding claim 40, the combined teachings of Kumar and ElHattab teaches the recording and playback system of claim 39 (as above). Further, Kumar discloses wherein the graphical user interface is configured to instruct the management system in what format to send the output via the wireless transmission connection to each of the plurality of wearable devices ([0022], setting of events will be reflected on a user interface display of the monitoring station as well as providing a presentation of some kind of alert or alarm to the worker, for example an audible alert, a visual alert, or a vibration alert, [0044], the user interface 150 allows an operator of the user interface 150 and/or the monitoring station 110 to send commands to the monitors 104, for example commands to present an alert to the worker 102, [0026], APs 106 provide wireless communication links to the monitors 104 to a network 108).
Conclusion
CHARLES GUILIANO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3623
/CHARLES GUILIANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623