DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 10, and 15 have been amended.
Claims 3, 16, and 21 have been canceled.
Claims 1-2 and 4-15, 17-20, and 22-23 are currently pending.
In the official correspondence below prior art previously applied has been removed and new prior art has been applied. This does not suggest that the amendments overcame the prior art of record in all instances, but to remove art with duplicative/overlapping teaching in light of amendments received 08-22-2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slungare (US 20170120776 A1) in view of Ohtsubo (US 20090088930 A1) and in further view of Edwards (US 3778103 A) in further view of Pline (US 20200298731 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Slungare discloses, a seat (Slungare: [FIG. 3E (102)]); a seatback (Slungare: [FIG. 3 (103)]); a sliding assembly comprising: a slide track configured to horizontally translate the seating assembly (Slungare: [FIG. 2BC]; [FIG. 3A(120)(140)]; [0024]; [0027]); and a third actuator coupled with the slide track and configured to horizontally translate the seating assembly (Slungare: [0024]); [0031]; [0041-0045]); a sensor configured to sense adjacent surface data of the vehicle (Slungare: [0028]; [0031]; [0047]); [Claim 50]); and a controller configured to receive the adjacent surface data from the sensor (Slungare: [0006]; [0027-0028]; [0047]; [0049]; (see at least “transition corridor” [ABS], [0029], [0050])), wherein the controller is further configured to (Slungare: [0049]) activate the sliding assembly in accordance with a configuration path derived by the controller (Slungare: [0006]; [0027-0028]; [0047]; [0049]; (see at least “transition corridor” [ABS], [0029], [0050])), at least in part, from the adjacent surface data (Slungare: [0006]; [0027-0028]; [0047]; [0049]; (see at least “transition corridor” [ABS], [0029], [0050])).
Slungare does not explicitly disclose, a pivoting assembly, configured to change the angle between the seat and the seatback, and comprising a first actuator, a lifting assembly, configured to increase or decrease the vertical position of the seat, and comprising a second actuator; activate the pivoting assembly, the lifting assembly.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ohtsubo discloses, a pivoting assembly, configured to change the angle between the seat and the seatback (Ohtsubo: [0067]), and comprising a first actuator (Ohtsubo: [0083]); a lifting assembly, configured to increase or decrease the vertical position of the seat (Ohtsubo: [0066]), and comprising a second actuator (Ohtsubo: [0083]); activate the pivoting assembly (Ohtsubo: [0083]), the lifting assembly (Ohtsubo: [0083]), for the benefit of achieving an optimal driving position in conformity to a body size of a driver.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seat disclosed by Slungare to include a motorized lifting assembly taught by Ohtsubo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to achieve an optimal driving position in conformity to a body size of a driver.
Slungare, as modified, discloses reclining a seatback, implying or suggesting a seatback actuator (Ohtsubo: [0067]).
Slungare, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, wherein the first actuator is configured to change an angle between the seat and the seatback; wherein the second actuator is configured to change the vertical position of the seat wherein the activation of the second actuator of the lifting assembly occurs in response to the activation of the first actuator of the pivoting assembly.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Edwards discloses, wherein the first actuator is configured to change an angle between the seat and the seatback (Edwards: [ABS] A vehicle seat having pivotally mounted seat and back cushions, with the position of the back cushion being adjustable by a recline actuator); wherein the second actuator is configured to change the vertical position of the seat (Edwards: [ABS] A vehicle seat having pivotally mounted seat and back cushions, with the position of the back cushion being adjustable by a recline actuator in the seat arm, such actuator having a cam operated trip release mechanism associated therewith which is operative both automatically to return the back cushion to an upright position by releasing the actuator when the seat cushion is pivoted upwardly; A coil spring 63 at pivot 13 urges or biases the seat cushion 1 in a counterclockwise direction, whereby the seat cushion automatically will return to its vertical or upright position when the occupant leaves the seat (Col. 3, Ln. 57-63)), wherein the activation of the second actuator of the lifting assembly occurs in response to the activation of the first actuator of the pivoting assembly (Edwards: an interlock between the seat back recline mechanism and the seat cushion such that when the latter is pivoted upwardly, the seat back automatically returns to its upright position and is locked in place irrespective of a subsequent return of the seat cushion to its position of occupancy (Col. 1, Ln. 01-46); [Claim 1] A vehicle seat comprising a spring loaded pivotally mounted seat back, a pivotally mounted seat cushion movable between a lowered use position and a raised position, an arm rest, a seat back recline mechanism in said arm rest operative to lock said seat back in a selected recline position, an actuator for said recline mechanism having two positions, the first position releasing the seat back to permit pivotal movement and the second position locking the seat back against movement, and control means operative responsively to upward pivoting of the seat cushion from its lowered use position to move said actuator to said first position to release said seat back recline mechanism automatically to bring the seat back to an upright position, and means operative at that position to release said actuator from said control means whereby said actuator independently moves to the second position to lock the seat back in such upright position, whereby subsequent movement of said seat cushion from its raised position to its lowered use position will not unlock said seat back), for the benefit of providing easy to use vehicle seating.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seat disclosed by a modified Slungare to include more actuators and simultaneous actuation taught by Edwards. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide easy to use vehicle seating.
Slungare, as modified, discloses a controller configured to receive the adjacent surface data from the sensor, wherein the controller is further configured to actuate the actuator in accordance with a configuration path derived by the controller from the adjacent surface data. Slungare, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, to rotate the seating assembly between a forward facing mode and a rearward facing mode past the adjacent surface.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pline discloses, the controller is further configured to actuate the actuator to rotate the seating assembly between a forward facing mode and a rearward facing mode past the adjacent surface (Pline: [0036] FIG. 1 illustrates a system 100 for rotating a vehicle seat with a child seat; [FIG. 3(A and B)]; [FIG. 6]), for the benefit of supporting seating needs for example supporting infant seating.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seat disclosed by a modified Slungare to include a rear facing arrangement taught by Pline. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to support seating needs for example supporting infant seating.
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Slungare, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Slungare also discloses, a swiveling assembly comprising (Slungare: [ABS]): a mounting plate coupled with a slide track (Slungare: [0005]); a base plate coupled with an interior floor of the vehicle (Slungare: [0003]); and a swivel ring extending between the mounting plate and the base plate (Slungare: [0003]), wherein the swivel ring is coupled with a underside of the mounting plate (Slungare: [FIG. 6, 9]), and further wherein the swivel ring is coupled with a top side of the base plate (Slungare: [FIG. 6, 9]).
REGARDING CLAIM 4, Slungare, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 2, and further, Slungare also discloses, the seating assembly further comprises: a lifting assembly comprising: the slide track configured to horizontally translate the seating assembly (Slungare: [FIG. 2BC]; [FIG. 3A(120)(140)]; [0024]; [0027]); a seat bracket (Slungare: [FIG. 3 (103)]); and a lift arm extending between the slide track and the seat bracket (Slungare: [0036]; [0044]), wherein the lift arm is coupled with the slide track and the seat bracket (Slungare: [0036]; [0044]).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Slungare, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 4, and further, Slungare also discloses, a pivot member extending between the seat and the seatback (Slungare: figure 6; [0036])), wherein the pivot member is coupled with the seat (Slungare: figure 6; [0036]), and further wherein the pivot member is coupled with the seatback (Slungare: figure 6; [0036]).
REGARDING CLAIM 6, Slungare, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 5, and further, Slungare discloses, the controller is configured to receive the adjacent surface data from the sensor (Slungare: [0031]; [0047]; [Claim 50]), and further wherein the controller stores the data in a memory (Slungare: [0038]; [0031]; [0047]).
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Slungare, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Slungare also discloses, the sensor comprises an imaging device configured to sense the adjacent surface via image capture (Slungare: see at least [0031] for maneuvering a vehicle seat in the vehicle cabin and maintaining clearance threshold with cabin features; [0047]; [Claim 50]).
REGARDING CLAIM 8, Slungare, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1, and further, Slungare also discloses, the sensor senses the adjacent surface when the seating assembly arrives at the adjacent surface (Slungare: see at least [0031] for maneuvering a vehicle seat in the vehicle cabin and maintaining clearance threshold with cabin features; [0047]; [Claim 50]).
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Slungare, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 8, and further, Pline also discloses, the sensor is operatively coupled with the actuator, and wherein the sensor senses when the actuator partially transitions the seating assembly between the forward facing mode and the rearward facing mode (Pline: [0055]; [0066]).
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slungare (US 20170120776 A1) in view of Ohtsubo (US 20090088930 A1) and Edwards (US 3778103 A).
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Slungare discloses, a pivoting assembly comprising: a seatback coupled with a pivot member (Slungare: figure 6; [0036]; [FIG. 2A, 2B] a seatback coupled with a pivot member can be observed); and a seat coupled with the pivot member (Slungare: [FIG. 2A, 2B] a seat coupled with a pivot member can be observed), a lifting assembly comprising (Slungare: [0036] the swivel assembly can provide a slight lift): a slide track (Slungare: [FIG. 2BC]; [FIG. 3A(120)(140)]; [0024]; [0027]) comprising: a receiving track (Slungare: [FIG. 9, 3E, 2C (143)(144)(124)]; (see at least “transition corridor” [ABS], [0029], [0050])); and an insertion track, wherein the insertion track is configured to actuate linearly through a guide channel formed by the receiving track, resulting in a horizontal translation of the seating assembly (Slungare: [FIG. 9, 3E, 2C (143)(144)(124)]; (see at least “transition corridor” [ABS], [0029], [0050])); a seat bracket (Slungare: [0044] seat mounting brackets 105); a second actuator (Slungare: [0024]); [0031]; [0041-0045]); a sliding assembly comprising: the slide track configured to horizontally translate the seating assembly (Slungare: [FIG. 2BC]; [FIG. 3A(120)(140)]; [0024]; [0027]), wherein the slide track is coupled with a third actuator configured to horizontally translate the seating assembly (Slungare: [0024]); [0031]; [0041-0045]); a swiveling assembly comprising: a mounting plate coupled with the slide track (Slungare: [0005]); a base plate coupled with the vehicle (Slungare: [0003]); and a swivel ring extending between the mounting plate and the base plate (Slungare: [0003]), wherein the swivel ring is coupled with a fourth actuator (Slungare: [0031]), wherein the fourth actuator is configured to actuate the swivel ring (Slungare: [0031] These various assemblies are driven and/or powered in some implementations by a drive packet that includes one or more motors, engines, actuators or the like for causing components, assemblies, etc. to move relative to one another … the swivel assembly 160 and extension/retraction assembly 180 operate in conjunction with the fore-aft slide assembly 140, combining two linear motions with rotation to maintain the user seat within predetermined thresholds with respect to (1) clearance T, the distance between the seat unit 110 and the motor vehicle transmission tunnel 79, and (2) clearance B, the distance between the seat unit 110 and the motor vehicle's B-pillar, both shown in FIGS. 1B and 1E), wherein the swivel ring is coupled with a underside of the mounting plate (Slungare: [FIG. 3E, 6, 9]), and further wherein the swivel ring is coupled with a top side of the base plate (Slungare: [FIG. 3E, 6, 9]); a sensor configured to sense adjacent surface data of the vehicle (Slungare: [0028]; see [0031] for maneuvering a vehicle seat in the vehicle cabin and maintaining clearance threshold with a plurality of cabin features (examiner paraphrasing); [0047]); [Claim 50]); and a controller configured to receive adjacent surface data from the sensor (Slungare: [0049]), wherein the controller is configured to control (Slungare: [0047]; [0049]) the sliding assembly to transition the seating assembly from an initial mode along a configuration path toward a target mode (Slungare: [0024]; [0031]; [0041-0045]; [0047] when sensors 78 control operation of one or more of the assemblies 140, 160, 180, the sensors may define the seat's position relative to the B-pillar 74 and the transmission tunnel 79; [0049] user seat 102 is programmed, control system 199 can control the various motors and/or other components of system 100 and can be located anywhere convenient), and wherein the controller is configured to store the data of the adjacent surface of the vehicle in a memory (Slungare: [0038]; [0031]; [0047]).
Slungare does not explicitly disclose, the controller is configured to control the pivoting assembly, the lifting assembly.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ohtsubo discloses, wherein the pivot member is coupled with a first actuator (Ohtsubo: [0083]); and a lift arm extending between the slide track and the seat bracket (Ohtsubo: [0090]; [FIG. 8(3), 13(3)]), wherein the lift arm comprises: a first end fixed to the insertion track (Ohtsubo: [0090]; [FIG. 8(3), 13(3)]); and a second end fixed to the seat bracket (Ohtsubo: [0090]; [FIG. 8(3), 13(3)]); wherein the controller is configured to control (Ohtsubo: [0083]), the pivoting assembly (Ohtsubo: [0083]), the lifting assembly (Ohtsubo: [0083]), for the benefit of achieving an optimal driving position in conformity to a body size of a driver.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seat disclosed by Slungare to include a motorized lifting assembly taught by Ohtsubo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to achieve an optimal driving position in conformity to a body size of a driver.
Slungare, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, wherein the first actuator is configured to change an angle between the seat and the seatback; wherein the second actuator is configured to change the vertical position of the seat; wherein an activation of the second actuator of the lifting assembly occurs in response to an activation of the pivoting first actuator of the pivoting assembly.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Edwards discloses, wherein the first actuator is configured to change an angle between the seat and the seatback (Edwards: [ABS] A vehicle seat having pivotally mounted seat and back cushions, with the position of the back cushion being adjustable by a recline actuator); wherein the second actuator is configured to change the vertical position of the seat (Edwards: [ABS] A vehicle seat having pivotally mounted seat and back cushions, with the position of the back cushion being adjustable by a recline actuator in the seat arm, such actuator having a cam operated trip release mechanism associated therewith which is operative both automatically to return the back cushion to an upright position by releasing the actuator when the seat cushion is pivoted upwardly; A coil spring 63 at pivot 13 urges or biases the seat cushion 1 in a counterclockwise direction, whereby the seat cushion automatically will return to its vertical or upright position when the occupant leaves the seat (Col. 3, Ln. 57-63)), wherein the activation of the second actuator of the lifting assembly occurs in response to the activation of the first actuator of the pivoting assembly (Edwards: an interlock between the seat back recline mechanism and the seat cushion such that when the latter is pivoted upwardly, the seat back automatically returns to its upright position and is locked in place irrespective of a subsequent return of the seat cushion to its position of occupancy (Col. 1, Ln. 01-46); [Claim 1] A vehicle seat comprising a spring loaded pivotally mounted seat back, a pivotally mounted seat cushion movable between a lowered use position and a raised position, an arm rest, a seat back recline mechanism in said arm rest operative to lock said seat back in a selected recline position, an actuator for said recline mechanism having two positions, the first position releasing the seat back to permit pivotal movement and the second position locking the seat back against movement, and control means operative responsively to upward pivoting of the seat cushion from its lowered use position to move said actuator to said first position to release said seat back recline mechanism automatically to bring the seat back to an upright position, and means operative at that position to release said actuator from said control means whereby said actuator independently moves to the second position to lock the seat back in such upright position, whereby subsequent movement of said seat cushion from its raised position to its lowered use position will not unlock said seat back), for the benefit of providing easy to use vehicle seating.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seat disclosed by a modified Slungare to include more actuators and simultaneous actuation taught by Edwards. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide easy to use vehicle seating.
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Slungare, as modified, remain as applied above to claim 10, and further, Slungare also discloses, the seating assembly further comprises an intermediate plate defining an aperture (Slungare: [FIG. 3E(140), 6(140)]), wherein the swivel ring is disposed within the aperture of the intermediate plate (Slungare: [FIG. 3E, 6]).
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Slungare, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Slungare also discloses, the sensor comprises an imaging device configured to sense the adjacent surface via image capture (Slungare: see at least [0031] for maneuvering …; [0047]; [Claim 50]).
REGARDING CLAIM 13, Slungare, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10, and further, Slungare also discloses, the sensor senses the adjacent surface when the seating assembly arrives at the adjacent surface (Slungare: see at least [0031]; [0047]; [Claim 50]).
REGARDING CLAIM 14, Slungare, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 13, and further, Slungare also discloses, the sensor is operatively coupled with at least one of the first actuator, the second actuator, the third actuator, the fourth actuator, and the adjacent surface (Slungare: see at least [0031]; [0047]; [Claim 50]).
Claim(s) 15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slungare (US 20170120776 A1) in view of Ohtsubo (US 20090088930 A1), in further view of Edwards (US 3778103 A), in further view of Farooq (US 20150375638 A1) and Pline (US 20200298731 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Slungare discloses, identifying with one or more of a plurality of sensors a plurality of surfaces adjacent to the seating assembly within an interior of the vehicle in sensor data (Slungare: [0028]; see [0031] for maneuvering a vehicle seat in the vehicle cabin and maintaining clearance threshold with a plurality of cabin features (examiner: paraphrasing); [0047]; [0050]; [Claim 50]; (see at least “transition corridor” [ABS], [0029], [0050])); calculating with a controller a distance between the seating assembly and the plurality of surfaces adjacent to the seating assembly in response to the seating assembly having a configuration (Slungare: [0028]; [0049]); see at least [0031] for maneuvering a vehicle seat in the vehicle cabin and maintaining clearance threshold with cabin features; [0047]; [0050]; [Claim 50]; (see at least “transition corridor” [ABS], [0029], [0050])), storing the distance between the seating assembly and the plurality of surfaces adjacent to the seating assembly in a storage component of the controller (Slungare: [0038]; [0031]; [0047]; (see at least “transition corridor” [ABS], [0029], [0050])); deriving a configuration path with the controller based on the calculated distance between the seating assembly and the plurality of surfaces adjacent to the seating assembly (Slungare: [0028]; [0049]); see at least [0031] for maneuvering a vehicle seat in the vehicle cabin and maintaining clearance threshold with cabin features; [0047]); [0050]; [Claim 50]; (see at least “transition corridor” [ABS], [0029], [0050])); deriving a transitioning configuration of the seating assembly based on the derived configuration path (Slungare: [0028]; [0049]; see at least [0031] for maneuvering a vehicle seat in the vehicle cabin and maintaining clearance threshold with cabin features; [0047]; [0050]; [Claim 50]; (see at least “transition corridor” [ABS], [0029], [0050])); controlling with the controller the configuration of the seating assembly to transition to the derived transitioning configuration (Slungare: [0028]; [0049]); see at least [0031] for maneuvering a vehicle seat in the vehicle cabin and maintaining clearance threshold with cabin features; [0047]; [0050]; [Claim 50]; (see at least “transition corridor” [ABS], [0029], [0050])), a third actuator of a sliding assembly (Slungare: [0024]; [0031]; [0041-0045]; [0047] when sensors 78 control operation of one or more of the assemblies 140, 160, 180, the sensors may define the seat's position relative to the B-pillar 74 and the transmission tunnel 79; [0049] user seat 102 is programmed, control system 199 can control the various motors and/or other components of system 100 and can be located anywhere convenient), and a fourth actuator of a swiveling assembly are activated to transition the seating assembly to the derived transitioning configuration (Slungare: [0024]; [0031]; [0041-0045]; [0047] when sensors 78 control operation of one or more of the assemblies 140, 160, 180, the sensors may define the seat's position relative to the B-pillar 74 and the transmission tunnel 79; [0049] user seat 102 is programmed, control system 199 can control the various motors and/or other components of system 100 and can be located anywhere convenient).
Slungare does not explicitly disclose, wherein a first actuator of a pivoting assembly, a second actuator of a lifting assembly.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ohtsubo discloses, a first actuator of a pivoting assembly (Ohtsubo: [0083] In response to input of each of the instruction signals from the longitudinal-position adjusting switch 92 and the vertical-position adjusting switch 93, the control unit 95 outputs an actuation command signal to each of the drive motor 46 of the seat-position adjusting mechanism 2 and the drive motor 65 of the seated-posture adjusting mechanism 3, to perform each of a control operation of moving the seat cushion 1a of the driver seat 1 in the longitudinal direction so as to finely adjust the longitudinal position of the driver seat 1, and a control operation of finely adjusting a vertical position and an inclination angle of the seat cushion 1a and a reclining angle of the seat back 1b), a second actuator of a lifting assembly (Ohtsubo: [0083] In response to input of each of the instruction signals from the longitudinal-position adjusting switch 92 and the vertical-position adjusting switch 93, the control unit 95 outputs an actuation command signal to each of the drive motor 46 of the seat-position adjusting mechanism 2 and the drive motor 65 of the seated-posture adjusting mechanism 3, to perform each of a control operation of moving the seat cushion 1a of the driver seat 1 in the longitudinal direction so as to finely adjust the longitudinal position of the driver seat 1, and a control operation of finely adjusting a vertical position and an inclination angle of the seat cushion 1a and a reclining angle of the seat back 1b), for the benefit of achieving an optimal driving position in to a body size of a driver.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seat disclosed by Slungare to include a motorized lifting assembly taught by Ohtsubo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to achieve an optimal driving position in conformity to a body size of a driver.
Slungare, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, wherein the second actuator of the lifting assembly is activated in response to an activation of the first actuator of the pivoting assembly.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Edwards discloses, wherein the second actuator of the lifting assembly is activated in response to an activation of the first actuator of the pivoting assembly (Edwards: an interlock between the seat back recline mechanism and the seat cushion such that when the latter is pivoted upwardly, the seat back automatically returns to its upright position and is locked in place irrespective of a subsequent return of the seat cushion to its position of occupancy (Col. 1, Ln. 01-46); [Claim 1] A vehicle seat comprising a spring loaded pivotally mounted seat back, a pivotally mounted seat cushion movable between a lowered use position and a raised position, an arm rest, a seat back recline mechanism in said arm rest operative to lock said seat back in a selected recline position, an actuator for said recline mechanism having two positions, the first position releasing the seat back to permit pivotal movement and the second position locking the seat back against movement, and control means operative responsively to upward pivoting of the seat cushion from its lowered use position to move said actuator to said first position to release said seat back recline mechanism automatically to bring the seat back to an upright position, and means operative at that position to release said actuator from said control means whereby said actuator independently moves to the second position to lock the seat back in such upright position, whereby subsequent movement of said seat cushion from its raised position to its lowered use position will not unlock said seat back), for the benefit of achieving an optimal driving position in conformity to a body size of a driver.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seat disclosed by a modified Slungare to include more actuators and simultaneous actuation taught by Edwards. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide easy to use vehicle seating.
Slungare, as modified, discloses simultaneous actuations. Slungare, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, the fourth actuator of the swiveling assembly is activated in response to an activation of the second actuator of the lifting assembly.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Farooq discloses, the fourth actuator of the swiveling assembly is activated in response to an activation of the second actuator of the lifting assembly (Farooq: [0020] the extension of actuator 20 can be effective to lift seat 10 by an upward force exerted on cushion 12 so as to move seat 10 from a driving height 30 (FIG. 5) to an access height 32 (FIG. 6). Additionally, rotation of actuator 20 about axis 22 is effective to rotate seat 10 about axis 22 between a forward-facing position 34 (FIG. 5) and a side-facing position 36 (FIG. 6). Both such raising and rotating of seat 10 by actuator 20 can present seat to door 46, thereby making ingress to and egress from automobile 26 easier for an occupant O of automobile; [0022] by raising seat 10, proper clearance for rotation thereof into side-facing position 36 (shown in FIGS. 6 and 7) may be accomplished; [0026] Further, actuator 20 and/or an associated control system can be capable of independently extending piston 52 from cylinder 54 and rotating piston 52 with respect to cylinder 54. Such independent movement can allow for actuator 20 to separately or sequentially raise seat 10 from driving height 30 to access height 32 (as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4) and to rotate seat from forward-facing position 34 to side-facing position 36. For example, actuator 20 can first begin to lift seat 10 toward access height 32 from driving height 30 without rotation of seat 10 such that a height of seat 10 can be achieved such that rotation of seat 10 is no longer blocked by rocker 40, or other portions of automobile 26, at which point seat 10 can be rotated by actuator 20, with or without continued raising of seat 10. Similarly, seat 10 can be moved by actuator 20 from the side-facing position 36 toward the forward-facing position 34 without lowering of seat 10 from access height 32 to driving height 30 during a rotational motion range 56 wherein downward movement of seat 10 is obstructed by a portion of rocker 40 underlying a portion of seat 10, as discussed above. Accordingly, lowering of seat 10 can be delayed until such a point where cushion 12 is clear of rocker 40, at which point seat 10 may be lowered to the driving height 30; [0027] Other variations of such sequential movement are possible, including those involving multiple steps of independent and/or simultaneous raising or lowering of seat 10 and rotation of seat 10. Mounting unit 16 can further be configured such that seat 10 is adjustable in the fore/aft direction (i.e. in longitudinal direction 60) according to at least one of the adjustment modes typically found in connection with an automobile seat, such as seat 10. Such movement can be facilitated by the slidable mounting of actuator 20 on mounting track 18 which can be driven by a separate motor (not shown) coupled between mounting track 18 and actuator 20 and connected with a control or control system that can cause such a motor to move actuator 20 along longitudinal direction 60, as desired, for example, by occupant O; [0029-0032]), for the benefit of allowing easier entering or exiting of automobile.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a seat disclosed by a modified Slungare to include more sequential movement taught by Farooq. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow easier entering or exiting of automobile.
Slungare, as modified, discloses controlling with the controller the translation of the seating assembly through the derived configuration path (see at least “transition corridor” [ABS], [0029], [0050]).
Slungare, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, the configuration is an occupiable seating configuration, and further wherein the occupiable seating configuration has a mode chosen from a forward facing mode and a rearward facing mode; receiving a user input to transition the seating assembly from an initial mode chosen from the forward facing mode and the rearward facing mode toward a target mode opposite of the initial mode; and controlling with the controller the translation of the seating assembly through the derived configuration path from one occupiable seating configuration mode chosen from the forward facing mode and the rearward facing mode toward the other of the forward facing mode and the rearward facing mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pline discloses, wherein the configuration is an occupiable seating configuration, and further wherein the occupiable seating configuration has a mode chosen from a forward facing mode and a rearward facing mode (Pline: [FIG. 4 and 5]); receiving a user input to transition the seating assembly from an initial mode chosen from the forward facing mode and the rearward facing mode toward a target mode opposite of the initial mode (Pline: [0019] The instructions may further include instructions to rotate the vehicle seat to a first angular position upon receiving a user input to mount the child seat); and controlling with the controller the translation of the seating assembly through the derived configuration path from one occupiable seating configuration mode chosen from the forward facing mode and the rearward facing mode toward the other of the forward facing mode and the rearward facing mode (Pline: [ABS] Vehicle seats may be rotatable away from the vehicle-forward direction, e.g., toward a center of a passenger cabin, toward a rear row of vehicle seats; [0055] The computer 105 can determine the angular position ? of the seat 200, e.g., with an angular sensor; [0066] the computer 105 can actuate a rotator 220 to rotate the seat 200 until the angular position ? is within the angle range defined by the forward position. When the seat 200 is in the forward position, the computer 105 can prevent further rotation of the seat 200 away from the forward position), for the benefit of supporting seating needs for example supporting infant seating.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the seat disclosed by a modified Slungare to include a rear facing arrangement taught by Pline. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to support seating needs for example supporting infant seating.
REGARDING CLAIM 17, Slungare, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15, and further, Pline also discloses, detecting which mode of the forward facing mode and the rearward facing mode is the initial mode (Pline: [FIG. 6]); and in response to the mode being detected, activating a mode-specific transition of the seating assembly (Pline: [FIG. 6]).
REGARDING CLAIM 18, Slungare, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15, and further, Slungare also discloses, identifying the adjacent surface in data in response to the seating assembly of a first configuration arriving at the adjacent surface (Slungare: see at least [0031]; [0047]; [Claim 50]).
REGARDING CLAIM 19, Slungare, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15, and further, Slungare also discloses, controlling the configuration of the seating assembly by controlling at least one of a seatback, a seat, an armrest, a headrest, a slide track, a lift arm, and swivel ring (Slungare: [0031]).
REGARDING CLAIM 20, Slungare, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 18, and further, Slungare also discloses, controlling the configuration of the seating assembly to a second configuration in response to the seating assembly arriving at the adjacent surface (Slungare: see at least [0031] for maneuvering … ; [0047]; [Claim 50]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slungare (US 20170120776 A1) in view of Ohtsubo (US 20090088930 A1), in view of Edwards (US 3778103 A) and Pline (US 20200298731 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Farooq (US 20150375638 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 22, Slungare, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 2. Further, Slungare, as modified, fails to disclose, a fourth actuator, wherein the fourth actuator is configured to actuate the swivel ring, and wherein the fourth actuator of the swiveling assembly is activated in response to an activation of the second actuator of the lifting assembly.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Farooq discloses, a fourth actuator, wherein the fourth actuator is configured to actuate the swivel ring, and wherein the fourth actuator of the swiveling assembly is activated in response to an activation of the second actuator of the lifting assembly (Farooq: [0020] the extension of actuator 20 can be effective to lift seat 10 by an upward force exerted on cushion 12 so as to move seat 10 from a driving height 30 (FIG. 5) to an access height 32 (FIG. 6). Additionally, rotation of actuator 20 about axis 22 is effective to rotate seat 10 about axis 22 between a forward-facing position 34 (FIG. 5) and a side-facing position 36 (FIG. 6). Both such raising and rotating of seat 10 by actuator 20 can present seat to door 46, thereby making ingress to and egress from automobile 26 easier for an occupant O of automobile; [0022] by raising seat 10, proper clearance for rotation thereof into side-facing position 36 (shown in FIGS. 6 and 7) may be accomplished; [0026] Further, actuator 20 and/or an associated control system can be capable of independently extending piston 52 from cylinder 54 and rotating piston 52 with respect to cylinder 54. Such independent movement can allow for actuator 20 to separately or sequentially raise seat 10 from driving height 30 to access height 32 (as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4) and to rotate seat from forward-facing position 34 to side-facing position 36. For example, actuator 20 can first begin to lift seat 10 toward access height 32 from driving height 30 without rotation of seat 10 such that a height of seat 10 can be achieved such that rotation of seat 10 is no longer blocked by rocker 40, or other portions of automobile 26, at which point seat 10 can be rotated by actuator 20, with or without continued raising of seat 10. Similarly, seat 10 can be moved by actuator 20 from the side-facing position 36 toward the forward-facing position 34 without lowering of seat 10 from access height 32 to driving height 30 during a rotational motion range 56 wherein downward movement of seat 10 is obstructed by a portion of rocker 40 underlying a portion of seat 10, as discussed above. Accordingly, lowering of seat 10 can be delayed until such a point where cushion 12 is clear of rocker 40, at which point seat 10 may be lowered to the driving height 30; [0027] Other variations of such sequential movement are possible, including those involving multiple steps of independent and/or simultaneous raising or lowering of seat 10 and rotation of seat 10. Mounting unit 16 can further be configured such that seat 10 is adjustable in the fore/aft direction (i.e. in longitudinal direction 60) according to at least one of the adjustment modes typically found in connection with an automobile seat, such as seat 10. Such movement can be facilitated by the slidable mounting of actuator 20 on mounting track 18 which can be driven by a separate motor (not shown) coupled between mounting track 18 and actuator 20 and connected with a control or control system that can cause such a motor to move actuator 20 along longitudinal direction 60, as desired, for example, by occupant O; [0029-0032]), for the benefit of allowing easier entering or exiting of automobile.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a seat disclosed by a modified Slungare to include more sequential movement taught by Farooq. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow easier entering or exiting of automobile.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slungare (US 20170120776 A1) in view of Ohtsubo (US 20090088930 A1) and Edwards (US 3778103 A) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Farooq (US 20150375638 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 23, Slungare, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10. Further, Slungare, as modified, fails to disclose, the fourth actuator of the swiveling assembly is activated in response to an activation of the second actuator of the lifting assembly.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Farooq discloses, the fourth actuator of the swiveling assembly is activated in response to an activation of the second actuator of the lifting assembly (Farooq: [0020] the extension of actuator 20 can be effective to lift seat 10 by an upward force exerted on cushion 12 so as to move seat 10 from a driving height 30 (FIG. 5) to an access height 32 (FIG. 6). Additionally, rotation of actuator 20 about axis 22 is effective to rotate seat 10 about axis 22 between a forward-facing position 34 (FIG. 5) and a side-facing position 36 (FIG. 6). Both such raising and rotating of seat 10 by actuator 20 can present seat to door 46, thereby making ingress to and egress from automobile 26 easier for an occupant O of automobile; [0022] by raising seat 10, proper clearance for rotation thereof into side-facing position 36 (shown in FIGS. 6 and 7) may be accomplished; [0026] Further, actuator 20 and/or an associated control system can be capable of independently extending piston 52 from cylinder 54 and rotating piston 52 with respect to cylinder 54. Such independent movement can allow for actuator 20 to separately or sequentially raise seat 10 from driving height 30 to access height 32 (as shown in FIGS. 3 and 4) and to rotate seat from forward-facing position 34 to side-facing position 36. For example, actuator 20 can first begin to lift seat 10 toward access height 32 from driving height 30 without rotation of seat 10 such that a height of seat 10 can be achieved such that rotation of seat 10 is no longer blocked by rocker 40, or other portions of automobile 26, at which point seat 10 can be rotated by actuator 20, with or without continued raising of seat 10. Similarly, seat 10 can be moved by actuator 20 from the side-facing position 36 toward the forward-facing position 34 without lowering of seat 10 from access height 32 to driving height 30 during a rotational motion range 56 wherein downward movement of seat 10 is obstructed by a portion of rocker 40 underlying a portion of seat 10, as discussed above. Accordingly, lowering of seat 10 can be delayed until such a point where cushion 12 is clear of rocker 40, at which point seat 10 may be lowered to the driving height 30; [0027] Other variations of such sequential movement are possible, including those involving multiple steps of independent and/or simultaneous raising or lowering of seat 10 and rotation of seat 10. Mounting unit 16 can further be configured such that seat 10 is adjustable in the fore/aft direction (i.e. in longitudinal direction 60) according to at least one of the adjustment modes typically found in connection with an automobile seat, such as seat 10. Such movement can be facilitated by the slidable mounting of actuator 20 on mounting track 18 which can be driven by a separate motor (not shown) coupled between mounting track 18 and actuator 20 and connected with a control or control system that can cause such a motor to move actuator 20 along longitudinal direction 60, as desired, for example, by occupant O; [0029-0032]), for the benefit of allowing easier entering or exiting of automobile.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a seat disclosed by a modified Slungare to include more sequential movement taught by Farooq. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow easier entering or exiting of automobile.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection of the independent claim(s) under 35 USC §103, obviousness, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the reference combination applied in the prior rejection of record for matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tulley (US 4846529 A)
Ninomiya (US 6572172 B1)
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663