DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 7/22/2026 for
response of the office action mailed on 4/22/2026. Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9, and 19-20 have been amended. Claims 6 and 8 have been canceled. Claims 1-5, 7 and 9-20 remain pending in the application.
to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 7/22/2026 has been entered.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks (page 8-12), filed on 7/22/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered
but are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in page 9 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Park does not disclose or suggest that the RRC broadcast configuration information (SC-MTCH-InfoList IE) configures the multiple MREs for the same session and a same G-RNTI of the multiple MREs of the same MEMS session.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Kim et al. (US 2018/0352387 Al) discloses (The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for transmitting MBMS control information from the network to a UE. MCCH transmits an MBMS-related RRC message. UE may acquire the MBSFN area information list and the MBMS notification configuration information, Kim: [0055], [0076], [0090]-[0092]). Park et al. (US 2020/0221421 Al) discloses (single cell point to multipoint (SCPTM) Configuration message was received for an MBMS service for which an single cell (SC)-MRB may be established and/or using g-RNTI and/or sc-mtch-Schedulinginfo in this message for this MBMS service, Park: [0194]).
Regarding remarks in page 10 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Park does not disclose or suggest that the UE receives the same MEMS session in the same cell on the plurality of MREs using the G-RNTI.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Park et al. (US 2020/0221421 Al) discloses (single cell point to multipoint (SCPTM) Configuration message was received for an MBMS service for which an single cell (SC)-MRB may be established and/or using g-RNTI and/or sc-mtch-Schedulinginfo in this message for this MBMS service, Park: [0194]).
Regarding remarks in page 10 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Park does not disclose that the MEMS session that is received on the plurality of MREs using the same G-RNTI is received in the same cell.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Park et al. (US 2020/0221421 Al) discloses (UE may receive same MBMS (MBMS, SC-PTM, and/or V2X) resource parameter that the UE may have received in the current cell. the current cell and the secondary cell may use the same G-RNTI parameter and/or same MBMS (MBMS, SC-PTM, and/or V2X) resource parameter for the same MBMS (MBMS, SC-PTM, and/or V2X) service, Park: [0203]).
Claim Objections
5. Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16, in line 1, “The UE according to claim 8,” should be replaced by “The UE according to claim 3,”. Claim 8 has been canceled.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1, 9, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (US
2018/0352387 Al, hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Park et al. (US 2020/0221421 Al, hereinafter “Park”) and in further view of Wang (US 2023/0050170 Al, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses:
A user equipment (UE), comprising (LTE system architecture includes one or more user equipment, Kim: Fig. 1, [0034]):
a receiver configured to (receiver may be a part of the UE, Kim: [0036]):
receive radio resource control (RRC) broadcast configuration information (The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for transmitting MBMS control information from the network to a UE. MCCH transmits an MBMS-related RRC message. UE may acquire the MBSFN area information list and the MBMS notification configuration information, Kim: [0055], [0076], [0090]-[0092]),
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the broadcast configuration information indicates a plurality of Multicast Radio Bearers (MRBs) for the same Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service (MBMS) session in a same cell and a Group-Radio Network Temporary Identity (G-RNTI),
wherein the G-RNTI corresponds to the plurality of MRBs for the same MBMS session; and
receive the same MBMS session in the same cell on the plurality of MRBs using the G-RNTI,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
wherein the broadcast configuration information indicates a plurality of Multicast Radio Bearers (MRBs) for the same Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service (MBMS) session in a same cell and a Group-Radio Network Temporary Identity (G-RNTI) (An SCPTMConfiguration message may contain control information applicable for MBMS services transmitted via SC-MRB. A UE that may be receiving an MBMS service via MRB may acquire MCCH information. An IE SC-MTCH-InfoList may provide a list of ongoing MBMS sessions transmitted via SC-MRB and for MBMS session, an associated G-RNTI and scheduling information. A g-RNTI may be used to scramble scheduling and transmission of a SC-MTCH. An IE SCPTM-NeighbourCellList may indicate a list of neighbour cells where ongoing MBMS sessions provided via SC-MRB in current cells may be also provided. A sessionid may indicate an optional MBMS Session Identity, which together with TMGI may identify a transmission or a possible retransmission of a specific MBMS session, Park: [0155], [0198]-[0199])
wherein the G-RNTI corresponds to the plurality of MRBs for the same MBMS session (single cell point to multipoint (SCPTM) Configuration message was received for an MBMS service for which an single cell (SC)-MRB may be established and/or using g-RNTI and/or sc-mtch-Schedulinginfo in this message for this MBMS service, Park: [0194]); and
receive the same MBMS session in the same cell on the plurality of MRBs using the G-RNTI (the current cell and the secondary cell may use the same G-RNTI parameter and/or same MBMS (MBMS, SC-PTM, and/or V2X) resource parameter for the same MBMS (MBMS, SC-PTM, and/or V2X) service. UE may receive same MBMS (MBMS, SC-PTM, and/or V2X) resource parameter that the UE may have received in the current cell, Park: [0203]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Park in order to further modify the broadcast configuration information indicates a plurality of Multicast Radio Bearers (MRBs) for the same Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service (MBMS) session in a same cell and the G-RNTI corresponds to the plurality of MRBs for the same MBMS session and receiving the same MBMS session in the same cell on the plurality of MRBs using the G-RNTI from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may modify MBMS configuration information provided on MCCH as updating the MBMS configuration information carried on BCCH i.e. at a coinciding BCCH and MCCH modification period (Park: [0154]).
Yet, Kim in view of Park does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the UE is configured to:
establish a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs, and
establish a radio link control (RLC) entity for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
wherein the UE is configured to (The UE configures RLC, MAC and the physical layer upon starting to receive an MRB transmitted on MTCH, Wang: [0044]):
establish a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs (UE establishes an SDAP entity and a PDCP entity for this MRB, Wang: [0044]), and
establish a radio link control (RLC) entity for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs (Upon MRB establishment, the UE establishes an RLC entity, Wang: [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim and Park in view of Wang in order to further modify that UE is configured to establish a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity and a radio link control (RLC) entity for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs from the teachings of Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because with the increasingly demand for multicast services for critical communication services such as involving disaster situations and public safety services, the necessity of a reliable multicast data delivery requires improvement of the existing mobile multicast/broadcast services (Wang: [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim-Park-Wang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the RRC broadcast configuration information indicates configuration information for a PDCP entity of an MRB of the plurality of MRBs (MBMS gateway uses a PDCP and IP multicast to transmit user data to the base station and performs session control signaling for the radio access network. The MCCH transmits an MBMS-related RRC message, and the MTCH transmits a traffic of a specific MBMS service, Kim: [0043], [0076]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses:
A base station, comprising (base station (eNB, 220), Kim: Fig. 2, [0042]):
a transmitter configured to (In the DL, a transmitter may be a part of the eNB, Kim: [0036]):
transmit broadcast configuration information (The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for transmitting MBMS control information from the network to a UE. UE may acquire the MBSFN area information list and the MBMS notification configuration information, Kim: [0055], [0091]-[0092]),
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the broadcast configuration information indicates a plurality of Multicast Radio Bearers (MRBs) for the same Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service (MBMS) session and a Group-Radio Network Temporary Identity (G-RNTI),
wherein the G-RNTI corresponds to the plurality of MRBs for the same MEMS session; and
transmit the same MBMS session on the plurality of MRBs using the G-RNTI.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
wherein the broadcast configuration information indicates a plurality of Multicast Radio Bearers (MRBs) for the same Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service (MBMS) session and a Group-Radio Network Temporary Identity (G-RNTI) (A UE that may be receiving an MBMS service via MRB may acquire MCCH information. IE SC-MTCH-InfoList may provide a list of ongoing MBMS sessions transmitted via SC-MRB and for MBMS session, an associated G-RNTI and scheduling information, Park: [0155], [0198]),
wherein the G-RNTI corresponds to the plurality of MRBs for the same MEMS session (single cell point to multipoint (SCPTM) Configuration message was received for an MBMS service for which an single cell (SC)-MRB may be established and/or using g-RNTI and/or sc-mtch-Schedulinginfo in this message for this MBMS service, Park: [0194]); and
transmit the same MBMS session on the plurality of MRBs using the G-RNTI (eNB may transmit a G-RNTI parameter and/or MBMS (MBMS, SC-PTM, and/or V2X) resource parameter associated with an MBMS (MBMS, SC-PTM, and/or V2X) service provided in a cell of the eNB to another eNB, Park: [0202], [0209]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Park in order to further modify the broadcast configuration information that indicates a plurality of Multicast Radio Bearers (MRBs) for the same Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service (MBMS) session and the G-RNTI corresponds to the plurality of MRBs for the same MEMS session and transmitting the same MBMS session on the plurality of MRBs using the G-RNTI from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may modify MBMS configuration information provided on MCCH as updating the MBMS configuration information carried on BCCH i.e. at a coinciding BCCH and MCCH modification period (Park: [0154]).
Yet, Kim in view of Park does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity is established for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs, and a radio link control (RLC) entity is established for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
wherein a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity is established for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs, and a radio link control (RLC) entity is established for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs (UE establishes an SDAP entity and a PDCP entity for this MRB. Upon MRB establishment, the UE establishes an RLC entity, Wang: [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim and Park in view of Wang in order to further modify that a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity is established for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs, and a radio link control (RLC) entity is established for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs from the teachings of Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because with the increasingly demand for multicast services for critical communication services such as involving disaster situations and public safety services, the necessity of a reliable multicast data delivery requires improvement of the existing mobile multicast/broadcast services (Wang: [0003]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses:
A method, comprising (method of determining an MBMS service, Kim: [0001]):
receiving broadcast configuration information on a Multicast Broadcast Service Control Channel (MCCH) (The MCCH is a point-to-multipoint downlink channel used for transmitting MBMS control information from the network to a UE. UE may acquire the MBSFN area information list and the MBMS notification configuration information, Kim: [0055], [0091]-[0092]),
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the broadcast configuration information indicates a plurality of Multicast Radio Bearers (MRBs) for the same Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service (MBMS) session and a Group-Radio Network Temporary Identity (G-RNTI),
wherein the G-RNTI corresponds to the plurality of MRBs for the same MEMS session; and
receive the same MBMS session on the plurality of MRBs using the G-RNTI,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
wherein the broadcast configuration information indicates a plurality of Multicast Radio Bearers (MRBs) for the same Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service (MBMS) session and a Group-Radio Network Temporary Identity (G-RNTI) (A UE that may be receiving an MBMS service via MRB may acquire MCCH information. IE SC-MTCH-InfoList may provide a list of ongoing MBMS sessions transmitted via SC-MRB and for MBMS session, an associated G-RNTI and scheduling information, Park: [0155], [0198]),
wherein the G-RNTI corresponds to the plurality of MRBs for the same MEMS session (single cell point to multipoint (SCPTM) Configuration message was received for an MBMS service for which an single cell (SC)-MRB may be established and/or using g-RNTI and/or sc-mtch-Schedulinginfo in this message for this MBMS service, Park: [0194]); and
receive the same MBMS session on the plurality of MRBs using the G-RNTI (UE may receive the MBMS (MBMS, SC-PTM, and/or V2X) service in the target cell and/or the secondary cell with the same G-RNTI parameter and/or same MBMS (MBMS, SC-PTM, and/or V2X) resource parameter that the UE may have received in the current cell, Park: [0203]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Park in order to further modify the broadcast configuration information that indicates a plurality of Multicast Radio Bearers (MRBs) for the same Multimedia Broadcast Multicast Service (MBMS) session and a Group-Radio Network Temporary Identity and the G-RNTI corresponds to the plurality of MRBs for the same MEMS session and receiving the same MBMS session on the plurality of MRBs using the G-RNTI from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may modify MBMS configuration information provided on MCCH as updating the MBMS configuration information carried on BCCH i.e. at a coinciding BCCH and MCCH modification period (Park: [0154]).
Yet, Kim in view of Park does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity is established for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs, and a radio link control (RLC) entity is established for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
wherein a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity is established for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs, and a radio link control (RLC) entity is established for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs (UE establishes an SDAP entity and a PDCP entity for this MRB. Upon MRB establishment, the UE establishes an RLC entity, Wang: [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim and Park in view of Wang in order to further modify that a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) entity is established for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs, and a radio link control (RLC) entity is established for each MRB of the plurality of MRBs from the teachings of Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because with the increasingly demand for multicast services for critical communication services such as involving disaster situations and public safety services, the necessity of a reliable multicast data delivery requires improvement of the existing mobile multicast/broadcast services (Wang: [0003]).
Claims 2-3, 5, 7, and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Park
and Wang in view of KIM (US 2019/0387535 Al, hereinafter “Kim_2019”).
Regarding claim 2, Kim-Park-Wang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim further discloses:
The UE according to claim 1, wherein the UE is in an idle state and for any higher-layer packet transmitted through the plurality of MRBs (In RRC_IDLE state, the UE may receive broadcasts of system information. transmits an MBMS interest indication message to the base station through an MBMS point to multipoint radio bearer (MRB). Kim: [0066]),
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
sequence numbers of the higher-layer packet in the plurality of MRBs are the same.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim_2019 teaches:
sequence numbers of the higher-layer packet in the plurality of MRBs are the same (data transmission by the secondary RLC entity may be detected as duplication in the PDCP entity of a receiver (a terminal or a base station) because the receiver has already received the data of PDCP sequence number 2, thereby discarding the duplicate data, Kim_2019: [0177], [0182]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Park-Wang in view of Kim_2019 in order to further modify sequence numbers of the higher-layer packet in the plurality of MRBs that are the same from the teachings of Kim_2019.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the base station is able to improve a data rate, and is able to transmit control information with a low transmission delay and high reliability to the terminal by applying packet duplication transmission (Kim_2019: [0013]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim-Park-Wang-Kim_2019 teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a PDCP6l05 is a receiving Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity, the PDCP6105 not using a function of encryption and integrity protection.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim_2019 teaches:
wherein a PDCP6l05 is a receiving Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity, the PDCP6105 not using a function of encryption and integrity protection (PDCP entity may generate a PDCP header, may perform integrity protection in consideration of the same, may perform ciphering on the PDCP SDU, Kim_2019: [0155]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Park-Wang in view of Kim_2019 in order to further modify PDCP6l05 as a receiving Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity and the PDCP6105 as not using a function of encryption and integrity protection from the teachings of Kim_2019.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the base station is able to improve a data rate, and is able to transmit control information with a low transmission delay and high reliability to the terminal by applying packet duplication transmission (Kim_2019: [0013]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim-Park-Wang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the RRC broadcast configuration information includes a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity configuration and a logical channel configuration for the plurality of MRBs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim_2019 teaches:
wherein the RRC broadcast configuration information includes a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity configuration and a logical channel configuration for the plurality of MRBs (RRC-connection-setup message may contain configuration information for each logical channel, configuration information for each bearer, configuration information of a PDCP entity, configuration information of an RLC entity, or configuration information of a MAC entity, Kim_2019: [0140]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Park-Wang in view of Kim_2019 in order to further modify that the broadcast configuration information includes a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity configuration and a logical channel configuration for the plurality of MRBs from the teachings of Kim_2019.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the base station is able to improve a data rate, and is able to transmit control information with a low transmission delay and high reliability to the terminal by applying packet duplication transmission (Kim_2019: [0013]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim-Park-Wang-Kim_2019 teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the PDCP6105 also provides header compression used for an upper-layer packet to reduce radio transmission overhead (PDCP layer provides a function of header compression function that reduces unnecessary control information, Kim: [0059], [0063]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim-Park-Wang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 9 above.
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a sequence number of the higher-layer packet is indicated by a Sequence Number (SN) field comprised in the higher-layer packet;
the higher-layer packet refers to a L2 packet; and the L2 packet is an RLC Protocol Data Unit (PDU).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim_2019 teaches:
wherein a sequence number of the higher-layer packet is indicated by a Sequence Number (SN) field comprised in the higher-layer packet (reordering function of the NR PDCP entity refers to a function of reordering PDCP PDU s received in a lower layer based on a PDCP sequence number (SN), Kim_2019: [0110]);
the higher-layer packet refers to a L2 packet; and the L2 packet is an RLC Protocol Data Unit (PDU) (MAC is connected to a plurality of RLC entities configured in a single terminal, multiplexes RLC PDUs into MAC PDUs, and demultiplexes RLC PDUs from MAC PDUs, Kim_2019: [0075]]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Park-Wang in view of Kim_2019 in order to further modify a sequence number of the higher-layer packet indicated by a Sequence Number (SN) field comprised in the higher-layer packet and the higher-layer packet refers to a L2 packet and the L2 packet as an RLC Protocol Data Unit (PDU) from the teachings of Kim_2019.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the base station is able to improve a data rate, and is able to transmit control information with a low transmission delay and high reliability to the terminal by applying packet duplication transmission (Kim_2019: [0013]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim-Park-Wang-Kim_2019 teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the PDCP6 l 05 is a PDCP entity of an MRB of the plurality of MRBs (MBMS gateway 270 uses a PDCP and IP multicast to transmit user data to the base station 220 and performs session control signaling for the radio access network 200, Kim: [0043]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim-Park-Wang-Kim_2019 teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein the PDCP6105 also provides header compression used for an upper-layer packet to reduce radio transmission overhead (PDCP layer provides a function of header compression function that reduces unnecessary control information, Kim: [0059], [0063]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim-Park-Wang-Kim_2019 teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein: the receiver is configured to receive logical channel configuration information for a first MRB of the plurality of MRBs (RRC layer controls logical channels, transport channels, and physical channels in relation to the configuration, reconfiguration, and release of RBs. An RB is a logical path provided by the L1 and L2 for data delivery between the UE and the network, Kim: [0060]),
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
and wherein for any higher-layer packet transmitted through two MRBs sequence numbers of the higher-layer packet in the MRBs are the same.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim_2019 teaches:
and wherein for any higher-layer packet transmitted through two MRBs sequence numbers of the higher-layer packet in the MRBs are the same (PDCP entity may transmit one packet to the primary RLC entity, and may duplicate the packet to thus transmit the same packet to the secondary RLC entity. data transmission by the secondary RLC entity may be detected as duplication in the PDCP entity of a receiver (a terminal or a base station) because the receiver has already received the data of PDCP sequence number 2, thereby discarding the duplicate data, Kim_2019: [0163], [0177]-[0178]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Park-Wang in view of Kim_2019 in order to further modify that any higher-layer packet transmitted through two MRBs sequence numbers of the higher-layer packet in the MRBs are the same from the teachings of Kim_2019.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the base station is able to improve a data rate, and is able to transmit control information with a low transmission delay and high reliability to the terminal by applying packet duplication transmission (Kim_2019: [0013]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim-Park-Wang-Kim_2019 teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Kim further discloses:
wherein: the receiver is configured to receive one or multiple fields in a System Information Block (SIB) (UE may receive the MBMS after receiving system information on the cell. The system information carries one or more system information blocks. System information on a cell is broadcast including configuration information on the MBSSFN subframe, Kim: [0004], [0051], [0086]);
Regarding claim 15, Kim-Park-Wang-Kim_2019 teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein: transmitting PDCP does not use the function of PDCP duplication.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim_2019 teaches:
transmitting PDCP does not use the function of PDCP duplication (If the packet duplication transmission is deactivated, the PDCP entity transmits a packet only to the primary RLC entity 705, and does not transmit a packet to the secondary RLC entity in the uplink transmission. The configuration of the activation and deactivation state of the packet duplication transmission may be determined by a MAC control element (MAC CE), Kim_2019: [0162], [0166]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Park-Wang in view of Kim_2019 in order to further modify that transmitting PDCP does not use the function of PDCP duplication from the teachings of Kim_2019.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the base station is able to improve a data rate, and is able to transmit control information with a low transmission delay and high reliability to the terminal by applying packet duplication transmission (Kim_2019: [0013]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim-Park-Wang-Kim_2019 teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein: transmitting PDCP does not use the function of PDCP duplication.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim_2019 teaches:
transmitting PDCP does not use the function of PDCP duplication (If the packet duplication transmission is deactivated, the PDCP entity transmits a packet only to the primary RLC entity 705, and does not transmit a packet to the secondary RLC entity in the uplink transmission. The configuration of the activation and deactivation state of the packet duplication transmission may be determined by a MAC control element (MAC CE), Kim_2019: [0162], [0166]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Park-Wang in view of Kim_2019 in order to further modify that transmitting PDCP does not use the function of PDCP duplication from the teachings of Kim_2019.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the base station is able to improve a data rate, and is able to transmit control information with a low transmission delay and high reliability to the terminal by applying packet duplication transmission (Kim_2019: [0013]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim-Park-Wang-Kim_2019 teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 12 above.
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein: transmitting PDCP does not use the function of PDCP duplication.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim_2019 teaches:
transmitting PDCP does not use the function of PDCP duplication (If the packet duplication transmission is deactivated, the PDCP entity transmits a packet only to the primary RLC entity 705, and does not transmit a packet to the secondary RLC entity in the uplink transmission. The configuration of the activation and deactivation state of the packet duplication transmission may be determined by a MAC control element (MAC CE), Kim_2019: [0162], [0166]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Park-Wang in view of Kim_2019 in order to further modify that transmitting PDCP does not use the function of PDCP duplication from the teachings of Kim_2019.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the base station is able to improve a data rate, and is able to transmit control information with a low transmission delay and high reliability to the terminal by applying packet duplication transmission (Kim_2019: [0013]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim-Park-Wang-Kim_2019 teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
The UE according to claim 3, wherein: transmitting PDCP does not use the function of PDCP duplication.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim_2019 teaches:
transmitting PDCP does not use the function of PDCP duplication (If the packet duplication transmission is deactivated, the PDCP entity transmits a packet only to the primary RLC entity 705, and does not transmit a packet to the secondary RLC entity in the uplink transmission. The configuration of the activation and deactivation state of the packet duplication transmission may be determined by a MAC control element (MAC CE), Kim_2019: [0162], [0166]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Park-Wang in view of Kim_2019 in order to further modify that transmitting PDCP does not use the function of PDCP duplication from the teachings of Kim_2019.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the base station is able to improve a data rate, and is able to transmit control information with a low transmission delay and high reliability to the terminal by applying packet duplication transmission (Kim_2019: [0013]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim-Park-Wang in view of YI et
al. (US 2019/0289489 Al, hereinafter “Yi”).
Regarding claim 4, Kim-Park-Wang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein a non-unicast index of any of the plurality of MRBs is the (G-RNTI), where the non-unicast index comprises 16 bits.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yi teaches:
wherein a non-unicast index of any of the plurality of MRBs is the (G-RNTI), where the non-unicast index comprises 16 bits ("G-RNTI" refers to a group RNTI, a certain PDCCH is CRC-masked with a radio network temporary identity (RNTI) and one or more UEs located in a cell monitor the PDCCH using its RNTI information. And, a specific UE with RNTI. PDCP PDU is a bit string that is byte aligned (i.e. multiple of 8 bits) in length, Yi: [0064], [0087], [0125]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Park-Wang in view of Yi in order to further modify non-unicast index of any of the K sub-bearers as G-RNTI from the teachings of Yi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because overall throughput of a radio communication system can be improved (Yi: [0027]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
be directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM ET.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467