DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The action is responsive to the Applicant’s Amendment filed on 9/22/2025. Claims 1, 2, 4-16, and 18-22 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 12, and 19 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 2, 4-16, and 18-22 have been fully considered. In view of the claim amendment filed, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Further, regarding the new limitations recited in claims 1, 12, and 19, it is submitted that they are properly addressed by the new ground of rejection.
Furthermore, it is also submitted that all limitations in pending claims, including those not specifically argued, are properly addressed. The reason is set forth in the rejections. See claim analysis below for detail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-16, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. (US 20130173570 A1) in view of Cohen et al. (US 20190196698 A1) and Stepinski et al. (US 20150161239 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Bennett discloses a computing system comprising: a processor; and memory storing instructions ([0022]: With continued reference to FIG. 1, the computing device 100 includes a bus 110 that directly or indirectly couples the following devices: a memory 112, one or more processors 114) that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform acts comprising:
receiving a query from an application executing on a client computing device that is in network communication with the computing system (Fig. 2; [0037]: The receiving component 224 of the search engine 212 is configured to receive search queries, usually input via a search engine home page… Typically, such a search query is received via a browser associated with a client computing device; network 218; Fig. 3; [0051]: As shown at block 310, a search query is received at the search engine, for instance, by receiving component 224 of the search engine 212 of FIG. 2);
responsive to receiving the query: searching a computer-readable index of items based upon the query (Fig. 2; [0038]: Upon receiving an input search query… search results are determined algorithmically and retrieved, at least in part, from the data store 216);
identifying an item based upon the searching of the computer-readable index (Fig. 2; [0038]: Upon receiving an input search query, the search result determining component 226 is configured to identify one or more search results that are determined to match the input query; See also para [0052]);
However, Bennett does not explicitly teach “constructing a prompt based upon the query; providing the prompt as input into a computer-implemented diffuser model, wherein the computer-implemented diffuser model is configured to dynamically generate content based upon the prompt; obtaining an output generated by the computer-implemented diffuser model responsive to receiving the prompt as input, wherein the output comprises dynamically generated content related to the query; and returning at least one of the item or the dynamically generated content related to the query to the client computing device for presentment by way of the application executing on the client computing device.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Cohen teaches
constructing a prompt based upon the query (Figs. 1-3; [0099]-[0100]: Directed user conversation 304 includes a conversation between a device and a user; [0111]: Conversation module 144 directs a user conversation (e.g., a directed user conversation). In one example, conversation module 144 directs the user conversation in a question and answer, interview-style conversation);
providing the prompt as input into a computer-implemented diffuser model (Figs. 1-4; [0111]- [0113]: Based on the directed user conversation, conversation module 144 provides a query (e.g., an editing query) to language module 148. A query can include a request for a function to edit an image, such as a remove request, a replace request, a move request, a duplicate request, an add request, and the like),
wherein the computer-implemented diffuser model is configured to dynamically generate content based upon the prompt (Fig. 4; [Abstract]: Systems and techniques are described herein for directing a user conversation to obtain an editing query, and removing and replacing objects in an image based on the editing query; [0107]-[0113]: System 400 is one example of image enhancement system 110 that can be constructed using the modules of image enhancement application 120… system 400 can operate in real time (e.g., with no perceptible delay to a user once a user conversation is completed… Moreover, system 400 can be implemented on any suitable device or devices… Language module 148… processes the query to determine parameters of the query, including what editing-function request is included in the query (e.g., remove request, a replace request, a move request, a duplicate request, an add request, and the like). See also paras [0114]-[0132]);
obtaining an output generated by the computer-implemented diffuser model responsive to receiving the prompt as input (Figs. 1-4; [0127]: Compositing module 152… generates one or more composite images to fulfill an editing query obtained from the directed user conversation directed by conversation module 14; [0132]: Display module 156 receives harmonized images from harmonizing module 154. Additionally or alternatively, display module 156 receives any suitable images used by or generated by system 400),
wherein the output comprises dynamically generated content related to the query (Figs. 4-5; User interface 500 is an example of a user interface generated by system 400 in FIG. 4 and displayed on display 122 in FIG. 1).
Additionally, Stepinski teaches returning at least one of the item or the dynamically generated content related to the query to the client computing device for presentment by way of the application executing on the client computing device (Figs. 2, 6B; [0042]-[0043]: Once a set of suggested refinements is generated, the particular refinements can be provided to the search engine 205 for incorporation into the results of the search query; [0053]: Additionally, the GUI 244 (or web browser 238) allows the client 229 to present a search engine web page associated with the search engine 205 that allows the client 229 to submit web search queries, as well as to present the results identified by the search engine 205 associated with those web search queries; [The refinement engine 207, i.e. the computer implemented model, generates a graphical structure comprising suggested refinements corresponding to the search query, i.e. content based upon the query. The search results and generated content is transmitted back to the client 229 for presentation on a web search results page]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bennett to incorporate the teachings of Cohen and Stepinski to obtain content dynamically created based on the user’s query and return the content to the user.
The motivation for doing so would be to direct a user conversation for image enhancements, as recognized by Cohen ([0018] of Cohen: Accordingly, this disclosure describes systems and techniques for directing a user conversation to obtain an editing query, and providing a plurality of images that have been enhanced by fulfilling a remove request or a replace request with different content), and to provide additional information to targeted audience, as recognized by Stepinski ([0095] of Stepinski: Provided herein are mixed-media modules with functional layers that can be used to provided additional information to targeted audience).
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the computing system of claim 1.
Bennett further teaches wherein both the item and the content are returned to the client computing device in a search engine results page (SERP) (Fig. 7; [0049]: As indicated at block 714, the client computing device is automatically navigated to a webpage associated with the search engine, for instance, a SERP, and the interactive image is presented as a background image of the webpage (e.g., a SERP). A SERP having an interactive image presented as a background image is shown in the screen display 800 of FIG. 8.).
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the computing system of claim 1.
Stepinski further teaches, the acts further comprising:
prior to transmitting the query to the computer-implemented diffuser model, providing the query to a classifier that is trained to identify queries that are usable by the computer- implemented diffuser model to generate content (Fig. 1, FIGS. 4A-B; [0027]: the search server 104 is typically implemented as multiple servers that perform various tasks, e.g., receiving a search query, performing load balancing, parsing the search query, analyzing web indexes to identify relevant results, and ranking the results… the suggested refinements can be based on search terms similar in wording to the submitted search query, while in other instances, the suggested refinements may instead be topically related to the search query); and
receiving an indication from the classifier that the query is usable by the computer- implemented diffuser model to dynamically create content, wherein the query is transmitted to the computer-implemented diffuser model based upon the indication from the classifier (FIGS. 4A-B ; [0177]-[0179]: At 406, it is determined whether the search refinement wheel module is activated… If the search refinement wheel module is activated, method 400 continues at 412… At 412, the search server (or its associated search engine) retrieves one or more search results and at least one suggested refinement for the received search term).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the computing system of claim 1.
Stepinski further teaches wherein the content is an image dynamically created by the computer-implemented diffuser model (Fig. 1; [0027]: System 100 includes a client 110 and one or more search servers 104 that identify a plurality of web pages 102 from which search results, images, documents, and other information are retrieved and/or derived; [0036]: the search engine 105, in combination with the functionality of the search refinement wheel module 109, generates the search refinement wheel instance and sends a graphical representation of the search refinement wheel instance to the client 110).
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the computing system of claim 5.
Stepinski further teaches wherein the image is returned to the client computing device for presentment on a display of the client computing device (Fig. 2, 6B; [0036]-[0037]: Once the search results and suggested refinements are identified at the search server 104, the search engine 105 prepares the combined information for presentation to the client 110… the search engine 105, in combination with the functionality of the search refinement wheel module 109, generates the search refinement wheel instance and sends a graphical representation of the search refinement wheel instance to the client 110), the acts further comprising:
receiving an indication that a second search is to be conducted based upon the content dynamically created by the computer-implemented differ model; based upon the indication and the content, searching the computer-readable index of items; identifying a second item based upon the searching of the computer-readable index of items; and returning the second item to the client computing device for presentment by way of the application executing on the client computing device (Fig. 1; [0037]: The user of client 110 may select one of the suggested refinements as the new search term to continue the search experience. When a particular suggested refinement is selected, the particular suggested refinement is returned to the search engine 105; [the indication that a second search is to be conducted is the selection of one of the suggested refinements]).
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the computing system of claim 6.
Stepinski further teaches the acts further comprising: computing values for features of the content upon obtaining the content dynamically created by the computer-implemented diffuser model, wherein the computer-readable index of items is searched based upon the computed values for the features of the content (FIG. 1; [0037]: When a particular suggested refinement is selected, the particular suggested refinement is returned to the search engine 105… where new search results and additional suggested refinements will be identified from the search index 106 and the refinement index 108; [it is implicit that the search terms associated to the selected suggested refinement, i.e. features of the content, is determined to be used for searching the index 106]).
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the computing system of claim 1.
Stepinski further teaches wherein the item is returned to the client computing device for presentment by way of the application executing on the client computing device at a first point in time (Fig. 2; [0036]: Once the search results and suggested refinements are identified at the search server 104, the search engine 105 prepares the combined information for presentation to the client 110), the acts further comprising:
generating a query suggestion based upon the query (Fig. 2; [0035]: Additionally, the refinement engine 107 may analyze the submitted search term(s) to determine one or more suggested refinements from the refinement index 108 to return to the client 110 with the search results);
returning the query suggestion to the client computing device together with the item for presentment by way of the application executing on the client computing device (Fig. 2; [0036]: Once the search results and suggested refinements are identified at the search server 104, the search engine 105 prepares the combined information for presentation to the client 110); and
at a second point in time that is subsequent to the first point in time, and without further user interaction, returning the content to the client computing device (FIGS. 4A-B; [0179]-[0039]: Once the search results and suggested refinements are retrieved, the search term, search results, and suggested refinements may be cached or stored for later use at 416; Fig. 5A; [0191]: At box 508, the search engine stores the returned search results in the state cache, and at box 510 the state cache associates the stored search results with the current search term(s) in order to enable those results to be retrieved at a later date).
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the computing system of claim 8.
Stepinski further teaches wherein the computing system causes the client computing device to cease presenting the query suggestion upon the content being returned to the client computing device (Fig. 2; [0036]: Where the search refinement wheel module 109 is not active, the search engine 105 can send a generic web search results page to the client 110 for presentation to the user).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the computing system of claim 1.
Stepinski further teaches the acts further comprising: accessing search history associated with a user of the client computing device, wherein the query is transmitted to the computer-implemented diffuser model based upon the search history associated with the user of the client computing device ([0037]: In some instances, the search refinement wheel may only visualize a certain number of nodes in the search path at one time, while in others, different node states may be used to illustrate previous searches at various levels and times in the search history; [0042]: In some instances, the refinement engine 207 may consider previous user searches, as well as other relevant user information, to determine a unique or personalized set of suggested refinements in response to a received search term).
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the computing system of claim 1.
Stepinski further teaches wherein the application is a productivity application ([0028]: Additionally, each web page may itself be a document other than a web page, such as an Adobe PDF document, a word processing document, a spreadsheet, a database, or any other document associated with a defined uniform resource locator (URL) or other web-addressable location accessible to either or both of the client 110 or the search server 104; [Non-functional descriptive material]).
Regarding Claim 12, Bennett discloses a method performed by computing system ([Abstract]: Systems, methods, and computer-readable storage media for presenting interactive images associated with a search engine in association with a search engine results page (SERP) are provided), the method comprising:
receiving a query from an application executing on a client computing device that is in network communication with the computing system (Fig. 2; [0037]: The receiving component 224 of the search engine 212 is configured to receive search queries, usually input via a search engine home page… Typically, such a search query is received via a browser associated with a client computing device; network 218; Fig. 3; [0051]: As shown at block 310, a search query is received at the search engine, for instance, by receiving component 224 of the search engine 212 of FIG. 2);
based upon the query, returning a search results page to the client computing device for presentment by way of the application, wherein the search results page comprises:
a search result identified based upon the query (Fig. 2; [0038]: Upon receiving an input search query… search results are determined algorithmically and retrieved, at least in part, from the data store 216); and
a selectable button that corresponds to generation of content based upon the query ([0041]: In one embodiment (shown in the screen display 500 of FIG. 5)… a link 510 to the interactive image is presented on the search engine results page as a search result or instant answer);
receiving an indication from the client computing device that the selectable button has been selected ([0041]: Subsequently, upon user selection of the link, the image retrieval and transmitting component 232 is configured to receive the high-resolution, large image data (e.g., from the image data store 214));
However, Bennett does not explicitly teach “based upon the indication, constructing a prompt based upon the prompt; providing the prompt as input into a computer-implemented diffuser model, wherein the computer-implemented diffuser model is configured to dynamically generate content based upon the query; obtaining an output generated by the computer-implemented diffuser model responsive to receiving the prompt as input, wherein the output comprises dynamically generated content related to the query; and returning the dynamically generated content to the client computing device for presentment by way of the application”.
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Cohen teaches
based upon the indication ([0004]: multi-modal input is received as part of the directed user conversation (e.g., spoken instructions and an indicator from a mouse to confirm selection of an object), constructing a prompt based upon the query (Figs. 1-3; [0099]-[0100]: Directed user conversation 304 includes a conversation between a device and a user; [0111]: Conversation module 144 directs a user conversation (e.g., a directed user conversation). In one example, conversation module 144 directs the user conversation in a question and answer, interview-style conversation),
providing the prompt as input into a computer-implemented diffuser model (Figs. 1-4; [0111]- [0113]: Based on the directed user conversation, conversation module 144 provides a query (e.g., an editing query) to language module 148. A query can include a request for a function to edit an image, such as a remove request, a replace request, a move request, a duplicate request, an add request, and the like),
wherein the computer-implemented diffuser model is configured to dynamically generate content based upon the prompt (Fig. 4; [Abstract]: Systems and techniques are described herein for directing a user conversation to obtain an editing query, and removing and replacing objects in an image based on the editing query; [0107]-[0113]: System 400 is one example of image enhancement system 110 that can be constructed using the modules of image enhancement application 120… system 400 can operate in real time (e.g., with no perceptible delay to a user once a user conversation is completed… Moreover, system 400 can be implemented on any suitable device or devices… Language module 148… processes the query to determine parameters of the query, including what editing-function request is included in the query (e.g., remove request, a replace request, a move request, a duplicate request, an add request, and the like). See also paras [0114]-[0132]);
obtaining an output generated by the computer-implemented diffuser model responsive to receiving the prompt as input (Figs. 1-4; [0127]: Compositing module 152… generates one or more composite images to fulfill an editing query obtained from the directed user conversation directed by conversation module 14; [0132]: Display module 156 receives harmonized images from harmonizing module 154. Additionally or alternatively, display module 156 receives any suitable images used by or generated by system 400),
wherein the output comprises dynamically generated content related to the query (Figs. 4-5; User interface 500 is an example of a user interface generated by system 400 in FIG. 4 and displayed on display 122 in FIG. 1); and
Additionally, Stepinski teaches returning the dynamically generated content to the client computing device for presentment by way of the application (Figs. 2, 6B; [0042]: Once a set of suggested refinements is generated, the particular refinements can be provided to the search engine 205 for incorporation into the results of the search query; [0053]: Additionally, the GUI 244 (or web browser 238) allows the client 229 to present a search engine web page associated with the search engine 205 that allows the client 229 to submit web search queries, as well as to present the results identified by the search engine 205 associated with those web search queries; [The search results and generated content is transmitted back to the client 229 for presentation on a web search results page]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bennett to incorporate the teachings of Cohen and Stepinski to obtain content dynamically created based on the user’s query and return the content to the user.
The motivation for doing so would be to direct a user conversation for image enhancements, as recognized by Cohen ([0018] of Cohen: Accordingly, this disclosure describes systems and techniques for directing a user conversation to obtain an editing query, and providing a plurality of images that have been enhanced by fulfilling a remove request or a replace request with different content), and to provide additional information to targeted audience, as recognized by Stepinski ([0095] of Stepinski: Provided herein are mixed-media modules with functional layers that can be used to provided additional information to targeted audience).
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the method of claim 12.
Bennett further teaches performed by a general-purpose web search engine that is executing on the computing system ([Abstract]: Systems, methods, and computer-readable storage media for presenting interactive images associated with a search engine in association with a search engine results page (SERP) are provided; [0018]: Another embodiment of the present invention is directed to a system for automatically navigating a client device to a webpage associated with a search engine).
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the method of claim 12.
Stepinski further teaches further comprising: providing the query to a computer-implemented classifier (Fig. 1, FIGS. 4A-B; [0027]: the search server 104 is typically implemented as multiple servers that perform various tasks, e.g., receiving a search query, performing load balancing, parsing the search query, analyzing web indexes to identify relevant results, and ranking the results… the suggested refinements can be based on search terms similar in wording to the submitted search query, while in other instances, the suggested refinements may instead be topically related to the search query),
wherein the computer-implemented classifier generates an output that indicates that the query is usable by the computer-implemented model to generate the content (FIGS. 4A-B ; [0177]-[0179]: At 406, it is determined whether the search refinement wheel module is activated… If the search refinement wheel module is activated, method 400 continues at 412… At 412, the search server (or its associated search engine) retrieves one or more search results and at least one suggested refinement for the received search term),
wherein the selectable button is included in the search results page based upon the output generated by the computer-implemented classifier ([0025]: Additionally, the suggested refinements may be buttons, links, or other interactive elements that direct the search engine to perform a search using the associated term or terms included in the suggested refinement; Fig. 2; [0052]: In general, the GUI 244 may include a plurality of user interface (UI) elements such as interactive fields, pull-down lists, and buttons operable by the user at the client 229.).
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the method of claim 12.
Stepinski further teaches wherein the content is a video ([0053]: In some instances, the GUI 244 (or the web browser 238) is a software application which enables the client 229 (or a user thereof) to display and interact with text, images, videos, music, and other multimedia files and information typically located in web page files).
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the method of claim 12.
Stepinski further teaches, further comprising: subsequent to returning the content to the client computing device for presentment by way of the application, receiving, from the application, a request to search a computer-readable index based upon the content; responsive to receiving the request, identifying an item in the computer- readable index based upon the content; and returning a second search results page to the client computing device for presentment by way of the application, wherein the second search results page comprises the item (Fig. 1; [0037]: The user of client 110 may select one of the suggested refinements as the new search term to continue the search experience. When a particular suggested refinement is selected, the particular suggested refinement is returned to the search engine 105);
Regarding Claim 18, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the method of claim 12.
Stepinski further teaches, further comprising: based upon a user profile of a user of the client computing device, determining that the computer-implemented diffuser model is to generate content on behalf of the user, wherein the selectable button is included in the search results upon determining that the computer-implemented diffuser model is to generate the content on behalf of the user ([0031]: The refinement engine 107 may use any appropriate algorithm, formula, operation, or process to determine the appropriate refinements to suggest, including determinations based at least in part on profiles associated with the particular user working with or at the client 110).
Regarding Claim 19, Bennett discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions (Fig. 1; [0023]: The computing device 100 typically includes a variety of computer-readable media) that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform acts comprising:
receiving, at a general-purpose web search engine, a query from a client computing device Fig. 2; [0037]: The receiving component 224 of the search engine 212 is configured to receive search queries, usually input via a search engine home page… Typically, such a search query is received via a browser associated with a client computing device; network 218; Fig. 3; [0051]: As shown at block 310, a search query is received at the search engine, for instance, by receiving component 224 of the search engine 212 of FIG. 2);
providing the query to a computer-implemented classifier, wherein the computer-implemented classifier is trained to identify queries that are to be provided to a computer-implemented diffuser model that generates images based upon the queries (Fig. 2; [0038]: Upon receiving an input search query, the search result determining component 226 is configured to identify one or more search results that are determined to match the input query; See also para [0052]);
obtaining an output from the computer-implemented classifier that indicates that the query is to be provided to the computer-implemented diffuser model ([Abstract]: the interactive image may be determined to be related to an algorithmically-derived search result and a visual indicator thereof may be presented in association with the search result);
However, Bennett does not explicitly teach “based upon the output from the computer-implemented classifier, constructing a prompt based upon the query, providing the prompt as input into the computer-implemented diffuser model, wherein the computer-implemented diffuser model is configured to dynamically generate content based upon the prompt; obtaining an output from the computer-implemented model, wherein the output comprises a dynamically generated image related to the query; identifying a search result based upon the query; generating a search engine results page (SERP), wherein the SERP includes the image dynamically generated by computer-implemented diffuser model and the search result; and transmitting the SERP to the client computing device for presentment on a display of the client computing device.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Cohen teaches
based upon the output from the computer-implemented classifier ([0048]: Conversation module 144 is representative of functionality configured to direct a user conversation… conversation module 144 may initiate a user conversation based on an event, such as a user indicating an image to be edited), constructing a prompt based upon the query (Figs. 1-3; [0099]-[0100]: Directed user conversation 304 includes a conversation between a device and a user; [0111]: Conversation module 144 directs a user conversation (e.g., a directed user conversation). In one example, conversation module 144 directs the user conversation in a question and answer, interview-style conversation),
providing the prompt as input into the computer-implemented diffuser model (Figs. 1-4; [0111]- [0113]: Based on the directed user conversation, conversation module 144 provides a query (e.g., an editing query) to language module 148. A query can include a request for a function to edit an image, such as a remove request, a replace request, a move request, a duplicate request, an add request, and the like);
wherein the computer-implemented diffuser model is configured to dynamically generate content based upon the prompt (Fig. 4; [Abstract]: Systems and techniques are described herein for directing a user conversation to obtain an editing query, and removing and replacing objects in an image based on the editing query; [0107]-[0113]: System 400 is one example of image enhancement system 110 that can be constructed using the modules of image enhancement application 120… system 400 can operate in real time (e.g., with no perceptible delay to a user once a user conversation is completed… Moreover, system 400 can be implemented on any suitable device or devices… Language module 148… processes the query to determine parameters of the query, including what editing-function request is included in the query (e.g., remove request, a replace request, a move request, a duplicate request, an add request, and the like). See also paras [0114]-[0132]);
obtaining an output from the computer-implemented model, wherein the output comprises a dynamically generated image related to the query (Figs. 1-4; [0127]: Compositing module 152… generates one or more composite images to fulfill an editing query obtained from the directed user conversation directed by conversation module 14: [0132]: Display module 156 receives harmonized images from harmonizing module 154. Additionally or alternatively, display module 156 receives any suitable images used by or generated by system 400);
identifying a search result based upon the query (Fig. 1; [0027]: System 100 includes a client 110 and one or more search servers 104 that identify a plurality of web pages 102 from which search results, images, documents, and other information are retrieved and/or derived).
Additionally Stepinski teaches generating a search engine results page (SERP), wherein the SERP includes the image dynamically generated by computer-implemented diffuser model and the search result (Figs. 2, 6B; [0042]: Once a set of suggested refinements is generated, the particular refinements can be provided to the search engine 205 for incorporation into the results of the search query); and
transmitting the SERP to the client computing device for presentment on a display of the client computing device ([0053]: Additionally, the GUI 244 (or web browser 238) allows the client 229 to present a search engine web page associated with the search engine 205 that allows the client 229 to submit web search queries, as well as to present the results identified by the search engine 205 associated with those web search queries; [The search results and generated content is transmitted back to the client 229 for presentation on a web search results page]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bennett to incorporate the teachings of Cohen and Stepinski to obtain content dynamically created based on the user’s query and return the content to the user.
The motivation for doing so would be to direct a user conversation for image enhancements, as recognized by Cohen ([0018] of Cohen: Accordingly, this disclosure describes systems and techniques for directing a user conversation to obtain an editing query, and providing a plurality of images that have been enhanced by fulfilling a remove request or a replace request with different content), and to provide additional information to targeted audience, as recognized by Stepinski ([0095] of Stepinski: Provided herein are mixed-media modules with functional layers that can be used to provided additional information to targeted audience).
Regarding Claim 20, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 19.
Stepinski further teaches wherein the computer-implemented model is a diffuser model (Fig. 2; [0040]-[0045]: In FIG. 2, processor 220 executes the operations necessary to support the search engine 205, the refinement engine 207, and the search refinement wheel module 209… the refinement engine 207 accesses a refinement index 214 in memory 210 to retrieve the suggested refinements for a particular search term. [A local device or remote server that dynamically creates content based upon a search term corresponds to a computer-implemented diffuser model]).
Regarding Claim 21, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 19.
Stepinski further teaches the acts further comprising:
receiving an indication that a search is to be conducted based upon the image ([0006]: receiving an indication that one of the individual spokes associated with the corresponding search query refinement from the visual representation of the first spoke graph structure is selected by a user, wherein the selected search query refinement includes a second search query);
based upon the indication and the image, searching a computer-readable index of images; identifying a second image based upon the searching of the computer-readable index of images ([0006]: obtaining a set of search query refinements based on the second search query, iii) generating a second spoke graph structure processable to present a visual representation of the second search query and at least a portion of the set of search query refinements based on the second search query,); and
returning the second image to the client computing device for presentment on the display ([0006) providing the consolidated spoke graph structure in response to the selection of the individual spoke; [0053]: Additionally, the GUI 244 (or web browser 238) allows the client 229 to present a search engine web page associated with the search engine 205 that allows the client 229 to submit web search queries, as well as to present the results identified by the search engine 205 associated with those web search queries).
Regarding Claim 22, the combined teachings of Bennett, Cohen, and Stepinski disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 21.
Stepinski further teaches the acts further comprising: computing values for features of the image upon obtaining the image, wherein the computer-readable index of images is searched based upon the computed values for the features of the image (FIG. 1; [0037]: When a particular suggested refinement is selected, the particular suggested refinement is returned to the search engine 105… where new search results and additional suggested refinements will be identified from the search index 106 and the refinement index 108; [it is implicit that the search terms associated to the selected suggested refinement, i.e. features of the content, is determined to be used for searching the index 106]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S D H/Examiner, Art Unit 2168
/CHARLES RONES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2168