DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The amended drawings were received on 06/19/2025. The amended drawings are not acceptable because they introduce new matter. Fig. 2A and 2B introduce item 42 describes the current path on a different surface of the circuit board 40a and the solder resist is not shown or defined in the specification. Further correction or removal is needed.
Affidavit or Declaration
The affidavit- under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 06/19/2025 is insufficient to support the amended drawings. Support for Fig 2A & 2 B item 42 and solder resist is currently not shown.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 4-8 ,10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niu et al. (US 2019/0320524 A1) in view of JAE WOO et al. (KR 20200027740 A) in further view of Ausserlechne et al. (US 2011/0234215 A1).
Regarding to claim 1, Niu discloses a current sensor comprising:
a circuit board (Fig. 1-5 Item 14 discloses a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 14, in Paragraph [0011]) having a surface parallel to a first direction (Fig. 1-5 Item 14 discloses a printed circuit board having a surface parallel to a first direction);
a current path formed on the circuit board (Fig. 1-5 Item 14 discloses a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 14, in Paragraph [0011]) as a printed circuit pattern (Fig. 1-5 Item 14 discloses a printed circuit board assembly used as a printed circuit similar to Applicant’s 40 PCB in Paragraph [0011]), wherein a current to be detected flowing through the current path generates a magnetic field including a first component in the first direction; (Fig. 1-5 Item 14 discloses any current creates a three dimensional magnetic field associated with it . The current sensor or detector 25 measures a current associated with the board in Paragraph [0011]),
a shield member (Fig. 1-5 Item 32 discloses a first and second flux shield portions 32A and 32B in Paragraph [0023]) configured to shield the magnetism detection unit (Fig. 1-5 Item 25 ) from an external magnetic field, the shield member including a pair of opposing plates (Fig. 1-5 Item 32a & 32b discloses a first and second flux shield portions 32A and 32B in Paragraph [0023]) facing each other in the first direction, such that the magnetism detection unit (Fig. 1-5 Item 25) is interposed between the pair of opposing plates (Fig. 1-5 Item 32a & 32b); and
a fixing member (Fig. 1-5 Item 31 discloses two fasteners 31, i.e., through holes 44 in the first and second flux shield portions 32A and 32B in Paragraph [0015]) for fixing the shield member (Fig. 1-5 Item 32 discloses a first and second flux shield portions 32A and 32B in Paragraph [0023]) to the circuit board (Fig. 1-5 Item 14) , the fixing member (Fig. 1-5 Item 31) being provided on and along the surface of the circuit board Fig. 1-5 Item 14) on at least one side of the shield (Fig. 1-5 Item 32 ) portion adjacent thereto in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction the fixing member (Fig. 1-5 Item 31 discloses two fasteners 31, i.e., through holes 44 in the first and second flux shield portions 32A and 32B in Paragraph [0015]) extending in the first direction on both sides of the magnetism detection unit (Fig. 1-5 Item 25 discloses point field detector 25 ) viewed from a normal direction normal to the surface of the circuit board (Fig. 1-5 Item 14 ).
Niu does not explicitly teach the fixing member being connected to the linking portion such that the fixing member and the shield member are integrally formed as a single part,
a linking portion provided on the surface of the circuit board so as to connect respective ends of the pair of opposing plates together; and
However, JAE WOO teaches the fixing member (Fig. 4-6 Item 40 discloses the bracket 40 and the shield can 60 may be integrally formed by double injection]), being connected to the linking portion (Fig. 4-6 Item 60 discloses the shield 60 the top portion considered linking portion]) such that the fixing member Fig. 4-6 Item 40 ) and the shield member are integrally formed as a single part (Fig. 4-6 Item 40 & 60 discloses the bracket 40 and the shield can 60 may be integrally formed by double injection]),
a linking portion (Fig. 4-6 Item 60 discloses the shield 60 the top portion considered linking portion]) provided on the surface of the circuit board (Fig. 4-6 Item 10 discloses the circuit board) so as to connect respective ends of the pair of opposing plates together (Fig. 4-6 Item 60 discloses shield can 60 may include a shield can body 61 and a shield 62 extending downwardly from an edge region of the shield can body 61 and surrounding a portion of the circumference of the hall sensor 80]); and
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a sensor with magnetic shielding array, such that cross-talk with neighboring components is minimized in Niu by substituting a current measurement device with the bracket and the shield may be integrally formed by double injection by JAE WOO to provide a shield extending at least to cover a part of the circumference of the hall sensor.in Abstract]).
Niu does not explicitly teach a magnetism detection unit mounted on the circuit board, the magnetism detection unit being configured to detect the first component of the magnetic field generated by the current to be detected flowing through the current path which is the printed circuit pattern
However, Ausserlechne teaches a magnetism detection unit (Fig. 1A Item 132 discloses a magnetic field sensor 132 on circuit board 110 in Paragraph [0043]) mounted on the circuit board (Fig. 1A Item 110 discloses a circuit board 110 in Paragraph [0043]), the magnetism detection unit being configured to detect the first component of the magnetic field generated by the current to be detected flowing through the current path which is the printed circuit pattern (Fig. 1A Item 110 discloses measuring the magnetic field produced by the current on a printed circuit board 110 in Paragraph [0043]),
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a sensor with magnetic shielding array, such that cross-talk with neighboring components is minimized in Niu by substituting a magnetism detection unit mounted on the circuit board detect current flowing through the current path which is the printed circuit pattern by Ausserlechne to provide a magnetic field sensor measurements with improved sensitivity and signal robustness Paragraph [0048]),
Regarding to claim 4, Niu discloses the current sensor according to Claim 1.
Niu does not explicitly teach wherein the fixing member is provided on both sides of the linking portion in the second direction when viewed from the normal direction.
However, JAE WOO teaches wherein the fixing member (Fig. 4-6 Item 40 discloses the bracket 40 and the shield can 60 may be integrally formed by double injection]) is provided on both sides of the linking portion (Fig. 4-6 Item 60 discloses shield can 60 may include a shield can body 61 and a shield 62 extending downwardly from an edge region of the shield can body 61 and surrounding a portion of the circumference of the hall sensor 80]); in the second direction when viewed from the normal direction
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a sensor with magnetic shielding array, such that cross-talk with neighboring components is minimized in Niu by substituting a current measurement device with the bracket and the shield may be integrally formed by double injection by JAE WOO to provide a shield extending at least to cover a part of the circumference of the hall sensor.in Abstract]).
Regarding to claim 5, Niu discloses the current sensor according to Claim 1 wherein the fixing member (Fig. 1-5 Item 31 discloses two fasteners 31, i.e., through holes 44 in the first and second flux shield portions 32A and 32B in Paragraph [0015]). includes:
Niu does not explicitly teach a middle portion connected to the linking portion; and
a pair of extending portions extending from the middle portion toward both sides of the magnetism detection unit in the first direction, when viewed from the normal direction, such that the middle portion couples the pair of extending portions together.
However, JAE WOO teaches a middle portion (Fig. 4-6 Item 60 discloses the shield 60 the top portion considered linking portion]) connected to the linking portion (Fig. 4-6 Item 60 discloses shield can 60 may include a shield can body 61 and a shield 62 extending downwardly from an edge region of the shield can body 61 and surrounding a portion of the circumference of the hall sensor 80]); and
a pair of extending portions (Fig. 4-6 Item 60 discloses shield can 60 may include a shield can body 61 and a shield 62 extending downwardly from an edge region of the shield can body 61 and surrounding a portion of the circumference of the hall sensor 80]); connected extending from the middle portion (Fig. 4-6 Item 60 ) toward both sides of the magnetism detection unit(Fig. 4-6 Item 80 the first direction, when viewed from the normal direction, such that the middle portion (Fig. 4-6 Item 60 ) couples the pair of extending portions (Fig. 4-6 Item 60 discloses shield can 60 may include a shield can body 61 and a shield 62 extending downwardly from an edge region of the shield can body 61 and surrounding a portion of the circumference of the hall sensor 80]); together.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a sensor with magnetic shielding array, such that cross-talk with neighboring components is minimized in Niu by substituting a current measurement device with the bracket and the shield may be integrally formed by double injection by JAE WOO to provide a shield extending at least to cover a part of the circumference of the hall sensor.in Abstract]).
Regarding to claim 6, Niu discloses the current sensor according to Claim 5.
Niu does not explicitly teach wherein the middle portion is stacked over the linking portion in the normal direction.
However, JAE WOO teaches wherein the middle portion (Fig. 4-6 Item 60) is stacked over the linking portion (Fig. 4-6 Item 60 discloses shield can 60 may include a shield can body 61 and a shield 62 extending downwardly from an edge region of the shield can body 61 and surrounding a portion of the circumference of the hall sensor 80]); in the normal direction.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a sensor with magnetic shielding array, such that cross-talk with neighboring components is minimized in Niu by substituting a current measurement device with the bracket and the shield may be integrally formed by double injection by JAE WOO to provide a shield extending at least to cover a part of the circumference of the hall sensor.in Abstract]).
Regarding to claim 7, Niu discloses a current sensor comprising:
a circuit board (Fig. 1-5 Item 14 discloses a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 14, in Paragraph [0011]) having a surface parallel to a first direction;
a current path formed on the circuit board (Fig. 1-5 Item 14 discloses a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 14, in Paragraph [0011]) as a printed circuit pattern (Fig. 1-5 Item 14 discloses a printed circuit board assembly used as a printed circuit similar to Applicant’s 40 PCB in Paragraph [0011]), wherein a current to be detected flowing through the current path generates a magnetic field including a first component in the first direction; (Fig. 1-5 Item 14 discloses any current creates a three dimensional magnetic field associated with it . The current sensor or detector 25 measures a current associated with the board in Paragraph [0011]),
a shield member (Fig. 1-5 Item 32 discloses a first and second flux shield portions 32A and 32B in Paragraph [0023]) configured to shield the magnetism detection unit (Fig. 1-5 Item 25 ) from an external magnetic field, the shield member (Fig. 1-5 Item 32 discloses a first and second flux shield portions 32A and 32B in Paragraph [0023]) including a pair of opposing plates (Fig. 1-5 Item 32a & 32b) which are two independent parts facing each other in the first direction, such that the magnetism detection unit (Fig. 1-5 Item 25 ) is interposed between the pair of opposing plates (Fig. 1-5 Item 32a & 32b) ; and
a fixing member (Fig. 1-5 Item 31 discloses two fasteners 31, i.e., through holes 44 in the first and second flux shield portions 32A and 32B in Paragraph [0015]) for fixing the shield member (Fig. 1-5 Item 32 discloses a first and second flux shield portions 32A and 32B in Paragraph [0023]) to the circuit board (Fig. 1-5 Item 25 ), the fixing member (Fig. 1-5 Item 31) being provided along the surface of the circuit board (Fig. 1-5 Item 25 ) and extending in the first direction such that respective ends of the pair of opposing plates (Fig. 1-5 Item 32a & 32b ) on the surface of the substrate Fig. 1-5 Item 14 ), are coupled together through the fixing member (Fig. 1-5 Item 31).are coupled together through the fixing member (Fig. 1-5 Item 31 , the fixing member extending beyond the pair of opposing plates (Fig. 1-5 Item 32a & 32b ) in the first direction on both sides of the magnetism detection unit (Fig. 1-5 Item detector or chip on 25) viewed from a normal direction normal to the surface of the circuit board (Fig. 1-5 Item board 25) .
Niu does not explicitly teach the magnetic field being generated by a current flowing through a current path;
However, I JAE WOO teaches the magnetic field being generated by a current flowing through a current path;( Fig. 1-5 Item 80 discloses configuration for detecting the amount of current the shield can 60, and the hall sensor 80 are disposed in the printed circuit board 10.)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a sensor with magnetic shielding array, such that cross-talk with neighboring components is minimized in Niu by substituting a current measurement device by JAE WOO to provide a shield of magnetic substance or metallic material arranged so as to enclose the conductor and the current detecting head, in Abstract]).
Niu does not explicitly teach a magnetism detection unit mounted on the circuit board, the magnetism detection unit being configured to detect the first component of the magnetic field generated by the current to be detected flowing through the current path which is the printed circuit pattern
However, Ausserlechne teaches a magnetism detection unit (Fig. 1A Item 132 discloses a magnetic field sensor 132 on circuit board 110 in Paragraph [0043]) mounted on the circuit board (Fig. 1A Item 110 discloses a circuit board 110 in Paragraph [0043]), the magnetism detection unit being configured to detect the first component of the magnetic field generated by the current to be detected flowing through the current path which is the printed circuit pattern (Fig. 1A Item 110 discloses measuring the magnetic field produced by the current on a printed circuit board 110 in Paragraph [0043]),
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a sensor with magnetic shielding array, such that cross-talk with neighboring components is minimized in Niu by substituting a magnetism detection unit mounted on the circuit board detect current flowing through the current path which is the printed circuit pattern by Ausserlechne to provide a magnetic field sensor measurements with improved sensitivity and signal robustness Paragraph [0048]),
Regarding to claim 8, Niu discloses the current sensor according to Claim 1.
wherein the circuit board (Fig. 1-5 Item 14 discloses a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 14, in Paragraph [0011]) has a front surface, and a rear surface parallel to the front surface; and
Niu does not explicitly teach wherein the magnetism detection unit is disposed on one of the front and rear surfaces, while the linking portion of the shield member is disposed on the other of the front and rear surfaces.
However, JAE WOO teaches wherein the magnetism detection unit (Fig. 1-4 Item 80 discloses the Hall sensor 80) is disposed on one of the front and rear surfaces, while the linking portion ((Fig. 4-6 Item 60 linking bottom section) of the shield member ((Fig. 4-6 Item 60 sides) is disposed on the other of the front and rear surfaces (Fig. 4-6 Item 60 discloses shield can 60 may include a shield can body 61 and a shield 62 extending downwardly from an edge region of the shield can body 61 and surrounding a portion of the circumference of the hall sensor 80]);.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a sensor with magnetic shielding array, such that cross-talk with neighboring components is minimized in Niu by substituting a current measurement device by JAE WOO to provide a shield of magnetic substance or metallic material arranged so as to enclose the conductor and the current detecting head, in Abstract]).
Regarding to claim 10, Niu discloses the current sensor according to Claim 7,
wherein the shield member (Fig. 1-5 Item 32 discloses a first and second flux shield portions 32A and 32B in Paragraph [0023]) includes a pair of support portions (Fig. 1-5 Item 41 or 43 support portions near plates) extending from the respective ends of the pair of the opposing plate (Fig. 1-5 Item 32a & 32b) in the first direction away from each other along the surface of the circuit board (Fig. 1-5 Item 14 discloses a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 14), and
Niu does not explicitly teach and wherein the fixing member includes a middle portion pair of extending portions extending in the first direction and in contact with the pair of support portions and a pair of extending portions extending from the middle portion and in contact with the surface of the circuit board.
However, JAE WOO teaches and wherein the fixing member (Fig. 4-6 Item 40 & 60 discloses the bracket 40 and the shield can 60 may be integrally formed by double injection]), includes a middle portion pair of extending portions (Fig. 4-6 Item 60 ) extending in the first direction and in contact with the pair of support portions (Fig. 4-6 Item 60 side portions) and a pair of extending portions extending from the middle portion (Fig. 4-6 Item 60) and in contact with the surface of the circuit board (Fig. 4-6 Item 10 discloses the circuit board).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a sensor with magnetic shielding array, such that cross-talk with neighboring components is minimized in Niu by substituting a current measurement device by JAE WOO to provide a shield of magnetic substance or metallic material arranged so as to enclose the conductor and the current detecting head, in Abstract]).
Regarding to claim 11, Niu discloses the current sensor according to Claim 1, wherein the fixing member (Fig. 1-5 Item 31 discloses two fasteners 31, i.e., through holes 44 in the first and second flux shield portions 32A and 32B in Paragraph [0015]) extends in the first direction beyond positions on the circuit board (Fig. 1-5 Item 25) at which the opposing plates are provided.
Regarding to claim 12, Niu discloses the current sensor according to Claim 7, wherein the shield member (Fig. 1-5 Item 32 discloses a first and second flux shield portions 32A and 32B in Paragraph [0023]) includes a pair of support portions extending from the respective ends of the pair of the opposing plate (Fig. 1-5 Item 31 discloses two fasteners 31, i.e., through holes 44 in the first and second flux shield portions 32A and 32B in Paragraph [0015]) in the first direction away from each other along the surface of the circuit board (Fig. 1-5 Item 25), and the pair of opposing plates (Fig. 1-5 Item 31) extend from the support portion in the normal direction on only one side of the support portion.
Conclusion
/BRENT J ANDREWS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858