DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment of 08/07/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 14, and 20 are amended due to the applicant's amendment.
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-14, and 17-20 are pending.
The rejection of claims 1-4, 7, 9-11, 14, and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. US-20250057038-A1, and the rejection of claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. US-20250057038-A1 as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Osaka et al. US-20120061714-A1 as set forth in the previous Office action are each overcome due to the applicant's amendment. However, as outlined below, new grounds of rejection have been made in view of further teachings of Kang et al. US-20250057038-A1.
Response to Arguments
Insofar as the arguments apply to the new grounds of rejection outlined below, the applicant's arguments on pages 48-53 of the reply dated 08/07/2026 with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. US-20250057038-A1 as set forth in the previous Office action have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's argument – The applicant argues on pages 48-53 that the rejections set forth in the previous Office Action are overcome due to the applicant's amendment. Specifically, the applicant argues that the cited compound P-32 does not read on the formula as amended because as amended, when Ar3 corresponds to a group of Formula 2-4, "r" must be 0.
Examiner's response -- The claims did not previously require the amended limitations of when Ar3 is represented by Formula 2-4, then "r" is 0 and the amended limitations are met in the new grounds of rejection below. More specifically, the positional isomer of compound P-57 meets the claimed formula wherein Ar3 is represented by Formula 2-3, L1 and L2 are each a substituted or unsubstituted arylene group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms, and "r" is 0. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP § 2144.09 I. When compounds which are position isomers or homologs are of sufficiently close structural similarity, there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP § 2144.09 II.
Applicant's argument – The applicant argues on page 53 that Osaka does not cure the alleged deficiency of Kang and the dependent claims comprise all of the limitations of independent claims 1 and 14 and therefore the dependently claims should be allowable for the reasons discussed above.
Examiner's response – The applicant has not provided additional arguments with respect to the rejection over Osaka and therefore, for the reasons outlined above, this is not found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 10-12, 14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 108178763 A (hereinafter "Kim-CN" and see English language machine translation referred to herein as "Kim-MT").
Regarding claims 1-4, 7, 10-12, 14, and 17-19, Kim discloses organic electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode sequentially stacked structure (Kim-MT, page 4 of 23, lines 4-6), and wherein the hole transport layer or an electron blocking layer comprises an organic electroluminescent compound (Kim-MT, page 4 or 23, lines 10-12). Kim discloses examples of the device wherein the light emitting layer comprises 9,10-Bis-(2-naphthyl) anthracene (ADN), which meets the claimed Formula E-1. Kim discloses examples of organic electroluminescent compound including compound 36
(Kim-CN, page 4).
Compound 36 is a compound of the clamed Formula 1 and 3-3 wherein:
L1 is an unsubstituted heteroarylene (a thiophene group) and L2 is an unsubstituted arylene (a phenylene group);
Ar1 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (a phenyl group) and Ar2 is a substituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (a phenyl group);
Ar3 is represented by 2-3;
X is O;
R1 is in each case a hydrogen atom;
R2 and R3 are each hydrogen; and
p is 5, q is 5, and r is 5.
Thus, the device comprising the compound of Kim meets claims 1-4, 7, 10-12, 14, and 17-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-11, 14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. US-20250057038-A1 (hereinafter "Kang").
Regarding claims 1-4, 7, 9-11, 14, and 17-19, Kang teaches an organic electric element comprising an organic material layer between a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the organic material layer comprises a compound represented by a Formula 1 (¶ [0129]), wherein the organic material layer includes a light-emitting layer and a hole transport layer between the first electrode and the light-emitting layer, and an emission auxiliary layer between the hole transport layer and the first electrode, wherein the compound is included in at least one layer of the hole transport layer and the emission auxiliary layer (¶ [0131]), and wherein the organic material layer comprises a hole injection layer between the first electrode and the hole transport layer (¶ [0060]). Kang teaches examples of the compound represented by a Formula 1 including Compound P-32
(page 23). Kang teaches that the driving voltage of the organic electric element can be lowered, and the luminous efficiency and lifetime of the element can be improved using the compound (¶ [0012]).
Kang does not exemplify a compound that meets the claimed Formula 1. For example, the Compound P-57 is a positional isomer of the claimed compound wherein the R6 phenyl group is substituted at the 3-position instead of the 4-position of the dibenzofuranyl group. However, the general formula of Kang encompasses the position isomers wherein R6 is at either the 3- or 4-positions on the dibenzo group, see Formula 1 of Kang:
(¶ [0085]).
Given the general formula and teachings of Kang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positional isomer of the compound P-57 wherein the R6 phenyl group is substituted at the 4-position instead of the 3-position on the dibenzofuran group. One of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Kang's Formula 1 in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp and would expect the isomeric compounds to be useful in the hole transport region of the device of Kang and possess the properties of lowered driving voltage and improved luminous efficiency and lifetime taught by Kang. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP § 2144.09 I. When compounds which are position isomers or homologs are of sufficiently close structural similarity, there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP § 2144.09 II.
The positional isomer of Compound P-57 wherein the R6 phenyl group is at the 4-position of the dibenzofuran group is a compound of the claimed Formula 1 and 3-3 wherein:
L1 is an unsubstituted arylene (a phenylene group) and L2 is a substituted arylene (a substituted phenylene group);
Ar1 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 10 ring-forming carbon atoms (a naphthyl group) and Ar2 is an unsubstituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (a phenyl group);
Ar3 is represented by 2-3;
X is O;
R1 is in each case a hydrogen atom;
R2 is an un substituted aryl group having 6 ring-forming carbon atoms (a phenyl group) and R3 is hydrogen; and
p is 5, q is 1, and r is 0.
Claims 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. US-20250057038-A1 (hereinafter "Kang") as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Osaka et al. US-20120061714-A1 (hereinafter "Osaka").
Regarding claim 12, Kang teaches the device comprising the modified compound as described above with respect to claim 1.
Kang does not specifically disclose wherein the device further comprises a compound of the claimed Formula E-1 in the light-emitting layer.
Osaka teaches host compounds including those that meet the claimed Formula E-1 for use in the light-emitting layer of an organic light emitting device (¶ [0192]). Osaka teaches that with a structure in which a guest material is dispersed in a host material, crystallization of the light-emitting layer can be suppressed and concentration quenching due to high concentration of the guest material can also be suppressed (¶ [0194]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include one of the host compounds taught by Osaka in the light emitting layer, based on the teaching of Osaka. The motivation for doing so would have been to suppress crystallization and concentration quenching, as taught by Osaka.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art, exemplified by Kang et al. US-20250057038-A1, teaches an organic electric element comprising a compound represented by a Formula 1 (¶ [0129]), wherein the compound is included in at least one layer of the hole transport layer and the emission auxiliary layer (¶ [0131]) and Kang teaches examples of the compound represented by a Formula 1 including Compound P-32
(page 19). However, Kang does not teach a compound as recited in claims 13 and 20. For example the compound P-32 differs from the claimed compounds at least in that Kang requires at least one of group corresponding to the claimed R2 and R3 be present and other than hydrogen while in the claimed compounds of claim 13 and 20, R2 and R3 are each hydrogen. Further, the prior art does not provide a reason to modify the compound P-32 of Kang such that the groups at positions corresponding to claimed R2 and R3 are each hydrogen to arrive at one of the specific compounds recited in claims 13 and 20 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-20210119135-A1, cited on the IDS of 10/11/2022, teaches amine compounds including compounds A20
(page 13); US-20210234104-A1 (KR-20210092367-A), cited on the IDS of 10/11/2022, teaches amine compounds including compound A74
(page 14); US-20210126197-A1 (KR-20210049244-A) , cited on the IDS of 10/11/2022, teaches amine compounds including compounds C11
(page 81).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786