DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-10, 16, 18, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stanacevic et al. (US 20210248335, hereinafter “Stanacevic”), and further in view of Alrabadi et al. (US 20130244593, hereinafter “Alrabadi”).
Regarding claim 1, Stanacevic discloses,
A method of extending signal range for a WiFi backscatter system (As shown in FIG. 2, a dedicated exciter 210 is provided with a transmitting (Tx) tag 310 and a receiving (Rx) tag 410) comprising:
determining a channel for communication with a WiFi receiver (when an antenna circuit of the Tx tag 310 is open, the Rx tag 410 only receives the signal from the exciter 210, [0028]-[0031]);
calculating at least one query signal based on the channel for communication (where via is the signal received at the Rx tag 410 in state 1, A.sub.E is the amplitude of the exciter-Rx channel, and Θ.sub.E is the phase of the exciter-Rx channel. The amplitude A.sub.E and phase Θ.sub.E of the exciter-Rx channel are dependent on the reflections from the environment, [0028]-[0031]); and
transmitting one of the at least one query signals (The RF signal can be either an ambient signal from WiFi APs or TV towers, or can originate from a dedicated exciter device that emits continuous wave (CW) signal with zero intelligence, [0024] and [0028]-[0031]);
wherein transmitting the at least one query signal is performed by a WiFi transmitter (The RF signal can be either an ambient signal from WiFi APs or TV towers, or can originate from a dedicated exciter device that emits continuous wave (CW) signal with zero intelligence, [0024] and [0028]-[0031]).
However, Sta does not explicitly disclose, wherein the at least one query signal is nulled when received by the WiFi receiver.
In the same field of endeavor, Alrabadi discloses, wherein the at least one query signal is nulled when received by the WiFi receiver (changes in the transmit antenna weights can be implemented in digital by using an algorithm (e.g., zero forcing algorithm, SVD algorithm) that gives an excitation of transmit antennas 210a-210n that generates a null in the direction of a receive antenna 202. For example, the adaptive operating unit 606 may use a zero forcing algorithm to invert a measured local communication channel to achieve a null in the direction of a receive antenna 202, [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stanacevic by specifically wherein the at least one query signal is nulled when received by the WiFi receiver, as taught by Alrabadi for the purpose of utilizing a spatial filter to achieve a high degree of isolation between reception and transmission paths [0022].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Stanacevic discloses, wherein determining a channel for communication with a WiFi receiver comprises channel sounding (The tag-to-tag network only requires the presence of an RF signal in the environment. The RF signal can be either an ambient signal from WiFi APs or TV towers, or can originate from a dedicated exciter device that emits continuous wave (CW) signal with zero intelligence, [0024]-[0026]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Stanacevic discloses, wherein determining a channel for communication with a WiFi receiver comprises determining a relationship between antennas associated with the WiFi transmitter and at least one antenna associated with the WiFi receiver (when an antenna circuit of the Tx tag 310 is open, the Rx tag 410 only receives the signal from the exciter 210, [0028]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 10, Stanacevic discloses,
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a WiFi backscatter communication program including instructions that, when executed by a processor, causes a WiFi transmitter to (As shown in FIG. 2, a dedicated exciter 210 is provided with a transmitting (Tx) tag 310 and a receiving (Rx) tag 410) comprising:
determine a channel for communication with a WiFi receiver (when an antenna circuit of the Tx tag 310 is open, the Rx tag 410 only receives the signal from the exciter 210, [0028]-[0031]);
calculate at least one query signal based on the channel for communication (where via is the signal received at the Rx tag 410 in state 1, A.sub.E is the amplitude of the exciter-Rx channel, and Θ.sub.E is the phase of the exciter-Rx channel. The amplitude A.sub.E and phase Θ.sub.E of the exciter-Rx channel are dependent on the reflections from the environment, [0028]-[0031]); and
transmit one of the at least one query signals (The RF signal can be either an ambient signal from WiFi APs or TV towers, or can originate from a dedicated exciter device that emits continuous wave (CW) signal with zero intelligence, [0024] and [0028]-[0031]);
wherein transmitting the at least one query signal is performed by a WiFi transmitter (The RF signal can be either an ambient signal from WiFi APs or TV towers, or can originate from a dedicated exciter device that emits continuous wave (CW) signal with zero intelligence, [0024] and [0028]-[0031]).
However, Stanacevic does not explicitly disclose, wherein the at least one query signal is nulled when received by the WiFi receiver.
In the same field of endeavor, Alrabadi discloses, wherein the at least one query signal is nulled when received by the WiFi receiver (changes in the transmit antenna weights can be implemented in digital by using an algorithm (e.g., zero forcing algorithm, SVD algorithm) that gives an excitation of transmit antennas 210a-210n that generates a null in the direction of a receive antenna 202. For example, the adaptive operating unit 606 may use a zero forcing algorithm to invert a measured local communication channel to achieve a null in the direction of a receive antenna 202, [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stanacevic by specifically wherein the at least one query signal is nulled when received by the WiFi receiver, as taught by Alrabadi for the purpose of utilizing a spatial filter to achieve a high degree of isolation between reception and transmission paths [0022].
Regarding claim 16, Stanacevic discloses,
A WiFi transmitter comprising: a processor for executing non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a WiFi backscatter communication program including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the WiFi transmitter to (As shown in FIG. 2, a dedicated exciter 210 is provided with a transmitting (Tx) tag 310 and a receiving (Rx) tag 410) comprising:
determine a channel for communication with a WiFi receiver (when an antenna circuit of the Tx tag 310 is open, the Rx tag 410 only receives the signal from the exciter 210, [0028]-[0031]);
calculate at least one query signal based on the channel for communication (where via is the signal received at the Rx tag 410 in state 1, A.sub.E is the amplitude of the exciter-Rx channel, and Θ.sub.E is the phase of the exciter-Rx channel. The amplitude A.sub.E and phase Θ.sub.E of the exciter-Rx channel are dependent on the reflections from the environment, [0028]-[0031]); and
transmit one of the at least one query signals (The RF signal can be either an ambient signal from WiFi APs or TV towers, or can originate from a dedicated exciter device that emits continuous wave (CW) signal with zero intelligence, [0024] and [0028]-[0031]).
However, Stanacevic does not explicitly disclose, wherein the at least one query signal is nulled when received by the WiFi receiver.
In the same field of endeavor, Alrabadi discloses, wherein the at least one query signal is nulled when received by the WiFi receiver (changes in the transmit antenna weights can be implemented in digital by using an algorithm (e.g., zero forcing algorithm, SVD algorithm) that gives an excitation of transmit antennas 210a-210n that generates a null in the direction of a receive antenna 202. For example, the adaptive operating unit 606 may use a zero forcing algorithm to invert a measured local communication channel to achieve a null in the direction of a receive antenna 202, [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stanacevic by specifically wherein the at least one query signal is nulled when received by the WiFi receiver, as taught by Alrabadi for the purpose of utilizing a spatial filter to achieve a high degree of isolation between reception and transmission paths [0022].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16), in addition Alrabadi disclose, the transmitter comprising a set of antennas for transmitting the one of the least one query signals (transmit antennas 210a-210n; Fig .2).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Stanacevic discloses, wherein calculating the at least one query signal comprises: determining a number of transmitting chains; and calculating a query signal for each of the transmitting chains (See, equations 1-6, Fig. 2 and [0028]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), further Stanacevic discloses, wherein calculating the at least one query signal comprises: determining a number of transmitting chains; and calculating a query signal for each of the transmitting chains (See, equations 1-6, Fig. 2 and [0028]-[0040]).
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stanacevic, in view of Alrabadi and further in view of KATAN BAF NEZHAD (US 20210377859, hereinafter “Katan”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), however the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi does not disclose, storing each query signal for each of the transmitting chains.
In the same of endeavor, Katan discloses, storing each query signal for each of the transmitting chains (Clock 50 may comprise any suitable device that maintains a clock signal. E.g., according to a non-limiting example, clock 50 may provide a 48 megahertz (MHz) signal; of course, other examples are possible and RF circuit 52 may include any suitable amplifiers, filters, antennas, etc. that enable transmission. Further, as controlled by the processor(s), the RF circuit 52 may mix a carrier signal and a message signal (resulting in an RF signal), amplify the RF signal, and provide this RF signal to antenna circuit 44 for transmission, [0025]-[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi by specifically providing storing each query signal for each of the transmitting chains, as taught by Katan for the purpose of improving a likelihood of communication success between the transmitter and the receiver in a backscatter communication system [0019].
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 16), however the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi does not disclose, a database for storing each of the at least one query signals..
In the same of endeavor, Katan discloses, a database for storing each of the at least one query signals (Clock 50 may comprise any suitable device that maintains a clock signal. E.g., according to a non-limiting example, clock 50 may provide a 48 megahertz (MHz) signal; of course, other examples are possible and RF circuit 52 may include any suitable amplifiers, filters, antennas, etc. that enable transmission. Further, as controlled by the processor(s), the RF circuit 52 may mix a carrier signal and a message signal (resulting in an RF signal), amplify the RF signal, and provide this RF signal to antenna circuit 44 for transmission, [0025]-[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi by specifically providing a database for storing each of the at least one query signals., as taught by Katan for the purpose of improving a likelihood of communication success between the transmitter and the receiver in a backscatter communication system [0019].
Claims 5, 7, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stanacevic, in view of Alrabadi and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20180212807, hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi does not disclose, determining if the WiFi receiver has decoded a backscatter tag signal; and transmitting another of the at least one query signals if the WiFi receiver has not decoded the backscatter tag signal; wherein the determining if the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal and transmitting another of the at least one query signals if the WiFi has not decoded the backscatter tag signal are repeated until the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal or each of the at least one query signals has been transmitted.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses, determining if the WiFi receiver has decoded a backscatter tag signal; and transmitting another of the at least one query signals if the WiFi receiver has not decoded the backscatter tag signal; wherein the determining if the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal and transmitting another of the at least one query signals if the WiFi has not decoded the backscatter tag signal are repeated until the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal or each of the at least one query signals has been transmitted (Since a backscatter tag performance depends on both the 802.11b transmitter-to-tag distance and the 802.11b receiver-to-tag distance, in an experimental setup first the 802.11b TX-to-tag distance is fixed and the maximum 802.11b RX-to-tag distance where backscatter decoding succeeds is measured. This measurement is repeated for a number of 802.11b transmitter-to-tag distances. FIG. 14 shows the empirically measured communication range of such a system. Backscatter communication still succeeds when the tag is 50 m away from the 802.11b receiver or 6 m away from the 802.11b transmitter. In this setting, the backscatter tag failed to operate properly at very long distances from the 802.11b transmitter because the backscatter tag could not identify the excitation packet sent by the transmitter. In addition, the backscatter tag may not be far away from both of the 802.11b transmitter and receiver either, [0084]-[0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi determining if the WiFi receiver has decoded a backscatter tag signal and transmitting another of the at least one query signals if the WiFi receiver has not decoded the backscatter tag signal; wherein the determining if the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal and transmitting another of the at least one query signals if the WiFi has not decoded the backscatter tag signal are repeated until the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal or each of the at least one query signals has been transmitted, as taught by Zhang for the purpose of achieving a single side band backscatter signal, while having low power consumption and introducing negligible loss on the backscattered signal strength [0061].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Stanacevic, Alrabadi and Zhang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), further Stanacevic discloses, wherein determining if the WiFi receiver has decoded a backscatter tag signal comprises: communicating with an external node monitoring WiFi receiver activity (The plurality of passive RFID tags 130a-130j tags communicate with each other directly in response to an RF signal, e.g. signal output from excitation source 110, in the network environment to support backscattering. The plurality of passive RFID tags either use local RF exciters or ambient RF signals for back-scattering. The sink 120 serves to upload information captured by the network to the cloud, [0022]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 10), however the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi does not disclose, determining if the WiFi receiver has decoded a backscatter tag signal; and transmitting another of the at least one query signals if the WiFi receiver has not decoded the backscatter tag signal; wherein the determining if the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal and transmitting another of the at least one query signals if the WiFi has not decoded the backscatter tag signal are repeated until the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal or each of the at least one query signals has been transmitted.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses, determining if the WiFi receiver has decoded a backscatter tag signal; and transmitting another of the at least one query signals if the WiFi receiver has not decoded the backscatter tag signal; wherein the determining if the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal and transmitting another of the at least one query signals if the WiFi has not decoded the backscatter tag signal are repeated until the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal or each of the at least one query signals has been transmitted (Since a backscatter tag performance depends on both the 802.11b transmitter-to-tag distance and the 802.11b receiver-to-tag distance, in an experimental setup first the 802.11b TX-to-tag distance is fixed and the maximum 802.11b RX-to-tag distance where backscatter decoding succeeds is measured. This measurement is repeated for a number of 802.11b transmitter-to-tag distances. FIG. 14 shows the empirically measured communication range of such a system. Backscatter communication still succeeds when the tag is 50 m away from the 802.11b receiver or 6 m away from the 802.11b transmitter. In this setting, the backscatter tag failed to operate properly at very long distances from the 802.11b transmitter because the backscatter tag could not identify the excitation packet sent by the transmitter. In addition, the backscatter tag may not be far away from both of the 802.11b transmitter and receiver either, [0084]-[0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Stanacevic and Alrabadi determining if the WiFi receiver has decoded a backscatter tag signal; and transmitting another of the at least one query signals if the WiFi receiver has not decoded the backscatter tag signal; wherein the determining if the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal and transmitting another of the at least one query signals if the WiFi has not decoded the backscatter tag signal are repeated until the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal or each of the at least one query signals has been transmitted, as taught by Zhang for the purpose of achieving a single side band backscatter signal, while having low power consumption and introducing negligible loss on the backscattered signal strength [0061].
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Stanacevic, Alrabadi and Zhang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), further Stanacevic discloses, when executed by the processor, cause the WiFi transmitter to determine if the WiFi receiver has decoded a backscatter tag signal, the WiFi transmitter: communicates with an external node monitoring WiFi receiver activity (The plurality of passive RFID tags 130a-130j tags communicate with each other directly in response to an RF signal, e.g. signal output from excitation source 110, in the network environment to support backscattering. The plurality of passive RFID tags either use local RF exciters or ambient RF signals for back-scattering. The sink 120 serves to upload information captured by the network to the cloud, [0022]-[0024]).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stanacevic, in view of Alrabadi, in view of Zhang and further in view of Gollakota et al. (US 20200212956, hereinafter “Gollakota”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Stanacevic, Alrabadi and Zhang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 5), however the combination of Stanacevic, Alrabadi and Zhang does not disclose, wherein determining if the WiFi receiver has decoded a backscatter tag signal comprises: communicating with the WiFi receiver to determine if the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Gollakota disclose, wherein determining if the WiFi receiver has decoded a backscatter tag signal comprises: communicating with the WiFi receiver to determine if the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal (the backscattered signal may include a payload, added to a signal generated by the helper device 104 after receipt of the carrier signal at the backscatter device 108 and/or backscatter device 110. In some examples, the backscattered signal may include a packet, decodable at the receiver 106 based on a particular protocol or standard implemented by the receiver 106. In some examples, the backscattered signal may include data detected at the backscatter device 108 and/or backwater device 110 and added to a predetermined, frequency-specific carrier signal, [0079]-[0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Stanacevic, Alrabadi and Zhang by specifically providing wherein determining if the WiFi receiver has decoded a backscatter tag signal comprises: communicating with the WiFi receiver to determine if the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal, as taught by Gollakota for the purpose of drastically improving the battery life and/or reduce the size and cost of the battery on sensors [0066].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Stanacevic, Alrabadi and Zhang discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), however the combination of Stanacevic, Alrabadi and Zhang does not disclose, when executed by the processor, cause the WiFi transmitter to determine if the WiFi receiver has decoded a backscatter tag signal, the WiFi transmitter: communicates with the WiFi receiver to determine if the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Gollakota disclose, when executed by the processor, cause the WiFi transmitter to determine if the WiFi receiver has decoded a backscatter tag signal, the WiFi transmitter: communicates with the WiFi receiver to determine if the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal (the backscattered signal may include a payload, added to a signal generated by the helper device 104 after receipt of the carrier signal at the backscatter device 108 and/or backscatter device 110. In some examples, the backscattered signal may include a packet, decodable at the receiver 106 based on a particular protocol or standard implemented by the receiver 106. In some examples, the backscattered signal may include data detected at the backscatter device 108 and/or backwater device 110 and added to a predetermined, frequency-specific carrier signal, [0079]-[0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Stanacevic, Alrabadi and Zhang by specifically providing when executed by the processor, cause the WiFi transmitter to determine if the WiFi receiver has decoded a backscatter tag signal, the WiFi transmitter: communicates with the WiFi receiver to determine if the WiFi receiver has decoded the backscatter tag signal, as taught by Gollakota for the purpose of drastically improving the battery life and/or reduce the size and cost of the battery on sensors [0066].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20 and 22, objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 20, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Stanacevic and Alrabadi, whether taken alone or in combination do not teach the following novel feature: “wherein calculating a query signal for each of the transmitting chains comprises: selecting one of the transmitting chains; determining a number of antennas associated with the selected transmitting chain; and determining an individual signal for transmission by each of the number of antennas; wherein the individual signals for transmission are nulled at the WiFi receiver; and wherein a combination of the individual signals for transmission by each of the number of antennas represent the at least one query signal”, in combination with the other limitations in claims 1 and claim 19.
Regarding claim 22, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Stanacevic and Alrabadi, whether taken alone or in combination do not teach the following novel feature: “wherein calculating a query signal for each of the transmitting chains comprises: selecting one of the transmitting chains; determining a number of antennas associated with the selected transmitting chain; and determining an individual signal for transmission by each of the number of antennas; wherein the individual signals for transmission are nulled at the WiFi receiver; and wherein a combination of the individual signals for transmission by each of the number of antennas represent the at least one query signal”, in combination with the other limitations in claims 10 and claim 21.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20240330614: A radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag reader interrogates a passive RFID tag by transmitting a signal to the tag, then detecting a much weaker reply at the same carrier frequency from the tag. Unfortunately, self-interference caused by signal leakage within the reader or crosstalk among the reader's antenna elements can make the reply more difficult to detect and limit the range at which the reader can sense tags. A self-interference cancellation circuit in the reader reduces or suppresses the effects of signal leakage and crosstalk, enabling detection of weaker tag replies.
US 20240146408: A backscatter transmission scheme is provided in which a carrier signal is transmitted by a carrier communication device discontinuously as carrier signal bursts. The carrier signal, while it is on, is divided into carrier time segments. Each carrier time segment has a specified time. The different carrier time segments represent different times that backscatter devices can make backscatter transmissions. In addition, in some embodiments, a set of frequencies are available for backscatter transmission.
US 20200151532: A product tagging system is provided. The product tagging system includes at least one RF backscatter transmitter configured to emit (i) a main carrier RF signal, and (ii) Radio Frequency (RF) signals on two frequencies whose summation forms a twin carrier RF signal. The product tagging system further includes a passive RF backscatter tag associated with a product and configured to reflect and frequency shift the main carrier RF signal to a different frequency using the twin carrier RF signal.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641