DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action has been issued in response to Applicant’s Communication of application S/N 17/964,854 filed on June 30, 2025. Claims 42-62 are pending with the application. Claims 1-41 have been cancelled.
Examiner Notes
The U.S.C. 101 non-statutory subject matter rejection previously raised has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 42-45 and 62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Grifoni (U.S. Publication No.: US 20150326682 A1) hereinafter Grifoni.
As to claim 42:
Grifoni discloses:
A method comprising: causing display, on a display of a computing device, a first set of user interface controls to enable a first user to indicate interest in a second user [Paragraph 0040 teaches FIG. 5A is an example of the user display 202 on a mobile device 110 utilized for notifying 192 and prompting 190 the initial confirmation 140 in which the identities of the profiles remain undisclosed. Note: Fig 5A (a first set of user interface controls) allowing a user to select yes or no to indicate interest in whether or not the user wants to meet a match (second user) reads on the claimed causing display, on a display of a computing device, a first set of user interface controls to enable a first user to indicate interest in a first target.]; receiving, through the first set of user interface controls, first input in which the first user indicates interest in the second user [Paragraph 0029 teaches when a user indicates an interest in a particular profile, the system receives 104 and stores that indication in the profile storage module 120.]; causing display, on the display of the computing device used by the first user, a second set of user interface controls to enable the first user to specify a particular priority for the first user’s interest in the second user, relative to interests previously to a particular priority for the first users’s interest which was previously indicated by the first user in each of the one or more other users [Paragraph 0038 teaches when determining the priority 162, different prioritizing options exist… a personalized ranking system that is unique to each user could be utilized. When the user selects a profile of interest, they indicate on a sliding scale of zero to ten, how interested they are in that profile. Paragraph 0040 teaches an example of the user display 202 on a mobile device 110. Note: A mobile device and display that allows for the selection of a priority associated with interest in a user’s profile reads on the claims.]; each of the first user, the second user, and the one or more other users being an individual [Paragraph 0026 teaches an exemplary system 118 for facilitating in-person communication between users 110 who have indicated mutual interest in each other when they are in close proximity.] and receiving, through the second set of user interface controls, second input in which the first user specifies the particular priority for the first user’s interest in the second user [Paragraph 0026 teaches FIG. 1, there is shown an exemplary system 118 for facilitating in-person communication between users 110 who have indicated mutual interest in each other when they are in close proximity. Paragraph 0038 teaches when determining the priority 162, different prioritizing options exist… a personalized ranking system that is unique to each user could be utilized. When the user selects a profile of interest, they indicate on a sliding scale of zero to ten, how interested they are in that profile. Paragraph 0040 teaches an example of the user display 202 on a mobile device 110. Note: Receiving data associated with a sliding scale that allows a user to a number zero to ten indicating a priority in a interested user profile reads on the claims.] and in response to receiving the second input via the second set of user interface controls displayed on the display of the computing device used by the first user, causing display, on a display of a second computing device used by the second user, and indication that the first user has specified the particular priority to interest of the first user in the second user [Paragraph 0035 teaches the system 118 receives each user's selections of profiles through the processing module 108, and stores them in the profile storage module 120. If two users have mutually selected each other, the system 118 anonymously pairs the profiles in the paired list 115 within the profile storage module 120. Paragraph 0037 teaches in the same scenario, if Jack and Joey are both at the grocery store and Jill subsequently arrives, the system would utilize a priority option to determine which user gets the notification regarding Jill. Paragraph 0038 teaches a personalized ranking system that is unique to each user could be utilized. When the user selects a profile of interest, they indicate on a sliding scale of zero to ten, how interested they are in that profile. Note: Receiving a notification based on priority setting from either user such as the first user, wherein the notification is an indication that the user specified a particular priority reads on the claims.]
As to claim 43:
Grifoni discloses:
The method of claim 42 wherein the particular priority for the first user’s interest in the second user and the particular priority for the first user’s interest in each of the of the one or more users is in the form of a unique representation of priority [Paragraph 0038 teaches a personalized ranking system that is unique to each user could be utilized. When the user selects a profile of interest, they indicate on a sliding scale of zero to ten, how interested they are in that profile... A personalized ranking system that is unique to each user could be utilized. Note: Each user specifying a priority using a sliding scale as a representation of numeric zero to ten, wherein priority rankings are uniquely represented reads on the claims.]
As to claim 44:
Grifoni discloses:
The method of claim 42 wherein the particular priority for the first user’s interest in the second user and the particular priority for the first user’s interest in each of the of the one or more users is in the form of a non-unique representation of priority that is assigned by the first user [Paragraph 0038 teaches a personalized ranking system that is unique to each user could be utilized. When the user selects a profile of interest, they indicate on a sliding scale of zero to ten, how interested they are in that profile... A personalized ranking system that is unique to each user could be utilized. Paragraph 0041 teaches who have indicated a mutual interest in meeting each other. Note: Each user specifying a priority using a sliding scale as a representation of numeric zero to ten, wherein priority rankings that are uniquely represented based on the each user’s specifications but are also priority indications that are mutual represented (duplicate or copies or non-unique) reads on the claims.]
As to claim 45:
Grifoni discloses:
The method of claim 42 further comprising, in response to the first user specifying the particular priority for the first user’s interest in the second user, automatically reassigning a higher or lower priority to a particular priority for the first user’s interest in at least one of the one or more other users [Paragraph 0038 teaches when determining the priority 162, different prioritizing options exist… a personalized ranking system that is unique to each user could be utilized. When the user selects a profile of interest, they indicate on a sliding scale of zero to ten, how interested they are in that profile. Note: The examiner interprets selecting a particular priority by using a sliding score must also reasonably includes assigning priorities based how the user uses the sliding scale. For example, if the tool is set to zero, the priority is assigned to zero, sliding the tool from 0 to 1 automatically changes the priority assignment (reassign) from 0 to 1.]
As to claim 62:
Grifoni discloses:
The method of any one of the preceding claims, wherein the first and second users are participants at an in-person event while the method is performed [Paragraphs 0034-0037 teaches if Jack and Joey are both at the grocery store and Jill subsequently arrives, the system would utilize a priority option to determine which user gets the notification regarding Jill. Note: Facilitating a first user and a second user utilizing a priority and meeting or socializing each other while at a grocery shopping event (in-person) reads on the claims.]
Claim(s) 59-61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Becherer (U.S. Publication No.: US 20140089295 A1) hereinafter Becherer.
As to claim 59:
Becherer discloses:
A method comprising:
causing display, on a display of a computing device used by a first user, a first set of user interface controls to enable the first user to upload an image [Paragraph 0023 teaches the morphing search tool may be integrated into a dating website, where a user may upload an image.];
receiving through the first set of user interface controls, first input in which the first user uploads an image [Paragraph 0023 teaches the morphing search tool may be integrated into a dating website, where a user may upload an image.];
causing display, on the display of the computing device used by the first user, a second set of user interface control to enable the first user to specify a particular type of image [Paragraph 0015 teaches the morphing search tool may limit the scope of images searched based on a category or type of initial image. For example, if a user is searching for an hoop earring, the morphing search tool may restrict the scope of images searched to a relevant category such as jewelry. Paragraph 0023 teaches the user may then modify the uploaded image, for example, with a modification to lengthen hair, to change eye color, or to change skin tone. Paragraph 0030 teaches if a belt is added to an image. Paragraph 0057 teaches a user may use any of the visual modification tools available through direct morphing of the image, or through modifications applied through the use of feature palette 122 or color palette 124. Note: Modifying an image to add a belt to the image resulting in an image that has a belt (particular type of image) reads on the claims.]
As to claim 60:
Becherer discloses:
The method of claim 59 further comprising: in response to receiving the second input via the second set of user interface controls displayed on the display of the computing device used by the first user, causing display, on a display of second computing device used by the second user, the uploaded image of the first user displayed with its image type [Paragraph 0032 teaches the input received to modify the image may be immediately implemented and result in the modified image being displayed to the user.]
As to claim 61:
Becherer discloses:
A method comprising:
receiving, from the first user, a request to search for other users, the request including criteria for the search and specifying a particular type of image from among multiple types [Paragraph 0072 teaches the user may capture an image of the person of interest by clicking on his or her image on the display, by touching the image, or by outlining the borders of the image with a mouse, stylus, or finger. Capturing the image of the person of interest may automatically trigger a search for the person matching the image on the website. Alternatively, upon capturing the image, the user may institute the search by using keyboard commands or by clicking on or touching a feature of the website whose function is to commence a matching process in which the image of the person of interest is compared with the plurality of images in the social networking service database 1105.];
identifying a plurality of users who match the criteria [Paragraph 0071 teaches may provide the user with a selective choosing device, such as a scroll button, a mouse, or a numbering system, to select persons of interest and to acquire their information. Paragraph 0072 teaches if the processing means of the database finds a match.];
for each of the plurality of users, selecting an image of the user that matches the particular type of image specified in the request from among one or more other images of the user that do not match the particular type of image [Paragraph 0071 teaches may provide the user with a selective choosing device, such as a scroll button, a mouse, or a numbering system, to select persons of interest and to acquire their information.]; and
presenting the plurality of users to the first user as results to the request including presenting the selected image of each user that matches the particular type of image selected by the user [Paragraph 0071 teaches may provide the user with a selective choosing device, such as a scroll button, a mouse, or a numbering system, to select persons of interest and to acquire their information.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grifoni (U.S. Publication No.: US 20150326682 A1) hereinafter Grifoni, in view of Sudai et al. (U.S. Patent No.: US 5950200 A1) hereinafter Sudai, and further in view of Hemingway (U.S. Patent No.: US 11397745 B1) hereinafter Hemingway.
As to claim 46:
Grifoni discloses:
The method of claim 42 further comprising: particular priority, different priority, displaying the different priority [Paragraph 0035 teaches the system 118 receives each user's selections of profiles through the processing module 108, and stores them in the profile storage module 120. If two users have mutually selected each other, the system 118 anonymously pairs the profiles in the paired list 115 within the profile storage module 120. Paragraph 0037 teaches in the same scenario, if Jack and Joey are both at the grocery store and Jill subsequently arrives, the system would utilize a priority option to determine which user gets the notification regarding Jill. Paragraph 0038 teaches a personalized ranking system that is unique to each user could be utilized. When the user selects a profile of interest, they indicate on a sliding scale of zero to ten, how interested they are in that profile. Note: Utilizing a priority set a user to determine which of a plurality users gets notified about an interest in one of the plurality of users and sending a notification to that user based on that priority setting reads on the claims.]
Grifoni discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claims 42 and some of 46 but does not appear to expressly disclose the first user has specified the particular interest of the first user in the second user and receiving user input from the first user that changes the particular interest to a different interest while the display of the second computing device displays data that the first user has specified the particular priority to interest of the first user in the second user, in response to the user input, causing the display of the second computing device to change, in real-time, from displaying the information.
Sudai discloses:
the first user has specified the particular interest of the first user in the second user and receiving user input from the first user that changes the particular interest to a different interest [Column 5 Line 55 – Column 6 Line 3 teaches FIG. 4(a) is a flow chart showing steps to detect mutual love or attraction…the determining step is performed each time a user enters objects. Column 7 Lines 52-54 teach a person can choose up to five "like" objects and is able to change any one of the objects at any time. Note: A user changing like to love (priority) reads on the claims.]; and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Grifoni, by incorporating a user changing like to love (priority), as taught by Sudai (see Column 5 Line 55 – Column 6 Line 3, Column 7 Lines 52-54, and Figure 4a), because both applications are directed to facilitating users match making; incorporating a user changing like to love (priority) provides the desired arranged meeting (see Sudai Column 7 Line 6).
Grifoni and Susai discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claims 42 and some of 46 but does not appear to expressly disclose while the display of the second computing device displays data that the first user has specified the particular priority to interest of the first user in the second user, in response to the user input, causing the display of the second computing device to change, in real-time, from displaying the information.
Hemingway discloses:
while the display of the second computing device used by the second user displays the indication that the first user has specified a particular data for the first user’s interest in the second user, in response to the user input, causing the display of the second computing device to change, in real-time, from displaying the different data [Column 7 Lines 32-34 teach real-time notifications can be transmitted to said selected users, or the subject of any feedback entry. Note: Real-time notifications are interpreted to be notifications that can occur at any time including while information is displayed on a selected user (second user) device.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Grifoni and Sudai, by incorporating real-time notifications are interpreted to be notifications that can occur at any time including while information is displayed on a selected user, as taught by Hemingway (see Column 7 Lines 32-34), because the three applications are directed to facilitating users match making; incorporating real-time notifications are interpreted to be notifications that can occur at any time including while information is displayed on a selected user improves users' online encounters (see Hemingway Column 15 Lines 26-27).
Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grifoni (U.S. Publication No.: US 20150326682 A1) hereinafter Grifoni, in view of Devecka (U.S. Publication No.: US 20120290978 A1) hereinafter Devecka, and further in view of in view of Sudai et al. (U.S. Patent No.: US 5950200 A1) hereinafter Sudai.
As to claim 47:
Grifoni discloses:
The method of claim 42 further comprising:, detecting a sliding motion on the display of the computing device; in response to detecting the sliding motion, particular priority for the first user’s interest in each of the one or more other users, particular priority for a least one of the first user’s interest in the second user [Paragraph 0038 teaches when determining the priority 162, different prioritizing options exist… a personalized ranking system that is unique to each user could be utilized. When the user selects a profile of interest, they indicate on a sliding scale of zero to ten, how interested they are in that profile.]:
and order of the user interface elements that represent one or more indications of interest [Paragraph 0038 teaches when determining the priority 162, different prioritizing options exist… a personalized ranking system that is unique to each user could be utilized. When the user selects a profile of interest, they indicate on a sliding scale of zero to ten, how interested they are in that profile. Note: Ranking (display order) that is based on the use of sliding scale (user interface elements that represent indications of interest) reads on the claims.]
Grifoni discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claim 42 and some of claim 47 but does not appear to expressly disclose while displaying the user interface elements, displaying on the display of the computing device used by the first user, user interface elements that represent the indications for the first user’s interest in the second user and an order of user interface elements.
Devecka discloses:
while displaying the user interface elements, displaying on the display of the computing device used by the first user, user interface elements that represent the indications for the first user’s interest in the second user and an order of user interface elements [Paragraph 0151 teaches the search result display may be in any suitable format including… a ranked list of the dating profiles in the search results based on one or more of the compatibility results, a presentation of the search results including indicators identifying particular characteristics of the search results (e.g., an indicator identifying a common "high priority" icon match, a common status match, a "high/highest compatibility" match, a common friend/group/clique match), a comparison and possible ranked-order of secondary descriptors, etc.];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Grifoni, by incorporating a display of potential profiles of users that are determined fit the a users list of interests, as taught by Devecka (see Paragraph 0151), because both applications are directed to facilitating users match making; incorporating a display of potential profiles of users that are determined fit the a users list of interests advantageously optimizes the dating profile searching and compatibility accuracy (see Devecka Paragraph 0145).
Grifoni and Devecka discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claim 42 and some of claim 47 but does not appear to expressly disclose changing data indications of interest.
Sudai discloses:
changing data indications of interest in the second user [Column 5 Line 55 – Column 6 Line 3 teaches FIG. 4(a) is a flow chart showing steps to detect mutual love or attraction…the determining step is performed each time a user enters objects. Column 7 Lines 52-54 teach a person can choose up to five "like" objects and is able to change any one of the objects at any time. Note: A user changing like to love (priority) reads on the claims.]; and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Grifoni and Devecka, by incorporating a user changing like to love (priority), as taught by Sudai (see Column 5 Line 55 – Column 6 Line 3, Column 7 Lines 52-54, and Figure 4a), because the three applications are directed to facilitating users match making; incorporating a user changing like to love (priority) provides the desired arranged meeting (see Sudai Column 7 Line 6).
Claim(s) 48, 49, 51, 52, and 55 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grifoni (U.S. Publication No.: US 20150326682 A1) hereinafter Grifoni, in view of Janssens (U.S. Publication No.: US 20140040368 A1) hereinafter Janssens.
As to claim 48:
Grifoni discloses:
The method of claim 42 wherein: action relative to the first user’s interest in the second user and the one or more users [Paragraph 0027 teaches the system 118 receives each user's selections of profiles through the processing module 108, and stores them in the profile storage module 120.];
Grifoni discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claims 42 but does not appear to expressly disclose wherein a qualifying action relative to the first user’s interest in the second user and the one or more other users and qualifying action relative to one or more indications detecting an event that triggers start of a countdown timer; starting the countdown timer in response to detecting the event when the timer expires, determining whether the first user has performed a qualifying action relative to the one or more indications that belong to the subset, and in response to expiration of the timer and a determination that the first user has not performed any qualifying action relative to one or more indications, deleting the one or more indications.
Janssens discloses:
detecting an event that triggers start of a countdown timer; starting the countdown timer in response to detecting the event; [Paragraph 0184 teaches if, in a pairing, only one user liked the other one… at state 1609 the users may also be presented by the system with a user interface that asks them if they want to continue speed-dating, with a countdown time (e.g., 20 seconds) in which they both need to respond. Note: As seen in Figure 16, if only one of the pair meeting each liked the other (triggering event) the users are presented with a countdown in which they both need to respond reads on the claimed detecting an event that triggers start of a countdown timer; starting the countdown timer in response to detecting the event.]; when the timer expires, determining whether the first user has performed a qualifying action relative to the one or more indications that belong to the subset [Paragraph 0184 teaches the users may also be presented by the system with a user interface that asks them if they want to continue speed-dating, with a countdown time (e.g., 20 seconds) in which they both need to respond. If they do not click on a control indicating they want to continue the session, or click on a control indicating that they do not want to continue the session, they will be taken out of the queue. Note: Determining that the 20 seconds has expired and the user did not click on a control indicating interest in remaining in the speed dating session (qualifying action relative to one or more indications that belong to the subset) reads on the claimed when the timer expires, determining whether the first user has performed a qualifying action relative to one or more indications that belong to the subset.]; qualifying action relative to the first user’s interest in the second user and the one or more other users and qualifying action relative to one or more indications [Paragraph 0170 teaches at state 1501, the system receives a request from a user to participate in a speed-dating activity. The system then determines an appropriate universe of potential speed-dating partners. Paragraph 0171 teaches the system may identify a group of users that meets a number of criteria, optionally including some or all of the following: 1) they are part of user A's user relevant universe 2) they are in speed-dating mode and/or 3) they have never in the past speed-dated with user A. Note: A user submitting a request to meet multiple people in a speed dating session reads on the claims.]; and in response to expiration of the timer and a determination that the first user has not performed any qualifying action relative to one or more indications, deleting the first user's interest in the second user and the one or more other users [Paragraph 0184 teaches the users may also be presented by the system with a user interface that asks them if they want to continue speed-dating, with a countdown time (e.g., 20 seconds) in which they both need to respond. If they do not click on a control indicating they want to continue the session, or click on a control indicating that they do not want to continue the session, they will be taken out of the queue. Note: Determining that the 20 seconds has expired and the user did not click on a control indicating interest in remaining in the speed dating session (qualifying action relative to one or more indications that belong to the subset) and removing the user (first user) from the queue to see other speed dating users indicating a lack of interest in meeting other user (deleting the one or more indications) reads on the claimed in response to expiration of the timer and a determination that the first user has not performed any qualifying action relative to one or more indications, deleting the one or more indications.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Grifoni, by incorporating a countdown to indicate interest in meeting other people, as taught by Janssens (see Paragraph 0170, 0171, and 0184), because both applications are directed to facilitating users match making; incorporating a countdown to indicate interest in meeting other people improves the likelihood that the user will be matched with a desirable partner (see Janssens Paragraph 0192).
As to claim 49:
Grifoni and Janssens discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claims 42 and 48.
Janssens also discloses:
The method of claim 48 further comprising: receiving, from the first user, specification of a start time [Paragraph 0172 teaches when the user enters speed-dating mode a timestamp may be associated with that user. The speed-dating timestamp may enable the system to track the moment the user enabled speed-dating mode and may be used to decide where he is position in a waiting list to start speed-dating. Note: Receiving a determination that a user enters speed dating mode with an associated start time timestamp reads on the claimed receiving, from the first user, specification of a start time.]; and wherein the event that starts the countdown timer is arriving at the start time specified by the first user [Paragraph 0172 teaches when the user enters speed-dating mode a timestamp may be associated with that user. The speed-dating timestamp may enable the system to track the moment the user enabled speed-dating mode and may be used to decide where he is position in a waiting list to start speed-dating… when the user starts an actual speed-date, the speed-dating timestamp may be optionally removed. Paragraph 0184 teaches the users may also be presented by the system with a user interface that asks them if they want to continue speed-dating, with a countdown time (e.g., 20 seconds) in which they both need to respond. If they do not click on a control indicating they want to continue the session, or click on a control indicating that they do not want to continue the session, they will be taken out of the queue. Note: The countdown timer that is counting down to (arriving) whether or not the user will reenter speed dating mode to initiate the start time timestamp reads on the claimed the event that starts the countdown timer is arriving at the start time specified by the first user].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Grifoni, by incorporating a countdown to indicate interest in meeting other people, as taught by Janssens (see Paragraph 0172 and 0184), because both applications are directed to facilitating users match making; incorporating a countdown to indicate interest in meeting other people improves the likelihood that the user will be matched with a desirable partner (see Janssens Paragraph 0192).
As to claim 51:
Grifoni and Janssens discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claims 42 and 48.
Janssens also discloses:
The method of claim 48 further comprising, in response to deleting the first user’s interest in the second user and the one or more other users [Paragraph 0184 teaches the users may also be presented by the system with a user interface that asks them if they want to continue speed-dating, with a countdown time (e.g., 20 seconds) in which they both need to respond. If they do not click on a control indicating they want to continue the session, or click on a control indicating that they do not want to continue the session, they will be taken out of the queue. Note: Determining that the 20 seconds has expired and the user did not click on a control indicating interest in remaining in the speed dating session (qualifying action relative to one or more indications that belong to the subset) and removing the user (first user) from the queue to see other speed dating users indicating a lack of interest in meeting other user (deleting the one or more indications) reads on the claimed in response to expiration of the timer and a determination that the first user has not performed any qualifying action relative to one or more indications, deleting the one or more indications.], reassigning a particular priority for the first user’s interest in each of the one or more additional users [Paragraph 0184 teaches the users may also be presented by the system with a user interface that asks them if they want to continue speed-dating, with a countdown time (e.g., 20 seconds) in which they both need to respond. If they do not click on a control indicating they want to continue the session, or click on a control indicating that they do not want to continue the session, they will be taken out of the queue. Note: By indicating a lack of interest in continuing a speed dating session, the user reasonably indicates a lack of interest in users that are further down the list of speed date candidates (one or more additional users) during the speed dating session.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Grifoni, by incorporating a countdown to indicate interest in meeting other people, as taught by Janssens (see Paragraph 0172 and 0184), because both applications are directed to facilitating users match making; incorporating a countdown to indicate interest in meeting other people improves the likelihood that the user will be matched with a desirable partner (see Janssens Paragraph 0192).
As to claim 52:
Grifoni and Janssens discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claims 42 and 48
Janssens also discloses:
The method of claim 48 further comprising: causing the display of the second computing device used by the second user, to cease displaying the indication that the first user’s interest in the second user [Paragraph 0184 teaches the users may also be presented by the system with a user interface that asks them if they want to continue speed-dating, with a countdown time (e.g., 20 seconds) in which they both need to respond. If they do not click on a control indicating they want to continue the session, or click on a control indicating that they do not want to continue the session, they will be taken out of the queue. Note: By indicating a lack of interest in continuing a speed dating session, the user reasonably indicates a lack of interest in users that are further down the next previously indicated desire in engaging in the speed dating session and is therefore removed from the queue (cease displaying the indication that the first user’s interest in the second user)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Grifoni, by incorporating a countdown to indicate interest in meeting other people, as taught by Janssens (see Paragraph 0172 and 0184), because both applications are directed to facilitating users match making; incorporating a countdown to indicate interest in meeting other people improves the likelihood that the user will be matched with a desirable partner (see Janssens Paragraph 0192).
As to claim 55:
Grifoni discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claim 42 but does not appear to expressly disclose wherein providing a chat mechanism by which the first user is enabled to interact with the second user and the one or more other users, displaying, on the display of a computing device by the first user, a control that enables the user to select one or more open chats that the user has opened using the chat mechanism, wherein the one or more open chats correspond to one or more of the second user and the one or more other users, response to activation of the control, ceasing to allow additional users, other than the second user and the one or more other users, to use the chat mechanism to interact with the first user.
Janssens discloses:
The method of claim 42, further comprising: providing a chat mechanism by which the first user is enabled to interact with the second user and the one or more other users [Paragraph 0056 teaches chat pane 312 enables the user to chat with other users. A chat session may be initiated using "chat" button 309, and/or the user may select contacts from contact list 302 to chat with. Multiple chat sessions may be simultaneously active, and the user interface may provide options for switching between various active sessions. Paragraph 0095 teaches a contact may also be automatically added to a given user's contact list when two users link i.e., when two users "like" each other. Note: A chat messaging pane that allows for a user to message other users via simultaneous active sessions, wherein the users liked indicating interest (first target and one or more other targets) reads on the claims.]; displaying, on the display of a computing device by the first user, a control that enables the first user to select one or more open chats that the user has opened using the chat mechanism [Paragraph 0056 teaches chat pane 312 enables the user to chat with other users. A chat session may be initiated using "chat" button 309, and/or the user may select contacts from contact list 302 to chat with. Multiple chat sessions may be simultaneously active, and the user interface may provide options for switching between various active sessions.]; wherein the one or more open chats correspond to one or more of the second user and the one or more other users [Paragraph 0056 teaches chat pane 312 enables the user to chat with other users. A chat session may be initiated using "chat" button 309, and/or the user may select contacts from contact list 302 to chat with. Multiple chat sessions may be simultaneously active, and the user interface may provide options for switching between various active sessions.]; in response to activation of the control, ceasing to allow additional users, other than the second user and the one or more other users, to use the chat mechanism to interact with the first user [Paragraph 0087 teaches the ignored state timestamp may indicate the time when the user was set to be ignored by the user (e.g., by activating an ignore control) associated with account 501.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Grifoni, by incorporating a countdown to indicate interest in meeting other people, as taught by Janssens (see Paragraph 0170, 0171, and 0184), because both applications are directed to facilitating users match making; incorporating a countdown to indicate interest in meeting other people improves the likelihood that the user will be matched with a desirable partner (see Janssens Paragraph 0192).
Claim(s) 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grifoni (U.S. Publication No.: US 20150326682 A1) hereinafter Grifoni, in view of Janssens (U.S. Publication No.: US 20140040368 A1) hereinafter Janssens, and further in view of Gonzales (U.S. Publication No.: US 20170353410 A1) hereinafter Gonzales.
As to claim 50:
Grifoni and Janssens discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claims 48 but does not appear to disclose the method of claim 8 wherein duration of the countdown timer is a duration specified by the first user. The examiner also notes claim 8 does not appear be listed in the claim set.
Gonzales discloses:
The method of claim 48 wherein duration of the countdown timer is specified by the first user [Paragraph 0192 teaches the countdown dialog 2004 can comprise a duration picker 2005 for selecting a countdown length in a chosen unit, as is known in the art.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Grifoni and Janssens, by incorporating a duration picker 2005 for selecting a countdown length in a chosen unit, as taught by Gonzales (see Paragraph 0192), because the three applications are directed to facilitating user connections; incorporating a duration picker 2005 for selecting a countdown length in a chosen unit provides an improved messaging system (see Gonzales Paragraph 0158).
Claim(s) 53 and 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grifoni (U.S. Publication No.: US 20150326682 A1) hereinafter Grifoni, in view of Douglas et al. (U.S. Publication No.: US 20120297321 A1) hereinafter Douglas.
As to claim 53:
Grifoni discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claim 42 but does not appear to expressly disclose wherein providing a communication system that includes a chat mechanism and one or more other communication mechanisms by the which the user is enabled to interact with a second user and the one or more other users, maintaining an open chat count for the user, where the open chat count indicates a number of active chats the user currently has opened using the chat mechanism, and responsive to the open chat count reaching a threshold, disabling the one or more communication mechanisms for the first user while enabling the user to continue using the chat mechanism for the active chats.
Douglas discloses:
The method of claim 42, further comprising: providing a communication system that includes a chat mechanism and one or more other communication mechanisms by the which the user is enabled to interact with the second user and the one or more other users [Paragraph 0020 teaches the systems and methods include a control mechanism such as a pause button located on the user interface of an interactive communications application, for example, an IM&P application. Paragraph 0031 teaches the IM&P application 126 can generate a chat window when an incoming chat message is sent from a contact in the contact list to the user electronic device 20. The IM&P application 126 can be configured to display multiple chat windows, each corresponding to an incoming chat message, in a manner readily known to those of ordinary skill in the art. ]; maintaining an open chat count for the user, where the open chat count indicates a number of active chats the user currently has opened using the chat mechanism [Paragraph 0036 teaches the chat window counter 204 counts a number of currently displayed chat windows and stores the result in memory.]; and responsive to the open chat count reaching a threshold, disabling the one or more communication mechanisms for the first user while enabling the user to continue using the chat mechanism for the active chats [Paragraph 0036 teaches the chat window controller 210 can compare the number of currently displayed chat windows with a threshold number of open chat windows determined by the user, and prevent any new chat windows from being displayed that exceed the threshold number.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Grifoni, by incorporating compare the number of currently displayed chat windows with a threshold number of open chat windows determined by the user, and prevent any new chat windows from being displayed that exceed the threshold number, as taught by Douglas (see Paragraph 0020, 0031, and 0036), because both applications are directed to facilitating users match making; incorporating compare the number of currently displayed chat windows with a threshold number of open chat windows determined by the user, and prevent any new chat windows from being displayed that exceed the threshold number obviates the need to open a different chat window (see Douglas Paragraph 0035).
As to claim 54:
Grifoni and Douglas discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claims 42 and 53.
Douglas also discloses:
The method of claim 53 wherein the threshold is specified by the first user [Paragraph 0043 teaches the user can enter a threshold number of chat windows to the chat window notification system 128, which compares the threshold number to a number of currently displayed chat windows, and prevents additional chat windows from being opened when the threshold number is reached.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Grifoni and Janssens, by incorporating enter a threshold number of chat windows to the chat window notification system 128, which compares the threshold number to a number of currently displayed chat windows, and prevents additional chat windows from being opened when the threshold number is reached, as taught by Douglas (see Paragraph 0043), because the three applications are directed to facilitating users match making; incorporating enter a threshold number of chat windows to the chat window notification system 128, which compares the threshold number to a number of currently displayed chat windows, and prevents additional chat windows from being opened when the threshold number is reached obviates the need to open a different chat window (see Douglas Paragraph 0035).
Claim(s) 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grifoni (U.S. Publication No.: US 20150326682 A1) hereinafter Grifoni, in view of Savchenko (WO-2007075842-A2) hereinafter Savchenko, and further in view of Fallah (U.S. Publication No.: US 20110167059 A1) hereinafter Fallah.
As to claim 56:
Grifoni discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claim 42 but does not appear to expressly disclose receiving, from the first user, input that specifies a particular type of relationship that the first user desires with the second user: causing displaying, on the display of the computing device used by the second user, the particular type of relationship that the first user desires with the second user.
Savchenko discloses:
The method of claim 42, further comprising: receiving, from first user, input that specifies a particular type of relationship that the first user desires with the second user [Figure 4 and Page 4 lines 17-19 teaches the system includes a means of allowing a number of users to provide input to a server regarding the type of relationship they each desire, and a type and number of love or marriage indicators they wish to see in a matching partner.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Grifoni, by incorporating input to a server regarding the type of relationship they each desire, as taught by Savchenko (see Figure 4 and Page 4 lines 17-19), because both applications are directed to facilitating users match making; incorporating input to a server regarding the type of relationship each user desires enables participants to narrow their search for love or marriage partner (see Savchenko Page 3 Lines 29-30).
Grifoni and Savchenko discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claim 42 and some of 56 but does not appear to expressly disclose causing displaying, on the display of the computing device used by the second user, the particular type of relationship that the first user desires with the second user.
Fallah discloses:
causing displaying, on the display of the computing device used by the second user, the particular type of relationship that the first user desires with the second user [Paragraph 0115 teaches the user terminals 1101, 1102 include input and output interfaces and may or may not include processing and storage hardware 1112. Paragraph 0217 teaches at 6001, the system sends an add request to the second user. The add request includes the information of the first user and also includes the type of relationship that is specified by the first user to exist between the first user and the second user. For example, the first user may have specified that the second user is his spouse, fiance, or current date.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Savchenko, by incorporating sending a request to a second user confirm a relationship type, as taught by Fallah (see Paragraph 0115 and 0217), because both applications are directed to facilitating user connections; incorporating sending a request to a second user confirm a relationship type provides accurate, speedy, and long term recording, storing, and processing of the data input by the users (see Fallah Paragraph 0118).
Claim(s) 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grifoni (U.S. Publication No.: US 20150326682 A1) hereinafter Grifoni, in view of Savchenko (WO-2007075842-A2) hereinafter Savchenko, in view of Fallah (U.S. Publication No.: US 20110167059 A1) hereinafter Fallah, and further in view of Sudai et al. (U.S. Patent No.: US 5950200 A1) hereinafter Sudai.
As to claim 57:
Grifoni, Savchenko, and Fallah discloses all of the limitations as set forth in claim 42 and 56 but does not appear to disclose receiving from the first user, input that changes the particular type of relationship that the first user desires with the second user from a first type of relationship to a second type of relationship and in response to the input that changes the particular type of relationship that the first user desires with the second user from a first type of relationship to a second type of relationship, displaying, on the display of the second computing device used by the second user, a display that indicates that the first user is now interested in having the second type of relationship with the second user.
Sudai disclose:
The method of claim 56 further comprising: receiving from the first user, input that changes the particular type of relationship that the first user desires with the second user from a first type of relationship to a second type of relationship [Column 5 Line 55 – Column 6 Line 3 teaches FIG. 4(a) is a flow chart showing steps to detect mutual love or attraction…the determining step is performed each time a user enters objects. Column 7 Lines 52-54 teach a person can choose up to five "like" objects and is able to change any one of the objects at any time. Note: A user changing (input) like to love (relationship type) wherein the particular type of relationship have indicated mutual love or attraction (first user is now interested in having the second type of relationship with the second user) reads on the claims.]; and in response to the input that changes the particular type of relationship that the first user desires with the second user from a first type of relationship to a second type of relationship, displaying, on the display of the second computing device used by the second user, a display that indicates that the first user is now interested in having the second type of relationship with the second user [Column 8 Lines 30-38 teach the user enters the names of the person(s) to whom he or she is attracted or shares interests. At notification time, the system modifies the personal pages of the user and his object to display the IDs of the persons who entered mutual attraction (or interests). Thus, a user simply looks at his or her personal Web page (using a browser) to determine whether any matches occurred reads on the claims.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Savchenko, by incorporating a user changing like to love wherein the users have indicated mutual interest and displaying that interest, as taught by Sudai (see Column 5 Line 55 – Column 6 Line 3, Column 7 Lines 52-54, Column 8 Lines 30-38, and Figure 4a), because the four applications are directed to facilitating users match making; incorporating a user changing like to love (priority) provides the desired arranged meeting (see Sudai Column 7 Line 6).
Claim(s) 58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grifoni (U.S. Publication No.: US 20150326682 A1) hereinafter Grifoni, in view of Donner (U.S. Patent No.: US 7280975 B1) hereinafter Donner.
As to claim 58:
Grifoni discloses:
A method comprising: causing display, on a display of a computing device used by a first user, a first set of user interface controls to enable the first user to indicate interest in a second user [Paragraph 0040 teaches FIG. 5A is an example of the user display 202 on a mobile device 110 utilized for notifying 192 and prompting 190 the initial confirmation 140 in which the identities of the profiles remain undisclosed. Note: Fig 5A (a first set of user interface controls) allowing a user to select yes or no to indicate interest in whether or not the user wants to meet a match (second user) reads on the claimed causing display, on a display of a computing device, a first set of user interface controls to enable a first user to indicate interest in a first target.];
receiving, through the first set of user interface control, first input in which the first user indicates interest in the second user [Paragraph 0029 teaches when a user indicates an interest in a particular profile, the system receives 104 and stores that indication in the profile storage module 120.];
Grifoni discloses some of the limitations as set forth in claims 58 but does not appear to expressly disclose causing display, on the display of the computing device used by the first user, a second set of user interface controls to enable the first user to create a message in audio or video format.
Donner discloses:
causing display, on the display of the computing device used by the first user, a second set of user interface controls to enable the first user to create a message in audio or video format [Column 36 Lines 24-28 teaches contact members to notify of the match/date to allow members to either directly contact each other or send additional information via, for example, text messaging, email, instant messaging, such as pictures, video, and the like.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the cited references and modify the invention as taught by Grifoni, by incorporating an ability to send video messages for a match, as taught by Donner (Column 36 Lines 24-28), because both applications are directed to facilitating users match making; incorporating an ability to send video messages for a match provides the advantage of performing a match in a public setting (see Donner Column 22 Line 64).
Response to Arguments
The reply filed on 6/30/2025 is not fully responsive to the prior Office action because of the following omission(s) or matter(s): remarks page does not point out disagreements with the examiner’s contentions. See 37 CFR 1.111. Since the above-mentioned reply appears to be bona fide, applicant is given a shortened statutory period of TWO (2) MONTHS from the mailing date of this notice within which to supply the omission or correction in order to avoid abandonment. EXTENSIONS OF THIS TIME PERIOD MAY BE GRANTED UNDER 37 CFR 1.136(a), but in no case can any extension carry the date for reply to this letter beyond the maximum period of SIX MONTHS set by statute (35 U.S.C. 133).
Applicant should submit an argument under the heading “Remarks” pointing out disagreements with the examiner’s contentions. Applicant must also discuss the references applied against the claims, explaining how the claims avoid the references or distinguish from them.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EARL LEVI ELIAS/Examiner, Art Unit 2169
/SHERIEF BADAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2169