This Office Action is in response to remarks filed on 11/28/2025.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7-9, 13 & 15 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copies have been filed in parent Application No. 10-2020-0045164, filed on 4/14/2020 and Application No. 10-2021-0048807, filed on 4/14/2021.
Response to Amendment
Claims 2, 5, 6, 10-12 & 14 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 7 & 13 have been amended.
Previous rejections to claims 1, 3, 4, 7-9, 13 & 15 under 35 USC 103 have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1, 7 & 13. However, new grounds of rejections of claims 1, 3, 4, 7-9, 13 & 15 under 35 USC 103 based on new references cited in this office action have been introduced based on amendments to claims 1, 7 & 13.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 11/28/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3, 4, 7-9, 13 & 15 under 35 USC 103 based on Watson et al. (US 10219062)(herein after “Watson”) and in view of other references cited in the Non-Final Rejection dated 9/4/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejections have been made under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Chandramohan et al. (US 9769558)(herein after “Chandramohan”) and in view of other references cited in this office action.
Regarding claims 1 & 13, applicant’s arguments with respect to these claims have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejections do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejections presented in this office action. Hence, new grounds of rejections are further made under 35 USC 103 based on Chandramohan and in view of other references cited in this office action.
Regarding claims 3, 4, 7-9 & 15, applicant submits that these claims are patentable based on amendments and arguments made for claims 1 & 13 and due to their dependency on claims 1 or 13. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above introduces new grounds of rejections for these claims under 35 USC 103 based on Chandramohan and in view of other references cited in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandramohan et al. (US 9769558)(herein after “Chandramohan”) in view of Ghosh et al. (US 2015/0223157)(herein after “Ghosh”) and further in view of AD2020 et al. (Analog Devices, “Efficient Earbud Charging is All About Keeping a Cool Head”, Feb 19, 2020, https://www.analog.com/en/resources/technical-articles/efficient-earbud-charging-is-all-about-keeping-a-cool-head.html)(herein after “AD2020”) and TWS et al. (Carrie Tsai, “Full Instructions: How to Use TWS Bluetooth Earbuds, News| HOW TO, March 10, 2020, https://www.neway.mobi/news/how-to-use-tws-bluetooth-earbuds.html)(herein after “TWS”) and Lui et al. (US 6727830)(herein after “Lui”).
Regarding claims 1 & 13, Chandramohan discloses an electronic device, and method of operating an electronic device, (Col 3, lines 55-57 disclose an electronic device that can be stored in a case. Col 7, lines 53-67 & col 8, lines 1-4 disclose a method for an electronic device) comprising:
a wireless communication circuit configured to perform Bluetooth communication (col 18, lines 38-53 disclose each earbud (i.e. electronic device) may have include circuitry including a processor and other components Col 49 & lines 51-58 disclose that other circuitry components in each earbud may include a Bluetooth transceiver (i.e. to perform Bluetooth communication).);
a touch pad (Col 45, lines 45-52 disclose that a housing of the earbud has at least one touch sensitive region.);
a connection terminal, when the electronic device is accommodated in a first external electronic device, configured to connect with the first external electronic device (Col 37, lines 1-6 disclose a wired connection, when the earbud is stored within a housing of a case, configured to connect with the case so that the case can charge the earbud. Col 19, lines 16-30 disclose that the wired connection between the earbud and the case can be made through a case transfer interface (i.e. a connection terminal) in the earbud.);
a processor operatively connected to the touch pad and the wireless communication circuit (Fig 43 and col 45, lines 65-67 & col 46, lines 1-9 disclose the earbud includes a processor communicatively connected to the touch region of the earbud. Fig 48 and col 49, lines 59-67 & col 50, lines 1-29 disclose that the processor 4850 in the earbud is communicatively to a wireless transceiver 4865 used to support Bluetooth communication.); and
a memory operatively connected to the processor, wherein the memory stores instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to (Fig 48 & col 50, lines 30-49 disclose the earbud includes memory 4860 communicatively connected to the processor 4850 that can store firmware (i.e. instructions). Col 6, lines 46-66 disclose that the processor in the earbud can be operatively coupled with the memory storing instructions in the earbud that the instructions stored in memory can be executed by the processor.):
receive, through the connection terminal, information indicating that a cover of the first external electronic device is being opened is based on wired communication (Fig 2 & col 21, lines 13-29 disclose that the earbud 202a may receive communication from processor 210 of the case (i.e. a first external device) to turn ON its wireless radio when a lid of the case is in the open position. Fig 2 & col 21, lines 32-35 disclose that the communication may be through the wired connection through case interface 270 (i.e. the connection terminal).),
transition, based on receiving the information, to a wake up mode from a sleep mode, (Fig 2 & col 21, lines 13-29 disclose that the earbud 202a may transition to turning ON its wireless radio (i.e. wake up mode) from a state of turning OFF its wireless radio (i.e. sleep mode) upon receiving the communication from the case to turn ON its wireless radio when the lid of the case is open.),
in case that both of the electronic device and the second external electronic device are electrically connected with the first external electronic device, determine whether the second external electronic device is a device coupled with the electronic device (Col 6, lines 44-63 disclose a scenario where a pair of earbuds (i.e. both a first earbud representing the electronic device and a second earbud representing the second external electronic device) are electrically connected to a case (i.e. the first external electronic device) through connectors coupling the case to each of the earbuds, and the case sends, upon opening of a lid on the case, one or more signals to the pair or earbuds to initiate pairing of the earbuds to another electronic device. In order to initiate pairing of the earbuds with another electronic device, the first earbud would need to determine whether the second earbud is coupled to the first earbud (e.g. to coordinate stereo audio communication with the other electronic device paired with the earbuds).).
Chandramohan fails to disclose after being transitioned to the wake up mode, determine whether a second external electronic device is electrically connected with the first external device based on the wired communication.
However, Ghosh further teaches after being transitioned to the wake up mode, determine whether a second external electronic device is electrically connected with the first external device based on the wired communication (Fig 1 & [0018] disclose a multi-transport access point (MTAP) 100 (i.e. a first external device) that communicates with various electronic devices 105, 115, 125, 135, 145, and 155. [0030] discloses that MTAP 100 may be connected to various electronic devices through wired transports (e.g. multiple electronic devices 155 connected through Ethernet to MTAP 100). [0035] discloses that MTAP 100 maintains an updated device list of all the devices connected to MTAP 100 and sends the updated list to all the devices connected to it, allowing every device connected to MTAP 100 to discover the presence of all the other devices connected to MTAP 100. Thus disclosed is a scenario where an electronic device (e.g. device 155 in fig 1) that is not in sleep mode (i.e. has been transitioned to wake up mode), receives an updated list from an MTAP (i.e. first external electronic devices) based on Ethernet communication (i.e. wired communication) and determines from the updated list that another electronic device 155 (i.e. a second external device) is electrically connected to the MTAP (i.e. through a wired Ethernet connection).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an electronic device comprising a connection terminal, when the electronic device is accommodated in a first external electronic device, configured to connect with the first external electronic device, receive, through the connection terminal, information indicating that a cover of the first external electronic device is being opened is based on wired communication, and transition, based on receiving the information, to a wake up mode from a sleep mode, as disclosed by Chandramohan, and after being transitioned to the wake up mode, determine whether a second external electronic device is electrically connected with the first external device based on the wired communication. The motivation to do so would have been to have a device capable of connecting to a multi-transport access point (MTAP) through Ethernet so that the electronic device can receive, through the Ethernet connection, a list of other electronic devices connected to the MTAP through Ethernet, so that the electronic device can route data packets from the electronic device through the MTAP to a second electronic device.
Chandramohan fails to disclose wherein the wired communication is based on power line communication.
However, AD2020 further teaches wherein the wired communication is based on power line communication (Section “Combining Data and Power Transfer” discloses wired communication using powerline communication for space-constrained portable consumer devices (e.g. earbuds in an earbud case).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an electronic device comprising a connection terminal, when the electronic device is accommodated in a first external electronic device, configured to connect with the first external electronic device through the connection terminal, receive information indicating that a cover of the first external electronic device is being opened is based on wired communication, and determine whether a second external electronic device is electrically connected with the first external device based on the wired communication, as disclosed by Chandramohan in view of Ghosh, wherein the wired communication is based on power line communication, as further taught by AD2020. The motivation to do so would have been to have an electronic device such as an earbud connect to and communicate with a first external device such as an earbud charging case through wired communication using powerline communication, in order to reduced the number of channels and connectors required between the earbud and the earbud charging case for consumer devices such as earbuds and earbud charging cases that are space-constrained.
Chandramohan fails to disclose in case that the second external electronic device is coupled with the electronic device, switch the wireless communication circuit to an inquiry scan enable mode in response to receiving a hold input, lasting longer than a first time interval, through the touch pad, and in case that the second external electronic device is not coupled with the electronic device, enter into a coupling mode to couple with the second external electronic device in response to receiving a hold input, lasting longer than a second time interval, through the touch pad.
However, TWS further teaches in case that the second external electronic device is coupled with the electronic device, switch the wireless communication circuit to an inquiry scan enable mode in response to receiving a hold input, lasting longer than a first time interval, through the touch pad (5th page, section “To Pair with Both Sides of Your TWS Buds” discloses a case where both earbuds blink in different colors alternately, indicating that a second earbud (i.e. the second external electronic device) is coupled with a first earbud (i.e. the electronic device), and then switching to matching or pairing mode (i.e. inquiry scan mode) in response to receiving a press and hold input on the first earbud button (i.e. a hold input on the touch pad lasting longer that a first time interval).), and
in case that the second external electronic device is not coupled with the electronic device, enter into a coupling mode to couple with the second external electronic device in response to receiving a hold input, lasting longer than a second time interval, through the touch pad (5th page, section “To Pair with Both Sides of Your TWS Buds” discloses a case where both earbuds are not coupled (i.e. the second external electronic device is not coupled with the electronic device) and in response to a long press input on both earbuds (i.e. a hold input on the touch pad lasting longer than a second time interval) LED lights on both earbuds blink in different colors alternately indicating the two earbuds have entered a coupling mode (i.e. the electronic device and the second external device enter into a coupling mode).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an electronic device comprising a connection terminal, when the electronic device is accommodated in a first external electronic device, configured to connect with the first external electronic device through the connection terminal, receive information indicating that a cover of the first external electronic device is being opened is based on wired communication, and determine whether a second external electronic device is electrically connected with the first external device based on the power line communication, as disclosed by Chandramohan in view of Ghosh and AD2020, where in case that the second external electronic device is coupled with the electronic device, switch the wireless communication circuit to an inquiry scan enable mode in response to receiving a hold input, lasting longer than a first time interval, through the touch pad, and in case that the second external electronic device is not coupled with the electronic device, enter into a coupling mode to couple with the second external electronic device in response to receiving a hold input, lasting longer than a second time interval, through the touch pad, as further taught by TWS. The motivation to do so would have been to have an electronic device such as a first earbud connect to an earbud case, receive an indication that a lid of the case is open and determine if a second earbud is connected to the earbud case, and in case that the second earbud is coupled with the first earbud, switch to an inquiry scan enable mode in response to receiving a hold input, lasting longer than a first time interval, through a button on the first earbud in order to be able to pair with another device, and in case that the second earbud is not coupled with the first earbud, enter into a coupling mode to couple with the second earbud in response to receiving a hold input, lasting longer than a second time interval, through the button in the first earbud in order to couple the first earbud with the second earbud so the pair of earbuds can provide stereo audio when paired with another device.
Chandramohan fails to disclose wherein a length of the second time interval is longer than a length of the first time interval.
However, Lui further teaches wherein a length of the second time interval is longer than a length of the first time interval (Col 1, lines 60-67 & col 2, lines 1-14 disclose an application button comprising determining a length of time that the application button has been pressed and if the application button has been pressed for a short period of time (e.g. less than one second) a first application function is launched, and if the application button has been pressed for a long period of time (e.g. more than one second) a second application function is launched.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an electronic device comprising a touch pad, where in case that the second external electronic device is coupled with the electronic device, switch the wireless communication circuit to an inquiry scan enable mode in response to receiving a hold input, lasting longer than a first time interval, through the touch pad, and in case that the second external electronic device is not coupled with the electronic device, enter into a coupling mode to couple with the second external electronic device in response to receiving a hold input, lasting longer than a second time interval, through the touch pad, as disclosed by Chandramohan in view of TWS, wherein a length of the second time interval is longer than a length of the first time interval, as further taught by Lui. The motivation to do so would have been to have an electronic device such as a first earbud, with a single button, connect to an earbud case, receive an indication that a lid of the case is open and determine if a second earbud is connected to the earbud case, and in case that the second earbud is coupled with the first earbud, switch to an inquiry scan enable mode in response to receiving a hold input, lasting longer than a first time interval, through the single button on the first earbud, and in case that the second earbud is not coupled with the first earbud, enter into a coupling mode to couple with the second earbud in response to receiving a hold input, lasting longer than a second time interval, through the single button in the first earbud, wherein a length of the second time interval is longer than a length of the first time interval, in order to eliminate the need for a second button on the first earbud (saving cost and space) to perform the two different functions of entering inquiry scan mode and entering coupling mode.
Regarding claim 7, Chandramohan in view of Ghosh and AD2020 and TWS and Lui disclose the electronic device of claim 1.
Chandramohan discloses wherein the instructions further cause the processor to establish a first communication link with a second external electronic device through the wireless communication circuit in case that the second external electronic device is coupled with the electronic device (Col 48, lines 52-59 disclose a first wireless earbud (i.e. the electronic device) that shares audio data (i.e. establishes a first communication link through a wireless communication circuit) with a second wireless earbud (i.e. a second external device), in the case that the first wireless earbud and the second wireless earbud are communicatively coupled.).
Regarding claim 8, Chandramohan in view of Ghosh and AD2020 and TWS and Lui disclose the electronic device of claim 1.
Chandramohan discloses wherein the instructions further cause the processor to charge a battery of the electronic device with power received from the first external electronic device through the connection terminal if the electronic device is electrically connected to the first external electronic device through the connection terminal (Col 37, lines 1-6 disclose a wired connection, when an earbud (i.e. the electronic device) is stored within a housing of a case (i.e. the first external device), configured to connect with the case so that the case can charge the earbud. Col 19, lines 16-30 disclose that the wired connection between the earbud and the case can be made through a case transfer interface (i.e. a connection terminal) in the earbud.).
Regarding claim 9, Chandramohan in view of Ghosh and AD2020 and TWS and Lui disclose the electronic device of claim 1.
Chandramohan discloses wherein the instructions further cause the processor to respond to an inquiry received from a third external electronic device, and establish a third communication link with the third external electronic device if a connection request is received from the third external electronic device (Fig 47, col 48, lines 29-51 & 60-67 and Fig 49, col 53, lines 65-67 & col 54 lines 1-4 disclose an earbud receiving a pairing signal (i.e. inquiry signal) from a host device (i.e. a third electronic device) after switching to pairing mode based on a lid of a case being opened, and upon receiving the pairing signal, the earbud initiates a pairing sequence to the host device (i.e. responds to the inquiry signal) that, upon the host device receiving the pairing sequence signal, initiates bidirectional data transfer between the earbud and the host device (i.e. establishes a third communication link with the third external electronic device.).).
Claims 3 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandramohan et al. (US 9769558)(herein after “Chandramohan”) in view of Ghosh et al. (US 2015/0223157)(herein after “Ghosh”) and AD2020 et al. (Analog Devices, “Efficient Earbud Charging is All About Keeping a Cool Head”, Feb 19, 2020, https://www.analog.com/en/resources/technical-articles/efficient-earbud-charging-is-all-about-keeping-a-cool-head.html)(herein after “AD2020”) and TWS et al. (Carrie Tsai, “Full Instructions: How to Use TWS Bluetooth Earbuds, News| HOW TO, March 10, 2020, https://www.neway.mobi/news/how-to-use-tws-bluetooth-earbuds.html)(herein after “TWS”) and Lui et al. (US 6727830)(herein after “Lui”), as applied to claims 1 & 13 respectively, and further in view of Michael et al. (US 2006/0128308)(herein after “Michael”).
Regarding claims 3 & 15, Chandramohan in view of Ghosh and AD2020 and TWS and Lui disclose the electronic device of claim 1 and the method of claim 13.
Chandramohan discloses wherein the instructions further cause the processor to receive an inquiry signal from a third external electronic device after switching to the inquiry scan enable mode, and respond to the inquiry signal (Fig 47, col 48, lines 29-51 & 60-67 disclose an earbud receiving a pairing signal (i.e. inquiry signal) from a host device (i.e. a third electronic device) after switching to pairing mode based on a lid of a case being opened, and upon receiving the pairing signal, the earbud initiates a pairing sequence to the host device (i.e. responds to the inquiry signal).).
Chandramohan fails to disclose responding if a strength of the inquiry signal is equal to or greater than a threshold value.
However, Michael further teaches responding if a strength of the inquiry signal is equal to or greater than a threshold value ([0027] discloses receiving inquiry messages at different frequencies, measuring energy at each frequency, comparing the received energy at each frequency to a threshold, and if greater than the threshold generating a detection signal (i.e. response to the inquiry message).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electronic device of claim 1 or method of claim 13, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to receive an inquiry signal from a third external electronic device after switching to the inquiry scan enable mode, and respond to the inquiry signal, as disclosed by Chandramohan in view of Ghosh and AD2020 and TWS and Lui, and responding if a strength of the inquiry signal is equal to or greater than a threshold value, as further taught by Michael. The motivation to do so would be to have a wireless devices such as Bluetooth wireless ear buds, and a method for the wireless device, that conserves energy by only responding to pairing requests that are above a defined threshold.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandramohan et al. (US 9769558)(herein after “Chandramohan”) in view of Ghosh et al. (US 2015/0223157)(herein after “Ghosh”) and AD2020 et al. (Analog Devices, “Efficient Earbud Charging is All About Keeping a Cool Head”, Feb 19, 2020, https://www.analog.com/en/resources/technical-articles/efficient-earbud-charging-is-all-about-keeping-a-cool-head.html)(herein after “AD2020”) and TWS et al. (Carrie Tsai, “Full Instructions: How to Use TWS Bluetooth Earbuds, News| HOW TO, March 10, 2020, https://www.neway.mobi/news/how-to-use-tws-bluetooth-earbuds.html)(herein after “TWS”) and Lui et al. (US 6727830)(herein after “Lui”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Liao et al. (US 2018/0013500)(herein after “Liao”).
Regarding claim 4, Chandramohan in view of Ghosh and AD2020 and TWS and Lui disclose the electronic device of claim 1.
Chandramohan discloses wherein the instructions further cause the processor to receive an inquiry signal from a third external electronic device after switching to the inquiry scan enable mode, and respond to the inquiry signal (Fig 47, col 48, lines 29-51 & 60-67 disclose an earbud receiving a pairing signal (i.e. inquiry signal) from a host device (i.e. a third electronic device) after switching to pairing mode based on a lid of a case being opened, and upon receiving the pairing signal, the earbud initiates a pairing sequence to the host device (i.e. responds to the inquiry signal).).
Chandramohan fails to disclose responding with a signal strength that is lower than or equal to a threshold value.
However, Liao further teaches responding with a signal strength that is lower than or equal to a threshold value ([0033] discloses a UE transmitting using a first RAT at a TX power level below a first threshold in response to a network node request to the UE to transmit at a TX power level below a first threshold.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the processor to receive an inquiry signal from a third external electronic device after switching to the inquiry scan enable mode, and respond to the inquiry signal, as disclosed by Chandramohan in view of Ghosh and AD2020 and TWS and Lui, and responding with a signal strength that is lower than or equal to a threshold value, as further taught by Liao. The motivation to do so would be to limit the transmission power of an electronic device, responding to a pairing request, that is transmitting on one radio access technology to be below a threshold to prevent internal leakage in the electronic device that may also have a second radio access technology transceiver.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejections presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419