DETAILED ACTION
This Office is in response to the amendment filed May 21, 2026, which amends claim 1. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of the claims filed May 21, 2026, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as set forth in the Office action mailed February 24, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The Office points out that each reference does not need to teach every aspect of the applicant’s claimed invention as long as the combination of the references will lead to the applicant’s claimed invention. The rejection below shows that the combination of references leads to the applicant’s claimed invention.
In response to applicant's argument that the references do not teach the applicant’s claimed HOMO and LUMO limitations and claimed relationships, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
The Office points out that the prior art references teach motivation to make a combination in the light emitting layer to arrive as a composition of materials that would meet the applicant’s claimed HOMO and LUMO limitations. The prior art does not need to specifically teach the HOMO and LUMO limitations. The prior art only needs to make obvious a combination of compounds for use in the light emitting layer that would inherently meet the applicant’s claimed HOMO and LUMO limitations. The HOMO and LUMO values are inherent to a compound and the combination of materials only needs to be obvious the specific energy relationship does not need to be specifically taught to meets the applicant’s claimed invention. The applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification does not comprise support for the applicant’s added limitation “wherein an HOMO energy level and an LUMO energy level are determined based on a same testing method, and the determined HOMO energy level and the determined HOMO energy level and the determined LUMO energy level are actual values” does not comprise support in the specification. The specification only describes one way to determine the HOMO and LUMO values and that is in the examples. The specification does not make the broad claim that any method can be used to determine the energy level values.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2019/0058124) (hereafter “Hatakeyama”) in view of Kang et al. (J. Mater. Chem. C 2016, 4, 4512-452) (hereafter “Jang”) and Ihn et al. (US 2019/0181353) (hereafter “Ihn”).
Regarding claims 1-20, Hatakeyama teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and cathode (paragraph [0358]-[0379], Table 2). Hatakeyama teaches that the light emitting layer is composed of a blue emitting boron dopant and a host material (paragraph [0358]-[0379], Table 2). Hatakeyama teaches
(which is the same as applicant’s F-4 compound) as a dopant for the electroluminescent device (paragraphs [0357] and [0379], Table 2). Hatakeyama does not limit the material used as the host material (paragraphs [0143]-[0148]).
Hatakeyama does not teach where light emitting layer comprises an assisting dopant and does not teach where the mixture meets the applicant’s claimed energy limitations.
Jang teaches host materials for use with blue emitting TADF dopants (abstract). Jang teaches that the host can have the following structure,
(which is the same as applicant’s TDH-13) (page 4515 first full paragraph Scheme 1). Jang teaches that when
is used as the host material, the device efficiency is improved while limiting red-shifting of the blue dopant (pages 4518 and 4519).
Ihn teaches an electroluminescent device comprising a light emitting layer composed of a host material, assisting dopant, and a fluorescent dopant (paragraphs [0006]-[0013]). Ihn teaches that the assisting dopant can have the following structure,
(which is the same as applicant’s TDE23 compound) (paragraphs [0135], [0267], and [0353]-[0358], Table 1). Ihn teaches the dopant emits blue light (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3). Ihn teaches that when the assisting dopant is added to the light emitting layer the device has improved efficiency and lifetime (paragraph [0364], Tables 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hatakeyama, so the host material was
as taught by Jang and the layer further comprises an assisting dopant,
as taught by Ihn. The motivation would have been to improve the efficiency and lifetime of device by limiting red-shifting of the blue emitted light.
The combination of references would lead to a mixture of
,
, and
and the applicant teaches the HOMO and LUMO values of these compounds.
has a HOMO of -5.36 eV and a LUMO of -2.19 eV.
has a HOMO of -5.71 eV and a LUMO of -1.95 eV.
has HOMO of -5.52 eV and a LUMO of -2.44 eV. These combination of materials meets the applicant’s claimed energy limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759