Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizutani et al (US 2017/0065940).
The structure does not make the fluid specific to machining for a machining device.
Mizutani discloses, regarding claim 1, A machining fluid for a machining device, comprising: a first phase fluid, which is a liquid solvent (water, which is a liquid solvent. See Abstract); and a second phase fluid, which is a gas that is pressurized (hydrogen held under pressure [0041]) to be dissolved in the first phase fluid (hydrogen is dissolved in water, See Abstract) such that the second phase fluid is supersaturated dissolved in the first phase fluid (hydrogen is supersaturated in water, See Abstract and Paragraph [0088]).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, the gas is hydrogen, which is flammable. Regarding claim 3, microbubbles are introduced. (See Paragraph [0011]) Regarding claim 5, the first phase fluid is water. (See abstract) Regarding claim 6, the gas is pressurized at 0.41 MPa. (See Paragraph [0073])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-11, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohmi (US 20130031945) in view of Mizutani et al (US 2017/0065940).
Ohmi discloses, regarding claim 7, A machining device (metalworking device 100), comprising: an injection head (134), comprising a nozzle (nozzle 131), and a flow channel formed inside the injection head and communicated with the nozzle, wherein the flow channel is utilized to guide a machining fluid to the nozzle and the nozzle injected the machining fluid to a work piece (the nozzle would have a flow channel for injecting the machining fluid, See Paragraph [0033]), wherein machining fluid further comprises: a first phase fluid, which is a liquid solvent; and a second phase fluid, which is a gas that is dissolved in the first phase fluid through a high pressure such that the second phase fluid is supersaturated dissolved in the first phase fluid. (machining fluid comprising hydrogen supersaturated water may be used.)
Mizutani, used as a supporting reference, discloses, regarding claim 1, A machining fluid for a machining device, comprising: a first phase fluid, which is a liquid solvent (water, which is a liquid solvent. See Abstract); and a second phase fluid, which is a gas that is pressurized (hydrogen held under pressure [0041]) to be dissolved in the first phase fluid (hydrogen is dissolved in water, See Abstract) such that the second phase fluid is supersaturated dissolved in the first phase fluid (hydrogen is supersaturated in water, See Abstract and Paragraph [0088]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to second phase fluid, which is a gas that is pressurized to be dissolved in the first phase fluid such that the second phase fluid is supersaturated dissolved in the first phase fluid, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claims 8 and 10, the gas is hydrogen, which is flammable. Regarding claim 9, microbubbles are introduced. (See Paragraph [0011]) Regarding claim 11, the first phase fluid is water. (See abstract) Regarding claim 14, the gas is pressurized at 0.41 MPa. (See Paragraph [0073])
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohmi (US 20130031945) in view of Mizutani et al (US 2017/0065940) and Hu et al (US 2017/0320163).
Regarding claim 15, Ohmi discloses, regarding claim 7, A machining device (metalworking device 100), comprising: an injection head (134), comprising a nozzle (nozzle 131), and a flow channel formed inside the injection head and communicated with the nozzle, wherein the flow channel is utilized to guide a machining fluid to the nozzle and the nozzle injected the machining fluid to a work piece (the nozzle would have a flow channel for injecting the machining fluid, See Paragraph [0033]), wherein machining fluid further comprises: a first phase fluid, which is a liquid solvent; and a second phase fluid, which is a gas that is dissolved in the first phase fluid through a high pressure such that the second phase fluid is supersaturated dissolved in the first phase fluid. (machining fluid comprising hydrogen supersaturated water may be used.)
Mizutani, used as a supporting reference, discloses, regarding claim 1, A machining fluid for a machining device, comprising: a first phase fluid, which is a liquid solvent (water, which is a liquid solvent. See Abstract); and a second phase fluid, which is a gas that is pressurized (hydrogen held under pressure [0041]) to be dissolved in the first phase fluid (hydrogen is dissolved in water, See Abstract) such that the second phase fluid is supersaturated dissolved in the first phase fluid (hydrogen is supersaturated in water, See Abstract and Paragraph [0088]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to second phase fluid, which is a gas that is pressurized to be dissolved in the first phase fluid such that the second phase fluid is supersaturated dissolved in the first phase fluid, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Hu discloses, an optical device comprising a laser beam 112, an injection head,
having a discharge nozzle 118, where a machining fluid 116 is guided through the nozzle and to the
workpiece 132 (See Paragraph [0017]-[0019]) It would have been obvious to adapt Takahashi in view of Hu to provide the optical device rather than the electrode for machining difficult to work with materials.
Regarding claim 16, microbubbles are introduced. (See Paragraph [0011]) Ohmi and Muzitani fails to disclose, the claimed ratio. It would have been obvious to provide a volume fraction of the first phase fluid is ranged between 90-99%, while a volume fraction of the second phase fluid is ranged between 1-10% since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohmi (US 20130031945) in view of Mizutani et al (US 2017/0065940), Hu et al (US 2017/0320163) and Goto et al (US 6,639,172).
The teachings of Ohmi have been discussed above. Takahashi disclose the second phase fluid being oxygen, but fails to disclose hydrogen gas.
Goto discloses the use of water and a gas in a machining device. (See Column 3, Lines 50-55, Column 4, Lines 15-25). “The gas is at least one kind selected from the group consisting of oxygen,
nitrogen, hydrogen, an inert gas and an insulating gas.” It would have been obvious to use hydrogen gas
as the second phase fluid as Goto discloses hydrogen is an obvious variant of a gas used in a machining
device.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohmi (US 2013/0031945) in view of Mizutani et al (US 2017/0065940), Hu et al (US 2017/0320163) and Takahashi (US 2019/0388989).
The teachings of Ohmi have been discussed above. Ohmi fails to specifically disclose, the injection head further comprises a first flow channel communicated with the flow channel for providing a first auxiliary fluid flowing into the flow channel and being mixed with the machining fluid, wherein the first auxiliary fluid comprises a plurality grinding particles and the injection head further comprises a second flow channel communicated with the flow channel for guiding a second auxiliary fluid flowing into the flow channel.
Takahashi shows a first and second flow channels communicating with a main flow channel. It would have been obvious to provide the first flow channel for providing a compressed gas to further pressurize the fluid and the second channel for providing the machining fluid.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 and 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 2/9/2026