DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 2/11/26. As directed by the amendment: claims 7 and 13 have been amended, claims 1-6, 8-9, 12, 14-15 and 17-18 have been canceled, and no new claims have been added. Thus, claims 7, 10-11, 13 and 16 are presently pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 4 shows reference number 22ac, suggested to be changed to 22c for consistency. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seder et al. (2005/0256573) in view of Faulconer et al. (5,261,396), Bailey et al. (4,986,310) and Thor et al. (4,394,939).
Regarding claim 7, in fig. 1-2 Seder discloses a voice prosthesis 10 for insertion into a fistula opening in a tracheoesophageal wall (see fig. 1 [0065]), comprising: a tubular elastomeric body (12 [0065]) having a central passage therein (within 12, shown in fig. 2) and a pair of flanges (14 and 16) each extending radially outwardly from opposite ends of the tubular elastomeric body; and a disc valve 60 supported in at least a portion of the tubular elastomeric body (Fig. 2), but is silent regarding that the tubular elastomeric body has a valve seat on one end thereof, the disc valve including a valve body and a stem extending from a center of the valve body, the stem being supported by a support that extends across the central passage. However, in fig. 4 Faulconer teaches a tubular body having a valve seat 110 on one end thereof, the disc valve including a valve body 94 and a stem 96 extending from a center of the valve body, the stem being supported by a support 106 that extends across the central passage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seder’s tubular body and valve with a valve seat and valve having a stem and support, as taught by Faulconer, for the purpose of providing an alternate tube and valve structure having the predictable results of allowing for one-way flow. The modified Seder discloses that the valve body of the disc valve engaging the valve seat in a normal state (Fig. 4, Faulconer), but is silent regarding that the support is a flexible support that is made from an elastomeric material and the flexible support being deformed to allow the valve body of the disc valve to be lifted axially away from the valve seat in an open actuated state. However, Bailey teaches a flexible support made of elastomeric material (flexible element 20 is elastomeric Col. 2, ll. 62-65 and supports the valve 48) and the flexible support being deformed to allow the valve body of the disc valve to be lifted axially away from the valve seat in an open actuated state (Fig. 3, Col. 4, ll. 28-59), as well as a rigid valve member (Col. 3, ll. 25-28). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Seder’s supporting structure material with an elastomeric material and disc valve material with a rigid disc valve material, as taught by Bailey, for the purpose of providing a strong seal (Col. 4, ll. 28-59 Bailey). The modified Thor is silent regarding that the flexible support includes a plurality of spiral shaped arms that support a central hub with an aperture that receives the stem of the disc valve. However, in fig. 1-3 Thor teaches a flexible support (24, 25 and 26) that includes a plurality of spiral shaped arms 26 that support a central hub (portion of support immediately surrounding aperture that receives 27) with an aperture that receives the stem of the disc valve (Col. 5, ll. 51-53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Seder’s support with spiral arms, as taught by Thor, for the purpose of providing an alternate support shape having the predictable results of supporting the disc valve.
Regarding claim 10, the modified Seder discloses that the disc valve is made from a rigid material (Col. 3, ll. 25-28 Bailey).
Regarding claim 13, in fig. 1-2 Seder discloses a voice prosthesis 10 for insertion into a fistula opening in a tracheoesophageal wall (see fig. 1 [0065]), comprising: a tubular elastomeric body (12 [0065]) having a central passage therein (within 12, shown in fig. 2) and a pair of flanges (14 and 16) each extending radially outwardly from opposite ends of the tubular elastomeric body; and a valve 60 supported in at least a portion of the tubular elastomeric body (Fig. 2), but is silent regarding that the tubular elastomeric body has a valve seat on one end thereof, an umbrella-shaped valve including a round canopy and a stem extending from a center of the round canopy, the stem being supported by a support that extends across the central passage. However, in fig. 4 Faulconer teaches a tubular body having a valve seat 110 on one end thereof, an umbrella-shaped valve (94 and 96) including a round canopy 84 and a stem 96 extending from a center of the round canopy, the stem being supported by a support 106 that extends across the central passage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Seder’s tubular body and valve with a valve seat and umbrella valve having a round canopy and stem and support, as taught by Faulconer, for the purpose of providing an alternate tube and valve structure having the predictable results of allowing for one-way flow. The modified Seder discloses that the round canopy of the umbrella-shaped valve engaging the valve seat in a normal state (Fig. 4, Faulconer), but is silent regarding that the support is a flexible support that is made from an elastomeric material and the flexible support being deformed to allow the entire round canopy of the umbrella-shaped valve to be lifted axially away from the valve seat in an open actuated state. However, Bailey teaches a flexible support made of elastomeric material (flexible element 20 is elastomeric Col. 2, ll. 62-65 and supports the valve 48) and the flexible support being deformed to allow the entire round canopy of the umbrella-shaped valve to be lifted axially away from the valve seat in an open actuated state (Fig. 3, Col. 4, ll. 28-59). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Seder’s supporting structure material with an elastomeric material, as taught by Bailey, for the purpose of providing a strong seal (Col. 4, ll. 28-59 Bailey). The modified Thor is silent regarding that the flexible support includes a plurality of spiral shaped arms that support a central hub with an aperture that receives the stem of the umbrella-shaped valve. However, in fig. 1-3 Thor teaches a flexible support (24, 25 and 26) that includes a plurality of spiral shaped arms 26 that support a central hub (portion of support immediately surrounding aperture that receives 27) with an aperture that receives the stem of the umbrella-shaped valve (Col. 5, ll. 51-53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Seder’s support with spiral arms, as taught by Thor, for the purpose of providing an alternate support shape having the predictable results of supporting the disc valve.
Claims 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seder, Faulconer, Bailey and Thor, as applied to claims 7 and 13 above, respectively, and further in view of Malec et al. (2011/0168723).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Seder is silent regarding that the disc valve is made from an elastomeric material. However, in fig. 1 Malec teaches a valve disc 8 that is able to axially translate to open the valve as well as flex [0020][0022] “the closing element 8 is supported in the support 17 in such a way that it is able to execute a predetermined axial opening stroke. The opening of the closing element 8 can take place through an axial stroke of the closing element 8 and/or through an elastic bending of the closing section 16”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Seder’s valve material with an elastomeric valve material, as taught by Malec, for the purpose of providing an alternate one-way valve material having the predictable results of directing flow in one direction.
Regarding claim 16, the modified Seder is silent regarding that the umbrella-shaped valve is made from an elastomeric material. However, in fig. 1 Malec teaches a valve disc 8 that is able to axially translate to open the valve as well as flex [0020][0022] “the closing element 8 is supported in the support 17 in such a way that it is able to execute a predetermined axial opening stroke. The opening of the closing element 8 can take place through an axial stroke of the closing element 8 and/or through an elastic bending of the closing section 16”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Seder’s valve material with an elastomeric valve material, as taught by Malec, for the purpose of providing an alternate one-way valve material having the predictable results of directing flow in one direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2-3, filed 2/11/26, with respect to the rejections of claims 17 and 18, moved into claims 7 and 13, respectively, under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Seder, Faulconer, Bailey and Thor.
Conclusion
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785