Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 9/9/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 26-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/9/2025.
Current Status of 17/963,929
This Office Action is responsive to the claims of 9/9/2025.
Claims 1-25 have been examined on the merits.
Priority
This application is a continuation of abandoned Application 16/367,209, which also claims priority to US provisional applications 62/648,870 and 62/650,594. There are also family member patents (US1115449 and US11633354) and US application 18/117,328.
This application find support from abandoned Application 16/367,209. Therefore, the effective filing date is 3/27/2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement s (IDS), submitted on 10/31/2025 and 11/08/2022, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, and all claims depending therefrom, is indefinite for the recitation of “the pH of the composition is 4.2 to 4.4” because one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to reasonably determine its metes and bounds in regards to the ‘dosage form’ (i.e. ‘a capsule, a cachet, a pill, a tablet, an effervescent tablet, a powder, a granule, a pellet, a bead, a particle, a troche, a lozenge’ or ‘a gel’) as recited by instant claim 1 and/or the ‘solid composition’ as recited by instant claim 2. The present specification discloses that the ‘pH’ is a property/functional limitation of a liquid composition (see paras. [0044] of pg. 14; and [0048] of pg. 15). Thus, the metes and bounds of claim 1 are unclear and thus indefinite. Dependent claims 2 and 4-14 do not resolve the rationale underpinning this rejection and are also rejected for the same reason.
In the present instance, claim 2 recites the broad recitation ‘a solid composition’, and the claim also recites that is must be all of the following: ‘a dietary supplement, a component of a dietary supplement, and a component of a fortified food’. The narrowing of the composition (the second limitation) is not indefinite; however, the claim says the solid composition must be all of the options of the second quoted limitation (which it can not be). Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim is unclear and therefore, indefinite. Dependent claims 7, 8, and 14 do not resolve the rationale underpinning this rejection and are also rejected for the same reason.
Claims 2, 4, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites the “composition of claim 1, wherein the composition is a solid composition and is a dietary supplement, a component of a dietary supplement, and a component of a fortified food”. Claim 1 for which claim 2 depends recites the “composition is in a dosage form selected from the group consisting of: a capsule, a cachet, a pill, a tablet, an effervescent tablet, a powder, a granule, a pellet, a bead, a particle, a troche, a lozenge, a gel, a liquid, a suspension, a solution, an elixir, and a syrup”. Claim 1 says the composition can be a gel, liquid, suspension, elixir, or a syrup. However, Claim 2 says it must be a solid composition. Thus, claim 2 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 1 recite the limitation of the molar ratio of the creatine compound to of the creatinine compound is 1:1 to 1:1.7. Claim 4 (which depends on claim 1) recites the limitation of “the weight of the creatinine compound is 50%-200% the weight of the creatine compound”. Claim 4 now allows for a 1:0.5 or a 1:2 ratio. Thus, claim 4 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 23 does not depend on any claim, but might be attempting to be dependent on claim 20 (given claim construction and the “of 20”). Thus, claim 23 fails to further limit the subject matter since it does not properly depend on a claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, and 11-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by HOWARD (US6524611B2).
HOWARD anticipates a composition for human consumption, comprising creatine and a quantity of creatinine sufficient to render the creatine therein substantially stable when presented in an aqueous medium (ref Claim 1).
HOWARD anticipates the composition having a mole ratio of creatinine to creatine from 1:10 to 10:1. A 1:1 and 1:1.7 molar ratio of creatine to creatinine falls within the reference’s range. This anticipates claims 11-12.
HOWARD also anticipates a pH of the composition is 4.2 to 4.4 (this range falls between the reference’s range of 4.0 to 6.5 in ref claim 6). HOWARD anticipates a method of preparing this composition by providing solid creatine and solid creatinine (instant claimed the creatinine compound/anhydrous creatinine and the creatine compound/anhydrous creatine of claim 1); mixing the two solids so as to provide a resulting composition which, when dissolved in aqueous solution, provides a composition in which there is sufficient creatinine to render the creatine substantially stable (ref Claims 27 and 35). HOWARD anticipates an aqueous medium to be a drink (summary of invention).
This anticipates claims 1, 3, 11-12.
HOWARD anticipates a composition that takes the form of a dry powder (refers to instant claimed the composition is in a dosage form of a powder of claim 1; and instant claims 2 and 7) comprising 149 g of creatine monohydrate (refers to instant claimed the creatine compound/a hydrate of creatine of claim 1, and at least 2g of claim 13), 113 g of creatinine, and 1.8 g of vitamin premix (vitamin E 3.4 mg, vitamin C 16.2 mg, thiamin 0.3 mg, riboflavin 0.4 mg, niacin 5 mg, vitamin B6 0.4 mg, Focalin 85 μg, vitamin B12 0.9 μg, Biotin 0.18 mg and pantothenic acid 2.2 mg) (refers to instant claim 8); and it is dissolved in water (Example 6 on col. 16). The amounts of creatine monohydrate and creatinine (i.e. 113g/149g =0.758 or 75.8%) anticipates the limitation ‘the weight of the creatinine compound is 5%-800% the weight of the creatine compound’ of instant claim 1 and instant claim 4.
This anticipates claims 1, 2, 4, 7-8, and 13.
HOWARD anticipates that HOWARD’s composition can be put into gel like aloe gel or a semi-liquid foodstuff like yogurt (col 5). This anticipates claims 14-15, and 20-22.
HOWARD is silent on the storage and decomposition properties of the composition. However, the storage and decomposition properties of a chemical composition are an inherent property. See MPEP 2112.01: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical products, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established”. The composition of HOWARD is identical to the instant composition. Furthermore, the decomposition and storage of HOWARD’s composition would occur identically to the instant composition. This anticipates claims 16-19.
HOWARD anticipates additionally including a preservatives (col 7). This anticipates claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOWARD (US6524611B2) in view of GALVAN ((Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition, 2016, 13(12), pp. 1-24; cited in IDS filed 11/08/2022)
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, and 11-23 are taught above.
HOWARD teaches that caffeine can be added (col 7). HOWARD teaches that the term "creatine" as used herein is intended to encompass all bioavailable derivatives of creatine, such as creatine monohydrate, phosphocreatine, and other salts of creatine (col 3). This helps teach other salts of creatine.
HOWARD anticipates a range of creatine (for liquids per 100g) from 1.5g to 24g of creatine (col 8). This helps teach claims 5-6, 9-10 and 24-25.
HOWARD does not teach creatine nitrate explicitly.
GALVIN teaches that creatine nitrate has similar performance benefits as creatine monohydrate without any safety concern at the same concentration (see pg. 1, conclusion section; and pg. 23, left col., lines 3-9).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the creatine monohydrate (from HOWARD) with the creatine nitrate. An artisan would have been motivated to do so because of GALVIN’s performance benefits. This teaches claims 5 and helps teach claims 6, 9-10.
The artisan would be expected to optimize the amount of caffeine, creatine, and creatinine in the composition of HOWARD in the normal course of dose tailoring (col 3 and 8). See MPEP 2144.05(II): “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there Is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical”. Neither the specification nor the claims indicate the ranges of amount of caffeine, creatine, and creatinine are critical. This teaches claims 5-6, 9-10 and 24-25.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11633354. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims use a composition which teaches the instant compound claims.
Reference claim 18, drawn to a method of improving the oral bioavailability of creatine, the method comprising administering to a human subject a composition comprising an effective amount of creatine and creatinine, wherein the molar ratio of the effective amount of creatine and creatinine is 1:1 to 1:1.7 and the pH of the composition is 4.2 to 4.4, teaches instant claim 1, drawn to a composition of creatine and creatinine with the same molar ratio and pH. ‘354’s specification Col 3 also teaches the dosage forms of the instant claim 1. ‘354’s specification Col 4 also teaches the instant types of creatine and creatinine.
An artisan would have found it obvious and expected to use all the teaches in ‘354 to arrive at the instant composition.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/G.A.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625