DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 15, 29, 31-38, 48, 54, and 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bothor (US 2020/0223199 A1) in view of Bethune (US 2005/0197272 A1) and Wnek (CN 104736442 A).
Regarding claims 1-2, 9, 15, and 48, Bothor discloses a sheetlike composite, especially for production of dimensionally stable food or drink product containers comprising a cellulosic board substrate (105; see Par. 0191), and wherein the cellulosic board substrate has an average transmittance (%T) in a range of 200-800 nm of 2.5% or less (see Par. 22); a metal oxide layer (108; see Par. 0163 and 0359) positioned over the cellulosic board substrate; and a tie layer (106) between the cellulosic board substrate and the metal oxide layer.
Bothor lacks a teaching of lignin content and a moisture transmission rate of less than 0.1g/m2/day.
Bethune teaches a packaging coated in a varnish for protecting it against light wherein a cellulosic board substrate has a lignin content of 4% or more by weight (see Par. 0027). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Bothor’s sheet composite to use a lignin cellulose substrate as a known substitution of materials in the art of paperboard packaging substrates.
Wnek teaches a container made of a paperboard substrate wherein a cellulosic structure has a moisture vapor transmission rate of less than 0.1 g/m2/day (see Par. 0055; Examiner considers a “moisture proof” outer layer to have a transmission rate of zero, which is less than 0.1 g/m2/day). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to further modify Bothor’s sheet composite to have a moisture proof layer in order to increase the durability of the container, as taught by Wnek.
Regarding claims 29 and 31, Bothor, as modified above, discloses a sheet wherein the tie layer comprises polyolefin (Bothor; see Par. 0181).
Regarding claims 32-33, Bothor, as modified above, discloses a sheet wherein the metal oxide layer is a metal oxide coated substrate (Bothor; see Par. 0163).
Regarding claim 34, Bothor, as modified above, discloses a sheet wherein the metal oxide coated substrate is a metal oxide coated polymer (Bothor; see Par. 0167).
Regarding claims 35-36, Bothor, as modified above, discloses a sheet wherein the metal oxide coated polymer comprises at least one of polyester or polyolefin (Bothor; see Par. 0168).
Regarding claims 37-38, Bothor, as modified above, discloses a sheet further comprising a heat seal layer (Bothor; 113; see Par. 0364) positioned over the metal oxide layer (Bothor; 110; see Par. 0181).
Regarding claim 54, Bothor, as modified above, discloses a sheet wherein the cellulosic structure has at least 80%, by weight, cellulosic content (Bethune; see Par. 0023).
Regarding claim 57, Bothor, as modified above, discloses a sheet wherein the cellulosic structure has an oxygen transmission rate of less than 0.1 cc/m2/day at 1atm (Bothor; see Par. 0174).
Claim(s) 39, 59, and 118-119 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bothor in view of Bethune and Wnek as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of Statelman (WO 2015/0171443 A1).
Regarding claims 39, 59, and 118-119, Bothor, as modified above, discloses the claimed invention except for a heat seal layer comprising ethylene methyl acrylate. Statelman teaches a paperboard barrier structure and container comprising a distinct bottom (104) with sidewalls enclosed by a lid component (106; see Fig. 2) wherein a heat seal layer comprises ethylene methyl acrylate (see Par. 0034). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to further modify Bothor’s sheet composite to have a heat seal layer comprising ethylene methyl acrylate, as a known substitution of material in a heat seal layer taught by Statelman.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the primary reference, Bothor, fails to disclose a cellulosic board substrate transmittance, as claimed. Applicant alleges that Bothor’s transmittance is measured over an entire multi-layer composite and not for the cellulosic substrate.
-Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the material being measured in Table 22 is cardboard and not a composite.
Applicant further contends that the prior art fails to teach a cellulosic substrate having a lignin content of “4% or more by weight”, as claimed. Applicant alleges that the teaching reference, Bethune, teaches a cardboard substrate having more than 70% by weight of conifer fibers, not 70% lignin by weight.
-Examiner is not persuaded by this argument either, as Examiner notes that conifer fibers have a substantial amount of lignin (approximately 35% of the dry mass depending on the particular conifer being used). It follows that a board made primarily of conifer fibers would have at least 4% or more weight of lignin.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734