DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 10-13, 16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 210577389 and its English Translation) in view of Jiang et al. (CN 110165599 and its English Translation), and further in view of Miron et al. (WO 2019/171231).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10-13, 16 and 18-20, Yan teaches an arrangement for delivery and work upon a line, the arrangement comprising:
a device in situ performance of work on a line, the device comprising:
a saddle portion (2) receiving the line therein;
a motive portion (4) engaging the line and moving the device along the line;
an operation portion that comprises a mechanism operating to perform a work task at a location along the line (implicit imaging portion to perform inspection of the line);
wherein the saddle portion is configured to be located above the line such that the saddle portion is pulled toward the line by gravity (Fig. 1) [claim 2];
a counterweight (3) located below or coplanar with the saddle portion (Fig. 1) [claim 3];
wherein the counterweight (3) provides a stand for the device when the device is located on the ground (Fig. 1) [claim 4];
wherein the flying mechanism is a drone (Fig. 1) [claim 6];
wherein the motive portion comprises a wheel to engage the line ad a motor to rotate the wheel (4) [claim 8];
wherein the device comprises a controller (6) to control at least one of the motive portion or the operation portion (Fig. 4) [claim 10];
wherein the controller is autonomous to control at least one of the motive portion or the operation portion once the line is received within the saddle portion (implicit feature of the autonomous unmanned patrol robot) [claims 11, 18];
wherein the controller receives instructions from a location remote from the device to control at least one of the motive portion or the operation portion once the line is received within the saddle portion (pg. 4, 2nd to last paragraph) [claims 12, 19]; and
wherein the controller is configured to operate in a remote control mode to receive instructions from a location remote from the device to control at least one of the motive portion or the operation portion once the line is received within the saddle portion and an autonomous mode to control at least one of the motive portion or the operation portion once the line is received within the saddle portion (pg. 5, 3rd paragraph) [claim 13].
Yan does not specifically teach the device is configured for carrying a deliverable piece of equipment and in situ performance of installation work to install a piece of equipment on the line, and the mechanism operating to perform the work task to install the piece of equipment at a delivered location along the line.
Jiang teaches an arrangement for delivery and work upon a line, comprising: a device (Fig. 1, four-wheel driving robot) is configured for carrying a deliverable piece of equipment and in situ performance of installation work to install a piece of equipment on the line, and a mechanism operating (6) to perform the work task to install the piece of equipment at a delivered location along the line.
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yan’s device to include a spacer installation operation as taught in order to facilitate a safer operation in installing spacers in a high-voltage line.
Yan, as modified by Jiang, does not specifically teach a selectably engageable portion and a flying mechanism configured to selectable engage the selectably engageable portion of the device to selectably couple the flying mechanism to the device for lifting the device to the line, decouple the flying mechanism from the device to leave the device for the in-situ work performance upon the line without the flying mechanism coupled to the device, and recouple the flying mechanism to the device for removing the device from the line.
Miron teaches an arrangement for delivery a device upon a line, comprising: a selectably engageable portion (19); and a flying mechanism (10) configured to selectable engage the selectably engageable portion of the device to selectably couple the flying mechanism to the device for lifting the device to the line, decouple the flying mechanism from the device to leave the device for the in-situ work performance upon the line without the flying mechanism coupled to the device, and recouple the flying mechanism to the device for removing the device from the line (pg. 27 through pg. 28).
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate flying mechanism as taught by Miron in order to facilitate the deployment and the retrieval of the robotic device on the line.
Claim(s) 1, 9, 14, 16 and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavoie et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0260191) in view of Jiang, and further in view of Miron (cited above).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 14, 16 and 20-21 Lavoie teaches a device in situ performance of work on a line, the device comprising:
a saddle portion (20) receiving the line therein;
a motive portion (40) engaging the line and moving the device along the line;
an operation portion (30) that comprises a mechanism operating to perform a work task at a location along the line;
a battery (28) to power at least one of the motive portion or the operation portion [claim 9];
wherein the operation portion comprises a driver (42) [claims 14, 21].
Lavoie does not specifically teach the device is configured for carrying a deliverable piece of equipment and in situ performance of installation work to install a piece of equipment on the line, and the mechanism operating to perform the work task to install the piece of equipment at a delivered location along the line.
Jiang teaches an arrangement for delivery and work upon a line, comprising: a device (Fig. 1, four-wheel driving robot) is configured for carrying a deliverable piece of equipment and in situ performance of installation work to install a piece of equipment on the line, and a mechanism operating (6) to perform the work task to install the piece of equipment at a delivered location along the line.
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lavoie’s device to include a spacer installation operation as taught in order to facilitate a safer operation in installing spacers in a high-voltage line.
Lavoie, as modified by Jiang, does not specifically teach a selectably engageable portion; and a flying mechanism configured to selectable engage the selectably engageable portion of the device to selectably couple the flying mechanism to the device for lifting the device to the line, decouple the flying mechanism from the device to leave the device for the in situ work performance upon the line without the flying mechanism coupled to the device, and recouple the flying mechanism to the device for removing the device from the line.
Miron teaches an arrangement for delivery a device upon a line, comprising: a selectably engageable portion (19); and a flying mechanism (10) configured to selectable engage the selectably engageable portion of the device (11) to selectably couple the flying mechanism to the device for lifting the device to the line, decouple the flying mechanism from the device to leave the device for the in situ work performance upon the line without the flying mechanism coupled to the device, and recouple the flying mechanism to the device for removing the device from the line (pg. 27 through pg. 28).
It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate flying mechanism as taught by Miron in order to facilitate the deployment and the retrieval of the device on a line.
Claim(s) 15 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavoie in view of Jiang and Miron, and further in view of Ebner et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0262982).
Regarding claims 15 and 22-23, Lavoie, as modified by Jiang and Miron, teaches all the claimed limitations except for the driver is a hand power tool, however the conversion from a motorized drive assembly to a hand power tool would have been well-known as evidenced by Ebner (para. 38). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a hand power tool for said driver in order to facilitate the driving of the operation portion when the power switched off.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant alleges that the reference Jiang is only for inspection and does not install anything on the line, and once completed the inspection, everything departs the line, however said allegation is found unpersuasive. Jiang explicitly teach the device (Fig. 1, four-wheel driving robot) is configured for carrying a deliverable piece of equipment and in situ performance of installation work to install a piece of equipment on the line, and a mechanism operating (6) to perform the work task to install the piece of equipment at a delivered location along the line (the robot is configured to remove the old spacing bar and replace is a new spacing bar, Jiang’s pg. 4, last paragraph).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MINH Q. PHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2852
/MINH Q PHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852