DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-20, the claims are indefinite because it is unclear how the HOMO and LUMO values are calculated. It has been shown in the prior art that the way HOMO and LUMO values are calculated has an effect on the obtained values and that under one way the values are calculated the mixture of compounds could meet the applicant’s claimed energy limitations, but under a different way the values are calculated the mixture of compounds may not meet the applicant’s claimed energy limitations. Further clarification is needed.
Furthermore, regarding the claims that it is unclear how the LUMO and HOMO values are compared to each other. It is unclear if the actual values are compared to each other, the absolute values of each value, or if it is the location of the value to 0 value that are compared to each other. Further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2019/0058124) (hereafter “Hatakeyama”) in view of Kang et al. (J. Mater. Chem. C 2016, 4, 4512-452) (hereafter “Jang”) and Ihn et al. (US 2019/0181353) (hereafter “Ihn”).
Regarding claims 1-20, Hatakeyama teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and cathode (paragraph [0358]-[0379], Table 2). Hatakeyama teaches that the light emitting layer is composed of a blue emitting boron dopant and a host material (paragraph [0358]-[0379], Table 2). Hatakeyama teaches
(which is the same as applicant’s F-4 compound) as a dopant for the electroluminescent device (paragraphs [0357] and [0379], Table 2). Hatakeyama does not limit the material used as the host material (paragraphs [0143]-[0148]).
Hatakeyama does not teach where light emitting layer comprises an assisting dopant and does not teach where the mixture meets the applicant’s claimed energy limitations.
Jang teaches host materials for use with blue emitting TADF dopants (abstract). Jang teaches that the host can have the following structure,
(which is the same as applicant’s TDH-13) (page 4515 first full paragraph Scheme 1). Jang teaches that when
is used as the host material, the device efficiency is improved while limiting red-shifting of the blue dopant (pages 4518 and 4519).
Ihn teaches an electroluminescent device comprising a light emitting layer composed of a host material, assisting dopant, and a fluorescent dopant (paragraphs [0006]-[0013]). Ihn teaches that the assisting dopant can have the following structure,
(which is the same as applicant’s TDE23 compound) (paragraphs [0135], [0267], and [0353]-[0358], Table 1). Ihn teaches the dopant emits blue light (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3). Ihn teaches that when the assisting dopant is added to the light emitting layer the device has improved efficiency and lifetime (paragraph [0364], Tables 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hatakeyama, so the host material was
as taught by Jang and the layer further comprises an assisting dopant,
as taught by Ihn. The motivation would have been to improve the efficiency and lifetime of device by limiting red-shifting of the blue emitted light.
The combination of references would lead to a mixture of
,
, and
and the applicant teaches the HOMO and LUMO values of these compounds.
has a HOMO of -5.36 eV and a LUMO of -2.19 eV.
has a HOMO of -5.71 eV and a LUMO of -1.95 eV.
has HOMO of -5.52 eV and a LUMO of -2.44 eV. These combination of materials meets the applicant’s claimed energy limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Forrest et al. (2015/0349286) teaches the addition of TADF sensitizer to an electroluminescent device comprising a fluorescent dopant.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759