Claims 1-7 and 18-20, filed 10/12/2022, are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 8-17 in the reply filed on 12/31/2025 is acknowledged.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2022-0033925, filed 03/18/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/12/2022 and 01/08/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an input unit configured to”, “a learning unit configured to” and “a plan generation unit configured to” in claims 18-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 4, 6, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (“Building a Connected Communication Network for UAV Clusters using DE-MADDPG”, published 08/20/2021), hereinafter Zhu.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhu teaches A method of generating a multi-drone network operation plan based on reinforcement learning (Zhu: “The multi-agent reinforcement learning (MARL) algorithm is a solution model framework for the collaborative control of UAV clusters. It enables multiple agents to complete complex tasks through collaborative decision-making in a high-dimensional, dynamic environment.” [Section 4. Methods]), the method comprising steps of:
(a) defining a reinforcement learning hyperparameter and training an actor neural network for each drone agent by using a multi-agent deep deterministic policy gradient (MADDPG) algorithm based on the defined hyperparameter (Zhu: “The UAV obtained its state by observing the environment and produced the control values according to the set control policy. The UAV then used the feedback of the environment to adjust the control policy and form a closed-loop training process. The training hyperparameters are presented in Table 2.” [Section 5.2. Training Configuration]; “As shown in Figure 3, the MADDPG adopts the framework of centralized training with decentralized execution. Each agent is associated with an actor network and a centralized critic network. In the training, a single agent observes its state, outputs actions based on the actor network, and then obtains the corresponding rewards and new states from the environment.” [Section 4.2. Multi-Agent DDPG Approach]);
(b) generating Markov game formalization information based on multi-drone network task information and generating state-action history information by using the trained actor neural network based on the formalization information (Zhu: “We simulate the training process of reinforcement learning based on a locally observable Markov game. The Markov process of 𝑛 agents is represented by a high-dimensional tuple <𝑆,𝐴,𝑅,𝑃,𝛾 >, where 𝑆 =[𝑠1,𝑠2,⋯,𝑠𝑛] denotes the state space of the Markov decision process, 𝐴 =[𝑎1,𝑎2,⋯,𝑎𝑛] is the joint action set of all agents, 𝑅 =[𝑟1,𝑟2,⋯,𝑟𝑛], 𝑟𝑖 is the reward of the agent 𝑖, 𝑃 :𝑆 ×𝐴 ×𝑆 →[0,1] is the state transfer function, and 𝛾 is the attenuation coefficient of the cumulative discount reward.” [Section 4.1. Markov Game for Multi-UAV Cooperation]; “The critic network obtains the action and state information of all agents and outputs the state–action value for the state and action from a global perspective. Then, the actor network is updated by the state–action value.” [Section 4.2. Multi-Agent DDPG Approach]; In light of Paragraph [00113] of the specification, which states “The plan generation unit 230 generates Markov game formalization information based on task information. That is, the plan generation unit 230 converts the task information into Markov game formalization information (e.g., a state of the Markov game, the observation model, the action model, and the reward model)”, BRI would support that “Markov game formalization information” encompasses a Markov game model including observations, actions, states and rewards by and for the drones); and
(c) generating a multi-drone network operation plan based on the state-action history information (Zhu: “In a multi-agent system, all agents execute a joint policy to generate a new state. The reward of each agent depends on the joint policy executed by all of them. According to the relationship between the agents, MARL can be divided into complete cooperation, complete competition, and a competition/cooperation hybrid. Our objective is to train the UAV clusters to learn the policy of constructing connected networks with complete cooperation. In this setting, the objective of each agent is to maximize the common reward.” [Section 4.1. Markov Game for Multi-UAV Cooperation]; “During the online execution, each UAV outputs control commands based on the trained model, which effectively saves time for making decisions on the fly.” [Section 1. Introduction]).
Regarding Claim 18, it is a system claim that corresponds with the method of Claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 4, Zhu teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein: the state-action history information comprises location information of a drone for each decision step (Zhu: “State: The state of each agent is the location coordinates of the UAV in the cluster coordinate system, represented by a vector (𝑥,𝑦,𝑦).” [Section 4.4. Design of DE-MADDPG]), and
the step (c) comprises generating flight path information of the drone included in the operation plan based on the location information (Zhu: “Action: The action of each agent is the velocity of the UAV in the north–east–down coordinate system, denoted by a vector (𝑣𝑖,𝛽𝑖,𝜉𝑖), where 𝑣𝑖 =|𝒗′𝑖|, 𝛽𝑖 is the flight path angle of the UAV 𝑖 and 𝜉𝑖 is the heading angle.” [Section 4.4. Design of DE-MADDPG]).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhu teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein: the state-action history information comprises network topology history information for each decision step (Zhu: “Assuming that the UAV cluster network is homogeneous, each UAV can be represented as a node, and the two-way communication links between UAVs are represented by the edges. Therefore, the UAV nodes 𝒇 ={𝑓1,𝑓2,⋯,𝑓𝑛} and their corresponding communication links 𝒆 ={𝑒1,𝑒2,⋯𝑒𝑚} form a three-dimensional network topology, expressed as a graph 𝐺(𝒇,𝒆), and 𝑚 is the number of edges in the graph.” [Section 3.3. Network Connectivity Model]), and
the step (c) comprises generating topology information included in the operation plan based on the topology history information (Zhu: “Our objective is to train the UAV clusters to learn the policy of constructing connected networks with complete cooperation.” [Section 4.1. Markov Game for Multi-UAV Cooperation]; “During the movement of the cluster, each UAV that is moving to the center facilitates communication and interconnection within the cluster. Based on this, we consider a Gaussian shaping reward function. At time t, we denote the distance between the UAV 𝑖 and the virtual navigator by 𝑑𝑖, and the difference between this distance at the present time instant and at the previous time instant is denoted by Δ𝑑𝑖 =𝑑𝑖(𝑡) −𝑑𝑖(𝑡 −1).” [Section 4.4. Design of DE-MADDPG]).
Regarding Claim 19, Zhu teaches the system of Claim 18, wherein the learning unit generates tuple data comprising observation, an action, a reward, and next observation for each drone agent by using the MADDPG algorithm based on the reinforcement learning hyperparameter (Zhu: “We simulate the training process of reinforcement learning based on a locally observable Markov game. The Markov process of 𝑛 agents is represented by a high-dimensional tuple <𝑆,𝐴,𝑅,𝑃,𝛾 >, where 𝑆 =[𝑠1,𝑠2,⋯,𝑠𝑛] denotes the state space of the Markov decision process, 𝐴 =[𝑎1,𝑎2,⋯,𝑎𝑛] is the joint action set of all agents, 𝑅 =[𝑟1,𝑟2,⋯,𝑟𝑛], 𝑟𝑖 is the reward of the agent 𝑖, 𝑃 :𝑆 ×𝐴 ×𝑆 →[0,1] is the state transfer function, and 𝛾 is the attenuation coefficient of the cumulative discount reward.” [Section 4.1. Markov Game for Multi-UAV Cooperation]; See [Algorithm 1, Lines 3-7], in which a state (observation), action, new state and reward are determined and stored into the tuple D), and
trains the actor neural network for each drone agent based on a mini-batch of the tuple data (Zhu: See [Algorithm 1, Line 12-18], in which the actor neural network for each agent is trained on a random sampled minibatch of K samples from D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5, 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, as applied to Claims 1 and 18 above, in view of Hu et al. (“Cooperative Internet of UAVs: Distributed Trajectory Design by Multi-Agent Deep Reinforcement Learning”, published 08/03/2020), hereinafter Hu.
Regarding Claim 2, Zhu teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the multi-drone network task information comprises information on a drone agent and information on communication (Zhu: “With a GPS receiver and a set of radio transceivers, each UAV can obtain its real-time position and communicate with other UAVs if their physical distance is small enough. When the cluster communication network is intact, each UAV can communicate with all other UAVs through the communication link.” [Section 3. Model]).
However, it fails to expressly disclose wherein the multi-drone network task information comprises information on a base station, information on a target point, and a task termination condition.
In the same field of endeavor, Hu teaches wherein the multi-drone network task information comprises information on a base station, information on a target point, and a task termination condition (Hu: “UAVs have been widely used in critical sensing applications, where they need to execute multiple sensing tasks and transmit the results to base stations (BSs) over cellular networks.” [Section I. Introduction]; “UAVs know the state of the environment from the information exchange with the BS at the beginning of each cycle.” [Section IV.A. Markov Decision Process Formulation]; “Each Task j involves a sensing target, which is located at xtj=(xtj,ytj,0), to be sensed by the UAVs.” [Section II. System Model]; “After a UAV has finished the transmission cycles for reporting its sensing results, the BS will inform the UAV of the AoI of the selected task at the beginning of the next cycle. If the AoI of the selected task is not reduced to one cycle, the UAV knows that its previously transmitted sensing result was invalid. Then, the UAV will begin another sensing cycle at once and will subsequently transmit the new sensing result. The sequence of sensing cycle and transmission cycles will be repeated until a valid sensing result is received at the BS. Moreover, if multiple UAVs are executing the same task, they will consider the task completed when any valid sensing result has been received for the task at the BS.” [Section III. Distributed Sense-and-Send Protocol]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the multi-drone network task information comprises information on a base station, information on a target point, and a task termination condition, as taught by Hu to the method of Zhu because both of these methods are directed towards cooperative multi-agent deep reinforcement learning by modeling UAVs in a Markov game setup. In making this combination and accounting for information on a base station and target point as well as establishing a termination condition, it would allow the method of Zhu to execute multiple sensing tasks at once and better simulate “certain sensing applications, such as traffic monitoring, collapsed building detection, and forest fire surveillance”, where “UAVs need to continuously sense and transmit results to base stations, in order to keep the sensing results as fresh as possible” (Hu: [Section I. Introduction]) as well as indicate to the base station when it has completed a task so it can be assigned a new task without idling or overlap (Hu: [Section III. Distributed Sense-and-Send Protocol]).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhu teaches the method of Claim 1, wherein the step (b) comprises steps of:
(b1) generating the formalization information based on the task information (Zhu: “The multi-agent reinforcement learning (MARL) algorithm is a solution model framework for the collaborative control of UAV clusters. It enables multiple agents to complete complex tasks through collaborative decision-making in a high-dimensional, dynamic environment. The MARL is autonomous, distributed, coordinated, and near to the optimal joint policy based on the core idea of centralized learning and distributed execution. It is based on the actor–critic framework and effectively solves the problems of non-stationarity in the multi-agent environment and the failure of experience playback.” [Section 4. Methods]; “We simulate the training process of reinforcement learning based on a locally observable Markov game. The Markov process of 𝑛 agents is represented by a high-dimensional tuple <𝑆,𝐴,𝑅,𝑃,𝛾 >, where 𝑆 =[𝑠1,𝑠2,⋯,𝑠𝑛] denotes the state space of the Markov decision process, 𝐴 =[𝑎1,𝑎2,⋯,𝑎𝑛] is the joint action set of all agents, 𝑅 =[𝑟1,𝑟2,⋯,𝑟𝑛], 𝑟𝑖 is the reward of the agent 𝑖, 𝑃 :𝑆 ×𝐴 ×𝑆 →[0,1] is the state transfer function, and 𝛾 is the attenuation coefficient of the cumulative discount reward.” [Section 4.1. Markov Game for Multi-UAV Cooperation]);
(b2) initializing a state of each drone agent based on the formalization information (Zhu: See [Algorithm 1, Line 3], in which the state of each agent is initialized);
(b3) obtaining observation for each drone agent based on the state of each drone agent (Zhu: “𝑜𝑖 is the observation of the agent 𝑖, 𝑄𝜋𝑖(𝑠,𝑎1,⋯,𝑎𝑛) is the centralized state–action value function of the agent 𝑖, 𝑠 =[𝑜1,⋯,𝑜𝑛] consists of the observations of all agents” [Section 4.2. Multi-Agent DDPG Approach]);
(b4) inferring an action of each drone agent by inputting the observation to the actor neural network (Zhu: “Each UAV is regarded as an agent and outputs actions based on its observations and the value of its actor network.” [Section 1. Introduction]); and
(b5) obtaining a next state of each drone agent based on the state and the action (Zhu: “𝑠′ =[𝑜′1,⋯,𝑜′𝑛] consists of the new observations of all agents after executing the actions” [Section 4.2. Multi-Agent DDPG Approach]).
However, it fails to expressly disclose (b6) determining whether a task termination condition included in the task information has been satisfied based on the next state, repeating the steps (b3) to (b5) when the task termination condition is not satisfied, and generating the state-action history information by synthesizing the state and the action when the task termination condition is satisfied.
In the same field of endeavor, Hu teaches (b6) determining whether a task termination condition included in the task information has been satisfied based on the next state, repeating the steps (b3) to (b5) when the task termination condition is not satisfied (Hu: “After a UAV has finished the transmission cycles for reporting its sensing results, the BS will inform the UAV of the AoI of the selected task at the beginning of the next cycle. If the AoI of the selected task is not reduced to one cycle, the UAV knows that its previously transmitted sensing result was invalid. Then, the UAV will begin another sensing cycle at once and will subsequently transmit the new sensing result. The sequence of sensing cycle and transmission cycles will be repeated until a valid sensing result is received at the BS. Moreover, if multiple UAVs are executing the same task, they will consider the task completed when any valid sensing result has been received for the task at the BS.” [Section III. Distributed Sense-and-Send Protocol]), and
generating the state-action history information by synthesizing the state and the action when the task termination condition is satisfied (Hu: “in the formulated MDP, when the selected task of a UAV has not been completed successfully, the action of the UAV is to continue executing the current selected task. Therefore, the state transitions between consecutive cycles cannot be used directly as the experience for the training of the UAVs’ action selection policies. To handle this problem, we propose that UAV i records the state transition only during decision cycles, where its previous selected task is completed. Denote the replay buffer of UAV i by Di = {ei}. The stored experience in the replay buffer is given by
e
i
=
(
s
~
i
,
a
~
i
,
s
~
'
i
,
r
~
i
)
, where
s
~
i
denotes the state of the cycle when UAV I is in a certain decision cycle,
a
~
i
is the action of UAV i determined in that cycle,
s
~
'
i
denotes the state of the cycle when the selected task is executed, and
r
~
i
denotes the sum of the rewards for UAV i during the state transition.” [Section V.C. Training Process]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated (b6) determining whether a task termination condition included in the task information has been satisfied based on the next state, repeating the steps (b3) to (b5) when the task termination condition is not satisfied, and generating the state-action history information by synthesizing the state and the action when the task termination condition is satisfied, as taught by Hu to the method of Zhu because both of these methods are directed towards cooperative multi-agent deep reinforcement learning by modeling UAVs in a Markov game setup. In making this combination and generating the state-action history after the termination condition is satisfied, it would allow the method of Zhu to update the actor network policies on state-actions stored in the replay buffer when a task is completed successfully (Hu: [Section V.C. Training Process]).
Regarding Claim 20, it is a system claim that corresponds with the method of Claim 3. Therefore, it is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 3 above.
Regarding Claim 5, Zhu teaches the method of Claim 1. However, it fails to expressly disclose wherein: the state-action history information comprises a task time of a drone and location information of the drone for each decision step, and the step (c) comprises generating speed information of the drone included in the operation plan based on the task time and the location information.
In the same field of endeavor, Hu teaches wherein: the state-action history information comprises a task time of a drone and location information of the drone for each decision step (Hu: “The timeline of the protocol is divided into cycles, and the duration of each cycle is denoted by tc.” [Section III. Distributed Sense-and-Send Protocol]; “In the information exchange, each UAV reports its state to the BS, which includes its current location, selected task, sensing location for that task, and the amount of data from the previous sensing result that is still awaiting transmission. Then, the BS broadcasts the state of the system, including the states of all the UAVs and the AoI of each task.” [Section III. Distributed Sense-and-Send Protocol]), and
the step (c) comprises generating speed information of the drone included in the operation plan based on the task time and the location information (Hu: “The task execution process begins with one decision cycle, where the UAV determines its next selected task and the corresponding sensing location. After the decision cycle, the UAV moves towards its new sensing location directly with maximum speed vmax.” [Section III. Distributed Sense-and-Send Protocol]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein: the state-action history information comprises a task time of a drone and location information of the drone for each decision step, and the step (c) comprises generating speed information of the drone included in the operation plan based on the task time and the location information, as taught by Hu to the method of Zhu because both of these methods are directed towards cooperative multi-agent deep reinforcement learning by modeling UAVs in a Markov game setup. In making this combination and analyzing a task time and location to determine an operation plan account for speed, it would allow the method of Zhu to account for a given UAVs top speed, distance from a target and time in each cycle to balance resource management with efficiency in task completion (Hu: [Section III. Distributed Sense-and-Send Protocol]).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhu teaches the method of Claim 1. However, it fails to expressly disclose wherein: the state-action history information comprises task intent of a drone and an action of the drone for each decision step, and the step (c) comprises generating task execution information included in the operation plan based on the task intent and the action of the drone.
In the same field of endeavor, Hu teaches wherein: the state-action history information comprises task intent of a drone and an action of the drone for each decision step (Hu: “In this protocol, each UAV executes only one task at a time. For convenience, we define the task which the UAV is executing as its selected task and define the location where the UAV performs sensing as its sensing location.” [Section III. Distributed Sense-and-Send Protocol]), and
the step (c) comprises generating task execution information included in the operation plan based on the task intent and the action of the drone (Hu: “The process for a UAV to execute its selected task can be described as follows, see also Fig. 3. When a UAV is informed that a valid sensing result for its selected task has been received by the BS, it starts a new task execution process. The task execution process begins with one decision cycle, where the UAV determines its next selected task and the corresponding sensing location.” [Section III. Distributed Sense-and-Send Protocol]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein: the state-action history information comprises task intent of a drone and an action of the drone for each decision step, and the step (c) comprises generating task execution information included in the operation plan based on the task intent and the action of the drone, as taught by Hu to the method of Zhu because both of these methods are directed towards cooperative multi-agent deep reinforcement learning by modeling UAVs in a Markov game setup. In making this combination and accounting for the intent a given agent in decision making at various parts of executing a task, it would allow the method of Zhu to minimize the time elapsed between transmissions by preventing a scenario in which “the UAV started moving to its next selected task or towards the BS during the transmission cycle,” and “the UAV would have to fly back and sense the target again if the BS ultimately determined the sensing result was invalid” (Hu: [Section III. Distributed Sense-and-Send Protocol]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xuan et al. (“UAV Swarm Attack-Defense Confrontation Based on Multi-agent Reinforcement Learning”) discusses a multi-agent deep reinforcement learning approach to train UAVs in simultaneously cooperative and competitive environments using a MADDPG algorithm.
/M.E.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2143 /JENNIFER N WELCH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2143