DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Responses to Amendments and Arguments
The amendments filed 1/2/2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 3, 15 and 18 are amended, and Claims 2 and 17 are canceled. Claims 1, 3-11, 13-16, and 18-20 remain pending in the application.
Applicant's argument and amendments filed 1/2/2026 with respect to
the rejection of claims 1, 4-11 and 13-16 directed to a judicial exception under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, the rejections of claims 1, 4-11 and 13-16 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 1/2/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-6, 9-11 and 13-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
On pages 9-13 of the Remarks, Applicant alleges that Witte, Markham, and Douglass each fail to disclose or render obvious, inter alia, "wherein as the target is rotated about the circumferential direction, a field of view of the pyrometer alternately engages and does not engage the target elements, the target pulse widths being generated by the pyrometer when the field of view of the pyrometer engages one of the target elements and the null widths being generated by the pyrometer when the field of view of the pyrometer does not engage one of the target elements [emphasis added]," as recited in amended independent claim 1. Applicant alleges that “Witte fails to teach or suggest the turbine disk 32 having blades 36 arranged so that a field of view of the optical sensor 30 alternately engages and does not engage the plurality of blades 36”, “Witte fails to teach or suggest Applicant's particularly claimed orienting a pyrometer relative to a target having target elements wherein the orienting of the pyrometer causes a field of view of the pyrometer alternately engages and does not engage the target elements as the target is rotated”, “Markham also fails to teach "as the target is rotated about the circumferential direction, a field of view of the pyrometer alternately engages and does not engage the target elements, the target pulse widths being generated by the pyrometer when the field of view of the pyrometer engages one of the target elements and the null widths being generated by the pyrometer when the field of view of the pyrometer does not engage one of the target elements [ emphasis added] ," as recited in amended independent claim 1”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
At least Figs. 2B and 4 of Markham teaches the arrangement of the turbine disk 11 having blades 16 and the probe 13. Note that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation of “a field of view of the pyrometer alternately engages and does not engage the target elements, the target pulse widths being generated by the pyrometer when the field of view of the pyrometer engages one of the target elements and the null widths being generated by the pyrometer when the field of view of the pyrometer does not engage one of the target elements” is taught by Markham at least at Figs. 2B and 4, where a field of view of the pyrometer changed along the trace region 20 of the blade which causes to engage or not to engage turbine blades as it rotates, and thereby outputs a pulse train of signals having alternating target pulse widths and null widths (see annotated Fig. 4 of Markham shown below in the detailed action).
On page 13 of the Remarks, Applicant alleges that “… the field of view is constantly engaged with at least one aerofoil 3, 5 and 7 during rotation of the aerofoils in the direction 21. … Douglas also fails to teach or suggest Applicant's particularly claimed orienting a pyrometer relative to a target having target elements wherein the orienting of the pyrometer causes a field of view of the pyrometer alternately engages and does not engage the target elements as the target is rotated.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
At least Figs. 1 and 2, Col. 3 lines 10-14, and Col. 2 lines 9-31 in Douglas teach the pyrometer to be oriented and arranged along the circumferential direction extended over the turbine blades so that a field of view of the installed optical system is filled by surfaces of the blades as the rotor rotates (Col. 2 lines 9-31, “the line of sight of the installed optical system being oriented such that the field of view is filled by surfaces of the blades, whereby during operation of the turbine/pyrometer combination at said engine operating conditions”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-11, 13-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witte (US 5067355 A, hereinafter referred to as “Witte”) in view of Markham (US 6364524, hereinafter referred to as “Markham”), and further in view of Douglas (US 4582426 A, hereinafter referred to as “Douglas”).
Regarding Claim 1, Witte teaches a method, comprising:
orienting a pyrometer relative to a target having target elements, the target elements being arranged so that a greatest length of at least one target element extends along a circumferential direction defined by the target and the target elements are spaced from one another (At least Col. 2, line 57 – Col. 3, line 15 teaches an arrangement of the pyrometer along the turbine blades circumferentially and uniformly spaced the turbine shaft; “The engine 10 also typically includes a pyrometer 30 mounted adjacent at least one of the multi-blade turbine disks 32 in the turbine stage 20. The pyrometer is typically an optical pyrometer which provides an amplitude modulated signal indicative of the temperature of each of the turbine blades of the at least one of the disks 32 as each blade passes by the pyrometer. …. The turbine blades are also circumferentially and uniformly spaced about the turbine shaft”);
generating, by the pyrometer as the target is rotated about the circumferential direction, an output signal having alternating target pulse widths and null widths (Col.1 lines 57-61, “signal conditioning apparatus processes the signal from the pyrometer to develop a pulse train of shaped signals corresponding to the angular position of each turbine blade as it passes by the pyrometer”; Col.1 lines 57-61, “provides an amplitude modulated signal indicative of the temperature of each of the turbine blades”);
determining an operating characteristic of the target (“utilized to determine the angular position of points on the engine shaft”) based at least in part on one or more amplitudes of the target pulse widths and one or more amplitudes of the null widths of the output signal (Col. 2 line 59 – Col. 3 line 10, “The pyrometer is typically an optical pyrometer which provides an amplitude modulated signal indicative of the temperature of each of the turbine blades of the at least one of the disks 32 as each blade passes by the pyrometer. The optical pyrometer output signal is amplitude modulated since it varies with peaks coinciding with the close proximity of each of the turbine blades to the pyrometer, i.e., the output signal has its highest value when the blades are at their closest point to the pyrometer and its lowest value at about a mid-blade position as the blades rotate pass the pyrometer … By use of pulse shaping techniques, Applicants can derive from the speed sensor signal and the pyrometer signal, first and second sets of pulse trains which can be utilized to determine the angular position of points on the engine shaft”; Abstract, “the system determines the relative phase difference between the signals developed by the speed sensor and the signals developed on the pyrometer under low load conditions and stores this information as a reference phase difference value. Phase differences under load conditions are thereafter compared to the reference value. The differences in phase are proportional to shaft twist and accordingly to shaft torque”); and
performing a control action to adjust an operation of a system associated with the target based at least in part on the operating characteristic of the target (Col. 1 lines 46-51, “The pyrometer is provided also as part of the control system to monitor gas turbine temperatures. In the practice of the present invention, a signal from the speed sensor derived from a toothed wheel passing adjacent the sensor is processed to obtain a train of pulse signals representative of angular rotation of the engine shaft”; Col. 2 lines 51-56, “The speed sensor 26 provides output signals indicative of the rotational speed of the shaft 24. The speed signal is generally utilized by the engine control system (not shown) for preventing overspeed conditions and for controlling fuel flow to the engine in a manner”. Note that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “a control action to adjust an operation of a system” is indicative of a control action for, for example, controlling fuel flow to the engine as paragraph 0059 of the instant application describes. (see paragraph 0059, “the engine controller 604 can control the one or more control devices 606 to reduce the fuel flow to the combustor of the gas turbine engine”)).
Witte fails to explicitly disclose output signal having alternating target pulse widths and null widths. However, Markham teaches output signal having alternating target pulse widths and null widths (Fig. 4; Col. 5, lines 7-15, “an arrangement for monitoring the leading edge and the positive pressure side of each blade 16 mounted on the rotor 22, as it rotates in the direction indicated. Included in the Figure is a temperature trace produced by the instrument of the invention, as developed using the data acquisition and processing component 24. The Figure also shows diagrammatically features of the probe and pyrometer system of the invention).
Annotated Fig. 4 of Markham
Witte and Markham are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of a signal conditioning apparatus processing the signal from the pyrometer to develop a pulse train of shaped signals, and temperature sensors and pyrometer systems applied to combustor section hardware of turbine engines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Witte to incorporate the teachings of Markham by providing the output signal having alternating target pulse widths and null widths, taught by Markham at least at Fig. 4 and Col. 5, lines 7-15.
Witte fails to explicitly teaches where a field of view of the pyrometer alternately engages and does not engage the target elements, the target pulse widths being generated by the pyrometer when the field of view of the pyrometer engages one of the target elements and the null widths being generated by the pyrometer when the field of view of the pyrometer does not engage one of the target elements. However, Markham teaches where a field of view of the pyrometer alternately engages and does not engage the target elements (Fig. 2B and 3A; Col. 4 line 46 - Col. 5 line 7, “FIGS. 2A and 2B illustrate the view of the rotor blades 16 that is afforded to the probe sensing elements. The off-normal view (i.e., taken along line X, which is typically displaced 23.degree. to 30.degree. from normal) allows the probe 13, focussed through lens 18, to "scan" each sequential blade along a trace region 20 as it rotates (in the direction indicated by the arrow in FIG. 2B) through the field of view. One side and the top of each blade go through the pyrometer's field of view. Depending upon the directional view angle, it will be appreciated that temperature measurements can be obtained from either the positive or negative pressure surfaces of the blades. Surface temperature profiles, following blade internal cooling passages, can thereby be developed. The arrangement also permits temperature measurements to be made from the top or tip of each blade as well, as is important to enable monitoring for blade rub on the outer air seal … FIG. 3A shows the view of one of the rotor blades 16 that is afforded to the sensing elements of a probe generally designated by the numeral 50. The probe 50 is mounted in the outer blade seal structure of the engine, generally designated by the numeral 52, for axial and rotatable movement”),
the target pulse widths being generated by the pyrometer when the field of view of the pyrometer engages one of the target elements and the null widths being generated by the pyrometer when the field of view of the pyrometer does not engage one of the target elements (Fig. 4; Fig. 2B and 3A; Col. 4 line 46 - Col. 5 line 7).
Note that at least Figs. 2B and 4 of Markham teaches the arrangement of the turbine disk 11 having blades 16 and the probe 13, as set forth above. Note that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Markham teaches a field of view of the pyrometer changed along the trace region 20 of the blade which causes to engage or not to engage turbine blades as it rotates, and thereby outputs a pulse train of signals having alternating target pulse widths and null widths (see annotated Fig. 4 of Markham shown below in the detailed action). Therefore, itt would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Witte to incorporate the teachings of Markham by providing the pulses and nulls which are generated by the pyrometer system, depending on their engagement or not engagement in the field of view of the probe of the pyrometer system as the rotor blades rotates, taught by Markham at least at Fig. 4 and Figs. 2B and 3A, and Col. 4 line 46 - Col. 5 line 7.
With respect to the limitation of “orienting a pyrometer relative to a target having target elements arranged so that a greatest length of at least one target element extends along a circumferential direction defined by the target and spaced from one another”, Witte in view of Markham fails to explicitly disclose the pyrometer’s orientation arranged and extended along the circumferential direction over the turbine blades (i.e., target elements). However, Douglas teaches orienting a pyrometer relative to a target having target elements arranged so that a greatest length of at least one target element extends along a circumferential direction (Figs. 1, 2, Col. 3 lines 10-14; Col. 2 lines 9-31, “an optical radiation pyrometer …. viewing turbine rotor blades … a field of view which is large and substantially rectangular at the face of the turbine rotor and whose edges extend substantially circumferentially and radially of the turbine rotor so as to embrace respectively an integer number of inter-blade passage widths, and sufficient of the span of the blades to ensure that the hottest parts thereof are within said field of view at a plurality of preselected operating conditions of the engine, the line of sight of the installed optical system being oriented such that the field of view is filled by surfaces of the blades, whereby during operation of the turbine/pyrometer combination at said engine operating conditions”).
Annotated Figs. 1 and 2 of Douglas
Douglas is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of an optical radiation pyrometer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Witte in view of Markham to incorporate the teachings of Douglas by providing the pyrometer to be oriented and arranged along the circumferential direction extended over the turbine blades, taught by Douglas at least at Figs. 1, 2, Col. 3 lines 10-14; Col. 2 lines 9-31.
Regarding Claim 3, Witte fails to explicitly teaches, but Markham teaches wherein the pyrometer is oriented relative to the target such that the field of view of the pyrometer is at least within fifty-five degrees (550) perpendicular to a surface of interest of a given one of the target elements and so that the field of view of the pyrometer intermittently does not engage any of the target elements as the target is rotated about the circumferential direction (Fig. 2B and 3A; Col. 4 line 46 - Col. 5 line 7, “FIGS. 2A and 2B illustrate the view of the rotor blades 16 that is afforded to the probe sensing elements. The off-normal view (i.e., taken along line X, which is typically displaced 23.degree. to 30.degree. from normal) allows the probe 13, focused through lens 18, to "scan" each sequential blade along a trace region 20 as it rotates (in the direction indicated by the arrow in FIG. 2B) through the field of view. One side and the top of each blade go through the pyrometer's field of view. Depending upon the directional view angle, it will be appreciated that temperature measurements can be obtained from either the positive or negative pressure surfaces of the blades. Surface temperature profiles, following blade internal cooling passages, can thereby be developed. The arrangement also permits temperature measurements to be made from the top or tip of each blade as well, as is important to enable monitoring for blade rub on the outer air seal … FIG. 3A shows the view of one of the rotor blades 16 that is afforded to the sensing elements of a probe generally designated by the numeral 50. The probe 50 is mounted in the outer blade seal structure of the engine, generally designated by the numeral 52, for axial and rotatable movement”).
Markham does not explicitly teach wherein the field of view of the pyrometer is at least within fifty-five degrees (550). It has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Witte to incorporate the teachings of Markham’s off-normal view to be in the claimed range in order to optimize generating the output signal having alternating target pulse widths and null widths, as per a user’s interest and routine experimentation.
Regarding Claim 4, Witte teaches wherein the operating characteristic of the target is a temperature of the target, and wherein determining the temperature of the target based at least in part on the one or more amplitudes of the target pulse widths and the one or more amplitudes of the null widths of the output signal comprises:
determining a difference between an amplitude of a first null width of the null widths and an amplitude of a first target pulse width of the target pulse widths that is adjacent the first null width, the difference indicating the temperature of the target (Abstract, “The system determines the relative phase difference between the signals developed by the speed sensor and the signals developed on the pyrometer under low load conditions and stores this information as a reference phase difference value. Phase differences under load conditions are thereafter compared to the reference value. The differences in phase are proportional to shaft twist and accordingly to shaft torque”).
Regarding Claim 5, Witte teaches wherein the amplitude of the first target pulse width is taken as at least one of an average amplitude of the first target pulse width, a maximum amplitude of the first target pulse width, a minimum amplitude of the first target pulse width, or a median amplitude of the first target pulse width (Col. 1, lines 55-61, “The signal developed by the pyrometer is therefore a signal having peaks corresponding to passage of each blade at the pyrometer. A signal conditioning apparatus processes the signal from the pyrometer to develop a pulse train of shaped signals corresponding to the angular position of each turbine blade as it passes by the pyrometer”; Col. 2 line 59 – Col. 3 line 10 “The optical pyrometer output signal is amplitude modulated since it varies with peaks coinciding with the close proximity of each of the turbine blades to the pyrometer, i.e., the output signal has its highest value when the blades are at their closest point to the pyrometer and its lowest value at about a mid-blade position as the blades rotate pass the pyrometer”).
Note that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the pyrometer of Witte generates a pulse train of shaped signals (i.e., various variable shaped signals which teach average, minimum and maximum, median amplitudes of the target pulse width.
Regarding Claim 6, Witte teaches wherein the operating characteristic of the target is a temperature of the target, and wherein determining the temperature of the target based at least in part on the one or more amplitudes of the target pulse widths and the one or more amplitudes of the null widths of the output signal comprises:
determining a first difference between an amplitude of a first null width of the null widths and a first amplitude of a first target pulse width of the target pulse widths that is adjacent the first null width, the first difference indicating the temperature of a trailing edge of a first target element of the target (Abstract, “The system determines the relative phase difference between the signals developed by the speed sensor and the signals developed on the pyrometer under low load conditions and stores this information as a reference phase difference value. Phase differences under load conditions are thereafter compared to the reference value. The differences in phase are proportional to shaft twist and accordingly to shaft torque”); and
determining a second difference between the amplitude of the first null width and a second amplitude of the first target pulse width, the second difference indicating the temperature of a leading edge of the first target element of the target (Col. 3, line 60 – Col. 4 line 19, “A first pulse train representative of signals from the speed sensor 26 and a second pulse train representative of signals from the optical pyrometer 30 are coupled to a phase comparison block 40 in which the difference in phase between individual pulses of each pulse train is determined. … Once the difference in phase between the first and second pulse trains has been determined at a low load condition, this value may be stored in a memory circuit 44 for use in comparison with other phase differences at other load conditions. When the engine is brought up to a preselected load condition, the phase difference between the first and second pulse trains is also determined by the phase comparison circuit 40 and compared with the phase difference determined under the low load conditions as stored in memory circuit 44. The shaft torque characteristic block 46 provides the phase difference determination from the comparison of the phase difference at the two different load conditions”).
Regarding Claim 9, Witte teaches further comprising: implementing a target pulse width hold function to hold an amplitude of one of the target pulse widths; and implementing a null width hold function to hold an amplitude of one of the null widths, and wherein the operating characteristic of the target is determined based at least in part on the amplitude of the one target pulse width held by the target pulse width hold function and the amplitude of the one null width held by the null width hold function (Col. 2 line 59 – Col. 3 line 10, “The pyrometer is typically an optical pyrometer which provides an amplitude modulated signal indicative of the temperature of each of the turbine blades of the at least one of the disks 32 as each blade passes by the pyrometer. The optical pyrometer output signal is amplitude modulated since it varies with peaks coinciding with the close proximity of each of the turbine blades to the pyrometer, i.e., the output signal has its highest value when the blades are at their closest point to the pyrometer and its lowest value at about a mid-blade position as the blades rotate pass the pyrometer … By use of pulse shaping techniques, Applicants can derive from the speed sensor signal and the pyrometer signal, first and second sets of pulse trains which can be utilized to determine the angular position of points on the engine shaft”; Abstract, “the system determines the relative phase difference between the signals developed by the speed sensor and the signals developed on the pyrometer under low load conditions and stores this information as a reference phase difference value. Phase differences under load conditions are thereafter compared to the reference value. The differences in phase are proportional to shaft twist and accordingly to shaft torque”).
Regarding Claim 10, Witte teaches wherein the target is an array of a gas turbine engine and the target elements are airfoils of the array (Fig. 1; Col. 1 lines 52-61 “The pyrometer is mounted adjacent at least one of the turbine disks of the engine for detecting instantaneous temperature of each blade of the turbine disk as it passes by the pyrometer”).
Regarding Claim 11, Witte fails to explicitly teaches, but Markham teaches wherein the target elements are arranged so that, for each adjacent pair of the target elements, a leading edge of a first target element of the adjacent pair overlaps with a trailing edge of a second target element of the adjacent pair along a circumferential direction defined by the target (Fig. 4; Col. 3 lines 8-18, “a gas turbine engine comprised of a housing or case defining a combustion chamber, and having at least one rotor with a multiplicity of blades thereon, driven by combustion gases. The monitored surface will comprise the surface of an internal part of the engine, most advantageously surfaces on the rotor blades, and the system will optimally be constructed to enable determinations to be made of the surface temperature of each of the blades of an engine rotor as they move through the field of view of the pyrometer probe optics”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Witte to incorporate the teachings of Markham by providing rotor’s blades each pair of which is configured to overlap between the blades, taught by Markham at least at Fig. 4 and Col. 3 lines 8-18.
Regarding Claim 12, Witte fails to explicitly teaches, but Markham teaches wherein the target elements are arranged so that a greatest length of each target element extends along a circumferential direction defined by the target, the target being rotatable about the circumferential direction (Figs. 1 and 4; Col. 3 lines 8-18; Col. 5 lines 8-10, “FIG. 4 shows an arrangement for monitoring the leading edge and the positive pressure side of each blade 16 mounted on the rotor 22, as it rotates in the direction indicated”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Witte to incorporate the teachings of Markham by providing configuration of each blade where each blade extends along a circumferential direction of the turbine blade assembly, taught by Markham at least at Figs. 1 and 4, Col. 3 lines 8-18 and Col. 5 lines 8-10.
Regarding Claim 13, Witte teaches wherein performing the control action based at least in part on the operating characteristic of the target comprises controlling the target or a system associated with the target based at least in part on the operating characteristic of the target (Col. 1 lines 46-51, “The pyrometer is provided also as part of the control system to monitor gas turbine temperatures. In the practice of the present invention, a signal from the speed sensor derived from a toothed wheel passing adjacent the sensor is processed to obtain a train of pulse signals representative of angular rotation of the engine shaft”; Col. 2 lines 51-56, “The speed sensor 26 provides output signals indicative of the rotational speed of the shaft 24. The speed signal is generally utilized by the engine control system (not shown) for preventing overspeed conditions and for controlling fuel flow to the engine in a manner”).
Regarding Claim 14, Witte teaches wherein performing the control action based at least in part on the operating characteristic of the target comprises: storing the operating characteristic of the target in one or more memory devices (Fig. 2, 44; Col. 4 lines 8-11, “this value may be stored in a memory circuit 44 for use in comparison with other phase differences at other load conditions”); and performing a remaining useful life analysis and/or prognostic health management of the target and/or system associated with the target (Col. 1 lines 46-51, “The pyrometer is provided also as part of the control system to monitor gas turbine temperatures. In the practice of the present invention, a signal from the speed sensor derived from a toothed wheel passing adjacent the sensor is processed to obtain a train of pulse signals representative of angular rotation of the engine shaft”; Col. 2 lines 51-56, “The speed sensor 26 provides output signals indicative of the rotational speed of the shaft 24. The speed signal is generally utilized by the engine control system (not shown) for preventing overspeed conditions and for controlling fuel flow to the engine in a manner”).
Note that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Witte teaches the control and management of the engine control system in a manner of preventing overspeed conditions and for controlling fuel flow to the engine.
Regarding Claim 15, it is a non-transitory readable medium claim having similar limitations as of claim 1 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claim 1 above. The additional element of “one or more processors” is taught by Witte at least at Col. 2 lines 51-56, “The speed signal is generally utilized by the engine control system (not shown) for preventing overspeed conditions and for controlling fuel flow to the engine in a manner”).
Regarding Claim 16, Witte fails to explicitly teaches, but Markham teaches wherein the target has a plurality of baseline elements that alternate with the target elements, the baseline elements having a lower emissivity than the target elements (Figs. 1 and 4; Col. 3 lines 8-18; Col. 5 lines 8-10, “FIG. 4 shows an arrangement for monitoring the leading edge and the positive pressure side of each blade 16 mounted on the rotor 22, as it rotates in the direction indicated”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Witte to incorporate the teachings of Markham by providing configuration of blades 16 where the blades are mounted on the rotor 22 (i.e., baseline elements) which are disposed at a lower place than the blades, taught by Markham at least at Figs. 1 and 4, Col. 3 lines 8-18 and Col. 5 lines 8-10.
Regarding Claim 18, it is a device type claim having similar limitations as of claim 15 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claim 15 above.
Regarding Claim 19, it is dependent on claim 18 and has similar limitations as of a part of claims 1 and 14 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claims 1 and 14 above.
Regarding Claim 20, it is dependent on claim 19 and has similar limitations as of a part of claim 14 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claim 14 above.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 20130118183 A1) teaches sensor systems used with turbomachine, where the pyrometer generates signals at least partially representative of radiation received from the component and from soot particles, the system includes at least one processing unit coupled to the pyrometer, the processing unit is programmed to receive the signals and distinguish portions of radiation received between at least two wavelength bands, the processing unit is also programmed to determine that a first portion of radiation within a first of the wavelength bands is representative of a temperature of soot particles and that a second portion of radiation within a second of the wavelength bands is representative of a temperature of the component, and the processing unit is further programmed to filter out signals representative of the first portion of the radiation.
Conclusion
/BYUNG RO LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858