DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-15, 18-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reinert et al. (2016/0285232) found in IDS, hereinafter ‘232.
Fig 19 of ‘232 discloses a laser surface-mount device (SMD) package, comprising:
11. “a carrier submount [16], comprising:
a semiconductor substrate [16] comprising a substantially rectangular component mounting surface [top] and a package mounting surface [bottom] disposed opposite the component mounting surface;
an electrically conductive component mounting pad [20 on top] disposed on the component mounting surface [top];
an electrically conductive package mounting pad [20 on bottom] disposed on the package mounting surface [bottom] in electrical communication [28] with the component mounting pad; and
a laser die [17] mounted to and in electrical communication [wires] with the component mounting pad [20], the laser die [17] arranged to emit a laser beam in a path substantially parallel [horizontal] to the component mounting surface [top] toward a first edge [right side] of the component mounting surface; and
a glass cap [1] mounted to the carrier submount [16] over the laser die [17], the glass cap comprising:
a first portion [1,4 see Fig 1B step G1-1] having a glass cap cavity;
a mounting surface [bottom of the glass cap substrate 1] surrounding the glass cap cavity; and
a second portion [8, see Fig 1B] comprising a window [18, ARC] mounted to the first portion [1,4] of the glass cap and positioned adjacent to the first edge [right side] of the component mounting surface,
wherein the glass cap [1] is arranged upon the carrier submount [16] such that the laser die [17] is disposed within the glass cap cavity and the laser beam path passes through the window [18, ARC].”
12. “wherein the electrically conductive package mounting pad [20 on bottom] comprises a plurality of metalized pads; and
wherein the carrier submount [16] further comprises a through via [28] disposed through the semiconductor substrate and configured to provide electrical conductivity between the component mounting pad [20 on top] and at least one of the plurality of metalized pads [20 on the bottom].”
13,15. “wherein the glass cap [1] forms a hermetic seal of the laser die [17].” See paragraph 0227
14. “further comprising: an electrically conductive pedestal portion [23] disposed between the laser die [17] and the semiconductor substrate [16] configured to elevate the laser die [17] with respect to the semiconductor substrate [16].”
18. “wherein the glass cap [1] further comprises a metallization layer [15] at least partially surrounding the glass cap cavity.”
19. “wherein a surface [18] of the glass cap is treated with an anti-reflective (AR) coating [ARC].”
20. “wherein edges of the glass cap cavity that are bounded by the first portion [1] are rounded on at least two sides of the glass cap cavity.” (see Fig 1B step G1-1)
21. “wherein walls of the glass cap cavity formed by the first portion [1] are not as flat as the window [8].” See paragraph 0081.
23. “further comprising: a plurality of wire bond pads [20] attached to the semiconductor substrate [16]; and
bond wires [wires, not numbered] electrically connecting the laser die [17] to the plurality of wire bond pads.” (see also Fig 20)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over ‘232, as applied to claim 11 above.
Regarding claim 16, ‘232 discloses a laser package as described above, in addition:
16. “wherein the window [8,18] comprises
an interior surface [ARC on inside] facing the glass cap cavity and an exterior surface [ARC on outside] opposite the interior surface,”
but does not disclose verbatim:
“the interior surface and the exterior surface each have a flatness of one micron or less.”
However, the flatness of the transparent window is a result effective variable that determines the transmissivity of the window, as evidenced by APA. The less roughness the surface has, the less diffraction it introduces to the laser beam and the more transparent the window becomes. Furthermore, ‘232 discloses that the window surfaces are specifically coated to make them antireflective, meaning that they are made to be maximally transparent. Therefore, it is either inherent or it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to set the flatness of the surfaces to be less than 1 µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges or the optimum value for a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,205 USPQ 215(CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 17, ‘232 discloses a laser package as described above, in addition:
17. “wherein the glass cap [1] is attached to the semiconductor substrate [16]”
but does not disclose:
“attached with frit glass or laser welding.” However, attaching by means of frit glass or laser welding are product by process limitations, which have been considered, but not given a patentable weight in a device claim. Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to attach two elements with frit glass or laser welding, since the examiner takes an official notice of the equivalence of attaching glass cap to semiconductor substrate by means of frit glass or laser welding and attaching by means of soldering for their use in the semiconductor device packaging art and the selection of any of these known equivalents to attach glass cap to semiconductor substrate would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over ‘232, as applied to claim 11 above.
‘232 discloses a laser package as described above, in addition see Fig 20:
22. “wherein the laser die [17] comprises a laser array die having three laser diodes.” But does not disclose:
“a laser array die having at least four laser diodes.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add additional laser diodes inside the package configured in the same way, since it has been held mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Admitted Prior Art
The rejection of claim 16 (flatness of one micron or less) based on the well-known in the art statement is taken to be admitted prior art (hereinafter APA) because applicant either failed to traverse the examiner’s assertion of official notice or that the traverse was inadequate, see MPEP 2144.03.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11-16 filed on 06/06/26 have been considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s argument that in ‘232 “the cap substrate 1 is a single component, with the optical surfaces 18 formed by the cap substrate 1”, the examiner disagrees and points to Fig 1, which discloses the method of making the cap substrate includes the step D1-1, arranging a glass window component 8 in the recess between the first and second island regions 5,6 while the cap substrate 1 is formed from a glass cover substrate 4.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant’s attention is drawn to the references cited on form PTO-892 in the previous office action, which lists other references with similar features as the invention.
Conclusion
The claims are patentably indistinct from claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 and the claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Info
/M. A. Golub-Miller/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828